Pakistan bans Hafiz Saeed’s charities, hints at action against group blamed for Pulwama attack

Varun

Senior Test Player
The Imran Khan-led government in Pakistan on Thursday banned 2008 Mumbai attack mastermind Hafiz Saeed-led Jamat-ud-Dawa (JuD) and its charity wing Falah-e-Insaniat Foundation, a spokesperson of the Interior Ministry said.

The decision was taken during a meeting of the National Security Committee at the Prime Minister’s Office in the wake of the Pulwama attacks in which 40 CRPF men were killed. “It was decided during the meeting to accelerate action against proscribed organisations,” a statement later issued by the spokesperson read.

“It was further decided that Jamat-ud-Dawa and Falah-e-Insaniat Foundation be notified as proscribed organizations by the Ministry of Interior,” the statement added.

The two outfits were on the watchlist of the interior ministry.

During the Pakistan general elections last year, JuD, who had fielded its candidates under the banner of Allahu Akbar Tehreek, had failed to secure a single seat. The party had put up candidates for 80 National Assembly seats, and also contested for the provincial assemblies. Saeed himself had led the campaign by addressing several rallies.

https://indianexpress.com/article/p...ermind-hafiz-saeed-led-jamat-ud-dawa-5595343/

Wow - is this for real?

He will rename it to something else. This is like mowing lawn. You know the grass is going to grow back.

Pakistan bans Hafiz Saeed’s charities, hints at action against group blamed for Pulwama attack

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan on Thursday dropped a clear hint at taking action against a banned group blamed for the Pulwama suicide attack as the country outlawed two charities run by Hafiz Saeed who India alleges had masterminded the 2008 Mumbai attacks.

The move to ban Jamaat-ud-Dawa and Falah-e-Insaniat Foundation — the two organisations that India believes are front for the banned Laskhar-e-Taiba (LeT) and the hint of possible action against Jaish-e-Muhammad (JeM) came during a meeting of the high-powered National Security Committee (NSC).

India blames the LeT for being behind the deadly rampage by gunmen in its financial capital of Mumbai on November 9, 2008 that had left over 160 people dead. Delhi also claims that Maulana Masood Azhar, chief of JeM, the group that purportedly claimed responsibility for the Pulwama attack, is based in Pakistan.

Presided over by Prime Minister Imran, the NSC meeting was attended by key federal ministers, three services chiefs as well as heads of the Inter-Services Intelligence (ISI) and Military Intelligence (MI).

Soon after the meeting that lasted over three hours, the interior ministry issued a statement in which it said that the NSC reviewed the National Action Plan (NAP) in detail.

“It was decided during the meeting to accelerate action against the proscribed organisations,” it added. “It was further decided that Jamaat-ud-Dawa and Falah-e- Insaniat Foundation be notified as proscribed organisations by the ministry of interior.”

The JeM was banned in 2002 by then military ruler General Pervez Musharraf. The reference to expediting action against proscribed organisations suggested that Pakistani authorities would act against the JeM.

The decision is seen as significant and could be aimed at defusing tensions with India, although the NSC stated in “unequivocal terms that the state of Pakistan is not involved in any way, means or form in the Pulwama incident” which it said “was conceived, planned and executed indigenously”.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/191562...ies-hints-action-group-blamed-pulwama-attack/

So is it Imran Khan calling the shots on this one, or the Pakistan military?

Respect to Imran. Another example of him being sincere. Hope this may continue and pave the way for peace.

So is it Imran Khan calling the shots on this one, or the Pakistan military?

It’s not the same Pakistan.

Pak military, government and every other concern party is of concession to build better relationship with its neighbors.

The only way to create stability in sub-continent because it favors everyone, hence talk on every issue, and that is why Pakistan establishment, government, army had nothing to do with 40+ soldier killed in Kashmir.

What’s great about all of this, the general population of Pakistan fully back this approach.

Whereas India doesn’t and one has to ask why?

Whenever attack’s like that happen one has to ask the cause, reason and who does it benefit the most?

Cause, extreme marginalizing of Kashmiri youth and increase in radicalie Hindu nationalists, I know most see the word radicalized and Hindu together and they lose their marbles but if you look at with all sincerity, it’s the fact.

