Pakistan v Zimbabwe | 1st ODI | Rawalpindi | 30th October, 2020 | Pre-match Discussion

So what line-up should Pakistan go in with?

Probables as announced by Misbah:

Batsmen - Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah and Mohammad Hafeez

Wicketkeepers - Mohammad Rizwan and Rohail Nazir

Spinners - Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Usman Qadir and Zafar Gohar

Fast bowlers - Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Musa Khan, Shaheen Shah and Wahab Riaz

Pakistan players meeting Zimbabwe counterparts in Pindi today

ElVILjpWMAELA5T

ElVILjpWMAAgGyx

ElVILlXXYAAKrgj

Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Khushdil Shah, and Abdullah Shafique should get their ODI debuts.

Rizwan should play over Rohail.

Zafar Gohar should play over Imad.

Shaheen and Rauf to take the new ball.

Hasnain should be the third pacer over Wahab Riaz.

ODI Playing XI:
1. Imam ul Haq
2. Abdullah Shafique
3. Haider Ali
4. Babar Azam (c)
5. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
6. Shadab Khan (vc)
7. Khushdil Shah
8. Zafar Gohar
9. Haris Rauf
10. Mohammad Hasnain
11. Shaheen Afridi

Barring a collapse, I will demote Babar down the order and let Rizwan, Shadab, and Khushdil bat first.

Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Khushdil Shah, and Abdullah Shafique should get their ODI debuts.

Rizwan should play over Rohail.

Zafar Gohar should play over Imad.

Shaheen and Rauf to take the new ball.

Hasnain should be the third pacer over Wahab Riaz.

ODI Playing XI:
1. Imam ul Haq
2. Abdullah Shafique
3. Haider Ali
4. Babar Azam (c)
5. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
6. Shadab Khan (vc)
7. Khushdil Shah
8. Zafar Gohar
9. Haris Rauf
10. Mohammad Hasnain
11. Shaheen Afridi

Barring a collapse, I will demote Babar down the order and let Rizwan, Shadab, and Khushdil bat first.

Good XI but I personally would go with full strength in the first ODI by including Fakhar, Haris, Imad and probably Wahab as well. After maybe first game taking into account the result and fight which Zim puts up experiments can be done in 2nd, 3rd ODI.

Though I think Shadab and Khusdil should be given oppurtunities throughout the series a bit up the order at around 4,5,6. As we already know the capabilities of Babar, Rizwan and Haris.

1. Abid Ali
2. Abdullah Shafique
3. Haider Ali
4. Babar Azam (c)
5. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
6. Khushdil Shah
7. Shadab Khan (vc)
8. Zafar Gohar
9. Fahim Ashraf
10. Haris Rauf
11. Musa Khan

1. Abid Ali
2. Abdullah Shafique
3. Haider Ali
4. Babar Azam (c)
5. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
6. Khushdil Shah
7. Shadab Khan (vc)
8. Zafar Gohar
9. Fahim Ashraf
10. Haris Rauf
11. Musa Khan

Good combination with deep batting which can allow freedom to batsmen but why Abid Ali over Imam? Imam gives left right combo and is much younger with a pretty good record.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Currently in a fantastic hotel in Islamabad. The <a href="https://twitter.com/TheRealPCB?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@TheRealPCB</a> have been unbelievable with their hospitality, security and extremely welcoming. Been 12 years since I last toured <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#pakistan</a> . Really looking forward to the series. <a href="https://t.co/lzhcFkeCkE">pic.twitter.com/lzhcFkeCkE</a></p>— Brendan Taylor (@BrendanTaylor86) <a href="https://twitter.com/BrendanTaylor86/status/1321109436958691329?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 27, 2020</a></blockquote>

Pakistan should go with

Imaam
Abdullah shafique
Haider ali
Babar
Rizwan
Khushdil
Shadab
Imad
Musa
Haris
Husnain

1. Imam

2. Abdullah

3. Haider

4. Babar

5. Rizwan

6. Khushdil

7. Shadab

8. Zafar Gohar

9. Wahab Riaz

10. Shaheen Afridi

11. Haris Rauf

Good combination with deep batting which can allow freedom to batsmen but why Abid Ali over Imam? Imam gives left right combo and is much younger with a pretty good record.

Imam is well settled in Pak set up. He do not need to play against 14th ranked Zimbabwe team. Abid Ali is absolutely my favourite player. His last ODI match was against Srilanka where he scored one of the most sensational and eye pleasing 70sh runs. I honestly see him replacing Fakhar in the long run.

