"Pakistan pacers are 17-18 on paper but are actually 27-28 years old": Mohammad Asif

Saj

Former Pakistan pacer Mohammad Asif has opined that the current national team bowlers are much older than what their official ages suggest. He made this observation in light of their inability to bowl long spells and run through opposition batting lineups.

Mohammad Asif shared his views on the current state of Pakistan cricket during an interaction with Kamran Akmal on the latter's YouTube channel.

Akmal asked Mohammad Asif why the current set of Pakistan bowlers are unable to take 20 wickets like himself and Shoaib Akhtar in the recent past as well as Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis before that.

He responded by saying that it has been a while since a Pakistani quick took a 10-wicket match haul. Asif also talked about the eagerness shown by bowlers in his era to bowl on seamer-friendly conditions seen in the recently-concluded first Test against New Zealand.

Mohammad Asif bemoaned the lack of control exhibited by the current set of Pakistan pacers.

"I feel it might have been 5-6 years since a fast bowler took 10 wickets in a match. We used to salivate after seeing the pitches like the ones in New Zealand. There was no question of leaving the ball as a fast bowler. I never used to leave the ball before taking a five-wicket haul," said Asif.

The former pacer continued in this regard:

"These kids do not have the knowledge. They don't know how to keep the batsman on the front foot, not give them a single and how to bowl on the wickets. When they try to bowl on the wickets, it goes down the leg-side. They do not have the control."

Mohammad Asif also questioned the authenticity of their official ages and reasoned that it is evident by their lack of flexibility.

"And they are so aged. It is written as 17-18 years on paper, but they are actually 27-28 years old because they don't have the flexibility to bowl 20-25 overs. They don't know how to bend the body; they become stiff. They are not able to stand on the field after bowling a 5-6 over spell," observed Asif.

The current Pakistan fast bowling attack is led by the 20-year old Shaheen Afridi along with the teenaged Naseem Shah and the seasoned Mohammad Abbas.

Mohammad Asif agreed with Kamran Akmal when asked if the current set of Pakistan quicks have been blooded too early as they have not bowled much in domestic cricket.

"Yes, you are right. They don't have the experience. They should have played 40-50 matches in domestic cricket and they should know when their body is fatigued and what they have to do when they come to bowl the next day and how to manage their bodies," said Asif

He signed off by talking about the lack of quality in the Pakistan pace attack, saying that the bowlers are only interested in retaining their spots in the team.

"They only come and bowl 10-12 overs. They say they are confirmed in the team. We do not have quality but only quantity at the moment. The ten to twelve fast bowlers in the queue are all similar. You can remove anyone, and put the other person in the middle," concluded Mohammad Asif.

The Pakistan bowlers frittered away the advantage of winning the toss and having inserted the Kiwis into bat on a green top at Mount Maunganui in the first Test.

Although Shaheen Afridi did get rid of the New Zealand openers cheaply, Pakistan let Kane Williamson and the rest of the Black Caps off the hook by allowing them to score a mammoth 431 runs on a pacer-friendly surface.

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket...-paper-actually-27-28-years-old-mohammad-asif

Straight facts. Asif’s telling it like it is to be honest, we do have a shortage of fast bowlers right now. With Abbas declining on form, we don’t really have anyone to back Shaheen up on the wicket taking front. Naseem’s still developing and the only impressive pacer in domestics this season was Hassan Ali.

Even Shaheen’s still learning, nowhere near as smart as Amir or Asif were in 2009-2010.

One of the all time great talents wasted, what a serious loss. I am a huge fan. This guy's talent far surpasses anything we've ever seen on the cricket field, and I mean anything. Will never forget how he made tendu and waxman change their depends in the middle of the cricket pitch.

Having said that, him running off to K Akmal tells me all I need to know about his character. Just way too sad for words.

He is right about Naseem Shah being brought in early. Not sure about the 27-28 comment dont think Naseem is that old. But Naseem Shah shouldnt be shining Asif's shoes as far as cricketing ability goes.

Asif actually has exposed the real problem with PAK bowling - no, I’m not talking about the age cheating only.

He knows lot, I mean lot about pace bowling and I dare say he was more skilled pacer than WY, probably more technically aware as well, therefore I believe he could be a better bowling coach.

He has mentioned two interrelated problems here - age cheating & lack of experience. May not be 27-28 years old (Asif definitely knows the inside story but I’m taking that he is over exaggerating a bit out of frustration), but I did rile up PP few months back writing Naseem to be around 23, Shaheen 24-25 and Babar 29-30 (Haider 23-24 as well, but NZ tour has fainted his “legacy”, hence it won’t be a big deal now) - AND I do stand on my numbers.

Anyway, coming to Asif - one side he is talking about massive age cheating which is cent percent correct; but other-side also he is talking about lack of experience, that’s true as well. So, where is the problem? If Naseem/Shaheen/Musa needs to play 35 FC games (let alone 40-50), at PCBs rate with 10 game FC season (and 100 game T20 season) that’ll take 5-6 years, means biologically most bowlers will be close to 30 than 20 at debut.... and PAK won’t find another pacer with 200+ Test wickets, if so. And this guy Imran Butt might debut officially just at turning 25 this week ..... OMG!!!!!!

So, where is the solution? Few months back, there was a post about what are the priorities of PCB and I categorically mentioned the first one - eradicating the systematic massive age cheating in PAK Domestics. Players faking 3-4-5-6-7-8... even 10-12 years on certificate, debuting in FC cricket at 15-16 (when actually could be as old as 23-25), their body has stiffened up already, learning curve is at the bottom of down slide .... then, either they are picked to international cricket underprepared or becomes Mo Abbas or Waquas Maqsood or Sohail Khan - at 29-30 with experience needs oxygen supplements.

So, again - the key focus for Wasim Khan should be to make sure that pacers (players) are entering FC cricket at biological age of 18-19 Max., then they can spend 3/4 years in domestics and by 23, they are ready for internationals- can serve for another 10-12 years. This is the utmost urgency in PAK cricket otherwise it’s going to hurt big time. Probably the most diehard PAK fan also these days will accept that it’s the bowling that has declined most, particularly pace bowling - that’s because, in a soft game like cricket, fast bowling is the only physically demanding aspect of the game - faking age will be exposed here badly.

