Pakistani seniority and elders complex culture

Hamza_

I have been very critical of double standards of the society when it comes to discrimination of elders and youngers within family or society as a whole. It is every where be it cricket or any other part of life.

I have very pathetic experience with this stuff, Not only it demoralizes you but also it takes all your confidence down as a person. I may even share my own experience.

Why is it that if you are an elder you can do anything you want and make the younger person feel like they are worst creations of God or take it down to at abuse level? Why it is that right isn't considered right and wrong isn't considered wrong?

Would like to hear from [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] over this as well as possible solutions.

Good thread. Most Pakistani elders expect unconditional respect due to the age factor even if they are spiteful people. I hate this culture that exists in the Pakistani community where every elder person is an "Uncle" or "Aunty" even if they're unrelated. We also have an eating complex as well!!:ahmed This is when Pakistanis visit each other and refuse any food when it's offered even if you're starving!!:)) I never do this, a cup of tea will be great, thanks! After all why should we be shy from our Aunt's and Uncle's!!?

I have been going through some terrible circumstances throughout my teenage due to this. And it still hasn't ended yet and I'm 21 rather recently gone on to such a level where my late father was abused. Not only it deteriorates the person but also gets them totally down. I can share my experience which I suffered lately

I have lost you a bit here. Your Dad was abused due to being elderly??

No. I was hurled abuses and in mean while my father (late) was also abused which I found almost unbearable.

Well elders are treated with more respect in the Eastern Hemisphere. Which is good. You won't see many elderly homes in Asia. But I agree that some of these elders abuse their power. And they ask for utmost respect even their actions are disgusting. So that's a problem. But we shouldn't disrespect our elders regardless of how mean they are. Just look at the example of Ibrahim (pbuh) and his dad. His father used to abuse him and act very harshly towards him. But Ibrahim (pbuh) would only treat him great amounts of respect. He would be very gentle and kind towards his father. May Allah (swt) improve the relations between elders and younger people.

If pointing out something wrong as wrong is disrespecting elders, So be it. Please don't bring in religion here

Would like to hear from [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] over this as well as possible solutions.

Look fist of all I sympathise with you if you are metted with injustice and I pray that things improve and become better InshAllah.

I am proud of Islam's teachings of Respect of Elders and treating younger ones with kindness and compassion.

I try in my daily life to uphold both these values. I try my level best.

In a family setup if someone elder says something to be while being critic or guides me in say in strong way than I analyse it rationally. Mostly i find it to be worthy and for my betterment and I like to learn from my experiences aswell as exleriences of my elders and loved ones.

But ...... I have some self drawn lines of principles and honour and there is no compromise on self respect and dignity. If I have to face such a situation amongst elders or juniors at any place than I stand for my rights. As I am an indivisual after all and not a toy or a tool.

So if your elder (whosoever) is trying to boss you un-necessarily while your stance and action is perfectly alright than stand up for your rights and do not compromise. You are not a slave. You are not an inferior being.

I have no issue in giving extra respect to any elder but I hope and expect him to be a shelter as elder to me and treat me with compassion and kindness (shafqat not hamdardi)

So if someone is misusing his authority than oppose him in civil manner and stand your ground and make that person realise that No not your way NO.

In all this talk remember sometimes what we think is not right but we think we are right. So one should have good introspective skills or else a neutral judge. Personally I do not have habit of involving 3rd person.

Princes Charles is the eldest son of the Queen. He gets to be King if/when the Queen abdicates or dies.

The next in line is Prince Charles eldest son, Prince William.

The next in line after that is Prince William's eldest child, Prince George.

Meaning that the Queen's other two sons, the Queen's daughter, Prince Charles youngest son Prince Harry and everyone else drops down the order with each new "1st born of the 1st born of the 1st born..."

So stop this delusion that somehow it's just a 'Pakistani thing' where the senior most gets the privilege. Just live with it :))

(incidentally, I'm the eldest child in the family!)

I feel that adressing an older person as aunty or an uncle is one of the better things in our culture and I have instilled this in my children as non negotiable. My children lose nothing and are treated with kindness for the respect shown. I feel sorry for you if you see this as a problem. I do agree with you about the food bit, I have done this a few times.

Princes Charles is the eldest son of the Queen. He gets to be King if/when the Queen abdicates or dies.

Meaning that the Queen's other two sons, the Queen's daughter, Prince Charles youngest son Prince Harry and everyone else drops down the order with each new "1st born of the 1st born of the 1st born..."

