"Pakistan pacers are 17-18 on paper but are actually 27-28 years old": Mohammad Asif

I didn't read the whole schmear but lets us be honest with ourselves. We need to wake up and smell the coffee.

The era of "pace bowlers" has long gone.
Modern day cricket is ALL ABOUT BATSMEN!

You have a strong batting line, you have the upper hand. It is as simple as that.

The T20 format has turned modern day batsmen into monsters. You don't have them in your team? well ... tough p00p!

Fact of the matter is,
even if you have had Wasim Akrams and Waqar Yonuses and Shoaib Akhtars in your team right now, they would be spanked all over the park in this modern era.

As far as the bowling attack goes, you need medium pacers who must have two basic qualities. Ability to swing and deceptive variation.
You don't Dennis Lillees and Malcom Marshalls. Shami and Bumrah aren't Holding and Thompsons either.

And then you need spinners. Good spin bowling is the KEY in your bowling attack these days.
If your spinners are good at their trade, they get you the wickets and immediately, and create a dent in the opposition batting line for you.

I firmly believe that, even though our current bowling attack needs great improvement but pace wise, we aren't very bad. We have a good combo of left arm right arm too.

Our current pace bowlers need to learn the skill of swing and they need learn to develop intelligence so that they are able to effectively start using that deceptive variation.

We need a pretty darn good spinner but because our kids start playing cricket with tennis ball, they don't see or learn any spin bowling. There are no heroes in the spin bowling. Matter of fact their is no spin bowler in tape ball cricket to begin with.

Kids learn playing cricket with tape ball for several years before they are even exposed to spin bowling. And that's whey they start playing with a hardball. It's very late to build spinners from that point on.

This LAANUT of tape ball cricket is one the major cause that we don't develop good spinners anymore, and we don't develop batsmen with solid defense because their is only one shot in tape ball cricket... a laaparu tull for six. And that's it.

Inzi was a dominant FC player between 1985 and Imran finding him. But they kept ignoring him.

At one point, he broke the record for most runs in a domestic season. I can't remember what year it was but I'm guessing 1988 or 1989. So, yes he was well known around the domestic circuit well before Imran got to see him.

But, Imran does deserve credit as he actually took the time to watch Inzi when everyone else kept pushing him aside like they did to Fawad in his prime.

Inzi played for PAK U19 in 1988 U19 (was probably highest scorer in final as well), therefore he was indeed under radar. What Imran actually did was to save his career - he was good enough to make the cut today or tomorrow, but Imran helped him to survive his first failure, something that cost PAK young cricketers lot. I believe PAK has the highest % of cricketers with a single Test career - first failure, you are out, often for good.

LOL at Indians talking about pakistani age fudging like they are free from it. Age fudging is a subcontinent problem and only solution is proper wrist testing. ICC needs to intervene. Some Indian posters try to make it like its exclusive to Pakistan.

Here is a 36 years old youngster Munaf patel. Guy is at least 43-44.

181208_munaf_resources1_16a0853d0e9_large.jpg

and 29 years old Shami. Real age could be around 35-36, as confirmed by his wife as well.

ind-aus-3rd-odi-cricket-match_6318d69c-3ced-11ea-ae56-f909945546d5.jpg

Last but not least, 36 years old Irfan Pathan greying allover.

888227-irfan-pathan.jpg

I’m pretty sure Yuvraj Singh has fudged by several years too, Sehwag made a joke about this a couple months ago

That settles the Shaheen is 27 debate. These days, 1 year of fudging is what I’m noticing with max 2 years.

Qasim Akram for example turns 19 on 1 December 2021 which means he is young enough for the U19 world cup in 2022 by one day or so...

Exactly - apart from Iftikhar Ahmed, I don't think there's anyone in our squad whose official age is wildly off the mark. Yes some may be a little older than the official records, but by no more than a year or two.

