Pakistan's medal winning weight-lifter : Nooh Dastagir Butt

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Sports Board (PSB)'s Director General - Colonel (R) Asif Zaman announced PKR5 million for gold medalist Nooh Dastagir Butt and PKR1 million for silver medalist Hussain Shah.

On Wednesday, Judoka Shah opened the medal account for Pakistan in Commonwealth Games 2022 after winning bronze in Men's 90kg event.

Butt followed by Shah, bagged the first gold medal for the country, lifting a record weight of 405kg in the 109+kg category of weightlifting event.

"Nooh Butt and Hussain Shah have made us proud by winning medals in Commonwealth Games," the PSB boss said. "For their convincing victory, PSB announce PKR5 million for Nooh and PKR1 million for Hussain," the DG PSB shared.

Zaman ensured that the medalists in Commonwealth Games 2022 will receive a heroic welcome in the country.

Also, the PSB chief announced PKR2 million each if any athlete wins silver medal.

BIRMINGHAM: Commonwealth Games (CWG) 2022's gold medalist, Pakistan's weightlifter Nooh Dastagir Butt dedicated his achievement to his father.

Butt, who won first gold medal for Pakistan in CWG 2022, thanked his friends and family members for all-out support.

"This wasn't possible without the support and prayers of my friends and family members," Butt told reporters after record victory. "I dedicate this gold medal to my father, who worked for 12 years and helped me reach this stage," the Gujranwala weightlifter said.

Butt recalled his journey and said he can fully understand the worth of a gold medal. "It took me sheer of hard work and dedication to win this gold. Winning a medal for your country is always a proud moment, and gold is something special," higlighted Butt who won bronze medal in CWG 2018.

In 109+kg category, Butt lifted 173kg in snatch, setting a new CWG record. In clean and jerk, Butt lifted 232kg to set another record. Overall, Butt lifted 405kg which was also a CWG record.

Pakistan had won only gold medal in CWG's weightlifting event before this one. In 2006, Shujauddin Malik got gold in 85kg category

Brilliant performance congratulations did himself family and nation proud

Has so much potential , great physique and genetics for the sport

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Well done Champion. Excellent Work <a href="https://twitter.com/NoohDastgirButt?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@NoohDastgirButt</a> You are a Real Hero. So proud of you buddy <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GoldMedal?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GoldMedal</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/CommonwealthGame?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#CommonwealthGame</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Birmingham2022?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Birmingham2022</a> <a href="https://t.co/VYk4l9psFi">pic.twitter.com/VYk4l9psFi</a></p>— Waqar Younis (@waqyounis99) <a href="https://twitter.com/waqyounis99/status/1555416714984439808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 5, 2022</a></blockquote>

“THE last 24 hours have been like a whirlwind,” says Nooh Dasta*gir Butt. “It’s an amazing feeling to see your dreams come true.”

Since becoming Pakistan’s first gold medallist at the Common*wealth Games in Birmingham on Wednesday, the 24-year-old weightlifter has been lapping up the adulation coming his way.

Nooh has received messages of congratulations from all over the world. Just about everyone wants a piece of him right now.

But with his phone broken, the only way to get to him is through his coach Irfan Butt. That is, if you’re lucky enough to get through considering Irfan has been flooded with calls and interview requests.“My phone is broken,” Nooh told Dawn in an exclusive interview from Birmingham on Thursday night. “I just got an iPhone but I can’t set it up because I can’t get an OTP on my Pakistani SIM card.”

A night earlier, Nooh broke the Commonwealth record in the men’s +109kg final when he lifted a total weight of 405kg to leave other competitors in the shade.

“The aim from the start was to get gold at these games,” said Nooh, referring to his bronze at the previous edition of the quadrennial spectacle at Australia’s Gold Coast. “I just put in everything I had.

“It’s the fruit of labour … the hard work we put in to train,” he added. “It’s a tough regimen and you have to train three hours twice each day to keep yourself fit and focused.”

