PCB appoint Inzamam-ul-Haq as Chief Selector [Update #180]

Why is keeping him away from management and coaching a good thing? The Afghans have shown great improvement under him.

As a selector we need someone fresh who didn't play cricket in the 1970 and 1980s, and Inzamam fits the bill.

There are not all-time greats in the streets who are waiting to be discovered by Inzamam, but there is very little possibility of him doing a worse job than the other people who have been recycled for the last 10-15 years.

after much thought I don't think is the right person....he maybe better then many others but still not right.

Chief Selector should be foreign in order to eliminate nepotism.
Coach needs to be Mudassar Nazar

Think people confusing selector with a coach!

Just get someone who can recite the names of top domestic players and knows how to look up stats

Should be the batting coach instead. Latif should be the chief selector

I am not taking away any achievements from them, but most of our ex cricketers don't understand the game in detail, mostly from a technical point of view, that's why I don't want them in PCB.

Technical point?? Is it a sports or some machine.
If you saying its about technique in playing skills then Inzaman had it all other wise i l remind you sir thats its not playing video game cricket. I totally understand that he is a bit stubborn sort of guy but saying that he doesnt understand the game and some people on pak passion understand better then him is just laughable.
There is a saying in urdu let me remind u ofbit
'Qabr ka haal murda hi janta hai' people working in pcb know way better why things not working well then people watching it from outside.

I personally would prefer Moin Khan but Inzy would not be a bad choice either.

No more Iqbal Qasim or Haroon Rasheed...

Think people confusing selector with a coach!

Just get someone who can recite the names of top domestic players and knows how to look up stats

If only it was that simple!

There is an art of selecting players who fit the bill against particular oppositions in specific conditions along with fitting into the team environment and culture.

Stats alone with not solve those puzzles...

Should be the batting coach instead. Latif should be the chief selector

Do you know how biased he is? He will select a Karachi XI. He was adamant that Khurram Manzoor was being played in the wrong spot and I bet if you ask him now, he will still be of the same opinion. Latif as a selector equals disaster. Our playing XI would be like this:

Shahzaib Hassan
Khurram Manzoor
Fawad Alam
Asad Shafiq
Sarfraz
Anwar Ali
.... you get the idea.

Dunya news report: Inzamam wants Rashid Latfif, Nadeem Khan and Mohammad Yousuf as members of selection committee

[Reports] Inzamam ul haq has accepted for the role of Chief selector

LAHORE: Former Test captain and current Afghanistan Head Coach Inzimam-ul-Haq has accepted chief selector offer by Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Abb Tak reported.

Abb Tak News reported via sources that Inzimam will join PCB after completing some assignment in Afghanistan.

However, Inzimam has had agreement with Afghanistan by November 2016 but former skipper would join PCB after completing some assignments in Afghanistan.

Inzimam had made the demand from PCB that other members of selection committee could not be appointed without consultation.

Sources said Muhammad Yousuf, Muhammad Wasim and Rashid Latif can join selection committee.:yk:moyo

he'll be the chief selector. there will be other selectors. Lets see how this goes. And can people please park their religious prejudices at the door. (not you Varun just others)

The thing with inzi is that, he hasn't come out with a list of grevirnces about what he is owed by the pcb. When I checked last, he has successful business retailing in meat in a more hygienic setting. So I have the feeling that he is not desperate the way some of our other ex cricketers are. And based on the one cricket related job he has had since retirement (coaching the Afghanistan team), there is definitely success there. Time will tell how integral he has been to it. And lastly he has been painfully honest about his shortcomings in interviews as a batsman compared to what his peers have achieved considering he was supposed to be in their league at one stage (talking about Lara and Tendulkar now).
From a Pakistani point of view he meets quite a few important criteria: not suffering from a persecution complex, financially stable, successful in a coaching stint, and very self aware.

