PCB Chairman : "On the basis of cricket and statistics Misbah is a better captain than Imran Khan"

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PCB Chairman "On the basis of cricket and statistics Misbah-ul-Haq is a better captain than Imran Khan" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/860108031274733568">May 4, 2017</a></blockquote>

Oh my now !! Statistics have become the benchmark of measuring cricket prowess.....

Well then we should stop everything and select Fawad and Sadaf since both these blokes are statistically better than any batsmen or bowler in the history of Pakistan First Class !!!!

Or is it that we will only use Statistics when convenient ??

Yes. Misbah has changed Pakistan cricket. Lot of super stars developed under him. World ne him among one of the greatest captain.

Yes. Dickey bird make imran captain of all time great team. But so shozaib raza make Misbah.baat barabar

Misbah haters will obviously be moaning over this as they've done so for last seven years.

Misbah will bow out as a greater captain than the Saviour Khan (as the records show) and that's all what matters.

Also, as Misbah's lifelong supporter, I can very proudly claim that I've watched him play myself! Something (most of) Khan's apologists can't claim because they go by fairytales.

Absolutely agree with Shahryar Khan there.

He is right.
Misbah has way more test wins then imran. Plus misbah has a mediocre team while imran had spinners fasters and batsmens with him.

Misbah had ajmal and even he got banned and yet misbah got us results.

Its easy to get results when you have players, but getting results without players is what its all about.

this is on of those recency bias kinds of threads that are just out of context.

misbah has done a great deal - there is no doubt about that and his statistics show that too - which easily makes him the most statistically sound captain.

but he is not the best captain that we have ever had, and not even the second one, or the third, or even the fourth.

a.h. kardar, mushtaq muhammad, imran khan, javed miandad, and wasim akram were better captains than him despite them not having the statistics to back their claim.

on the basis of statistics, he is indeed our greatest captain ever; on the base of cricket, he is not. that said, it does not in anyway take the sheen of his achievements on and off the cricket field.

I'm sure Misbah's captaincy will give us bowlers like Wasim, Waqar, Qadir and batsmen like Inzi, Anwar, Aamer Sohail.

Also statistacally IK has 75 wins in 139 ODI matches as captain. While Misbah as 45 wins in 87 ODI matches as captain. IK W/L ratio is 0.540, while Misbah's is 0.517, and those who have seen them play can attest to the fact that which captain was truly great and which one changed our cricketing DNA for the worst.

Misbah has 25 wins in 55 tests as captain, while IK has 14 wins in 48 matches as captain. Off Misbah's test victories 2 are against Zim, 4 are against WI and 3 are against BD. While IK has only 2 victories against minnows that was the Lankan team of the 80s.

So statistically IK is still our greatest captain.

:salute

Oh my now !! Statistics have become the benchmark of measuring cricket prowess.....

Well then we should stop everything and select Fawad and Sadaf since both these blokes are statistically better than any batsmen or bowler in the history of Pakistan First Class !!!!

"On the basis of cricket and statistics"

"cricket and statistics"

"and"

Think about where the team would be if we were under the leadership of Salman Butt/Afridi all this time. While being the 'best' is subjective..no other man could have done a better job than Misbah. Thank you for your services Sir.

he surely is the best..... people criticising him probably dont know his struggle and how he was made the captian of team and in what manner......and if stats don't matter than what the hell matters.... it is one and only way of judging a player and there is no other way.... some people are just born to criticize and that is evident when they even criticize YK who has been the BOSS of all the batsman in last decade in test cricket... People are judging players based on their charm and flamboyance which is nonsense...... the same people want umar akmal and shegzad in the team because they hav potential,hell with such potential when u simply cant perform and ur stats are awful....... and there us no disrespect for IK in my heart, he was simply WORLD CLASS ......
but right now more than anything else i am deeply interested in how CAPTAAN IK will respond to these statements..... eagerly waiting for his tweet....

and it is proven by time to time you are the worst most chairman of PCB Pakistan ever had when it comes to speaking in Media. Who ever posted this missed the second part that Miandad is the most unsuccessful coach bhai koi dawayi pilao enko ( Waqar aur Haroon Rasheed) forgotten so quickly

If someone who is offended we need to first define what
statistically or statistics means :

'the practice or science of collecting and analysing numerical data in large quantities, especially for the purpose of inferring proportions in a whole from those in a representative sample.'

