Pakistan Super League 2020 - Broadcast, Production and Commentary Thread

It's just an act of over exaggeration like Danny Morrison. They're all in on it for fun.

Fakhar-e-Alam isn't some clown. Read up about him.

I know about him. Ofcourse they're doing it for fun. But they're over doing it. I know we should be happy PSL is in Pakistan, I am personally delighted. I watch every game I can. But if things can be improved they should. I am glad pretty much everyone is pointing this out. Slater is pretty good but the rest are very on and off.

The production quality is good, infact very good, I can understand the problem viewers in Pakistan are facing, but that really isn't PCBs fault, niether is it their fault that which channel (SD or HD) is broadcasting the league in UK or anywhere else as many posters have pointed out that PCB doesn't sell broadcast rights to individual TV channels.

Real problem is commentary panel, it's terrible, except Slats and Butcher, the others are doing an awful job, they should realise they are in no way commentators and should simply quit, they are torture for the ears.

The most awful one is Bazid, he was actually Pakistan's best commie a year or 18 months back, because he was the only guy who had abundant knowledge about the Pakistan domestics and all the new players who were coming through, rather than just saying this youngster reminds me of my childhood days. But he's been full of cringe especially since SL series, he's basically doing everything wrong. Danny, btw is decent considering it's a T20 league.

Fakhr e Alam is actually doing great wrt to those on-field interviews, he's getting phainti for no reason, guy is 100x better than Urooj and Zainab, who are extremely terrible with on-field ints and other stuff.

Worst part is the presentation ceremonies, both Bazid and Ramiz mess it up every time, in each and every game, including during the Toss, should get someone else to do it and get some translator if there's a problem for some captains understanding the questions asked.

Waqar Younis : Dont think they can win from here...

90 off 20 needed
1 wicket left

Bazid making a total fool himself at today's post-match presentation.

Errors galore, incorrect names and then he realised he forgot to announce the cheque for the Pakistani sports personality.

Bazid making a total fool himself at today's post-match presentation.

Errors galore, incorrect names and then he realised he forgot to announce the cheque for the Pakistani sports personality.

Careful. If we point out mistakes people will call us wrist slitters. :)

Bazid Khan is the biggest clown out there with his lame jokes.

Bazid Khan" (Samit Patel) got the big turn because of the pink cap. "He wanna keep that cap on"

What the idiot forget is that Samit did not have cap on when he bowled. LOL

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Great to have <a href="https://twitter.com/AzharAli_?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AzharAli_</a> in our <a href="https://twitter.com/thePSLt20?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@thePSLt20</a> commentary team! Welcome Captain! &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; <a href="https://t.co/VXMlUK9PF1">pic.twitter.com/VXMlUK9PF1</a></p>— Alan Wilkins (@alanwilkins22) <a href="https://twitter.com/alanwilkins22/status/1236601609850884097?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 8, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Great to have <a href="https://twitter.com/AzharAli_?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AzharAli_</a> in our <a href="https://twitter.com/thePSLt20?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@thePSLt20</a> commentary team! Welcome Captain! ���� <a href="https://t.co/VXMlUK9PF1">pic.twitter.com/VXMlUK9PF1</a></p>— Alan Wilkins (@alanwilkins22) <a href="https://twitter.com/alanwilkins22/status/1236601609850884097?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 8, 2020</a></blockquote>

Finally, sensible commentary makes a return to the PSL. About time.

Urooj is actually very good at analysis stuff, gets a bit too much excited while doing live commentary. Azhar and Urooj swap is actually very good.

Waqar younis calling Sohail Akhtar Anari during KK vs LQ game:yuvi

Sohail scored 68*on 46 balls:pfft

Bazid Khan is the biggest clown out there with his lame jokes.

He'd be better-served sticking to serious stuff and just sticking to some technical stuff. Instead he tried to be funny, but he's about as funny as a knee in the groin.

Azhar Ali actually provides some solid insight and analysis but his voice just puts me to sleep

He'd be better-served sticking to serious stuff and just sticking to some technical stuff. Instead he tried to be funny, but he's about as funny as a knee in the groin.

its soo cringy when he gets over excited
just dont like his voice at all.. not even in test match

its soo cringy when he gets over excited
just dont like his voice at all.. not even in test match

It doesn't come natural to him so he should avoid it.