Asif may also want to consider himself in the same bracket!

These are all symptoms of the green top pitches in our domestic cricket in the last ten years. Teams getting bundled out for less than a hundred, military medium pacers like Hammad Azam topping the bowling charts, pacers not having to bend their backs, bowl long spells.

All of this shows up in international cricket

The max you can age cheat is 5 years, can't be more than that

So what exactly was Asif’s real age when he debuted at 21-23? He could have shed bit more light on that as by his maths he was around 33 and is currently close to 48-50. :haider

Undoubtedly its an issue in sub continent but some of the exaggerations need to be adjusted to actually shed light on the issue in a serious manner rather than passing out statements which everyone including him will laugh at after the interview.

10 years? :virat

Never believed Naseem was 16-17 but surely he ain't a day older than 22.

Same with shaheen.

He has mentioned two interrelated problems here - age cheating & lack of experience. May not be 27-28 years old (Asif definitely knows the inside story but I’m taking that he is over exaggerating a bit out of frustration), but I did rile up PP few months back writing Naseem to be around 23, Shaheen 24-25 and Babar 29-30 (Haider 23-24 as well, but NZ tour has fainted his “legacy”, hence it won’t be a big deal now) - AND I do stand on my numbers.

Sad thing (For Pak cricket) is your numbers probably has more credibility than their birth certificates. No, I am not being sarcastic or anything.

So you think Iftekhar can be maximum 35 now.....

Sure. Advanced wrist tests can confirm your age. This is what the PCB should do actually for all the domestic cricketers

Asif actually has exposed the real problem with PAK bowling - no, I’m not talking about the age cheating only.

He knows lot, I mean lot about pace bowling and I dare say he was more skilled pacer than WY, probably more technically aware as well, therefore I believe he could be a better bowling coach.

Anyway, coming to Asif - one side he is talking about massive age cheating which is cent percent correct; but other-side also he is talking about lack of experience, that’s true as well. So, where is the problem? If Naseem/Shaheen/Musa needs to play 35 FC games (let alone 40-50), at PCBs rate with 10 game FC season (and 100 game T20 season) that’ll take 5-6 years, means biologically most bowlers will be close to 30 than 20 at debut.... and PAK won’t find another pacer with 200+ Test wickets, if so. And this guy Imran Butt might debut officially just at turning 25 this week ..... OMG!!!!!!

So, where is the solution? Few months back, there was a post about what are the priorities of PCB and I categorically mentioned the first one - eradicating the systematic massive age cheating in PAK Domestics. Players faking 3-4-5-6-7-8... even 10-12 years on certificate, debuting in FC cricket at 15-16 (when actually could be as old as 23-25), their body has stiffened up already, learning curve is at the bottom of down slide .... then, either they are picked to international cricket underprepared or becomes Mo Abbas or Waquas Maqsood or Sohail Khan - at 29-30 with experience needs oxygen supplements.

So, again - the key focus for Wasim Khan should be to make sure that pacers (players) are entering FC cricket at biological age of 18-19 Max., then they can spend 3/4 years in domestics and by 23, they are ready for internationals- can serve for another 10-12 years. This is the utmost urgency in PAK cricket otherwise it’s going to hurt big time. Probably the most diehard PAK fan also these days will accept that it’s the bowling that has declined most, particularly pace bowling - that’s because, in a soft game like cricket, fast bowling is the only physically demanding aspect of the game - faking age will be exposed here badly.

Yes i rememeber and you didn't have any answers for the Bangladeshi players which the so called 18 year old looked comfortablly older then the 24 year old Pakistanis. No one is denying fake ages in Pakistan but not to an exteent which you have presented. You didnt rile up anyone other then yourself. When questioned with your players the response waa something along the line of "you have to do more to convince me with other then pictures". So what proof do you have about our players being 30, 24, 24, 23?

He is right about the bowlers lacking intelligence. Age cheating has been going on for years. Seriously doubt PCB will be able to stop it. I wish they could stop it though.

Sure. Advanced wrist tests can confirm your age. This is what the PCB should do actually for all the domestic cricketers

You are reminding me the Ostrich story - when storm comes, they sink their head in sands so that the fear stays away from sight. You guys are doing the same thing here.... and in that storm this bechara MMHS faas gaya.

What’s the use of bone test when the administration itself is promoting age cheating at every level? PAK is developing 4th gen fighter jets, ASEA Radars, guided missiles ... and do you think age cheating is happening because of lack of technology? Incredible....

The actual age of players in domestic circles are open secrets among peers and club officials - they celebrate together, many of them schooled together, some of them are relatives of club officials, former players - born in front of them ......

It’s a systematic corruption endorsed by the people running the game - technology is not the issue.

I tell you one truth, some day I hope you’ll find evidence- the lady that charged Babar might have faked a case, but she has exposed one bitter truth - Babar’s actual age in 2010.

I read Andy Roberts was impressed by 16 years old Naseem in 2016 (or 2017?) - truth is, even that time age was faked by 3-4 years hence it comes to 23 in my book & 27 in Asif’s knowledge. Mo Asif is also an age cheat, but there is a difference between stealing and day light robbery - hence, he was still a fantastic bowler in 2015-6.

Yes i rememeber and you didn't have any answers for the Bangladeshi players which the so called 18 year old looked comfortablly older then the 24 year old Pakistanis. No one is denying fake ages in Pakistan but not to an exteent which you have presented. You didnt rile up anyone other then yourself. When questioned with your players the response waa something along the line of "you have to do more to convince me with other then pictures". So what proof do you have about our players being 30, 24, 24, 23?

Age cheating is a massive problem in Bangladesh as well - no one denies that. In fact, I am the one always wrote down the actual age of BD players I know. The picture you showed has absolutely nothing to do in it - Akbar could be 10 years age cheat, but it’s an out layer - in general BD players are within a year or two, because there is a functional school cricket there and most of these players are coming from school cricket - Akbar himself is a BKSP grad, passing St. 12 in 2019; you can add 2-3-4-10 years, still it’ll remain an anomaly.

