Pakistan's current Foreign Minister & ex-Defense Minister Khawaja Asif disqualified!

Mian

Khawaja Asif disqualified by Islamabad High Court

ISLAMABAD: In another blow for the ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), the Islamabad High Court on Thursday disqualified Foreign Minister Khawaja Asif under Article 62 (i) (f) of the Constitution for holding an iqama (work permit) of the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

The three-member bench, announcing the verdict, stated that Asif was not even qualified to contest polls in 2013. The registrar was also directed to send a copy of the judgement to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and the speaker of the national assembly to denotify Asif as member parliament.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) supporters started chanting slogans of “Go Nawaz Go” outside the court after the announcement of the verdict.

Meanwhile, Asif has reportedly announced that he will challenge the high court verdict disqualifying him for life.

IHC reserves verdict on PTI plea to disqualify Asif

The verdict

The bench has observed that the respondent had taken the stance that the employment contracts had been executed merely to fulfil the requirements of the laws of the United Arab Emirates. “In this regard, a certificate, dated 12.04.2018, executed by the managing director of the company, has also been placed on record…The respondent, by taking this stance, has further complicated matters for himself,” noted the verdict.

“In other words, the respondent has taken a stance which tantamounts to acknowledging that he had executed a false contract with the intent of deceiving the laws of another sovereign State.”

“The certificate, dated 12-04-2018, issued by the Company and the stance taken by the Respondent to the effect that the employment contracts and the contents thereof were false explains withholding of this vital information while submitting the nomination paper,” it added.

However, the court has allowed for the verdict to be challenged. Citing the law, the IHC judgment observes that “a disqualification can be challenged before a High Court under Article 199(1)(b)(ii) if it has been overlooked, illegally condoned or went unquestioned on the nomination day or before the election tribunal.”

“This jurisdiction can be exercised if the facts can be determined without recording of evidence and when intricate disputed questions are not involved. It is for this reason that we have solely considered those facts and events which were admitted before us,” further read the verdict.

The verdict also mentioned that Asif had not declared a bank account maintained with the National Bank of Abu Dhabi in the statement of assets and liabilities attached to his nomination paper.

The IHC however, stated that the verdict was passed with a heavy heart. “We have handed down this judgment with a heavy heart not only because a seasoned and accomplished political figure stands disqualified but more so because the dreams and aspirations of 342,125 registered voters have suffered a setback.”

“When political forces, instead of settling disputes at the political forums, particularly the Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) resort to the Courts, it has consequences not only for the institutions but the litigant public as well,” the verdict observed.

“This conduct of political forces lowers public confidence in the legislature on the one hand and on the other hand exposes the institution of the judiciary to the controversies of adversarial politics.”

Reiterating that the political forces were “expected to settle their grievances before the political forums rather than taking the precious time of the bona fide litigants awaiting justice to be dispensed”, the judgment stressed the importance of the parliament. “Parliament is a symbol of unity of the Federation and the peoples’ will,” it said.

“It is ironic that Pakistan is amongst the few countries where a formal code of ethics and conduct for Members of the Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) and the Cabinet has not been prescribed so as to avoid situations such as have been observed in the facts and circumstances of the instant petition,” added the IHC verdict.

Case history

On April 10, a larger bench of the high court had reserved judgment on a petition by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Usman Dar. The larger bench, comprising Justice Athar Minallah, Justice Aamer Farooq and Justice Mohsin Akhtar Kayani, had directed the parties to submit written arguments.

The petitioner, Usman Dar, who had contested against Asif during 2013 general elections in the NA-110 constituency from PTI’s platform, had argued that Asif hid the fact of holding an Iqama, or a foreign work permit, in his nomination papers. Dar, through his counsel Sikandar Bashir Mohmand, nominated Asif, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) and the National Assembly secretary as respondents and sought relief under Article199(1)(b)(ii) read with Article 63(1)(f).

Earlier, Mohmand had argued before another larger bench that Asif in his nomination papers mentioned himself as a businessman whereas his Abu Dhabi Iqama proved that he was and still is an employee of a company in a different capacity.

The prosecution counsel’s claimed that the foreign minister was not entitled to holding the office of an MNA or that of a federal minister under the ‘Unlimited Term Employment Contract’ between him and the International Mechanical and Electrical Company (IMECL) – a limited liability company located in Abu Dhabi and existing under UAE laws.

