Faheem Ashraf - 26
Imad Wasim - 31
Hasan Ali - 26
Shaheen Shah Afridi - 20

Sahibzada Farhan - 24
Hussain Talat - 24
Usman Khan Shinwari - 26
Waqas Maqsood - 32

Looking forward to T20s vs Australia in Australia next year. That would be the real test.

Naa. Aussies lost at home to India and even SL. Test would be SA in SA i think
Yeah SA will be tough too but I think we do pretty well against them. I would be disappointed if we lose in SA.

Hafeez and Malik should leave after 2019 WC
No need to wait till T20WC

In the words of Goldberg, "WHO'S NEXT?!?" :yk2

I really think Pakistan lost out on a free T20 title just because of the change in the format tenure. Had it been the same 'once in 2 years', they should have sleep walked the 2018 title. 2020 is far away, lots of dynamics can change, but for now Congrats Pakistan!

With our luck, I fully expect everything to fall apart right before the World T20:yk

Just as Eng/India and solid 50 over runs of form/results, this will all mean NOTHING if Pakistan do not win the T20-WC in 2020.

LOIs ultimately rest on the cups in each format. The rest is ultimately filler.

Nonetheless, Pakistan are a solid T20 side.

We need to get Umar Khan into the T20 team, he will take wickets regardless of the track. He will be essential to our success in this tournament. I also hope we move away from Hussain Talat and Mohammad Hafeez in T20s, we need proper hitters in the team for T20s. I want to see Khushdil Shah in the T20 team as well.

I think the team should like this, we could do well in the tournament.

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Abid Ali
3. Babar Azam
4. Khushdil Shah
5. Haris Sohail
6. Sarfaraz
7. Imad Wasim
8. Faheem Ashraf
9. Hassan Ali
10. Amir
11. Shaheen Shah

12. Hasnain
13. Asif Ali
14. Shadab Khan
15. Haris Rauf

Hopefully ICC will do something to compensate the time difference between the Indian Subcontinent and Australia.

Yeah i am sure since it is only a T20, they will probably start very late. So the subcontinent guys should be able to tune in the morning I guess

Pakistan are hot favorites for this tournament.

Getting rid of Malik and replacing him with likes of Sharjeel will only strengthen our team in this format.

Pakistan are hot favorites for this tournament.

Getting rid of Malik and replacing him with likes of Sharjeel will only strengthen our team in this format.

Especially if you consider how Sharjeel Khan batted last time when he was in Australia.

Ah I would love to see some Sarfraz haters crying when he will be lifting another trophy!

InshAllah!

Ameen. Insha Allah.

This is Sarfraz's best format as a captain. Someone posted that he has the highest win-loss ratio as a captain if you combine domestic and t20is.

Plus our team is quite strong too even though on paper it looks like we lack power hitters.

Ameen. Insha Allah.

This is Sarfraz's best format as a captain. Someone posted that he has the highest win-loss ratio as a captain if you combine domestic and t20is.

Plus our team is quite strong too even though on paper it looks like we lack power hitters.
We don’t need any power hitters because of our bowling unit in T20is. :genius

I think the team should like this, we could do well in the tournament.

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Abid Ali
3. Babar Azam
4. Khushdil Shah
5. Haris Sohail
6. Sarfaraz
7. Imad Wasim
8. Faheem Ashraf
9. Hassan Ali
10. Amir
11. Shaheen Shah

12. Hasnain
13. Asif Ali
14. Shadab Khan
15. Haris Rauf

Haris Sohail does not belong in T20s, replace him with Asif Ali, he is made for this format.

Fakhar
Sharjeel
Hack1
Hack 2
Hack3
Hack4
Rizwan (wk)
Shadab
Amir
Hasan
junaid

Selectors & co should find the biggest hacks going in domestic & hope for a windies 2016. Some of them might turn out to be poor mans russell/pollards.

Reality is the likes of malik hafeez sarfraz will still be leeching on to the team with there mighty averages of 20s.

Too early to call, but the team should roughly be:

Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Malik/Hafeez
Umar Akmal+
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Faheem Ashraf
Hasan Ali
Muhammad Amir
Shaheen Afridi

Top Order Batsman (Sharjeel or Shahzad I guess, maybe even Imam if he makes progress)
Khushdil Shah
Umer Khan
Rauf/Hasnain

Haven't decided on the captain yet, could be Babar or Imad.

Especially if you consider how Sharjeel Khan batted last time when he was in Australia.

Australia are the favourites for the world T20. Look at their batting line up. They can chase anything on those flat pitches.