That’s the limit for India as well and you’ll notice I have written many times that SRL has the least problems in this regard - small population, most of them metro based and they come from their brilliant school cricket. Age cheating is a problem in entire Asia or Africa, but PAK & AFG has taken it to another level - if you are happy with your photo evidence, let it be like that, I don’t mind. PAK cricket is blossoming indeed with teen age talents.

10 years? :virat

Never believed Naseem was 16-17 but surely he ain't a day older than 22.

Same with shaheen.

back when i was playing club. We had a spinner, was like 27+, guy was registered as u19

Pacers rushed into international cricket without spending adequate time in domestic - a recipe for disaster and a high risk tactic.

Age cheating is a massive problem in Bangladesh as well - no one denies that. In fact, I am the one always wrote down the actual age of BD players I know. The picture you showed has absolutely nothing to do in it - Akbar could be 10 years age cheat, but it’s an out layer - in general BD players are within a year or two, because there is a functional school cricket there and most of these players are coming from school cricket - Akbar himself is a BKSP grad, passing St. 12 in 2019; you can add 2-3-4-10 years, still it’ll remain an anomaly.

That’s the limit for India as well and you’ll notice I have written many times that SRL has the least problems in this regard - small population, most of them metro based and they come from their brilliant school cricket. Age cheating is a problem in entire Asia or Africa, but PAK & AFG has taken it to another level - if you are happy with your photo evidence, let it be like that, I don’t mind. PAK cricket is blossoming indeed with teen age talents.

When did i say i am happy? When did i say there are no age fudging in Pakistan? When did I say its not a problem? Going by pictures khushdil shah won't have a problem fitting in Bangladesh u19 team same with pakistan thats so much for the 1 or 2 years......

I like Asif the bowler, but hes being usual rubbish self as a human, making up stuff. Can you call Shaheen and Naseem 27/28 year olds with a serious face?

I mean why is it so hard to believe their ages because they do look their age? Ifthikar doesnt, but so didnt Deigo Costa who actually kinda resembles Ifthikar. Not denying age fudging is an issue, but you cant fudge your age by a decade, max by 2/3 years.

When did i say i am happy? When did i say there are no age fudging in Pakistan? When did I say its not a problem? Going by pictures khushdil shah won't have a problem fitting in Bangladesh u19 team same with pakistan thats so much for the 1 or 2 years......

He unfortunately have no answers once again as you can read from his post. Just his personal opinions without any facts that how its less in BD while linking India alongside. Excepting the extent of age fudging in BD being equal or even worse will destroy the narrative he wants to create to satisfy his mind and that is really important for him as one can see from the number of posts he writes with the agenda against a particular team in an effort convince none but himself towards a certain narrative.

Lol Naseem must be 23-24 because he took a Hatrick against Bangladesh at Test Level.

Former Pakistan pacer Mohammad Asif has opined that the current national team bowlers are much older than what their official ages suggest. He made this observation in light of their inability to bowl long spells and run through opposition batting lineups.

Mohammad Asif shared his views on the current state of Pakistan cricket during an interaction with Kamran Akmal on the latter's YouTube channel.

Akmal asked Mohammad Asif why the current set of Pakistan bowlers are unable to take 20 wickets like himself and Shoaib Akhtar in the recent past as well as Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis before that.

He responded by saying that it has been a while since a Pakistani quick took a 10-wicket match haul. Asif also talked about the eagerness shown by bowlers in his era to bowl on seamer-friendly conditions seen in the recently-concluded first Test against New Zealand.

Mohammad Asif bemoaned the lack of control exhibited by the current set of Pakistan pacers.

"I feel it might have been 5-6 years since a fast bowler took 10 wickets in a match. We used to salivate after seeing the pitches like the ones in New Zealand. There was no question of leaving the ball as a fast bowler. I never used to leave the ball before taking a five-wicket haul," said Asif.

The former pacer continued in this regard:

"These kids do not have the knowledge. They don't know how to keep the batsman on the front foot, not give them a single and how to bowl on the wickets. When they try to bowl on the wickets, it goes down the leg-side. They do not have the control."

Mohammad Asif also questioned the authenticity of their official ages and reasoned that it is evident by their lack of flexibility.

"And they are so aged. It is written as 17-18 years on paper, but they are actually 27-28 years old because they don't have the flexibility to bowl 20-25 overs. They don't know how to bend the body; they become stiff. They are not able to stand on the field after bowling a 5-6 over spell," observed Asif.

The current Pakistan fast bowling attack is led by the 20-year old Shaheen Afridi along with the teenaged Naseem Shah and the seasoned Mohammad Abbas.

Mohammad Asif agreed with Kamran Akmal when asked if the current set of Pakistan quicks have been blooded too early as they have not bowled much in domestic cricket.

"Yes, you are right. They don't have the experience. They should have played 40-50 matches in domestic cricket and they should know when their body is fatigued and what they have to do when they come to bowl the next day and how to manage their bodies," said Asif

He signed off by talking about the lack of quality in the Pakistan pace attack, saying that the bowlers are only interested in retaining their spots in the team.

"They only come and bowl 10-12 overs. They say they are confirmed in the team. We do not have quality but only quantity at the moment. The ten to twelve fast bowlers in the queue are all similar. You can remove anyone, and put the other person in the middle," concluded Mohammad Asif.

The Pakistan bowlers frittered away the advantage of winning the toss and having inserted the Kiwis into bat on a green top at Mount Maunganui in the first Test.

Although Shaheen Afridi did get rid of the New Zealand openers cheaply, Pakistan let Kane Williamson and the rest of the Black Caps off the hook by allowing them to score a mammoth 431 runs on a pacer-friendly surface.

https://www.sportskeeda.com/cricket...-paper-actually-27-28-years-old-mohammad-asif

So they are in their mid 20s and they have been blooded too early, did I miss something.

Lol Naseem must be 23-24 because he took a Hatrick against Bangladesh at Test Level.

