Pakistan cricketers spend day(s) in a local mosque ahead of tour of South Africa

Last Monetarist

Untitled.jpg

Pakistani cricketers spent days in a mosque in a private capacity ahead of the tour to South Africa. Apparently, some stayed there for a couple of days.

The level of leadership and guidance from the honchos at the PCB is predictably non-existent. Ludicrous risk-taking.

attachment.php

Pakistani cricketers spent days in a mosque in a private capacity ahead of the tour to South Africa. Apparently, some stayed there for a couple of days.

The level of leadership and guidance from the honchos at the PCB is predictably non-existent. Ludicrous risk-taking.

It may have been an quarantined area in mosque. We don't know.

If this is true then Wasim Khan is the biggest clown I have seen ever.

Wasim Khan is a gift that keeps on giving. Let’s blame this on the franchises as well.

Utterly clueless leadership. Zero responsibility.

Why do this at a time when Covid is an increased threat in the country.

Even in this picture, none are wearing masks.

If this is true then Wasim Khan is the biggest clown I have seen ever.

If?

They were pictured in a mosque.

I have just asked and been told they were there.

I have given details even of how long the players stayed there.

What more do you need, how many times they went to the loo? :)

South African have a Covid strain of their own on top of everything else.

And this board is going to conduct PSL Mk 2? Hahahahaha!!

ICC needs to intervene and ban PCB from touring/hosting until all the players in the international cricket community are vaccinated.

PCB should compensate CSA and others for the loss of revenue.

MashAllah this is a good thing but probably not the wisest decision right now (may Allah forgive me for saying that).

You can't have a jamaat with 50+ member of Pakistan in some hall of HPC?

Yep, but this is the problem with Pakistan and carrying out the proper governance of such things. I mean if i'm not mistaken Lahore is in a full lockdown again so surely this wouldn't be allowed.

It's the level of education in Pakistan and lack of respect for Covid right now that's making everything a joke.

At this point, Wasim is begging to be sacked. He is no idea what he is doing and where he is going - he has no control of the situation and it would be best for both PCB and his own well-being if he is taken out of his misery.

The problem is that the patron (the PM) does not care. He appointed his sycophants and handed over his framework for domestic cricket and that was the extent of his interest and concern for Pakistan cricket.

We did not hear from him in the aftermath of PCB’s recklessness to sabotage PSL. Nothing will happen after this latest blunder either.

Yep, but this is the problem with Pakistan and carrying out the proper governance of such things. I mean if i'm not mistaken Lahore is in a full lockdown again so surely this wouldn't be allowed.

It's the level of education in Pakistan and lack of respect for Covid right now that's making everything a joke.

There's no lockdown. Life is going on as normal, apart from the fact that some commercial centres are closing at 6 pm.

ICC needs to intervene and ban PCB from touring/hosting until all the players in the international cricket community are vaccinated.

PCB should compensate CSA and others for the loss of revenue.

Pakistan players are already vaccinated 🤫

Vaccinated people can still carry and transmit COVID to others. Just because you are vaccinated it doesn’t mean you are liberated from the SOPs.

Perhaps the PCB leadership is as misinformed as you are.

I am in Islamabad right now and there is no lockdown. The only difference is that restaurants are dining outdoors. It is the same situation in Lahore.

A lot of schools are closed though.

There's no lockdown. Life is going on as normal, apart from the fact that some commercial centres are closing at 6 pm.

That's the problem people give in too quickly, very unprofessional of them.

However, to be honest the Babar case is becoming more and more of a concern and this is small potatoes in comparison.

Nobody has said for sure yet if the mosque was quarantined or not. It wouldn't be that hard to achieve if the mosque basically became a hotel for the players with nobody else going in or out.

Vaccinated people can still carry and transmit COVID to others. Just because you are vaccinated it doesn’t mean you are liberated from the SOPs.

I am just following your theory ..

It is not that hard to follow. Vaccine does not provide 100% protection but it provides considerable protection.

As long as all the teams are not vaccinated, PCB should be banned from touring/hosting because they are completely reckless and irresponsible.

They are not willing to follow the protocols and they can harm vulnerable players and personnel in other teams.

Other teams need to get vaccinated ASAP to protect themselves from PCB’s stupidity.

