Pat Cummins for KKR and now SRH: Disastrous Investment?

Players do underperform...its sport afterall. Not sure why need to bring the money angle to mock them. When they signed Cummins, neither franchise or Cummins himself knew that he will have a poor IPL. Players are bought based on reputation and Pat Cummins is one of the best seamers in world cricket. Its obvious he will demand big money especially during his peak years. Let him turn 35+, he will also settle for less money and play every other smaller leagues.

Who’s mocking him?

Well you are behind Cummins from long and took a dig on him plenty of times on that 'IPL vs PSL bowling thread'. Now opened an entire thread on him to call it a disastrous investment. The fact is, Patrick Cummins is one of the best bowlers in world cricket and most cricket teams around the world would love to have him in the sidd. He is just having a poor tournament just like Steve Smith, Kane Williamson and even Ben Stokes in having. As they say Form is temporary and class is permanent and most franchise invest on class rather than form.

Ok, don’t get too sentimental. This isn’t meant to hurt your feelings.

This is professional sport and this is a sportsman who has to earn his keep. Why should be sympathetic towards him? He bags $8000 a delivery wicket or no wicket, whilst we as fans pay £50 a month to sky sports to watch him bowl.

It’s alright to be harsh, as long as it isn’t personal abuse. I have also been on Maxwells case, and Quinton DeKock before he got his act together. I will come after anyone who I feel deserves the wrath of fair criticism.

I find it highly ridiculous that people are actually defending this pathetic performance.

It’s funny how IPL fans are happy to watch these players being auctioned by foreign and Indian Businessmen, showing off their price tags to make it look like IPL is the most stellar contest in world cricket. But they become highly emotional when you criticise a player for being a flop for his price tag!

Maybe you shouldn’t have these prices, auctions and contract details out there in the public if you can’t handle embarrassment? You make the circus, you can’t be upset if people are not feeling entertained by your performers!

It’s funny how IPL fans are happy to watch these players being auctioned by foreign and Indian Businessmen, showing off their price tags to make it look like IPL is the most stellar contest in world cricket. But they become highly emotional when you criticise a player for being a flop for his price tag!

Maybe you shouldn’t have these prices, auctions and contract details out there in the public if you can’t handle embarrassment? You make the circus, you can’t be upset if people are not feeling entertained by your performers!

Like I said. I have seen cummin's best and he is simply a mediocre T20 player.
He is an above average odi bowler in seaming condtions only. He is mediocre in other flat Pattas

He is also only good in SENA in tests.
He is not good enough in Asia.

Overall a good test bowler but nothing special.

Sorry Aussie wannabes fake fans. This is the truth.

Like I said. I have seen cummin's best and he is simply a mediocre T20 player.
He is an above average odi bowler in seaming condtions only. He is mediocre in other flat Pattas

He is also only good in SENA in tests.
He is not good enough in Asia.

Overall a good test bowler but nothing special.

Sorry Aussie wannabes fake fans. This is the truth.

Not good enough in Asia?

Was really good in the two tests he played in India.
In the 3rd test which was a patta he took 4/106 in the 1st innings, the best performance by any fast bowler on that pitch
In the 4th test he was the 2nd best pacer from either team

This was his comeback series after 5 years of not playing

Ok, don’t get too sentimental. This isn’t meant to hurt your feelings.

This is professional sport and this is a sportsman who has to earn his keep. Why should be sympathetic towards him? He bags $8000 a delivery wicket or no wicket, whilst we as fans pay £50 a month to sky sports to watch him bowl.

It’s alright to be harsh, as long as it isn’t personal abuse. I have also been on Maxwells case, and Quinton DeKock before he got his act together. I will come after anyone who I feel deserves the wrath of fair criticism.

I find it highly ridiculous that people are actually defending this pathetic performance.

How much more money from sponsorships has KKR got due to him. it wouldn't be negligible

Not good enough in Asia?

Was really good in the two tests he played in India.
In the 3rd test which was a patta he took 4/106 in the 1st innings, the best performance by any fast bowler on that pitch
In the 4th test he was the 2nd best pacer from either team

This was his comeback series after 5 years of not playing

He wasn't good enough. Sorry. No. Just no. He will get ripped to shreds again when he tours India.

