Pakistani fans, how frustrated are you?

The_Odd_One

This match seems like a deja vu of Edgbaston, Pakistan getting early wickets but then Bairstow and Ali taking England to a respectable total.

This has been a trend in this series so far. Pakistan takes control of the match only to give it up shortly.

They have played better cricket than what was expected but they have lacked discipline.

Had bowlers kept it tight, the fielders took their catches, and the batsmen stopped themselves from playing some silly shots, the series could have been easily 1-1 by now.

How frustrating for you is to watch Pakistan being reckless and losing the advantage from the commanding position?

Not anymore , I think I have become kind of inert after 3rd match. Nothing worse can happen.

Angry..not at the bowlers but with the slip 'catchers'. Feel sorry for the bowlers.

Its frustrating especially since we don't play many Tests outside Asia and you won't always get opportunities like this.

I thought the ground fielding in the first three Tests was fine, but today we've been atrocious. Azhar's usually a safe pair of hands but that was a costly miss off Ali.

Wahab needs to sort out his overstepping issue too.

Its frustrating especially since we don't play many Tests outside Asia and you won't always get opportunities like this.

I thought the ground fielding in the first three Tests was fine, but today we've been atrocious. Azhar's usually a safe pair of hands but that was a costly miss off Ali.

Wahab needs to sort out his overstepping issue too.

Exactly. Pakistan should be grateful that they are touring England at a better time when there is not much assistance to fast bowling and England has served up some easy pitches to Pakistan.

Must be really frustrating considering the players that have had an impact so far are all mediocre players moeen, bairstow, woakes you name it, the really good players have had a quiet series, that must have doubled the level of frustration..

Don't worry boys, the match is not over yet.

And then there is the two match test series in England to look forward to in 2018 incase you don't win this one :P

Cooks drop didn't hurt us but Moeen Alis drop catch has really put us behind. Bowlers did their best today but fielders let them down big time.

Team selection, bowling approach, field setting, batting approach has just been far too defensive. We squandered a 1-0 lead and are now on verge of losing this series. Not sure what the team management is doing but they have just not been bold enough. It is clear Younis Khan is shot but he gets another chance. It is clear that that we need 5 full time bowlers because England has always cashed in against a tiring attack but we still decided to go with 4 bowlers.

Don't know what to say anymore.

This is easily the most frustrating series for me to watch since that Sydney test.

English batsmen have no shown no respect for Pakistani bowlers. Have never seen Pakistani bowling demolished like that in the past.

Must be really frustrating considering the players that have had an impact so far are all mediocre players moeen, bairstow, woakes you name it, the really good players have had a quiet series, that must have doubled the level of frustration..

Your rating of players is soo flawed its not even funny bro.

Bairstow and Woakes are super class in these conditions. Woakes looks like he can take on any condition.

Bairstow scored in SA. Let's see how many batsmen score there.

Its Balance who is limited in such conditions and useless against spin. And Vince and Hales who are rubbish against quality bowling.

Cook and Root class as usual.

Your rating of players is soo flawed its not even funny bro.

Bairstow and Woakes are super class in these conditions. Woakes looks like he can take on any condition.

Bairstow scored in SA. Let's see how many batsmen score there.

Its Balance who is limited in such conditions and useless against spin. And Vince and Hales who are rubbish against quality bowling.

Cook and Root class as usual.

with due respect with your assessment, pakistan's poor tactics and inferior quality of batsmen have made woakes and bairstow like some world beater my rating of these players are based on their temperament and their overall skill i guess you have to wait till we face them in november, jadeja and ashwin will have them quite easy and woakes might extract some reverse swing but we have competent players unlike pakistanis who think of him as anderson reincarnation :yk the rating of players can't simply be based on an ordinary pakistani team with old tactics. Pakistan simply don't have the aggressive mentality to win close matches, case in point yasir shah a world class leggie being ruined by his captain adopting an atrocious strategy and leaving his confidence battered and bruised.

Lol what are you talking about ??
India has been the worst tourists to england over the past 5 years .
Lost home and away to england . Where is the confidence coming from ??

You know I pretty much predicted this irl.

My alarm clock woke me up at 7 am for the game, and I quickly checked the scorecard and it said 92/4.

But then I thought to myself, England are still going at like 4 rpo, and I think some of the wickets may be flukey, something tells me we won't be able to finish it. So went back to sleep.

Woke up 2 hours later and it was 202/5, so was right.

I guess the West Indians letting India get away after a similar start was fresh in my head still.

But by now I'm not frustrated anymore because I accept that we have a hit or miss attack and England have incredible depth in batting.

