Pakistan rejects Indian missile probe, reiterates joint investigation

Hacked a supersonic missile flying at mach 3 for 124 kms. How many minutes will it take to fly 124 kms?

Sapne bhi qaide ke dekha karo.

Raising questions on India's ability to ensure the safety and security of its nuclear and other high-end weapon systems following the neighbouring country's admission that it accidentally fired a missile into Pakistan, National Security Adviser Moeed Yusuf on Friday urged the world to take notice of the sheer negligence by New Delhi.

"On March 9th, a supersonic projectile from India travelling at 40,000 feet covered over 250 km & landed inside Pakistani territory. It has taken more than 2 days for India to accept that this was their missile launched ostensibly due to a technical malfunction during maintenance," Moeed wrote in a series of tweets.

He said that the incident raised serious questions about India’s ability to handle such sensitive technology. "This missile travelled close to the path of international and domestic commercial airlines and threatened the safety of civilians."

The NSA said that it was also highly irresponsible of Indian authorities not to have informed Pakistan immediately that an inadvertent launch of a cruise missile had taken place.

"In a nuclear environment, such callousness & ineptitude raises questions about the safety & security of Indian weapon systems. Already, there have been multiple incidents of uranium theft in India and its citizens have even been arrested while smuggling uranium in the recent past," he added.

Moeed pointed out that this is a state apparatus being run by a fascist ideology that has already proven its recklessness by trying to bomb Pakistan in 2019.

"We have constantly called on the world to look at India’s irresponsible behaviour that continues to pose a threat to regional stability. Our calls have been ignored."

Given this incident, and earlier ones, the NSA said that the world must consider whether India is able to ensure the safety and security of its nuclear and other high-end weapon systems.

"It is hard to believe anything this Indian government says. Therefore, the real circumstances surrounding this incident must also be investigated to ascertain if this was an inadvertent launch or something more intentional."

Regardless, he concluded, the world must remove its blinders about the Indian state’s behaviour within its country, its diplomatic direction, and its disregard for the need for peace and stability in its neighbourhood.

"The world must treat this incident with the urgency, sensitivity & alarm it deserves," he further added.

Moeed's remarks came a day after the military said that an unidentified high-altitude supersonic object originating in India had crashed in Pakistani territory, in an incident endangering civilian passenger flights, and New Delhi should provide an explanation.

"On 9 March a high-speed flying object was picked up inside Indian territory by air defence operations centre of the Pakistan air force," Director-General Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) Major General Babar said in a press conference.

He said that the military was not sure of the nature of the object, which crashed near Punjab's Mian Channu and originated from the Indian city of Sirsa, in India's western Haryana state.

"The flight path of this object endangered many national and international passenger flights both in Indian and Pakistani airspace as well as human life and property of ground," he said.

India, in its response, admitted that it accidentally fired a missile into Pakistan and ordered a high-level court of inquiry into the incident that could have led to a major disaster or misunderstanding between the two nuclear-armed neighbours.

"On March 9, 2022, in the course of a routine maintenance, a technical malfunction led to the accidental firing of a missile," read a statement issued by the Indian defence ministry in New Delhi.

"The Government of India has taken a serious view and ordered a high-level Court of Enquiry," it further said.

"It is learnt that the missile landed in an area of Pakistan. While the incident is deeply regrettable, it is also a matter of relief that there has been no loss of life due to the accident," read the communiqué.

Pakistan had also summoned the Indian envoy to record a strong protest over the incident and seek an explanation earlier in the day.

Incompetence or irresponsibility?

Indian Defence Ministry's statement that a missile was accidentally fired a missile into Pakistan by its forces has raised many questions for the peace and stability of the region.

Analysts believed that if Pakistan had not acted as a responsible country following the incident, a sudden war could have broken out between the two nuclear neighbours, repercussions of which could have been extremely severe.

They said that India has always highlighted the insecurity of Pakistan's nuclear assets, but after admitting that the missile was fired accidentally by its own forces, questions are being raised about the safety of its own strategic assets.

There have been several cases of theft of enriched uranium in India before. In August last year, the Indian authorities arrested two suspects from the city of Kolkata for illegally possessing radioactive substances worth over $573 million.

The analysts feared that due to the insecurity of Indian strategic weapons as well as the growing separatist movements and civil war in many Indian states, these strategic weapons could fall into the hands of non-state actors.

Many analysts even questioned whether the incident actually occurred by mistake of there was more to the story. "India says missile landed in Pakistan after "Accidental Firing"! Even a rogue missile knows where to land - in Pakistan but not in China," Ashok Swain, a professor of Peace and Conflict Research at Uppsala University, wrote on his Twitter handle.

In any case, the analysts concluded, the international community should demand that India must secure its nuclear assets as such a mistake could be a precursor to a huge catastrophe in the region

Express Tribune

Hacked a supersonic missile flying at mach 3 for 124 kms. How many minutes will it take to fly 124 kms?

Sapne bhi qaide ke dekha karo.

Please explain what went wrong?

This would be comical if not so serious. How can any competent force allow a missile to be launched into a country with nuclear weapons which is an enemy?

Im glad India has apologised, the least they could do.

Please explain what went wrong?

This would be comical if not so serious. How can any competent force allow a missile to be launched into a country with nuclear weapons which is an enemy?

Im glad India has apologised, the least they could do.

Just like US brought down a Iranian airlines plane with 290 onboard.

Or Russian forces brought down a Malaysian airlines plane.

Or

Iran brought down a Ukranian airliner.