Ridiculous, Ik was arguably the all time best captain, and we are comparing Misbah to him, who just lost against tougher opponents New Zealand and Austria , only SYK can do this, he should retire.

I still can't imagine somehow 14 can be bigger than 25...

only if its Imran Khan :)

I still can't imagine somehow 14 can be bigger than 25...

only if its Imran Khan :)

Read this line:

Off Misbah's test victories 2 are against Zim, 4 are against WI and 3 are against BD. While IK has only 2 victories against minnows that was the Lankan team of the 80s.

Now read it again:

Off Misbah's test victories 2 are against Zim, 4 are against WI and 3 are against BD. While IK has only 2 victories against minnows that was the Lankan team of the 80s.

Repeat atleast 5 times.

Maybe just maybe you will understand it.

If someone who is offended we need to first define what
statistically or statistics means :

'the practice or science of collecting and analysing numerical data in large quantities, especially for the purpose of inferring proportions in a whole from those in a representative sample.'

as for Imran Khan vs Misbah as 'captain'...anyone who thinks that is even a competition doesn't know squat about 'captaincy' and clearly has no clue of what IK accomplished in the 80s...

people hate IK here not for his cricket but for his politics and him challenging the very system that have benefited their families through corruption and nepotism

so lets take our bias out of this....let neutral ppl make the decision and surely 8 out of 10 will be in favor of IK as the better captain heck one of the best captains in the history of the game

Can someone explain to me why the PCB Chairman feels the need to make this comparison? :facepalm:

probably to stay in good books of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif? Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan are enemies now.

Read this line:

Now read it again:

Repeat atleast 5 times.

Statistically even Miandad is a better captain than Imran Khan.. since he was 14 wins in 35 games as captain, but ofcourse that part is the hush hush of our history we can never say

Now Miandad must have x victories against Minnows and y victories against big teams..

Another maths lesson for me

as for Imran Khan vs Misbah as 'captain'...anyone who thinks that is even a competition doesn't know squat about 'captaincy' and clearly has no clue of what IK accomplished in the 80s...

Statistically bhai jaan.. Miandad is better than IK, IK is 3rd on the list even behind Javed.

Infact if it weren't for Javed, Khan would'nt even have half of those victories because we all know how tactically inept Imran Khan was...

Statistically even Miandad is a better captain than Imran Khan.. since he was 14 wins in 35 games as captain, but ofcourse that part is the hush hush of our history we can never say

Now Miandad must have x victories against Minnows and y victories against big teams..

Another maths lesson for me

Yeah man you win. Misbah is the best captain to ever emerge from Pakistan. He built a wonderful ODI, T20 and Test team which has major victories away and also has a WC to his name. When Misbah left the LOI teams the side was ranked within the top 3 and far far away from number 8 or 9.

Misbah also found and nurtured bowlers like Wasim, Waqar and batsmen like Inzi.

All hail Misbah

Read this line:

Now read it again:

Repeat atleast 5 times.

Misbah is about to do something which Imran never did... win a Test series in WI InshaAllah...

Yes because the Windies side of the 2010s is equal to the Windies side of the 1980s.

Yeah man you win. Misbah is the best captain to ever emerge from Pakistan. He built a wonderful ODI, T20 and Test team which has victories major victories away and also has a WC to his name. When Misbah left the LOI teams the side was ranked within the top 3 and far far away from number 8 or 9.

Misbah also found and nurtured bowlers like Wasim, Waqar and batsmen like Inzi.

