Pakistani music fans club!

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8_Yz2hUmfIU" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

I am listening to this these days.

5 poets ki shayari combined. Really nice.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/e1HILRiD5gU" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Beautiful adaptation of jaun elia's depressing ghazal by haider iqbal.

Listened to it all day today. Lovely slow song and Jaun's shayari <3
Thanks bhai.

Somehow the link is taken down so i am posting another link of same song.

The best Pakistani song ever is chand sa mukhra by Ali haider. Golden days of Pakistan music!

Any Sindhi posters here?
Sanam Marvi has to be the biggest name in Sindhi Sufi Music. Listening to her these days after some days. One of my fav singers.

I listen to music very seldom, in fact trying to quit it, but I hear Coke Studio and Nescafé having alot of success, alot of praise from India.

My all time fav song
Teri yaad by Jal
There should be some research done on this song. Outta the world composition <3

^gosh, it took 1 minutes and 40 seconds before the lyrics actually started. A big no no in the year 2019.

That ‘Shamaan Pai Gaiyaan’ part is just out of the world...

Sung beautifully by Kashif Ali.

^gosh, it took 1 minutes and 40 seconds before the lyrics actually started. A big no no in the year 2019.

Bhai 2004 ka gaana hai.

Plus just start from the lyrics if you dont like the starting guitars and music.

Nahi pasand aaya gaana to paisay wapis :p

Better than the Mika Singh version lol :)

Gosh we really have some underrated singing talent in Pakistan...

I know few people who know multiple languages and they say Pak music is way ahead of others. Even some of our unknown and underground singers are next level.

2003-2011 was the best era of Pak music where countless bands came on the scene but due to security reasons in the country and declying album culture we slowly fell down. Thats why you see every other Pak singer who goes to India becomes a hit (Mustafa (Roxen), Atif (ex-Jal), Rahat etc)..

Now again we are coming back as musicians are getting the appreciation they deserve. It will take few years but i think we will come back!

I am sure bollywood walas know more about Pakistani music than the Pakistanis living in Pakistan. They are continously looking for new inspiration(copying?).

I am amazed how in 1990's when there was no google and social media they came to know about Pakistani songs? I don't think we had Pakistani channels in India during that time? :inti

I am sure bollywood walas know more about Pakistani music than the Pakistanis living in Pakistan. They are continously looking for new inspiration(copying?).

I am amazed how in 1990's when there was no google and social media they came to know about Pakistani songs? I don't think we had Pakistani channels in India during that time? :inti

Its a tragedy that Pakistanis living in Pakistan and outside Pakistan are more into Indian filmy music rather than our own music. They know Atif from his Indian movie songs not from his 3 hit albums. They dont know the hit Indian song Awari is sung by Soch band. They dont know that Falak is the voice behind the beautiful song Mera Mann. Infact they dont even know who is Falak.

No wonder Pak muscians are either going to other countries to earn a livelihood or have moved to drama industry like Farhan, Gohar(Jal), Junaid (Call) etc.

I know few people who know multiple languages and they say Pak music is way ahead of others. Even some of our unknown and underground singers are next level.

2003-2011 was the best era of Pak music where countless bands came on the scene but due to security reasons in the country and declying album culture we slowly fell down. Thats why you see every other Pak singer who goes to India becomes a hit (Mustafa (Roxen), Atif (ex-Jal), Rahat etc)..

Now again we are coming back as musicians are getting the appreciation they deserve. It will take few years but i think we will come back!
No wonder why Bollywood is crazy about NFAK, RFAK, Atif Aslam...

After all it is the beauty of Urdu... everything sounds sweeter and better in Urdu.

Many people now will think I’m ‘illiterate’ but I feel very very bad whenever I see fellow Pakistanis here in Holland suddenly talk in Dutch whenever they see another Pakistani, it literally boils my blood. :(

I mean if you are not proud of your own roots, how would you expect from someone else to recognize your country?

No wonder why Bollywood is crazy about NFAK, RFAK, Atif Aslam...

After all it is the beauty of Urdu... everything sounds sweeter and better in Urdu.

Many people now will think I’m ‘illiterate’ but I feel very very bad whenever I see fellow Pakistanis here in Holland suddenly talk in Dutch whenever they see another Pakistani, it literally boils my blood. :(

I mean if you are not proud of your own roots, how would you expect from someone else to recognize your country?

Bilkul sahi baat hai yar. And really pleased to hear that you prefer Urdu.