Pakistan will go with
Imaam
Fakhar
Babar
Haris
Rizwan
Khushdil
Shadab
Imad
Wahab
Shaheen
Rauf

Imam is well settled in Pak set up. He do not need to play against 14th ranked Zimbabwe team. Abid Ali is absolutely my favourite player. His last ODI match was against Srilanka where he scored one of the most sensational and eye pleasing 70sh runs. I honestly see him replacing Fakhar in the long run.

Abid showed his attacking instinct in the national cup didnt he ?

Fakhar
Haider
Babar
Haris/Abdullah
Rizwan
Khushdil
Shadab
Imad/Zafar
Shaheen
Haris Rauf
Hasnain/Musa

Yeah he's actually quite good especially for Asia. Would love to see him in 2023 world cup. I don't care if he will be 35 then, as long as he keeps performing.

He's only good for powerplay he's another Fawad who can't clear the inner circle. The sooner Haider Ali or Abdullah Shafique replaces him the better.

Hm, I don't think so really, he has shown nice stroke play and can pick out gaps. But the competition is always good to have, so having him and Haider compete for a spot is only to the benefit of Pakistan.

I hope he proves me wrong but he was one of the worst bat in the national t20.

Abid and imam scored in bothe intra squad matches i have a feeling they both will play

All of you putting Shadab in your lineup is cute, because he has a leg strain and will be sitting out the 1st game.

That opens the door for qadir or gohar to come in imad will definitely play then

Fakhar does not need to play. He is a known beast against Zimbabwe.

Abid and Iftikhar have good ODI records. Hope they play and fail because they have no future.

Imam and Haris should play as they are not sure starters in Tests or T20Is. This is their main format.

Would be unfair to start Abdullah, Musa or Haider. Neither has noteworthy performances in List A cricket.

Babar should look to bat long. He has 10+ hundreds, but none over 130. He should make a big one.

I hope to God that Hafeez and Wahab do not play. At 35+ they have no business in ODIs.

Zafar should definitely get a chance. He bowled well on debut before getting injured. He was the best spinner at the domestic level last year.

Hasnain should get a chance as he has played 5 ODIs and they were against AUS/ENG on flat tracks.

Faheem and Khushdil can both be tried as finishers.

Imam, Abid, Babar*, Haris, Rizwan+, Iftikhar, Faheem, Zafar, Shaheen, Hasnain, Rauf

Pakistan should completely crush Zimbabwe. Pakistan should bat first and try to put up a big score (if they win the toss).

I'll watch the match. Any cricket during this pandemic is good cricket.

The batting line up for 1st ODI should be
1. Imam
2.Haider
3. Babar
4.Abdullah Shafiq
5. Rizwan
6. Hafeez
7. Shadab
8. Fahim
9. Zafar Gowhar or Wahab depend upon pitch
10. Haris
11. Shaheen

But knowing Misbah and Pakistan mentality they will play
1. Fakhar
2. Abid
3..Babar
4. Hafeez
5. Haris
6. Rizwan

Misbahs prerequisite is u have to play some over 30s in your batting order and don't give chance to youngsters at top of the order

Zimbabwe all-rounder youth Wesley Medhevere believes that the visitors can upset Pakistan during the upcoming series, which begins with the first One-day International (ODI) on Friday.

While speaking during a teleconference, Medhevere admitted that Zimbabwe were up against a strong Pakistan outfit.

"Pakistan is definitely a very strong team at home but we have the ability to upset them. It all depends on that particular day," said Medhevere

The 20-year-old also warned against writing off Zimbabwe before the start of the series.

“We can beat any team on any given day. We have beaten Pakistan in the past, so it all depends on how things turn out on a particular day. You can’t predict anything before the start of the series or a match,” he said.

“We have faced a challenge and that is to qualify directly to the 2023 World Cup. All are focused to give their best and win matches here. I am sure we have a chance against Pakistan,” he added.

Medhevere is also enjoying his stay in Pakistan despite being in quarantine due to Covid-19 pandemic.

"It is a lovely place as I am here for the first time and I liked what we have seen so far and people are forthcoming. We had a good time during practice sessions while staying in quarantine,” he said.

url]https://cricketpakistan.com.pk/en/news/detail/pakistan-are-a-strong-team-but-we-have-ability-to-upset-them-medhevere[/url]

Pakistan and Zimbabwe men's teams face off to start their World Cup qualification bid

Former World champions Pakistan host Zimbabwe for an ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League series in Rawalpindi from Friday as the teams begin their qualification campaign for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India.

