Pakistan vs West Indies | 1st Test | Multan | January 17 - 21 | Pre-Match Discussion

Who Will Win the 1st Test in Multan?

FearlessRoar

Pakistan will host the West Indies in the first Test of the series, their first home Test encounter against the visitors since 2006. Left-arm spinner Nauman Ali is confirmed in the squad, with Sajid Khan and Abrar Ahmed poised for comebacks, indicating a spin-heavy strategy. Naseem Shah has been rested, while Shaheen Afridi remains unavailable, leaving the pace attack relatively inexperienced.

Imam-ul-Haq is expected to return to strengthen the batting lineup, while injuries rule out Saim Ayub and Haseebullah.

With Pakistan leading the all-time Test record against the West Indies (21-18), the Multan crowd will hope for a strong performance from the home side.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Warning:

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

Shan Masood (captain), Saud Shakeel (vice-captain), Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Kashif Ali, Khurram Shahzad, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper/batter), Noman Ali, Rohail Nazir (wicketkeeper/batter), Sajid Khan, and Salman Ali Agha.

Playing XI will be

Shan
Imam
Babar
KG
Saud
Rizwan
Agha
Noman
Sajid
Khurram
M.Ali

Shan Masood (captain), Saud Shakeel (vice-captain), Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Kashif Ali, Khurram Shahzad, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper/batter), Noman Ali, Rohail Nazir (wicketkeeper/batter), Sajid Khan, and Salman Ali Agha.

Playing XI will be

Shan
Imam
Babar
KG
Saud
Rizwan
Agha
Noman
Sajid
Khurram
M.Ali
Commiserations

Agenda chala nahi :cry:

Beautiful innings of 147 by Shan. Well done for retaining captaincy.

Unlucky Rizwan. That shot against Mulder has raised concerns on your maturity unfortunately.

Playing XI will be

Shan
Imam
Babar
KG
Saud
Rizwan
Agha
Noman
Sajid
Khurram
M.Ali
What's the point of rohail in the squad if rizwan is even going to play even against the likes of West Indies.

World class batsmen like rizwan should only only play world class teams like England Australia and South Africa

Use home tours to develop players

I am deeply concerned about Rizwan’s maturity and sincerity of Rizwan in Test cricket. I think it’s time to try Rohail Nazir at number 7.

Salman Agha should move up to 5.

Playing XI will be

Shan
Imam
Babar
KG
Saud
Rizwan
Agha
Noman
Sajid
Khurram
M.Ali
Most probably but what is the fault of Huraira here... he should be the first choice opener at least

Rizwan should have been the captain for this series

Hopefully this series will be last for Shan as captain needs to be booted out asap

I am deeply concerned about Rizwan’s maturity and sincerity of Rizwan in Test cricket. I think it’s time to try Rohail Nazir at number 7.

Salman Agha should move up to 5.
hopefully it will be the end of Rizwan, or at least we won't hear there is no replacement

I don't get why people are so concerned about finding a rizzu replacement?

He's 32 and will turn 33 this year? Koi replacement nahi dhoonda kya?

He plays till 40 and then what? What's pakistan's next plan?

Who's his replacement? Faham ul haq who will be trained in the arts of wicket keeping as well?

Test cricket is not for experiments, play your best team, Pakistan are already struggling in Test cricket

I don't get why people are so concerned about finding a rizzu replacement?

He's 32 and will turn 33 this year? Koi replacement nahi dhoonda kya?

He plays till 40 and then what? What's pakistan's next plan?

Who's his replacement? Faham ul haq who will be trained in the arts of wicket keeping as well?
unfortnatly alot of rizwan and babar fans don't believe in bench strength incase someone comes good and make rizwan babar look like tailenders

Shan
Babar
Kamran
Saud
Huraira
Salman
Rizwan
Sajid
Nauman
Khurram
Abrar

I would play Huraira in the middle order he doesn't have the game for opening.

Shan Masood: Scored a commendable century in his last innings, showing his ability to anchor the innings and play long, impactful knocks. His experience and form make him a strong candidate for the top order.