Weightlifting runs in the family for Nooh. His father, Ghulam Dastagir Butt, is a 16-time national champion while his brother, Hanzala, also competed at the Games on Wednesday in the -109kg final in but couldn’t bring home a medal.

“I wanted to do it for my father … I’d promised him I’ll win gold,” informed Nooh. “I called my family as soon as I’d won. They told me they were watching me on television. It was an emotional moment for me.”

Emotions reached a crescendo for Nooh when Pakistan’s national anthem was played with him on the top of the podium. “It’s a feeling you can’t put in words,” he recalled.

Nooh, however, has another event to take part in before he sees his family.

“We’re going to Turkey from here for the Islamic Games [which begin from Aug 9],” said Nooh. “I’d like to go home with another gold medal from there.”

Nooh’s performance was so strong that silver medallist David Andrew Liti of New Zealand, who had won gold last time out with a total lift of 403kg, said afterwards he was looking forward to facing off against the Pakistan weightlifter and beat him.

Things were more cordial with bronze medallist Gurdeep Singh with Indian media reporting and quoting Nooh that the duo danced to the beats of rapper Sidhu Moosewala, who was assassinated in May.

“Oh no sir, I’m from a Muslim country … I don’t dance,” Nooh said, with a bit of mischief in his tone.

The interview then shifted to more pressing matters, including Nooh’s bid to qualify for the 2024 Paris Olympics after injury saw him miss out on Tokyo last year.

“The Olympics are the pinnacle and the goal is to qualify for Paris and win there,” Nooh said, adding that he and the country’s other weightlifters needed more support to win medals on the biggest stage.

“Gurdeep has been here in England for the last two months to train and acclimatise but we were here only seven days before the competition.

“Back in Pakistan, there is no training facility, nor any hall of international standard where competitions can be held. Equipment too isn’t up to the mark.

“I’ve got here because of my father’s passion for the sport. It was he who made sure we were able to train with the best equipment. But we need more support going forward.”

For now, Nooh is in line for a cash reward from the government. There might even be a dam named after him, as suggested by Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif in a cheeky exchange on social media where he was asked to do more in the weightlifter’s honour. Whether that will help Nooh achieve his Olympic dream remains to be seen.

Published in Dawn, August 5th, 2022

Great job, but hope to see a medal from him in world atheletic games or olympics..

Commonwealth games is just a select few countries competing and although his gold is a big achievement but that doesnt mean govt starts giving out cash rewards.

Fund the whole industry

I am also worried about PED side of things.

Want a few days to go by and then will really celebrate.

I think government should build an international standard sports complex in the place like Gujranwala along with some good coaches.

We can have many athletes from that area i.e wrestlers, weightlifters etc.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations from Pakistan Armed Forces to Nooh Dastagir Butt for winning Gold Medal & Shah Hussain Shah for winning Bronze Medal in Commonwealth Games making Pakistan proud. <br>Pakistan &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; Zindabad <a href="https://t.co/FQ6Ss0PxDE">pic.twitter.com/FQ6Ss0PxDE</a></p>— DG ISPR (@OfficialDGISPR) <a href="https://twitter.com/OfficialDGISPR/status/1555411447139614720?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 5, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Reception at the Pakistan consulate in Dastgir's honour

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 57.500%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/7uyi0r" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

According to a media report:

Babar Azam has announced a cash reward of Rs 2 million Dastgir for his effort to win a Gold medal at the CWG

Great gesture from Babar. Love when cricketers support other sports

After winning gold in the men’s 109+kg competition on Wednesday, Pakistan’s Nooh Dastgir Butt strolled around the warm-up hall at the Birmingham weightlifting center on Wednesday with the swagger you would have if you were officially the strongest man in the Commonwealth Games. As he stomped around, he stopped where India’s Gurdeep Singh was taking off his wrist wraps and wrapped him in a hug followed by a long handshake. Within seconds, the two giant men who weigh in the region of 160kg, throwing hundreds of kilos skyward in a hard-fought battle for the medals just a few minutes ago, were chatting away like the old friends they are.