I agree they will probably fail in India.

But they have been good here. If they score in England, Aus, NZ, WI and SA...that's serious utility. If they click in one of the 3 Asian countries, that's super fantastic.

Very few players can have allround great stats. Even in the top 5 of our generation (Root, Smith, Kane, Kohli and Rahane) don't have perfect records.

Pakistanis has made every bowler look better but Woakes does bowl with venom and has outperformed Anderson and Broad who weren't upto their lofty standards this series.

Yasir has had the unfortunate situation of being overbowled but its not like everything was Misbah's fault and none for Yasir.

Lol what are you talking about ??
India has been the worst tourists to england over the past 5 years .
Lost home and away to england . Where is the confidence coming from ??

Yes we have been poor and pakistan have clearly outperformed us and any other team from the subcontinent playing england in england but, i mentioned that pakistan lacks a killer mentality might be due to fatigue or lack of skill but they have given way too much respect to woakes, moeen and bairstow and come the india tour they will be walloped in our conditions which is testament to the fact that they can perform only against jaded attack and in their own conditions.

You know I pretty much predicted this irl.

My alarm clock woke me up at 7 am for the game, and I quickly checked the scorecard and it said 92/4.

But then I thought to myself, England are still going at like 4 rpo, and I think some of the wickets may be flukey, something tells me we won't be able to finish it. So went back to sleep.

Woke up 2 hours later and it was 202/5, so was right.

I guess the West Indians letting India get away after a similar start was fresh in my head still.

But by now I'm not frustrated anymore because I accept that we have a hit or miss attack and England have incredible depth in batting.

Pakistani fans should have accepted this years back. There is no benefit in expecting greatness from these players. Every win these days is a bonus.

Yes we have been poor and pakistan have clearly outperformed us and any other team from the subcontinent playing england in england but, i mentioned that pakistan lacks a killer mentality might be due to fatigue or lack of skill but they have given way too much respect to woakes, moeen and bairstow and come the india tour they will be walloped in our conditions which is testament to the fact that they can perform only against jaded attack and in their own conditions.

Woakes has bowled well here but remains to be seen how he goes with a kookabura . Was horrendous in southafrica.

I agree they will probably fail in India.

But they have been good here. If they score in England, Aus, NZ, WI and SA...that's serious utility. If they click in one of the 3 Asian countries, that's super fantastic.

Very few players can have allround great stats. Even in the top 5 of our generation (Root, Smith, Kane, Kohli and Rahane) don't have perfect records.

Pakistanis has made every bowler look better but Woakes does bowl with venom and has outperformed Anderson and Broad who weren't upto their lofty standards this series.

Yasir has had the unfortunate situation of being overbowled but its not like everything was Misbah's fault and none for Yasir.

agreed on most parts but, i still feel their stats are way inflated and they have had a great pakistan series but will find it hard to replicate against other teams.

Woakes has bowled well here but remains to be seen how he goes with a kookabura . Was horrendous in southafrica.

spot on brother, if there was a return series in the UAE i doubt he could replicate half of his present form. Horrendous batting from every single batsmen from the pakistan line up has made him look steynsque :steyn wicket in almost the first over of every spell :misbah you have got to be kidding me :murali

It's always the fielding with Pakistan. The most frustrating thing is how we always lose due to dropping catches.

The day we start fielding as well as Aus, SA and co will be the day we start ruling world cricket

spot on brother, if there was a return series in the UAE i doubt he could replicate half of his present form. Horrendous batting from every single batsmen from the pakistan line up has made him look steynsque :steyn wicket in almost the first over of every spell :misbah you have got to be kidding me :murali

This comment of urs remind me of rohit sharma''s epic"come to India and I show you. ".

I think it is safe to say now that Azhar has single-handily lost this match for Pakistan by dropping Moeen.

Azhar ali .
What have you done 😐.
Should be stripped of the odi captaincy for that drop .
So we can get a positive out of the situation.

Are the indian posters above talking about the same indian batsman that couldnt even play Moeen Ali? Needless feel good plugging. Dont even want to compare with an inferior test side like India.

Younis Khan Supposed Heir & anticipated Future Pakistani great cost us 102 runs.

Wahab's No ball dismissal of Bairstow cost us 42 runs.

144 ?

Plus count 20 of Woakes as it would have been tough for him to score 45 with Tail.

165 Runs Extra.

Very Frustrated indeed but thanks to Sohail Khan (Sherr) some respite otherwise 2010 like Broad's 169 was coming our way.

Okay guys. This thread and forum needs big mac. Where are you bro?

Eng fans will also feel frustrated. We need to bat bat and bat. Need to bat for a long time.

