Pat Cummins for KKR and now SRH: Disastrous Investment?

Punjab dropped Maxwell today after 13 games lol. Remember his 100 against England in the decider.

Aaron Finch is current Australian LO captain. His pedigree is much higher and brings with himself the game analysis understanding and awareness. There is big difference between Phillipe/Maxwell and Finch. You can't relate Maxwell with big pressure games, remember 2014 final.

Like how no name pak domestic bowlers are apparently better than the likes of Cummins or Boult etc.

Which no name Pakistan bowler did I say is better than Cummins and Boult? Prove to us you are not making this up like you do for most things

Aaron Finch is current Australian LO captain. His pedigree is much higher and brings with himself the game analysis understanding and awareness. There is big difference between Phillipe/Maxwell and Finch. You can't relate Maxwell with big pressure games, remember 2014 final.

Fair enough. I was shocked that Finch was dropped.

$3.16m Cummins stuns Smith in IPL demolition job

Pat Cummins claimed four wickets and skipper Eoin Morgan scored 68 as Kolkata Knight Riders knocked Rajasthan Royals out of the Indian Premier League with a 60-run win on Sunday.

Kolkata ended the league phase with their seventh win this season to have a chance of reaching the play-offs while Royals are set to finish bottom of the eight-team table.

Morgan hit his first half-century of the campaign to propel Kolkata to 191 for seven and Cummins then returned figures of 4-34 as Royals managed just 131 for nine in 20 overs in Dubai.

Kolkata, who moved to fourth spot and improved their net run-rate with a big win, now await their fate which depends on the results of the last two league matches in the coming two days.

“I don’t think we could have done anything more today. So whatever happens from here is up to the Gods,” Morgan said.

Morgan led the charge for the two-time champions with his best IPL score as he took the attack to the opposition with five fours and six sixes in his 35-ball knock.

West Indies all rounder Andre Russell played a crucial cameo of 25 off 11 balls. Cummins, who scored 15 with the bat, once again justified his IPL price tag of $2.17m — the most expensive foreign player for the 2020 season — as he struck crucial blows.

The Australian quick, who took 12 wickets in 14 games, got Robin Uthappa in the first over and struck twice in his next to send in-form Ben Stokes, for 18, and skipper Steve Smith, for four, trudging back to the pavilion.

“Earlier I put a lot of pressure on myself after that first game when I didn’t bowl well. The longer the tournament has gone I have bowled better and better,” said Cummins.

“The great thing about IPL is there are so many other games on and so many great bowlers on display so there is a lot to learn from.”

Fast bowler Shivam Mavi and spinner Varun Chakravarthy supported Cummins as they took two wickets each.

Holders Mumbai Indians have already secured a play-off place with one match to go. Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata are fighting it out for the next three spots.

Virat Kohli’s Bangalore take on Delhi on Monday followed by Hyderabad clashing with Mumbai on Tuesday.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/cricke...h/news-story/2b2132c07212b44d52b1f66e6ad39e86

Lol. Jashn Manao for today. You can bet your house I’ll be back ;)

Bro, IPL is almost over. So chances of you coming back is very slim. Lets admit it...this thread flopped and Patrick Cummins had the last laugh :ashwin

He may not have. I hope he does.

What number is Pat Cummins in the list of wicket takers? One exceptional match should not be enough to define a price tag. Archer did the same every match as compared to Cummins who had a great game. Archer is worth half his money.

And I’m not making excuses but most of those wickets were quite lucky

Any post based on one single season should be mocked. There is no great player who never had at least one bad season

It’s a question and not a statement. If you do not think it’s a financial disaster as compared to the other premier fast bowlers that’s fine.

It will super inflate the market

$2m for the No.1 fast bowler in the world who currently sits at Number 14 in the leading wicket takers list.

Yet to question his price tag is blasphemous (for Non Indians)

I dont know why people are making such a fuss about the situation. Simply the question being asked is was cummins worth 2million and the answer is no. He is among the best test bowlers and has a great,better than many t20 record but 1 4fer or a couple of good preformances dont all of a sudden make him worth 2million. He is a good bowlers but others like bumrah are better t20 bowlers than him and they deserved the price tag much more.