If you watch the likes of Mike Atherton, he knows that his strength is technical knowledge, tactical awareness and knowledge about players and that's what he sticks to. He doesn't bother with cheesy gimmicks and trying to be funny.

Seems Atherton in Lahore.

ES1H79bWAAEyYxE

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Great to see Mike Atherton in Pakistan as part of the Sky Sports team who are making a documentary called Cornered Tiger - the return of cricket to Pakistan, which will be shown this summer <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1237808946603274241?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 11, 2020</a></blockquote>

Should have invited Atherton to commentate on the remaining PSL games

When you are enjoying the match and suddenly Zainab Abbas appears with a mike and some unknown female calling them masculine term, hero. This forced feminazism only irritates. These initiatives should be done during Pak womens match. This segment has been really frustrating as viewer and they do in the last 5-8 overs when viewers are expecting some hitting. They need to do this at timeout.

SC rejects petition challenging PCB’s media rights agreement

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court on Monday upheld its registrar’s decision to reject a petition challenging the Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) Feb 11, 2019, live streaming media rights agreement which allegedly conditionally allowed betting and gambling in the HBL-Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020 events.

Justice Mushir Alam, during a chamber hearing, suggested to the petitioner, who happens to be a former member of the Pakistan Cricket Board as well as a journalist, to approach the Islamabad High Court for the redressal of his grievance.

The petitioner was represented through his counsel Muhammad Asad Rajput.

Earlier, the registrar’s office returned the petition on the grounds that the petitioner had directly approached the Supreme Court without exhausting the remedy at the courts below the apex court.

Subsequently, the petitioner instituted an appeal against the registrar’s decision was taken up by Justice Mushir Alam in the chamber.

The petitioner told Dawn that he was considering moving a review petition before the Supreme Court as well as filing a proper petition in the high court.

The petition requested the Supreme Court to declare as illegal the Feb 11, 2019 agreement on the live streaming media rights during the HBL-PSL events which commenced from Feb 21 and had to be closed on March 15, 2020, but the premier T20, which had entered the knockout stage, had to be suspended due to the global Covid-19 pandemic.

The agreement, the petition alleged, was executed by the PCB, a governing body for cricket in Pakistan and responsible for the promotion and expansion of the game through its associate and affiliated members across the country.

It was reported in the media that the PCB had given the streaming rights to a company, which then signed a deal with a foreign betting company for the competition. Allegedly, clause 4.4 (b) of the contract included conditional permission for promotion, sponsorship and advertising of gambling, betting and prediction games in countries where it was legally allowed.

The petition contended that PCB’s responsibilities inclu*ded management of the game at the highest level and organisation of different domestic tournaments at the national level.

The detailed objects, powers and functions of the PCB are enumerated in Article 4 of the 2019 constitution of the board framed under the powers vested by virtue of Section 5 of the Sports (Development and Control) Ordinance, 1962.

One of the functions of the PCB under Article 4(iv) of board’s constitution is to make regulations for anti-corruption which has been formulated and promulgated by the PCB in the name of Anti-Corruption Code with effect from July 28, 2017.

The code prohibits betting; besides, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has also promulgated anti-corruption code as well as code of ethics prohibiting betting on matches.

The petition contended that the live streaming media rights agreement was unlawful and void by virtue of sections 23 and 24 of the Contract Act, 1872, since it was not validly approved by the PCB’s Board of Governors.

The petition regretted that during the PSL events the betting remained available on internet on different websites when it was the fundamental rights of the people to enjoy clean and corruption-free sports events in the country.

When the news about reported gambling and betting was highlighted by the media, the petitioner said, the PCB had issued a press release on March 23 to deny obliquely betting, but no concrete steps were taken to stop the crime.

Likewise, the member Board of Governors and chairman of the PCB’s audit committee also did not conduct pre-audit of the agreement and, therefore, the respondent, the petition said, had willfully violated the constitution and laws, thus infringing the rights of the people to enjoy clean environment of sports.

The petition highlighted that the sports, which specifically and distinctly included cricket, were regulated by the Ordinance 1962. Section of the Ordinance asks for promoting and developing uniform standards of competitions in sports in Pakistan comparable to the standards prevailing internationally, besides regulating and controlling sports in the country on a national basis by notification in the official gazette.