Pm is today getting vaccinated and you are telling me it is not reliable

Everyone should get vaccinated. It provides considerable protection. However, it doesn’t mean it provides 100% protection.

Some protection is better than no protection. Not sure what your point is.

If it's a quarantine area then fine.

If not that is shambolic. Tf are pcb and players doing?

Also I'm reading that there's NO lockdown in Pakistan and no care being taken????

Thank goodness I don't live in Pakistan...

That's troubling news, reminds me problematic days of Inzi's captaincy when Tableegi jamat was calling the shots . Looks like Imad is not religious enough and kicked out.

I hate it when religion is dragged in everything. Its a beautiful thing, if kept at a personal level. Keep the team secular please.

Who is behind this ??

That's troubling news, reminds me problematic days of Inzi's captaincy when Tableegi jamat was calling the shots . Looks like Imad is not religious enough and kicked out.

I hate it when religion is dragged in everything. Its a beautiful thing, if kept at a personal level. Keep the team secular please.

Who is behind this ??

If its true then misbah

Also I'm reading that there's NO lockdown in Pakistan and no care being taken????

Thank goodness I don't live in Pakistan...

In Pakistan people roam freely like pre coronavirus. They are still having their religious gatherings like mehfil e naat etc...Pakistan 🇵🇰 is just different to the rest of the world 🌎 😆

Whats Wasim Khan got to do with this. Does he need to put a dummy in their mouths? Some thing is called common sense

Yes and we live in a bio secure bubble for the rest of our lives. How long people want go on with this farce?

Seeing the reactions on here all Pak players and staff members are in hospital ATM.

In Pakistan people roam freely like pre coronavirus. They are still having their religious gatherings like mehfil e naat etc...Pakistan 🇵🇰 is just different to the rest of the world 🌎 😆

Uhmm no people are done with all the restrictions. Lockdowna are now only on paper. On the streets people are not following the so called rules.

Can't blame the players when no one is following any precautions in Pakistan. It is truly through the Grace of Allah that Pakistan came out of the first wave with relatively few casualties.

All's well that ends well though. InshaAllah, everyone involved will test negative.

Who is behind this ??

Keep your secular views to yourself. Pakistan is a highly religious country and players visiting the mosque or going in Jamat is to be expected. This was a personal visit by the players, not a publicity stunt.

"Who is behind this??" :))

In Pakistan people roam freely like pre coronavirus. They are still having their religious gatherings like mehfil e naat etc...Pakistan ���� is just different to the rest of the world �� ��

India situation same nothing different .today in my village government offer free Covid vaccination for 60+ age people but hardly 10% people' vaccinated . They think we don't need any vaccine. ***

This pseudo-religious impact on the cricket team is having longstanding effects. Do it, of your own accord, a la Rashid and Moeen but don't do it for publicity

India situation same nothing different .today in my village government offer free Covid vaccination for 60+ age people but hardly 10% people' vaccinated . They think we don't need any vaccine. ***

Omg this is crazy. Its maybe a desi thing then. Didn't know india was like that

Looks like Misbah is mixing religion with cricket. He needs to be sacked

But I was told PCB are not to blame for the PSL being postponed. Also even saw some posters saying the PSL being postponed is not a big deal . Our players don't seem capable of understanding and following the protocols . It's really worrying.

That's incorrect , there is no documented case of a vaccinated person spread the infection to another . person.

At this point, Wasim is begging to be sacked. He is no idea what he is doing and where he is going - he has no control of the situation and it would be best for both PCB and his own well-being if he is taken out of his misery.

The problem is that the patron (the PM) does not care. He appointed his sycophants and handed over his framework for domestic cricket and that was the extent of his interest and concern for Pakistan cricket.

We did not hear from him in the aftermath of PCB’s recklessness to sabotage PSL. Nothing will happen after this latest blunder either.

Why blame Wasim? Are these circus monkeys that they don’t have a brain of their own? How long will board provide them in service on how to act professionally?

Each player is responsible for their own safety and should have some consideration for PCB image as well.

Keep your secular views to yourself. Pakistan is a highly religious country and players visiting the mosque or going in Jamat is to be expected. This was a personal visit by the players, not a publicity stunt.