Should i give more examples?

There are reasons why no amount of rona dhona by moed yousuf will work. No

Worrying aspect of this is the readiness of our forces and air defences

Imagine if india launched a nuclear missile attack our side wouldn't have retaliated until its too late and everything would be enveloped in a nuclear fire and mushroom cloud.

I don't buy that it's a malfunction I think this was india checking pakistan defence their readiness and response they will gear up to attack one day .

They've been violating our airspace and sea water for a while now and you won't here a squeak from our generals.

Imagine if india launched a nuclear missile attack our side wouldn't have retaliated until its too late and everything would be enveloped in a nuclear fire and mushroom cloud.

I don't buy that it's a malfunction I think this was india checking pakistan defence their readiness and response they will gear up to attack one day .

They've been violating our airspace and sea water for a while now and you won't here a squeak from our generals.

Why would we go public about our readiness?

Because If we are to believe the lying ispr they said they tracked it

So why was there no attempt to shoot it down which would be difficult anyhow due to brahmos speed.

But either way if they tracked it this would have been an attack and you would immediately retaliate because how would you know the missile is not tipped with a nuke , india isn't going go phone bajwa or khan and tell them we are launching a missile or nuke.

So the conclusion I make from this the missile was not tracked and our forces had no clue what happened and were only alerted by the local villagers that something had fallen in pakistan.

This is why you have a second strike capability. Pakistan is building nuclear submarines for this reason.

Or

Rona dhona would have taken place if this missile was armed or even unarmed but hit civilians. Just like your pilot was captured last time you flew anything into Pak lands.

So you have no clue how this occured, its ok neither do your forces.

Again, glad India apologised confirming their incompetence.

Rona dhona would have taken place if this missile was armed or even unarmed but hit civilians. Just like your pilot was captured last time you flew anything into Pak lands.

So you have no clue how this occured, its ok neither do your forces.

Again, glad India apologised confirming their incompetence.

Last time we flew into pak lands, we flew to balakote, dropped bombs, flew back un challenged. While by pakistan's own admission, they didnt cross the LoC.

Our forces have clues to form new nations.

Its comfortable to not escalate the matter if the actual victim itself wants to downplay the matter.

Or

You missed IAF shooting down its own MI17??

All those were a total different criteria. Apples vs Oranges

What rona dhona? Its funny the same lot that starts to jump up and down when a pigeon crosses the border is trying to shrug when a potential nuclear first strike missile is casually "accidentally" lobbed across a hot border....

Yet the Indian community is far more successful financially in UK.

there are deep socio economic reasons for this and its not as clear cut as you think..but thats for another thread.

right now lets concentrate on another demonstration of incompetence by your military and question its ability to handle complex weapon systems..

Last time we flew into pak lands, we flew to balakote, dropped bombs, flew back un challenged. While by pakistan's own admission, they didnt cross the LoC.

Its comfortable to not escalate the matter if the actual victim itself wants to downplay the matter.

If PAF didn't cross the LOC, I guess abhinondone just came over for sight seeing.....

Anyone can fly in a few km , you dont understand how air combat works. The end result was seen by the world with your pilot drinking chai.

Its lucky this missile never killed anyone, Pak would have returned the favour as they did previously but in a more serious manner.

Please email Modi to give training to those in charge of such missiles.

last time you guys came, we destroyed two of your planes, captured one of your guys. In return the Indians decided to send a helicopter whose communciation we stopped, and than you lot decided to fire at your own helicopter further killing 6 more people :)))

Also, do learn to type balakot

India has now apologized to Pakistan for this. Its good you lot have learned to apologise

I know you are a big Indian nationalist and will defend them no matter what.

But your spin on what happened 3 years ago is hilarious.

Yes Indian forces did manage to destroy some trees in Balakote but maybe you are forgetting what your Indian media was saying for days - that they had killed 500 hundred terrorists when they didn’t kill anything. India got bad intelligence so the mission was an utter failure.

The next day Pakistan captured your pilot and shot down 2 of your planes so overall Pakistan won that battle and despite the Indian war mongering for days on end it was Pakistan that deescalated the situation by returning the pilot.
Indian planes are not going to cross into Pakistan again for a very long time because they know Pak are more than capable to give an answer back.

Why you forget what happened next day?

Four locations bombed, two jets shot down, IAF wetting their diaper and shooting down their own helicopter. One wing commander slapped around and disgraced.

Just because you get all your info from Hindutva news sources doesn't mean the rest of the world does too.

Auqaat nahi bhola karo apni.

After looking more into this incident, I am leaning towards Indians doing this on purpose, they have something in mind like testing Pakistani readiness etc... I hope there won't be a conflict

Why you forget what happened next day?

Four locations bombed, two jets shot down, IAF wetting their diaper and shooting down their own helicopter. One wing commander slapped around and disgraced.

Just because you get all your info from Hindutva news sources doesn't mean the rest of the world does too.

Auqaat nahi bhola karo apni.
What is your obsession with diaper and dhoti though? In every one of your posts, I see mentioning about wet diaper especially. Is it a trend among PTI fans or does IK promote such kind of ways of speech because I've seen this more prevalent among PTI fans.

After looking more into this incident, I am leaning towards Indians doing this on purpose, they have something in mind like testing Pakistani readiness etc... I hope there won't be a conflict

Doing this on purpose to give Pakistan and China full access to their most high tech missile ?

If this was a test it would have flown into the sea or back to some place in India.

Don't delude yourselves this is Indian military incompetence again.