A record of losing just one out of 19 ODIs over six previous home series against Zimbabwe would give new captain Babar Azam confidence ahead of their opening series of the Super League, introduced to bring context to ODI cricket and to confirm the top seven teams with direct spots for the World Cup along with hosts India.

Featuring 13 teams, the 12 ICC Full Members and the Netherlands, who qualified by winning the ICC World Cricket League Championship 2015-17, the Super League will see sides play eight three-match series each, four at home and four away. The sides failing to qualify directly will get a second shot through a Qualifier.

Each team gets 10 points for a win, five for a tie/no result/abandonment and none for a loss. Teams will be ranked according to total points earned across the eight series.

England, who won the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup as hosts last year, lead the points table with 30 points after featuring in both series played so far. They beat Ireland 2-1 before losing to Australia by the same margin last month.

Babar, who was player of the series in their last ODI series against Sri Lanka played over a year ago, is the top-ranked player from either side in the ICC Men’s ODI Player Rankings. He is ranked third among batters and the only one in the series who is in the top 10 of either the batting or bowling rankings.

Left-handed opener Imam-ul-Haq has a good chance of moving back into the top 10, as he is just two points behind England’s Jonny Bairstow and four others too are within 13 rating points. Fakhar Zaman is four places behind Imam in 15th position, while Haris Sohail (32nd) and Mohammad Hafeez (44th) will be others in the focus from the rankings perspective.

With Mohammad Amir not named in the squad for the series, fellow left-arm fast bowler Shaheen Afridi, a star of the Pakistan side that played in the ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2018 in New Zealand, is the home side’s leading bowler in 24th position. Spinners Shadab Khan (28th) and Imad Wasim (33rd) follow in the list.

For Chamu Chibhabha-led Zimbabwe, Sikandar Raza leads the batters’ rankings in 47th position, 11 places below his career-best 36th position that he attained five years ago. Brendan Taylor, who has been in the top 10 in the past, is in 50th place while Sean Williams is 57th.

Fast bowler Tendai Chatara, who played in the ICC Under 19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2010 in New Zealand, is ranked 43rd among bowlers and would be looking to move back towards his career-best 23rd position in April 2015. Spinners Williams (64th) and Raza (70th) too have attained better rankings in the past.

The only interesting thing about this series is that Pakistan are playing 1st ODI after almost an year & what kit Pakistan will choose for it's ODI team. This series will effect me massively as my gym, house & office all are relatively closer to pindi stadium & even without the crowds the area is sealed and that's pathetic if the country is safe enough you shouldn't just seal the area just because a team is traveling.

Update on Shadab Khan

Rawalpindi, 28 October 2020:

The Pakistan Cricket Board’s medical team confirmed today that Pakistan men’s national team’s vice-captain Shadab Khan will be unavailable for selection for the first One-Day International against Zimbabwe, which will be played at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on Friday, 30 October.

The leg-spinner suffered from stiffness in his left upper-leg during the first intra-squad warm-up match in Lahore on 23 October.

Shadab will continue to be treated and rehabilitation regime and a further update will be provided ahead of the second ODI.

Watching practise videos

Seems like it will be Abid and Imam opening. Poor thinking.

You can't have similar type of batsmen open for Pakistan. It should have been Haider Ali/Fakhar with Imam

Fakhar
Imam
Babar
Rizwan
Haris
ifthi
Imad
Shadab
Wahab
Afridi
Rauf

The batting line up for 1st ODI should be
1. Imam
2.Haider
3. Babar
4.Abdullah Shafiq
5. Rizwan
6. Hafeez
7. Shadab
8. Fahim
9. Zafar Gowhar or Wahab depend upon pitch
10. Haris
11. Shaheen

But knowing Misbah and Pakistan mentality they will play
1. Fakhar
2. Abid
3..Babar
4. Hafeez
5. Haris
6. Rizwan

Misbahs prerequisite is u have to play some over 30s in your batting order and don't give chance to youngsters at top of the order

Hence why you want hafeez in the team even thou hes over 30

Watching practise videos

Seems like it will be Abid and Imam opening. Poor thinking.

You can't have similar type of batsmen open for Pakistan. It should have been Haider Ali/Fakhar with Imam

Abid doesnt even warrant a place in the squad

Don't mind Abid Ali in tests but I'd rather not have him in the ODI team, too similar to Imam

My XI is..