LOL at Indians talking about pakistani age fudging like they are free from it. Age fudging is a subcontinent problem and only solution is proper wrist testing. ICC needs to intervene. Some Indian posters try to make it like its exclusive to Pakistan.

Here is a 36 years old youngster Munaf patel. Guy is at least 43-44.

181208_munaf_resources1_16a0853d0e9_large.jpg

and 29 years old Shami. Real age could be around 35-36, as confirmed by his wife as well.

ind-aus-3rd-odi-cricket-match_6318d69c-3ced-11ea-ae56-f909945546d5.jpg

Last but not least, 36 years old Irfan Pathan greying allover.

888227-irfan-pathan.jpg

I am sorry but the way shami has been bowling these days i highly doubt he is 36
Haan u can say a year or 2 older than his official age
But 35 36 is too much

Shami is probably older but not Pathan....no way he was a proper 21 year old when he debuted.......he is probably 36 38 now.......grey hair or bald is not a sign of aging

I believe in "innocent till proven otherwise". So I will go with the ages reported by the boards. All this conspiracy theory is just..theory. At the end of the day, performance is all that matters and that can't be fudged. No matter if Naseem is 17 or 19, if he performs, then its fantastic for Pakistan and if he doesn't, then he will be duly dropped.

On another note, it's not that PCB is alone in age-fudging. I know for a fact that one of the Indian domestic players (and Mumbai Indians star) is older than his official age by 4 years. His classmate who has a photo with the cricketer is my colleague.

I believe in "innocent till proven otherwise". So I will go with the ages reported by the boards. All this conspiracy theory is just..theory. At the end of the day, performance is all that matters and that can't be fudged. No matter if Naseem is 17 or 19, if he performs, then its fantastic for Pakistan and if he doesn't, then he will be duly dropped.

On another note, it's not that PCB is alone in age-fudging. I know for a fact that one of the Indian domestic players (and Mumbai Indians star) is older than his official age by 4 years. His classmate who has a photo with the cricketer is my colleague.
Yadav?

And how are we going to prove that?

When would it ever happen that any ex-Pakistani player speak well of current players? It's always the same, ex-players speaking about the current players with a sense of vengeance. And mind it, it's not that ex-players ever lit the world on fire, yes they were good and used to take a lot of wickets but even then they hardly won any matches.

Age fudging is a problem for others only in age-tournament like U19, where other teams like England, Aus, NZ lose out due to fudging by the subcontinental players.

However, in international matches, no one gives a damn whether Shaheen, Gill or Nassim are 16 or 32. If they bowl/bat well, great, else they will be taken apart.

The only parties that get hurt by age fudging are 1) Country itself, 2) Fans who should feel cheated, 3) Genuinely correct-age players in that country who lose opportunity. Nothing goes of other nations baap.

No wonder, ICC & SENA countries hardly care if there’s age fudging, unlike their ire for even unintentional drug use or even minor ball tempering.

Dravid was right to point out this menace and i hope BCCI is fully behind him here.

The only parties that get hurt by age fudging are 1) Country itself, 2) Fans who should feel cheated, 3) Genuinely correct-age players in that country who lose opportunity. Nothing goes of other nations baap.

Reading the posts here it seems many fans think it is okay to cheat by a couple years, only 8-10 years of fudging is not cool. Just sad state of affairs.

Can't just blame the fans though when it is the PCB that indirectly advocates age cheating. The aggressive promotion of Naseem being a wonder kid clocking 150 is quite recent. It is clear that they don't consider this an issue rather low-key encourages it.

Why can't the PCB take undisputed wrist tests, update the actual ages of the players and punish players for lying.

Because then you can't use the likes of Naseem Shah as a marketing tool just based on his age.

I’m pretty sure Yuvraj Singh has fudged by several years too, Sehwag made a joke about this a couple months ago

Yuvraj and Dhoni are probably the two of the most high profile cases of DOB fudging in Indian cricket. Shami too.