Well, official statement has pointed out that it was a mistake. No casualties are there. Both party i.e. Indian gov and Pakistan gov doesn't seem to bother much about it.

I don't see why it's been so serious among posters considering the authorities have taken lightly so.

Doing this on purpose to give Pakistan and China full access to their most high tech missile ?

Lol a crashed, blown up missile cannot be reverse engineered, there is nothing meaningful Pak or China would get out it, calm down..

If this was a test it would have flown into the sea or back to some place in India.

Don't delude yourselves this is Indian military incompetence again.

I don't totally disagree, it might well be a mal function and the missile changed its path as a result, who knows. What I stated was my opinion, doesn't mean I am saying it is a fact.

Proudly saying dropped bombs :))) failed to mention Killed a Tree :))

On the other hand, PAF shoot your Plane and captured your pilot. On the other hand, IAF didnt even had balls to accept the Pilot untill they saw videos.

And indeed its not comfortable try not to escalate the matter because its not 99 anymore :)

Regarding unchallanged, we flew to Indian territory, hit missiles on target (but empty places) and your own news accepted and shared the news as well, we came back TOO unchallanged when your IAF tried to challenge, what happened? Whole worlds knows (apart from India) :))

So good luck with your chest thumping.

Most irresponsible thing to do.

What if some hothead in Pakistan had fired back and actually hit people?

India needs to fix this asap.

India just wanted to see if Pak is prepared for any eventuality. Either Pak has been caught a bit or guard or we are pretending to be that.

Most irresponsible thing to do.

What if some hothead in Pakistan had fired back and actually hit people?

India needs to fix this asap.

India and Pakistan has never entered in to such clashes. It is a very matured relationship diplomatic wise even though going by media it doesn't seem like it.

Small incidents may happen here and there but going by history, both the nation gives each other enough space even if animosity exists at the same time.

If such conflicts arose in Europe, the whole areas would have been wiped out by now.

LMAO, this is what the Pak media was ordered to report a full day after the missile hit

https://www.dawn.com/news/1679164
LAHORE: A private aircraft crashed in Mian Channu, Khanewal district, on Wednesday night and the lone occupant remained safe.

According to locals and rescue officials, the aircraft, likely to be used for training purposes, crashed on a cold storage at Chak 115 in the middle of the fields.

The pilot remained safe after timely ejection from the jet and no loss of life or injury reported as no one was present there.

Can you guys not see ISPR is trying to play it down and hiding something? This is from the same playbook as 3 Indian pilots in hospital after Abhinandan Shot down F-16.

Nobody heard of those two pilots in hospital then, and nobody is going to hear about the pilot who ejected safely now.

Where's the ejected pilot in Mian Channu? Is he the new #doosrabanda?

Pakistan seeks joint probe into Indian missile fiasco

ISLAMABAD:
Pakistan has sought a joint probe to accurately establish the facts surrounding the ‘accidental’ firing of an Indian missile into its territory, saying an internal court of inquiry ordered by New Delhi is not sufficient.

In response to the Indian admission of firing a missile into Pakistan, the foreign office on Saturday issued a detailed statement containing a list of questions for India to answer.

“We have taken note of the press statement by the Indian Press Information Bureau’s Defence Wing regretting the “accidental firing” of the Indian origin missile into Pakistani territory on 9 March 2022 due to 'technical malfunction' and decision to hold an internal Court of Inquiry,” the statement read.

The statement said the grave nature of the incident raised several fundamental questions regarding security protocols and technical safeguards against the accidental or unauthorised launch of missiles in a nuclearized environment.

Such a serious matter cannot be addressed with the simplistic explanation proffered by the Indian authorities. Some of the questions that need to be answered include:

• India must explain the measures and procedures in place to prevent accidental missile launches and the particular circumstances of this incident.

• India needs to clearly explain the type and specifications of the missile that fell in Pakistani territory.

• India also needs to explain the flight path/ trajectory of the accidentally launched missile and how it ultimately turned and entered Pakistan?

• Was the missile equipped with self-destruct mechanism? Why did it fail to actualize?

• Are Indian missiles kept primed for launch even under routine maintenance?

• Why did India fail to immediately inform Pakistan about the accidental launch of the missile and waited to acknowledge it till after Pakistan announced the incident and sought clarification?

• Given the profound level of incompetence, India needs to explain if the missile was indeed handled by its armed forces or some rogue elements?

“The whole incident indicates many loopholes and technical lapses of serious nature in Indian handling of strategic weapons,” the statement noted.

“Indian decision to hold an internal court of inquiry is not sufficient since the missile ended up in Pakistani territory. Pakistan demands a joint probe to accurately establish the facts surrounding the incident,” it said.

The Foreign Office said given the short distances and response times, any misinterpretation by the other side could lead to countermeasures in self-defence with grave consequences.

“Pakistan, therefore, calls upon the international community to take serious notice of this incident of grave nature in a nuclearized environment and play its due role in promoting strategic stability in the region.”

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2347607/pakistan-seeks-joint-probe-into-indian-missile-fiasco

Or

Come on. There is really no justifying this. It is a proper sc**ew up by the IAF.

What if that projectile had hit some commercial Pakistani airliner in Pak airspace? It would have ballooned into a massive crisis, war even!

It is completely idiotic on the part of the IAF to be testing missiles so close to the border, and that too in a busy commercial air corridor.

Don't we have the rest of the huge Indian airspace, or even the skies over the seas and oceans to be doing such tests?

