Pakistan destroy India with a clinical performance to win 2017 Champions Trophy

Congratulations to both Pakistan and India for making the final thus making it a very special special game for us South Asians. I am so proud of Pakistan the way they handle themselves througout the championship and for winning the game. It's been a long road for Pakistani fans in general and me in general where Pakistan team not winning any 50 over championship since 1992. Well done team Pakisntan and may this team form continue for ever.

Congrats Pakistan!!!! Outstanding and miraculous! Special credit to Amir and Fakhar for their match winning performances!!

Imran khan had advised sarfi to bat first but they wouldn't have . Everybody bashed imran' s thinking ... luckily india put us in and got desimated. Shows what a True Legend imran is.

This is a win of epic proportions.

After India thrashed us in our first match, it looked like we would be going home early. I would never have imagined that we would have got to the final and then to hammer India by 180 runs is quite surreal.

This is a tremendous effort by the team and coaching staff.

Imran khan had advised sarfi to bat first but they wouldn't have . Everybody bashed imran' s thinking ... luckily india put us in and got desimated. Shows what a True Legend imran is.

props to Imran but seriously we would have easily won chasing too. The momentum we gained in last 3 matches was great. We were unstoppable.

Nobody does it like we do it!

Went to the Champions trophy as a #8 ranked team.

Came back home with the trophy.

Defeated the #1 ranked team in a do or die match.

Defeated the tournaments hot favorite in the semi-final.

And in the finals we handed out a thrashing to our nemesis, our arch-rivals, the supposedly second best team after the great aussies of 2000s.

Repeat!

Being a closet optimist ... finally i can scream in utter delight! all else forgiven ... you guys made my day ... made my iftar a lot more happy and made me a lot more grateful ! no negativity today ... just plain old happiness !!! go green

I did stop coming to the furum but today's victory brought me back to say congrats to Pak Team and to Pak People.

Congrats to all Pakistanis and ppers on the final win. After a long time it was great to see the team playing so well and come out winners at the end.

Congrats to Pakistan team and all the followers/fans. They were exceptional. Enjoy the moment. India will be back :)

What a fantastic and breath taking performance by Pakistan well done and congratulations on a great win.

Congrats everyone! What a performance. Alhamdulillah

Josh-e-Junoon
Khud pay yaqeen
Jo hum main hai dum
Wo kisi main nahi

Absolutely smashed 3 heavy favorites on the road to the trophy and we are deserved winners.
India just couldn't handle the :aag

After that Bumrah no-ball I felt that Allah was gonna help us in this match.

In 1st innings brilliance just didn't cease:
First Azhar's stability, then Fakhar's madness, then Babar's class, then Hafeez with a cameo for the ages.

In 2nd innings,
the Jazba Junoon was at its peak:
Amir swinging and seaming it on an absolute belter and proving his legendary status as one of the best all format bowlers in this century and reminding us all of Wasim Akram with those killer double blows. Then teenage Shadab befuddling the best players of spin with his wiliness. Then Hasan and Junaid with their seam bowling and tight lengths.

Today was Pakistan at its peak in every department.

Alhamdulillah indeed

P.S. Happy Father's Day to all Indians iykwim

:salute :salute

:pakflag2

Amir you beauty, Fakhar you beauty, Virat you beautier! Congratulations, I've never seen Pakistanis so happy and deservedly so!

Amir, Hassan and Zaman. Wow!

Hey [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION], bro I am eagerly waiting for your tribute video to Pak '17 CT campaign.

Please add 'We are the Champions' by Queen and 'Jazba Junoon' by Junoon in your track list. Make it long :D

Hey [MENTION=3474]TalhaSyed[/MENTION], bro I am eagerly waiting for your tribute video to Pak '17 CT campaign.

Please add 'We are the Champions' by Queen and 'Jazba Junoon' by Junoon in your track list. Make it long :D

And "Pakistani tujhe salam" should be in there too, please.

He's literally blown away India twice now 1st that 8/3 in Mirpur and now 33/3 on a road in The Oval.

Amir is a legend for me.

And imagine if Kohli was given out by that stupid Sri Lankan umpire that day , we Wd hv won that game too as Kohli proved the difference in the end ..