Who does it benefit? Only one government. As it always been a case prior to Indian election.

I hope Pakistan continue in this direction but do not forget to keep moral support for the Kashmiri who are under continuous occupation.

Wow!

Respect to Imran Khan. This man is a true revolutionary and a statesman.

Way to go. Good luck.

I hope our uneducated idiot of a PM also does his bit and contribute towards building better relationships with the neighbours. You can't reach anywhere if you simply refuse to talk.

This has not been reported by the electronic media in Pakistan and no one is discussing it. Cannot say for sure that this news is real or fake but Imran Khan always maintained that only law enforcement agencies should be armed entities in Pakistan.

BTW what does JuD has to do with Pulwama attack ?

This has not been reported by the electronic media in Pakistan and no one is discussing it. Cannot say for sure that this news is real or fake but Imran Khan always maintained that only law enforcement agencies should be armed entities in Pakistan.

Where is Tribune based out of?

JuD is a low hanging fruit. Saeed is already a UN designated terrorist and based on the article, he doesnt have much political support. This is a smart move and also good for everybody. Not sure it will pacify everyone though. Some sort of action needs to be taken on JeM and Azhar

Is Azhar UN designated terrorist as well ?

If this news is true than this is a wrong move by Imran Khan. Actually, the timing of it is wrong, banning Hafiz Saeed just after the Pulwama attack does not make sense and shows weakness. It will be used against Imran by the opposition, that is why I doubt its veracity.

Is Azhar UN designated terrorist as well ?

If this news is true than this is a wrong move by Imran Khan. Actually, the timing of it is wrong, banning Hafiz Saeed just after the Pulwama attack does not make sense and shows weakness. It will be used against Imran by the opposition, that is why I doubt its veracity.

Azhar is not and that is actually the bone of contention. Pakistan asked for proof of his involvement and there was none produced. He had a checkered history and is a terrorist but I'm not sure if he's still active. Or he is like a mafia don that insulated himself very well from whats happening around him. Either way, he should be part of the discussion atleast for all parties to calm down a bit.

So does Imran Khan agree that we had a role in the attack. Did Modi e-mail him the evidence after all?

Azhar is not and that is actually the bone of contention. Pakistan asked for proof of his involvement and there was none produced. He had a checkered history and is a terrorist but I'm not sure if he's still active. Or he is like a mafia don that insulated himself very well from whats happening around him. Either way, he should be part of the discussion atleast for all parties to calm down a bit.

Azhar is not banned than why should any action be taken against him ?

He is a nobody in Pakistan, don't know where he lives and all. Just a boogey man for India. Pakistan should not take any action against these groups at this time. It will show weakness and will give message that Pakistan actually had something to do with Pulwama. We have been apologetic before and it has given us nothing but embarrassment.

Azhar is not banned than why should any action be taken against him ?

He is a nobody in Pakistan, don't know where he lives and all. Just a boogey man for India. Pakistan should not take any action against these groups at this time. It will show weakness and will give message that Pakistan actually had something to do with Pulwama. We have been apologetic before and it has given us nothing but embarrassment.

Those days are gone man. Your defense is valid when there was something to hide during the days of state support. Everybody says it's a new Pakistan and the state isn't interested in it anymore. Why do you need an aggressive or a defensive posture when you have nothing to hide and you did nothing wrong. Pakistan should act as a sovereign nation that condemns terrorism of all forms and take action based on it. That is what IK did when he asked for proof and was willing to take action based on the evidence. That doesn't take away from the fact that Azhar has a history with India and has been a single point of contention for many disputes including the previous attack on Pathankot. So, the posture Pakistan should assume is to be able to discuss about him and investigate him while they abstain in taking any action until there is new evidence. There is no courage in withholding or weakness in cooperating.

So does Imran Khan agree that we had a role in the attack. Did Modi e-mail him the evidence after all?

I thought it was Masood Azhar of JeM fame who India was implicating, I don't know if I've read this article wrong, but doesn't seem like this move is against either.