Surely, its not so difficult to verify ages. It is obvious the wrist tests are not working, Naseem has shown they aren't. If any player wants to play any U19 cricket, they have to have their age verified by at 5 people they went to school with and if they didn't go to school then they can't play U19, they play mens cricket. The age faking doesn't have any advantages for PK cricket, it wastes resources on crap players. Any player caught must be banned for 5 years.

I like Asif the bowler, but hes being usual rubbish self as a human, making up stuff. Can you call Shaheen and Naseem 27/28 year olds with a serious face?

I mean why is it so hard to believe their ages because they do look their age? Ifthikar doesnt, but so didnt Deigo Costa who actually kinda resembles Ifthikar. Not denying age fudging is an issue, but you cant fudge your age by a decade, max by 2/3 years.

I mean its been proven fact that our cricketers age fudge. It would be naive to actually believe there official age. This is why I hate it when people say “oh they are young they will learn” when in actuality these guys are much older than they say.

Asif will rub a few people the wrong way by not playing the talent card and exposing the age cheating of our players.

He may have gone overboard to make his point, but his jabs are aimed at the gullible people who still sell the idea that Naseem is 17.

Then there is the talent issue which is seemingly Pakistan’s monopoly. Apparently, God decided to bless this country in South Asia with greatest cricket talent in the world. No ones why and how...

On a serious note, someone like Naseem is clearly not talented enough for the highest level.

He doesn’t have any skill, he doesn’t know how to setup the batsmen. He is just a bowling machine who was calibrated to bowl at 145 kph last year and 135 kph this year.

If he had any talent, he would not have gone three tours of Australia, England and New Zealand respectively without a single, threatening spell.

back when i was playing club. We had a spinner, was like 27+, guy was registered as u19

Wow.

I mean you can still understand if it was a war-torn nation like Afghanistan with poor facilities, minimum-zero school system, no birth records and ofcourse corruption/incompetence....but why is it so dire for Pakistan, a relatively well governed country?

I guess even the top level officials let it go on for obvious reasons. That's the only possible explanation.

Naseem is early 20s so is shaheen

The quicker clamps down on this rubbish the better

Age fudging is less whenever there’s a functional school system with most kids in the classes. In India and, and I believe, in BD, over 95% of kids were in formal schools even in 2011, SL numbers are even higher. This percentage is lower in Pakistan and even among those, many go to religious schools where age certificates may not be mandatory (I guess).

I agree with MMHS that while no S Asian country is innocent, I will put the fudging extent as AFG>Pak>BD> India>SL. The way BD is growing economically, it will be very close to India for current school going group now, but India will be slightly better among age category 15-30 years.

Age fudging hurts real talent. I hope India and other countries eliminate this within a few years for their own benefit.

Lol. He meant in terms of flexibility and fitness not literally.
Love the expert age estimation essays.
As far as the menace of age cheating goes. Pcb needs to clamp down hard. Will only help pakistan cricket.

He unfortunately have no answers once again as you can read from his post. Just his personal opinions without any facts that how its less in BD while linking India alongside. Excepting the extent of age fudging in BD being equal or even worse will destroy the narrative he wants to create to satisfy his mind and that is really important for him as one can see from the number of posts he writes with the agenda against a particular team in an effort convince none but himself towards a certain narrative.

Why are you joining the party, yesterday’s experience didn’t help?

Ajeeb baat yaar - here a former PAK player is telling that some has cheated 10-12 years of age in open media .... I am the poor guy trying to say that it’s not 12 years, rather 6..... and it got under the skin.

Bro, instead of trying to settle score, focus on the comment of your own former pacer - it’ll help. Next time when your former captain’s age is updated by 5 years after retirement, I hope you’ll be bold enough to discuss that.

Shaheen is probably not older than 22 23.

Asif when debuted was 22, he looked like 25-26 though.

In villages till a few years back, ages were written by approximation.

Most of the players with date of birth with 1st of any month is 99% of the times incorrect.
For example, Shahid Afridi, Abdur Rehman, Shoaib Malik etc.

Age fudging should be crime. Rahul Dravid gave very good reasons on why it should be.

Since the PCB promotes age-fudging, the players have no issues even if the difference between their fake and real age is 5+ years.

This practice is damaging Pakistan cricket but the PCB is too incompetent to see it.

By the way Asif himself admitted to me that he is now 40. He is listed as age 38.

Oh bhai u loose all the credibility as soon as started fixing....Allah janen miyaa aap kitna sadiyo se fix karte
Jaa rahein hain...
Why the hell we interview this guy and going gaga for him...

There are some who are referencing him as if he has graduated from Harvard University.

Age fudging is less whenever there’s a functional school system with most kids in the classes. In India and, and I believe, in BD, over 95% of kids were in formal schools even in 2011, SL numbers are even higher. This percentage is lower in Pakistan and even among those, many go to religious schools where age certificates may not be mandatory (I guess).

I agree with MMHS that while no S Asian country is innocent, I will put the fudging extent as AFG>Pak>BD> India>SL. The way BD is growing economically, it will be very close to India for current school going group now, but India will be slightly better among age category 15-30 years.

Age fudging hurts real talent. I hope India and other countries eliminate this within a few years for their own benefit.

What you have mentioned are definitely reasons, but not the main problem.

With or without school system, you can bring down the age cheating up almost zero level - the problem is that age cheating is endorsed by PCB. You can bring the NCAA system in Pakistan, still it won’t work.

The problem is, previously at least at junior cricket in PAK was functioning- now even that’s been ruined.

30 years back officially at 20-21 Inzamam Ul Haq made debut - even if I take 5 years buffer, he was around 25. The myth is that Imrsn plucked him from nets and directly took to international cricket - which is a bull sh!t. Inzi played cool SIX seasons in domestics prior to that debut - his FC debut was in 1985, List A even earlier and international debut in November 1991. At least, even it’s with fake age, he started domestic cricket at around 18-19 or even earlier (obviously officially 15 is a bit ... you know).

Now, they are allowing faking age and then not factoring it even for domestics!!!!!