Imam-ul-Haq: Has been in good touch in domestic cricket, showcasing consistency and adaptability. His recent performances suggest he’s ready to translate that form into international cricket.

Hurraira: A talented young player who deserves an opportunity to showcase his skills at the highest level. Introducing young blood is essential for building a strong team for the future. also won't be a walking wicket vs spin in spin friendly conditions

Saud Shakeel: Delivered outstanding performances in recent Test matches, demonstrating composure and technique. His ability to play spin effectively will make him a valuable asset in these conditions.

Kamran Ghulam: Has a proven track record in spin-friendly conditions, both with the bat and in adapting to challenging situations. His past domestic performances suggest he can be a reliable middle-order option here.

Salman Agha: A versatile player who has been decent with the bat and can contribute crucial runs lower down the order. His off-spin bowling will also be well-suited to the conditions, offering a dual advantage.

Rohail Nazir: A promising young wicketkeeper-batsman who can bring fresh energy to the team. I would take anyone in that position over rizwan.

Nauman Ali: A seasoned spinner who thrives on pitches that offer turn. Additionally, his ability to contribute with the bat adds depth to the lower order, making him a valuable all-round option.

Sajid Khan: Another spinner who will find the conditions favorable for his bowling style. He also has the ability to chip in with important runs, providing balance to the team.

Khurram Shahzad: A bowler who has consistently performed well in domestic cricket, particularly in conditions similar to the ones expected. His familiarity with the environment gives him an edge.

Mohammad Ali: Another reliable performer in domestic cricket who has shown the ability to handle pressure and adapt to varying conditions. His experience at the domestic level makes him a strong contender.

Abrar Ahmed: A skillful spinner who has already made a mark in spin-friendly conditions. His variations and control make him a valuable option, especially in matches where spin is expected to dominate.

I might be a fast bowler short

Shan Masood: Scored a commendable century in his last innings, showing his ability to anchor the innings and play long, impactful knocks. His experience and form make him a strong candidate for the top order.

Imam-ul-Haq: Has been in good touch in domestic cricket, showcasing consistency and adaptability. His recent performances suggest he’s ready to translate that form into international cricket.

Hurraira: A talented young player who deserves an opportunity to showcase his skills at the highest level. Introducing young blood is essential for building a strong team for the future. also won't be a walking wicket vs spin in spin friendly conditions

Saud Shakeel: Delivered outstanding performances in recent Test matches, demonstrating composure and technique. His ability to play spin effectively will make him a valuable asset in these conditions.

Kamran Ghulam: Has a proven track record in spin-friendly conditions, both with the bat and in adapting to challenging situations. His past domestic performances suggest he can be a reliable middle-order option here.

Salman Agha: A versatile player who has been decent with the bat and can contribute crucial runs lower down the order. His off-spin bowling will also be well-suited to the conditions, offering a dual advantage.

Rohail Nazir: A promising young wicketkeeper-batsman who can bring fresh energy to the team. I would take anyone in that position over rizwan.

Nauman Ali: A seasoned spinner who thrives on pitches that offer turn. Additionally, his ability to contribute with the bat adds depth to the lower order, making him a valuable all-round option.

Sajid Khan: Another spinner who will find the conditions favorable for his bowling style. He also has the ability to chip in with important runs, providing balance to the team.

Khurram Shahzad: A bowler who has consistently performed well in domestic cricket, particularly in conditions similar to the ones expected. His familiarity with the environment gives him an edge.

Mohammad Ali: Another reliable performer in domestic cricket who has shown the ability to handle pressure and adapt to varying conditions. His experience at the domestic level makes him a strong contender.

Abrar Ahmed: A skillful spinner who has already made a mark in spin-friendly conditions. His variations and control make him a valuable option, especially in matches where spin is expected to dominate.

I might be a fast bowler short
Not gonna happen

Keep living in your delusional world

So just one test match is barometer for Rizwan as captain but Shan continue to lose test after test he gets long rope without even scoring

What a hypocrisy
blaming Shan for losses in Australia and South Africa no captain has won there. Your making it out if tests are some random odi's

Shan beat England at home but lost to Bangladesh because your world class batmens Babar and Shafique failed us.