“You know how it is,” Gurdeep, who won bronze, tells Sportstar from Birmingham. “You put two Punjabis in the same room and baat to ho hi jati hai (they will find something to talk about). And of course, we are friends from before.”

From the time they first met as teenagers, the two have bonded around being Punjabi, the music of Sidhu Moose Wala and that they are amongst the small group of men on the planet who can hoist 220 kilos (Gurdeep’s personal best in the clean and jerk is 223kg while Nooh has lifted 232kg) over their head. “We have been competing together for the last seven years. When we meet, I call him mere Sikh paaji (my Sikh brother) because he’s two years older than me, and he calls me veere,” says the 24-year-old from Gujranwala in Pakistan.

Nooh says he’s friends with most of the Indian team. “I’m also friends with Vikas Thakur and Jerry (Jeremy Lalrinnunga). Most of us follow each other on Instagram. And we all follow each other and appreciate each other,” he says. He’s a fan of Olympic silver medallist Mirabai Chanu too. “Everyone from South Asia in weightlifting is a fan of Mirabai Chanu because she’s the only athlete from here who is a world and Olympic medallist. The feeling is that people from our region don’t do well in weightlifting at the Olympics. They can’t get a medal. But Mirabai did that. She is an inspiration. After I won my gold medal, she came up to me and congratulated me. And I got a picture with her,” he says.

Nooh is a fan of most things Indian. He has been to India twice — for the 2014 Youth Commonwealth Games in Pune and then the South Asian Games in Guwahati in 2016. “I loved coming to India both times. I won gold in both competitions, and the support I got from the crowd was incredible. I wasn’t expecting that I’ll get so much love from India,” he says.

It is Guwahati that he has particularly fond memories of. “Pune is nice, but Guwahati was special. Everything was great. I won the competition there, but I became really attached to the people in whose hotel we were staying. Whatever we would ask them to cook, they did what they could. After I won gold, they gave me the laddoos you get in prasad, the boondi kind. I still remember how good they were. Luckily, I compete in the super heavy category because I must have eaten 10 of them. I got so much love in that city. When we had to leave, the staff started crying,” he recalls.

Of course, there’s a different attachment to Gurdeep, who grew up in Khanna, potentially a five-hour drive from Gujrawanwala across the border where Nooh was born and raised.

“Ji Punjabi me aise baat hoti hai. We have a border running between us, but that’s another matter. Punjab used to be one. He’s from Punjab, and I’m also from Punjab. So, this bonding is easy. We are the same kind of people. Our blood is the same. Our people laugh a lot and are easy to get along. We eat the same things. That’s why it’s pretty easy to get along with each other,” he says.

It helps that they have the same taste in music – that of the late pop singer Sidhu Moose Wala.

“I don’t think there’s anyone on either side of the border in Punjab who wasn’t a fan of his music,” says Gurdeep. “When we train, we only train to his music,” he says.

The same was true in Gujranwala. “ Ji bohot bada fan hu Sidhu Moose Wala ka. He is a huge inspiration for people in Punjab. He spoke the truth. The things he sang about are those that affected the common man. I was so sad when I heard that he was killed. I couldn’t believe it. The first thing I did when I heard he had passed away was ask Gurdeep what happened and why was he killed,” says Nooh.

Moose Wala though lives on, if only in Nooh and Gurdeep’s workout playlist and on their social media profiles. Multiple videos of practice lifts and competition clips are set to the late singer’s songs. Moose Wala’s 295, for instance, plays over Nooh’s victory in the 2021 Pakistan national championships, where he was coming back from an injury. “If you go through my TikTok, every song A to Z is Moose Wala ke songs. I don’t think I’ll listen to any other Punjabi singer,” says Nooh.

However, even music doesn’t unite them as much as their passion for the iron bar. Both have family in the sport. Gurdeep’s uncle was his first coach, while Nooh is still coached by his father, an international lifter. “There are a lot of people who may listen to the same music or be from the same region. Our weightlifting community is a small one,” says Gurdeep.