Masood Azhar is a pro terrorist. From the 1999 Indian Airlines hijacking to the 2001 Indian parliament incident to the 2008 Mumbai attacks, he has it all on his burgeoning CV!

A positive spin on this would be that this is Imran's way of showing India and the rest of the world, that he is not prepared to tolerate violent organisations working to undermine the state on his watch.

Just like the overreaction against Pakistan when the terrorist attack happened against the Indian Army, I would urge caution before believing this story...

Most of us have faith in IK but let’s evryone keep a level head on this until we know the full facts.

ISI, Dawood Ibrahim, Chota Shakil, Hafiz Saeed, Masood Azhar. Let's wait and see how many people and organizations will still to come.

I don't know why Indians do not ask the question from their security establishment that despite eating trillions every year if they are not capable to stop these 4 or 5 peoples then what is the use of them.

Masood Azhar is a pro terrorist. From the 1999 Indian Airlines hijacking to the 2001 Indian parliament incident to the 2008 Mumbai attacks, he has it all on his burgeoning CV!

His CV might begin to rival Modi's in a decade...

I thought it was Masood Azhar of JeM fame who India was implicating, I don't know if I've read this article wrong, but doesn't seem like this move is against either.

We have been crying hoarse about Hafeez from some time now. How about cutting to the chase and going after Masood too? You don’t have to defend one terrorist while going after another

Can't believe you're being defensive and patriotic about this Azhar guy - he's a bonafide terrorist, plain and simple. You should morse those PAF jets flying overhead to take him out by daybreak - would be great for both countries.

Which UN-designated terrorist group does Modi lead? Which terrorist attacks have been carried out by that group?

In the other thread you were sympathizing with the suicide bomber. Now you're straight up defending terrorists. Well done.

Who are we? Gov Of Pakistan? Pak Army? ISI?

The attack was conducted by a local man using local resources. Other than an unsubstantiated tweet claim for JeM nothing has been presented as originating from Pakistan.

Which UN-designated terrorist group does Modi lead? Which terrorist attacks have been carried out by that group?

In the other thread you were sympathizing with the suicide bomber. Now you're straight up defending terrorists. Well done.
One thing to Indian posters , the only one person who can do positive things regarding actions and bringing stability to the region is Imran khan but it will take time, be patient. I personally think Modi will be the last one to do this.I sincerely hope Khan stats for trn years then you see things changing at least from our side.

He lead the radicalized extremists Hindu nationalists who has openly said that they want to make India Hindu again, marginalize minority, particularly Muslims, and is the leader of country whose army is killing, raping and making innocents blind daily in Kashmir.

Pretty impressive, if you ask me, almost close to billion people are behind him on this cause, so, yeah, his CV is pretty impressive.

Everyone including Imran knows Jaish is behind this terror attack. I think the pressure from India got too much for Khan ji to action. Poor guy....lol. Blocking water was a masterstroke from Modi ji.

Hafiz being banned again may not have anything to do with the attack on Indian soldiers. He is being banned again for being a threat to Pak people with his brain washing. He is making extremists out of good people and humanitarians like me,

Everyone including Imran knows Jaish is behind this terror attack. I think the pressure from India got too much for Khan ji to action. Poor guy....lol. Blocking water was a masterstroke from Modi ji.

What is the evidence of JeM involvement other than an unsubstantiated tweet. The bomber was local kashmiri, RDX was sourced locall (per Indian General), local vehicle was used?
Do you have some intel like intercepted communication, money trail etc?

You guys were first jumping up and down that Pakistan doesn't do anything. Now that IK does something, he is weak? bhai chahte kya ho?

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1916317/1-punjab-govt-takes-control-jaish-e-muhammad-headquarters/

Punjab govt takes control of alleged Jaish-e-Mohammad headquarters

The Punjab government has taken over the control of a madrassah and the adjacent mosque that India alleges is the headquarters of a militant group which has purportedly claimed responsibility for a deadly attack on security forces in the Indian Occupied Kashmir (IOK) earlier this month.

The move came a day after a crucial huddle of the National Security Committee (NSC) in Islamabad, where it was decided that efforts would be expedited to rout extremism from the society.