He said Asif “has been continuously employed as a full time, salaried employee of IMECL since at least 2-7-2011” and held various positions, including that of ‘legal adviser’ and ‘special adviser’.
The counsel had also said Asif was to receive a monthly basic salary of AED35,000 along with a monthly allowance of AED15,000, making an aggregate payment of AED50,000 per month.

In his reply earlier submitted before the previous larger bench, Asif said the petitioner had relied upon the documents appended by him along with his nomination papers prior to the 2013 elections.

The nation has unwavering resolve to eliminate terrorism: Khawaja Asif

The counsel for Asif had said Dar was trying to achieve his mala fide objectives and seeking re-adjudication of the election dispute indirectly by filing the present petition which is contrary to the principle of law that says “what cannot be achieved directly cannot be achieved indirectly”.

In his reply, Asif said had admitted being employed as a legal advisor as stated in the employment form, however, he stressed that the business relationship between the company and the respondent was in accordance with the law and did not relate to the national security or any matter which may be in conflict with the official functions being carried out by the respondent being the foreign minister.

He had further said there was no reason for the petitioner to object to the working relationship of Asif with the company in the UAE without showing a violation of any express provision of law. He added that remuneration fee received by Asif had been duly declared in his nomination form for the election held in May 2013.

Asif’s counsel had stated that the payment of AED35,000 plus AED15,000 allowances pertain to the year 2015 onward and could not be mentioned in the nomination form of 2013. He reiterated that payments made were duly accounted-for in the income tax returns and the law of the land was being followed.

Asif’s counsel averred that assertion being peddled by Dar that Asif was a full-time employee of IMECL is based on a misconception of facts.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1695532/1-ihc-announce-judgment-khawaja-asifs-disqualification-case/

IHC bench just announced the verdict and Khawaja Asif can join his disqualified ex PM Nawaz Sharif and ask "Mujhe kyun nikala"

Hats off to Usman Dar's courage the man stood there for years against this rangbaaz khawaja!

1 by 1 these are corrupt are going down.

wait for noonies to come and defend this guy too

This might be the wicket Imran Khan was talking about the other day ...

Ground looking clear for Dar family and Firdos Aunty in Sialkot :yk Even before all this and with the massive rigging still Usman Dar got 72000 votes against Khawaja in 2013 so i can see hims winning this time he worked really hard.

This disgusting man tried to damage the SKMH for political purposes. This is a great day, lets hope the big one comes in the next few weeks for NS and daughter.

What are the chances of Aristotle Ahsan Iqbal getting clean bowled too? I think he had an iqama as well

Waiting for the "Jamhoriyat ko khatra hai" excuse

This guy deserves to be humiliated like this, shameless and pathetic individual.

Waiting for the "Jamhoriyat ko khatra hai" excuse

This guy deserves to be humiliated like this, shameless and pathetic individual.

The way he attacked SKMCH he deserve all the humiliation coming his way

The funny this is head of this bench was Justice Athar Minullah he is liberal so desi liberals will find it hard to blame Army and Estb was behind this too :yk

The way he attacked SKMCH he deserve all the humiliation coming his way

Absolutely.

Political difference aside, I absolutely loath this guy for the way he attacked SKMH.

The funny this is head of this bench was Justice Athar Minullah he is liberal so desi liberals will find it hard to blame Army and Estb was behind this too :yk

Yes as i said in other thread, Justice Athar Minahllah who has been known as a PPP jyala and liberal has joined the long list of conspirators against democracy :))

Koi sharam hoti hai koi haya hoti hai...woh jo hai woh hai ab nahi hai :))

Aur karo attacks SKM hospital pe attack, his masters who used him for attacks will also suffer one day (their disqualification is only a start).

Yes as i said in other thread, Justice Athar Minahllah who has been known as a PPP jyala and liberal has joined the long list of conspirators against democracy :))

Man this is hilarious :)))

Absolutely.

Political difference aside, I absolutely loath this guy for the way he attacked SKMH.

And he is the one who said in parliament ke mian sahab log panama ko bhool jayenge guess what mian sahab and khawaja both are history now !

Koi sharam hoti hai koi haya hoti hai...woh jo hai woh hai ab nahi hai :))

Aur karo attacks SKM hospital pe attack, his masters who used him for attacks will also suffer one day (their disqualification is only a start).

I heard Kashmala is the candidate from his seat in next election?

And he is the one who said in parliament ke mian sahab log panama ko bhool jayenge guess what mian sahab and khawaja both are history now !