Come on boys.

Azhar ali .
What have you done 😐.
Should be stripped of the odi captaincy for that drop .
So we can get a positive out of the situation.

Itrespective of drop he needs to go. Cannot perform against top bowling line ups in Odi's as batsman (Another Hafeez Malik) and is a horrible tactician as a Captain.

Sharjeel, Sami, Imam or Ahsan should be Openers and Sarfraz the Captain.

Bichara Aamir bowled peach of a outswinger. I predicted it 5 min ago and he delivered to see Azhar spill a simple catch. Frustrating Yaar.

This comment of urs remind me of rohit sharma''s epic"come to India and I show you. ".

Rohit sharma!!!! what have you done how dare you name him without due respect and proper salutation now out of anger he is going to plunder 600 runs all by himself and create a mini record for himself. :)))

Atrocious fielding, sloppy bowling, school level batting and to add that rubbish captaincy... This series showed pakistan doesnt deserve to be in top tier rankings at all rather chasing for no.1 spot....

Even at 110/5 i knew england was going to score around 250 even if i hadn't expect this much,pakistani players are too weak mentally to be able to dominate but when you have a captain like that it's just normal.

To the point where I feel like totally switching off of cricket until maybe we play Namibia for world cup qualifiers.

We did not learn from our mistakes, should have gone with five specialist bowlers and the result would have been different.

Mooen batting like Lara was frustrating to say the least

Our Kaaptan was too defensive

Considering series on line more aggressive approach was required

exactly, when i say this the misbah brigade come to defend him... im not the biased one here.. but being misbah fan they dont accept the truth and criticise when its due... the even advocate what misbah doing is 100% correct and everything alright... At one point I thought should we make shehzad (a tailender batsman) the captain just to make sure body language aggressive and dominating... I hope MISBAH have a bad lose to this series and retire, cant digest from him anymore...atleast his weak defensive mentality will not be passed on to babar azam, sami aslam and haris sohail...

To the point where I feel like totally switching off of cricket until maybe we play Namibia for world cup qualifiers.

That would be a tough match. Hopefully we would be able to put up a good fight against Namibia..

Not too bothered.

I've seen us lose a WC, a WT20 and countless other series. Even just focusing on this one in particular, IMO England are only marginally ahead because if Pakistan bat with an a postive mindset, they can run up a big total.

Nothing to be frustated by folks! This is standard Pak at its best. The days of Pak batting have long been over we cant depend on anyone anymore. Just take a look at Ashwin who scored a hundred against WI the other day....here we are still celebrating Azhar's hundred lol!! The cycle has always been up an down for Pak....enjoy the show, at least we can look forward to the ODI's/T20....sad reality but there will come a time where the likes of Amir and Aslam and the like will disappear because Pak has not played on home soil in forever....i dont blame the players at all.

We were never a reliable batting side even in 90's one wicket would fall and we would collapse to Moin Khan. However there was one key difference we had Miandad who stood all day at the crease to see us through lol. Ab woh bhi nahi hai tau mushkil mein phans gaye gain.

That would be a tough match. Hopefully we would be able to put up a good fight against Namibia..

as long as they don't drop a catch when Namibia is 24/9 and the last pair goes on to make a 400 run partnership to trounce us by 349 runs.

Not too bothered.

I've seen us lose a WC, a WT20 and countless other series. Even just focusing on this one in particular, IMO England are only marginally ahead because if Pakistan bat with an a postive mindset, they can run up a big total.

I agree, we just need to ensure that we bat positively. Pak would have taken bowling England out at the start of the day for 300 odd but they got 28 more runs. It's a flat deck which will get harder tomorrow as it's going to be a lovely day so the ball won't be doing as much.

Same story ... today we were bad .... but tomorrow we will make up for all the screw ups we made today !!! Tomorrow though, will be the same story .... Shot selection was poor .... bad umpiring ..... failed to apply ourselves ..... we learned a lot of things .... they tempered with the ball .... etc. etc !!!!

Not frustrated, I knew we would get exposed outside UAE/Sri Lanka.

I was going to write up and create a thread on my frustrations that happened today but just couldn't be bothered in the end.

Anyway what frustrated me today:

Poor team selection:

Why pick Ifthikar ? He bowls only 2 overs and looks like a part timer at best.
Would it not have been better to pick Imran Khan instead ? 5 bowlers and it would have also sent a message to the opposition. His domestic batting stats are nothing to shout about so bizzare selection.
In the last session England plundered 130 runs at 5 an over so don't tell me a 5th bowler wouldn't have made a difference.