According to India, the Jaish-e-Muhammad has claimed credit for the February 14 suicide attack on Indian security forces in the Pulwama area of IOK which had left 44 Indian soldiers dead.

The NSC also decided to ban Jamatud Dawa (JuD) and Falah-e-Insaniat Foundation (FIF) charities which India alleges are a front for the proscribed Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) militant group which, according to New Delhi, had masterminded the 2008 Mumbai attacks.

“The government of Punjab has taken over the control of a campus comprising Madrassatul Sabir and Jamia-e-Masjid Subhanallah in Bahawalpur to manage its affairs,” said the spokesperson for the federal interior ministry in a statement issued on Friday.

He added that the action was taken in line with the decisions taken at the NSC meeting held on Thursday under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Imran Khan.

Currently 600 students are studying at the campus, which has a faculty of 70 teachers, according to the spokesperson. The Punjab police are providing security and protection to the campus.

The move coincided with a meeting of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) in Paris which has not accepted Pakistan’s low to medium risk ranking of eight banned groups and urged Islamabad to reassess them in light of threats posed to other countries.

“Pakistan had revised its terror financing risk assessment but it did not demonstrate a proper understanding of the TF risks posed by Da’ish, al Qaeda, JuD, FIF, LeT, JeM, Haqqani Network and persons affiliated with the Taliban,” the FATF said in a statement on Friday.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1916317/1-punjab-govt-takes-control-jaish-e-muhammad-headquarters/

lol. If the pressure was too much he would have handed over Saeed to India or the US but has not.

IK is basically sending a message to all groups, he is in charge now and they should think even before they speak of anything which effects the nation.

I hope Imran takes stern action against these terrorists. I won't be surprised if he does because of late Pakistan is going in the opposite trajectory of India, and I don't like our trajectory one bit.

We have been crying hoarse about Hafeez from some time now. How about cutting to the chase and going after Masood too? You don’t have to defend one terrorist while going after another

Pakistan needs to round up any terrorist that is a threat to their country or any other, regardless of any issues India has with their own population.

If Pakistan gets both Hafeez and Masood, it could give them a huge leg up against India in terms of international diplomacy.

:facepalm: you guys are soo naive.

This is not the first time they have banned Hafiz Saeeds organization. They have done this in the past aswell, only to clear him after a few months.

This is just dramaybaazi nothing else

after keeping OBL in abbottabad, this aint gonna happen.

We even tried releasing Ehsanullah Ehsan, thankfully court intervened.

We have also released Abdul Aziz(lal masjid wala) and that guy was celebrating the APS attacks aswell.

This is why i side with Indians when it comes to terrorism. We have not only created problems for others but for ourselves aswell.

Our agencies acts will oneday even lead us to going into war.

Also you wanna exterminate extremism, why not look into the wahabism that is being taught in privately runned madarassahs.

I was 13 years old, and my Qari use to tell us how we should do jihad in kashmir.

We actually do sponsor terrorism in India. I remember on eids these molvies in murree road used to ask for animal skin as they used to say that by selling it they would get money to fight in kashmir. This was back in 2008.

:facepalm: you guys are soo naive.

This is not the first time they have banned Hafiz Saeeds organization. They have done this in the past aswell, only to clear him after a few months.

This is just dramaybaazi nothing else

Yes yes yes and IK / PTI are the problem...
The deep state gets what the deep state wants...

Broken record.... BORING

Yes yes yes and IK / PTI are the problem...
The deep state gets what the deep state wants...

Broken record.... BORING

oh bhai whos blaming PTI or IK here? stop being soo sensitive all the time.

It doesnt matter who the govt is, unless the real bosses that sit above the govt give permission, nothing is going to be done with Hafiz Saeed.

This guy was released from jail back in 2017.

Unless and untill Hafiz Saeed gets extradited or hanged, all this is just dramaybaazi because thats what history has shown

Also you wanna exterminate extremism, why not look into the wahabism that is being taught in privately runned madarassahs.

I was 13 years old, and my Qari use to tell us how we should do jihad in kashmir.