Most definitely some people are going to jail for this.

Indian Govt. be like "Galti se mistake ho gaya."
But on a serious note this must be investigated and someone will lose his job.

Again. LMAO!

Why's pakistan asking for a joint investigation if it was a trainer aircraft that crashed with the pilot ejecting successfully.

Did the trainer aircraft crash and the missile hit occur in the same town on the same day? Where's the pilot who ejected according to Pakistan as reported by their newspaper Dawn?

This is quite serious and very reckless. Firing a missile into another country is beyond stupidity. There is a serious concern over Indian ability to keep their cool or even technical competence when handling war technology. 3 years back they fired a missile in panic and shot down their own helicopter which resulted in many casualties yet there was no serious inquiry or action plan that took place to avoid such concerns. Also the crashing of their test flights have become a very frequent occurrence of the past few years.

India should look into crisis management training for its IAF staff as clearly they don't come across as professional or even competent enough if we look through recent examples.

obviously india testing pak, there is no way mid range missles can be launched without multiple level clearances.

I am no expert in this field but even I doubt this is «accidental», for such a missile certainly there are plenty of routines in a spesific order which need to be ticked before it hits a target. So you are not talking about «accident» at one level, but on many levels, and the latter suggests this can not be accidental or by mistake. If it is still by error, you are talking about a real incompetent army here.

The Pulwana attack, the uranium theft, the friendly fire of helicopter (s), the Indian officials who work for ISI, the accident of the army chief, and now a super sonic missile getting fired by mistake... and of course the whole Abhinandan episode :))

I don't think these people are competent.

I know it is a meme to say so but this is like Bandar ke haath me maachis (matches in monkey's hands). A disastrous outcome is guaranteed.

obviously india testing pak, there is no way mid range missles can be launched without multiple level clearances.

What do you say an extremist (hopefully rogue) BJP/RSS extremist faction trying to "nuke" Pakistan?

A la an Ajay Devgn Bollywood movie.

In the end India was on its knees apologising to Pakistan. Reveals how scared India really is.

LMAO, this is what the Pak media was ordered to report a full day after the missile hit

https://www.dawn.com/news/1679164

Can you guys not see ISPR is trying to play it down and hiding something? This is from the same playbook as 3 Indian pilots in hospital after Abhinandan Shot down F-16.

Nobody heard of those two pilots in hospital then, and nobody is going to hear about the pilot who ejected safely now.

it wasnt ISPR official statement, it was medias own speculation ...... understand the difference ..... and we have got an official apology from India .......

heres the Apology .....

AhblL2_Missile.jpeg

The Pulwana attack, the uranium theft, the friendly fire of helicopter (s), the Indian officials who work for ISI, the accident of the army chief, and now a super sonic missile getting fired by mistake... and of course the whole Abhinandan episode :))

I don't think these people are competent.

I know it is a meme to say so but this is like Bandar ke haath me maachis (matches in monkey's hands). A disastrous outcome is guaranteed.

Remember «Pakistan will be scared once Rafale jets come, says IAF chief» ?

Sabb say pehlay tou in say puchna chahye ke Rafale kou udhana seekh bhi liya hai ya?

Respected Indians also talking about India's incompetence

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Have there been any instances in the past when one country has 'accidentally' fired a missile against another country? Or is India the only Vishwaguru?</p>— Ashok Swain (@ashoswai) <a href="https://twitter.com/ashoswai/status/1502569401794629642?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 12, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Crickey, imagine if they intended to fire off some missiles towards Lahore from somewhere in India, they end up taking out Mumbai or their other own cities instead!

Respected Indians also talking about India's incompetence

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Have there been any instances in the past when one country has 'accidentally' fired a missile against another country? Or is India the only Vishwaguru?</p>— Ashok Swain (@ashoswai) <a href="https://twitter.com/ashoswai/status/1502569401794629642?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 12, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Ashok Swain :D

I feel Ashok Swain is an imposter Pakistani and not Indian as claimed to be.

For starters I can only find 1 photo of him on the net ?

He only majorly tweets to writes about anti Indian matter.

:wy :angel:

Who knows, but Ashok Swain lol :)))

I feel Ashok Swain is an imposter Pakistani and not Indian as claimed to be.

For starters I can only find 1 photo of him on the net ?

He only majorly tweets to writes about anti Indian matter.

:wy :angel:

Who knows, but Ashok Swain lol :)))

Professor at a reputable university. Has publications in NYT partner publications but yeah LOL

Better than your Aryas, Bakshis, Goswamis…

50D6F017-04EB-44C5-A126-185FCED5CA89.jpg

Humans are prone to error.

God is the only entity which is perfect in all aspects.

So unless people are equating Indians to God, it should be understandable that there may human errors come up.

Both Indian and Pakistani govt shared their thoughts and moved on understanding that the intention was not ill.

But people here are talking as if one never had done any errors in their jobs. As I've said, your expectations if you point it towards yourself, then you are equating yourself to God.

Professor at a reputable university. Has publications in NYT partner publications but yeah LOL

Better than your Aryas, Bakshis, Goswamis…

View attachment 115274

I don't pay any attention to Bhakshi, and Goswami is a clown, his shows are just pathetic and silly which turns into a Jerry Springer show...

However Ashok Swain I class in the same category as the Goswamis etc as he is agenda driven, just anti BJP anti Modi.

Unfortunately for Ashok Swain, BJP seems to be getting stronger by the day LOL....

Only pro-BJP sources are acceptable.