Dropped catches:

We keep banging our heads on the wall about dropped chances but today proved to be at critical points of the game that proved costly - at least 150 runs and probably the game. You can not keep giving lives to good batsman, they will make you pay.

Bowling indiscipline

The bowling was good at times but also poor and wayward because of constant no balls (Wahab being the main culprit) and not keeping a disciplined full line and length. Misbah has to take some responsibility with his defensive field settings as well.
The bowlers should have just kept plugging away on a 4th or 5th stump line and a driving length all day - that's all you have to do in favourable bowling conditions but at times they were trying too hard and hence letting England off the hook.

Not frustrated, I knew we would get exposed outside UAE/Sri Lanka.

We haven't been exposed, we've let ourselves down. England hasn't been superior as you think or claim - even in the third test they were under the pump for four days except one last session that took the game away after which we played another horrible session to lose the match.

This test was ours for the taking and we bowled no-balls and dropped a crucial catch. It could easily have been 150 all-out but now we've a mountain to climb.

Yes, Yasir has been negated to a level that wasn't even imaginable. Even Moeen is doing better than him but other than that we've maintained England in a tight leash. This is why I'm frustrated, we could have and should have been better but the dagger that's in our heart has our own goddamn fingerprints (or more aptly, no finger prints because it slipped through our hands straight to our heart).

We haven't been exposed, we've let ourselves down. England hasn't been superior as you think or claim - even in the third test they were under the pump for four days except one last session that took the game away after which we played another horrible session to lose the match.

This test was ours for the taking and we bowled no-balls and dropped a crucial catch. It could easily have been 150 all-out but now we've a mountain to climb.

Yes, Yasir has been negated to a level that wasn't even imaginable. Even Moeen is doing better than him but other than that we've maintained England in a tight leash. This is why I'm frustrated, we could have and should have been better but the dagger that's in our heart has our own goddamn fingerprints (or more aptly, no finger prints because it slipped through our hands straight to our heart).

Beautifully put.

I was seriously depressed today.

Hopefully we can bat well tomorrow.

Not frustrated at all. I am actually surprised Pakistan is still in this series to this point considering their batting line up is weak and their bowling lacks depth or variation.In English conditions they've done well to make a contest of it in indsight.

These are the things that matter. What else does getting exposed mean.

We are not good enough outside Asia in any department. Our fielding is awful, our bowlers fail to respond when they are under attack and our batting crumbles under pressure.

Playing in the UAE pretty much negates all of this, because fielding in the slips is a bit easier because the ball doesn't travel as quickly as it does in other places, opposition batsmen generally don't read the conditions well enough to attack our bowlers, although we have struggled when they have attacked on the odd ocassion (3rd Test vs NZ), and the docile pitches pretty much negate any potential collapses, but again, we have shown cracks on odd ocassions (Abu Dhabi Test vs England; 2nd Test vs SA).

Before this series, the last time we stepped outside Asia, we got humiliated in SA and Zimbabwe. So yes, we have been definitely exposed.

The reason why we have competed in patches here is because although this England team is the best around these days and highly resilient, they are not as ruthless or powerful as SA of 2013 or the great Australian team before them, but we are no match for them in these conditions.

Our win at Lord's had a lot to do with England misreading Yasir Shah. Once they found a way to negate him, we have not been able to keep them under pressure for long, and they have prevailed over us throughout the last 3 Tests except for the first two days at Edgbaston.

We have confirmed in this series that we are a very side that is seriously devoid of world class cricketers, and playing in the UAE masked the failures of a lot of players.

Pakistan should be 130 all out by tea time tomorrow!
And england should wrap this match up by sunday, just in time for the pakistan players to celebrate pakistan independence day!

I agree, we just need to ensure that we bat positively. Pak would have taken bowling England out at the start of the day for 300 odd but they got 28 more runs. It's a flat deck which will get harder tomorrow as it's going to be a lovely day so the ball won't be doing as much.

Need to bat with intent and look to erase the deficit today.

These are the things that matter. What else does getting exposed mean.

We are not good enough outside Asia in any department. Our fielding is awful, our bowlers fail to respond when they are under attack and our batting crumbles under pressure.

Playing in the UAE pretty much negates all of this, because fielding in the slips is a bit easier because the ball doesn't travel as quickly as it does in other places, opposition batsmen generally don't read the conditions well enough to attack our bowlers, although we have struggled when they have attacked on the odd ocassion (3rd Test vs NZ), and the docile pitches pretty much negate any potential collapses, but again, we have shown cracks on odd ocassions (Abu Dhabi Test vs England; 2nd Test vs SA).