In addition to cricketing laws, the constitution also prohibits all forms of gambling for which Prevention of Gambling Act, 1977, has been promulgated at the federal level, and Prevention of Gambling Ordinance, 1978, at the provincial level.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1578471/sc-rejects-petition-challenging-pcbs-media-rights-agreement

Any update on broadcast for the PSL playoff games?

I am not seeing anything in Sling/Willow schedule yet. Will they be broadcast in PCB youtube channel?

Any update on broadcast for the PSL playoff games?

I am not seeing anything in Sling/Willow schedule yet. Will they be broadcast in PCB youtube channel?

Pakistan: Ptv Sports, Geo Super
UK/Europe: Hum Masala
USA: Willow
Africa: Super Sports
India: Eurosport
Further update coming soon

Surely us in the UK will get better options..the production is in HD and i know for a fact HUM Masala is not even SD they had a square box of a coverage not even widescreen early this year....

Pakistan: Ptv Sports, Geo Super
UK/Europe: Hum Masala
USA: Willow
Africa: Super Sports
India: Eurosport
Further update coming soon

Did you get this from some official/recent source? Sling and willow are not showing the games on their schedule as of now.
Also previously cricket gateway was live stream partner which seems to have gone out of business as their site doesn't come up anymore.
Personally I am hoping its shown on pcb youtube as that is easy to follow and free.

Surely us in the UK will get better options..the production is in HD and i know for a fact HUM Masala is not even SD they had a square box of a coverage not even widescreen early this year....

I can’t believe Hum demoted PSL onto the Masala Channel. It’s a joke as on Virgin you have to even use the red button to access their SD quality. What happened to the initial seasons being shown on 2-3 channels at least. I don’t get how the Lanka Premier League in its first season strike a deal with Sky Cricket yet PSL even in its 6th edition is languishing around a channel like Hum Masala 🤣

I can’t believe Hum demoted PSL onto the Masala Channel. It’s a joke as on Virgin you have to even use the red button to access their SD quality. What happened to the initial seasons being shown on 2-3 channels at least. I don’t get how the Lanka Premier League in its first season strike a deal with Sky Cricket yet PSL even in its 6th edition is languishing around a channel like Hum Masala &#55358;&#56611;

Hum TV never showed the PSL as it was always being shown on their Hum Masala channel in UK.

Well it has not happened in all these years (apart from Sky Sports) don't know if it ever will and if any proper sports channel will get launched in HD to show these in that quality.

Honestly disgraceful that the production quality of Pakistan games is so backwards in 2020.

Also I will not rest till the likes of Ramiz Raja are removed from Pakistani games. He is awful. I cant get over how pathetic the commentators were in the Zim series.

They need fluent English speakers. I don't get where this push for female commentators is coming from. Get some proper people in please.

No bro
I'm using TATA sky
no.496 Eurosport SD
no. 495 Eurosport HD
i watch moto Gp and Boxing sometimes there and the quality is Top notch
now im not sure About PSL i mean it will depend on how Pcb team will produce it right?

Yes

Last time I watched poor quality PSL in Eurosport.
This time I will check in HD channel.

For those in the UK, it's on Hum Masala.

Be prepared for awful tv studio coverage and commentary though :(

So as per PSL official Insta post and tweets, it was supposed to LIVE on YouTube for people outside Pakistan and yet there is nothing on YouTube. Pathetic to say the least.

The lady commentator, Urooj? really needs to be told that she doesn't have to keep on taking and talking and talking and talking after every single ball. Most of what she says is nonsensical and of no value at all.

Really poor commentator.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Are these little commercials between commentary annoying or is it just me ?</p>— Wasim Akram (@wasimakramlive) <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive/status/1328000162472529921?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I remember hearing Ramiz once say that Hafeez is good at playing spin.

Why is he saying he's awful today?

The television product needs a total revamp:

The pre-match studio stuff
The commentary lineup
The post match stuff

It's amateur, it's poor, it's unprofessional.

It's bloody awful.

The commentary lineup
The post match stuff

It's bloody awful.

Not that bad
You are blowing things out of proportion
Itna bura bhi nahi hai

Not that bad
You are blowing things out of proportion
Itna bura bhi nahi hai

The problem is some are happy with mediocrity and things will not improve if mediocrity is accepted.

The commentary lineup
The post match stuff

It's bloody awful.

You don't like Cork and Butcher commentary?

The commentary lineup
The post match stuff

It's bloody awful.

It isn’t bad actually. Cork is nice to hear.