Anyway, I guess if I wrote more, mods will have get involved here. Mo Asif in a tv show hinted 27-28 years fir PAK pacers, and I believe it was not for Abbas or Faheem ..... that should be some food for thoughts in PP. what MMHS writes from his agenda hardly matters.

By the way Asif himself admitted to me that he is now 40. He is listed as age 38.

Right, which makes sense. No one is fudging their age by 10 years. To even make a comment so outlandish is absurd.

Seems like everyone has their age fudged by 2-3 years which is disappointing and makes it tougher to judge a players true upside when he is supposedly dominating against the same age bracket or excelling in domestic because he is already close/at his peak (24-28). No wonder we get so many players that make debut and instantly look so great but the reality is they are already at their peak and then we wonder why they decline so heavily after 3-4 years.

Yep and Shaheen has similarly admitted to me that he is a year older than his official age.

Asif is wrong to say that these boys are 10 years older than their official age.

Bro, instead of trying to settle score, focus on the comment of your own former pacer - it’ll help. Next time when your former captain’s age is updated by 5 years after retirement, I hope you’ll be bold enough to discuss that.

Discussion was related to the thread in which I was also involved in showing mirror to you thats why I joined in. Settle score? For what? Lol! You definitely live in a fantasy world of yours.

I have already mentioned numerous times that it was at a different scale in 90s, and early 2000s than today. Its better to have some perspective in a discussion rather than having emotional roller coaster that you ride on.

Seems like everyone has their age fudged by 2-3 years which is disappointing and makes it tougher to judge a players true upside when he is supposedly dominating against the same age bracket or excelling in domestic because he is already close/at his peak (24-28). No wonder we get so many players that make debut and instantly look so great but the reality is they are already at their peak and then we wonder why they decline so heavily after 3-4 years.

This is a good point. Which is why I feel we should judge a player not based on age but by performances.

I know with a fair degree of certainty that Shadab is 4 years older, so was Amir and Najaf Shah. Its a structural problem encouraged by the PCB. As I said earlier, each player has to have signed affidavits from 5 people before they can play any U19 cricket. Anyone caught should be banned for 5 years from all cricket.

You can always trust a former Pakistani fast bowler for a steady stream of nonsense.

Pakistan has a fantastic battery of fast bowlers and the game today is not about long spells but quick, incisive bursts. This is not the age of McGrath, but rather the age of the Jofra Archer. You come in, bowl all out at a batsman for a few overs, induce an error, get a wicket, maybe not, and then recuperate to repeat.

It is the spin bowlers who are expected to slowly work the batsman, incrementally crest some false muscle memory about the where the bowl will head to after the bounce and then surprise the bowler with a googly or some unexpected variation.

Most players themselves are pretty open and honest about their real ages. I am sure naseem would himself tell you that he is 19. I have a feeling that the board has a part to play here.

Guys : Take a deep breath and put proper argument points in this thread.

Why can't the PCB take undisputed wrist tests, update the actual ages of the players and punish players for lying.

Asifs statement is hyperbole. You can lie about your age by 3-4 years max. There is a world of a difference when it comes to ten years. I myself looked totally different ten years ago. An 28 year old person cannot pull off being 18 years old

Discussion was related to the thread in which I was also involved in showing mirror to you thats why I joined in. Settle score? For what? Lol! You definitely live in a fantasy world of yours.

I have already mentioned numerous times that it was at a different scale in 90s, and early 2000s than today. Its better to have some perspective in a discussion rather than having emotional roller coaster that you ride on.

Bro lets not pretend 80-90% of Pakistan players have their ages significantly distorted. We had this discussion when we had the debate about Shan Masood, who I argued could not be an age fudger as he was born in Bahrain and studied in the UK.

Pakistan fans need to accept that you cannot trust the ages given on paper for our players. One day this won't be an open secret but a fact, so it's better to accept it now before this becomes public knowledge.

Bro lets not pretend 80-90% of Pakistan players have their ages significantly distorted. We had this discussion when we had the debate about Shan Masood, who I argued could not be an age fudger as he was born in Bahrain and studied in the UK.

Pakistan fans need to accept that you cannot trust the ages given on paper for our players. One day this won't be an open secret but a fact, so it's better to accept it now before this becomes public knowledge.

This is beyond a generalization - libellous!

OTT with the age thing, but thing is, if a bowler was really 27/28 but down as 17/18 on paper and couldn't bowl spells or bend his back that would be even more worrying.

Mid to late twenties is normally the peak physical condition of a sports person.

Mohammad Asif was a great fast bowler, and I tend to keep his performances separate from the anguish he caused with his idiotic decisions. He was disciplined and he worked hard on his skills. He got the ball to talk on some of the flattest wickets, and did so at a considerable pace. I have rarely seen him not threaten batsmen, he gets a lot of seam movement and can swing the ball as well.

He too knows that his time playing for Pakistan is up, but he is genuinely extremely skilled when it comes to seam bowling. We have not had anyone in our history after the likes of WY, WA and IK who have shown such skill with the ball. He needs to be there at the NCA to teach the likes of Naseem, Shaheen, Abbas the art of bowling in test matches, and that might not resonate well with some people, but a guy who has served his time and has such a great skillset should be utilized.

You see, the difference between Asif and Abbas, two very similar bowlers, are as follows:

1. Asif could swing the new ball, which Abbas cannot.
2. Asif could practically set up batsmen and seam almost at will on flat pitches.
3. Asif bowled at a very decent pace which made him deceptive and gave him more movement off the pitch.

He should be used for his experience as the likes of Naseem, Shaheen, Abbas, and Faheem need this sort of skillset to succeed at the highest level for Pakistan.

I also know how uptight and egoistic our ex-players can be, waiting for people to approach them rather than asking to help. PCB should break its back and bend over if it must to get some of these talented greats to invest in the team and help the youngsters and players. These tips and advice can go a long way in creating careers and improving our youngsters to make us a better team.

Take shaheen who is claiming to be 20 yrs old

His brother is riaz afridi who is officially 35 but is most likely in his 40s has the classic middle age belly balding head that shows his age just look at riaz afridi now is he 35 does he look like anything like imad wasim age bracket whose birth is official since he is born in the UK.