So stop this delusion that somehow it's just a 'Pakistani thing' where the senior most gets the privilege. Just live with it :))

It's more of Pakistani thing due to religious element and social set up. Actually a higher level one

If pointing out something wrong as wrong is disrespecting elders, So be it. Please don't bring in religion here

Hamza it depends upon situation. Sometimes pointing the wrong is a must and sometimes it's better to be patient and keep that opinion to yourself.

If somebody is abusing your late father than stop him verbally and say that it is not tolerable at all. If that person modifies fine otherwise leave his company and pray for his hidayat.

Look fist of all I sympathise with you if you are metted with injustice and I pray that things improve and become better InshAllah.

I am proud of Islam's teachings of Respect of Elders and treating younger ones with kindness and compassion.

I try in my daily life to uphold both these values. I try my level best.

In a family setup if someone elder says something to be while being critic or guides me in say in strong way than I analyse it rationally. Mostly i find it to be worthy and for my betterment and I like to learn from my experiences aswell as exleriences of my elders and loved ones.

But ...... I have some self drawn lines of principles and honour and there is no compromise on self respect and dignity. If I have to face such a situation amongst elders or juniors at any place than I stand for my rights. As I am an indivisual after all and not a toy or a tool.

So if your elder (whosoever) is trying to boss you un-necessarily while your stance and action is perfectly alright than stand up for your rights and do not compromise. You are not a slave. You are not an inferior being.

I have no issue in giving extra respect to any elder but I hope and expect him to be a shelter as elder to me and treat me with compassion and kindness (shafqat not hamdardi)

So if someone is misusing his authority than oppose him in civil manner and stand your ground and make that person realise that No not your way NO.

In all this talk remember sometimes what we think is not right but we think we are right. So one should have good introspective skills or else a neutral judge. Personally I do not have habit of involving 3rd person.

Issue is with my Chacha Jee(Mostly has been with him). Even third person says what I did was totally justified and fair but what he did is very unfair. However he is stuck over his stance and even now is not accepting his mistake.

Hamza it depends upon situation. Sometimes pointing the wrong is a must and sometimes it's better to be patient and keep that opinion to yourself.

If somebody is abusing your late father than stop him verbally and say that it is not tolerable at all. If that person modifies fine otherwise leave his company and pray for his hidayat.

He thinks of himself as GOD maybe, Literally so high as he could never be wrong and he is totally Mr perfectionist in his matters.

It's more of Pakistani thing due to religious element and social set up. Actually a higher level one
No it's not.

And it has nothing to do with religion. Seniority privileges (age wise, how far up/down the sibling ladder..) have existed throughout history, in virtually every society, in every religion / in societies with no religion, in every part of the globe.

It even exists in many areas of the animal kingdom.

So stop blaming it as being a 'Pakistani thing'.

I feel that adressing an older person as aunty or an uncle is one of the better things in our culture and I have instilled this in my children as non negotiable. My children lose nothing and are treated with kindness for the respect shown. I feel sorry for you if you see this as a problem. I do agree with you about the food bit, I have done this a few times.

Rather I have to question your reasoning if every person is an "Aunt" or "Uncle" to you even if deep down you don't even like them. It's the height of hypocrisy to address them in such a manner just to please the Pakistani community. I am treated very well, thanks for your concern. No one is treated any better for referring to others as "Aunt' or "Uncle". It is ridiculous to even think this way.

No it's not.

And it has nothing to do with religion. Seniority privileges (age wise, how far up/down the sibling ladder..) have existed throughout history, in virtually every society, in every religion / in societies with no religion, in every part of the globe.

It even exists in many areas of the animal kingdom.

So stop blaming it as being a 'Pakistani thing'.

Pakistanis value experience very highly, They are very low on innovation as a nation and culture. There is more and more regard for elders in this country due to this as well as religious element, which is abused to a great level.

Issue is with my Chacha Jee(Mostly has been with him). Even third person says what I did was totally justified and fair but what he did is very unfair. However he is stuck over his stance and even now is not accepting his mistake.

I do not want to ask personal questions and neither should you address them here. But

If you, or your family are financially dependent on your Chacha for the timebeing than you have to compromise. Unfortunately.

Even if the case isn't so than He may think that He is your guardian from father's side so he might be trying to act like a fatherly figure but He is unable to do justice since you are not his blood but if he treats his own children in the same way than it's his nature.

Well I have to bring religion (you may not like it). People do not act justly in relationships and differenciate this is due to not obeying religion in letter and spirit. Like kisi k Nanehaal ka salook theek nai tou kisi k Dadhehaal ka salook theek nai. Some kids have loving caring maternal aunts others have loving caring paternal aunts.

