Pakistan v India | 3rd Test | Bangalore | Day 5 | 12/12/07

jusarrived said:
you don understand yaar....the series win dosen matter here....wat matters is moral victories thts 2-1 to pakistan & the fact the india will be trashed in australia.. :P

Ohhhh !!!.
Well You enjoy your 2-1 then .
I am better off with my 1-0.

jusarrived said:
you don understand yaar....the series win dosen matter here....wat matters is moral victories thts 2-1 to pakistan & the fact the india will be trashed in australia.. :P

Didn't realise how juvenile some of our Indian posters are on the forum. Guess the above statement sums it up perfectly.

Salman89 said:
BREAKING NEWS******

Shoaib and Danish have apparently held entire Pakistani team including staff hostage!!!!
The duo took an early day off thinking that they would not be needed for the remainder of the test match. But with Pakistan stumbling at 162/7, Lawson tried to call the duo to come back. After countless missed calls the duo finally picked up and were told of the situation. The duo rushed back to the stadium to witness the batsmen going off because of bad light. This didn't sit well with the two bowlers saying that they had left other important things to come back to the match. Umpires received a call about ten minutes ago from Shoaib demanding something about Shahrukhs new movie and french fries or else he will hit the team with his bat. More to follow.

Hilarious.

agar india ne accept ki hoti light while batting then most of you have said "indians are loosers".Ab apne baare mein kya khayal hai.:P

They are understandably excitable - its taken india 27 years to beat this team at home ...

I think he timed his declaration well. When you look at Kumble's bowling in the first innings you might think Pakistan will even get those runs. He changed his bowling style something nobody expected.

well pathetic performance by pak as usual. Great performance by Karnataka Express.
Very well played and deserving winner of the series. Pak played well in patches and they basically lost the match once they can't bowled out india cheap in first innings.

jusarrived said:

When India was in a similar position against England where rain intervened, it was because of a very good innings by Dhoni. And in return, PPers commented on how "lucky" we were.

What do they say now ?? ;-) Bad light has just saved them from a major embarassment. Just imagine if light didnt interrupt :)))

Wiped out in 2 sessions ??
Cleaned up by a man on whom they make 100's of threads as to how he gets his wickets ??
A batting line up missing no key players due to injuries fails ??

But all said and done, I do give them the moral victory in this match as well.

jackal786 said:
I think he timed his declaration well. When you look at Kumble's bowling in the first innings you might think Pakistan will even get those runs. He changed his bowling style something nobody expected.

Kumble's bowling on a first innings wicket can't really be compared to a final day wicket littered with gaping cracks.

daily_dreamer said:
This isn't about Pakistan. Without doubt India are a superior side to Pakistan at the moment but for them the Australian series has been at the forefront of their minds. Aggressive captaincy would have been a perfect launching pad for the Aus tour.

As a Pakistani I would have welcomed a 2-0 defeat rather than a 1-0 defeat ONLY IF it forced our cricket board to reassess the weak system that we have in place. As clearly a defeat to Ireland in the WC wasn't sufficient.

ist india vs pak..2-0 wud have been good , but I will take 1-0 considering wat happened in 2005.....don forget its kumble's first series as captain , he had to make sure he this one in the bag b4 taking any risks......don expect him to take the same approach against aus ,different oppositions require different approach........this indian team is more than capable of beting the 0z's !

daily_dreamer said:
This isn't about Pakistan. Without doubt India are a superior side to Pakistan at the moment but for them the Australian series has been at the forefront of their minds. Aggressive captaincy would have been a perfect launching pad for the Aus tour.

As a Pakistani I would have welcomed a 2-0 defeat rather than a 1-0 defeat ONLY IF it forced our cricket board to reassess the weak system that we have in place. As clearly a defeat to Ireland in the WC wasn't sufficient.

its india vs pak..2-0 wud have been good , but I will take 1-0 considering wat happened in 2005.....don forget its kumble's first series as captain , he had to make sure he this one in the bag b4 taking any risks......don expect him to take the same approach against aus ,different oppositions require different approach........this indian team is more than capable of beting the 0z's !

invincible said:

When India was in a similar position against England where rain intervened, it was because of a very good innings by Dhoni. And in return, PPers commented on how "lucky" we were.

What do they say now ?? ;-) Bad light has just saved them from a major embarassment. Just imagine if light didnt interrupt :)))

Cleaned up by a man on whom they make 100's of threads as to how he gets his wickets ??

Who is asking for a moral victory? This is not the consensus of opinion on this forum. So why don't you stop fabricating for the purposes of gloating?

invincible said:

Really good post.What goes around comes around. :19:

daily_dreamer said:
Kumble's bowling on a first innings wicket can't really be compared to a final day wicket littered with gaping cracks.

No man. Kumble bowled something i have never seen him bowling. He didn't bowl spin. He bowled seam deliveries. He tried spin. Had he done that in the first innings India would have been much better situation.