So guys how can there be 20 yr gap between the brothers unless they have different mothers?

Shaheen face wise looks 28-30 imo.

Mohammad Asif was a great fast bowler, and I tend to keep his performances separate from the anguish he caused with his idiotic decisions. He was disciplined and he worked hard on his skills. He got the ball to talk on some of the flattest wickets, and did so at a considerable pace. I have rarely seen him not threaten batsmen, he gets a lot of seam movement and can swing the ball as well.

He too knows that his time playing for Pakistan is up, but he is genuinely extremely skilled when it comes to seam bowling. We have not had anyone in our history after the likes of WY, WA and IK who have shown such skill with the ball. He needs to be there at the NCA to teach the likes of Naseem, Shaheen, Abbas the art of bowling in test matches, and that might not resonate well with some people, but a guy who has served his time and has such a great skillset should be utilized.

You see, the difference between Asif and Abbas, two very similar bowlers, are as follows:

2. Asif could practically set up batsmen and seam almost at will on flat pitches.
3. Asif bowled at a very decent pace which made him deceptive and gave him more movement off the pitch.

He should be used for his experience as the likes of Naseem, Shaheen, Abbas, and Faheem need this sort of skillset to succeed at the highest level for Pakistan.

I also know how uptight and egoistic our ex-players can be, waiting for people to approach them rather than asking to help. PCB should break its back and bend over if it must to get some of these talented greats to invest in the team and help the youngsters and players. These tips and advice can go a long way in creating careers and improving our youngsters to make us a better team.

Asif in a recent interview said that if the PCB approached him for coaching, he will only work at the grass roots with U16, U19 kids and at the NCA, he is not interested in a bowling coach role with the national side

Take shaheen who is claiming to be 20 yrs old

His brother is riaz afridi who is officially 35 but is most likely in his 40s has the classic middle age belly balding head that shows his age just look at riaz afridi now is he 35 does he look like anything like imad wasim age bracket whose birth is official since he is born in the UK.

So guys how can there be 20 yr gap between the brothers unless they have different mothers?

Shaheen face wise looks 28-30 imo.

You can't fake your age by 8-10 years, thats impossible 3-4 i can accept but 8-10 years is farfetched.

After the recent scandal of asylum seekers in UK from Afghanistan iran Somalia and God knows where of grown adult males going to school and pretending to be 14 being but in reality 40 yrs old I wouldn't be too sure anymore .

There's no way I'm gonna believe there is 20 yr gap between riaz and shaheen , max 12 not 15-20 yr gap.

Asif can be a fantastic bowling coach - a thinking, skilled bowler.

However, I have few problems with him - he has every bad habits one can have; it might not be safe for youngsters indulging with him. I’m sure PAK pacers are scared of WY, might avoids conversation let alone passing time together- it’s like headmaster - student relationships (of 1950s). Asif will give boys time, but that can come with a pinch of salt as well.

Second issue is - Asif’s max speed I can recall was 141.7km - something that might not suit the ego of Pakistani cricket elites. Even here in PP I see trolls getting behind whoever questions the fast bowler Haris Rauf....

Third issue is coaching is a learned trait - one has to develop himself as well. Asif can’t transmit his bowling intelligence or skills by Midas touch. He needs to learn modern technology, proper communications, methodical conditioning and must have the knowledge to analyse game/batsmen - not sure he can do this.

Asif was the best from PAK since Wasim as a bowler when it comes to find weakness in batsmen.... but WY was also extremely cunning bowler (no one gives him credit but he was outstanding thinking bowler - troubled English opening pair in 1992 tour equally with new ball).... it didn’t turn good while coaching. Because, analysing a batsman when you are bowling is part of bowling skill and that guy was brilliant; explaining the analysis & make people understand that is a communication skill - Asif is damn poor in that, so is WY.

Even today, if he was wise, won’t have said that age comment in an u-tube telecast.... he can be sued for defame charges. You don’t put such loose cannons as coach.

I’ll still say, probably the best guy is Kabir Khan, but not sure he’ll get bell from PCB or PAKP.

I never said that age of all players is 100% accurate. However, I dont accept exaggeration of 10-15 years fudging and every other player doing it.

Further when we talk about age fudging in cricket then we cant talk about Pak specifically, it is well spread in majority of sub continent. Examples with the same facts as used for Pakistani players can be seen on number of threads regarding other teams too.

Is it an issue? It definitely is but, is it currently 5-10 years of age fudging as some try to portray it to be? I dont think so and there are no facts available to prove otherwise. Also is it specific to Pakistan only? Not at all, its an issue in other countries of sub continent as well, again just like there are no facts for Pakistani players, there are no facts here as well.

However, one can easily search for 5 U19 players of Ind, Pak, BD etc and other than one or two in any team there are no examples of anyone looking much older than anybody to the naked eye. I have shared number of pics on another thread, random experiment of showing pics to people can easily be done. When there are no facts available thats the best way to have a perspective.

Thoroughly dislike it when PAK players speak on YouTube. Few have the tact and ability to compose their thoughts and Asif too, for all his wiles as bowler, showed he is vulnerable to the allure of hyperbole.

Things along the lines of Shoaib Akhtar saying “How are we meant to get these batsmen out” when he saw the batting sheet of the IND team etc. Funnily, the title of Akmal’s video is something like: “As a coach Waqar aur Misbah zero hain”.

Don’t care about the veracity of any of the above, but such liberal indulgence in hyperbole discredits their overall arguments. Not to mention often contradicting their on-field feuds and controversies.

What you have mentioned are definitely reasons, but not the main problem.

With or without school system, you can bring down the age cheating up almost zero level - the problem is that age cheating is endorsed by PCB. You can bring the NCAA system in Pakistan, still it won’t work.

The problem is, previously at least at junior cricket in PAK was functioning- now even that’s been ruined.