Shan
Babar
Kamran
Saud
Huraira
Salman
Rizwan
Sajid
Nauman
Khurram
Abrar

I would play Huraira in the middle order he doesn't have the game for opening.
I dont mind him oppening in asain conditions but we are looking at future tours in sena then he should be batting in the middle like you have said.

So just one test match is barometer for Rizwan as captain but Shan continue to lose test after test he gets long rope without even scoring

What a hypocrisy
How many test matches V Aus and Saffers do you think we would have won if Rizwan was captain rather than Shan?

Shan's biggest fault is Bangladesh. I blame him for that 100%, his captaincy was poor, the whole liton das and he had poor bowling is an excuse.

Tight fielding would have dismissed das.

But otherwise he hasn't been that bad. He's succeeded if bowlers have done their job so I don't mind him too much.

And he's been the 2nd best test batter statistically since he's become captain. Thanks to @DeadlyVenom for providing statistics.

Shan's biggest fault is Bangladesh. I blame him for that 100%, his captaincy was poor, the whole liton das and he had poor bowling is an excuse.

Tight fielding would have dismissed das.

But otherwise he hasn't been that bad. He's succeeded if bowlers have done their job so I don't mind him too much.

And he's been the 2nd best test batter statistically since he's become captain. Thanks to @DeadlyVenom for providing statistics.
If you are losing tests at home to Bangladesh then the capability of the team is a bigger problem than captaincy.

Are you kidding, victory against Eng is solely due to spinners other than that nobody should take credit
How am I kidding? If Pakistan knew they will sack them with spin, why drop Babar?

I dont mind him oppening in asain conditions but we are looking at future tours in sena then he should be batting in the middle like you have said.
I disagree he needs to bat in the middle order and develop another opener. You can't have a batsmen playing in the middle order in SENA while opening in SC. He needs to stick to one and I believe middle order is the best for him.

665 runs in 3 Tests with 4 💯s and a fifty and an average of 133.0 🤯

Muhammad Yousaf dominated when WI came to 🇵🇰 in 2006!

Can someone step up to come close to this in the 2025 series?

665 runs in 3 Tests with 4 💯s and a fifty and an average of 133.0 🤯

Muhammad Yousaf dominated when WI came to 🇵🇰 in 2006!

Can someone step up to come close to this in the 2025 series?
world-class batsmens like babar and rizwan need to step up if their fans want to compare them with yousaf and this isnt even half of side what west indies was in 2006

Huraira should get an opportunity. This Windies series is actually a great opportunity to try him.
Yep. I think he should be given a try over Imam. Huraira has been warming benches for many series. Time to make him number 1 choice opener.

I disagree he needs to bat in the middle order and develop another opener. You can't have a batsmen playing in the middle order in SENA while opening in SC. He needs to stick to one and I believe middle order is the best for him.
I am sure he is better than Kamran Ghullam thou.

In Multan, the groundstaff are working to create rank turners for the West Indies Tests by using a greenhouse to cover the surfaces and placing heaters inside. This approach will ensure the pitches remain dry and rough despite the cold and damp weather.

8lyogns.png

B0TuiIk.png

Who needs the whole ground just bowl spin eith silly mid off short leg and slips and play inside that bubble

Weather will be chillier in Multan at this time specially if the sun does not comes out, watch out for slip fielders.

Pitch is already being dried of any moisture with industrial fans, hopefully it won't be a lottery with toss being the decisive factor.
Nevertheless, a big Big series for Shan Masood needs and Pakistan should win it.

Abdur Rehman Becomes Pakistan Cricket Team’s New Spin Bowling Coach

Former cricketer Abdul Rehman has been appointed as the new spin bowling coach of the Pakistan cricket team.

Currently, under the leadership of Shan Masood, the Pakistan cricket team is in Multan, where the first Test match of a two-match series against the West Indies will begin on January 17.

The national selection committee has announced a 15-member Test squad for the series against the West Indies, which includes three spinners: Nauman Ali, Abrar Ahmed, and Sajid Khan. Now, the Pakistan Cricket Board has enlisted the services of Abdul Rehman as the spin bowling coach for the national team.