A truly sensational day. Whattta victory!
Only the Glory of 1992 can rank above this victory. 🇵🇰

Mauqa mauqa, mauqa mauqa!! On father's day we sent out a clear message to Sehwag that don't mess with the baap when it really matters! Rishi Kapoor must also be licking his wounds after his beloved India were whooped daft by an explosive Pak side. This hammering was far more severe then India's recent win that they have been telling us about repeatedly in fact they still wouldn't have got the remaining 180 runs had they batted anther innings! I said recently that India's top four in Kohli, Sharma, Yuvraj and Dhawan are the best in the world but after them there is not much to fear. Dhoni looks past his sell by date where as the rest of them are no better then our middle order batsmen. Virat made a crucial error in asking us to bat on a very good wicket with the sun shining. India seem obsessed in always trying to chase irrespective of conditions which is ridiculous, I was delighted that Sarfaraz lost the toss otherwise he would have put India in to bat. Credit to Indian players for taking the massive defeat on the chin like men not trying to belittle Pak's great achievement. Certain Afghan fans on this site must be crying like babies as well:ahmed Time to open another box of ladu's lad's!!:djb

Wonderful performance Mashallah.
A wonderful day for Pakistan. Congratulations to all Pakistanis. A much needed boost.

Moral of the story? Never write off Pakistan!

Congrats pakistan on winning, excellent victory.

Also congrats to india for reaching the final.

Congratulations.

Hopefully there is no turning back after this win and team moves forward.

And "Pakistani tujhe salam" should be in there too, please.

In-Shaa-Allah looking forward to putting something together soon :)

Congrats Pakistan on a well deserved win. Absolutely brilliant played almost a perfect game last couple of matches. Stoked for you guys enjoy the win! :pkflag

Started off the tournament with India with a devastating loss. A one-sided encounter. We had Wahab India's 12th man in our team and slug Shahzad.

We were written off completely but this is Pakistan and you never write them off in big tournaments...

Since then We had Fakhar-E-Pakistan and it all changed. 1 batsman changed the attitude and dynamic of the scenario of the whole team and Safraz just brought out the best in the players we had. Pakistan was always known for their destructive pace bowlers and its what teams feared. We found that back in Hassan Ali and when our bowling clicked.

South Africa 219 all out.
Sri Lanka 265 all out.
Mighty England - 211 all out.
India in final masters of chase 158 all out.

This is what we were always strong at. Bowling out the opposition with brutal ruthless fearless attacking bowling.

Once Pakistan got through Sri Lanka. This trophy had their name on it it was just a matter of time. It was the feeling of World T20 2009 all over again which was also won in England.

I knew it that whether we bat first or bowl first against India Pakistan are lifting that trophy and we did just that. Its an amazing crazy feeling that what was not their strong suit in batting where we actually posted 338 and what could have been 350 maybe even 375 at one point.

Then the man of the finals arrived. Amir who single handedly took out the tournaments 3 highest scorers inluding India's saviour and superstar Virat Kohli.

Amir to Sharma = Out
Amir to Kohli = Out - twice in 2 balls.
Amir to Dhiwan = Out

Reeling at 3 down for nothing and all without Hassan Ali as yet you knew Pakistan are on course for fatality!

This was a dominating absolutely thrashing win one which we could only have imagined or dreamed of only but no it happened and this now looks to be a start for Pakistan to move upwards with young energetic passionate hungry players who want to do their families their nation their fans proud.

Under Safraz who has won the U19 world cup final as captain. Who has captained Quetta Gladiators to 2 back to back PSL finals and in his 1st major tournament as captain did the unthinkable. Beat India in the finals by a mammoth 180 runs!

We started with a loss to India by 124 runs and we finished the tournament beating India by 180 runs to lift that much deserved trophy.

Hassan Ali what a find 13 wickets in the tournament!
Fakhar Zaman what a player - 30 on debut 50 in his 2nd 56 in his 3rd game and in the final with 1 lifeline which he made it count a blistering match winning knock of 114.

Today was a team performance we did not get bowled out we did not get bogged down and this team is now getting all the basics right. Finding the gaps looking for the singles and doubles and hitting boundaries playing fearless attacking cricket putting the bowlers under pressure to make mistakes and India made alot with 25 extra's.