And streaming on YouTube is pretty decent as well.

Actually think the commentary is at par if not better than what was served up at the IPL recently. Butcher is superb, whereas Cork and Rhodes are not that bad. The problems as ever are Bazid and Ramiz.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Are these little commercials between commentary annoying or is it just me ?</p>— Wasim Akram (@wasimakramlive) <a href="https://twitter.com/wasimakramlive/status/1328000162472529921?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Wasim needs to get on YouTube lol.

Actually think the commentary is at par if not better than what was served up at the IPL recently. Butcher is superb, whereas Cork and Rhodes are not that bad. The problems as ever are Bazid and Ramiz.

Bazid is definitely the worst out of all of them. Painful to listen to. The way he talks and pronounces things, and the way he starts shouting and talking really loud to show excitement. His attempts at humor are often cringeworthy. I'd take Ridiculous Ramiz over him. He talks nonsense but its easier on the ears and sometimes so absurd that it's funny.

Bazid has spent too much time with butcher and cork, where as the Englishmen can get away with their dry sense of humour and almost dad like jokes playfully, it’s almost always cringeworthy when bazid tries to replicate it, and the unnecessary shouting when trying to convey excitement needs to go.

I hate the cringy Tapal Danedaar empty plastic cups being force upon commentators pretending to be full of tea. And Oppo selfie moments too :)

I was tired of listening to Simon Doul...the dullest commentator out there in world cricket.

Bishop can be epic, he would be a great addition to the PSL commentary team.

I couldnt care less about who the commentators are, none of them are particularly good or bad. Also Is it my eye sight or the quality of the lights poor. Maybe they need some lights on the stadium roofs to improve the quality for the viewers at home.

I was tired of listening to Simon Doul...the dullest commentator out there in world cricket.

Bishop can be epic, he would be a great addition to the PSL commentary team.

Bishop overreacts and dramatizes things a notch more than they are. Wouldn’t suit the lighthearted commentary box in PSL imo. Nasser Hussain though would be fantastic

People underestimate Bazid. He gets on very well with all of the western commentators, really does his best to keep them humoured as well.

The best thing about this production team now is that the Queen Sana Mir is there in the experts studio. This lady has no chill when she is expressing her views! The Stone Cold Steve Austin of Pakistani commentary team!

I actually don’t think the commentary was that bad. Also not understanding the hate for Urooj she’s pretty decent

Bishop overreacts and dramatizes things a notch more than they are. Wouldn’t suit the lighthearted commentary box in PSL imo. Nasser Hussain though would be fantastic

I liked corky and bazid duo bit of of fun for sure

People underestimate Bazid. He gets on very well with all of the western commentators, really does his best to keep them humoured as well.

The best thing about this production team now is that the Queen Sana Mir is there in the experts studio. This lady has no chill when she is expressing her views! The Stone Cold Steve Austin of Pakistani commentary team!

I actually don’t think the commentary was that bad. Also not understanding the hate for Urooj she’s pretty decent

Agreed with all of these.

I'm not sure what the fuss about the commentary is here. The production is very good quality and very few mistakes if any are made there. The spider cam and drone are good while DRS works as well with good slow-motion cameras and nice graphics for the most part.

Bazid has dry self-deprecating humor which takes time to adjust to but is enjoyable once you get used to it. Cork is fun and mild. Butcher and Johnty are doing their bit. Urooj kinda keeps the entire team on their toes and she's decent while Rambo is what he always has been.

It's fun cricket that doesn't require 21 camera angles to dissect technical aspects after each ball and this team understands that and keeps it simple. Yes, there is room for improvement and the gimmicks need to be done away with or be managed in a better way but the more the sponsors, the better it is anyway.

It's an ok/good product that doesn't take itself too seriously and with it being literally free-to-air, there's not much more that we should ask for or complain unnecessarily.

the whole team is fairly average, but its t20 league cricket, i dont watch enough to know what other country league standards are but i doubt ppl are really watching for the commentary. also globally apart from england most countries have pretty average commentators these days.

I didn’t like Bishop at all

I like Bishop, he's one of the good guys.

It's Nicholas, Morrison, Doull, Mbangwa, Slater, and Pietersen that I found to be atrocious at the IPL. I reckon both Cork and Rhodes are no worse than any of them, while Butcher is almost as good as Hussain and Atherton.