We actually do sponsor terrorism in India. I remember on eids these molvies in murree road used to ask for animal skin as they used to say that by selling it they would get money to fight in kashmir. This was back in 2008.

Under any religious or even secular int law, defending one self against occupation is a right, not terrorism.

That isn't terrorism.

Killing civilian in Indian would be terrorism.

Attacking occupying army isn't terrorism.

You support Indian narrative because you are confuse not because Pakistan general population support Mujhaideen.

I am against Wahabism version of Islam.

But when you criticize then please be little educated regarding that issue.

Pakistan aren't sending any fighters to Kashmir anymore.

Hasn't done in past 20+ years, those who are fighting are Kashmiri, born and raised.

If you want to criticize Kashmiri for fighting occupation then we can discuss that but let's get the facts correct first.

Under any religious or even secular int law, defending one self against occupation is a right, not terrorism.

WHat a pathetic mentality you have got.

Your a despicable human being if you have such beliefs.

Hafiz Saeed is not only involved in kashmir terrorism but he has been allegedly involved in train bombings, parliament bombinb and the mumbai attacks aswell.

I am against Wahabism version of Islam.

But when you criticize then please be little educated regarding that issue.

Pakistan aren't sending any fighters to Kashmir anymore.

Hasn't done in past 20+ years, those who are fighting are Kashmiri, born and raised.

If you want to criticize Kashmiri for fighting occupation then we can discuss that but let's get the facts correct first.

Like i have said many times in this forum. Live in pakistan to get a better understanding.

It is wellknown around Pakistan that Hafiz Saeed is involved in Kashmir as a mujahideen. Back in 2008 i remember the mullahs would go around collecting animal hides on eid day and would say that they would buy weapons against these hides to fight the jihad in kashmir.

WHat a pathetic mentality you have got.

Your a despicable human being if you have such beliefs.

Hafiz Saeed is not only involved in kashmir terrorism but he has been allegedly involved in train bombings, parliament bombinb and the mumbai attacks aswell.

lol coming from a supporter of theives who looted the nation it's very funny.

Where did I mention anyone by name?

I was educating you on the basics and wasn't too condfident you would understand.

What I have wrote is true. Anyone occupied is allowed to defend and fight the occupiers under Int law or do you know better?

Like i have said many times in this forum. Live in pakistan to get a better understanding.

It is wellknown around Pakistan that Hafiz Saeed is involved in Kashmir as a mujahideen. Back in 2008 i remember the mullahs would go around collecting animal hides on eid day and would say that they would buy weapons against these hides to fight the jihad in kashmir.

Jihad, against occupying army isn't terrorism.

You can twist the definition to suit your narrative but it isn't correct.

Supporting those who are fighting occupation does not make them terrorist.

It isn't that difficult to understand, is it?

Almost every Pakistani would donate to the cause of Kashmir. That does not make them terrorist.

Stop twisting the meaning just because you want to be relevant and keep the reputation that you had created on Pakpassion .

A.lmost every Pakistani would donate to the cause of Kashmir. That does not make them terrorist.

Stop twisting the meaning just because you want to be relevant and keep the reputation that you had created on Pakpassion .

Well put. Supporting Kashmir is with their struggle has nothing to do with Wahabism. Terrorists involved in killing innocent people anywhere should be condemed just as Indian Army attacking protesting Kashmiris

Almost every Pakistani would donate to the cause of Kashmir. That does not make them terrorist.

If Pakistan has a problem with India's treatment of kashmiris then they should just declare war. simple as that.

Problem is, a "jihad" is being fought thorugh others .

If Pakistan has a problem with India's treatment of kashmiris then they should just declare war. simple as that.

Are you pretending to be “thick” or you genuinely does not understand the difference between fighting/struggling against occupying army against the will of the people vs killing unarmed civilians?

And you seem to be a grown man so let’s not talk like a child “ should just declare war”.

You would have a better argument if you were to say as a former Pakistan I do not support Kashmiri for their struggle against occupying army.

But not twist the definition to fit whatever narrative you think is right.

Are Pakistanis donating for the Afghan cause too? Why is Pakistani government eliminating people that are fighting the occupying American forces in Afg then?