All hail Misbah

Imran captained Pakistan in 3 World Cups to win their only one in history... (probably no captain ever got those many chances)

And even they Pakistan needed rain to qualify for the semis... and Umpiring decisions in their favor to win the final...

nobody is denying the statistics...but stats only can't make you a great captain...captaincy makes you a great captain...Misbah was NEVER good at captaincy...he had a very defensive approach and he stuck to it no matter what. He also was not a LEADER of men, point be noted that he wasn't able to groom anyone under him to lead Pakistan after him...left us with Hafeez and Azhar

also Misbah's team didn't not have to face what IK faced in the 80s...from umpiring to the greatest test team in the history of the game...

anyways as i said earlier let the neutral make the comparison...trust me Misbah won't get close to Imran

Yes because the Windies side of the 2010s is equal to the Windies side of the 1980s.

Yea and the side of Pakistan not playing at home is equal to Imran's world beaters of the 80s??

Imran captained Pakistan in 3 World Cups to win their only one in history... (probably no captain ever got those many chances)

And even they Pakistan needed rain to qualify for the semis... and Umpiring decisions in their favor to win the final...

Imran Khan's cornered tigers were cornered bums if Miandad was out in the first 10 overs and hadn't Botham got out to a wrong decision in the final

Yeah man, if only the team was captained by Misbah, the opposition would have surrendered without playing. We wouldn't even have needed rain to help us.

Both are overrated as captains. Imran captained a team of champions to the WC title (with a lot of luck), while Misbah's reign coincided with a period where Pakistan never stepped out of their comfort zone, hence superior on paper.

Overall, Misbah may still be better, but using stats to determine that is a flawed idea.

Yeah man, if only the team was captained by Misbah, the opposition would have surrendered without playing. We wouldn't even have needed rain to help us.

hey come on now

Misbah would have scored a 100 and as you know Pakistan never loses an ODI when MIsbah scores a century

No this system is rigged in favor of Misbah, we should hold a dharna against the system..

Both are overrated as captains. Imran captained a team of champions to the WC title (with a lot of luck), while Misbah's stats reign coincided with a period where Pakistan never stepped out of their comfort zone.

Overall, Misbah may still be better, but using stats to determine that is a flawed idea.

HAHAHAHA here comes another biased opinion...

yepp Imran khan overrated...by like everyone who actually knows cricket

This is NONSENSE.....

No this system is rigged in favor of Misbah, we should hold a dharna against the system..

Sir your credibility is next to zero around these parts, I was just playing around with you since today was a slow day at work.

1. You do not rate Babar Azam who has an average of 55 odd at 90 SR (LMAO)
2. You are a big hater of Muhammad Amir even though any sane person can tell he is the best pacer we have atm (MAJOR LOL)
3. You are a big hater of Sarfaraz who is arguably our best LOI captain since Wasim (ROFL)
4. You think Misbah is a better captain than IK across all formats even though IK have more wins and better W/L in ODIs and Misbah has more test wins mainly due to wins against minnows. If you remove minnows the wins are nearly identical (LOLOL)

HAHAHAHA here comes another biased opinion...

yepp Imran khan overrated...by like everyone who actually knows cricket

Overrated because of how much Pakistanis tend to exaggerate his role. Even today, all you hear is "what if Imran was..?" .."what would Imran do ?".

If you look at the team he captained, you would expect that kind of success. If anything, the team underachieved for the kind of talent they had at their disposal.

Sir your credibility is next to zero around these parts, I was just playing around with you since today was a slow day at work.

1. You do not rate Babar Azam who has an average of 55 odd at 90 SR (LMAO)
2. You are a big hater of Muhammad Amir even though any sane person can tell he is the best pacer we have atm (MAJOR LOL)
3. You think Misbah is a better captain than IK across all formats even though IK have more wins and better W/L in ODIs and Misbah has more test wins mainly due to wins against minnows. If you remove minnows the wins are nearly identical (LOLOL)

Oh dear me... here we go again

Awww what happened waleed, tapping out so early? I thought you had more of a fight in you, considering how vocal you are with your opinion.

if not STATS then what......
please someone tell people out here that stats also include wins against minnows... it also includes whether team has won overseas or on flat pitches.... these are all stats.....
i already said personality, charm and flamboyance cant determine a player.... this stuff is only talked on their birthdays.... nowhere else

For me, he's the best with or without stats. Imran got lucky that he captained in a booming period otherwise he would have been trashed like afridi.

