Pakistani matchwinners at the Champions Trophy?

Saj

Pakistani matchwinners looking a bit thin on the ground these days, but who do you think are the potential matchwinners for Pakistan at the Champions Trophy?

Mohammad Amir? Shadab Khan? Imad Wasim?

Which are the players who can win matches singlehandedly for Pakistan at the Champions Trophy?

.Babar Azam
.Shoaib Malik
.Sarfaraz Ahmed
.Shadab Khan
.Hassan Ali
.Mohammad Amir

Shadab
Amir
Babar
Hafeez (top ICC-ranked allrounder in the world and our top 2-3 bat in the last 2 years).

Babar and Hafeez, if they click, can make daddy hundreds.. if pitches are good for batting, Hafeez will enjoy the pace and batting on such surfaces.

Do not expect those to succeed who can only play spinners from the minnow teams.

A few weeks away and it still feels like early April in England. The bowlers should do well and I expect Amir to win a couple of matches for Pakistan. Imad could also be a surprise having done well in England previoiusly.

amir, hassan, hafeez(if he clicks, otherwise he can lose us matches singlehandedly as well)

Imad Wasim & Amir in the bowling. Babar & Sarfaraz in the batting.

If I had to pick one person, I would pick Imad Wasim.

LOL at people who were calling for Amirs heads few weeks ago suddenly calling him a match winner now.. koi dharam Imaan nahi hai logon ka...

Shadab
Amir
Babar
Hafeez (top ICC-ranked allrounder in the world and our top 2-3 bat in the last 2 years).

Babar and Hafeez, if they click, can make daddy hundreds.. if pitches are good for batting, Hafeez will enjoy the pace and batting on such surfaces.

Do not expect those to succeed who can only play spinners from the minnow teams.

Hafeez on England pitches .. :)))

Why not? :malik Lesser evil.

sru0FP.jpg

:malik

At least Hafeez has redeemed himself in the last 2 years, averaging 40 against the good sides.

Just banking on his good form and ability to score daddy hundreds on good batting pitches.

sru0FP.jpg

At least Hafeez has redeemed himself in the last 2 years, averaging 40 against the good sides.

Just banking on his good form and ability to score daddy hundreds on good batting pitches.

Past is Past who cares.. But At this moment shoaib malik is batting far better then Hafeez.. Shoaib playing unselfishly while Hafeez is still trying cement his positiin and aying to save his spot. there us a difference. Shoaib will happily bat at any position asked but the Hafeez will cry and moan to bat at top 3. In Top 3 he is a failure who will fail day in day out.

This is an ICC event, pitches will be very neutral, meaning unusually flatter compared to typical English pitches. No need to compare past performances.

Ahmed Shehzad and Azhar Ali

The funny thing is they are likely to amongst the top performers for Pakistan anyway. Shehzad likes the ball onto his bat and the flat pitches dished out in England for the CT will suit his liking. Azhar will take his time but expect him to come good atleast once.

current squad didn't have the quality to win single handed they need to perform as a team everyone need to contribute.

I can't say about match winners. But, if you ask me about match losers, i have it on my fingertips.

1.A ALI
2.A SHEHZAD(KING OF IT)
4..M HAFEEZ
6.U AKMAL
9.W RIAZ
11.J KHAN

So, 6 in a playing 11. With 3, being in top 4.

sru0FP.jpg

agree with Hawkeye sahib!

Hafeez has been to our ODI team what YK has been to our test team.

All of our ODI success if any has had major contribution from Hafeez in the last 7 years and yet people hate him. Unless there are better players than Hafeez he should be applaud for his services.:salute

There are no match winners in the side , hate it or love it the closest thing we have is mohammad hafeez.

I doubt Babar will be a matchwinner unless the opponent is West Indies... so that rules him out of the equation

Pakistani matchwinners looking a bit thin on the ground these days, but who do you think are the potential matchwinners for Pakistan at the Champions Trophy?

Mohammad Amir? Shadab Khan? Imad Wasim?

Which are the players who can win matches singlehandedly for Pakistan at the Champions Trophy?

Dude, on what basis did you mention Amir? He has been mediocre since his comeback in ODI cricket. Our best ODI bowler has been Hasan Ali, but you didn't even mention him. Sorry, but I smell bias in your post.

Potential much winners Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal & Mohd Amir

i can't say about match winners. But, if you ask me about match losers, i have it on my fingertips.

1.a ali
2.a shehzad(king of it)
4..m hafeez
6.u akmal
9.w riaz
11.j khan

so, 6 in a playing 11. With 3, being in top 4.

potw

I have hopes from Babar, Shadab, Fakhar, Fahim and Hasan.

Guy mentioning Fahim Ashraf in match winner list is questioning Amirs Ability?? Dude r u out of ur mind or what?? Do u even watch live cricket or just go through stats at the end?