Well, in case of Ukraine, why many posters here are citing that western media lies and is agenda driven? Nyt is also one of them.

Shouldn't the same case should be apply here?

on the contrary, this is a good demonstration of incredibly incompetent the entire defense infrastructure is in india, much like any other bureaucracy. were it not for the absolute misinformed reporting, the saber rattling from a few years ago would have brought down most governments for the abject failure it was.

This must also explain to those here who may believe that somehow RAW has the ability to destabilize balochistan or afghanistan.

on the contrary, this is a good demonstration of incredibly incompetent the entire defense infrastructure is in india, much like any other bureaucracy. were it not for the absolute misinformed reporting, the saber rattling from a few years ago would have brought down most governments for the abject failure it was.

This must also explain to those here who may believe that somehow RAW has the ability to destabilize balochistan or afghanistan.

So how incompetent is the US infrastructure for bringing down a plane full of civilians? Or for not finding WMDs in Iraq?

Its the people who will decide if the govt is a failure or success, currently the people seem to be ok with the government and its pakistan policy.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/PZYZQKbWn94" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Humans are prone to error.

God is the only entity which is perfect in all aspects.

So unless people are equating Indians to God, it should be understandable that there may human errors come up.

Both Indian and Pakistani govt shared their thoughts and moved on understanding that the intention was not ill.

But people here are talking as if one never had done any errors in their jobs. As I've said, your expectations if you point it towards yourself, then you are equating yourself to God.

Humans are prone to error? Oh man, some clerk.

In this case it was a technical error.

Made in India.

Well, in case of Ukraine, why many posters here are citing that western media lies and is agenda driven? Nyt is also one of them.

Shouldn't the same case should be apply here?

Your OWN GOVERNMENT is ADMITTING the mistake. This is the difference.

And apologised.

Technology is created by humans. And any object created by human is prone to error. It is as simple as that.

No its not.

Technology in question is automation.

When your phone fails to connect to 4/5G or fails to boot, or fails to run a script, fails to load, you do not blame a human but the device/technology.

No point in trying to wriggle out of this.

As [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] has already stated before, you tend to fail to understand the context of a post.

The context is clear, Indian tech is a joke, and if we grant your notion, Indian humans are to blame. No wonder Indian tech and quality are a laugh.

Technology is created by humans. And any object created by human is prone to error. It is as simple as that.

true but processes for safety and protocols are also created by humans to mitigate as much as possible. India has demonstrated it is incapable of doing so. From shooting down their own helicopters to crashing planes left and right. Now this. from uranium theft to missile launches. This is a disaster and the Indians should be made to pay a price for their lack of protocols and processes.

No its not.

Technology in question is automation.

When your phone fails to connect to 4/5G or fails to boot, or fails to run a script, fails to load, you do not blame a human but the device/technology.

No point in trying to wriggle out of this.

When a script fails to run, people blame the developers.

You are actually arguing like a child right now. No wonder people whether Indian/Pakistani avoids you while doing conversation.

You bring nothing to the table except childish antics.

true but processes for safety and protocols are also created by humans to mitigate as much as possible. India has demonstrated it is incapable of doing so. From shooting down their own helicopters to crashing planes left and right. Now this. from uranium theft to missile launches. This is a disaster and the Indians should be made to pay a price for their lack of protocols and processes.

Then make India pay for it. Via what? Sanctions?

When a script fails to run, people blame the developers.

You are actually arguing like a child right now. No wonder people whether Indian/Pakistani avoids you while doing conversation.

You bring nothing to the table except childish antics.

Ok, granting your warped thinking, lets blame the incompetence of Indian human clerk desk workers in this case.

This is what you bring to the table.

Case closed.

So after LoL'ing Ashok Swain you share this work of bollywoodisque drivel...

If the missile even had a 200kg conventional warhead, the damage would have been massive with loss of life. Majority of the missile body was recover fairly intact in a single crater that would not have happened if it had a warhead. This story is reminiscent of another tall tale spun by the indians post balakot ... Our Spice Bums are shoopadoopa special they go through the windows of the building and kill 300 people without damaging the buildings...

Trust the indians to spin an act of incompetence at best into some sort of precision strike on bum factory.

While they were doing this, there were 3 airliners in the area directly in the flight path. The missile could have easily hit any of them.

fr-mar11a.jpg

Commercial passenger flights near the flight path of Indian missile in Pakistan air space around 6:48 PM (Pakistan Standard Time) on March 9 included:
* PIA Airbus A320 registration AP-BLU Karachi to Islamabad flight PK308 flying at an altitude of around 36,975 feet.
* flydubai Boeing 737 MAX 8 registration A6-FMI Sialkot to Dubai flight FZ338 flying at an altitude of 35,000 feet.
* PIA Airbus A320 registration AP-BMX Lahore to Karachi flight PK305 flying at an altitude of around 33,950 feet.

I have never seen people spin the worst things about their country and/or the stats as a positive the way Indians do. They can literally make anything look like a good thing for India.

Pakistan is contemplating different options in case India refuses to agree on a joint probe into a missile fiasco that could have triggered an accidental war between the two nuclear-armed neighbours.

“We are still waiting for the Indian response,” a senior Pakistani official told The Express Tribune on Monday when approached to confirm if New Delhi had responded to Pakistan’s demand.

Islamabad has rejected India’s “simplistic” explanation over “accidental” firing of a missile into Pakistan and sought a joint probe to establish the facts surrounding the incident. New Delhi admitted that a missile fired accidentally due to routine maintenance and ordered a court of inquiry.