Really? Please see the decision of Derek Pringle vs Miandad

Or the delivery that Wasim bowled to get rid of Botham

u r once again saying nonsense
with so much advanced technology and better understanding of the game..... umpires still make mistakes..... this is part and parcel of the game...... even 3rd umpires sometimes make mistakes despite having all the technology and even more technology than required....
u comments suggest as if umpires were paid to do so.....

IK was world classssssssssss
Misbah is better than IK as a captain but only in tests.... can somebody out here understand this fact that MISBAH never played a game in pakistan as a captian in these 7 years.... this means a hell lot....
also the visiting team always reaches UAE before Pakistan team and they also play practice matches there while as PAK team straightaway plays the MATCH.
STATS MATTER

Awww what happened waleed, tapping out so early? I thought you had more of a fight in you, considering how vocal you are with your opinion.

I don't know what waleed us trying to make us understand...... he is simply speaking fantasies.....

The biggest hypocrit-ic post on pp ever?

Says the guy who actually judge players on stats!! Remind me who makes super long statistical threads to prove his favorite is the better cricketer?!

And another spreadsheeter [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] swears by stats but only when they suit him or convenient for him.

Both ironies.

:najam

Says the guy who actually judge players on stats!! Remind me who makes super long statistical threads to prove his favorite is the better cricketer?!

That one is a SHADAB KHAN Googly.........
CLEAN BOWLED

And another spreadsheeter [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] swears by stats but only when they suit him or convenient for him.

Both ironies.

:najam

I gave stats on this very thread that proves that IK is, was and will remain a better captain than Misbah.

Please read post number#17. Try to wrap your head round it :afridi

As usual you are shooting from the hip first before assessing the situation :ibutt

Because Imran is the benchmark for captains?

This is the Chairman of the PCB who is talking.

He shouldn't be going around making such statements. He is supposed to be a professional.

That was my point.

Can you imagine the BCCI President going around saying that Dhoni is a better captain than Ganguly?

I respect Mr. Shahryar Khan and I also respect his age, which is why I do not want to use any harsh words, but he is emphatically wrong. Misbah is nowhere near Imran. Nowhere near.

That one is a SHADAB KHAN Googly.........
CLEAN BOWLED

Haha, MAN... as soon as I opened the thread, burst out laughing reading this:

"Oh my now !! Statistics have become the benchmark of measuring cricket prowess.....

"Or is it that we will only use Statistics when convenient ??"

This coming from a guy who has been on a stats-based thread generation spree, trying to prove how a particular cricketer is better than the other!!!

:narine :lara

Haha, MAN... as soon as I opened the thread, burst out laughing reading this:

This coming from a guy who has been on a stats-based thread generation spree, trying to prove how a particular cricketer is better than the other!!!

:narine :lara

But stats prove that IK is better :facepalm:

PAKISTAN in CRISIS and only MISBAH can save them now..... no one else....
Shift ur focus towards the MATCH.

IK captained in 48 tests and had 14 wins
Misbah captained in 55 tests and had 25 wins.

To judge who is the best captain by stats, would like to see how many away draws and wins (excluding minnows. WI in WI were always good, I will still take that counted and not in minnow category. As pak are yet to win a series there, but WI of 1980s are world beaters across all formats even if they play them now. WI of 2010s are not a comparison anyway haven't won a series even against them).

IK played with team of champions while MISBAH played with no champions is not an arguement. Both were captains and has the right to build their own team of champions in which they believe and trust. If MISBAH cannot build a team of champions like what IK did then that is misbah's problem.