Pakistan has kept millions of Afghan refugees for decades. Whats next ? Why Pakistanis are not donating to Rohingya, Uyghurs, Iraqis, Syrians, Palestinians, Libyans etc ?

Typical drameybaazi from Pakistan govt. If history teaches us anything, the same terrorists will be chief guests in Imran Khan events.

The interior ministry on Saturday announced that it has placed 10 more organisations on the list of proscribed outfits.

According to a press release issued by the ministry, the action was taken in pursuance of the National Action Plan (NAP).

The newest additions to the list of banned outfits are Al Anfal Trust (Lahore), Idara-i-Khidmat Khalaq (Lahore), Al Dawatul Irshad (Lahore), Al Hamd Trust (Lahore and Faisalabad), Mosque and Welfare Trust (Lahore), Al Madinah Foundation (Lahore), Muaz bin Jabal Education Trust (Lahore), Al Eesar Foundation (Lahore), Al Rehmat Trust Organisation (Bahawalpur) and Al Furqan Trust (Karachi).

The entities were designated as proscribed organisations for their alleged affiliation with banned Jamatud Dawa (JuD), Falah-i-Insaniyat Founda*tion (FiF) and Jaish-e-Mohammad (JeM).

In March this year, law enforcement agencies had intensified its ongoing crackdown on JeM, JuD, FIF and other banned outfits, and had arrested more than 100 activists. Nearly 200 seminaries besides hundreds of other facilities and assets associated with them across the country were taken over by the government.

Most of the facilities were later handed over to the Auqaf department, health and education authorities. At many mosques, prayer leaders were replaced.

The ongoing operation against the proscribed organisations would continue till “achievement of objectives” under the National Action Plan (NAP) of 2014, Minister of State for Interior Shehryar Afridi had declared in a tweet, adding that efforts were being made to accelerate progress on NAP.

The scope of NAP was extended a day after the ministry of interior had issued a formal notification to ban the JuD and the FIF as well while 44 activists of JeM and other outlawed groups, including JeM chief Masood Azhar's son and brother, had already been taken into custody.

A new National Action Plan
According to a November 2018 Dawn report, the Interior Ministry had been working on a new version of the NAP ─ described as Interior Minister Shehryar Afridi's brainchild ─ and the restructuring of the National Counter Terrorism Authori*ty (Nacta) to effectively tackle internal threats to security.

A document outlining the ministry’s performance during the first 100 days of the PTI government and its future plans says that NAP-2 is aimed at bridging the gaps in the first version which was rolled out in January 2015.

In March this year, Prime Minister Imran Khan had chaired the first ever meeting of the National Internal Security Committee (NISC).

Prime Minister Khan had told attendees that implementation of the NAP is the government's foremost priority as it is reflective of the will of the nation, and a consensus document which was agreed upon by all political parties in the country. It was decided by the committee to form Expert Working Groups to ensure seamless coordination on, and implementation of, the NAP to counter terrorism.

A briefing on the plan and its implementation is due and the main opposition parties have declared that they will attend the NAP briefing only if it was held in the parliament and delivered by the prime minister.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1481654/g...r-alleged-affiliation-with-proscribed-outfits

Most Pakistanis have bigger issues in their daily lives than worrying about Kashmir. I think we need to take a progressive step and recognise the LoC as an international border.

The likes of Hafiz Saeed should be in jail, but alas, not everyone thinks that way.

LAHORE: An anti-terrorism court on Friday convicted three leaders of Jamaatud Dawa (JuD) in a new case of terror financing registered by the Counter Terrorism Department (CTD).

ATC-III Presiding Judge Ejaz Ahmad Buttar announced the verdict against Prof Malik Zafar Iqbal, Hafiz Abdul Salam and Hafiz Abdul Rehman Makki in FIR No 91/2019.

They were charged under sections 11-F (2)(5)(6), 11-H (2), 11-H (3)(a)(b), 11-J(2), 11-N of Anti-Terrorism Act 1997.

The court awarded a collective imprisonment of 16-and-a-half years to Iqbal and Salam while one-and-a-half-year jail term to Makki.