Fakhar
Abid
Babar
Abdullah Shafiq
Haider
Rizwan
Imad
Zafar gohar
Wahab
Shaheen
Haris / Husnain

Pakistan's 15 member squad for First ODI:

1. Imam ul Haq
2. Abid Ali
3. Fakhar Zaman
4. Babar Azam - captain
5. Haris Sohail
6. Mohammad Rizwan - wk
7. Iftikhar Ahmed
8. Khushdil Shah
9. Faheem Ashraf
10. Imad Wasim
11. Usman Qadir
12. Wahab Riaz
13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
14. Haris Rauf
15. Musa Khan

1. Imam ul Haq
2. Abid Ali
3. Fakhar Zaman
4. Babar Azam - captain
5. Haris Sohail
6. Mohammad Rizwan - wk
7. Iftikhar Ahmed
8. Khushdil Shah
9. Faheem Ashraf
10. Imad Wasim
11. Usman Qadir
12. Wahab Riaz
13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
14. Haris Rauf
15. Musa Khan

Abbay... :))

So that Abdullah Shafiq guy who everyone was raving about didnt make the 15 man squad?

We are playing Zimbabwe not Australia here

:)) seems Usman Qadir over Zafar Gohar and Abid Ali, Fakhar, and Imam over Haider or Abdullah. Against Zimbabwe! :salute

Shukur karo Mohammad hafeez is not in odis
But yes i would have liked to see haider ali getting his maiden odi in this series

1. Imam ul Haq
2. Abid Ali
3. Fakhar Zaman
4. Babar Azam - captain
5. Haris Sohail
6. Mohammad Rizwan - wk
7. Iftikhar Ahmed
8. Khushdil Shah
9. Faheem Ashraf
10. Imad Wasim
11. Usman Qadir
12. Wahab Riaz
13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
14. Haris Rauf
15. Musa Khan

There you go. I was waiting for the squad to make this post. I am surprised Hafeez isn't there.

No Haider, no Abdullah and no Zafar. Meanwhile we get to watch Abid Ali and Faheem Ashraf. And this is Zimbabwe mind you.

To anyone interested in our 2023 WC campaign, this should be criminal.

Usman Qadir doesn't merit a position over Zafar under any criteria. He is the better spinner, fielder and batsman too.

Also, what is Wahab doing there when he will be 38 come 2023?

Abid Ali already can't lay bat on ball against any decent bowler and we think he will do okay at the age of 36 in India against the very best the world has to offer.

Fakhar is living off one innings or let's push it and say the initial year with heavy helping from feasting on the likes of Zimbabwe. He will be 33 as will Iftikhar, who again seems to get into every squad without doing anything.

Haris will be 34 and so will Imad. Both have woeful fitness levels today and it will only get worse. I mean can anyone really say that they see both of them making it to 2023, especially Haris? What happens when he drops out to one injury or another?

I should also stress these are their official ages.

And we should also keep in mind that we play around 25 ODIs before the WC as things stand now. Not a lot.

Again this is Zimbabwe.

1. Imam ul Haq
2. Abid Ali
3. Fakhar Zaman
4. Babar Azam - captain
5. Haris Sohail
6. Mohammad Rizwan - wk
7. Iftikhar Ahmed
8. Khushdil Shah
9. Faheem Ashraf
10. Imad Wasim
11. Usman Qadir
12. Wahab Riaz
13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
14. Haris Rauf
15. Musa Khan

:danish

Yeh kya kar diya :facepalm:

1. Imam ul Haq
2. Abid Ali
3. Fakhar Zaman
4. Babar Azam - captain
5. Haris Sohail
6. Mohammad Rizwan - wk
7. Iftikhar Ahmed
8. Khushdil Shah
9. Faheem Ashraf
10. Imad Wasim
11. Usman Qadir
12. Wahab Riaz
13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
14. Haris Rauf
15. Musa Khan

I’m speechless as to the omission of Haider for the inclusion of Abid Ali. Okay, Abdullah maybe I can understand since he hasn’t debuted in any format yet. Then there’s Usman Qadir over Zafar Gohar. And Hasnain omitted for Musa Khan??? :facepalm

This looks like the lineup...