Before this series, the last time we stepped outside Asia, we got humiliated in SA and Zimbabwe. So yes, we have been definitely exposed.

The reason why we have competed in patches here is because although this England team is the best around these days and highly resilient, they are not as ruthless or powerful as SA of 2013 or the great Australian team before them, but we are no match for them in these conditions.

Our win at Lord's had a lot to do with England misreading Yasir Shah. Once they found a way to negate him, we have not been able to keep them under pressure for long, and they have prevailed over us throughout the last 3 Tests except for the first two days at Edgbaston.

We have confirmed in this series that we are a very side that is seriously devoid of world class cricketers, and playing in the UAE masked the failures of a lot of players.

Oh come on Mamoon, don't be that guy please. You are too good a poster (and cricket observer) to not realize the difference between getting exposed and playing ok'ish cricket but still losing.

We threw away last test with pathetic negative batting.

The dropped catches and the no ball wicket really ****** me off yesterday! the azhar drop was unacceptable.

Very frustrated and disappointed as I think we could have won this test series. What has stopped us winning or drawing this series (I hope not) is poor squad selection. You select your best 15 players not select best 11 and then pick any useless few to make numbers up and send your other best replacement players in the A team or not even select them at all.
Poor from Inzy I am afraid and who ever else selected the squad. With better replacements in squad we could have won this series or drawn it easily I still hope we do draw it.
Few of players in the squad wouldn't even get into the A team and they getting a place in a test match in England.

A little less frustrated today but still frustrated about how Misbah and Iftikhar missed the chance to secure a lead of at least 200.

Can't blame poor Iftikhar, he shouldn't be playing in the first place. As said previously poor squad selection. Any of Babar Azam, Fawad, Nawaz, Imad and their are few more that are better then Iftikhar.

I'm cool. I knew we had no chance coming in to the series. Happy that we're finally starting to clean up TTFs and it won't be long before Azhar is sacked. Heading in the right direction.

A bit annoyed with our strategy and selections

But not that frustrated because we are playing a brand of cricket that is outdated. It's just reality - these current players are not good enough.

Let's hope some changes happen next series and we see a different strategy after today's disaster.

I was laughing at all our misfields and dropped catches/chances. Doesn't even hurt anymore...I swear. Feeling like a Bangladeshi fan, nowadays.

Hella frustrated.

We were far far too poor in the field and crossed all limits.

But as mentioned above, I've cooled down a bit, once again in the dream of TTFs being shown the door...

Probably the most embarrassed I've felt as a Pakistani fan in a long time. Just a week ago we were celebrating reaching number 1 in tests but now we end up conceding the highest ever total in ODIs. I never thought I see the day we concede 400 in ODIs let alone the highest ever total. Total embarrassment and very frustrating.

Not much, I knew 5-0 was almost certain.

They had a hiding in 3rd ODI, but made a match of the 2nd ODI; which balances out. As I said many times, I was damn upset with 1996/99 team not to win the Cup; I am more than happy with current team to make the CT cut.

Also, I think, this is not a bad performance actually (3rd ODI was a bit too much, but not the other two). PAK conceded bonus points to BD in all 3 ODIs, managed to smash Mugabe's Zimboks 2-1 both time away & lost 7 out of 8 ODI in UAE against Poms - so, it's not a bad performance actually.

Those who are extremely frustrated actually has no idea how ugly it could have been had WY still been in charge. In English County, PAK'll easily get relegated from Division 1, in List A competition - 3 months back, I would have said that in Div 2.

Taking this hiding as an opportunity to snipe at WY? If he was the problem Mickey Arthur should have seen the solution right away. Problems with this team are not skin deep, WY's recommendations are part of the solution.

Not frustrated at all. Very happy and optimistic.
What usually takes a new coach too long to do is happening right away.
All the guys past their sell by date have been given their marching orders/
I am so glad for the 2016 calendar. No place for Hafeez, Malik, gul etc to hide. No easy series against Sri Lanka or Zimbabwe to rebuild their careers after a disastrous series.

Not frustrated at all, knew from day 1 that England would win it at least by 4-1 margin.

Not frustrated at all. Very happy and optimistic.
What usually takes a new coach too long to do is happening right away.
All the guys past their sell by date have been given their marching orders/
I am so glad for the 2016 calendar. No place for Hafeez, Malik, gul etc to hide. No easy series against Sri Lanka or Zimbabwe to rebuild their careers after a disastrous series.

Well talk is cheap of course, lets see if Mickey is able to convince Inzi for moving on from seniors AND not turning back to them when we continue to lose (this will take 3-4 years) while building a team and more importantly a new identity with a new captain and brand of cricket.