Dunya news report: Inzamam wants Rashid Latfif, Nadeem Khan and Mohammad Yousuf as members of selection committee

Who is Nadeem Khan? Won't mind the other two, don't think they would be too biased

Nadeem Khan, guy who sits at Geo Super, not a bad choice though. But as far i know, Inzi asked from Mohammad Waseem, not Nadeem.

The thing with inzi is that, he hasn't come out with a list of grevirnces about what he is owed by the pcb. When I checked last, he has successful business retailing in meat in a more hygienic setting. So I have the feeling that he is not desperate the way some of our other ex cricketers are. And based on the one cricket related job he has had since retirement (coaching the Afghanistan team), there is definitely success there. Time will tell how integral he has been to it. And lastly he has been painfully honest about his shortcomings in interviews as a batsman compared to what his peers have achieved considering he was supposed to be in their league at one stage (talking about Lara and Tendulkar now).
From a Pakistani point of view he meets quite a few important criteria: not suffering from a persecution complex, financially stable, successful in a coaching stint, and very self aware.

Good post. And plus, he doesn't whine or criticize by taking specific names! Comes across as quite sensible on Indian Tv shows when he's appeared.

Funny he's also not been on any of Pakistani channels for much long

Nadeem Khan, guy who sits at Geo Super, not a bad choice though. But as far i know, Inzi asked from Mohammad Waseem, not Nadeem.

Acha acha. M Wasim to aur bhi acha. The guy digs into stats as well, like Latif :)

It was depressing to see Iqbal Qasim's name thrown around in the media. This is a pleasant surprise.

At the risk of sounding arrogant, I think my IQ stacks up more than favourably with Inzy's, and I think my career does too.

There were countless examples during Inzy's career of him failing to understand extremely simple and straightforward situations. The Ovalgate debacle being one - Shaharyar Khan has written that he completely failed to understand that he was conceding defeat by refusing to take the field.

Shaharyar Khan's book made it clear that as captain Inzamam was completely incapable of analytical thought. He was totally reliant upon Bob Woolmer doing his thinking for him, and then communicating it to Inzy in such a gentle and friendly way that Inzy was not threatened by it.

Unfortunately, being a selector is all about being able to analyse situations. The same players won't have the same impact at home in Sharjah and away in Johannesburg.

Seriously, this is insulting. I get you have a problem with Inzi, but you are going too far by insulting his intelligence.

I am not saying Inzi was a brilliant tactician, but he was so good that he was STILL one of the best captains Pakistan ever had. Why? Because as a batsman, he had the ability to read a game situation better than anyone else in the world. Today we watch talented fools like Umer Akmal who see a wicket fall and panic thinking all is lost and in the process, lose their own wicket. Inzi was different in that even in dire situations when everyone else would be ready to give up, Inzi knew EXACTLY what he needed to do to win the game - he knew EXACTLY how he needed to pace his innings, he knew EXACTLY how he needed to rotate the strike to ensure that he didn't expose weaker batsmen to the line of fire and he knew EXACTLY how a game is won. I would give anything to have someone as intelligent as Inzi in the team today.

Which players does Inzamam like in particular (and dislike)?

LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has decided to appoint former captain Inzamam-ul-Haq as chief selector and requested Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) to release him for the Pakistan job.

The formal announcement is likely to be made on Monday.

Inzamam-ul-Haq is currently contracted as head coach of Afghanistan.

PCB chief Shaharyar Khan contacted Afghan board and asked a favour to release Inzamam-ul-Haq as Pakistan is keen to hire him.

Sources said the Afghan cricket board has accepted the resignation of Inzamam after PCB request.

The move comes after Waqar Younis, who recently resigned as Pakistan's head coach, argued in favour of hiring Inzamam as chief selector.

Inzamam joined the Afghanistan set-up as head coach for the team's tour of Zimbabwe in late 2015. After Afghanistan won the ODI and T20I series in Zimbabwe, he signed a contract extending his tenure in the position.