Brother, Cummins got 2 mil in auction that had no better fast bowler. Bumrah, archer, rabada etc etc were already with contracts. Kolkata had no experienced fast bowler and 2 indian youngsta pacers they invested in previous auction were injured and were most likely to miss may 2020 IPL. Their home ground is eden which is now a really friendly to seamers.

KKR already had a other 10 spots out of first eleven filled. They just wanted a quality, experienced seamer they could depend upon. So they bid for Cummins. Other teams in auction sensed KKR desperation and raised his price. KKR had purse to go high so they did. Now you know how Cummins became so expensive.

Brother, Cummins got 2 mil in auction that had no better fast bowler. Bumrah, archer, rabada etc etc were already with contracts. Kolkata had no experienced fast bowler and 2 indian youngsta pacers they invested in previous auction were injured and were most likely to miss may 2020 IPL. Their home ground is eden which is now a really friendly to seamers.

KKR already had a other 10 spots out of first eleven filled. They just wanted a quality, experienced seamer they could depend upon. So they bid for Cummins. Other teams in auction sensed KKR desperation and raised his price. KKR had purse to go high so they did. Now you know how Cummins became so expensive.

So this was the simple point of the thread.

instead we have a list of people becoming highly sentimental at the question of Cummins getting paid so much. These people are not even Australian.

$2m for Cummins whereas Archer was the real MVP at $1M

Archer had support from no one! He is worth $5M it means

Like how no name pak domestic bowlers are apparently better than the likes of Cummins or Boult etc.

I ain’t taking any libellous claims against me. Don’t ignore this, quote me where I said anything of this kind.

Make no mistake Shaheen is better than Cummins and boult in short format easily.

Shaheen also better in Asia in tests.

Make no mistake Shaheen is better than Cummins and boult in short format easily.

Shaheen also better in Asia in tests.

I’m asking this liar where did I say a no name bowler from Pakistan is better than Boult and Cummins. I know I have argued that I feel Dilbar or Akif are better than the long list of IPL local bowlers but I never said anything like what he is suggesting.

This liar needs to clarify himself or apologise for his lies.

I’m asking this liar where did I say a no name bowler from Pakistan is better than Boult and Cummins. I know I have argued that I feel Dilbar or Akif are better than the long list of IPL local bowlers but I never said anything like what he is suggesting.

This liar needs to clarify himself or apologise for his lies.

He probably just misconstrued your posts man. Lol. Doesn't matter.

Dilbar better than Cummins? C'mon bro lol. You got to be trolling. Shaheen is better ofcourse but not dilbar.

No bowler from Pakistan comes close to Boult or Cummins. They never seem to play that long for starters.

As for the thread topic, fair play to him if he's earning his cash - but Cummins has never been a particularly elite limited overs bowler.

So this was the simple point of the thread.

instead we have a list of people becoming highly sentimental at the question of Cummins getting paid so much. These people are not even Australian.

$2m for Cummins whereas Archer was the real MVP at $1M

Archer had support from no one! He is worth $5M it means

Auction price don't equal to real value price. It is dictated by lots of variables. Cummins is not Worth 2 mil to you but he was worth it to KKR at that specific moment in that auction.

For whats it worth he is worth 2 mil to me. I have rated him really high sinse his comeback. He is a proper pacer with all the attributes needed. Pace, accuracy, bowling IQ and temperament. I will even make him Aussie captain in tests.

[MENTION=46929]shaz619[/MENTION]

Me walking back into this thread the way Shawn Micheals returned to Montreal at Raw after screwing Bret Hart.

$2m on a foreign bowler whereas SRH who have Sandeep, Natarajan and Holder have qualified for the play offs instead.

Foreign Fast Bowlers

1. Kagiso Rabada:
-54.4 overs, 25 wickets @17.80, economy 8.14

-Price: $590k

2. Jofra Archer:
-55.4 overs, 20 wickets @18.25, economy 6.96

-Price: $1m

3. Trent Boult
-51.2 overs, 20 wickets @20.90, economy 8.14

Price: $310k

4. Anrich Nortje
-50.1 overs, 19 wickets @21.1, economy 7.96

-Price: $200k

5. Sam Curran
-42.4 overs, 13 wickets @26.46, economy 8.19

-Price: £490K

6. 52 overs, 12 wickets @34.08, economy 7.86

-Price: YOU ALL KNOW

Number 6 in the list of foreign fast bowlers.