Too early to call, but the team should roughly be:

Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Malik/Hafeez
Umar Akmal+
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Faheem Ashraf
Hasan Ali
Muhammad Amir
Shaheen Afridi

Top Order Batsman (Sharjeel or Shahzad I guess, maybe even Imam if he makes progress)
Khushdil Shah
Umer Khan
Rauf/Hasnain

Haven't decided on the captain yet, could be Babar or Imad.
Umar Akmal as WK will be a disaster.

I really think Pakistan lost out on a free T20 title just because of the change in the format tenure. Had it been the same 'once in 2 years', they should have sleep walked the 2018 title. 2020 is far away, lots of dynamics can change, but for now Congrats Pakistan!

I agree and hated the decision to make it once every 4 years. The World T20 is the most exciting event in the cricketing calendar, but at the same time no weight is given to the bilaterals so it's pointless making everyone wait so long for it to come round again.

I imagine we wait 4 years so India doesn't risk reducing the world's focus on it's IPL cash cow.

I think this would be a good XI for the World cup

Fakhar
Sharjeel
Babar
Malik
Sarfraz
Asif
Yamin/Khushdil
Shadab
Hasan
Amir
Shaheen

Malik will be a failure in Aussie pitches chotay bhai and btw you should post more : )

Thx and I know Malik will probably be a failure but I know they will have one of Malik or Hafeez in the squad so I just put Malik, Hafeez is also good though I just put Malik because I thought the world cup would be in India.

Haha no problem and true aik to hona hai 37+ year k senior quotay pai lol.

Sharjeel Khan
Kamran Akmal
Fakhar Zaman
Umar Akmal
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Aamir Yamin
Sohail Tanvir
Umer Khan
Shaheen Afridi
Hasan Ali

It is a myth that we are the best T20I team in the world, and this drama will end soon because the bubble will burst.

In fact, it happened in South Africa already, but people have the convenient excuse that Sarfaraz was not captaining the side.

If there is a WT20, Pakistan will not win it. Only a borderline minnow like Pakistan takes bilateral T20s seriously, and plays its best XI. The elite teams reserve their best players for the WT20s.

In fact, even in bilateral T20s, India will thump Pakistan and it will be as humiliating as the Asia Cup. Same goes for England as well, notwithstanding our one-off win in Sep 2016 in Manchester.

The fact that there is no WT20 this year is actually a blessing in disguise - when we inevitably fail in 2020, we can always use the excuse that our peak is over and we were unlucky that there was no WT20 during the 2017-2019 period.

Our T20 streak is meaningless and our fake ranking means nothing - this is an average T20 team and far from the best in the world.

Nevertheless, whatever makes Pakistani fans happy in these tough times. For pretty much 15 years, Pakistan has been the poster boy of mediocrity, so our fans and their bruised egos have little choice but to seek happinesses and comfort in the little things.

Pakistan will be hot favourites for this tournament and it would be pretty shocking if we don't end up as winners.

This will also be the perfect format for selecting likes of Asif Ali and Umar Akmal unlike the 50 over WC, due to their habit of playing short cameos and as the World Cup would be in Australia, where pitches will favour their style of batting.

Maybe, add Sharjeel Khan to the team as well.

Playing XI:

Fakhar Zaman
Sharjeel Khan
Babar Azam
Umar Akmal
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
Shadab Khan
Hasan Ali
Mohammad Amir
Shaheen Afridi

Bench:

Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Faheem Ashraf
Mohammad Hasnain

Pakistan will be hot favourites for this tournament and it would be pretty shocking if we don't end up as winners.

This will also be the perfect format for selecting likes of Asif Ali and Umar Akmal unlike the 50 over WC, due to their habit of playing short cameos and as the World Cup would be in Australia, where pitches will favour their style of batting.

Playing XI:

Fakhar Zaman
Sharjeel Khan
Babar Azam
Umar Akmal
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
Shadab Khan
Hasan Ali
Mohammad Amir
Shaheen Afridi

Bench:

Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Faheem Ashraf
Mohammad Hasnain

Mohammed Hafeez...... I thought we were retiring him after 2019 World Cup...

Playing XI:

Fakhar Zaman
Sharjeel Khan
Babar Azam
Umar Akmal
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Sarfraz Ahmed(C)(Wk)
Shadab Khan
Hasan Ali
Mohammad Amir
Shaheen Afridi

Bench:

Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Faheem Ashraf
Mohammad Hasnain

Take your green tinted glasses off for 1 second and explain how this Australian line up isn’t better in home conditions?