If your Chacha fights with you verbally on certain discussions than avoid those discussions with him.

As far as current scenario is concerned He thinks he is right and you are wrong while you think otherwise. If he realises than he will apologise. Otherwise you have to compromise and forgive him. Otherwise if he frequently abuses his authority and seniority than if you are dependent than compromise else meet less frequently and keep some distance (not secede)

If he gives you love and care aswell and ocassionally loses his temper and says all mughalazaat than value the love and care and forgive his weak links.

Still sorry it is quite unethical to abuse your deceased brother.

Who are these seniors? How are they related to you? The only seniors I have unconditional deference for are my parents.

Unless they're your parents, you should reciprocate their treatment of you.

Rather I have to question your reasoning if every person is an "Aunt" or "Uncle" to you even if deep down you don't even like them. It's the height of hypocrisy to address them in such a manner just to please the Pakistani community. I am treated very well, thanks for your concern. No one is treated any better for referring to others as "Aunt' or "Uncle". It is ridiculous to even think this way.
The alternative is to call them by their first name, or by adding Mr/Mrs/Miss to the surname and addressing them that way (assuming you know their first and/or last name). If you think that's fine and can handle the consequences, if any, then go with it. Otherwise, suggest another alternative?

How about attaching "Saahib" to the surname for men and "saahiba" for ladies. This is what they do on Pak chat shows where no one is ever an Aunt or Uncle. There are no consequences to consider here, what you talking about? I don't want to be related to people I don't like.

I do not want to ask personal questions and neither should you address them here. But

If you, or your family are financially dependent on your Chacha for the timebeing than you have to compromise. Unfortunately.

Even if the case isn't so than He may think that He is your guardian from father's side so he might be trying to act like a fatherly figure but He is unable to do justice since you are not his blood but if he treats his own children in the same way than it's his nature.

Well I have to bring religion (you may not like it). People do not act justly in relationships and differenciate this is due to not obeying religion in letter and spirit. Like kisi k Nanehaal ka salook theek nai tou kisi k Dadhehaal ka salook theek nai. Some kids have loving caring maternal aunts others have loving caring paternal aunts.

If your Chacha fights with you verbally on certain discussions than avoid those discussions with him.

As far as current scenario is concerned He thinks he is right and you are wrong while you think otherwise. If he realises than he will apologise. Otherwise you have to compromise and forgive him. Otherwise if he frequently abuses his authority and seniority than if you are dependent than compromise else meet less frequently and keep some distance (not secede)

If he gives you love and care aswell and ocassionally loses his temper and says all mughalazaat than value the love and care and forgive his weak links.

Still sorry it is quite unethical to abuse your deceased brother.

My grandfather is the guardian and he has been best support of my life (May Allah give him even lot more longer age).

The way they behave about 80-85 percent of the times is really cringeworthy and while talking out do not consider the other person as an equal human being which is worst part. Regarding finances I don't ask for anything directly, Just have my expenses from grandfather, However I will be qualified and working within 12 months In Sha Allah.

Pakistanis value experience very highly, They are very low on innovation as a nation and culture. There is more and more regard for elders in this country due to this as well as religious element, which is abused to a great level.
You need to go out and travel a bit. Experience a few other societies and cultures. Seems as if you're letting your personal (and I would politely suggest 'limited') experiences make you believe that Pakistanis, as a culture and as a nation, are somehow unique in lacking the qualities that you claim they lack.

Maybe you could say that. But generally even alot of my friends do see this issue, You are right it well will be in every society (Indeed there could be an ego built up with age), However I did notice surplus emphasis been given over this matter here.

My grandfather is the guardian and he has been best support of my life (May Allah give him even lot more longer age).

The way they behave about 80-85 percent of the times is really cringeworthy and while talking out do not consider the other person as an equal human being which is worst part. Regarding finances I don't ask for anything directly, Just have my expenses from grandfather, However I will be qualified and working within 12 months In Sha Allah.

In life you will encounter great people aswell as worst people. Take a lesson. Learn from the experiences. Be a shinning light and make yourself a role model. Pick good deeds of others and adopt them (even of opponents enemies) and make it your resolve that you won't copy bad things and would not let those things become part of your system.

InshaAllah times will change. InshaAllah one day you will be independent.

Let them think whatever they want. You are equal and in Allah's eyes you are superior if you are a better person so ignore their words. While as i said draw some lines and stop them verbally once they cross them. Else leave the place pre hand when you see a situation developing.

Value your mother's advice.