The day we stop giving unnecessary hawa to the infamous ex cricketers....we would be making serious
progress as a cricket nation

Reading the posts here it seems many fans think it is okay to cheat by a couple years, only 8-10 years of fudging is not cool. Just sad state of affairs.

Can't just blame the fans though when it is the PCB that indirectly advocates age cheating. The aggressive promotion of Naseem being a wonder kid clocking 150 is quite recent. It is clear that they don't consider this an issue rather low-key encourages it.

I was thinking about the same thing while reading this thread. Hope I am wrong as this is a very serious issue which needs to be addressed by PCB asap and our fans should not try to defend PCB or anyone who is involved in such cases.

Asif in a recent interview said that if the PCB approached him for coaching, he will only work at the grass roots with U16, U19 kids and at the NCA, he is not interested in a bowling coach role with the national side

That's fine. Our grassroots are where the problems are.

Asif can be a fantastic bowling coach - a thinking, skilled bowler.

However, I have few problems with him - he has every bad habits one can have; it might not be safe for youngsters indulging with him. I’m sure PAK pacers are scared of WY, might avoids conversation let alone passing time together- it’s like headmaster - student relationships (of 1950s). Asif will give boys time, but that can come with a pinch of salt as well.

Second issue is - Asif’s max speed I can recall was 141.7km - something that might not suit the ego of Pakistani cricket elites. Even here in PP I see trolls getting behind whoever questions the fast bowler Haris Rauf....

Third issue is coaching is a learned trait - one has to develop himself as well. Asif can’t transmit his bowling intelligence or skills by Midas touch. He needs to learn modern technology, proper communications, methodical conditioning and must have the knowledge to analyse game/batsmen - not sure he can do this.

Asif was the best from PAK since Wasim as a bowler when it comes to find weakness in batsmen.... but WY was also extremely cunning bowler (no one gives him credit but he was outstanding thinking bowler - troubled English opening pair in 1992 tour equally with new ball).... it didn’t turn good while coaching. Because, analysing a batsman when you are bowling is part of bowling skill and that guy was brilliant; explaining the analysis & make people understand that is a communication skill - Asif is damn poor in that, so is WY.

Even today, if he was wise, won’t have said that age comment in an u-tube telecast.... he can be sued for defame charges. You don’t put such loose cannons as coach.

I’ll still say, probably the best guy is Kabir Khan, but not sure he’ll get bell from PCB or PAKP.

Yeah you're right about that. Asif has to work himself upwards to even merit a role near the Pakistan Cricket Team.

When they ages are revised by the respective boards officially based on some evidence they uncover, like photos and certificates from their schooling days etc.

I understand your perspective, it would be highly difficult and unlikely to find the correct ages of players but there is no fool-proof way to fix this issue, I think.

Maybe we should just accept it as is and carry on and focus on the performance of the players.

And how are we going to prove that?

When they ages are revised by the respective boards officially based on some evidence they uncover, like photos and certificates from their schooling days etc.

I understand your perspective, it would be highly difficult and unlikely to find the correct ages of players but there is no fool-proof way to fix this issue, I think.

Maybe we should just accept it as is and carry on and focus on the performance of the players.

I dont think its the job of Boards etc to find out ages.

When the national ID card says a date of birth, it has to be mean something which puts the onus on the Government as this is a national issue and not just related to sports.

On the subject of age-fudging, this reminds me of a call I received in the middle of the night from a Pakistan Test player.

"Sajid bhai, Sajid bhai, emergency hai. I asked what had happened and reminded him it was the middle of the night. He said "My age is now recorded as 30 and I need to get it reduced by a few years, how do I do that?"

10 years difference? That's a big claim.

I think maximum is 5 years. I say it based on their physical features.

On the subject of age-fudging, this reminds me of a call I received in the middle of the night from a Pakistan Test player.

