PCB deserves our sympathy

The tournament was for them to organize and host.

The revenues from games in front of full houses would have benefitted them

But then we have the Jay Shah factor. Man driven by his desire to please his masters in New Delhi.

And the other simpleton boards worried that their Chairmen may not get an invite for the IPL final decided to throw in their lot with Shah.

Without thinking about their own teams or PCB.

Result is this fiasco.

We always make fun of the PCB, hold them to blame but for this I am with the PCB.

They deserve our support and sympathy.

Those who cannot find it in themselves to think the same are the same as what Jay Shah represents.

Sure MIG bro there's sympathy, I'll agree.BUT my sympathy will be gone if we don't learn after this.. we know now how the bcci operates it will leach our team's box office draw always on their terms. Knowing this... in the future ..it's better to just be broke but have self respect. We didn't Make them even sweat about india world cup.

PCB had no choice but to accept the cards they were given. We can only hope and pray that the matches we held in Multan and Lahore will pave the way for future ICC event games to be held in Pakistan in the future.

The PCB still has a lot of work to do in terms of developing the cricketing infrastructure in the country

Cricket as a sport especially Test and ODI is not compatible with the 21st century.

Was watching the game today (NINE HOUR game mind you), when it rained couldn't go anywhere else as the restart could have happened anytime, waited a few hours to find out that the game has been called off for the day. People with productive stuff to do in life cannot simply watch a full ODI or Test match.

The weather in Pakistan is just as worse- its not raining but is very hot. And high risk of players getting injured before the World Cup.

My sympathies are not with the PCB but cricket fans like myself who have been hooked to this sport from childhood and now cannot let go.

Hopefully we accept ASAP the fact that t20 is the future and have all cricket played in that format.

Many people around here and so called cricket fans (from India) dont realize what Pakistan misses out by not being able to host this in their own country. Every thing is not about showing your power, or defining power with your revenue stream.

When you host a series in your country, this benefits and helps alot of people. There are many stakeholders involved, its just not PCB.

When a series gets played, often teams are provided with net bowlers. These net bowlers are bowlers from the local clubs. The best pacers and spinners are chosen to provide practice, and for these young players that practice helps them in getting better in there game. When the NZ team came over in Rawalpindi alot off pindis net bowlers were invited to bowl. Majority of our club cricketers are poor people that dont know after investing 100% of there efforts towards the game, they would even make it big or not.
By having this tournament played somewhere else, Jay shah destroyed the dreams alot of these poor young cricketers that could had the opportunity to act as net bowlers. Our captain was a ball picker in 2007-2008, and when he probably got shortlisted for this duty he must have been more motivated in becoming a cricketer.

This is what the likes of Jay Shah or BJP fans dont understand. They just dont care. When you get selected by to represent an organization you need to act neutral. As the president of ACC his job should be to expand the game and help grow it. Can anyone even say that Jay Shah helped grow the game? This was his first ever major tournament as ACC President and failed at it. ICC should take note of this if his name is ever put forward for a major post at ICC, cause for him, his parties politics comes first.

Anyway, if we look at the bigger picture, PCB is in deep trouble. The point of this asia cup was to host a mini tournament and show the world that we not only can host series but also tournaments, because PCB has rights for the next champions trophy to be hosted in Pakistan.

Now ACC is full politics of regional boards, lets see if ICC acts neutrally or not, because Pakistan hosting an ICC event will place us back on the cricketing map properly. Plus, we can sell our tv rights, advertisement spaces for alot more money. This would also lead to our PSL affiliated marketing also improving with better money being paid out.

Now, all eyes will be on ICC. Can they act neutral and in the benefit of all countries, or will they bow down to BJP's politics in Cricket.

Many people around here and so called cricket fans (from India) dont realize what Pakistan misses out by not being able to host this in their own country. Every thing is not about showing your power, or defining power with your revenue stream.

When you host a series in your country, this benefits and helps alot of people. There are many stakeholders involved, its just not PCB.