Left-arm Test spinner Abdul Rehman, who took a total of 140 wickets in Tests, One-Day Internationals, and T20 internationals for Pakistan between 2006 and 2014, has joined the team in Multan.

Hailing from Sialkot, Abdul Rehman will celebrate his 45th birthday on March 1 this year. He was previously a part of the coaching staff for the Pakistan women’s team. This is his first experience as the spin bowling coach with the national men’s team.

Abdur Rehman Becomes Pakistan Cricket Team’s New Spin Bowling Coach

Former cricketer Abdul Rehman has been appointed as the new spin bowling coach of the Pakistan cricket team.

Currently, under the leadership of Shan Masood, the Pakistan cricket team is in Multan, where the first Test match of a two-match series against the West Indies will begin on January 17.

The national selection committee has announced a 15-member Test squad for the series against the West Indies, which includes three spinners: Nauman Ali, Abrar Ahmed, and Sajid Khan. Now, the Pakistan Cricket Board has enlisted the services of Abdul Rehman as the spin bowling coach for the national team.

Left-arm Test spinner Abdul Rehman, who took a total of 140 wickets in Tests, One-Day Internationals, and T20 internationals for Pakistan between 2006 and 2014, has joined the team in Multan.

Hailing from Sialkot, Abdul Rehman will celebrate his 45th birthday on March 1 this year. He was previously a part of the coaching staff for the Pakistan women’s team. This is his first experience as the spin bowling coach with the national men’s team.

Good decision!

Training session of Pakistan and West Indies cricket teams underway at Multan Cricket Stadium.

Both teams are participating in batting, bowling, and fielding sessions under the supervision of coaches.

The first match of the two-Test series between Pakistan and West Indies is scheduled to be played at the Multan Cricket Stadium from January 17th.

Today, at the conclusion of the training, a player/team management representative from each team will address the media.

View attachment WhatsApp Video 2025-01-15 at 13.40.41_1efcb852.mp4

Noman Ali during a media interaction ahead of the 1st Test against West Indies:

Preparation for the series against West Indies:

"Alhamdulillah, the preparation has been very good. In our last match against England in Multan, the performance was quite impressive. We will try to continue from where we left off in the home series and aim to deliver good performances."

About not getting an opportunity in South Africa:

"The conditions in South Africa were such that the team management felt it was better to play four fast bowlers. If I had been given a chance, I would have played, but the conditions favored fast bowlers."

Facing West Indies spinners:

"We are mentally prepared. We have performed well in such conditions before and will try to replicate those performances. Regarding my career, I will continue working on my fitness and aim to play for another two to three years, as long as I remain fit."

Learning from Abdur Rehman:

"Abdur Rehman bhai has vast experience and a remarkable career for Pakistan and in first-class cricket. We try to learn as much as possible from him and benefit from his experience."

Fitness improvements:

"Fitness has improved significantly. Since I didn't play in South Africa, I focused on training and worked a lot on my fitness during that time."

Naseem Shah and Shaheen Shah Afridi:

"The team management made decisions based on what was best for the team. Perhaps they were rested because there’s a lot of cricket ahead. However, we have strong replacements like Khurram Shahzad, Kashif Ali, and Mohammad Ali, who have performed well in domestic cricket and are capable of delivering for the team."

The pitch and match expectations:

"It's hard to say anything about the pitch until the first day when the ball lands on it. We hope for the best and will try to adapt to the conditions and deliver performances that help the team win."

Limited red-ball cricket this year:

"This is likely the last series of the Test Championship. After this, there will be more white-ball cricket, including the Champions Trophy and the World Cup. For now, we are focusing on this series, and I’ll continue playing red-ball cricket in departmental tournaments to stay prepared for upcoming opportunities."

Cant believe last time WI toured Pakistan, they had the likes of Lara and chanderpaul. Long time. I was a student and seen that series collymore bowled some wonderful spells in that series. And Lara played his last Test match in Pakistan. What a wonderful record