That’s pretty true. How many people in the world can honestly clean and jerk 220kg? “The average person doesn’t get why we are so passionate about it. You have to have a certain mind to lift that sort of weight,” says Gurdeep.

This is why while they might talk about music, it’s talking shop that they do most often over messaging apps. “Nooh and I have been competing for 7-8 years. We don’t get to meet very frequently unless it’s for competition. But even otherwise, we talk a lot; we check up on each other. We would ask where are you, and how your training is going along. After the competition, he asked me what happened to my snatch because he thought I could have lifted more,” says Gurdeep.

And while it’s true that Gurdeep was just shy of his personal best in the snatch lift, for the most part, the two were satisfied with their performance. “In 2018, Gurdeep and I competed with each other (at the Gold Coast Games). Unfortunately, he didn’t get a medal, and I didn’t perform very well either. So, it was disappointing for both of us. This time both of us did our best, and got a medal together. Both of us were very close to our personal bests. When we hugged, I said, ‘finally both of us did it’,” says Nooh.

Nooh is aware that not everyone might be enthused about the fact that he hugged and shook hands with an Indian weightlifter. He doesn’t think there was much to it. “The Oceania countries – Polynesia, Australia and New Zealand – they all support each other a lot. I always think that India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka need to support each other,” he says.

“The problem in our two countries is that we always say ki India se nahi harna or for you Pakistan se nahi harna. (we say that you can’t lose to India or you can’t lose to Pakistan). That’s a wrong thing. Every player comes to win. And both of us came to do our personal best and we did. After that we are friends. Wahi pe baat khatam ho jani chahiye (that’s where the matter should end),” he says. “I want to compete at the Olympics, and so does Gurdeep, but we won’t go at the expense of each other. Each of us has our own fight with the weight on the bar. We are all trying to do our best. Hamari fight ek dusre se nahi hai. Lohe se hi hai” (our fight isn’t with each other, it’s with the iron),” says Nooh.

For all of that idealism, the fact is that relations are strained between the two countries, which means sporting ties are restricted. Nooh, though, is hopeful he can come and compete in India once again. “Definitely. Definitely, I want to come and compete in India. If I had the chance, I’d really like to come to Punjab,” he says.

Similarly, he too hopes Gurdeep can visit him in Gujranwala. “Once when we were talking, Gurdeep said that near my home in Gujranwala, there were some Sikh Gurdwaras that he wanted to visit. I’ve told him many times - ‘you get over the border, and I’ll bring you here’. You will stay at our house. I’ll feed you also. Inshallah, if he comes here, I’ll take him around Pakistan. Where ever he wants to go, I’ll take him. I’ve told him ki sab kuch karunga but tera kaam hai aana (I’ll do everything. You just get over the border).”

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/comm...la-cwg-2022-weightlifting/article65734122.ece

Gujranwala, city of wrestlers and birthplace of ranjit.

Untapped potential for sure.

Absolutely , when I was very young , whenever I visited Gujranwala with family to visit my relatives, there were so many "okharas" for wrestlers and health clubs there, don't know how is there know . Once a watched a "dungal" in the stadium and it was packed .

Government should promote and proved modern facilities for body builders, wrestlers and weigh lifters and such sports in Gujranwala .

Only certain castes have that build like kashmiris of punjab (nooras) , dogars , kambohs and gujjars you have to have the good genetics for wrestling , strongman build.

But due to modern diets and modern foods being contaminated people don't get the right nutrition these days hence why in pakistan instead of people getting bigger taller our people are getting smaller weaker and you are getting more stunted growth in children. I highly doubt if the milk that is produced in paksistan is pure and has not been processed and adultererated.

He should get a hero's welcome at the airport and they should arrange a victory parade in Gujranwala , like they do in USA after winning championship.