But Islamabad termed the unilateral inquiry insufficient while seeking answers to a list of questions shared with New Delhi.

Although no formal response has been received yet by Pakistan, indications are that India is highly unlikely to accept the joint probe. Some Indian news reports quoting anonymous officials as saying that a joint probe was not possible and Pakistan should move forward as “good neighbour”.

But Pakistani officials say this is not an ordinary issue to be brushed aside like that. “We are looking at various options in case India refuses to agree on a joint probe,” the official added, though he did not divulge those options.

The official said Pakistan has been in touch with relevant countries and has already briefed the permanent members of the UN Security Council about the gravity of the situation.

In a telephonic conversation, Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi on Tuesday briefed German counterpart Annalena Baerbock regarding violation of Pakistan’s airspace by an Indian missile on March 9.

The foreign minister said that India had regretted what it called “accidental” firing of the missile; however, such a serious matter could not be addressed with the simplistic explanation proffered by the Indian authorities.

He added that Pakistan had called for a joint probe in the incident and was also calling upon the international community to take serious notice of this incident of grave nature in a nuclearised environment and play its due role in upholding and promoting strategic stability in the region.

Foreign Minister Annalena appreciated Qureshi for sharing perspective on bilateral and regional issues and said that she looked forward to continue these discussions.

The official sources conceded that the muted response received from the international community particularly from the powerful western states over the Indian mistake could have threatened regional security.

Many commentators both in India as well as in the US believe that had such a mistake been committed by Pakistan the reaction from the international community would have certainly been different.

But it is evident that these countries, which are otherwise very vocal about safety and security of strategic and nuclear weapons, are simply playing down the incident.

Nevertheless, the official said Pakistan would continue its efforts as it is planning to take the issue to the United Nations.

“This issue cannot be taken lightly. Pakistan and India are both nuclear powers and any misunderstanding could have disastrous consequences for the region and beyond,” the official cautioned.

Many people were surprised by Pakistan’s mature response to the firing of an Indian missile despite strained relationship between the two countries.

One possible reason for this mature handling of the issue is attributed to the better channels of communication between the two militaries.

Although two neighbours have no structured dialogue process, the defence establishments maintain contact with each other through relevant official channels.

It was because of this reason that despite tense ties, the ceasefire along the Line of Control (LoC) has been holding since February 2020 when the two countries renewed their commitment to the 2003 truce understanding.

Express Tribune

Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi on Monday held a telephone call with his German counterpart Annalena Baerbock and conveyed to her that Islamabad had urged the international community to take serious notice of the "accidental" firing of a missile by India inside Pakistan last week and play its due role in upholding strategic stability in the region.

According to a statement issued by the Foreign Office (FO), Qureshi informed Baerbock the Indian missile had violated Pakistan's airspace on March 9.

The missile, which was initially identified by Pakistan as an unarmed "high-speed flying object", had travelled 124 kilometres inside Pakistani territory in three minutes and 44 seconds, according to the details shared during a press briefing by Inter-Services Public Relations Director (ISPR) General Maj Gen Babar Iftikhar a day after the incident.

The DG ISPR had told the media on the occasion that the missile was picked up by the Air Defence Operations Centre of the Pakistan Air Force while it was inside the Indian territory.

"From its initial course, the object suddenly manoeuvred towards Pakistani territory and violated Pakistan's air space, ultimately falling near Mian Channu at 6:50pm" on March, he had said, and called for an explanation from India.

A day later, India had confirmed that a missile was launched inside Pakistan, albeit "accidentally". It had attributed the incident to a "technical malfunction" — an explanation that Islamabad finds too "simplistic" and resultantly, urging for a joint probe of the matter.

In the phone call with Baerbock today, Qureshi reiterated this stance of Pakistan, saying that such a serious matter could not be addressed with the simplistic explanation proffered by the Indian authorities.

He said Pakistan had called for a joint probe of the incident, as well as urged the international community to take note of this incident of "grave nature in a nuclearised environment".

FM Qureshi further stressed the need for the international community to "play its due role in upholding and promoting strategic stability in the region", the FO statement said.

Ukraine situation
With regards to the ongoing situation in Ukraine, Qureshi told Baerbock "it was a grave moment in Europe’s history".

He also informed Baerbock of Prime Minister Imran Khan's conversation with European Council chief Charles Michel, and his own phone calls with foreign ministers of Ukraine, Poland, Romania, Hungary and Russia, as well as with European Union High Representative Josep Borrell.

He said that Pakistan had stressed the importance of cessation of hostilities, establishment and maintenance of humanitarian corridors, provision of humanitarian assistance and continuous efforts for a solution through dialogue and diplomacy.

Bilateral ties
The two foreign ministers also exchanged views on bilateral ties between Germany and Pakistan, with FM Qureshi underscoring the "high value" Islamabad attached to its ties with Berlin.

He said Pakistan was determined to further deepen its collaboration with Germany across all areas of mutual benefit, and that he looked forward to receiving Baerbock in Islamabad in April to continue their discussions.

For her part, Baerbock appreciated Qureshi for sharing Pakistan's perspective on bilateral and regional issues and said she, too, looked forward to continuing these discussions, according to the FO.

This was the second phone conversation between the two foreign ministers in a month who agreed to remain in touch.

DAWN

Pakistan on Tuesday urged the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) to press India for conducting a joint probe into the March 9 missile fiasco and rejected New Dehli's move to hold an internal 'inquiry'.

The Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi urged the body in a letter written to UNSC President for March Ambassador Lana Zaki Nusseibeh (UAE), and Secretary-General Antonio Guterres.

On March 11, India admitted that it accidentally fired a missile into Pakistan and ordered a high-level court of inquiry into the incident that could have led to a major disaster or misunderstanding between the two nuclear-armed neighbours.

"On March 9, 2022, in the course of routine maintenance, a technical malfunction led to the accidental firing of a missile," read a statement issued by the Indian defence ministry in New Delhi.

"The Government of India has taken a serious view and ordered a high-level Court of Enquiry," it further said.

In the letter, the FM said that “such a serious matter cannot be addressed with the simplistic explanation proffered by the Indian authorities".

The FM further shared Pakistan’s concerns and demands about the violation of Pakistani airspace by India’s “super-sonic missile”.

"Pakistan strongly condemns this blatant violation of its airspace in contravention of international aviation safety protocols," the letter stated. "Such irresponsible incidents are also reflective of India’s disregard for air safety and callous approach towards regional peace and stability.”

“This missile incident is consistent with India’s irresponsible conduct and deserves to be addressed by the international community and especially the Security Council, with the sense of alarm and urgency which it deserves,” FM Qureshi further wrote in the letter.

Qureshi's letter is also being circulated as an official document of the 15-member Council under two agenda items, “The responsibility of the Security Council in the maintenance of international peace and security” and “The India-Pakistan Question.”

The foreign minister further stated that the Indian missile not only caused damage to civilian property but also put at risk human lives on the ground in Pakistan. He added that it could have resulted in a massive accident causing civilian casualties.

“Given the short distances and response times in the Pakistan-India theatre, any misinterpretation by either side of each other’s military actions could lead to responses with grave consequences for the region and indeed for the whole world, especially in a nuclearized environment,” the Qureshi said.

Read More: Pakistan seeks answer from India after 'supersonic missile' crashes near Mian Chunnu

In the letter, the country's top diplomat also drew the world’s attention to India’s "persistent aggressive and irresponsible" actions, its massive arms build-up as well as its offensive military doctrines and force postures which pose an ever-present threat to peace, security and stability in South Asia.

Noting the press statement issued by the Indian Press Information Bureau’s Defence Wing regretting the “accidental firing” of the missile into Pakistani territory due to “technical malfunction” and the decision to hold an internal Court of Inquiry, the foreign minister called on India to explain the measures and procedures in place to prevent accidental missile launches and the particular circumstances of this incident; the type and specifications of the missile that fell in Pakistani territory, and the flight path/trajectory of the accidentally launched missile and how it ultimately turned and entered into Pakistan.

Qureshi further asked whether the missile was equipped with a self-destruct mechanism, why did it fail to actualise and whether Indian missiles were kept primed for launch even under routine maintenance.

Furthermore, the foreign minister asked, “why did India fail to inform Pakistan immediately about the accidental launch of the missile and waited to acknowledge it until Pakistan announced the incident and sought clarification"?

“Given the profound level of incompetence, India needs to explain if the missile was indeed handled by its armed forces or some rogue elements?” the FM stated.

FM Qureshi's letter also reaffirmed Pakistan’s desire for peaceful relations with all its neighbours, including India.

"Pakistan’s desire for peace is accompanied by a strong resolve and capability for self-defence, which will be exercised in accordance with the rights under the UN Charter," he said.

The United States said on Monday it had "no indication" that India's missile launch into Pakistan last week was "anything other than an accident".

US State Department Spokesperson Ned Price made the remarks while responding to a question about the incident, advising the journalist to reach out to the Indian Defence Ministry for a follow-up.

"We have no indication, as you also heard from our Indian partners, that this incident was anything other than an accident. We refer you, of course, to the Indian Ministry of Defence for any follow-up. They issued a statement on March 9 to explain precisely what had happened. We don't have a comment beyond that," Price said in a press briefing.

India had actually issued a statement on March 11, a day after Pakistan's military highlighted the issue in a press conference and two days after the actual launch of the missile.

Referring to the arrest of seven people suspected to be part of a national gang involved in illegal uranium trade in India in June last year, the journalist then asked Price whether the US had ever raised concerns with India after the incident or talked about it in diplomatic conversations.

The US State Department spokesperson responded, "I'm not familiar with that particular incident. What I would say is that nuclear safety around the world, especially in countries — nuclear-armed countries, it is always a conversation that is ongoing."

'High-speed flying object' falls in Mian Channu
Last week, Director General of the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) Maj Gen Babar Iftikhar had shared details of an Indian "high-speed flying object" that fell in Mian Channu, Khanewal district.

"On March 9, at 6:43pm, a high-speed flying object was picked up inside the Indian territory by Air Defence Operations Centre of the Pakistan Air Force (PAF). From its initial course, the object suddenly manoeuvred towards Pakistani territory and violated Pakistan's air space, ultimately falling near Mian Channu at 6:50pm," he disclosed.

"When it fell, it damaged civilian properties," he said, adding no loss of life was reported.

Air Vice Marshall Tariq Zia, who addressed the press conference alongside the DG ISPR, told the media that at the time the projectile was picked up, there were two airway routes active and several commercial airlines were in the area.

"If you look at the speed and height of the projectile, it was 40,000 feet high, and the airlines were between 35,000 to 42,000 feet. This could have been very detrimental to the safety of passengers."

The projectile travelled 124 kilometres inside Pakistani territory in three minutes and 44 seconds, he added.