Anxiously waiting for Loohay ke channay and Aristotle sahib to join this list.

Lohe ke chane is on stay order from 3 years he was already disqualified there was enough rigging evidence. China ka Aristotle should be the next in line but i am not sure if court is hearing his case? never heard of any hearing [MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] please confirm if there is a case against Aristotle too because of his iqama?

IK listening the verdict

Dbs6XgqWAAA8xTA.jpg:small

He can but the verdict will remain same because SC already came up with the same verdict in a similar case recently.

I know that but will his disqualification stand if he appeals to SC? I just dont want this vile creature to contest in the next elections.

Nah SC will decide it within a month or 2 before elections so can't see him in next election.

how does that song go "na na naa na, na na naa na, heyyy, goodbye"

so who's next? I can see loads of Punjab MP's defecting to either become independents or join other parties. PMLN look like they are going to be completely decimated..

But I want to see Zardari and Billo get booted next..cant stand them..

<blockquote class="twitter-video" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">رہنما تحریکِ انصاف ابرارالحق کا خواجہ آصف کی نااہلی پر اہم پیغام،<br>اگلی باری احسن اقبال کی ہے۔<a href="https://twitter.com/AbrarUlHaqPK?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AbrarUlHaqPK</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%D9%86%D8%A7%D8%A7%DB%81%D9%84_%D8%AE%D9%88%D8%A7%D8%AC%DB%81_%D8%A7%D9%82%D8%A7%D9%85%DB%81_%D8%A2%D8%B5%D9%81?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#نااہل_خواجہ_اقامہ_آصف</a> <a href="https://t.co/C1u7y3fZwp">pic.twitter.com/C1u7y3fZwp</a></p>— Tehreek-e-Insaf (@InsafPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/InsafPK/status/989465172157886464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 26, 2018</a></blockquote>

This decision is stronger than the Nawaz Sharif case. It is based on stronger reasons. Asif won't get much of a relief from SC except may be a stay for some period.

Very happy with the decision. He was darbari of the highest order and had a very caustic tongue. Served him right!

Lohe ke chane is on stay order from 3 years he was already disqualified there was enough rigging evidence. China ka Aristotle should be the next in line but i am not sure if court is hearing his case? never heard of any hearing [MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] please confirm if there is a case against Aristotle too because of his iqama?

Case will be filed no by Abrar ul Haq, they were waiting for the outcome of Khawaja Asif's case but i don't know if they have all the evidence against Arastoo sahab, Usman Dar did well to collect solid evidence, Asif had absolutely no chance to survive.

Man this is hilarious :)))

As someone posted on twitter, even in worst dictatorships we didn't see entire judiciary being maligned or accused of grand conspiracy to this level.
There could be few corrupt judges but how can entire group senior most judges (hearing Nawaz & Imran case) and Chief Justice be part of conspiracy? Additionally Army chief, head of FIA, NAB are also part of this group. Now 3 High court judges including Athar Minallah is also part of conspiracy so EVERYONE is conspiring against innocent PMLN leaders.

How can you ban somebody for life on such an offense?? It’s like you get speeding ticket, and you never drive again &#55357;&#56900;&#55357;&#56900;

How come same system let him go in 2013?? What changed, establishment is once again picking sides. It’s 1980s all over again. PTI is new IJI??

I don’t care about any political party, but non democratic forces cannot run the county.. if people really want to have judges and army run this country, then do it officially, no need of election. This half *** democracy is of no use &#55357;&#56900;&#55357;&#56900;&#55357;&#56900;

How can you ban somebody for life on such an offense?? It’s like you get speeding ticket, and you never drive again ����

How come same system let him go in 2013?? What changed, establishment is once again picking sides. It’s 1980s all over again. PTI is new IJI??

I don’t care about any political party, but non democratic forces cannot run the county.. if people really want to have judges and army run this country, then do it officially, no need of election. This half *** democracy is of no use ������

So working for a foreign company whilst being a Foreign Sec is akin to a speeding ticket? No conflicts of interest, No security issues involved? Yes off course this happens in Western Democracies all the time. Apparently Boris Johnson is the R and D Manager for a Saudi Money laundering company.