How about attaching "Saahib" to the surname for men and "saahiba" for ladies. This is what they do on Pak chat shows where no one is ever an Aunt or Uncle. There are no consequences to consider here, what you talking about? I don't want to be related to people I don't like.
Being related by blood is not a choice, it's a fact. The most you can do is to keep your distance from each other.

As for calling someone "Saahib" or "Saahiba", especially if they're family friends, and even more so if they're of similar age to your parents, or even older, that's only you and those around you will be in a position to judge as to whether it's considered polite or impolite within your social setting.

Although, one thing I would say is: Don't go by what goes on in tv chat shows.

In life you will encounter great people aswell as worst people. Take a lesson. Learn from the experiences. Be a shinning light and make yourself a role model. Pick good deeds of others and adopt them (even of opponents enemies) and make it your resolve that you won't copy bad things and would not let those things become part of your system.

InshaAllah times will change. InshaAllah one day you will be independent.

Let them think whatever they want. You are equal and in Allah's eyes you are superior if you are a better person so ignore their words. While as i said draw some lines and stop them verbally once they cross them. Else leave the place pre hand when you see a situation developing.

Value your mother's advice.

I tried to leave the place and sit aside when I thought it was not good. But he came down following me as if this was some sort of TAMASHA for him.

I hate how we have to call every elderly person uncle or aunty. We don't do that nonsense here in England. Your uncle and aunty are your mum and dad's siblings not any random old person. This culture needs to end asap.

Tbh the issue probably is in our society first we are not given much space and second bottling up emotions in front of elderly relatives is encouraged esp for women,in today's age sadly or fortunately everyone has ambitions and they want to fulfill those ,imo its not right to control and manipulate people.

I think you should realize in what situation you want to be bro,not saying to do anything disruptive but one has all the right to live his/her life in a certain way.

Tbh the issue probably is in our society first we are not given much space and second bottling up emotions in front of elderly relatives is encouraged esp for women,in today's age sadly or fortunately everyone has ambitions and they want to fulfill those ,imo its not right to control and manipulate people.

I think you should realize in what situation you want to be bro,not saying to do anything disruptive but one has all the right to live his/her life in a certain way.

Yes pretty valid points mate plus there is the joint family system anyways.

looks like most posters have problem with everything Pakistan has. lols
Negativity koot koot k bhari hui hai hamari qaum mein

Being related by blood is not a choice, it's a fact. The most you can do is to keep your distance from each other.

As for calling someone "Saahib" or "Saahiba", especially if they're family friends, and even more so if they're of similar age to your parents, or even older, that's only you and those around you will be in a position to judge as to whether it's considered polite or impolite within your social setting.

Although, one thing I would say is: Don't go by what goes on in tv chat shows.

To me Uncle's and Aunt's are only close family friends whom I like or those I have blood ties with. I simply avoid those I don't like or refer to them as "aap". Tradition is not divine revelation to be followed blindly. This is not to suggest that we should follow the west where a ten year old addresses a 50 years one by their forename. I am comfortable with sahib and saahiba.

I hate how we have to call every elderly person uncle or aunty. We don't do that nonsense here in England. Your uncle and aunty are your mum and dad's siblings not any random old person. This culture needs to end asap.

I totally agree. Over respect is a part of Pakistani culture as well.

Its good to respect elders and take care of them but they also take unfair advantage of their seniority and elderly status on youngsters as well.

But try finding anyone who respects Prince Charles more than William!

I respect Charlotte and Gaz from Geordie Shore more than I respect him.

There may be legal perks of seniority, but age does not entitle you to respect in the west. Thank goodness.

I have experienced opposite in Indian Punjab -

Parents give more leeway to youngest child, younger child is 'laadla' and 'spoilt child' in India.

Elder people are expected not to unnecessarily argue with young, They are expected to keep 'lihaaz' of their age have some 'sharam'.

Younger people are considered more smarter, hence it is expected from elders to shy away from limelight.

It is very difficult to forgive elders, their age and experience is used against them in taunts.

I have experienced opposite in Indian Punjab -

Parents give more leeway to youngest child, younger child is 'laadla' and 'spoilt child' in India.

Elder people are expected not to unnecessarily argue with young, They are expected to keep 'lihaaz' of their age have some 'sharam'.

Younger people are considered more smarter, hence it is expected from elders to shy away from limelight.

It is very difficult to forgive elders, their age and experience is used against them in taunts.

Yeah the youngest kid has the easiest, I'm the second eldest in my literal fam and also the only son so I have a lot of pressure and most of the times it feels like i'm the eldest.