India regrets 'accident'
A day later, the Indian Defence Ministry had issued a statement, regretting that a missile "accidentally" entered Pakistan and attributed the incident to a "technical malfunction".

"The government has taken a serious view and ordered a high-level court of enquiry," the statement added.

Pakistan also proposed to New Delhi a joint probe into the incident to establish facts since the missile had landed into Pakistani territory.

The Foreign Office (FO) also asked why India failed to inform Pakistan immediately about the "accidental launch" of the missile and raised questions regarding the Indian safeguards against such happenings.

The FO believes "many loo*pholes and technical lap*ses" in Indian handling of strategic weapons led to the incident.

Earlier today, the Indian defence minister said the country is conducting a review of its standing operating procedures for operations, maintenance and inspection of weapons systems.

"We attach the highest priority to the safety and security of our weapon systems. If any shortcoming is found, it would be immediately rectified," Rajnath Singh told parliament.

So after LoL'ing Ashok Swain you share this work of bollywoodisque drivel...

If the missile even had a 200kg conventional warhead, the damage would have been massive with loss of life. Majority of the missile body was recover fairly intact in a single crater that would not have happened if it had a warhead. This story is reminiscent of another tall tale spun by the indians post balakot ... Our Spice Bums are shoopadoopa special they go through the windows of the building and kill 300 people without damaging the buildings...

Trust the indians to spin an act of incompetence at best into some sort of precision strike on bum factory.

While they were doing this, there were 3 airliners in the area directly in the flight path. The missile could have easily hit any of them.

View attachment 115294

Commercial passenger flights near the flight path of Indian missile in Pakistan air space around 6:48 PM (Pakistan Standard Time) on March 9 included:
* PIA Airbus A320 registration AP-BLU Karachi to Islamabad flight PK308 flying at an altitude of around 36,975 feet.
* flydubai Boeing 737 MAX 8 registration A6-FMI Sialkot to Dubai flight FZ338 flying at an altitude of 35,000 feet.
* PIA Airbus A320 registration AP-BMX Lahore to Karachi flight PK305 flying at an altitude of around 33,950 feet.

Ermm what exactly is your point ?

So Ashok Swain should be the trusted source and everything else the Indian posters put up is false propaganda ? Is that what you are saying ?

You clearly havent read my post were I stated that I could be wrong and the missile might have very well mal functioned.

Indians and Pakistanis both a bunch of cry babies:: No my opinion is right no your opinion is wrong, blah blah blah arguments...

Pakistan’s top military brass on Tuesday urged the relevant international forums to take a serious view of the “accidental firing” of a missile by India despite New Delhi’s public admission that it was a “mistake.”

The corps commanders, who met in Rawalpindi at the General Headquarters, warned that such dangerous incidents could “act as a trigger and seriously endanger regional peace and strategic stability”, according to military’s media wing, the ISPR.

The unarmed missile fired accidently by India on March 9 travelled 124 km inside Pakistani territory and fell in Mian Channu, damaging local properties.

India took 48 hours to confirm the mistake and only after Pakistan went public with all the details about the missile landing on its side.

Pakistan has sought a joint probe into the missile fiasco that could have led to a major disaster between the two countries.

Presided over by army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa, the corps commanders were given a comprehensive briefing on important global and regional developments, internal security situation in the country and progress on ‘Western Border Management Regime’.

The forum reviewed with concern, the recent incident of missile firing, claimed as accidental by India, which could have resulted in a major disaster, read a statement issued by the ISPR.

It was emphasised that despite Indian acknowledgment of the mistake, relevant international forums must take a serious view of the incident and subject the safety and security protocols of Indian strategic assets to deliberate oversight. “Such dangerous incidents can act as trigger and seriously endanger regional peace and strategic stability.”

The COAS lauded successful ongoing counter-terrorism operations, according to the military’s media wing. The forum expressed resolve to take all requisite measures to ensure security of the country. COAS directed that comprehensive security measures be ensured for peaceful conduct of OIC Council of Foreign Ministers meeting and Pakistan Day Parade. Gen Qamar also appreciated operational preparedness of the formations and emphasised on mission oriented training.

The reference to security for the upcoming OIC foreign ministers conference in Islamabad and Pakistan Day Parade is linked to the current political stalemate between the government and opposition parties.

Both sides have announced their separate public rallies in Islamabad against the backdrop of a pending no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan.

The ruling PTI is scheduled to hold what it is termed a “biggest ever public gathering in Islamabad” on March 27. The opposition parties have also announced their plans to start a long march towards the capital on March 23.

The opposition is planning to stage a sit-in till the voting on a no-confidence move in the National Assembly, threatening a potential clash with a PTI gathering being planned at famous D-Chowk.

The army chief’s insistence on ensuring fool proof security for the OIC foreign ministers conference and Pakistan Day Parade suggested that the country’s leadership might be in touch with all the stakeholders on the subject.

The head of PML-Q Chauhdry Shujaat Hussain, earlier in the day, urged the PTI to call off the planned rally saying the government of the day should not get involved in street politics. But the government is adamant that it will go ahead with the rally as planned.

A number of foreign ministers from the 57-nation OIC are expected to attend the conference. This is the second meeting of OIC foreign ministers taking place in Islamabad in the space of three months. The last one though was extraordinary session meant to discuss the Afghan humanitarian situation but the upcoming conference is a regular one that Pakistan is set to host on its turn after a gap of 15 years.

The event is taking place at a time when the political tensions are running high with the current government facing an uncertain future.

Express Tribune