According to sources, a formal announcement regarding Inzamam’s appointment as chief selector is expected to be made by the Pakistan Cricket Board on Monday.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/latest/113122-PCB-decides-to-appoint-Inzamam-as-chief-selector

I sincerely hope Inzi has matured enough now to keep religion out of his job and unlike his tenure as captain, will select the players based upon their performance on the ground and not their religious practice . People who want to know more about his captaincy and influence of religion should read PCB Chairman SYK's book.

Wasn't Danish Kaneria our main spinner in his tenure as captain? This doesn't sit well with the theory that he selected players on their religious practice and beliefs.

Why are we expecting so much of Inzi..dont get it. He cannot create a fresh crop of players, can he. Our system is just crap.

Technical point?? Is it a sports or some machine.
If you saying its about technique in playing skills then Inzaman had it all other wise i l remind you sir thats its not playing video game cricket. I totally understand that he is a bit stubborn sort of guy but saying that he doesnt understand the game and some people on pak passion understand better then him is just laughable.
There is a saying in urdu let me remind u ofbit
'Qabr ka haal murda hi janta hai' people working in pcb know way better why things not working well then people watching it from outside.

I meant the understanding of cricket in detail. Most of our ex cricketers don't understand cricket in detail, they hardly know about our domestic players, and most of them rarely understand statistics.

If they knew better, they would have sorted it out as well, but the thing is they are even more ignorant.

The Afghanistan national cricket team head coach Inzamam-ul-Haq has resigned almost eight months earlier before his contract expires with the Afghanistan Cricket Board.According to a statement by Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB), Inzamam resigned from his post considering his national obligations, pointing towards upheaval in Pakistan cricket.The statement by ACB further added that Inzamam has hailed the professional cooperation of the Afghan team and cricket board.ACB also added that the Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Shahryar Khan spoke regarding Inzamam’s resignation as Afghanistan cricket head coach and requested Mr. Shafiqullah Stanikzai to cooperate in this regard.This comes as reports emerged earlier today suggesting that the Pakistani cricket board has approached the Inzamam for chief selector post.According to the reports, a special committee has been formed to appoint a new coach and Inzamam as Chief Selector for the Pakistani Cricket Board.An PCB official said PCB Chairman Shahryar Khan met with Inzamam – who is currently the coach of Afghanistan – about heading up the new selection panel.The official speaking on the condition of anonymity further added “Shaharyar has offered Inzamam the chief selector’s position and also agreed to some points raised by the former captain who is now head coach of the Afghanistan team.”Inzamam’s contract with the Afghanistan Cricket Board was renewed for a period of 1 year earlier in November last year.He had originally agreed to coach Afghanistan on a temporary basis ahead of the ODI and Twenty20 series against Zimbabwe but the contract was renewed for one year after the Afghan team made history with back to back wins against Zimbabwe.

http://afghannews.com.af/2016/04/16/afghanistan-cricket-team-head-coach-inzamam-ul-haq-resigns/

Capture.JPG

good decision.he was getting $12000/month there.he will not be getting that much in his new job which shows the legend want to do something for pak cricket.good luck to him and Pak cricket.

I hope he doesn't bring religious angle in the selection process.

Wasn't Danish Kaneria our main spinner in his tenure as captain? This doesn't sit well with the theory that he selected players on their religious practice and beliefs.

Just read Shehryar Khan's book, " Cricket Cauldron" and read about Inzimam, you will know what I;m talking about and based upon that, Inzi should not be a selector. Strange that its SYK who is bringing him back, hope Inzi will behave now.

That's excellent news.

Fresh faces with recent knowledge of the game.

It might not work out, but this is the right option instead of hiring the same old rubbish.

Gone off Moyo since his captaincy in Australia game they famously lost......

chief Selector should be Tom Moody

Inzamam by his own admission hasn't watched much cricket since his retirement, much like Saeed Anwar.

This is only going to end in tears. He'll pick players he thinks were good in his time of the mid-2000s. Expect to see the likes of Malik and Sami stay, and Imran Nazir re-introduced.

you do realise he has arthritis and his career is on the verge of ending right?!!!

