Pakistan need to remove Mohammad Rizwan from their T20I side

Tournament strike-rate of 110 at the T20 World Cup 2022.

For an opening batter, that's not very good.

He is a scammer and has too much of an acting on the display to get attention. He craves it.

Took that unnecessary break and gave 5 minutes for the English bowlers to regroup - otherwise they were lost and all at sea.

And once they regrouped, they never looked back.

He is a scammer and has too much of an acting on the display to get attention. He craves it.

Took that unnecessary break and gave 5 minutes for the English bowlers to regroup - otherwise they were lost and all at sea.

And once they regrouped, they never looked back.
I feel that Tupac song ‘it’s all about you” was dedicated to Rizwan

What a visionary Tupac was

That innings today was absolutely dire.

Apart from the 6 he struggled ball after ball, didn't look for 1s and 2s, didn't look to rotate the strike.

It was almost like he was there just to see off the new ball like a Test opener.

Rizwan smakcs a 100 against the team that mistreated him :)))

Fantastic inning but can’t forget how poor he was in WC also . Harris is the future . Fact is either one of babar or rizwan have to give away opening slot

Simon Doul calling out Mohd Rizwan saying that he was very slow in the first half of the innings and Multan Sultans should have ended up with a much larger score on this wicket.

This is what rizwan supporter should understand, if gets out after 50 which he normally does, this does more harm to team than good

Come on, don’t confuse the discussion with hard facts and reality, when so many of the posters want to cling to prejudice:-)

seriously, some of these people really naïve analysis. Like the guy batted at a strike rate of 170, what else do you want him to do? No player in the world has a career strike rate higher than 176 in t20

When your Niyyat (intention) is pure in your cause, Allah sends his helpers to support you.

Today, God sent Simon Doul to voice what I have been screaming on here for the past few years

InshaAllah I will keep at it.

When your Niyyat (intention) is pure in your cause, Allah sends his helpers to support you.

Today, God sent Simon Doul to voice what I have been screaming on here for the past few years

170 strike rate is low?

he scored a 100 to defeat Karachi :))). He won at the end.

seriously, some of these people really naïve analysis. Like the guy batted at a strike rate of 170, what else do you want him to do? No player in the world has a career strike rate higher than 176 in t20

That’s some amazing analysis forgetting Rizwans career strike rate of 125 let’s wait until he does it regularly before saying anything today was a flat pitch and some weak bowling.

Sometimes god sends someone to help and support you. To help you get over the addiction of a great online forum.

Today, and for sometime now, god has sent Rana to help me overcome this addiction.

Thank you God!

Nothing like pure Niyyat in slagging a man off continuously, even in his better performances.

Also, great captaincy today and masterful management of bowling resources, even if they’d lost. Can’t hide behind the excuse of Roussow this and Miller that this time around.

It came off today and full credit to him.

However this run a ball approach during the powerplay has become a regular feature of his in the shortest format. It's not sustainable and it will cost Pakistan heavily in another Asia Cup, WT20 and etc.

He was lucky to have Shan at the other end, who somehow managed to score a brisk 50 today.

It was actually James Vince who played the best innings in this contest and was very unlucky to be run out. Lets not forget he faced better bowlers than ones Rizwan did.

To put things into perspective, this guy can't even make the England T20I side and I wouldn't be surprised if he's not able to make England's second string T20 side, yet he showed today that he's levels above Rizwan as a batsman so the chest thumping I have to say is a bit OTT from his crop of cheerleaders.

If it wasn't for Haider Ali, he would've scored a hundred. MS never looked like getting him out.

However this run a ball approach during the powerplay has become a regular feature of his in the shortest format. It's not sustainable and it will cost Pakistan heavily in another Asia Cup, WT20 and etc.

He was lucky to have Shan at the other end, who somehow managed to score a brisk 50 today.

It was actually James Vince who played the best innings in this contest and was very unlucky to be run out. Lets not forget he faced better bowlers than ones Rizwan did.

To put things into perspective, this guy can't even make the England T20I side and I wouldn't be surprised if he's not able to make England's second string T20 side, yet he showed today that he's levels above Rizwan as a batsman so the chest thumping I have to say is a bit OTT from his crop of cheerleaders.

If it wasn't for Haider Ali, he would've scored a hundred. MS never looked like getting him out.