How the HELL do they prove it.....
i think h hav compared Misbah's stats with Graeme Smith

IK W/L in ODIs 0.540 with 75 wins. Misbah W/L in ODIs 0.517 with 45 wins.

Misbah W/L in Tests (excluding minnows) 0.302. IK W/L in Tests (excluding minnows) 0.272.

So IK wipes the floor with Misbah in the ODIs, while tests it is open for debate since Misbah's majority wins are in the deserts of UAE, while IK has a good mix of home and away wins.

Imran almost won the series against the best team ever in history, here we are struggling against 8th ranked team.

bara bol from PCB chairman has come back to bite Pakistan

IK W/L in ODIs 0.540 with 75 wins. Misbah W/L in ODIs 0.517 with 45 wins.

Misbah W/L in Tests (excluding minnows) 0.302. IK W/L in Tests (excluding minnows) 0.272.

So IK wipes the floor with Misbah in the ODIs, while tests it is open for debate since Misbah's majority wins are in the deserts of UAE, while IK has a good mix of home and away wins.
I never talked abt odis....
Misbah didn't play a single game in pakistan. ..
and had only 5 overseas tours in these 7 years excluding WI.... won 1 draw 1 and whitewashed in 3...
bowlers during IK tenure.... wasim waqar mushy qadir..
bowlers during Misbah tenure.... rahat ali IMRAN KHAN HIMSELF and aggressive WAHAB and SPECIAL BATSMAN like Shehzad and DADDY'S DREAM...

Misbah haters will obviously be moaning over this as they've done so for last seven years.

Misbah will bow out as a greater captain than the Saviour Khan (as the records show) and that's all what matters.

Also, as Misbah's lifelong supporter, I can very proudly claim that I've watched him play myself! Something (most of) Khan's apologists can't claim because they go by fairytales.

Absolutely agree with Shahryar Khan there.

Misbah has not won a Test series in England, so no, he is not better.

Imran almost won the series against the best team ever in history, here we are struggling against 8th ranked team.

Not really. Michael Holding, Andy Roberts and Joel Garner had all retired before that series. It was no where near being the best team in history.

was out for a long walk and was thinking of putting things into perspective about the debate between ik and misbah, came back and checked the scorecard and i guess nothing more is needed to be said on this.

cant bash when someone is down. that is not fair at all.

SK sahib let the folk who know a thing or two about cricket discuss these matters.

was out for a long walk and was thinking of putting things into perspective about the debate between ik and misbah, came back and checked the scorecard and i guess nothing more is needed to be said on this.

cant bash when someone is down. that is not fair at all.

a very very TOUCHY message...

Some facts about Captain Imran Khan without writing a long essay....

• First Pakistani Captain to win a Test series in India.

• Imran played 15 yes 15 Test matches against India (home and away) but India wasn't able to win a single Test against Pakistan when Imran was captain.

• First Pakistani Captain to win a Test series in England.

• First Captain to win a Test match in West Indies after 10 Years. West Indies only lost 1 Test match at home from 1978 to 1988 and that was against Pakistan.

• From 1976 to 1995 not a single team was able to Draw a Test series in West Indies in 15 years except Pakistan under Imran's captaincy.

• A 3-0 whitewash against Australia early in his career as captain.

And there are more facts let's not even go into details how many man of the series and man of the matches Imran won as captain leading from the front... But if you still want to take a look here is the thread http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?187124-Imran-Khan-Leading-From-The-Front

Another victory for "statistically" Pakistan's best ever captain.

Not really. Michael Holding, Andy Roberts and Joel Garner had all retired before that series. It was no where near being the best team in history.

Still until 1995 (starting from 1976) not a single team was able to draw a Test series in West Indies while Pakistan under Imran did it in 1987/88.

You mean that Malcolm Marshall, Curtly Ambrose and Walsh weren't good enough to be called ATG's ?

Its very harsh on Misbah to be compared with Imran Khan , both were very good captains.

Misbah isn't even Pakistan's 2nd best captain. AH Kardar, Mushtaq Muhammad, IK and Miandad, all are better than him.