"Who is behind this??" :))

I am sure no God is so selfish He will say spread disease and kill old and vulnerable peole to pray to me. Its not even about being religious or secular but about having a bit if humanity and consideration for those vulnerable

In Pakistan people roam freely like pre coronavirus. They are still having their religious gatherings like mehfil e naat etc...Pakistan ���� is just different to the rest of the world �� ��

This behaiour isn't limited to Pakistan. Its a Desi mentality, things are no better in India. No one wears a mask outside the main centre in the city, absolutely no social distancing and then there is religion to unite all these idiots with their mass gatherings.

Waqar and Misbah are not 60 yet. Relax and let the lads pray and play. It's good PR for Babar too after the selection controversy and that court case.

While the Zana and fornication case is pending in the court, and some love to break the team curfew for late night partying and some are caught having sex chat.

Perhaps they all have repented and have now turned to God but still, not adhering to the policies of your employer is not recommended in the Islamic guidance. If you don’t agree with your employer’s policies then find work somewhere else. This is the evidence of your emaan.

If this news is true and they broke the rules to begin with, then I don’t see the point of them visiting the masjid and trying to earn hasanaat and sawaab. In my opinion, this becomes a show off drama, and hints hypocrisy.

When you have the national captain doing things like this then what hope is there for the rest

He should be setting a better example

So PCB don't know who was at the mosque.

They don't know which players were there at the mosque.

They don't know if the players were allowed to be at the mosque.

They are giving differing versions of when the picture was taken. With some saying it was before PSL, some saying it was before the players went into the bubble for South Africa series and one official admitting the picture was taken after the players were supposed to be in the bubble for the South Africa series.

Well that clears things up:)

Just a word of advice for some:

When you read something on PakPassion BY PakPassion - take it's veracity for granted.

And now some un-named official allegedly saying that the picture is from 'well before' the bubble was formed.

Oh man. It just gets better.

Why so negativity? As if they are in brothel or strip club. So just because of virus people ave to distant themselves from GOD or pray. After life test is million times harder than Worldly life. Most cases mosques are clean than many places.

Each to their own but why take the risk. You have just seen what's happened with the PSL and what's going on around the world and you are about to go on tour to South Africa.

Even those who are pro players and PCB and go to PCB to get everything verified must be wondering why the players are taking these risks.

People need to understand, these guys are going to tour another country. Let’s just say they carry Covid to SA and it spreads in SA. It will only be these players faults and no one else’s. Our fans will literally defend anything our players do . You need to look at the bigger picture, our players and PCB are endangering the safety of others. Covid has killed people and some have not recovered for months. Pakistan cricket need to stop thinking about themselves and the fans need to stop downplaying this, our players and management are endangering the health and safety of others. If you think that is acceptable, you need serious help.

This is why some intelligence and education should be a pre requisite when playing for pakistan

I mean you can have all the talent in the world but if you dont have any brains your gonna make youself and the country look silly just like these guys are

Why isn’t babar wearing a topi :))

At this point you can only laugh at the behaviour of our team, but if there’s no lockdown in the country then you can’t really blame the players unfortunately they aren’t the cleverest so won’t think of taking precautions unless they are set in stone, and even then there’s problems.

Why so negativity? As if they are in brothel or strip club. So just because of virus people ave to distant themselves from GOD or pray. After life test is million times harder than Worldly life. Most cases mosques are clean than many places.

As I said before, no God would want his disciples to be so selfish that they put old and weak people at risk in His name

In after life God will ask, why did you kill old and weak people when you know you were putting them in danger. I guess thats the difference between following a religion in spirit instead of in letter. All prophets have emphasized on helping the weak instead of making a show off for God

Can you show me any evidence which shows that religious places are exempt from the spread of Covid?

This is not the point.
If this news is true then there is a proper way of doing things.

If they wanted to visit the masjid to pray in congregation or spend three days with jamaat, which would be not recomended by the currently Covid related policies by their employer, then they should’ve gotten a permission from PCB before going to masjid.

Had PCB not allowed them then they had two choices,
1- Quit working for PCB and find work where your employer has policies that favor your wishes and lifestyle
Or
2 - Follow the current employer’s policies.

God may not need such prayers if you are not honest and faithful to your employer.

It’s not hard to understand if you want to understand.