Also our obsession with English and everything English. Even on this forum you will see majority of the hate that players like Sarfaraz get is because they cant speak english.

I personally prefer Urdu too, its a beautiful language and also our National language and to be honest my english isnt that good.

Piracy is the reason artists quit making albums and instead started releasing singles. In Pakistan artists aren't protected so whatever hard work they put in an album it's for nothing.

Yes concerts took a hit because of security reasons and that was the only revenue they had forcing them to either go somewhere else or get into acting etc.

Piracy is the reason artists quit making albums and instead started releasing singles. In Pakistan artists aren't protected so whatever hard work they put in an album it's for nothing.

Yes concerts took a hit because of security reasons and that was the only revenue they had forcing them to either go somewhere else or get into acting etc.

Forgot to add: labels haven't been supportive either especially guys like Fire records (GEO).

I really miss those times but it is what it is. There used to be a time I used to be glued to ARY The Musik or AAG tv with the Vj's doing some good programs promoting Pak music. It's all gone now.

Bilkul sahi baat hai yar. And really pleased to hear that you prefer Urdu.

Also our obsession with English and everything English. Even on this forum you will see majority of the hate that players like Sarfaraz get is because they cant speak english.

I personally prefer Urdu too, its a beautiful language and also our National language and to be honest my english isnt that good.
Bhai dil ki baat karto ho aap meri :)

And your English is very good imo.

Glad to see atleast there are people who are proud of their own roots.

:pkflag

Forgot to add: labels haven't been supportive either especially guys like Fire records (GEO).

I really miss those times but it is what it is. There used to be a time I used to be glued to ARY The Musik or AAG tv with the Vj's doing some good programs promoting Pak music. It's all gone now.

Agree with your both posts.

Its so sad how our music has declined.

But it has again started getting better.

Agree with your both posts.

Its so sad how our music has declined.

But it has again started getting better.

Got better how? Nescafe basement, coke studio or Pepsi battle of the bands?

It will only be revived once underground artists start making original music instead of doing covers.

Got better how? Nescafe basement, coke studio or Pepsi battle of the bands?

It will only be revived once underground artists start making original music instead of doing covers.

No not talking about coke studio etc, talking about young singers and bands. It will take time to re-emerge but atleast the music scene has started again.

How do you get these updates? Most music promoting websites are either down or interested in something else.

Mostly youtube and sometimes patari and google.

To be honest i listen to Pak songs a lot when i am at home or at work and keep track of upcoming songs. The quality is still quite a bit behind the golden era but still some nice songs are coming.

For example the band Bayaan got famous from Pepsi Battle of The Band but even before that they produced quality music in the form of Din Dhalay and Farda.

New song by Kashmir, winners of Pepsi Battle of Bands from a couple of years ago. I love it.

New Pakistani music is bad but current Indian music makes it seem like Mozart

[MENTION=143023]SarfiBabarHaris[/MENTION] what a rendition to this NFAK masterpiece...

Teri zaat hai az oh jal tu har muskhil ka hal...

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/jyITn1nOtsU" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Mausam by JOSH.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Uys8KCzFKwY" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

"Tamasha" or "apna khaka" another
jaun elia's poem adapted by haider iqbal.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GKcwv8wcPW8" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
"Dil e nadan"by By bahauddin qutubuddin qawwal.
Ghalib's ghazal sung like qawalli with retro music.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/jyITn1nOtsU" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Mausam by JOSH.
Classic.

This one was one of the first Pakistani songs which I liked.

Power-pack performance. Baffles my mind to see them eliminated :o
For me the best band of last 3 seasons. <3

They deserved to be in the finals.
I have loved Auj's performances in this season but Black Hour were easily better than Auj in that battle.
Auj set the standards pretty after their first performance but Black Hour gave some incredible performances that weren't that much appreciated.Aik nayi subah and Lafz Nahi Hai Mere Paas have been my two favourites from this season.

They deserved to be in the finals.
I have loved Auj's performances in this season but Black Hour were easily better than Auj in that battle.
Auj set the standards pretty after their first performance but Black Hour gave some incredible performances that weren't that much appreciated.Aik nayi subah and Lafz Nahi Hai Mere Paas have been my two favourites from this season.

Auj's first song of the season was really good but after that they didnt produce any woww performance. Black Hour was easily better than Auj in this episode but judges were biased towards Auj. Even most of the youtube comments are in favor of Black Hour and people are astonished how Auj got into the finals.

Completely agree with you.
Black hour were hard done by.