Ill post Indian fast bowlers and their prices in comparison to him as well and see where he ranks.

The reason KKR didn't qualify because they didn't perform consistently as a team and a couple of heavy defeats cost them. They went out on NRR in the end.

[MENTION=143706]Oxfordchamp[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] @jeetensaxena [MENTION=38544]Indianfan[/MENTION] [MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION]

Itna Sannata kyun hai bhai logo? Your not crawling out now are you boys?

Foreign Fast Bowlers

1. Kagiso Rabada:

2. Jofra Archer:

3. Trent Boult

4. Anrich Nortje

5. Sam Curran

Number 6 in the list of foreign fast bowlers.

Ill post Indian fast bowlers and their prices in comparison to him as well and see where he ranks.

How important is economy in 20 over cricket?.

Very important. You can get specialist low economy bowlers at a decent price (spinners/medium pacers), but when you pay $2m for a premier fast bowler, you want wickets...big wickets...match turning wickets...playoff making wickets.

I don't watch IPL much but pat Cummins is not a T20 bowler.I don't understand why would anyone spent so much money on this mediocre T20 bowler.

[MENTION=143706]Oxfordchamp[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] @jeetensaxena [MENTION=38544]Indianfan[/MENTION] [MENTION=151350]Mesozoic[/MENTION]

Itna Sannata kyun hai bhai logo? Your not crawling out now are you boys?

I think you should be more concerned about your own team that got humiliated by a rusty Zimbabwe at home.

KKR alone has more money than all PSL franchises put together. Why does it bother you so much that they spent it on a world class fast bowler that PSL cannot even afford?

Whether Cummins repaid the investment or not is something for KKR to decide, but I am sure they would not be interested in bowlers from the best bowling league after their heroics against rusty Zimbabwean batsmen.

I think you should be more concerned about your own team that got humiliated by a rusty Zimbabwe at home.

KKR alone has more money than all PSL franchises put together. Why does it bother you so much that they spent it on a world class fast bowler that PSL cannot even afford?

Whether Cummins repaid the investment or not is something for KKR to decide, but I am sure they would not be interested in bowlers from the best bowling league after their heroics against rusty Zimbabwean batsmen.

Ah ok, so I thread/discussion about Pat Cummins inflated pricetag transforms into a discussion about Pakistan's humiliation.

I wonder why that is...

This isn’t the first or the last time the OP has exposed his complete lack of cricket knowledge.

Cummins is a priceless cricketer.

Yeh hai tere priceless cricketer ki kaakardagi:

Foreign Fast Bowlers

1. Kagiso Rabada:

2. Jofra Archer:

3. Trent Boult

4. Anrich Nortje

5. Sam Curran

Ill add the indian bowlers who cant really bowl 40% of his quality (Besides Bumrah and Shami) in this list as well in a bit.

Are you going to give him the benefit of the doubt because he is Australian? If this was one of our own would you be making excuses for him?

The OP doesn't rate Cummins but does banghra over Rauf and Dilbar.

He is on record as saying Dilbar is better than Cummins. :))) :)))

Failed investment my foot.

Pat Cummins is a world class bowler and seriously disrespected on this forum.

Nott bumping this thread because of Cummins IPL performances which were not great but bumping because the OP doesn't rate Cummins but rates Dilbar higher than Cummins. Just exposes his bias and lack of ability to read talent.

As a test bowler, Pat Cummins is not just world class but arguably heading to become one of the greatest ever.

But this thread is obviously not about that.

[MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION] you should quote me where I said Dilbar is a better bowler than Cummins now that you have bumped this thread. Which is about T20 btw

What Indians don't realise is that the IPL is just a crappy league to Aussies, they make their money there. But for every Aussie Test matches and playing for the country is the most important.