So true

That’s some amazing analysis forgetting Rizwans career strike rate of 125 let’s wait until he does it regularly before saying anything today was a flat pitch and some weak bowling.

WHY WAIT? He has won an icc torphy for t20. Unless you want to wait for him to do bad and bash him.

lol lets wait :)))

flat wicket? Ok, than why didnt someone else not score a 100 and win the game?

WHY WAIT? He has won an icc torphy for t20. Unless you want to wait for him to do bad and bash him.

I won’t bash him as that’s his normal game scoring at 125 strike rate James Vince easily had the best strike rate today yet he won’t even make the England team showing what power hitting is in the powerplay.

His innings wasn’t the best, but his captaincy was great. This is how you add value, by being intelligent with your bowling changes. What did u think of his captaincy?

I wonder what ICC trophy he has won. Besides for individual awards. How does that kind of trophy help anybody?

His innings wasn’t the best, but his captaincy was great. This is how you add value, by being intelligent with your bowling changes. What did u think of his captaincy?

Mate your only as good a captain as your bowlers are to deliver

He was lucky Abbas got away with the equation down to 6 to win off 4

Mate your only as good a captain as your bowlers are to deliver

He was lucky Abbas got away with the equation down to 6 to win off 4

It’s about when to use your bowlers. He brought in Ihsanullah when Malik was around and Imad had just got in. He bowled Ihsanullah out before the 18 th over, to give Abbas and Ilyas as many runs as he could. He brought on Usama against Wade and Vince, and Susana delivered straight away. The use of Khushdil in the middle overs. Etc etc etc.

It’s that game awareness that makes him a good captain.

Surprisingly you, I and even Rizwan himself are in agreement that his innings was too slow at the start. But he adds a lot to the side in maximising his resources. That’s good captaincy,

Had Imad given Akif or Umar the new ball, they might even have got Rizzy early. But who got the new ball? Aamir Yamin. On a pitch where spinners did better, Imad didn’t bowl himself out. We can put it down to luck, bad bowling etc, but these are the margins when you lose by three runs.

Lastly, nobody forced Karachi to draft Aamir Yamin and a 40+ Imran Tahir in the platinum category. These draft selections are on him as much as they are on Wasim Akram.

His bowling changes were good. What I liked the most if how he used his best bowler, Ihsanullah. He didn't leave him till the very end to bowl the last over. He tried to close the game earlier which was good game awareness.

However, he made one big howler when he brought on Carlos Braithwaite to bowl the second over of the innings which gave Vince a massive boost in momentum. This was a very rookie move. Vince was looking invincible until the run out. I felt Rizwan and Multan Sultans were very fortunate to get away with this so overall I'm still not entirely convinced. But he way's better than Babar as captain.

It was actually James Vince who played the best innings in this contest and was very unlucky to be run out.
Lets not forget he faced better bowlers than ones Rizwan did.

Good post, I agree with most of this but just want to expand on a few points.

The second half of Rizwan's innings was extraordinary but i agree having Shan blasting at the other end isn't an excuse for him to be so pedestrian during the powerplay. I get that he wants to continue to give his partner a license to thrill, but his strike rate was too low to be acceptable. It actually puts more pressure on Shan to make up for it. It came off today but it could have been very embarassing otherwise.

Vince's innings was better on balance but we need to be realistic when comparing the two. Vince is a member of England's second string side yet is comfortably better than every batsman playing in Pakistan today. In fact Vince would comfortably waltz into the top 5 of any list of t20 batsmen that Pakistan have ever produced.

Rizwan cannot ever aspire to match the Vince's, let alone the Buttler's or Kohli's so it's a fallacy to compare them. It's apples and oranges. What Rizwan is brilliant at is his consistency and therefore almost always ensuring his side are always in the game, and i don't think there's many other cricketers in the world right now who can match that aspect of his game.

Riz needs competition to push him to the next level. The decline of Sarfi impacted Riz because subconsciously you take it easy and that impacts performance. We need the likes of Haris and Haseebullah to be on his tail all the time.

The needless hate Rizwan gets just because of his ethnic origin. If he was from Punjab or Karachi the same people would be building statues of him.

Far superior than Babar Azam in this format, yet one is idolised to godlike levels and the other is ridiculed even after scoring over 300 runs in 5 games.

The religious Pathan gets hate even though he has surpassed every limit to break nearly every known record in this format.

