PCB appoints Waqar Younis as Advisor to the Chairman on Cricket Affairs [Post Updated #105]

Is the reported appointment of Waqar Younis in a leadership role a progressive move by the PCB?

Ahh back again for 15th time.

This guy couldn't even man manage 2 players. Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal. The two most simple minded individuals in possibly the history of Pakistan cricket.

simple minded individuals
Simple minded???? AHmed and Umar??

No jokes bro.

Waqar was never a head coach guy. He needs to be a bowling coach more of less. That is it. He is a tried and tested guy who could not bring any change during his stints in PCB and now he is back again. Get ready for something old.

Poll added guys.

I don't think it is a step taken in the forward direction. PCB is moving backwards I think.

Simple minded???? AHmed and Umar??

No jokes bro.

Waqar was never a head coach guy. He needs to be a bowling coach more of less. That is it. He is a tried and tested guy who could not bring any change during his stints in PCB and now he is back again. Get ready for something old.

Agreed. Is se ziyada ka level nahi.

He doesn't have the mindset, intelligence, or vision to make strategies or take even a Under 19 team forward.

Ahh back again for 15th time.

This guy couldn't even man manage 2 players. Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal. The two most simple minded individuals in possibly the history of Pakistan cricket.
Yes these 2 simple minded ppl will be enough to give the final blow to the team so better to keep them away as far as possible!

Head of cricket affairs

That is the portfolio of Waqar, after the failure of project Wahab , CHAIRMAN has launched Waqar in PCB as his eyes and arms.

Hopefully the Head Coach of red and white ball will be not reporting to Waqar

If Waqar can put a muzzle on all of our players’ social media accounts I would make him the head of cricket indefinitely.

Waqar has proven, on numerous occasions that he does not have the management and coaching skills to take Pakistan cricket forward...

Really bad move bringing him back...

For the most part many of our ex players seem to be happy with the appointment. I agree Waqar was largely a failure as head coach, but I’d still rate him higher than Rambo as an administrator without even seeing him in the role. Plus he’s not chairman PCB, all of the admin stuff will be handled by Naqvi or whoever he delegates that to, Waqar is essentially the cricket director. He needs to articulate his vision, and then oversee its execution. Can he do it? Well, really no pcb administrator has seen their vision go through till the end so I can’t see why he’s any worse than what we’ve had in the past. At least he is respected in cricketing circles, can communicate, and has played at the highest level. In terms of man management, the only ones crying were the Shehzads and Akmal’s and I fully support what Waqar did to them.

During an interview with a local sports outlet, Salman Butt wished Waqar well for his new role:

“Waqar bhai has been my coach and is a legendary cricketer, there is no doubt about that. I am not in a position to advise him, I wish him all the very best for this role.”

“I really hope this time around he makes some decisions. He should do what is necessary and get it done. I think he should make correct decisions; if he has the vision, implement it.”

“Don’t go after people who have been there for ages and have done nothing. I think it’s a huge opportunity for him, not an easy one certainly. If he is able to make correct decisions, something better might come up.”

“I’ve played under Waqar Younis and I think it’s a good sign that he’s coming back to the cricket board,” said Younis. “He has the opportunity to solve the [cricketing] issues.”

Waqar back again in some capacity.

The comedy of rinse and repeat the same old failures continues.
:inti

So it sounds like Naqvi went to Wasim Akram first and approached him for the CEO role but he declined. Waqar seems to be the
Runner up.

Tbh if you have to chose one among them then I think Waqar Younis is a better option

If Waqar does not have to coach then it might not be the worse thing in the world. He will be the go between between Kirsten, Gillespie and the board.

I can tell you one thing he will get more respect from Kirsten & Gillespie than Wahab ever would.

Unless his job brief is clear it will become a dogs dinner very quickly. Hopefully Waqar can get semblance of order in board that can onlt be best described as a shambles. We have had 3 mafia chairman and each has been worse than the guy before. Sethi hired a Zoom and WhatsApp coach, Ashraf spent more time on recording and leaking calls than worrying about the cricket and Naqvi has destroyed any remaining trust between the players with his kak handed dealing with the captaincy issue.