How can you ban somebody for life on such an offense?? It’s like you get speeding ticket, and you never drive again &#55357;&#56900;&#55357;&#56900;

I don’t care about any political party, but non democratic forces cannot run the county.. if people really want to have judges and army run this country, then do it officially, no need of election. This half *** democracy is of no use &#55357;&#56900;&#55357;&#56900;&#55357;&#56900;

You are either naive or think we are naive :)

As someone posted on twitter, even in worst dictatorships we didn't see entire judiciary being maligned or accused of grand conspiracy to this level.
There could be few corrupt judges but how can entire group senior most judges (hearing Nawaz & Imran case) and Chief Justice be part of conspiracy? Additionally Army chief, head of FIA, NAB are also part of this group. Now 3 High court judges including Athar Minallah is also part of conspiracy so EVERYONE is conspiring against innocent PMLN leaders.

True and even Zia and Mush with all their power weren't able to control all the SC judges. But well Noora Logics work on their poor workers so they will blindly accept it.

How can you ban somebody for life on such an offense?? It’s like you get speeding ticket, and you never drive again ����

I don’t care about any political party, but non democratic forces cannot run the county.. if people really want to have judges and army run this country, then do it officially, no need of election. This half *** democracy is of no use ������

1 - Holding 2nd job in foreign country while being foreign minister of a country is FAR FAR more serious than just parking ticket.
2 - He was taking Rs16 Lakh per month salary from his employer which was NOT declared in assets, minor parking ticket issue??
3 - HUGE conflict of interest issue when you work for 2 counties at same time???

Here is recent issue far more mature Australian democracy recently faced, multiple MPs and ministers had to resign due to dual citizen issue and here is an important bit that is relevant here:

The problem is that some sitting members of Parliament were found to be citizens of Australia plus one other country. This is not allowed under the rules of Parliament (called Section 44), which states members must only be citizens of Australia at the time they nominate* for election. This rule was designed to make sure everyone in the Australian Parliament was putting the country’s interests first.

Eight politicians resign from the Australian parliament over dual citizenship

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/kids-ne...p/news-story/409aeae8b94fddf77dca2f3ac3010164

This is the problem with "Jamhooriat ko khatra brigade", ANY action against politicians puts democracy in danger and hidden hands are blamed, this is likes of Nawaz/Zardari exploit and become MASOOM to escape punishment. They even question integrity and wisdom of entire top layer of judiciary as if they are ALL working under instructions??

^^ Forgot to mention, this dual citizenship issue in Australia impacted the entire government as top ministers were forced to resign but they all respected the rule.

Must mention Australia allows dual citizenship so it wasn't massive issue either as most MPs had UK/NZ citizenship by descent but they had to abide by the law. One would wonder how they were allowed to contest elections in the first place but these things happen even in mature democracies.

Stop blaming everything on hidden forces and maybe we will have a chance of moving forward with better democracy?

Nawaz Sharif's case is another big example, EVERYONE knows:

- He had undeclared and hidden assets in UK.
- He lied about his assets in parliament.
- His children lied about Sharif's assets.
- Panama leaks couldn't possibly be controlled from Pakistan.
- Qatari documents and FAKE documents were produced in front of court

And yet "Jamhooriat ko khatra hai" brigade helps them in building narrative that it's all due to hidden hands and they are innocent. How on earth does that help strengthen democracy??????

Whilst this man was obviously incompetent, he and his party were elected by the people of Pakistan, and really, should only be removed from their positions by the will of the people.

We must be wary of such actions as they pose a threat to our vulnerable democracy.

No they don't pose any threat and getting elected by awaam doesn't give you a license to do whatever illegal things you want for next 5 years.

Whilst this man was obviously incompetent, he and his party were elected by the people of Pakistan, and really, should only be removed from their positions by the will of the people.

What sort of warped logic is this?

So you’re another person whose happy with couuption and looting the poor?

What sort of warped logic is this?

So you’re another person whose happy with couuption and looting the poor?

I am not happy with corruption but it seems increasingly obvious that the political process is being engineering by an external party. I do not think this bodes well for the future of our government and PTI supporters should be careful here too - the same external party could do the same with them when the time comes.

They came though General Kayani and Khwajas seat was apparently heavily rigged.

I am not happy with corruption but it seems increasingly obvious that the political process is being engineering by an external party. I do not think this bodes well for the future of our government and PTI supporters should be careful here too - the same external party could do the same with them when the time comes.

Every single party, every elected official and beaurocrat should be held accountable.
No one should be above the law...

This so called external party should be credited becaause this sets a precedent.

^^^^
There is an argument to be had that Pakistan is not ready for democracy.