The needless hate Rizwan gets just because of his ethnic origin. If he was from Punjab or Karachi the same people would be building statues of him.

Far superior than Babar Azam in this format, yet one is idolised to godlike levels and the other is ridiculed even after scoring over 300 runs in 5 games.

The religious Pathan gets hate even though he has surpassed every limit to break nearly every known record in this format.

Well i am a fan. I love him as person and as a team man. However, he needs competition

Scored 100 won the game for his side.

Hardly won the game for his side.

Vince was about to answer back with a 100, in 40 balls. KK would have won this with many balls yo spare had Haider and Cutting not had a go.

I am kinda baffled a little as to how and why Rizwan is being able to score so much and no one has figured it out that he plays 90% towards mid wicket or deep square leg for boundaries, a very few shots over long off, and perhaps a very rare cut shot. And that's it. He doesn't have any other boundary scoring hit in his arsenal.

Why can't set the right field and trap him?

I am kinda baffled a little as to how and why Rizwan is being able to score so much and no one has figured it out that he plays 90% towards mid wicket or deep square leg for boundaries, a very few shots over long off, and perhaps a very rare cut shot. And that's it. He doesn't have any other boundary scoring hit in his arsenal.

Why can't set the right field and trap him?

He was worked out at the WC. It’s about quality opposition/bowlers.

Vince was about to answer back with a 100, in 40 balls. KK would have won this with many balls yo spare had Haider and Cutting not had a go.

Rizwan scored 110* at a SR of 171.

Yes didnt start well and there is no debate about it but at the end the innings he produced for his team was a match winning one.

Vince doing well for his team cant take away anything Rizwan did for his team. So not sure how it is relevant.

Still takes too long to get going. Doull is spot on. Pakistani fans just have alarmingly low standards these days, so a PSL hundo will be gobbled up like a box of gulab jamun by his fanbase.

Funny thing is I remember even his fans being frustrated in the t20 WC but now creating hulla gulla due to a t20 league where people come to relax and just tee off.

The bowlers in PSL are as good as any in world T20s. Like any batsmen he had some failures after two superb years in international cricket.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaaahaha

Khurram Shahzad
Muhammad Umar
Aamer Yamin

They are as good as all bowlers in world T20s??

So who won the game for Multan ?
Unfortunately for Vince that's his/Haiders fault not Rizwans.

Simon Doull turning his guns towards Rizwan

“I hate to say it, but he’s just got to get off,”

“He’s striking at 109, you’ve got enormous power to come, just leave the field, chief. You are the skipper, do the right thing by your team. You can’t run the twos quickly. You’re not helping your mate at the other end. I’d say just go off, get treatment, you’ve done your job.”

"There are no such things as bad hundreds but there are centuries in a losing cause. The balls Rizwan wasted in the earlier part of his innings could have been better utilized,"

“He’s striking at 109, you’ve got enormous power to come, just leave the field, chief. You are the skipper, do the right thing by your team. You can’t run the twos quickly. You’re not helping your mate at the other end. I’d say just go off, get treatment, you’ve done your job.”

"There are no such things as bad hundreds but there are centuries in a losing cause. The balls Rizwan wasted in the earlier part of his innings could have been better utilized,"

Bit harsh at someone who scored a match winning ton at over 170 strike rate

Yeh tou hoga Ab!

Abhi humne Aur Zaleel hona hai

I don't know about you but I'm starting to admire Simon Doull.

I'm thinking about starting a Simon Doull Appreciation Thread and a Simon Doull Appreciation Society.

What I like about him is the fact that doesn't hold back and speaks his mind.

He's exposed Babar and he also exposed Rizwan yesterday. He doesn't care about displeasing the "big names".

The green tinted hype brigade will claim he has a problem with Pakistan players :)))

I don't know about you but I'm starting to admire Simon Doull.

I'm thinking about starting a Simon Doull Appreciation Thread and a Simon Doull Appreciation Society.

What I like about him is the fact that doesn't hold back and speaks his mind.

He's exposed Babar and he also exposed Rizwan yesterday. He doesn't care about displeasing the "big names".

The green tinted hype brigade will claim he has a problem with Pakistan players :)))

Doull does commentary all over the world. I bet he asks for a pay rise/bonus for having to commentate on matches featuring Rizwan. Extremely boring experience and then having to make it sound like it’s world class

I guess he'll be the happiest commie if MS makes the final then :))

In all seriousness, he's a breath of fresh air. Doesn't mince his words like all the other commies do.