This is how I treat my elders.

close20door.gif

I think this is where my foreign education and living in the West has helped me overcome this disgusting Pakistani trait.

One time I was in Pakistan not long ago and an old-ish uncle was visiting our house. Now there was only me, my mom, the uncle and his wife. The uncle was making all these snarky comments and my mom being the sweet lady she is was just nodding her head without my opposition, I listened in for a bit and then I lost it. I put the uncle in his place and told him that he is in our house and he is most welcome to leave if he can't conduct himself with respect. The uncle and aunty were taken aback by this kind of "disrespect" from a chota. They hastily left our premises.

I've learnt to not hold back and speak my mind if someone is using their age and "seniority" to belittle you.

To hell with these paindoo uncle and aunties.

What I dislike about the superiority of elders in Pakistani culture is how they have such big egos, they think they're always right and they must assert authority over you to feel secure about themselves and make you feel less than them. If you ever have an opinion of your own, a mind of your own or even if you kindly decide to follow through with your own plans and not follow ALL of their advice then they think you're "badtameez" and are "defying" them "(literal words of my uncle). Just cause I got a mind of own and don't follow 100% of your advice doesn't mean I'm disrespecting you and what's worse is when they want you to fail just cause you chose a path of your own. I bet it's worse in Pakistan. I can't imagine working in that kind of hierarchical culture.

It's at a cringeworthy level here.

True that. I belong to such family. The paindoo genes will never die.

Not disrepesect to elders but if you dont know how to get others to respect you and want to meddle & screw somebody just because he/she isn't like you, then you will get no respect from anybody. Try that crap with somebody on the street and see how they respond.

Regardless of what you guys see on tv shows, the youth in Pakistan aren't spoiled brats nor is everybody an entitled ladla.

In Pakistan you are always right if you are older then the other party

But if you have a beard you are right regardless of age factor

u guys are showing exactly same symptoms of syndrome of which you are complaining :yk2

When you grow older , make sure you dont abuse your authority and stand up to what you think is right.

I will love to be proven genuinely wrong and listen to the logics and mind of a younger person. It's just shameful to be so inhuman and carry such pathetic attitude.

u guys are showing exactly same symptoms of syndrome of which you are complaining :yk2
They're forgetting that they too will be old someday. I'm betting that the elders they're abusing, yes abusing, were also doing/complaining, when they too were young, in a similar fashion to their own elders, and they before that to their own elders, and so on... all the way back since time immemorial. As for this being something unique to Pakistanis .... talk about hating your own!

I guess they've never heard of rebellion of youth - because that's all it is.

They're forgetting that they too will be old someday. I'm betting that the elders they're abusing, yes abusing, were also doing/complaining, when they too were young, in a similar fashion to their own elders, and they before that to their own elders, and so on... all the way back since time immemorial. As for this being something unique to Pakistanis .... talk about hating your own!

I guess they've never heard of rebellion of youth - because that's all it is.

How can you be so certain about it? Have you written everyone's fate or have studied everyone's past?

Certain about what? About the fact that every new generation thinks/believes they know-it-all, and that the elders are has-beens with no concept of the real world? That is until they in turn become the elder generation and see the new younger generation doing/acting exactly in the same was as themselves decades previously?

As for the supposed problems you're having with your elders, and without being judgemental as to whether you're right or wrong, let's face it, this is your side of the story. I'm betting that the story is vastly different from the perspective of your uncle and those around him.

But dissing one's close relatives on an internet forum is not the answer. It says more about you than about them. Imagine if someone they know or was close to them also frequented PakPassion and/or came upon this thread accidentally? Or perhaps accidentally found out about your username? And then added two and two together .... you get the picture.

Certain about what? About the fact that every new generation thinks/believes they know-it-all, and that the elders are has-beens with no concept of the real world? That is until they in turn become the elder generation and see the new younger generation doing/acting exactly in the same was as themselves decades previously?

As for the supposed problems you're having with your elders, and without being judgemental as to whether you're right or wrong, let's face it, this is your side of the story. I'm betting that the story is vastly different from the perspective of your uncle and those around him.

But dissing one's close relatives on an internet forum is not the answer. It says more about you than about them. Imagine if someone they know or was close to them also frequented PakPassion and/or came upon this thread accidentally? Or perhaps accidentally found out about your username? And then added two and two together .... you get the picture.

You think the younger ones have this ego problem? I hats off for you mate. As evident by the thread response the problem is there and it's widespread. Anyways thank you for your comments.

You obviously failed to understand the post. Pity.