Tbh if you have to chose one among them then I think Waqar Younis is a better option
Waqar should be kept away from Pakistan cricket, has had too many chances..

I wonder what is it with us Pakistanis trying to retain tried and tested failures (including players, coaches and management)...

PCB advertises post already held by Waqar

After giving the charge of the adviser to chairman on cricket affairs to Waqar Younis late last month, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in a strange move has now given an advertisement for the said post seeking applications from interested candidates till Aug 19.

Whereas the right procedure for hiring requires an advertisement for the post in national newspapers after which interviews of the interested candidates start for the PCB to select the most suitable applicant.

The bizarre way the Mohsin Naqvi-led PCB regime has adopted in the hiring process of Waqar — who will be holding a cluster of major national and international cricket-related responsibilities — raises several questions regarding the Board’s management of affairs.

It may be mentioned here that the PCB followed the same pattern of hiring when it appointed former South African Test cricketer Gary Kirsten (white-ball coach) and ex-Australian Test paceman Jason Gillespie (red-ball coach) as coaches for Pakistan’s national team recently.

Meanwhile, according to the criteria set for the post of the adviser to chairman on cricket affairs, the PCB does not require any academic qualification as there is no such clause included in it. Only extensive experience as a professional cricketer or coach is required for the position.

Interestingly, the PCB, in contrast to Waqar, does not need this experience of professional cricketer or coach for the post of director domestic cricket.

Khurram Niazi, a bureaucrat who has no expertise in the field of cricket, is the director domestic cricket. This strange scenario also reflects PCB’s vision of underestimating domestic game which is the breeding ground for talented cricketers to rise and serve the country in international arena.

Younis Khan during an interaction with the media here on Wednesday backed PCB Chairman Naqvi’s decision to hand the reigns of the cricket affairs to Waqar Younis, he said:

“I’ve played under Waqar Younis and I think it’s a good sign that he’s coming back to the cricket board,”

“Waqar Younis has the opportunity to solve the [cricketing] issues,”
I itch your back, you itch mine.

Younis eyeing a role in PCB.

After today's press conference, it has been confirmed that he is one of the advisors to the PCB chairman on cricket affairs

PCB advertises post already held by Waqar

After giving the charge of the adviser to chairman on cricket affairs to Waqar Younis late last month, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in a strange move has now given an advertisement for the said post seeking applications from interested candidates till Aug 19.

Whereas the right procedure for hiring requires an advertisement for the post in national newspapers after which interviews of the interested candidates start for the PCB to select the most suitable applicant.

The bizarre way the Mohsin Naqvi-led PCB regime has adopted in the hiring process of Waqar — who will be holding a cluster of major national and international cricket-related responsibilities — raises several questions regarding the Board’s management of affairs.

It may be mentioned here that the PCB followed the same pattern of hiring when it appointed former South African Test cricketer Gary Kirsten (white-ball coach) and ex-Australian Test paceman Jason Gillespie (red-ball coach) as coaches for Pakistan’s national team recently.

Meanwhile, according to the criteria set for the post of the adviser to chairman on cricket affairs, the PCB does not require any academic qualification as there is no such clause included in it. Only extensive experience as a professional cricketer or coach is required for the position.

Interestingly, the PCB, in contrast to Waqar, does not need this experience of professional cricketer or coach for the post of director domestic cricket.

Khurram Niazi, a bureaucrat who has no expertise in the field of cricket, is the director domestic cricket. This strange scenario also reflects PCB’s vision of underestimating domestic game which is the breeding ground for talented cricketers to rise and serve the country in international arena.

Democracy and Meritocracy of Mr. Naqvi looks no different than the chairmen that have come before him.

Waqar should be kept away from Pakistan cricket, has had too many chances..

I wonder what is it with us Pakistanis trying to retain tried and tested failures (including players, coaches and management)...

Totally agreed. Also, I have always found his cricket analysis to be poor (on air). I think we need more new-aged, better trained guys like Yasir Arafat or Azhar Mahmood or Saqlain to be better suited for a roll like this.