Now that this team under Safraz believe and are confident to beat the likes of South Africa England and finaly INDIA. This could be the beginning of the end for India's dominance over Pakistan and we could finally be seeing a new era of cricket in all its glory.

Well done and congrats to all Pakistani fans. Hard luck India but on their day when Pakistan find form then there is no stopping them.

Mubarak to all. Its a win that will forever be remembered.

Next goal is to win the World Cup. With few changes in the squad here and there is a strong possibility we could become a force in World Cricket again. Onwards and upwards.

Congratulations.

Hopefully this win will revive the brand of cricket Pakistan is known for - the brand of fearless, in your face aggression and the brand of where legends are made.

Read my signature.

AAG !! AAG !!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/K2xL2H7ZjEk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Salutes and heartiest congratulations to Pakistan for this epic victory.Few times in the history if the O.D.I.game or in an O.D.I. world championship has a team ressurected glory or risen like a phoenix from the Ashes as Pakistan did in the tournament.It ressurected itself from the grave like in the 1992 world cup exhibiting the same do or die spirit.It was a revelation witnessing the energy exuded by Pakistan yesterday,particularly on the field.It reminded one of a tiger set out to catch it's prey.Pakistan has such an abundance of talent but were unable to knit themselves into a cohesive ,fighting unit.Yesterday's display and the one staging England was where they displayed agresssion,organization and mental tenacity at it's highest zenith.It was these very qualities that Imran Khan instilled into the team to make it a world champion team.Sarafraz Ahmed displayed great skill in garnering the resources of this talented bunch .

Sadly India caved in chasing the target ,reminiscent of walking in a funeral procession to perform the last rights.There was not a semblance of a fight and it was virtually allover after the first 15 overs.Even when India used to be frequently defeated by Pakistan in past eras ,in the 40th over of almost all those games it still had a 40% chance of winning those games.In Imran's era Pakistan won almost all it's matches against India but most of them were hard -fought .In that respect India's total submission was sad for the game of cricket,particularly for such a final.

Neverthless I again salute Pakistan and hope this win sows the seeds for the ressurection of Pakistani cricket to attain the heights of yesteryears.Considering their underdog status ,marginalization and humiliation in recent years I think arguably it was better for the game as a whole that Pakistan won than India.

Can't wait for Pakistan Team to arrive at Lahore Airport ! Should be amazing scenes :D

So when does the Pakistan Team return to Pakistan.
Cant wait for the celebrations !!! :amir3 :babar :imad :sarf

Salutes and heartiest congratulations to Pakistan for this epic victory.Few times in the history if the O.D.I.game or in an O.D.I. world championship has a team ressurected glory or risen like a phoenix from the Ashes as Pakistan did in the tournament.It ressurected itself from the grave like in the 1992 world cup exhibiting the same do or die spirit.It was a revelation witnessing the energy exuded by Pakistan yesterday,particularly on the field.It reminded one of a tiger set out to catch it's prey.Pakistan has such an abundance of talent but were unable to knit themselves into a cohesive ,fighting unit.Yesterday's display and the one staging England was where they displayed agresssion,organization and mental tenacity at it's highest zenith.It was these very qualities that Imran Khan instilled into the team to make it a world champion team.Sarafraz Ahmed displayed great skill in garnering the resources of this talented bunch .

Sadly India caved in chasing the target ,reminiscent of walking in a funeral procession to perform the last rights.There was not a semblance of a fight and it was virtually allover after the first 15 overs.Even when India used to be frequently defeated by Pakistan in past eras ,in the 40th over of almost all those games it still had a 40% chance of winning those games.In Imran's era Pakistan won almost all it's matches against India but most of them were hard -fought .In that respect India's total submission was sad for the game of cricket,particularly for such a final.

Neverthless I again salute Pakistan and hope this win sows the seeds for the ressurection of Pakistani cricket to attain the heights of yesteryears.Considering their underdog status ,marginalization and humiliation in recent years I think arguably it was better for the game as a whole that Pakistan won than India.

Well said [MENTION=132062]Harsh Thakor[/MENTION]

Pakistan played a gem. But the way India caved in is indeed sad for Indian fans.

Thank you for your tribute.

Never does the true character of a person come to shine, than it does in how he handels a defeat.