1-0 against a team who could barely field 11 players

yes great effort - 27 years of hurt gone eh... hahaha

daily_dreamer said:
Who is asking for a moral victory? This is not the consensus of opinion on this forum. So why don't you stop fabricating for the purposes of gloating?
May be you should check the thread on Kumble which hit 5 pages on the topic of Pak earning the moral victory in 2nd test.

jusarrived said:
its india vs pak..2-0 wud have been good , but I will take 1-0 considering wat happened in 2005.....don forget its kumble's first series as captain , he had to make sure he this one in the bag b4 taking any risks......don expect him to take the same approach against aus ,different oppositions require different approach........this indian team is more than capable of beting the 0z's !

Right on....the better team has won the series....Kumbles first series as captain has gone well.....this team is more than capable to have a good showing against the aussies.....with Yuvraj/Gangs/Lax Middle Order is the best in the world......

any one know what time play can continue until if they come out, is 11:30GMT the cut off time, ie 15mins?

Man oh man the series has nowhere lives up to expectations for us Pakistanis....I just hope we beat Zim

invincible said:
May be you should check the thread on Kumble which hit 5 pages on the topic of Pak earning the moral victory in 2nd test.

I can't find this thread. And in any even how is this the consensus of opinion?

TaZ said:

I can sense a pain in your "hahahaha" But i am enjoying it. :P

david_becks said:

And how does this apply to this test match? How on earth can Pak take a moral victory out of a draw in this match when they needed to win?

How does this compare to achieving a draw in a test to keep the series alive where they effectively had two fully fit bowlers on a wicket where they lost the toss?

TaZ said:
you may not know, but your team won a home series against Inida last year after 23 years :) :)

I don't understand thie 27year logic lol If you have played a test series every year that would have made some sense. They have played just 4 series in between. 3 drawn 1 lost.

daily_dreamer said:
And how does this apply to this test match? How on earth can Pak take a moral victory out of a draw in this match when they needed to win?

How does this compare to achieving a draw in a test to keep the series alive where they effectively had two fully fit bowlers on a wicket where they lost the toss?
I agree.
But ask this question to those who were saying this in that thread. :P

TaZ said:

Boss,
If you don't have 11 players to field, may be it's something wrong with the team only..Which includes ur physio , management ..etc etc..
Cricket is not just about those 11 players on the fields but include ur board, coach , etc..

Not having 11 players really does not sound good yaar..The team management should have a bench of players for such conditions.

Also as about ur 27 yrs fact..
Is there anything other with you guys to say..
:D

4.50pm And there you go. The game has been offically called off and the match is drawn. India have won the series 1-0 and they will take that, although they came close to making it 2-0. This was Anil Kumble's first series as captain and he emerges victorious. India have not beaten Pakistan at home for 27 years and this win will mean a lot to the team as they head out for a tough tour of Australia soon.

Salman89 said:
Right on....the better team has won the series....Kumbles first series as captain has gone well.....this team is more than capable to have a good showing against the aussies.....with Yuvraj/Gangs/Lax Middle Order is the best in the world......

Ponting +Hussey+clarke+Symonds+Gilchrist is the best middle order in the world, especially most suitable for australian pitches.

sachin_da said:
Boss,
If you don't have 11 players to field, may be it's something wrong with the team only..Which includes ur physio , management ..etc etc..
Cricket is not just about those 11 players on the fields but include ur board, coach , etc..

Not having 11 players really does not sound good yaar..The team management should have a bench of players for such conditions.

Also as about ur 27 yrs fact..
Is there anything other with you guys to say..
:D
Wrong they had 3 fit players warming the bench Rao,Sohail,Rehman.
Its bad planning by Pakistani team which now they are using it as an excuse after losing.

well India have won - congrats they were the more consistent team tho unsurprisingly tentative (delaying declarations in the last 2 matches)

Pak have to go back and seriously have a management review of our side from top to bottom in all aspects from fielding, bowling, batting, bench strength to the media side of things.

the way we spoke to the media was *****, every person has his own column in an indian newspaper and says this and that YK being a perfect example. This is not professional and doesnt encourage team spirit.

Our media needs to stop stooping to the indian level of masala news just for the sake of it i.e like the YK captaincy thing which it now turns out was a non-event.

Our cricket mirrors our political society at the moment, no reasoning and the usual suspects always in the mix.

For me it is time to permanently say goodbye to Faisal, Hameed and Sami

def give some long rest to
Kaneria - no dominance against the big boys of cricket
Akmal as a wicketkeeper - his batting is back so can stay as an opener even in tests.

For the future games it is time for the A team players and U-19 ones to be picked and for the spinners role maybe turn back the clock and look at re-selecting Saqlain as our spinner.

at present the main side has an openers slot def available plus some reserve batters, a reserve wicketkeeper, 2-3 pacers as back-up and def 2 spinners slots

Tests v Aus

Butt, ?, YK, MY, MuH, Malik, Akmal/Safraz, Shoaib, Gul, ?/Asif, ?

ODI's
Butt, Malik, YK, MY, MuH, Afridi, Akmal, Gul, ?, Rao/Asif and Tanvir

Sigh - life goes on

for the delhi test, best 11 pak players were available.
pak lost the test.
chill out.

But pakistan have some positives.
Misbah played really well. It will be pleasure to watch his batting now on..