"Sajid bhai, Sajid bhai, emergency hai. I asked what had happened and reminded him it was the middle of the night. He said "My age is now recorded as 30 and I need to get it reduced by a few years, how do I do that?"

When I try to guess this player by attempting to take this level of mental intellect into consideration and visually matching it up with the demeanor of the player, almost ALL players fit the description.

It’s very hard to guess.

It's always embarrassing when our players are withdrawn from u19 world cups due to 'injurys'

When I try to guess this player by attempting to take this level of mental intellect into consideration and visually matching it up with the demeanor of the player, almost ALL players fit the description.

It’s very hard to guess.

Yes it could be many of them.

I will just say that the guy last played for Pakistan in 2010 and is a batsman.

As usual rubbish being spouted out by an ex-player who thinks only he was the best ever bowler in the world. Same has both Afridi and Shoaib Akhtar done in past.

The main reason I got annoyed is that he didn't say a single positive thing about any of the bowlers. Surely they are not that bad. We know they can't be compared to our past greats, but they are still young and will learn with the time.

I dont think its the job of Boards etc to find out ages.

When the national ID card says a date of birth, it has to be mean something which puts the onus on the Government as this is a national issue and not just related to sports.

I am trying to understand your suggestions here.

So Pcb should put the ball back in the government's court to come up with a system to fix these age related issues and do absolutely nothing about this?

Does age fudging hurt real talent or stop a youngster from playing in an U16 or U19 tournaments?

Rahul Dravid suggested that Age fudging should be a crime? Do you agree with him?

I personally think anyone who is guilty of doing age fudging should have his records removed and banned permanently.

I fully agree with you because this is a serious crime which should not be brushed under the carpet. So many talented youngsters decide to quit playing cricket because they see the system where only sifarish or cheating will work. They refuse to be a part of this system because they are brought up differently by their parents who taught them to speak up against injustice and always do the right thing.

Its a scam. I know from first hand experience. My elder brother pursued cricket till 19. He played really well at state level till U17. He played with guys like Raina. He got rejected in U19 team. He mentioned 6 guys were overage. My dad who is an idealist and always see good in others told him its impossible these days with so much of media coverage and requested him to just stop giving excuses and try to make it Uttar Pradesh Ranji team. My father encouraged him to keep working hard and he will support him but my brother lost motivation and gave up cricket and pursued education. I was too young but looking into so many age fudging cases, i think all our U19 WC glories are a fraud.

Yuvraj yes but Kohli’s team too? And Prithvi?

These days its really difficult for guys from big cities like Delhi and Mumbai to fake their age but guys like Shami, Umesh Yadav who come from rural uneducated backgrounds to fake their age. I personally don't care about ague fudging in international cricket but it really bothers me when someone do it in U19 level, It defeats the purpose. My friends were cheering when Unmukt Chand won U19 WC but i wasn't much because i knew for sure all Aus players were genuinely less than 19 years of age but Indians were not. Looking into Unmukt's flop IPL/international career its also a possibility that he was overage so he was able to dominate U19 teams. 21 year old has huge advantage over a genuinely 17 year old in sports i feel. Thats why i am always suspicious of young arrivals like Amir, Naseem etc

Just heard Naseem saying 'single karna hai varna deat pad jayegi'' going by his voice no way this guy is 25+ may be at max older by a year or two form his official age

Seriously? How petty and pathetic you lot are? His voice sounded like an early adult (18 y/o) and not of a 25+, and the way he said it he meant daant Misbah/Waqar sai parray gi, your own evidence actually contradicts the point you are trying to make. Absolutely disgusted.

Why are you disgusted lol! I am saying the same thing that going by his voice he is max 18-19.

<iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/lc4qy3" width="560" height="502" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Poor comments.

<iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/lc4qy3" width="560" height="502" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Poor comments.