Finch
Warner
Lynn
Maxi
Stonis
Ashton Turner
Carey
Starc
Cummins
Behendorff/Coulter Nile
Zampa

They are the favourites for the World T20. I haven’t even mentioned England with their batting line up :))

Take your green tinted glasses off for 1 second and explain how this Australian line up isn’t better in home conditions?

Finch
Warner
Lynn
Maxi
Stonis
Ashton Turner
Carey
Starc
Cummins
Behendorff/Coulter Nile
Zampa

They are the favourites for the World T20. I haven’t even mentioned England with their batting line up :))

Here you go, I will mention it for you.

Jason Roy
Jonny Bairstow
Alex Hales
Eoin Morgan(C)
Ben Stokes
Jos Buttler(Wk)
Moeen Ali
Chris Woakes
Adil Rashid
Chris Jordan
Jofra Archer

Before telling someone to take off his glasses, first remove you Non-Pakistani Painted glasses.

This is the same line-up that got murdered by our T20I bowling attack in UAE, just like Zimbabwe would have, where even our arguably the best bowler was not even playing and please don't give me the excuse of the sluggish pitches, Pakistani bowlers have performed on all kind of surfaces from England, West Indies, New Zealand and also in South Africa, when we finally decided to play Mohammad Amir.

Our batting which I posted above has the ability to score big and be competitive, but still it may not be better than England or Australia, but that doesn't matter with the kind of bowlers we have. There is no way Australia or England have better bowlers than us.

Our bowling attack is pretty versatile, able to adapt to any condition and is highly skillful. We were the only team that didn't allow New Zealand to score big at their small home grounds and defended targets successfully. No team in the world can hit big on bowlers like Amir and Imad regularly, with the height of Shaheen he can extract some serious bounce on those Aussie pitches. Hasan Ali and Shadab Khan are deadly wicket takers with all kind of variations in their arsenal which helps them in breaking backbone of the batting lineups, no team can score big on us if we play these 5 bowlers. In selecting these, I have let the best fast bowler according to rankings(which I know don't matter that much) on the bench.

Australian and English bowling attacks aren't made for T20 cricket and no matter how flat is the pitch, our bowlers will always keep our batsmen in the game.

With Sarfraz as captain, who is one of the best in limited overs. I think we can defeat any team in the world, being better than them.

Jason Roy
Jonny Bairstow
Alex Hales
Eoin Morgan(C)
Ben Stokes
Jos Buttler(Wk)
Moeen Ali
Chris Woakes
Adil Rashid
Chris Jordan
Jofra Archer

Before telling someone to take off his glasses, first remove you Non-Pakistani Painted glasses.

This is the same line-up that got murdered by our T20I bowling attack in UAE, just like Zimbabwe would have, where even our arguably the best bowler was not even playing and please don't give me the excuse of the sluggish pitches, Pakistani bowlers have performed on all kind of surfaces from England, West Indies, New Zealand and also in South Africa, when we finally decided to play Mohammad Amir.

Our batting which I posted above has the ability to score big and be competitive, but still it may not be better than England or Australia, but that doesn't matter with the kind of bowlers we have. There is no way Australia or England have better bowlers than us.

Our bowling attack is pretty versatile, able to adapt to any condition and is highly skillful. We were the only team that didn't allow New Zealand to score big at their small home grounds and defended targets successfully. No team in the world can hit big on bowlers like Amir and Imad regularly, with the height of Shaheen he can extract some serious bounce on those Aussie pitches. Hasan Ali and Shadab Khan are deadly wicket takers with all kind of variations in their arsenal which helps them in breaking backbone of the batting lineups, no team can score big on us if we play these 5 bowlers. In selecting these, I have let the best fast bowler according to rankings(which I know don't matter that much) on the bench.

Australian and English bowling attacks aren't made for T20 cricket and no matter how flat is the pitch, our bowlers will always keep our batsmen in the game.

With Sarfraz as captain, who is one of the best in limited overs. I think we can defeat any team in the world, being better than them.

But the fact still remains that Aus are favourites for the 2020 T20 WC if they don't hit rock bottom.
But what's the point talking about it now?
The t20 WC is in 1 and a half years. We're very far from it.
You'd get a better idea around 4-6 months before the wc.

But the fact still remains that Aus are favourites for the 2020 T20 WC if they don't hit rock bottom.
But what's the point talking about it now?
The t20 WC is in 1 and a half years. We're very far from it.
You'd get a better idea around 4-6 months before the wc.

I didn't said that, they aren't favourites, and so what if they are. There can be many for one tournament and playing at home certainly helps. I just said that Pakistan is a better team than Australia overall in T20I's and also currently.