He was alright in 2 tests and that was not in Pattas. The pitch had something in it. He will get found out again.

He is only good in SENA. Actually even in England he got smashed around by stokesyyy.

How much more money from sponsorships has KKR got due to him. it wouldn't be negligible

Well I’ll give him the fact that people were excited to see the world’s most expensive overseas only for him to fail repeatedly, that’s a worry.

Going into today's game, opposition team would be more worry of Lockie Ferguson and look to cash in against Cummins.

He does not seem to care so much and concentrating / enjoying his batting more. He is a GUN bowler and if he really wanted to can turn it up.

He is a mediocre T20 bowler.
Above average in odi in Seaming wickets.
Good test bowler but nothing special. Especially not outside Sena.

Hell even jhye Richardson and Hazelwood are better than him in T20.

Tbf to him, he has been bowling well but to no avail really.

Not worth $2m is my dispute when others who are paid far less than him have been way better

He is a mediocre T20 bowler.
Above average in odi in Seaming wickets.
Good test bowler but nothing special. Especially not outside Sena.

Hell even jhye Richardson and Hazelwood are better than him in T20.

LOL cant you see he clearly does not care and wants his pay check and leave ASAP.

Tbf to him, he has been bowling well but to no avail really.

Not worth $2m is my dispute when others who are paid far less than him have been way better

This auction system is never meant to be fair. Players who are paid lesser aren't going to protest and will line up next year again.

Who cares. Grit your teeth and all this will be over in a few days time, and real cricket can resume. #IndvAus

This auction system is never meant to be fair. Players who are paid lesser aren't going to protest and will line up next year again.

Who cares. Grit your teeth and all this will be over in a few days time, and real cricket can resume. #IndvAus

And we will be playing real cricket with Bhuvi and Ishant injured?

Exactly. And Morgan/Stokes and others will also be resting from Real cricket when having to face Pakistan or Sri Lanka away due to mental health issues

Serves them right for prioritizing IPL over Tests.

Unfortunately money talks. Make more money in IPL than tests so they will prioritise franchise cricket over tests.

Players who die for their country don't exist anymore in India.

anyway Saini will replace him. We will miss Ishant though. Oh well. Bhuvi too needs to come back hopefully.

He wasn't good enough. Sorry. No. Just no. He will get ripped to shreds again when he tours India.

He was alright in 2 tests and that was not in Pattas. The pitch had something in it. He will get found out again.

He is only good in SENA. Actually even in England he got smashed around by stokesyyy.

The 3rd test pitch was a complete patta, and he was the best fast bowler. That is class
He was much better than Bumrah/Shami in England. Dominated Root

Exactly. And Morgan/Stokes and others will also be resting from Real cricket when having to face Pakistan or Sri Lanka away due to mental health issues

Yeah that can win without those players so who really cares

The 3rd test pitch was a complete patta, and he was the best fast bowler. That is class
He was much better than Bumrah/Shami in England. Dominated Root

No he wasn't. He performed when the game was already out of hand. India scored 603 in that game.

He is still a average bowler outside Sena. Sorry. Not good enough. I do not rate him outside SENA.

Serves them right for prioritizing IPL over Tests.

Unfortunately money talks. Make more money in IPL than tests so they will prioritise franchise cricket over tests.

Players who die for their country don't exist anymore in India.

anyway Saini will replace him. We will miss Ishant though. Oh well. Bhuvi too needs to come back hopefully.

I am especially disappointed in Ishant. He's such an excellent bowler and should have known that an important Test tour was coming,.with him being one of the most important players of the test team. And he's not even a good T20 player, yet he goes and plays IPL and gets injured. India needs to protect him at all costs, like what England does with Jimmy Anderson.

I stopped following this team after then won the tournament ages ago but my word what a horrifying squad, the entire composition is just awful and buying Pat was disastrous indeed on so many levels; he is bang average as a T20 bowler, not bad but not good / worth what he was bought for.

I guess his economy rate is improving. Shame about the average

No point ridiculing the league but the KKR management rather.. its like Toronto Leafs that have all expensive players that perform zilch at every playoff.. would you ridicule NHL?