I guess he'll be the happiest commie if MS makes the final then :))

In all seriousness, he's a breath of fresh air. Doesn't mince his words like all the other commies do.

Yes. He’s finally come to the party. Gautam Gambhir has been pretty honest and blunt about Babar and Rizwan too during the Asia cup. People obviously don’t like Gautam but in regards to cricket analysis he is one of the most fair and impartial analysts

Wasim Akram was the first Pakistani commentator to call out Rizwan’s bluff during the Asia cup and he had to be very cautious because he knew the backlash he could receive from back home.

Bazid Khan, Sana Mir and Urooj Mumtaz have always been cheerleaders of the old regime where Rizwan’s 40 ball 50s was the face of PCB. These people sicken me. They have destroyed our cricket image with their dishonest cricket analysis. Or if it isn’t dishonest, it is extremely poor understanding of the game

I totally agree with Simon Doul, 40 runs of 40 balls is disgraceful in T-20 Cricket. You have to have a minimum SR of 150 when opening the innings.

This was unfair and premature from Simon

yes if rizwan had got out at that stage it wouldve been a poor innings but the fact that he went on to complete a ton with a strike rate of 170 plus means it wasnt a poor innings

its always better to wait until an innings complete and make an analysis on it than jumping the gun like this

Yes. He’s finally come to the party. Gautam Gambhir has been pretty honest and blunt about Babar and Rizwan too during the Asia cup. People obviously don’t like Gautam but in regards to cricket analysis he is one of the most fair and impartial analysts

Wasim Akram was the first Pakistani commentator to call out Rizwan’s bluff during the Asia cup and he had to be very cautious because he knew the backlash he could receive from back home.

Bazid Khan, Sana Mir and Urooj Mumtaz have always been cheerleaders of the old regime where Rizwan’s 40 ball 50s was the face of PCB. These people sicken me. They have destroyed our cricket image with their dishonest cricket analysis. Or if it isn’t dishonest, it is extremely poor understanding of the game

Have you not seen Gambir comments regarding Rahul selection in India test team.

I totally agree with Simon Doul, 40 runs of 40 balls is disgraceful in T-20 Cricket. You have to have a minimum SR of 150 when opening the innings.

Rohit sharma strike rate 139
Warner strike rate 141
Roy strike rate 137

People really have lost the plot and too much time on our hands.

Dude smashed 100 of 60 at 170SR and the mental gymnastics are off the charts.

No surprise it's [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] lurking around.

This was unfair and premature from Simon

yes if rizwan had got out at that stage it wouldve been a poor innings but the fact that he went on to complete a ton with a strike rate of 170 plus means it wasnt a poor innings

its always better to wait until an innings complete and make an analysis on it than jumping the gun like this

Nah, you need to take the RizBar glasses off for once, you can’t defend them all the time lol.

When you have Miller, Pollard, Khushdil, Brathwaite sitting on the bench then there’s no excuse to be going at a run a ball at any stage of the game, especially when Shan had taken the pressure off of him.

Rizwan isn’t going to score a century every time he’s 30 off 30, he took a risk and lucky for him that it paid off against a weak bowling attack.

If he can score 70 off 30 odd at the back end of the innings then why can’t he do it at the beginning when he’s playing in the PP overs?

Simon Doull was spot on, everyone watching that innings would’ve said exactly the same thing, not one person would’ve expected Rizwan to get a century, even against KK

Simon Doull on TV Comms

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.426%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/2oy6b4" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

“I hate to say it, but he’s just got to get off,” he said. “He’s striking at 109, you’ve got enormous power to come, just leave the field, chief. You are the skipper, do the right thing by your team. You can’t run the twos quickly. You’re not helping your mate at the other end. I’d say just go off, get treatment, you’ve done your job."

But after Riz accelerated he stated that:

"There are no such things as bad 100s but there are 100s in a losing cause. The balls Rizwan wasted in the earlier part of his innings could have been better utilized."

Not fair to single him out

Him, Babar and Shan Masood have no business in this side.

Who should Play then?
We were using Mohd Nawaz to complete 11 players, Mohd Nawaz had no role in the side during much of the world cup.