Also, I agree that it would be better to judge once we get closer to the actual competition, but we can judge based on current form, can't we?

Jason Roy
Jonny Bairstow
Alex Hales
Eoin Morgan(C)
Ben Stokes
Jos Buttler(Wk)
Moeen Ali
Chris Woakes
Adil Rashid
Chris Jordan
Jofra Archer

I am not even going to use pitches as an excuse. But the World T20 is Australia. It will be played on big grounds and on flat pitches which play into the hands of the Australian batters.

Starc,Cummins,Coulter Nile ,and Zampa is a very good attack. What are you talking about? England bowling isn't great. But they can out score any team so they should concentrate on their strengths.

We shall see. I don't have this confidence that you. You can see man for man in Australian conditions, they are stronger than us.

It is a myth that we are the best T20I team in the world, and this drama will end soon because the bubble will burst.

In fact, it happened in South Africa already, but people have the convenient excuse that Sarfaraz was not captaining the side.

If there is a WT20, Pakistan will not win it. Only a borderline minnow like Pakistan takes bilateral T20s seriously, and plays its best XI. The elite teams reserve their best players for the WT20s.

In fact, even in bilateral T20s, India will thump Pakistan and it will be as humiliating as the Asia Cup. Same goes for England as well, notwithstanding our one-off win in Sep 2016 in Manchester.

The fact that there is no WT20 this year is actually a blessing in disguise - when we inevitably fail in 2020, we can always use the excuse that our peak is over and we were unlucky that there was no WT20 during the 2017-2019 period.

Our T20 streak is meaningless and our fake ranking means nothing - this is an average T20 team and far from the best in the world.

Nevertheless, whatever makes Pakistani fans happy in these tough times. For pretty much 15 years, Pakistan has been the poster boy of mediocrity, so our fans and their bruised egos have little choice but to seek happinesses and comfort in the little things.

Not a fan of this argument - that teams don't take bilaterals seriously.

Whatever sport it is, you don't enter it to not win it. Otherwise do not sign up.

Also, not a big fan of speculation - if India/England play Pakistan in bilaterals, they will win. It is an argument with no data points because the matches haven't happened - anyone can make a reverse argument in the absence of data.

Overall, I agree Pakistan T20 team isn't the strongest and it would be foolish to say otherwise. But it always remains capable of kicking into gear against the odds - as it has done in the past.

Not a fan of this argument - that teams don't take bilaterals seriously.

Whatever sport it is, you don't enter it to not win it. Otherwise do not sign up.

Also, not a big fan of speculation - if India/England play Pakistan in bilaterals, they will win. It is an argument with no data points because the matches haven't happened - anyone can make a reverse argument in the absence of data.

Overall, I agree Pakistan T20 team isn't the strongest and it would be foolish to say otherwise. But it always remains capable of kicking into gear against the odds - as it has done in the past.

Had the Asia Cup not happened, the idea that India would beat Pakistan in a ODI series - that too without Kohli - would also have been dismissed as speculation. The gulf between Pakistan and India/England is too big for Pakistan to prevail over the course of a series. One-off games are of course a different story.

We'll find out when pak plays eng for the 5 odi series.

I am not even going to use pitches as an excuse. But the World T20 is Australia. It will be played on big grounds and on flat pitches which play into the hands of the Australian batters.

Starc,Cummins,Coulter Nile ,and Zampa is a very good attack. What are you talking about? England bowling isn't great. But they can out score any team so they should concentrate on their strengths.

We shall see. I don't have this confidence that you. You can see man for man in Australian conditions, they are stronger than us.

That Aussie attack might be good, but in my opinion Pakistan's bowling attack is the best in the world with lots of variety and all types of skills, and like I said whatever the pitches are, our bowling will always be up to the level.

I don't know whether they are better than us man to man for Australian conditions, but as a team our performance will be better than them, I believe.

Pakistan have been terrible against ALL teams in UAE in LOIs for a long long long time. Fact.

This is not to say India/BD wouldn't have beaten Pakistan.

Though, Pakistan has been borderline minnow in tests and ODIs, the T20 team has done very well under Sarfraz. The team has not posted huge totals but they are capable of consistently posting 170+ scores which are most of the time match-winning totals considering Pakistan's better bowling in T20s. Aamir, Imad, and Shadab are all better T20 bowlers than in other formats. Except SA series loss, the team has managed to beat most of the teams fair and square. Even, the SA series was closely contested and the two games Pakistan lost were by a very small margin.