30 years back officially at 20-21 Inzamam Ul Haq made debut - even if I take 5 years buffer, he was around 25. The myth is that Imrsn plucked him from nets and directly took to international cricket - which is a bull sh!t. Inzi played cool SIX seasons in domestics prior to that debut - his FC debut was in 1985, List A even earlier and international debut in November 1991. At least, even it’s with fake age, he started domestic cricket at around 18-19 or even earlier (obviously officially 15 is a bit ... you know).

Now, they are allowing faking age and then not factoring it even for domestics!!!!!

Anyway, I guess if I wrote more, mods will have get involved here. Mo Asif in a tv show hinted 27-28 years fir PAK pacers, and I believe it was not for Abbas or Faheem ..... that should be some food for thoughts in PP. what MMHS writes from his agenda hardly matters.

This Inzi story was confirmed by him to Ashwin on his YouTube channel. Ashwin asked him if it’s true that Imran saw him in nets and picked him and Ashwin asked were there no selectors at that time who would question Imran that how can you pick some one just like that.
Inzi said it’s true to certain extent, but he had been playing domestic for 5 years and was a top scorer for past 3 seasons so selectors could not question him. He was not picked earlier as selectors thought he was not ready yet. So Imran saw his talent but it was backed by numbers as well, not pure instinct.
The core issue, top to down now in Pakistan is the intellectual dishonesty by everyone in the system, from management of PCB to their coaches and their fans as well.
They promote age fraud, want fixers like Amir and sharjeel back in the team.

This Inzi story was confirmed by him to Ashwin on his YouTube channel. Ashwin asked him if it’s true that Imran saw him in nets and picked him and Ashwin asked were there no selectors at that time who would question Imran that how can you pick some one just like that.
Inzi said it’s true to certain extent, but he had been playing domestic for 5 years and was a top scorer for past 3 seasons so selectors could not question him. He was not picked earlier as selectors thought he was not ready yet. So Imran saw his talent but it was backed by numbers as well, not pure instinct.
The core issue, top to down now in Pakistan is the intellectual dishonesty by everyone in the system, from management of PCB to their coaches and their fans as well.
They promote age fraud, want fixers like Amir and sharjeel back in the team.

Had it not been for Imran, Inzi might have turned out to be another Fawad Alam. It is true in Pakistan Cricket that you need someone's backing to get ahead

Thoroughly dislike it when PAK players speak on YouTube. Few have the tact and ability to compose their thoughts and Asif too, for all his wiles as bowler, showed he is vulnerable to the allure of hyperbole.

Things along the lines of Shoaib Akhtar saying “How are we meant to get these batsmen out” when he saw the batting sheet of the IND team etc. Funnily, the title of Akmal’s video is something like: “As a coach Waqar aur Misbah zero hain”.

Don’t care about the veracity of any of the above, but such liberal indulgence in hyperbole discredits their overall arguments. Not to mention often contradicting their on-field feuds and controversies.

In that test match where Asif got a lot of wickets, people discount Akhtar's role. He was bowling very rapidly in that test match at 148-154 km/hr and he badly hit Teenda on the helmet in the first innings. In the second innings he picked up the vital wicket of Rahul Dravid who was perfectly capable of blunting the Pakistani bowlers. Asif credit's Akhtar for putting all the Indian players on the back foot which benefited him when he bowled full to them.

After the recent scandal of asylum seekers in UK from Afghanistan iran Somalia and God knows where of grown adult males going to school and pretending to be 14 being but in reality 40 yrs old I wouldn't be too sure anymore .

There's no way I'm gonna believe there is 20 yr gap between riaz and shaheen , max 12 not 15-20 yr gap.

There are medical tests for this. That murder suspect in the Shazeb Khan case, Sharukh Jatoi, his defence lawyers tried very hard to plead with the courts that he was below 18 years old i.e. a minor and therefore he should be placed in a juvenile facility but many of his friends, acquaintances knew he was above 18 and therefore the courts ordered 3-4 wrist tests from different private and govt hospitals to confirm his age and the results showed he was above 18 years old.

I never said that age of all players is 100% accurate. However, I dont accept exaggeration of 10-15 years fudging and every other player doing it.

Further when we talk about age fudging in cricket then we cant talk about Pak specifically, it is well spread in majority of sub continent. Examples with the same facts as used for Pakistani players can be seen on number of threads regarding other teams too.

Is it an issue? It definitely is but, is it currently 5-10 years of age fudging as some try to portray it to be? I dont think so and there are no facts available to prove otherwise. Also is it specific to Pakistan only? Not at all, its an issue in other countries of sub continent as well, again just like there are no facts for Pakistani players, there are no facts here as well.

However, one can easily search for 5 U19 players of Ind, Pak, BD etc and other than one or two in any team there are no examples of anyone looking much older than anybody to the naked eye. I have shared number of pics on another thread, random experiment of showing pics to people can easily be done. When there are no facts available thats the best way to have a perspective.

Yeah Asif was exaggerating but there probably is the odd player who is about 10 years older, for example Ifitkhar. When we hear about Saeed Ajmal joking about him playing FC since 1974 that's how you know he's a massive age fudger.

I don't agree that this is problem is as widespread to the rest of the subcontinent, except for Afghanistan where it is even worse than Pakistan.

The difference between PCB and the other Asian boards (barring perhaps ACB) is that they actually endorse age fudging. A prime example of this was with Naseem Shah. PCB not only facilitates the practice but actually endorses it whereas BCCI has taken a hard stance on this and has handed out bans in recent years to those who opt for this approach.

Yep and Shaheen has similarly admitted to me that he is a year older than his official age.

Asif is wrong to say that these boys are 10 years older than their official age.

That settles the Shaheen is 27 debate. These days, 1 year of fudging is what I’m noticing with max 2 years.

Qasim Akram for example turns 19 on 1 December 2021 which means he is young enough for the U19 world cup in 2022 by one day or so...

That settles the Shaheen is 27 debate. These days, 1 year of fudging is what I’m noticing with max 2 years.

Qasim Akram for example turns 19 on 1 December 2021 which means he is young enough for the U19 world cup in 2022 by one day or so...