When a series gets played, often teams are provided with net bowlers. These net bowlers are bowlers from the local clubs. The best pacers and spinners are chosen to provide practice, and for these young players that practice helps them in getting better in there game. When the NZ team came over in Rawalpindi alot off pindis net bowlers were invited to bowl. Majority of our club cricketers are poor people that dont know after investing 100% of there efforts towards the game, they would even make it big or not.
By having this tournament played somewhere else, Jay shah destroyed the dreams alot of these poor young cricketers that could had the opportunity to act as net bowlers. Our captain was a ball picker in 2007-2008, and when he probably got shortlisted for this duty he must have been more motivated in becoming a cricketer.

This is what the likes of Jay Shah or BJP fans dont understand. They just dont care. When you get selected by to represent an organization you need to act neutral. As the president of ACC his job should be to expand the game and help grow it. Can anyone even say that Jay Shah helped grow the game? This was his first ever major tournament as ACC President and failed at it. ICC should take note of this if his name is ever put forward for a major post at ICC, cause for him, his parties politics comes first.

Anyway, if we look at the bigger picture, PCB is in deep trouble. The point of this asia cup was to host a mini tournament and show the world that we not only can host series but also tournaments, because PCB has rights for the next champions trophy to be hosted in Pakistan.

Now ACC is full politics of regional boards, lets see if ICC acts neutrally or not, because Pakistan hosting an ICC event will place us back on the cricketing map properly. Plus, we can sell our tv rights, advertisement spaces for alot more money. This would also lead to our PSL affiliated marketing also improving with better money being paid out.

Now, all eyes will be on ICC. Can they act neutral and in the benefit of all countries, or will they bow down to BJP's politics in Cricket.
When Najam Sethi announced the hybrid model during his press conference, he said ' abb agai iss model sai raste khul jain gai'. This shows that PCB would happily accept hybrid model for the CT as well

If you connect the dots, it was actually Najam Sethi after meeting with PM Sharif who accepted the team going to India for the World Cup in return for 4 matches of the Asia Cup being hosted in Pakistan. The ACC/Jay Shah weren't even accepting that initially.

So most probably the Champions Trophy will also take place in the hybrid model -our win would be to have the tournament run parallel in both Pakistan and UAE. And not playing 3-4 games in Pakistan and the going to the UAE.

When Najam Sethi announced the hybrid model during his press conference, he said ' abb agai iss model sai raste khul jain gai'. This shows that PCB would happily accept hybrid model for the CT as well

If you connect the dots, it was actually Najam Sethi after meeting with PM Sharif who accepted the team going to India for the World Cup in return for 4 matches of the Asia Cup being hosted in Pakistan. The ACC/Jay Shah weren't even accepting that initially.

So most probably the Champions Trophy will also take place in the hybrid model -our win would be to have the tournament run parallel in both Pakistan and UAE. And not playing 3-4 games in Pakistan and the going to the UAE.
alot will depend on the elections of India.

Indian fans dont have an issue that a 34 year old was heading BCCI and now ACC only because his father was a senior in BJP.....

Then PCB shouldn't go around picking fights they have little chance of winning.

Indian fans dont have an issue that a fat a 34 year old was heading BCCI and now ACC only because his father was a senior in BJP.....
A 19 year old was heading the largest political party (at the time) in Pakistan in 2008 lol

Now that he is 34, he has his eyes on the Prime Ministership of the country without having worked a day in his life- Jay Shah on the other hand is just a BCCI secretary.

BJP aren't going anywhere. However, things can be worked around by the Pakistani government. When India first visited in 2004, it was BJP in power. Modi came for a short visit himself in 2015. If he can come, so can the Indian team.

Hopefully things improve when the Champions Trophy comes around BUT I already have a feeling of what will happen. Jay Shah will put a tweet in March 2024 (elections are in April-May) that India would not be visiting Pakistan for the CT and we demand ICC to have neutral venue for the tournament. Then he would just keep quiet and not respond to anything.

On the other hand, our Chairman at the time and ex-cricketers would make statements everyday. Threatening boycott and what not.

But we would be on the backfoot once we go to the ICC meetings. The demand from.the other side is to take the WHOLE tournament away from us- so we would accept the hybrid model as a WIN.
I just hope the Hybrid model is not as bad as the one we are seeing in the CT.