For every team playing test matches is much more important than leagues and not something exclusive to Aussies. But you dont realize is...if they dont perform in that crappy league they wont be picked next time to make money.

The genius [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] said Dilbar is better. Rana is a high quality analysis.

You still have not quoted me where I wrote Dilbar is a better Test match bowler than Cummins?

I still don’t understand the timing of this bump [MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION]

Has Cummins been retained at $2m again?

Oh he’s bowling well in Tests....but I’m not sure what that has to do with my analytical+economical questioning in this thread?

Please explain [MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION] as I will inevitably bump a thread that makes you go hiding just like you have right now

I still don’t understand the timing of this bump [MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION]

Has Cummins been retained at $2m again?

Oh he’s bowling well in Tests....but I’m not sure what that has to do with my analytical+economical questioning in this thread?

Please explain [MENTION=141114]Hasan123[/MENTION] as I will inevitably bump a thread that makes you go hiding just like you have right now

except your nos weren't for a complete season were they? Averaging 20 @130 SR with bat while bagging 12 wickets @7.8 ER is not a failed investment especially in long run as they will definitely look to retain him in mega auction.

He had decent season, had kkr sorted out their 11 and got a support bowler for him along with a functional batting lineup. His nos with the ball would have been better.

As much as possible might want to pretend otherwise to suit their agenda, cricket is a team game, an individual bowler can't just singlehandedly win you games consistently. The batting and the other bowlers need to do their part as well.

except your nos weren't for a complete season were they? Averaging 20 @130 SR with bat while bagging 12 wickets @7.8 ER is not a failed investment especially in long run as they will definitely look to retain him in mega auction.

He had decent season, had kkr sorted out their 11 and got a support bowler for him along with a functional batting lineup. His nos with the ball would have been better.

As much as possible might want to pretend otherwise to suit their agenda, cricket is a team game, an individual bowler can't just singlehandedly win you games consistently. The batting and the other bowlers need to do their part as well.

For $2m whilst Archer is $1m?

Pat is quickly becoming one of the great fast bowlers, he is a heart and soul player, gives it everything, a brilliant fielder and he can bat as well.

Australia is blessed we keep producing these types of players, that's what happens what you have multisport players, gives kids a variety of sports to play and find out which one they are good at and can thrive in.

Ball Doesn't Swing More if You Strike it Rich at IPL Auction, Says Pat Cummins

Pat Cummins shattered records when he was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders in 2019, becoming the most expensive overseas player in IPL history. The Australia superstar fetched a cool Rs 15.5 crore before South Africa allrounder Chris Morris surpassed that tally when Rajasthan Royals placed a successful bid of Rs 16.25 crore in February this year.

At the IPL 2020, held in UAE, Cummins played 14 matches and took 12 wickets as KKR failed to make the playoffs. And he admits that in professional cricket, there’s always a pressure to perform. “Whenever you play professional cricket anywhere, there will be lots of pressure. If you are coming off a good game, there is pressure to do it again, if you are coming off a bad game, there is pressure to perform,” Cummins told KKR’s official website.

He continued, “I guess the auction bring another kind of pressure. We just got to try and manage this. Just because you have gone for more money doesn’t mean, the ball suddenly swings more or the wicket is suddenly greener, or the boundaries are bigger. It’s the same playing field, so, I just try to concentrate on what I do well. I guess that’s what is going to bring about the best success for KKR while I’m here.”

Cummins made his IPL debut in 2014 and terms it as an “amazing experience.”

“I have amazing memories. My first experience of playing with players outside Australia, my first taste of the IPL. I watched quite a bit of it on TV and yeah I loved it,” the 27-year-old said.

“It’s hard bowling here in India or in the UAE. The wickets are different to the ones in Australia, the grounds are smaller. So, you got to learn and find different ways. We have had some amazing people around the team to learn from. I got the whole couple of months to spend with Jacques Kallis. Loved that experience, made me hungry for more,” he added.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...t-rich-at-ipl-auction-says-pat-cummins-973990

Disastrous, overpriced investment! He himself has admitted that the value of players is well off the mark in the IPL!