Edit: just checked, factor of three months. Cutoff is September 1, 2021 at which point he will be officially 18. Likely case of 1 year fudging since he played the last U19 World Cup as well (when he was officially 16, almost 17).

The difference between PCB and the other Asian boards (barring perhaps ACB) is that they actually endorse age fudging. A prime example of this was with Naseem Shah. PCB not only facilitates the practice but actually endorses it whereas BCCI has taken a hard stance on this and has handed out bans in recent years to those who opt for this approach.

Yes they are trying, fair enough. However, is it really working? Or is it that bad in Pak?

I posted pics of Gill and Haider Ali in another thread, there is no way Haider is 24 and Gill is 20. Search any two pics of their’s and tell me your honest opinion or ask a random person showing both pics. At the same time look at Babar Azam’s and Liton Das pics, there is no way Babar is 30 (As a poster claimed) while Das is 26 unless PCB has done advancements in botox and cosmetic surgeries.

Just pointing out towards couple of samples as comparison between sub continent.

Thank you for saying this, Asif! 4 to 8 years for sure if not 10.

I am expecting Wasim Khan to fix this asap.

Well we will know in 5 years time if likes of shaheen and naseem peak at 25-26 and then they have their best 5/7 years till 32, before they start declining in their mid 30's due to age and fatigue and eventually knees going and injuries .

If they don't peak in 5 years time and there are fitness and injury issues and massive pace drop we can safely assume massive age fudging has happened

I get the feeling Asif is talking about Amir here, not a current pacer. Everyone knows Amir has fudged by at least two years, going back to his school records

If they don't peak in 5 years time and there are fitness and injury issues and massive pace drop we can safely assume massive age fudging has happened

Because every player who doesnt peak in terms of performances around that age indicates age fudging? If thats the case its going to be a long list from around the world as a lot of players just couldnt peak or couldnt better their initial start.

In my opinion its no criteria to judge as performances and reaching peak has much more variables at play than just the age. Younis Khan had another peak in his career post 35, Misbah's peak was pretty late (Around late 30s I guess), Irfan Pathan declining rapidly after a good start and there are certain other examples as well with different peaks.

Yes it is more likely for a player who is progressively developing to achieve his peak around 26,27-32,33 unless there is some critical injury haltering the progress but it is not at all a stable or solid enough indicator to judge anyones age.

Waqar fudged his age by a good 4-5 years. What else explains a 27 year old pacer in 1999-2000 so down on pace to an average of 127-132 km/hr?

Asif should be the bowling coach of Pakistan cricket team. He was always a genius with the ball and sounds like he can coach too as he knows exactly what is going on with our bowlers and what they need to do in order to get to the next level. I know all his troubles with Hash and everything, so may be use him on a series to series bases or hire him to help our youngsters at the domestic level at least?

LOL at Indians talking about pakistani age fudging like they are free from it. Age fudging is a subcontinent problem and only solution is proper wrist testing. ICC needs to intervene. Some Indian posters try to make it like its exclusive to Pakistan.

Here is a 36 years old youngster Munaf patel. Guy is at least 43-44.

181208_munaf_resources1_16a0853d0e9_large.jpg

and 29 years old Shami. Real age could be around 35-36, as confirmed by his wife as well.

ind-aus-3rd-odi-cricket-match_6318d69c-3ced-11ea-ae56-f909945546d5.jpg

Last but not least, 36 years old Irfan Pathan greying allover.

888227-irfan-pathan.jpg

30 years back officially at 20-21 Inzamam Ul Haq made debut - even if I take 5 years buffer, he was around 25. The myth is that Imrsn plucked him from nets and directly took to international cricket - which is a bull sh!t. Inzi played cool SIX seasons in domestics prior to that debut - his FC debut was in 1985, List A even earlier and international debut in November 1991. ..............

So many years following cricket and I too believed in that myth. Until I looked up his FC records after reading your post.

Inzi was a dominant FC player between 1985 and Imran finding him. But they kept ignoring him.

At one point, he broke the record for most runs in a domestic season. I can't remember what year it was but I'm guessing 1988 or 1989. So, yes he was well known around the domestic circuit well before Imran got to see him.

But, Imran does deserve credit as he actually took the time to watch Inzi when everyone else kept pushing him aside like they did to Fawad in his prime.

Imran wasn’t any wizard, but he knew cricket and he knew what he was looking for. Inzi made a double hundred for or against UBL (!) in QeA game against WY, so he was called for nets.

Few days back, I listed the weaknesses of PAK team and cricket intelligence came as my top - here is a classic example of the difference between then & now.

Imran saw Inzi and immediately picked him, then slatted at 3 (or opener), because he was good against pace. Inzi did hit couple of hundreds as well against SRL & WIN (?).

Then WC and PAK kept him at 3 .... he was a poor starter (never improved there) and failed in both games against WIN & ENG on Australian tracks with two white balls. But, Imran knew what Inzi could do and what he was looking for - so, he swapped his spot with Inzi, risked himself to bat at 3, so that Haq can come against old ball..... rest is history.

That was 29 years back ..... nowadays, Inzi would have been kept at three for two more games, then dropped from the XI, and after the WC (series) from the squad for at least 3 years. He was scoring in domestics, therefore would have made a comeback for sure, but since failed once, now after 3-4 years may be at 6..... at the actual age close to 30.

LOL at Indians talking about pakistani age fudging like they are free from it. Age fudging is a subcontinent problem and only solution is proper wrist testing. ICC needs to intervene. Some Indian posters try to make it like its exclusive to Pakistan.

Here is a 36 years old youngster Munaf patel. Guy is at least 43-44.

181208_munaf_resources1_16a0853d0e9_large.jpg

and 29 years old Shami. Real age could be around 35-36, as confirmed by his wife as well.

ind-aus-3rd-odi-cricket-match_6318d69c-3ced-11ea-ae56-f909945546d5.jpg

Last but not least, 36 years old Irfan Pathan greying allover.

888227-irfan-pathan.jpg
Agree with Munaf and Shami but Pathan is genuinely 36.
Grey hair is not a valid proof for ageing.
These days even young kids got grey hair.