Too much poverty, not enough infrastructure, illiteracy and mass corruption.
All the essential ingredients that have brought (bought) power to the likes of Sharifs and the Zardaris...

Taken to its logical conclusion-So let them murder people and then if they get re-elected they should not be prosecuted and jailed. Great logic!

^^^^
There is an argument to be had that Pakistan is not ready for democracy.

Too much poverty, not enough infrastructure, illiteracy and mass corruption.
All the essential ingredients that have brought (bought) power to the likes of Sharifs and the Zardaris...

Come on yaar, do you really think us not ready for democracy? We are more than 'ready' for democracy - remember these same people voted more than 70 years ago in favour of the Muslim League and in favour of the establishment in Pakistan. I don't think its fair to patronise the same people that helped to create our beautiful country by saying they aren't 'ready for democracy'. It reminds me very much of another of our dictator General Ayub who believed that democracy could not survive in a warm climate.

The only ingredient which has given us comedians like Sharif are the armed forces. If democracy had been allowed to flourish, instead of being interfered with repeatedly as has been done in our history, and as is happening once again, we would be in a different position.

You also say every elected official and bureaucrat should be held accountable - I agree but don't you think this should be extended to this 'external party' too? In a country in which corruption is everywhere, it is hardly unlikely that the largest and most powerful institution is corruption free.

1 - Holding 2nd job in foreign country while being foreign minister of a country is FAR FAR more serious than just parking ticket.
2 - He was taking Rs16 Lakh per month salary from his employer which was NOT declared in assets, minor parking ticket issue??
3 - HUGE conflict of interest issue when you work for 2 counties at same time???

First of all the same Court system was OK in 2014, they did not even disqualify him. They had all the details at that time too.

Secondly, this 62f is a big bull ****, this is new weapon for Establishment to go after, whoever they want to go after. Maybe my English/Urdu is weak, somebody should explain how not qualifying for 62F translate to life ban?? - 62F is very vague and poorly written law in the first place, interpreting it to life ban is even worse :facepalm:

Note: There are plenty of sub articles in 63, where specific time Frame is mentioned. If Law makers wanted to have life ban for 62F, they should have explicitly mention it. Court is there to interpret the law, not make one
:acp:

62(f) he is sagacious, righteous and non-profligate, honest and ameen, there being no declaration to the contrary by a court of law;

REF: http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/part3.ch2.html

Dont tell me Supreme Court said it, that's why we have to believe it. On what basis they have come up with that?? - Judges are completely wrong on this, one cannot trust such courts

Here is recent issue far more mature Australian democracy recently faced, multiple MPs and ministers had to resign due to dual citizen issue and here is an important bit that is relevant here:

The problem is that some sitting members of Parliament were found to be citizens of Australia plus one other country. This is not allowed under the rules of Parliament (called Section 44), which states members must only be citizens of Australia at the time they nominate* for election. This rule was designed to make sure everyone in the Australian Parliament was putting the country’s interests first.

Eight politicians resign from the Australian parliament over dual citizenship

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/kids-ne...p/news-story/409aeae8b94fddf77dca2f3ac3010164

This is the problem with "Jamhooriat ko khatra brigade", ANY action against politicians puts democracy in danger and hidden hands are blamed, this is likes of Nawaz/Zardari exploit and become MASOOM to escape punishment. They even question integrity and wisdom of entire top layer of judiciary as if they are ALL working under instructions??

Did they resign or they were forced to life ban by Supreme Court of AUS on a non-existent law??

First of all the same Court system was OK in 2014, they did not even disqualify him. They had all the details at that time too.

No they did NOT have these details, he had NOT declared anything and Usman Dar filed the case and provided all the proofs and Khawja Asif's lawyer ADMITTED everything int he court as well.

Secondly, this 62f is a big bull ****, this is new weapon for Establishment to go after, whoever they want to go after. Maybe my English/Urdu is weak, somebody should explain how not qualifying for 62F translate to life ban?? - 62F is very vague and poorly written law in the first place, interpreting it to life ban is even worse :facepalm:

So much for being establishment's tool that Nawaz Sharif not only used it against Gilani but refused to amend it???As i said before, it's not the question of 62f or 63f, abolish the whole thing for all i care but in which part of the world would you exclude this term where financial corruption of MPs become a non issue? You can exclude everything about Sadiq/Ameen or such non issues like how religious the candidate is but how on earth would anyone exclude financial corruption, hidden assets, tax evasion etc???