Only certain castes have that build like kashmiris of punjab (nooras) , dogars , kambohs and gujjars you have to have the good genetics for wrestling , strongman build.

But due to modern diets and modern foods being contaminated people don't get the right nutrition these days hence why in pakistan instead of people getting bigger taller our people are getting smaller weaker and you are getting more stunted growth in children. I highly doubt if the milk that is produced in paksistan is pure and has not been processed and adultererated.

Very sad , but true .

This guy can join the WWE later on. He's the real deal!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">It’s A Proud Moment For Me &#55357;&#56908;&#55356;&#57339; Alhumdulillah Got Honourable Job In Pakistan Custom <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/noohbutt?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#noohbutt</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/noohdastagirbutt?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#noohdastagirbutt</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/noohdastagir?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#noohdastagir</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/pakistancustom?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#pakistancustom</a> <a href="https://t.co/WqocTRLZj5">pic.twitter.com/WqocTRLZj5</a></p>— Nooh Butt (@NoohDastgirButt) <a href="https://twitter.com/NoohDastgirButt/status/1572161563813097474?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">September 20, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Pakistan's Nooh Dastgir Butt wins gold at Commonwealth Powerlifting Championship

Pakistani weightlifter Nooh Dastgir Butt made a stunning international debut on Thursday at the Commonwealth Powerlifting Classic and Equipped Championships in South Africa, winning gold in the squat event, according to the Associated Press of Pakistan.

The Pride of Performance Award recipient and Commonwealth Games gold medalist lifted an impressive 370 kilograms in his first powerlifting competition at Sun City, becoming Pakistan's inaugural powerlifting gold medalist.

Nooh Dasatgir Butt stole the show at the Commonwealth Powerlifting Championship, securing an impressive 8 medals, including 7 golds and 1 bronze, in his debut appearance.

Building on this momentum, he dominated the equipped 120+kg category, claiming a quartet of gold medals with a clean sweep.

This exceptional achievement underscores his remarkable adaptability and resilience, having successfully transitioned from weightlifting to powerlifting.

Pakistan's Nooh Dastgir Butt has made history by setting a new record in the Asian Powerlifting Championship held in Tashkent

Competing in the 120+ kg category, Nooh lifted an impressive 400 kilograms in the squat event, establishing a new Asian record.

His remarkable performance secured him his first gold medal in the championship.

The remaining medals in the bench press, deadlift, and overall competitions are yet to be decided, with Nooh in contention for further accolades.

Nooh Butt clinches second consecutive world strongman title

Pakistan’s celebrated weightlifter Nooh Dastgir Butt successfully defended his title at the World Strongman Championship 2025, clinching two gold medals in the competition held in Uzbekistan.

The 24-year-old athlete from Gujranwala once again brought laurels to the country with a commanding performance that left no room for doubt about his dominance in the sport.

Butt secured top honours by claiming all available points in the early rounds, ultimately emerging as the undisputed champion of the event.

This marks the second consecutive year that Butt has won the World Strongman title. His consistent performance over the last two years has not only elevated his personal stature but also placed Pakistan on the global weightlifting map.

Officials from the Pakistan Weightlifting Federation (PWF) hailed Butt’s achievement as a historic milestone for strength sports in the country. “Nooh has set a benchmark for the younger generation. His dedication and discipline are an inspiration for all aspiring athletes,” said a PWF spokesperson.

Public reaction to his win was equally celebratory, with fans and fellow athletes taking to social media to congratulate him. His feat has sparked widespread praise and renewed calls for greater support for weightlifting and strength-based sports in Pakistan.

Butt’s father, Dastgir Butt, himself a former national weightlifting champion and Nooh’s long-time coach, attributed the victory to relentless hard work and faith. “Nooh has sacrificed a lot to reach this level. His win is not just for our family, but for the entire nation,” he told reporters.

Experts say Nooh Dastgir Butt’s consecutive victories at the international level can become a turning point for Pakistan’s presence in global strength sports, provided adequate investment and infrastructure are developed to nurture emerging talent.