Will be interesting, hope he keeps religion out of it, usually though for some, it's a difficult thing to do.

The most Powerful Chief Selector coming to PCB after a gap of 20 years. It was in 1996 when a very strong and great chief selector left PCB.

Inzamam-ul-Haq coming with strong Job Description (Terms of Reference) as I have mentioned in another thread to which Chairman PCB has completely agreed.

Let's see how Inzamam ul Haq legend of Pakistan Cricket serves in most Corrupt Cricketing System and Cricket Board of the Planet Earth.

Inzi was paid handsomely by Afghan board, therefore I think PCB is going for a professional (paid) set-up rather than "honorary" arrangements, which was basically to read out names to manage that "honor".

Inzi has the technical knowledge for sure, though I am not sure if his personality trait matches the requirement of the job. If it's a paid job & he spends enough time for it, and picks a capable team of selectors/scouts under him, indeed can do a good job. He was extremely powerful Captain & I don't think as a CS, he'll be pushover by "slip". Latif, Wasim, MoYo are good choices (though not sure if Latif 'll join under Inzi), but I miss a spinner & a pacer in that group - it's a batting dominant selection team. May be Kabir Khan & Saqlin can join the team & it'll indeed be a functional team.

People here do not understand one thing - Inzamam demands respect by how just being who he is. The weak-willed uncles that have presided over this selector role have not needed much to be swayed by external factors. Inzi didn't care much for reputations. And Inzi is actually smarter than people give him credit for. He stuck to his guns during his reigns. People talk about him destroying careers, they forget the team was very well-settled and was only disrupted due to injuries to key players at key stages.

This might turn out to be one of the most influential decisions of the PCB in quite a while. Not sure how he will co-operate with the members though. Inzi isnt known to get along well with people that aren't 'one of his own'.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Just read Shehryar Khan's book, " Cricket Cauldron" and read about Inzimam, you will know what I;m talking about and based upon that, Inzi should not be a selector. Strange that its SYK who is bringing him back, hope Inzi will behave now.

Kaneria and akhtar are just two examples of why this point of view is bs. What makes you think you can trust the word of an old cronie who changed his tune about ten times at the time of oval gate and who after he was rightfully booted out wrote this biography to rewrite history to portray him as the poor victim chairman? Try reading akhtars biography, a guy who is on record for disliking inzi but who even still defended him against the bs that sharyar wrote in his biography about him.

A defensive personality who literally sucked the life out of Afghanistan bowling. There is sum sort of arrangement between this PCB setup and Inzimam to include him. Mushtaq qill remai part of the team as he is close to inzimam.

Only thing which can be expected is that we will have prayers on the ground and whenever Pakistan lose and the player is asked what happened he can say 'UPARWALEY ki marzi'.

My own view on inzi is undecided. It's a positive that he took charge and authority during his tenure, but I don't know how involved or up to date he is with Pakistani domestic Cricket. In addition, I don't know how clean he is or corruption free, in light of him captaining his team in the icl.

Of the three names suggested, he stands out only because he's not a ttf. But I'm not sure. It doesn't matter anyway with sharyar, sethi, Alam, sheikh and evil hobgoblins like that still at the helm.

Pakistani cricket board has approached 'the' Inzamam for chief selector position.

Haha classic, the Inzamam

Kaneria and akhtar are just two examples of why this point of view is bs. What makes you think you can trust the word of an old cronie who changed his tune about ten times at the time of oval gate and who after he was rightfully booted out wrote this biography to rewrite history to portray him as the poor victim chairman? Try reading akhtars biography, a guy who is on record for disliking inzi but who even still defended him against the bs that sharyar wrote in his biography about him.