Who should Play then?
We were using Mohd Nawaz to complete 11 players, Mohd Nawaz had no role in the side during much of the world cup.

I recon Rizwan will be better in the middle this time round

Him and Babar can do 3 and 4

I'm becoming far less convinced. He should've realised this is a slow wicket and utilised Khushdil.

Conversely, it took Imad no time to clock on to this and he used the extra spinner, Shoaib Malik very well. Even you can't deny that he was the superior captain today.

Lets also not forget, Rizwan has a significantly better team yet they got mauled today.

15 off 15 in the powerplay last match and 17 off 16 today

How is this acceptable?

I think he may also hold the record for the most dot balls ever played in the history of the game in powerplays

When he kicks on after a slow start then it works well, but when he doesn't, like what happened today when he scored 30 off 27 balls that puts his team under a lot of pressure if they are chasing a large total.

An opening stand today against LQ of 48 after 6.3 overs wasn't good enough.

When he kicks on after a slow start then it works well, but when he doesn't, like what happened today when he scored 30 off 27 balls that puts his team under a lot of pressure if they are chasing a large total.

An opening stand today against LQ of 48 after 6.3 overs wasn't good enough.

It comes down to what strategy you want as a team. I’ve always backed Rizzy with the hope that his s/r would improve (we know he has a good work ethic). But he just hasn’t shown the improvements needed.

Very disappointed. Today was dire

Azam Khan is badly in shape but he's knocking on the door.

Rizwan needs to realise, when you're up against the son of an ex-Pakistan captain who is performing your days are numbered.

He's very lucky that Muhammad Haris is a part-time wicket keeper and Azam Khan has fitness issues otherwise he'd be discarded soon.

Azam Khan is badly in shape but he's knocking on the door.

Rizwan needs to realise, when you're up against the son of an ex-Pakistan captain who is performing your days are numbered.

He's very lucky that Muhammad Haris is a part-time wicket keeper and Azam Khan has fitness issues otherwise he'd be discarded soon.

I completely disagree on Haris being a part time keeper. The only thing keeping Rizwan in the side is his Pakistan record. Today he got exposed badly by a side that kept hitting the lengths where he struggles.

Rizwan not taking any responsibility today in the post match interview with Waqar.

He blamed the post powerplay phase of their innings as what cost them.

Rizwan not taking any responsibility today in the post match interview with Waqar.

He blamed the post powerplay phase of their innings as what cost them.

I told you Waqar only criticises pakistan when the white commentators do it!

Why didn’t Waqar press Rizwan on his approach in the powerplay and sending Usama Mir at 3??

I completely disagree on Haris being a part time keeper. The only thing keeping Rizwan in the side is his Pakistan record. Today he got exposed badly by a side that kept hitting the lengths where he struggles.

How would you rank Rizwan, Haris and Azam with the gloves? For me I've listed in this line in order from best to worst.

I told you Waqar only criticises pakistan when the white commentators do it!

Why didn’t Waqar press Rizwan on his approach in the powerplay and sending Usama Mir at 3??

He asked about Usama Mir but strangely no mention of PP stuff

Why is Doull not allowed to interview?

Sometimes god sends someone to help and support you. To help you get over the addiction of a great online forum.

Today, and for sometime now, god has sent Rana to help me overcome this addiction.

Thank you God!

Same. PP's cricket section hasn't been fun in a while.
Like RDJ said in Tropic Thunder Never go full rana.

He asked about Usama Mir but strangely no mention of PP stuff

Why is Doull not allowed to interview?

He will tear Rizwan to shreds like Camille Vasquez chewed and ate up Amber Heard!

Post match - Mohammad Rizwan: When you lose, it feels like it wasn’t your day. Like last match, post the powerplay we lost the momentum. Rashid Khan came on and changed the game, this gap is something we need to fix.

They had no momentum in the powerplay in both matches!

They are always behind the required rate or what is usually par on these roads!

How would you rank Rizwan, Haris and Azam with the gloves? For me I've listed in this line in order from best to worst.

I agree w/ your order. I just don’t think that the gap between Rizzy and Haris isn’t massive (although Riz is the better keeper. Let’s not forget that he used to stand up to Mo Abbas for the test side. That’s incredibly difficult to do)
I think if Haris continues to become more consistent, you then have a decision to make.

If Azam continues to improve his fitness, you play both Haris and Azam, with Haris as keeper.