Dont tell me Supreme Court said it, that's why we have to believe it. On what basis they have come up with that?? - Judges are completely wrong on this, one cannot trust such courts

You can argue about the law but judges are just implementing the LAW and don't have power to make amendment to this law so how on earth is it their fault?? This is precisely the issue with this whole campaign against judges by Nawaz Sharif and his mouthpiece journalists.

Did they resign or they were forced to life ban by Supreme Court of AUS on a non-existent law??

They were FORCED to resign, this created a huge mess and these people knew about the law as well, this is why everyone was surprised how this was missed before elections. Had it happen in Pakistan, this would have been considered another attack on democracy by establishment.

Point is, fix your laws, bring the judicial reforms, stop blaming judges and establishment for everything. They do interfere and i hate them for that because they provide excuses to crooks like Nawaz and Zardari who get away with anything just by blaming establishment. Altaf Hussain also got away with so much over the years using same shield.

No they did NOT have these details, he had NOT declared anything and Usman Dar filed the case and provided all the proofs and Khawja Asif's lawyer ADMITTED everything int he court as well.

So much for being establishment's tool that Nawaz Sharif not only used it against Gilani but refused to amend it???As i said before, it's not the question of 62f or 63f, abolish the whole thing for all i care but in which part of the world would you exclude this term where financial corruption of MPs become a non issue? You can exclude everything about Sadiq/Ameen or such non issues like how religious the candidate is but how on earth would anyone exclude financial corruption, hidden assets, tax evasion etc???

You can argue about the law but judges are just implementing the LAW and don't have power to make amendment to this law so how on earth is it their fault?? This is precisely the issue with this whole campaign against judges by Nawaz Sharif and his mouthpiece journalists.

They were FORCED to resign, this created a huge mess and these people knew about the law as well, this is why everyone was surprised how this was missed before elections. Had it happen in Pakistan, this would have been considered another attack on democracy by establishment.

Point is, fix your laws, bring the judicial reforms, stop blaming judges and establishment for everything. They do interfere and i hate them for that because they provide excuses to crooks like Nawaz and Zardari who get away with anything just by blaming establishment. Altaf Hussain also got away with so much over the years using same shield.

Judges are crossing line, they are no more interpreting the laws, they are making them. As I said earlier, 62F does not say 'life ban', SC has no authority to come up with such a ruling... You are declaring politicians left and right to life ban, on what basis?

Now they have banned any criticism on Supreme Court ruling and Army, what a load of crap, people call this democracy :facepalm:

Judges are crossing line, they are no more interpreting the laws, they are making them. As I said earlier, 62F does not say 'life ban', SC has no authority to come up with such a ruling... You are declaring politicians left and right to life ban, on what basis?

Now they have banned any criticism on Supreme Court ruling and Army, what a load of crap, people call this democracy :facepalm:

Bhai they are not making the law, the ambiguity has to be clarified through reforms and judges can't do that.
As for banning criticism against judges, NEVER have i seen before the kind of insults and abuses PMLN leaders have thrown against judges. Forget what Maryam and 3 time PM said about them, their leaders are even threatening children of judges.

And the latest one in which PMLN MNA & MPA literally abuses Chief justice's mother and sister, this is beyond a joke. I don't know if you understand but it's in constitution that you can criticise the decision but not the judiciary which is EXACTLY what PMLN is doing.

Also if you think this is against democracy, i can list dozens of things that go against democracy but our politicians promote them everyday.

Bhai they are not making the law, the ambiguity has to be clarified through reforms and judges can't do that.
As for banning criticism against judges, NEVER have i seen before the kind of insults and abuses PMLN leaders have thrown against judges. Forget what Maryam and 3 time PM said about them, their leaders are even threatening children of judges.

And the latest one in which PMLN MNA & MPA literally abuses Chief justice's mother and sister, this is beyond a joke. I don't know if you understand but it's in constitution that you can criticise the decision but not the judiciary which is EXACTLY what PMLN is doing.

Also if you think this is against democracy, i can list dozens of things that go against democracy but our politicians promote them everyday.

Then why they are making extreme judgments?? - Making anything as 'life ban' is not just extreme but completely wrong interpretation... There is a simple principle in justice (like in Cricket), benefit of doubt goes to guilty, not the other way around... In this case question is not of doubt but a whole new law, 'life ban', where that comes from??