Sheryar is a bit senile. Kets just drop oval gate remember hair was a declared racist and accused us of cheating wrongly. Lots of people think inzi did the right thing lots think he was crazy but thats over now. Inzi is inzi so i dont think the shakeel sheikhs etcs will b able to influence him much, the guys in our tip 5 pakistani batsmen of all tins he is a wc winner and he knows how to weild a bat and
Pace an innings. If he can pass 20% of his match awareness onto one of our batsmen we can actually start winning

Not a fan of religiosity but this a real upsurd statement. Danish Kaneria who happened to be the premier spinner for a prolonged period during Inzi's era belonged to a minority religion.

This a know fact that Tablighi Jammat people used to spend hours with players in dressing room on then captain Izimam's invitation. Some players like Misbah would not follow the "path" and paid the price and spent best days of his youth out of team. Others succumbed to pressure.

good decision.he was getting $12000/month there.he will not be getting that much in his new job which shows the legend want to do something for pak cricket.good luck to him and Pak cricket.

How do you know that? I read somewhere that his salary is being matched by the PCB. Hard to see him leave for a lower paying job, however patriotic he might be.

We don;t want him to work "allah wastey" , just want him to do an honest job. With that handsome salaray, he is not supposed to sit in his cozy room and get the stats only but he should go and watch players in ground all over Pakistan and get input from regional coaches.

Great news for Pakistani Cricket. Inzi can be best used as an instrument to polish off the Pakistani international players rather teach a bunch of no name losers from Afghanistan how to hold a bat. Mashallah.

Instead of serving Pakistan cricket, Inzi should have gone over to help another minnow side, Sri Lanka. Might help you win a match here or there.

Those no name "losers" beat West Indies in the WC something which your team couldn't do. So try to show a bit of respect.

Says Inzamam-ul-Haq asked for 12 lakh rupees as pay which is what he gets from afghan board but pcb refused and deal likely to be around 6 7 lakh rupees

ya so that is what i said that he left a 12 lacks/month job for a lower pay.what you want to emphasis?

That's a big pay cut. Hope it doesn't effect his interest in the job.

(I know he is taking up the job off of his own free will, but it is an innate ability in humans to bicker over not earning as much as they used too)

On another note, how come ACB can afford $12,000 per month when their own cricketers lack proper training facilities? :13:

KARACHI:
Former Pakistan skipper and 1992 World Cup star Inzamamul Haq is all set to be named as Pakistan Cricket Board’s chief selector after reports emerged on Saturday that the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has accepted his resignation.

Inzamam’s contract with the Afghans runs till December but PCB Chairman Shaharyar Khan spoke to ACB officials on Saturday and requested for his immediate release, which they accepted.

Waqar backs PCB’s decision to appoint Inzamam as chief selector

“I spoke to [ACB official] Shafiq Stanakzai and requested the immediate release of Inzamam as head coach of ACB. I’m happy to say that they agreed,” revealed Shaharyar. “He [Stanakzai] is very kind and I’m thankful to him. We have offered to make available any Pakistani player they want for coaching in return. I feel the way is now open for him to become Pakistan’s chief selector. We will make it public next week.”

The 46-year-old has helped Afghanistan become one of the most promising sides in the shortest format of the game and their performances in the recently-concluded World T20, where they defeated eventual champions West Indies in the group stage and gave South Africa a mini scare, received plaudits from fans and critics alike.

Stanakzai also seconded Shaharyar’s statement. “Though Inzamam’s contract runs till December, we understand his situation. If his country needs him then we can’t stop him,” he said.

Inzamam the right choice, says Ramiz

Former batsman and revered commentator Ramiz Raja has welcomed PCB’s decision to bring on Inzamam as he believes the change will provide a new sense of direction to the team.

Inzamam requests time to decide on chief selector offer

“It’s a great decision. A new individual has been picked who will provide new ideas and will give hope to the entire nation that things can improve,” said Ramiz. “He is one of Pakistan’s greatest batsman and is someone whose volume of work has been really good.”

Ramiz also hailed Inzamam’s inclination to develop youngsters and believes his qualities will help improve Pakistan cricket. “Inzi has got the eye for talent and would certainly improve the youth system.”