Yeah I would if I cared about a sport like NHL. Criticism isn’t ridicule. Do you see me ridiculing CSK for Paying around a million dollars for Kedar Jhadav?

In England, plenty of banter goes with clubs like Manchester United paying £300k a week to Falcao, or paying £80m for Macguire. These things are a part of professional sport. Fans, journalists will question.

No he wasn't. He performed when the game was already out of hand. India scored 603 in that game.

He is still a average bowler outside Sena. Sorry. Not good enough. I do not rate him outside SENA.

What?

He took 3 top 5 wickets, and India were 330 for 6 in response to 450, suffering a mini collapse

You don’t rate him just because you don’t like him. Every pundit rated that series from him really highly

What?

He took 3 top 5 wickets, and India were 330 for 6 in response to 450, suffering a mini collapse

You don’t rate him just because you don’t like him. Every pundit rated that series from him really highly

He is mediocre outside Sena. Hell he got destroyed by Yasir Shah in Australia.
He is good in SENA. That's about it. I am waiting to see his average explode to Philander level soon when he tours india.

I din't say I don't like him, I just don't think he is that good. That's all.

He got flattened by stokes and co in England too in the most important game. It's easier to perform in Sena when you are from Australia just like it's easier for Indian bowlers to perform better in Asia.

Smith saves this team everytime. He is lucky he doesn't have to face the best batsman of all time in tests.

300 for 6 or not. At the end they scored 600 and this is after Australia had their best ever prep before the series. Lol India never prepped for an important clash by playing lots of first class tests for practice since 2008. India din't borrow Australian soil to replicate the bouncy nature of their pitches in Indian conditions for practice.

He is mediocre outside Sena. Hell he got destroyed by Yasir Shah in Australia.
He is good in SENA. That's about it. I am waiting to see his average explode to Philander level soon when he tours india.

I din't say I don't like him, I just don't think he is that good. That's all.

He got flattened by stokes and co in England too in the most important game. It's easier to perform in Sena when you are from Australia just like it's easier for Indian bowlers to perform better in Asia.

Smith saves this team everytime. He is lucky he doesn't have to face the best batsman of all time in tests.

300 for 6 or not. At the end they scored 600 and this is after Australia had their best ever prep before the series. Lol India never prepped for an important clash by playing lots of first class tests for practice since 2008. India din't borrow Australian soil to replicate the bouncy nature of their pitches in Indian conditions for practice.

Every player has the odd performance where the opposition gets runs. Ranking him down because he was 'destroyed by Shah' is dumb

That was not the most important game. The first test was, as it set the tone for the series and he was fantastic

What do u mean by "300 for 6 or not". A bowler who hadn't played for 6 years bowled exceedingly well to the Ind top order to get them 300 for 6 with very little support. I was responding to your statements saying he took wickets when it didn't matter

Every player has the odd performance where the opposition gets runs. Ranking him down because he was 'destroyed by Shah' is dumb

That was not the most important game. The first test was, as it set the tone for the series and he was fantastic

What do u mean by "300 for 6 or not". A bowler who hadn't played for 6 years bowled exceedingly well to the Ind top order to get them 300 for 6 with very little support. I was responding to your statements saying he took wickets when it didn't matter

Ok and that's when India din't even study him. No tapes to analyse his game. He will get found out very very soon.

That Jamieson fluke from n.z happens during novelty years. He will get worked out very soon too. His days are numbered. I can't wait to see him get obliterated in India.

New players have an advantage as no one knows much about them due to novelty factor.

I saw the 2017 India vs Australia test series ball to ball.

Pat Cummins bowled really really well without much support.

He was very impressive on the patta pitch for the 3rd test... Ranchi I think.

Remind me what Archer gets paid for this tournament?

Bhai aapka problem kya hai with Pat Cummins? :P

OK he didn't do well this year but to open a thread and bump it after every failure like you are personally affected is a bit too much... don't you think?

Acche acchon ka IPL thread nahi banra aur aap Pat ko leke paden hai.... :))

We should be questioning why mediocre Aussies get gigs in IPL.