Its just not healthy for any sport if more than 80% of the revenue from ICC events is coming from one particular country.
Many boards are surviving because India visits them for an a series and they sell the rights to a broadcaster in India to show the series in India.

The PCB or any other board is not in a position to challenge the BCCI. The PCB smartly realizing this are following the wise approach of negotiate, get what you can in the best interest of Pakistan Cricket and live to fight another day.

Exactly. That is the wise way to go. However, i still feel we should have boycotted the Asia Cup. We are getting like 4-5 million dollars including hosting rights fee. This money is not that much for the PCB.
Going to the Asia Cup is not in our best interest as it has comprised our position when the CT comes around.

Then PCB shouldn't go around picking fights they have little chance of winning.
instead of critisizing PCB or Pakistan Cricket, maybe for once have guts to call out the wrong actions of your board and how your countrys politics is being dragged into sports

A 19 year old was heading the largest political party (at the time) in Pakistan in 2008 lol

Now that he is 34, he has his eyes on the Prime Ministership of the country without having worked a day in his life- Jay Shah on the other hand is just a BCCI secretary.

BJP aren't going anywhere. However, things can be worked around by the Pakistani government. When India first visited in 2004, it was BJP in power. Modi came for a short visit himself in 2015. If he can come, so can the Indian team.

Hopefully things improve when the Champions Trophy comes around BUT I already have a feeling of what will happen. Jay Shah will put a tweet in March 2024 (elections are in April-May) that India would not be visiting Pakistan for the CT and we demand ICC to have neutral venue for the tournament. Then he would just keep quiet and not respond to anything.

On the other hand, our Chairman at the time and ex-cricketers would make statements everyday. Threatening boycott and what not.

But we would be on the backfoot once we go to the ICC meetings. The demand from.the other side is to take the WHOLE tournament away from us- so we would accept the hybrid model as a WIN.
I just hope the Hybrid model is not as bad as the one we are seeing in the CT.

Its just not healthy for any sport if more than 80% of the revenue from ICC events is coming from one particular country.
Many boards are surviving because India visits them for an a series and they sell the rights to a broadcaster in India to show the series in India.
Plz elaborate and explain what has Pakistan's Peoples Party got to do with this thread. If you are going to make snide comments to score points, might aswell go full detail.

No no. You mentioned that Jay Shah is 34 and only in a position of influence because of his father.
I just countered that such gross violations are not only limited to India. Our country is the same if not worse

Bro they are.

PCB, journalists and the Pakistani media as a whole needs to sit together. There are multiple things PCB can challenge the BCCI on and actually win. Problem is even from our, the chairman wants to look favorable towards the fans and not come out as a bad man. This started in the post Ijaz Butt era. The likes of Ijaz Butt and Dr. Naseem Ashraf never care how fans view them. They made decisions what they thought was right.

The likes of Zaka Ashraf and Najem Sethi are always worried how fans will perceive them, and there competition is amongst themselves so that they can return as Chairman. While India plays politics to bring us down, we play internal politics that eventually also bring us further down.

When the World T20 took place in UAE back in 2021, why did Pakistan stood hands on chest and gave a few seconds of silence? When BCCI and IPL clearly discriminates that anyone who holds Pakistani nationality cannot play IPL, isnt that discrimination? Doesnt that come under free race? But no, Pakistan quietly followed the lead or else they would had faced backlash from the likes of Michael Holding. PCB could had used that moment to speak up and than the likes of Holding would had realized PCB was right and would had joined the bandwagon.

But no, we Pakistanis even have issue in this, we dont want to show we want to play IPL so we allow ourselves to get discriminated instead of standing up.

Point is, if Pakistanis dont get discriminated in IPL and play in IPL, it will eventually lead to Pakistan vs India series taking place in both countries, and than PCB being able to hold events without BCCI playing its politics.