The decision to appoint Inzamam has surprised many because Shaharyar has previously written strongly against him in his book for his part in the Forfeited Test, where Pakistan opted to forfeit the Test against England after umpires Darrell Hair and Billy Doctrove had decided to change the ball, and for being a religious leader during his playing

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1086131/inzamam-primed-for-chief-selectors-post/

I think its a good decision. Inzi is an honest man and he is not going to do any worse then Others we have in recent time.

A very bad decision.........

Inzamam is a selfish person.

Inzamam will probably regret it in the end. He had a chance to develop his coaching skills and team which was willing to learn. I think after 6 months we will be grilling inzamam Ul haq for his selections in the team and god forbid if he selects a player with a beard then he will probably will have to face some undue criticism.

A really bad decision by inzamam.

What are the chances of PCB trolling him by next week and announcing someone else as selector?

Knowing PCB, the stakes are high for this :))

He will be selector, won't be teaching anyone how to hold a bat in Pakistani setup

Inzamam will probably regret it in the end. He had a chance to develop his coaching skills and team which was willing to learn. I think after 6 months we will be grilling inzamam Ul haq for his selections in the team and god forbid if he selects a player with a beard then he will probably will have to face some undue criticism.

A really bad decision by inzamam.

Its not a bad decision. Its a smart decision. You take the job which pays you better.

he will be getting a better pay cheque at PCB then he would had from ACB

As for criticism, isn't that something you face in every part of life

Its not a bad decision. Its a smart decision. You take the job which pays you better.

he will be getting a better pay cheque at PCB then he would had from ACB

As for criticism, isn't that something you face in every part of life

He was getting 12.3 lac Pakistani rupees per month in Afghanistan and he is going to settle for 7-8 lac here. So no he is not getting paid more here , its a huge mistake.

Though its right that he would never be employed by a western country because of language barrier but still he could have had a great experience with the afghan team.

Those no name "losers" beat West Indies in the WC something which your team couldn't do. So try to show a bit of respect.

Instead of serving Pakistan cricket, Inzi should have gone over to help another minnow side, Sri Lanka. Might help you win a match here or there.

SL has nothing to do with the topic. The fact is inzi could potentially take Pakistan all the way to the top rather than waste his time trying to teach a bunch of afghanis which side of the bat to hold. It's a waste of inzi bhai's immense skill set

Let us see whether he will follow the same trend or something new.

I hope he doesn't bring religious angle in the selection process.

this religious angle is kinda speculation of rumours roaming around the pp circle here.... He was a professional player, who served pakistan for many years and was one of the best captains pakistan have ever had... the early exit of 2007 CWC or the darrell hair incident doesnt make his decade long service to pakistan cricket go in vain... He has been part of and played a vital role in pak's major victories.. people say he didnt leave any star players behind him, which I also agreed in the past but he left behind a good team which compared to now is nothing... when he retired he left behind a captain in YK and a vice captain in SB but malik was made captain who did well too...azhar mahmood one of the shrewd players last played under his captaincy. he left behind a team of good players who were in the age of between 25-30... It was the PCB who squandered all of them and made a mockery of the players, looted loads of money doing nothing..

just to list the players when he retired

MYK, MOYO, MALIK, AFRIDI, AZHAR, RAZZAQ, AKTHAR, ASIF, SALMAN, KAMRAN, GUL, NAZIR.

PCB failed in developing these players careers professionally.. when the house is not in order, how can we expect these players to perform.. it all started with myk rejecting captaincy of fear and making malik the captain, moreover not selecting moyo and razzaq for WT20 and eventually losing them to ICL and wasting their careers for 1-2 years...

From what I have heard or read on PP, Pakistan's selectors job is not a paid job. Is that correct?

If so, why would one want to leave a paid job to do a job for free?

Will look forward to all those press conferences. God, missed him so much :)

Gem of a person. Chalo koi to seedha banda aya PCB main. Credit goes to the boy, Waqar