Pat ain't one of them.

Can't blame KKR for splurging on Pat.

Bhai aapka problem kya hai with Pat Cummins? :P

OK he didn't do well this year but to open a thread and bump it after every failure like you are personally affected is a bit too much... don't you think?

Acche acchon ka IPL thread nahi banra aur aap Pat ko leke paden hai.... :))

Main un sab ko Rulaoon ga jo is Mercenary ko blind support karte hain.

We should be questioning why mediocre Aussies get gigs in IPL.

Pat ain't one of them.

Can't blame KKR for splurging on Pat.

He was by far best Aussies bowler on the show in that series. Hazelwood basically fluked a 6-fer luckily.

Having said that, it seems he is saving his best for Down Under now.

He was by far best Aussies bowler on the show in that series. Hazelwood basically fluked a 6-fer luckily.

No he is giving 100%. You can see that. But Archer, Rabada and Nortje are also giving it all. The gulf in potency is for all to see

Which is the right thing to do. Much better than some Indian players who save their best for IPL but go missing in internationals. :inti

Lets think from the KKR management point of view why they bought Pat Cummins at such a high price...

Do you people really think that KKR paid millions and think that Cummins will come and win them IPL...

Team management don't buy players only thinking Player will come and give match winning performances to fetch them title straight away... If that happens then its well n good.. But that really not how things work

Question to OP : Now if KKR retain Cummins and he will come next year and help them win championship.. Then will you still think this investment of 2 years is disastrous...

Now Why KKR believe in Cummins and paid such high price for him...because he is one of the best in the world at the moment...

IPL make or break careers... People who saying Pat Cummins is not great t20 player...KKR management who putting millions at stake think otherwise.A strong possibility this world class Bowler who is average in shorter format will become one of the best in t20 by playing in IPL..

No he is giving 100%. You can see that. But Archer, Rabada and Nortje are also giving it all. The gulf in potency is for all to see

Does it even matter? His legacy is intact by his test match performance and his brand name is making sure that he will fetch $$$ through these T20 leagues.

He hasn't worked out so far but I'm sure he can turn it around. Maybe be better next year if retained.

Mumbai are the kings of recruitment in the IPL. They signed Cummins but he got injured so they never actually got to play him.

He is a quality player who will come good eventually.

Lets think from the KKR management point of view why they bought Pat Cummins at such a high price...

Do you people really think that KKR paid millions and think that Cummins will come and win them IPL...

Team management don't buy players only thinking Player will come and give match winning performances to fetch them title straight away... If that happens then its well n good.. But that really not how things work

Question to OP : Now if KKR retain Cummins and he will come next year and help them win championship.. Then will you still think this investment of 2 years is disastrous...

Now Why KKR believe in Cummins and paid such high price for him...because he is one of the best in the world at the moment...

IPL make or break careers... People who saying Pat Cummins is not great t20 player...KKR management who putting millions at stake think otherwise.A strong possibility this world class Bowler who is average in shorter format will become one of the best in t20 by playing in IPL..

kKr management are ust stupid. So what? Football teams don't make brainless decisions. Same with cricket.

He isn't even marketable ROFL.

Ok and that's when India din't even study him. No tapes to analyse his game. He will get found out very very soon.

That Jamieson fluke from n.z happens during novelty years. He will get worked out very soon too. His days are numbered. I can't wait to see him get obliterated in India.

New players have an advantage as no one knows much about them due to novelty factor.

Kind of like Bumrah right?

Bumrah has been good for almost 4 years straight.

I am talking about skills s bumrah has every skill in the book along with his pace. That's why he is special. I dont just praise anyone.

If an Indian player was a trash bowler I would be the first to insult him.

Nah Bumrah is the greatest phaast bowler Humanity has ever seen even though he has'nt played a test match in Asia and has poor record in oODIs against good batting line ups.

On flat pancake Pattas yea sure. Even then his economy is better than SCummins and co. Rabada gets flattened everywhere.