Pakistan will be going into WT20 as one of the favorites. Pakistani batsmen hardly hit any sixes so the longer boundaries will have the least impact on Pakistani batsmen. It will cause more trouble for power hitters from other teams who majority of the time manage to clear the rope despite mistiming the ball.

Who should be in the Pakistan side for the World T20 in 2020?

Sahibzada Farhan
Harris Sohail
Barbar Azam
Asif Ali
Imad Wasim
Mohammad Rizwan
Shadab Khan
Mohammad Amir
Haris Rauf
Shaheen Afridi
Mohammad Hasnain

1. Fakhar/Sharjeel
2. Babar
3. Hafeez/Talat
4. Asif
5. Sarfaraz
6. Imad
7. Faheem/Yameen
8. Shadab/Gohar
9. Hasan/Wahab
10. Amir
11. Shaheen

My squad for the T20 world cup:

1. Fakhar Zaman
2. Sharjeel Khan
3. Babar Azam (vc)
4. Haris Sohail
5. Sarfaraz (c)
6. Asif Ali
7. Imad Wasim
8. Shadab Khan
9. Wahab Riaz
10. Amir
11. Shaheen Afridi

12. Haris Rauf
13. Hasnain
14. Zafar Gohar
15. Hussain Talat

I don't know how can anyone think of selecting oldies yet again? No Wahab, Hafeez and Malik please. Otherwise get ready for another early exit. Stick with youngsters. Sarfraz shouldn't be considered at all, as he is finished with the bat. Rizwan is the way forward.

We've definitely earned the no.1 spot in T20. You can't expect Pak to win every series now can you?

I think Pakistan has a really great chance of winning 2020 World T20. It will be in Australia and Pakistani pacers can do wonders there. Shaheen can be the key man.

Our batting is a bit of a worry though. We don't have enough power hitters in the middle order apart from Imad Wasim. We're not gonna do very well in World T20 with a player like Sarfraz in the team who can't barely hit the ball outside the 30 yard circle.

You have forgotten Sarfraz’s last-ball six in the PSL against Lahore Qalandars if I’m not wrong.

I feel a T20 focus will doom our future.

I rather focus on playing newbies in T20.

One six is not convincing enough. Sarfraz can't clear a boundary for his life.
Sarfraz used to take on the spinners and had also done it when he scored 98 against England in the last series.

I feel captaincy has affected his game very much.

I can only laugh at Pakistan are “hot favorites”.

We are definitely not “hot favorites”.

Truth be told we take T20s way too much seriously.

While other teams test their bench strength in T20 series, we play our best XI :facepalm:

T20 format is the one where upsets can happen. I think it's difficult to say who will win the tournament. Need to see how the combinations for each team line up.

Australia, India, and England look like strong teams right now . I would not rule out Pakistan and West Indies. If Sri Lanka can get their act together even they could be a threat. The World T20 has the potential to be a thriller.

Sharjeel
Fakhar
Babar
Mohammad Rizwan
Asif Ali
Khushdil Shah
Amir Yamin
Imad Wasim
Wahab
Shaheen
Umer Khan

I personally think that Babar is too slow for T20 format. He is really great for ODI and Test.

Have you ever watched Babar bat in T20s?

He is phenomenal in finding the gaps and makes it look so easy in T20s by playing ground shots.

2 left arm spinners is predictable. Need a leggie or right arm offie.

Yeah it's not ideal, but I'd rather go with our 2 best bowlers rather than trying someone inferior just for the sake of variety. I think these 2 are our best bets when it comes to spin.

You need variety in cricket. Imad has to play in T20s so we should play a leggie or a right arm off spinner. Plus if a team has a few lefties we cant challenge with a right arm offie or leg break. Left arm spin versus left handed batters usually doesn't go well.

Shadab leaks too many runs, should try Zafar Gohar & Umer. Both had better PSL too last time

First thing that needs to happen is that Sarfraz needs to be sacked as captain, and Malik encouraged to retire from all formats.

Second no compromise on fitness.

Third appoint a captain whose place on the squad is not debatable. Best option would be Babar.

Literally useless to play cricket in UAE.

Plus we need a lot of work on fitness as well as on our fielding.

Pakistan please try and find another spinner in our squad.

Replacement of M Hafeez is really essential as we need a bowler who can bowl offies and can bat much better than M Hafeez.

Imad Wasim should try and bowl some bowls which can spin as well to surprise the batsmen.

And the important thing is to get Dean Jones as a coach and bowling coach like Ian pont should be hired. Grant flower and Azhar Mahmood needs to go.