Phenomenal. Indescribable performance besides just underlining that this is PEAK Pakistan. This semi and final is quite easily the best I have ever seen Pakistan play. Probably one of the biggest juggernauts in world sport once we get going.

Absolutely loved it. Shame I have 4 exams this week so I could not celebrate etc but I watched every single ball of the match at least

Won't shy away from congratulating a brilliant performance by the Pak team who thoroughly outplayed India with a clinical performance. Congrats to all Pakistani's and to some of my favorite posters on this forum [MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION], [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION], [MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION], [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], @TahlaSyed

A moment to cherish. A few thoughts did run my mind about writing something about this performance by the Pak team, especially as a tribute to the 2 left handers Fakhar and Amir, who were the architects. May be I will jot something sometime.

Hard luck team India. I know you would come back stronger and harder in 2019 WC.

I congratulate Pakistan. Like in WC 1992 they started off slowly and peaked at the right time. I am glad they beat India.

Hahaa.. I've read innumerable comments from various websites and news outlets... Seems to me everyone wanted Pakistan to annhilate India for various reasons.

Won't shy away from congratulating a brilliant performance by the Pak team who thoroughly outplayed India with a clinical performance. Congrats to all Pakistani's and to some of my favorite posters on this forum [MENTION=865]Big Mac[/MENTION], [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION], [MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION], [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], @TahlaSyed

A moment to cherish. A few thoughts did run my mind about writing something about this performance by the Pak team, especially as a tribute to the 2 left handers Fakhar and Amir, who were the architects. May be I will jot something sometime.

Hard luck team India. I know you would come back stronger and harder in 2019 WC.

Thank you for being gracious in defeat.

it felt like a pretty instantaneous switch-on for the team after the first humiliating loss. were all over south africa, ran through lanka, even if they stuttered in chase, then were clinical against england and india. but the standout individual performances were saved for last. pretty perfect dramatic arc really.

This is the third day...

I've been working 12/day. I am tired. My right shoulder hurts from a minor gym injury.

But I am still over the moon, lol. As they say, on cloud 9. :)))

Anyone else experiencing the same phenomenon?

:yk

Here is a heart warming picture of the Turkish government supporting Pak during the recent Champions trophy final. I think the Turks love us:afridi
Turks support Pakistan.jpg

Honest confession..

Actually i wanto know view of other people because may i addicted to final pak vs india highlights again n again and looking for views for ex cricketers from youtube ,twitter anywhere or evryother pakistan cricket fan feeling the same way.
Because to be honest guys who are between 20 to 30 year old never seen or had this type of celebration of vast achievment.its looks lame but guys this is biggest achievement.and am feeling exhubrant .
I want honest confession from you all that how many time u have watched highlights of that match?or feeling the same way that am feeling?

Actually i wanto know view of other people because may i addicted to final pak vs india highlights again n again and looking for views for ex cricketers from youtube ,twitter anywhere or evryother pakistan cricket fan feeling the same way.
Because to be honest guys who are between 20 to 30 year old never seen or had this type of celebration of vast achievment.its looks lame but guys this is biggest achievement.and am feeling exhubrant .
I want honest confession from you all that how many time u have watched highlights of that match?or feeling the same way that am feeling?

yes. I have watched the highlights over and over again. Favourite bits were Amir's celebration after getting out Sharma, the excitement at Kohli's dismissal, the celebrations when Jadav got out and the celebration/Pandya getting angry when he was run out. Will never forget this day. Pakistan Zindabad!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/OnThisDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#OnThisDay</a> in 2017. One of the greatest days in the history of Pakistan cricket as they defeated India by 180 runs in the Champions Trophy final <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/LHuLKbZitf">pic.twitter.com/LHuLKbZitf</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1670349125936726017?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 18, 2023</a></blockquote>

When Kohli and Dhawan wicket fell I knew it was a game set match

Another key/important and epic moment was when shadab got wicket of Yuvraj, and right away he told Sarfaraz you need to review that.

One of the best days of my life
Always lovely sight to see BCCI getting roasted

What an emotional day

I was best man at a wedding in Rome...having to deal with that, do my speech etc whilst also cheekily following the score.

Best moments we'll has to be kohli getting dropped and then getting out next ball..then just watching them collapse under the relentless pressure..was like old times again!!