What makes posters think Bumrah will struggle in Asia? These are our other bowlers performance in India:-

Shami 21
Umesh 24
Ashwin 23
Jadeja 22

Its excellent for Ishant also in last 4-5 years. Will need to run a query for that in cricinfo statsguru. Point is whichever bowler we will play in Asia, we win matches comfortably and bowlers have hardly swet in Asian conditions as far as our last few years performance is concerned. We are GOAT in Asia, the greatest there ever was anyone and the greatest there ever will be anyone :yk, even more so, if we consider in India.

What makes posters think Bumrah will struggle in Asia? These are our other bowlers performance in India:-

Shami 21
Umesh 24
Ashwin 23
Jadeja 22

Its excellent for Ishant also in last 4-5 years. Will need to run a query for that in cricinfo statsguru. Point is whichever bowler we will play in Asia, we win matches comfortably and bowlers have hardly swet in Asian conditions as far as our last few years performance is concerned. We are GOAT in Asia, the greatest there ever was anyone and the greatest there ever will be anyone :yk, even more so, if we consider in India.

Lol bumrah averaged 21 in Asia ROFL in first class cricket.

Anyway this is a legendary era for bowlers. All top bowlers are good but each of them have their weaknesses as well.

2 for 5 from 2 overs so far today.

Brilliant.

Finishes with 3-17 from 4 overs.

High class effort today.

His investment is worth every dollar..he has delivered in the most crucial match for his team..

Pat cummins in the most important game for his side in this ipl
Picks up Stokes, Smith and uthappa.

As i said champions like him have a habit of making a comeback

Disastrous investment bowled a brilliant 17th over in the last game , only going for 4 but then Fergurson messed up the next over to cost KKR the game. Winning that game would have ensured KKR had things in their own hands in terms of qualification right now.

Teams should make sure to include one or two aussies in their lineup in knockouts and other important matches.
They rarely fail under pressure

If KKR makes the playoff, Cummins will be their key player. He is adjusting to the UAE length - he’ll be good in play-offs.

Teams should make sure to include one or two aussies in their lineup in knockouts and other important matches.
They rarely fail under pressure

RCB are so stupid, they gave Finch 12 matches and dropped him at the business end just when they may need him the most.

Actually his performances were abysmal but still rcb doesn't have a better option

Should have dropped him after 7-8 games or continue throughout because the replacement Phillipe plays without brain and lacks experience.

Crazy spell from Cummins. 19 runs in his first 5 balls, ends up with 4 wickets after 3 overs

Excellent spell today tbf to him.

Not worth $2m is my argument

RCB are so stupid, they gave Finch 12 matches and dropped him at the business end just when they may need him the most.

Punjab dropped Maxwell today after 13 games lol. Remember his 100 against England in the decider.

Pat Cummins at today:

First five balls - 19 runs

Next 19 balls - 15 runs, 4 wickets

If I remember correctly he played a big role in beating DC by castling Dhawan upfront who scored 100s in his last two games.

Players like Cummins will most likely eventually pay you back when it matters. It's childish to jump around childishly way too early. :)

If I remember correctly he played a big role in beating DC by castling Dhawan upfront who scored 100s in his last two games.

Players like Cummins will most likely eventually pay you back when it matters. It's childish to jump around childishly way too early. :)

OP doesn't understand talent.

This isn’t the first or the last time the OP has exposed his complete lack of cricket knowledge.

Cummins is a priceless cricketer.

His Stats in this year's IPL as an overseas buy:

Overs: 26
Runs: 222
Wickets: 2
Economy: 8.53
Average: 111.00

His fees: Indian rupees 15.5 crores ($2.1M)

Compare this to another overseas Pacer Anrich Nortje:

Overs: 28
Runs: 202
Wickets: 8
Economy: 7.21
Average:25.25

His fees: Indian rupees 1.5 crores ($200k)

In this context, stats like Cummins are highly unacceptable. He may have overtly inflated the overseas fast bowler market, as bowlers like Rabada will most likely deserve twice as much as how much Cummins has robbed the KKR Franchise owners for.

There is no excuses for Cummins to not perform here, bowlers far more inferior to him have proven that they can adapt to these conditions. Even KKR are clueless on how to use him. Or he has demanded that he gets his overs done with in one go during the power play as they cannot trust him to bowl in the death overs.

Read the op first.