Hopefully gets 2.5 million dollars next time.
Good to see players outside India as well able to make a secure living and put their talent on show. Boult was showing off his jet skis in an interview bought from IPL cash. Heartwarming to see.

Indians appreciate fast bowling a lot because they’ve never had ATG/GOAT level pacers, and could care less about Cummins’ t20 credentials. They just want a sight to see which Cummins will provide. You can’t get that kind of viewership with Bumrah and Shami types.

The Indian pacers have the stats but they are boring to watch if you are a bonafide fast bowling connoisseur

Only if they released Atul Sharma to the public would we have a true Indian potential fast bowling destructive force

Disastrous investment gets the key wicket of Bairstow when he was hammering every other bowler. :ssmith

The thread has served its cause

The most expensive, disastrous signing in IPL history could not get his side into the play offs in the last season.

The same Pat Cummins admitted that his price tag should not be taken as a representation of some super human ability.

Disastrous signing. Waste of Money. A bit like Man U paying Falcao ££££££££££ for sitting on the bench

The thread has served its cause

The most expensive, disastrous signing in IPL history could not get his side into the play offs in the last season.

The same Pat Cummins admitted that his price tag should not be taken as a representation of some super human ability.

Disastrous signing. Waste of Money. A bit like Man U paying Falcao ££££££££££ for sitting on the bench

Disastrous signing for a person who doesn't follow IPL and whose country men are banned from ipl.

You can take swipes at Pakistan if you want, because I am not bringing Indian petty politics into this. It’s a simple objection against the IPL transfer market and it’s inflated prices on player worth. Not sure why it’s hurting your national pride?

Also Mr Nasheela

My country is UK, and my country men are milking your Indian tax fraud money. Moeen Ali and I hold the same privileges. I could be working in IPL and you wouldn’t know ;)

He clearly didn't watch the game today. No surprise. He is clueless and doesn't understand talent.

I swear I can remember him saying Dilbar could be better than Cummins. :)))

He clearly didn't watch the game today. No surprise. He is clueless and doesn't understand talent.

I swear I can remember him saying Dilbar could be better than Cummins. :)))

And you cry when I call you an Indian

Sellout

Also Mr Nasheela

My country is UK, and my country men are milking your Indian tax fraud money. Moeen Ali and I hold the same privileges. I could be working in IPL and you wouldn’t know ;)
Mr Nasheela lol? :misbah

Do you watch IPL? :inti

Guys please give Hassan some attention who is watching and celebrating the IPL

So don’t bump my previous threads. Don’t go in the kitchen if you can’t handle the heat. I have told you in the past, if you stay out of my way I will stay out of your way. But you don’t listen.

Pat Cummins is one of my favourite players. Of course I will defend him when I see a clown like you mocking him.

He will get mocked if he isn’t earning his keep.

$2M for bowling 1-35 lol

So don’t bump my previous threads. Don’t go in the kitchen if you can’t handle the heat. I have told you in the past, if you stay out of my way I will stay out of your way. But you don’t listen.
Don’t stay out of my way. And bump this thread whenever you want. I don’t create threads on PP in fear that they may be bumped if they turn out to be incorrect.

And bring the heat. You and your grandmaster will always be provided the torment by me if you try to belittle my beloved Pakistan cricket team, the team that my father taught me to love!

He will get mocked if he isn’t earning his keep.

$2M for bowling 1-35 lol

You didn't watch the game. His last over was expensive but his previous 3 overs were really good and he could got the key wicket of Bairstow.

Don’t stay out of my way. And bump this thread whenever you want. I don’t create threads on PP in fear that they may be bumped if they turn out to be incorrect.

And bring the heat. You and your grandmaster will always be provided the torment by me if you try to belittle my beloved Pakistan cricket team, the team that my father taught me to love!

I'm not belittling you for supporting Pakistan. I have not done that to you. If that's why you target me , you need some serious help.

Ball Doesn't Swing More if You Strike it Rich at IPL Auction, Says Pat Cummins

Pat Cummins shattered records when he was bought by Kolkata Knight Riders in 2019, becoming the most expensive overseas player in IPL history. The Australia superstar fetched a cool Rs 15.5 crore before South Africa allrounder Chris Morris surpassed that tally when Rajasthan Royals placed a successful bid of Rs 16.25 crore in February this year.