The prayers of the Pakistani public who will be observing fasts during Ramadan.

It will be 1992 all over again InshAllah :imran

As this team stands right now, it is not some magic match-winner that we must rely on.

Efforts must be collective, sorting out our opening and have a performing player like Aamer Yamin in the lower order will benefit our ODI side.

Past is Past who cares.. But At this moment shoaib malik is batting far better then Hafeez.. Shoaib playing unselfishly while Hafeez is still trying cement his positiin and aying to save his spot. there us a difference. Shoaib will happily bat at any position asked but the Hafeez will cry and moan to bat at top 3. In Top 3 he is a failure who will fail day in day out.

I have never seen Malik, Hafeez, Sarfraz, Misbah, Shezad, Azhar play well against quality fast bowling anywhere in the world? When we had ever seen these guys score against AUS/SA/ENG bowlers?? - AUS now has 3 90 MPH bowlers(Strac, Cummins, Patty, HW is not stooch either), SA has Rabadha, David Morison, Morkel, England has Wood, Plumkin, even Jordan and Stroke is too much for them to handle...None of these players can play 145 Clicks bowling no matter how flat is wicket...The reason we lost the very last test because WI bowled back of the length and short pitch at these guys and they were are dud...Even Wahab was star in PSL, because he can bowl 145 clicks, which nobody in Pakistan can play

Pakistan has no scope against big boys, These are all rubbish players. There are few embarrassing defeats coming our way, that's about it :facepalm:

sru0FP.jpg

Your post originally identifies that Hafeez has been redeeming himself in the last 2 years, while no mention of Malik. So to clarify things, here are the performances of the Pak batsmen:

https://imgur.com/gallery/qby8Z

(I apologise for links, I don't have access to a computer atm)

From here we can see that Malik has outshone Hafeez in every way possible. Average of 58 with a SR of 100 in the last 2 years is world class. Hafeez is no way near that. So much for all this redemption business. Remember we played NZ, Eng, WI, AUS all within the past 2 years and these are 'good sides', mostly.

However, I'm not a pro-x player or anti-y player. I want what's best for Pakistan cricket. Since we're playing in England, and only 'recent form' matters (within past 2 years), the only time we can use is the recent 2016 ODI series, which is seem below:

https://imgur.com/gallery/IVoF2

Hafeez only played one innings, scored 11. I believe he got injured or something along them lines. Malik had an average of 30, SR 83, pretty average to be frank.

Back to the original statement: Malik is a better player than Hafeez and it's crazy that you think otherwise. I like Hafeez in that he can get stuck in and score big but be doesn't do that often enough. Malik trumps Hafeez with his attacking flair and modern day cricket despite playing lower down the order. And like I said, if you're hoping Hafeez will do well based off current form in Pak Cup then you have to say the same regarding Malik in international matches.

Do we not have any update situation on Sharjeel?

If PCB fail to provide substantial evidence against Sharjeel then they should be obligated to compensate him for missed earnings and also damage to reputation. Issues like these should not be left lingering.

Do we not have any update situation on Sharjeel?

If PCB fail to provide substantial evidence against Sharjeel then they should be obligated to compensate him for missed earnings and also damage to reputation. Issues like these should not be left lingering.

Just been updated on another thread. TL;DR, nothing new as of yet re: Sharjeel/Latif

Check his List A bowling average, dude. He is a decent wicket taker in the One Day format.
I couldn't care less about his stats.

He's a rubbish bowler and a decent lower order hitter on his day.

Dude, on what basis did you mention Amir? He has been mediocre since his comeback in ODI cricket. Our best ODI bowler has been Hasan Ali, but you didn't even mention him. Sorry, but I smell bias in your post.

I suggest you watch highlights of his bowling in the current series against West Indies. He's looked the best he has since his comeback.

Big performances needed from Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir in this tournament if Pakistan are to reach the semi-finals.

I have never seen Malik, Hafeez, Sarfraz, Misbah, Shezad, Azhar play well against quality fast bowling anywhere in the world? When we had ever seen these guys score against AUS/SA/ENG bowlers?? - AUS now has 3 90 MPH bowlers(Strac, Cummins, Patty, HW is not stooch either), SA has Rabadha, David Morison, Morkel, England has Wood, Plumkin, even Jordan and Stroke is too much for them to handle...None of these players can play 145 Clicks bowling no matter how flat is wicket...The reason we lost the very last test because WI bowled back of the length and short pitch at these guys and they were are dud...Even Wahab was star in PSL, because he can bowl 145 clicks, which nobody in Pakistan can play

Pakistan has no scope against big boys, These are all rubbish players. There are few embarrassing defeats coming our way, that's about it :facepalm:

I agree...
people here being naming Nawaz and hafeez as match winner... I will quote shoaib akhter lines " pagal hi ho gaye hai sab ke sab"

Your post originally identifies that Hafeez has been redeeming himself in the last 2 years, while no mention of Malik. So to clarify things, here are the performances of the Pak batsmen:

https://imgur.com/gallery/qby8Z

(I apologise for links, I don't have access to a computer atm)

From here we can see that Malik has outshone Hafeez in every way possible. Average of 58 with a SR of 100 in the last 2 years is world class. Hafeez is no way near that. So much for all this redemption business. Remember we played NZ, Eng, WI, AUS all within the past 2 years and these are 'good sides', mostly.