Waqar Younis back to build his list of enemies

Man lives the thug life

Waqar Younis, who was also present at the press conference alongside Mohsin Naqvi in Lahore, said:

"Firstly, I would like to thank the PCB chairman for entrusting me with the responsibility of taking this concept forward. The situation of our cricket is evident, and there can be no debate about it. We must improve things because our product is cricket. Stadiums are crucial, but until our product improves and our way of playing improves, I don't think we will move forward. So, I believe this concept is excellent. Involve cricketers, involve big names, and try to involve legends. Give them responsibilities. Because if cricketers don't take care of cricket, it will deteriorate further.

I liked the concept very much when the chairman first mentioned it. I have spoken to some legends about how to take this forward, and we are still in the process of discussing it with them. InshaAllah, in the coming times, as the chairman said, you will be informed of the legends who can take our beautiful game forward. So, the concept is excellent, and I really love it. I hope it works.

We are organizing a tournament with three formats: T20, one-day cricket, and either four-day or five-day cricket. I think it's a good idea, and I hope it works, InshaAllah."

Interviewer: Waqar sir! Why did you decide to return?

Waqar: I guess my list of enemies needed some upgrades!

Masterstroke by PCB, so all the blame of any poor performance will be on Waqar since him being advisor

Waqar’s talking a good game - very difficult to get excited by this though

A petition has been filed against the appointment of former Pakistani cricketer Waqar Younis as an advisor to Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Mohsin Naqvi. A citizen named Mashkoor Hussain, represented by attorney Nadeem Sarwar, submitted the petition in the Lahore High Court, questioning the legitimacy of Younis’s appointment. The petition names the federal government, PCB, and Waqar Younis as respondents.

Hussain’s petition raises concerns about the procedure followed for Younis’s appointment, suggesting that PCB, under Naqvi’s leadership, bypassed standard protocols. It also references past appointments of foreign coaches Gary Kirsten for white-ball cricket and Jason Gillespie for red-ball cricket, alleging irregularities in those processes.

The central argument is that Younis’s appointment is unlawful due to PCB’s failure to advertise the position in newspapers, thus not adhering to proper protocol. Hussain is asking the court to nullify Younis’s appointment based on this procedural lapse.

However, on August 3rd, PCB advertised the role of Advisor-Cricket Affairs on their website, inviting applications until August 19th. This controversy emerged shortly after PCB Chairman Naqvi announced the Domestic Champions Cup on August 5th, during which he also revealed Younis’s new advisory role.

As per media reports:

Despite being appointed recently and holding a press conference with Chairman Mohsin Naqvi, Waqar has been absent from the office for several days.

Waqar faced resistance from certain officials, including the International Cricket Department, who refused to cooperate with him. This led to his frustration and current absence. Notably, this decision is unrelated to Pakistan's Test loss to Bangladesh in Rawalpindi.

Meanwhile, there is speculation that Waqar may be appointed as a mentor for a team in the upcoming Champions Cup, starting next month.

As per reports, Waqar Younis Likely To Resign From His PCB Role After Bangladesh Debacle

Former Pakistan cricket star Waqar Younis is reportedly stepping down from his position as Advisor of Cricket Affairs to PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi, just days after his appointment.

The surprising move comes amid internal resistance within the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), with some officials, particularly from the International Cricket Department, reportedly hesitant to work alongside the former fast bowler.

Waqar’s tenure, which began with a joint press conference alongside Chairman Naqvi, has been short-lived, as he has not been seen at the PCB office for several days.

While the exact reasons for his departure remain unclear, sources suggest that the lack of cooperation from key PCB officials may have played a significant role in his decision to step down.

Despite speculation, the decision of Waqar Younis is not believed to be connected to Pakistan’s recent loss in the Rawalpindi Test against Bangladesh where Pakistan lost for the first time against the Bengal Tigers in a Test match. I

Instead, the PCB is expected to seek a replacement for the advisory role, as a job advertisement for the position was recently published.

Looking ahead, there are rumors that Waqar may transition to a mentoring role for a team in the upcoming Champions Cup, which is set to begin next month. As the situation develops, the cricketing community will closely watch what’s next for the legendary pacer.