There was an incident happened in Karachi where many folks started to abuse jumma prayer’s break and would be gone from work for long hours.

Management was changed a new boss took over.

He saw the issue and got everyone gathered in a room on Monday and asked,
Who goes to pray jumma every friday?
Almost all raised their hands.
A few that didn’t were asked to leave the room and the boss was left with all the “namaazies” only.

He then announced that there will be no more jumma break.

If you agree and want to continue to work stay seated, and those who don’t agree can stand up and they will be fired.

Only 2 people got up.

The boss said, you two are truly honest with your work and with your religion - so both of you will continue to work, and rest of all who are seated are fired.

At some point you have to blame the players for their idiocy too. PCB can only do and say so much. Players have to take responsibility as well.

No wonder PCB botched the PSL.

To the sensitive Muslims in this thread, the concern is not that they are praying or in a mosque or they are Muslims.

The concern is that per ICC standards and Intl cricket standards, touring teams and host teams are supposed to do practices to minimize COVID spread to the other teams, spectators and people they come in contact with in general.

It’s ironic some of you can’t see that, since part of Islam is thinking of others, like not wanting to spread the virus to vulnerable people.

Entire country is not following Covid Protocols. People are shopping, going to restaurants, having parties, etc. No one cares, so its not a surprise the players dont either. So their is no reason to single out going to the masjid. You either hold players responsible for any violation, or dont hold them responsible at all.

If they were in a secured place away from the general public, more than fine

If they mixed with everyone, blatant stupid

If bio-secure rules start from the day AFTER this day, then technically its still fine but precautions are better

I've heard some people say that you 'can't get covid in the house of Allah', perhaps these players think the same.

Very embarrassing by the PCB. They can pray together, read Quran in their hotel or wherever they are staying, there is no reason to go to a mosque during a pandemic.

So many PCT members have tested positive in New Zealand & PSL. Pretty sure there’s herd immunity in that bunch. Nothing to worry.

I think your answer is here Quran 2:18

As far as I am aware mosques had to be closed as did other places of worship around the world. If they were exempt from Covid, then why the need to close them?

I think everyone has it wrong.
Players were at the mosque praying for IPL contracts and who can blame them

Joking aside, this image is truly shocking. Players should be seriously reprimanded.

As far as I am aware mosques had to be closed as did other places of worship around the world. If they were exempt from Covid, then why the need to close them?

Here in UK majority of the times masjid were oppened only on a few occasions for a couple of weeks they were closed

I've heard some people say that you 'can't get covid in the house of Allah', perhaps these players think the same.

Very embarrassing by the PCB. They can pray together, read Quran in their hotel or wherever they are staying, there is no reason to go to a mosque during a pandemic.

Masjids were opened majority of times during the pandemic like wise so were essential business or shops

Here in UK majority of the times masjid were oppened only on a few occasions for a couple of weeks they were closed

Exactly, that's my point.

Covid doesn't suddenly decide that it won't spread via places of worship.

Cricketers are a reflection of the society and country they live in. Pakistan as a country overall has taken Covid very lightly and chill and its a miracle that the country hasn't faced a health disaster

This! I’m not sure why the blame is going to the PCB. They’re providing instructions, a paid isolated accommodation as well as proper masks/sanitation. At some point the blame has to be on these ADULTS. I don’t blame my employer for my actions, especially when they’re asking me to do one thing and I do another. Why are people giving these guys a pass and blaming their employer? Babar is the national captain. He’s not a hormonal teenager (at least we don’t think although his shenanigans from another thread might indicate otherwise), he needs to lead his team from the front.

We’re a year into this. No one can claim ignorance anymore.

This! I’m not sure why the blame is going to the PCB. They’re providing instructions, a paid isolated accommodation as well as proper masks/sanitation. At some point the blame has to be on these ADULTS. I don’t blame my employer for my actions, especially when they’re asking me to do one thing and I do another. Why are people giving these guys a pass and blaming their employer? Babar is the national captain. He’s not a hormonal teenager (at least we don’t think although his shenanigans from another thread might indicate otherwise), he needs to lead his team from the front.

We’re a year into this. No one can claim ignorance anymore.

You cant control a society as a whole but you surely can control small group of players under you. Else you can do anything and pass the blame on to the society.