Holding a job(foreign or local) can be considered a crime, although none of the sub-article of 63, call them out specifically. Article 63 talks about lot of very specific stuff. They only talk about Govt Jobs, not jobs in private firms(local or foreign in today's world is not farfetched, since multinational can be in multiple countries)... Even if it is considered a crime by now SC, how that translate to life ban??

Then why they are making extreme judgments?? - Making anything as 'life ban' is not just extreme but completely wrong interpretation... There is a simple principle in justice (like in Cricket), benefit of doubt goes to guilty, not the other way around... In this case question is not of doubt but a whole new law, 'life ban', where that comes from??

Holding a job(foreign or local) can be considered a crime, although none of the sub-article of 63, call them out specifically. Article 63 talks about lot of very specific stuff. They only talk about Govt Jobs, not jobs in private firms(local or foreign in today's world is not farfetched, since multinational can be in multiple countries)... Even if it is considered a crime by now SC, how that translate to life ban??

Do you remember election rigging case?? There were MASSIVE issues discovered, hundreds of thousands of extra ballot papers were printed, rubbish was found in some bags, hundreds of missing form 15 and 16, lots of videos, evidence of rigging and journalists to date confirm there was rigging. Many re elections were announced on seats that were thoroughly investigated but overall judges couldn't declare it rigged since there was no direct evidence (plenty of circumstantial evidence).

Plenty of questions were raised on Election Commission's pathetic role and they have act like Nawaz Sharif's personal servants even now. Imran Khan criticised the decision as well but moved on since it was Supreme court's decision.

Now that clear corruption case of Nawaz Sharif and undeclared job/assets of Khawaja Asif are exposed, all of a sudden entire judiciary is working under instructions???? Jahangir Tareen had actually declared the assets but they were declared under children name rather than his name so he was disqualified for life as well.

Judges interpret the law. Life ban is an interpretation considering the facts and the situation. Judges do have this discretion.

In no country are people allowed to bark against the court as the PMLN goons were doing; it is contempt against the courts and against democratic norms. Please do some reading; Google is easy to use. This is true democracy and not democrazy what patwaris want.

Judges interpret the law. Life ban is an interpretation considering the facts and the situation. Judges do have this discretion.

In no country are people allowed to bark against the court as the PMLN goons were doing; it is contempt against the courts and against democratic norms. Please do some reading; Google is easy to use. This is true democracy and not democrazy what patwaris want.

Judges were suppose to interpret the law, but they made new one. How someone can Interpret 'Life Ban' from 62F text?? - They cannot makeup things, and expect people to respect such a judiciary. Our judiciary has history to bowing down to the devil aka Army... Now they have banned any criticism on them as well as Army, so much for rule of law...

They can interpret the law and reach that conclusion as 62F is open to interpretation as it is not definate. It is simple as that. Criticism on judges/ court is contempt. Read up UK law on contempt of court. It is actually a simple concept that you are not willing to understand.

The funny thing is 62/63 was introduced by Nawaz Sharif's political father Zia and Nawaz Sharif always refused to removed it from constitution and another interesting fact is Khawaja Safdar (father of Khawaja Asif) voted in favor of this amendment he was in Zia's cabinet :))

You do realize that Army has never disown Zia or Musharif or Ayub, pretty much any of the Generals. The only guy Army disowned, was AQ Khan who was called Father of Bomb and savior of the country by same institution. They disowned him pretty quickly when pressed by US, so much for the love of country and its heroes :facepalm:

What ever these guys did, they did at the back of those 800K(that number of different back then) armed men in uniform. Its more than these guys legacy of Army, what you are quoting here ;-) Lets not beat down the messenger, message is the real issue :acp:

You do realize that Army has never disown Zia or Musharif or Ayub, pretty much any of the Generals. The only guy Army disowned, was AQ Khan who was called Father of Bomb and savior of the country by same institution. They disowned him pretty quickly when pressed by US, so much for the love of country and its heroes :facepalm:

What ever these guys did, they did at the back of those 800K(that number of different back then) armed men in uniform. Its more than these guys legacy of Army, what you are quoting here ;-) Lets not beat down the messenger, message is the real issue :acp:

Not sure what your debate is with the other poster (haven't read the thread) but AQ Khan was disowned by the Military because there was damning evidence of him proliferating to Libya, Iran, and N Korea...basically enough to have put him in Guantanamo.

If the Military didn't disown him or put him on house arrest then the father of the Islamic Bomb was going to rot in prison of American choice.