Wham Bam Thank you Maam.
There are often some phrases used to describe good advice. The best advice is short and to the point, less is more, good advice is short and sweet and a little goes a long way are popular phrases.

Vicky Bhai lived up to the above and that really is the hallmark of a good advisor. Thank you for your service.

Waqar Younis has his own Twitter Account, why doesn't he tweet (like the rest of the world) when he has taken up a position or stepped down?

Rest of the world has these simple steps which seem to be lost on people of Pakistan.

Has there any role of authority that Waqar has taken that has not ended in a complete disaster - captain/coach/bowling coach?

Amazing how this guy keeps coming back.

Has there any role of authority that Waqar has taken that has not ended in a complete disaster - captain/coach/bowling coach?

Amazing how this guy keeps coming back.
The problem is Pakistan's infatuation with names rather than credentials.

PCB appointed Miandad 3 times as coach because, well, he was Miandad (the greatest batter of Pakistan). There's no professionalism in assigning people to important positions. The chairman of the PCB is the chairman of the PCB because he's close to the government/establishment. It's not because he has some mad administration skills.

A deserving guy like Abdul Rehman, who has coached his domestic team to multiple titles, is not even considered for a head coach role in the PSL let alone at the top level because he doesn't possess a big name.

PCB appointed Miandad 3 times as coach because, well, he was Miandad (the greatest batter of Pakistan). There's no professionalism in assigning people to important positions. The chairman of the PCB is the chairman of the PCB because he's close to the government/establishment. It's not because he has some mad administration skills.

A deserving guy like Abdul Rehman, who has coached his domestic team to multiple titles, is not even considered for a head coach role in the PSL let alone at the top level because he doesn't possess a big name.
This. Even I know of Abdul Rehman and the good work he has done with KPK.

I believe he was interim coach of PAK as well before vanishing completely from the national setup.

They could have at least made him assistant coach to Kirsten and Gillespie even if they wanted big name coaches.

If I'm PM. I'm making Misbah chairman, Afridi director of Cricket and Abdul Rehman head coach.

As per reports, Waqar Younis Likely To Resign From His PCB Role After Bangladesh Debacle

Former Pakistan cricket star Waqar Younis is reportedly stepping down from his position as Advisor of Cricket Affairs to PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi, just days after his appointment.

The surprising move comes amid internal resistance within the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), with some officials, particularly from the International Cricket Department, reportedly hesitant to work alongside the former fast bowler.

Waqar’s tenure, which began with a joint press conference alongside Chairman Naqvi, has been short-lived, as he has not been seen at the PCB office for several days.

While the exact reasons for his departure remain unclear, sources suggest that the lack of cooperation from key PCB officials may have played a significant role in his decision to step down.

Despite speculation, the decision of Waqar Younis is not believed to be connected to Pakistan’s recent loss in the Rawalpindi Test against Bangladesh where Pakistan lost for the first time against the Bengal Tigers in a Test match. I

Instead, the PCB is expected to seek a replacement for the advisory role, as a job advertisement for the position was recently published.

Looking ahead, there are rumors that Waqar may transition to a mentoring role for a team in the upcoming Champions Cup, which is set to begin next month. As the situation develops, the cricketing community will closely watch what’s next for the legendary pacer.
PCB loves him alot.. he is not going anywhere... now will be serving as a mentor of Pakistan Domestic cricket.

PCB loves him alot.. he is not going anywhere... now will be serving as a mentor of Pakistan Domestic Cricket.
I love Pakistani journalism.. headline says one thing and the article says the exact opposite

Can’t wait! Whenever he comes into the Pakistan side with Misbah. we tend to go backward. Hope we close doors for Misbah so he can find jobs in Pakistan tv ads commercial for Tepal Tea.

Like Circuit said to Munna Bhai... Ye to Shuru hote hi khatam ho Gaya...

Good for him to leave that spot for someone else who is more capable than him. Waqar should have never been given such roles in PCB.

But here we go. He is now a mentor. PCB loves him alot.

What an absolute shambles.

Pak cricket, if it wasn’t obvious already, is dead