1. Imam ul Haq
2. Fakhar Zaman
3. Babar Azam (c)
4. Haris Sohail
5. Mohammad Rizwan (wk) (vc)
6. Iftikhar Ahmed
7. Imad Wasim
8. Wahab Riaz
9. Usman Qadir
10. Shaheen Afridi
11. Haris Rauf

Happy with the selection

Nothing wrong with it. Good going Misbah:19:

I feel Fakhar needs to open with Imam, not Abid Ali.

Pakistan original plans derailed slightly with exclusion of Shadab.

I can see Faheem coming in at no 8 followed by Wahab and then one of Qadir or Haris to end with Afridi.

Expected line up with only debate about the batting positions of Haris and Riz.

Imam
Fakhar
Babar
Riz
Haris
Ifthi
Imad

Faheem
Wahab
Qadir or Haris
Afridi

Sort of line up that Pakistan has been putting on for the last 10 to 15 yrs...3 pacemen 3 spinners.

As expected from misbah Safety first

Hes infuriates so much On what level does qadir is ahead of gohar?

I mean its zimbabwe for god sake Surely a debut couldve been handed to haider after his great t20 display

Some people get free rides irrespective of performance

i can understand Abdullahs exclusion but Haider who scored in both games...i mean uncle IFTY whats he doing there can anybody enlighten me!!!

Usman qadir bowling average is 40.
Zafar gohar bowling average is 27.

Musa khan is yet to show any promise or performance but is in squad.

RIP pakistan cricket.

Tomorrows playing XI
Fakhar Zaman
Imam ul haq
Babar Azam
Haris Sohail
Mohammed Rizwan
Kushdil Shah
Imad Wasim
Faheem Ashraf
Shaheen Shah
Haris Rauf
Usman Qadir

And people wondering why pakistani cricket is losing fans everyday.

15 man squad against Zim makes no sense. Youd think they would test out younger players.

This is why i have personally lost interest in pak cricket.

Haris, wahab and qadir should not be in this squad.

Only excitement for this series was to give youngsters a chance but Misbah doing Misbah here. He did same with Haris sohail when he was captain.

Faheem trundler there,he has the batting talent but he's promised that he will showcase it only in jannat(aakhirat) . You know saving it for the best occasion.

Also people trying to convince misbah that 33 34 is over-age, he was born when he was 32.he is still only 17 or 18 years old, yet to reach his prime.

I don't have much to add, only thing I feel right now is that this misbah guy is not right for the job. Not now and can't be prepared for anytime, he just doesn't have it in him. Decision making ability is important for leaders but he doesn't possess it. He was Lucky to play on those uae sluggish wickets and win some there.

Misbah ko criticise karna koi chota kaam nhi, karne pe avo to raat ko bhi mera khatam nhi hoga. Chalo Allah tala karnes dafa, taaki zandeghi manz baashe kenh different chu chalan, nati gai wallah bore.

Faheem trundler there,he has the batting talent but he's promised that he will showcase it only in jannat(aakhirat) . You know saving it for the best occasion.

Also people trying to convince misbah that 33 34 is over-age, he was born when he was 32.he is still only 17 or 18 years old, yet to reach his prime.

It’s a psychological thing. Poor guy debuted so late that his entire inner timeline for what a successful career looks like is messed up. He needs therapy.

Squad is just for first ODI and is as per expectations. Pakistan team will try to set a decent tone first before trying younger batsmen.

But why is Abid Ali the backup opener and not Haider? Why is Musa the backup bowler and not Hasnain? Why is Usman Qadir the backup spinner and not Zafar Gohar?

Sorry, but it is clear what the direction is.

Pakistan host Zimbabwe in Rawalpindi for the first of three ODIs on Friday with the ICC Cricket World Cup Super League at stake.

Overview:
Pakistan v Zimbabwe, 1st ODI
Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
Friday, 30 October, 12.30pm local time, 07.30am GMT

Cricket in Pakistan resumes with the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League matches against Zimbabwe, the first ODI games that will be played in the country since the limited-overs series against Bangladesh was abandoned earlier this year. The entire series will be played in Rawalpindi, which will host an ODI for the first time since 2006. The venue did see a Test match earlier in the year when Pakistan hosted Bangladesh in February.

Both teams are aware of the context that the Super League brings to bilateral ODIs with Pakistan head coach, Misbah-ul-Haq, skipper Babar Azam and Zimbabwe senior player, Elton Chigumbura stressing on it in the build-up to the series.