At the IPL 2020, held in UAE, Cummins played 14 matches and took 12 wickets as KKR failed to make the playoffs. And he admits that in professional cricket, there’s always a pressure to perform. “Whenever you play professional cricket anywhere, there will be lots of pressure. If you are coming off a good game, there is pressure to do it again, if you are coming off a bad game, there is pressure to perform,” Cummins told KKR’s official website.

He continued, “I guess the auction bring another kind of pressure. We just got to try and manage this. Just because you have gone for more money doesn’t mean, the ball suddenly swings more or the wicket is suddenly greener, or the boundaries are bigger. It’s the same playing field, so, I just try to concentrate on what I do well. I guess that’s what is going to bring about the best success for KKR while I’m here.”

Cummins made his IPL debut in 2014 and terms it as an “amazing experience.”

“I have amazing memories. My first experience of playing with players outside Australia, my first taste of the IPL. I watched quite a bit of it on TV and yeah I loved it,” the 27-year-old said.

“It’s hard bowling here in India or in the UAE. The wickets are different to the ones in Australia, the grounds are smaller. So, you got to learn and find different ways. We have had some amazing people around the team to learn from. I got the whole couple of months to spend with Jacques Kallis. Loved that experience, made me hungry for more,” he added.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...t-rich-at-ipl-auction-says-pat-cummins-973990

I reference this again

Pat Cummins himself has told us to not expect anything special from him.

He is the highest paid overseas player in IPL history but the man isn’t up for the challenge to make it seem like he is worth his price tag.

So the price tag is inflated!

You didn't watch the game. His last over was expensive but his previous 3 overs were really good and he could got the key wicket of Bairstow.

Who cares about these types of figures at $2m?

Dilbar does this for £50k for Lahore Qalandars every time

Who cares about these types of figures at $2m?

Dilbar does this for £50k for Lahore Qalandars every time

I'm not defending the price tag. I'm defending the quality of the player. They over paid for him. But I can see why they did. He's a world class bowler.

So you now agree with the OP? That’s all I said in the first post. I compared him to Nortje who was paid 9/10s less than him but was far more affective

Not sure why you or others have become so defensive of this..

So you now agree with the OP? That’s all I said in the first post. I compared him to Nortje who was paid 9/10s less than him but was far more affective

Not sure why you or others have become so defensive of this..

He did okay last season, but could have done better. You do have to remember he was bought when the IPL was going to be held in India. It was then shifted to the UAE.

I expect him to have a much better season.

It seems to me you made the thread because you don’t rate the player lol. As long as he does his job, the price tag becomes irrelevant. So if he around the top wicket takers at a good economy rate, he will have some his job.

He did okay last season, but could have done better. You do have to remember he was bought when the IPL was going to be held in India. It was then shifted to the UAE.

I expect him to have a much better season.

It seems to me you made the thread because you don’t rate the player lol. As long as he does his job, the price tag becomes irrelevant. So if he around the top wicket takers at a good economy rate, he will have some his job.

When, where have I ever said I don’t rate the player? He is a great ODI, Test match bowler.

Just like I don't belittle your support for Pakistan and don't just assume your father is the only father who got his son to love Pakistan cricket. :)

Alright Hassan. Your a good person at heart, I know that. You can still bump my threads and posts, I don’t mind too much. I won’t bump yours, and don’t take it personally. It’s all fun and banter.

I agree with OP. Spending 2 million on Cummins to bowl on these phattas is ridiculous. Any Australian pacer like Jason Behrendorff or any South African pacer like Kyle Abbott or olivier would do the same job in 20 times less the money

I don't think T20 is his best format. But he'll be a good bowler.

I think he has had a poor IPL years ago? Is that why people are jumping on him after one single match- in which he took the wicket of an international player & was also his teams most economical bowler.

I guess it's not his fault the team paid so much for him, he didn't demand the money, they decided it was in their best interests. But I guess unless he tears the entire competition apart single handed now he'll be judged as underperforming.