However, I'm not a pro-x player or anti-y player. I want what's best for Pakistan cricket. Since we're playing in England, and only 'recent form' matters (within past 2 years), the only time we can use is the recent 2016 ODI series, which is seem below:

https://imgur.com/gallery/IVoF2

Hafeez only played one innings, scored 11. I believe he got injured or something along them lines. Malik had an average of 30, SR 83, pretty average to be frank.

Back to the original statement: Malik is a better player than Hafeez and it's crazy that you think otherwise. I like Hafeez in that he can get stuck in and score big but be doesn't do that often enough. Malik trumps Hafeez with his attacking flair and modern day cricket despite playing lower down the order. And like I said, if you're hoping Hafeez will do well based off current form in Pak Cup then you have to say the same regarding Malik in international matches.

hahahaha bro these people doesnt watch live cricket they just go through stats and post stats which suits their argument...

Check his List A bowling average, dude. He is a decent wicket taker in the One Day format.

According to List A shehzad should score a hundred every few matches... then why he doesnt do so in international cricket can u explain pls??

No one. We need to recall Shahid Afridi. We could not produce a match winner like him in the last 5-6 years unfortunately.

I suggest you watch highlights of his bowling in the current series against West Indies. He's looked the best he has since his comeback.

I am talking about ODI cricket, dude. Hasan Ali out bowled him in the ODI series.

I couldn't care less about his stats.

He's a rubbish bowler and a decent lower order hitter on his day.

You seem jealous. He is not rubbish at all, and did you even watch his brutal hitting in his most recent game in Pakistan Cup?

According to List A shehzad should score a hundred every few matches... then why he doesnt do so in international cricket can u explain pls??

It is not necessary that a player will replicate his domestic record at International level, but it doesn't mean that domestic record is not the best standard.

exactly my point... every one who has seen fahim ashraf bowling wont expect anything from him.. he is a trundler who gets few wickets when batsmen charge him..

What but you shehzads fan boy few weeks ago.. where you were defending him for his domestic performance.

I'm not a Shehzad fan boy, but I believe he is a better option than Azhar and Masood in ODIs and Tests respectively. He isn't a match-winner, but he can certainly improve on that front. I am interested in seeing where he stands after working with Mickey for a year.

exactly my point... every one who has seen fahim ashraf bowling wont expect anything from him.. he is a trundler who gets few wickets when batsmen charge him..

I expect from him, as I find him a decent prospect.

Shadab
Amir
Babar

you must be kidding reagrdng the player u mentioned after babar..

I'm not a Shehzad fan boy, but I believe he is a better option than Azhar and Masood in ODIs and Tests respectively. He isn't a match-winner, but he can certainly improve on that front. I am interested in seeing where he stands after working with Mickey for a year.

Did he work with Mickey? Shehzad?

Again wrong .. he should be nowhere near the Odi team because he is leg side hoick player.. Atleast azhar doesnt give away his wivket in Odi that easily.. once set he covers up his strike rate as well. shehzad just blocks 30 40 balls and then plays a rash shot to get out.. Sami aslam and Fakhar zaman are still better even the Umer amin would do a better job.

Not in Tests, argument can be made in ODIs. Like a previous poster said, Azhar doesn't give his wicket away and we've seen evidence of that with his balls/innings, only second to Sangakarra in the last 5 years, suggesting he stays at the crease abd does it well. It's true that if he was a tad more attacking he'd have a higher average but he could also have gotten out doing so too.

Yes that is what I said. Shehzad is better than Azhar in ODIs but not in Tests. Azhar is world class in Tests at the moment, his temperament and defensive game is at a different level to Shehzad's.

You seem jealous. He is not rubbish at all, and did you even watch his brutal hitting in his most recent game in Pakistan Cup?
Jealous of what exactly?

I've literally been saying the entire time that he's a decent lower order hitter on his day.

The less said about his bowling the better.

I expect from him, as I find him a decent prospect.
What exactly do you see in him?

Personally, I see nothing special. Pathetic pace, pathetic action and minimal movement off the seam and limited capacity to swing the ball.

When his batting comes into the equation he can hit him them on his days.

Bowling wise, Fahim Ashraf is better. Batting wise, Yamin is slightly ahead, but Fahim can hit big, and that too brutally.
Yamin is far ahead in terms of batting- there's no comparison between him and Ashraf.