My favorite act these days:

Yes, it’s in English, since they’ve only just started venturing into Urdu lyrics, but I found it very soothing in our current mood of collective wistfulness...

" Nishan" by yaaruq . Dope song.
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/bi6pwaW7zZU" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

This one grows on you: mellow, with an apposite sepia-hued video.

The only gripe I have is that the guitar is playing repetitive hackneyed first position cowboy arpeggios. What's the point of a Grammy-winning musician playing if they don't contribute anything of any novelty?

Came across this on Patari. There was a rendition of this song performed on Coke Studio too a few years back, by the Sheedi singer Tahir Mithu.

It looks like The Sketches are beginning to inspire other folk-rock acts in Sindh.

<iframe width="100%" height="420" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" src="https://w.patari.pk/player_widget?type=song&target=Faizi-Ahmed-Pere-Pawndi-Rendition"></iframe>

This venture called Bigfoot Music has got some good songs, mostly from unknown artistes. This one though is from Omran Shafique's Chand Tara Orchestra. I like this rendition better than their album version:

... and speaking of unknown artistes on Bigfoot Music, I felt this was one of the standouts.

The one detail that sets a ghazal apart from all others is the novelty of the radeef (refrain). Otherwise, the topics covered do not necessarily span a wide gamut: spurned lovers, unrequited feelings et al. The refrain here, "baith gaya," or "sat down," is quite unique.

What happened to the Pakistan music industry?

It seems to be going down in the dumps. Even Coke Studio's quality has fallen badly. What is going on? Atif Aslam busy in singing naats and Rahat nowhere to be seen. The only hope is the Young Stunners but I see them going down soon too because their content is a bit too much for heavily conservative society of Pakistan.

All the great ones split. Junoon, Strings, Vital Signs to name just three. NFAK passed away too young followed by Mehndi Hasan. Long before that Nazia and Zoheb Hassan quit the scene without being replaced by anyone half decent. Alamgir is finished as too is Sajjad Ali, Ghulam Ali does not sing anymore so now the well is dry. The Benjamin sisters sang beautifully too from what I have seen, being non Muslim's they gave us a tolerant image as well before the Islamization of the country began.

Farhad Humayun passes away

Overload's frontman Farhad Humayun passed away on Tuesday, the band announced on social media. Taking to the Facebook page, a post read, "The magnificent Farhad Humayun left us for the stars this morning. Stoic in the face of challenges, uncompromising in his values, generous to a fault, witty as hell! Fadi was far too ahead of his time, both in spirit and art."

The post further read, "He would want us to celebrate his life, so we request his family, friends and fans to honour him and say a prayer for him today."

"We can almost hear him say these words by David Bowie: “I don’t know where I’m going from here, but I promise it won’t be boring”. Godspeed our gentle giant and thank you for creating a riot!" the post concluded.

Soon after the news broke out, Overload's former lead vocalist Meesha Shafi took to social media and paid tribute to the late musician.

"RIP Fadi,' the Coke Studio singer tweeted, adding, "Thinking only of the good times we shared. My career in music began with Overload. We were at loggerheads at times but made some undeniably good music on the way. This is just one of those brilliant songs. Sharing this in your memory."

Express Tribune

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="und" dir="ltr">Rest in Peace <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/farhadhumayun?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#farhadhumayun</a> . It was a tough battle and you fought hard. Aagay Allah ki marzi. Prayers & respect. <br><br>انا للہ وانا الیہ راجعون <a href="https://t.co/ETz3uaEVHP">pic.twitter.com/ETz3uaEVHP</a></p>— Shoaib Akhtar (@shoaib100mph) <a href="https://twitter.com/shoaib100mph/status/1402343485295009792?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 8, 2021</a></blockquote>

Given the vast Mirpuri diaspora, Pothwari music hasn't really carried over?.

People listen to bhangra which has has culturally whitewashed desi culture yet the mother tongue is being left behind and needs reviving.

Given the vast Mirpuri diaspora, Pothwari music hasn't really carried over?.

People listen to bhangra which has has culturally whitewashed desi culture yet the mother tongue is being left behind and needs reviving.

punjabis made much better music, look at the music scene from the midlands, from guys like bally sagoo, rishi rich, jay sean, rdb, zeus, i don't even know who the modern guys are tbh, if there was any Pakistani lads they couldn't compete, growing up in east London all the asians, Pakistani, indian, bengladeshi, were all into punjabi music and for the 00s at least it became the sound of all asians, not just sikhs.

I'm a pothwari ethnically, but 70%, if not more, of my desi playlist is punjabi.