Poor racist comments. Blame the ages, blame the coaching ... but why bring in the pathans, punjabis etc. I remember Shoaib saying something similar for Sarfaraz (Nazimabad team etc) and it is just horrible. Whoever they are , they are playing for the Pak team.

Poor racist comments. Blame the ages, blame the coaching … but why bring in the pathans, punjabis etc. I remember Shoaib saying something similar for Sarfaraz (Nazimabad team etc) and it is just horrible. Whoever they are , they are playing for the Pak team.

Exactly. Poor stuff from him and he should be taken to task for it.

Akmal and Asif, 2 men that covered themselves in glory playing for Pakistan...

Not sure why they’re being given the oxygen of publicity 😡

Poor racist comments. Blame the ages, blame the coaching ... but why bring in the pathans, punjabis etc. I remember Shoaib saying something similar for Sarfaraz (Nazimabad team etc) and it is just horrible. Whoever they are , they are playing for the Pak team.

Sigh. What could be if the guy wasn't a complete idiot. Even now if he was truly rehabilitated he could become a coach at a decent level.

He's basically Umar Akmal's mental level when it comes to pointless self-destruction.

Exactly. Poor stuff from him and he should be taken to task for it.

The same way Sohail Tanvir was after he said Hinduon ki Zehniyat hi aisi hai? ,

Forget about India, he was stereotyping a minority group in his own country, was there any outrage?

2 wrongs don’t make a right but chalo the player is dumb but where is the basic etiquette of the media to allow these things to be broadcast?

I prefer Pakistan ex cricket analysts than their Indian counterparts because Indian analysts are too PC, walk the dotted line and don’t ruffle any feathers most times where as Pak “analysts” are outspoken but some times when I see these unmonitored statements from Pak cricketers May be there needs to be some directive here as well.

In light of Mohammad Asif's discriminatory and inflammatory comments, it is incumbent that all Pak players from their initial inauguration are properly groomed and educated to the highest standards.

the irony of asif bringing ethnicity into it when one of the worst age fudgers, aaqib "i made my FC debut at 12 years old" javed is from the same city as this guy.

He barked against pathan some time ago too. Not sure about the hate.

He was always a fixer and now he has added racist to the list. If he ever had any chance of getting a coaching gig in the future, it’s probably done now.

Recently Asif made the comments regarding the Pathan pace-bowlers to me also but I swiftly changed the subject and moved on.

Not good.

I like Khans and Pathans as they are full of character and like to give it all when they play for Pakistan. This is not to say that other players don't, but anyways don't give Asif and others a reason to talk about such things. I mean why Naseem and Shadab are being treated like the saviors of Pakistan where mgmt is going out of the way to fit these guys in our national team? Imran Khan, Wasim Khan, Misbah, Younis, Shadab, and Naseem should have nothing to do with Pakistan cricket, yet they are there and ensuring that they kill our cricket to the point where we can't return from. Pakistan cricket is a mess where nothing good happens, so people will talk about and say things the way they see it.

Poor stuff from asif I thought he was a sensible speaker upto this point

I like Khans and Pathans as they are full of character and like to give it all when they play for Pakistan. This is not to say that other players don't, but anyways don't give Asif and others a reason to talk about such things. I mean why Naseem and Shadab are being treated like the saviors of Pakistan where mgmt is going out of the way to fit these guys in our national team? Imran Khan, Wasim Khan, Misbah, Younis, Shadab, and Naseem should have nothing to do with Pakistan cricket, yet they are there and ensuring that they kill our cricket to the point where we can't return from. Pakistan cricket is a mess where nothing good happens, so people will talk about and say things the way they see it.

So yoy are defending this beghriat? We can talk about what we see too.

I don't find anything wrong with what Asif said in the video above. It is all true. Punjabis, Sindhis, Pathans, Urdu speaking folks, will always support their own people first. Some posters are acting like these things don't happen in Pakistan.

I feel for your brother. I am sure India is already in the process of fixing the age fudging issues at junior and senior levels.