Pakistan are without newly anointed vice-captain Shadab Khan after he suffered a leg injury in the intra-squad warm-up match in Lahore. He will be monitored over the week and is expected to be available for the remainder of the series. Azam will lead the Pakistan ODI team for the first time since being appointed as permanent skipper over a year ago.

Zimbabwe too have a new skipper in 34-year-old all-rounder Chamu Chibhabha. The team will be eager to make a mark despite their head coach Lalchand Rajput giving the series a skip. Former international and current bowling coach, Douglas Hondo will take over as head coach for the series.

Remember the last time:

Zimbabwe last played an ODI in Pakistan in 2015. However, the two teams played a full-fledged five-match ODI series in Zimbabwe in 2018. The visitors will want to improve their questionable record in the country in this format. After 19 ODIs against Pakistan in their backyard, Zimbabwe have just one win. The overall record is also in favour of Pakistan, who have won 52 of the 59 matches between these teams.

A lot has changed for both the teams, notably on the leadership front. While Sarfaraz Ahmed was the skipper the last time Pakistan played an ODI, it was Sean Williams leading the side for Zimbabwe.

What they said:

Elton Chigumbura (Zimbabwe all-rounder): "It's important that we have to play to win, not to just compete. So all those mindsets are things that we have spoken about in training and everyone is aware of what we need to do as a team and as individuals when it comes to these international games. Hopefully we start on a good note."

Babar Azam (Pakistan captain): "It's a great honour for me to be able to captain Pakistan in ODI cricket. The ICC league gives every series context, with seven qualifying berths up for grabs. So, we want to put as many points on the board as possible so when we get to the World Cup, people talk about us seriously. In 2011, we qualified for the semi-finals and in 2019, we couldn't get through. I don't think the rankings matter but I want us to start well and I fully trust my team to perform well and qualify."

318d42d9-16f2-408b-ae8e-da0e817b53aa.jpg

But why is Abid Ali the backup opener and not Haider? Why is Musa the backup bowler and not Hasnain? Why is Usman Qadir the backup spinner and not Zafar Gohar?

Sorry, but it is clear what the direction is.

When Abid was selected in probables it was clear that he is gonna be the first choice back up opener as otherwise no point in having 32 year old batsmen with little ODI experience in the squad. Yes if he should be in the squad is arguable and when probables were announced I questioned his inclusion as I think Pak has younger and potentially better top order players in white ball cricket.

Musa looked in better form in National T20 cup with economy of 7.93 vs Hasnain’s 9+ and only had one less wicket in one less match. I dont think selecting one young pacer over another is that much of an issue for one ODI squad and not sure even if Musa will play.

Qadir and Zafar bowled good in certain matches of national T20 cup. While Qadir had more wickets I thought Zafar with his performances across the formats could have been given a go but, I guess Pak management wanted a leggy to replace a leggy.

Again its just the squad for first ODI. Abid Ali was the biggest question mark for me in the probables as Misbah carried on the trend of having older players as backup to younger players like he did with Sohail Khan and Imran Khan to which I dont agree with.

So disgraceful selection by Misbah yet again. I was looking forward to see Haider Ali and Abdullah Shafique bat but both are not even in the 15th man squad. Guys like Abid Ali, Ifitikhar Ahmed who are around 40 are in the team.

When Abid was selected in probables it was clear that he is gonna be the first choice back up opener as otherwise no point in having 32 year old batsmen with little ODI experience in the squad. Yes if he should be in the squad is arguable and when probables were announced I questioned his inclusion as I think Pak has younger and potentially better top order players in white ball cricket.

Musa looked in better form in National T20 cup with economy of 7.93 vs Hasnain’s 9+ and only had one less wicket in one less match. I dont think selecting one young pacer over another is that much of an issue for one ODI squad and not sure even if Musa will play.

Qadir and Zafar bowled good in certain matches of national T20 cup. While Qadir had more wickets I thought Zafar with his performances across the formats could have been given a go but, I guess Pak management wanted a leggy to replace a leggy.

Again its just the squad for first ODI. Abid Ali was the biggest question mark for me in the probables as Misbah carried on the trend of having older players as backup to younger players like he did with Sohail Khan and Imran Khan to which I dont agree with.

Fair enough about Musa but is it really a fair argument to say “leggy to replace a leggy”? Why does it have to be like for like when Zafar Gohar is the clear better choice by an average of 10 less runs per wicket? And like you said, you’re right that Abid should have been expected from the moment the initial squad was announced, so fair enough - but that still doesn’t explain why Abid over Haider.