As per the breakup of the sentence, Iqbal and Salam have been given one-and-a-half years imprisonment under section 11-F (6) and five years each under sections 11-N read with sections 11-I (2)(b), 11-H and 11-J of the ATA, 1997 along with a fine Rs170,000 on each while Makki has been punished under section 11-F (6) only with a fine of Rs 20,000.

Hafiz Saeed has been sentenced to jail terms in two FIRs registered by Counter Terrorism Department

The prosecution said that a property measuring 16 marla in district Vehari was transferred in the name of Al-Hamad Trust, which is a proscribed organisation. The property remained under the use and possession of the suspects, now convicts, being members of the proscribed organisation, which was a subsidiary of Lashkar-i-Tayyaba, also a proscribed organisation.

It alleges that the property in question has been used to achieve terrorism objectives and by using this property the trust raised fund for the purpose of terrorism and support the terrorism financing.

The court in its verdict ruled that the property in question namely Madressah Markaz Al-Tauheed, Ahle-i-Hadees, is forfeited in favour of the state under section 11-Q of the ATA, 1997.

It observed that the convicts were not proscribed persons and were not enlisted in the fourth schedule of the ATA, however, the organisation they belonged to was proscribed one.

The Lahore High Court has already suspended sentences of Makki and Salam in another FIR of similar charges.

JuD chief Hafiz Muhammad Saeed has also been convicted for jail terms in two of the FIRs.

The CTD had registered 23 FIRs against the leaders of the JuD in different cities of Punjab. However, the trial in several cases was transferred to Lahore following an order passed by the high court on the petitions of the suspects.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1576926/three-jud-leaders-convicted-of-terror-financing

LAHORE: An anti-terrorism court on Friday convicted three leaders of Jamaatud Dawa (JuD) in a new case of terror financing registered by the Counter Terrorism Department (CTD).

ATC-III Presiding Judge Ejaz Ahmad Buttar announced the verdict against Prof Malik Zafar Iqbal, Hafiz Abdul Salam and Hafiz Abdul Rehman Makki in FIR No 91/2019.

They were charged under sections 11-F (2)(5)(6), 11-H (2), 11-H (3)(a)(b), 11-J(2), 11-N of Anti-Terrorism Act 1997.

The court awarded a collective imprisonment of 16-and-a-half years to Iqbal and Salam while one-and-a-half-year jail term to Makki.

As per the breakup of the sentence, Iqbal and Salam have been given one-and-a-half years imprisonment under section 11-F (6) and five years each under sections 11-N read with sections 11-I (2)(b), 11-H and 11-J of the ATA, 1997 along with a fine Rs170,000 on each while Makki has been punished under section 11-F (6) only with a fine of Rs 20,000.

Hafiz Saeed has been sentenced to jail terms in two FIRs registered by Counter Terrorism Department

The prosecution said that a property measuring 16 marla in district Vehari was transferred in the name of Al-Hamad Trust, which is a proscribed organisation. The property remained under the use and possession of the suspects, now convicts, being members of the proscribed organisation, which was a subsidiary of Lashkar-i-Tayyaba, also a proscribed organisation.

It alleges that the property in question has been used to achieve terrorism objectives and by using this property the trust raised fund for the purpose of terrorism and support the terrorism financing.

The court in its verdict ruled that the property in question namely Madressah Markaz Al-Tauheed, Ahle-i-Hadees, is forfeited in favour of the state under section 11-Q of the ATA, 1997.

It observed that the convicts were not proscribed persons and were not enlisted in the fourth schedule of the ATA, however, the organisation they belonged to was proscribed one.

The Lahore High Court has already suspended sentences of Makki and Salam in another FIR of similar charges.

JuD chief Hafiz Muhammad Saeed has also been convicted for jail terms in two of the FIRs.

The CTD had registered 23 FIRs against the leaders of the JuD in different cities of Punjab. However, the trial in several cases was transferred to Lahore following an order passed by the high court on the petitions of the suspects.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1576926/three-jud-leaders-convicted-of-terror-financing

Is there a FATF review around the corner ? Surely all this is just smokes screen like always...