Negotiations have not helepd during the last 15 years, and they wont help for the next 15 years also. Only proper PR will help us. Now adays we live in a world of wokeness, so might aswell use the fact that we are being discriminated to our advantage.

instead of critisizing PCB or Pakistan Cricket, maybe for once have guts to call out the wrong actions of your board and how your countrys politics is being dragged into sports
Nothing wrong with BCCI paying it back with interest. They did to every board. CA, ECB, SA. All those boards learned and changed their behavior. PCB should do the same

When you learn to see right from wrong, then you should comeback to this subject.

Bro they are.

PCB, journalists and the Pakistani media as a whole needs to sit together. There are multiple things PCB can challenge the BCCI on and actually win. Problem is even from our, the chairman wants to look favorable towards the fans and not come out as a bad man. This started in the post Ijaz Butt era. The likes of Ijaz Butt and Dr. Naseem Ashraf never care how fans view them. They made decisions what they thought was right.

The likes of Zaka Ashraf and Najem Sethi are always worried how fans will perceive them, and there competition is amongst themselves so that they can return as Chairman. While India plays politics to bring us down, we play internal politics that eventually also bring us further down.

When the World T20 took place in UAE back in 2021, why did Pakistan stood hands on chest and gave a few seconds of silence? When BCCI and IPL clearly discriminates that anyone who holds Pakistani nationality cannot play IPL, isnt that discrimination? Doesnt that come under free race? But no, Pakistan quietly followed the lead or else they would had faced backlash from the likes of Michael Holding. PCB could had used that moment to speak up and than the likes of Holding would had realized PCB was right and would had joined the bandwagon.

But no, we Pakistanis even have issue in this, we dont want to show we want to play IPL so we allow ourselves to get discriminated instead of standing up.

Point is, if Pakistanis dont get discriminated in IPL and play in IPL, it will eventually lead to Pakistan vs India series taking place in both countries, and than PCB being able to hold events without BCCI playing its politics.

Negotiations have not helepd during the last 15 years, and they wont help for the next 15 years also. Only proper PR will help us. Now adays we live in a world of wokeness, so might aswell use the fact that we are being discriminated to our advantage.
We don't live in an ideal world. We live in a world where everyone has self interest.

Ramiz Raja started this trend of threatening BCCI BUT when he was removed as Chairman, HE COVERED EACH AND EVERY GAME OF THE IPL on his YouTube channel. Hypocrisy of the highest order.

Many points you have raised- but in my opinion, Chairmans should NEVER care about public perception. Majority of Pakistani fans wanted to boycott the World Cup- this would have been disastrous for us. Long list of reasons I can give. Thankfully sense prevailed and we are going to go to India.

You talked about being 'woke'. Nawaz Sharif (3 time PM) admitted himself that the Mumbai attacks were carried out by Pakistan through our military intelligence. I would say being 'woke' would be to not tour such a country and have no relationship with them whatsoever- be it cricket. As eventually they will benefit from India touring.

And man, for a second imagine Pakistan switches places with India. We become the country that generates more than 80% revenue. Our PSL becomes the biggest league. I can bet my life that we would BAN any player who participates in the IPL from playing in the PSL. We would threat not touring any country that decides to tour India. We would finish cricket in India altogether. HOWEVER, the BCCI is not doing that.
We should be happy with where we are. ODI number 1, played knockout in last 2 t20 Wc's.
We are getting to play cricket. Kya hoga even if the CT is moved to a hybrid model? Not that there would be massive FDI coming into Pakistan if it takes place solely in Pakistan

No no. You mentioned that Jay Shah is 34 and only in a position of influence because of his father.
I just countered that such gross violations are not only limited to India. Our country is the same if not worse
Jay shah is secretary of bcci and acc president. RELEVENT TO THIS TOPIC.

While you are dragging a pakistani politician irrelevent to the topic being discussed

Deserves sympathy for what, living in cuckoo land by thinking that India would come to Pakistan for the Asia Cup?

PCB should’ve been more proactive, they left everything till the last minute.

When Afghanistan needed Pakistan after Australia pulled out of their home series, Pakistan should’ve made sure at that time that ACB would support PCB over the hosting of Asia Cup.

Sri Lanka also sided with BCCI, we should’ve stopped our players from participating in their franchise league unless they stood with PCB. Let’s also not forget that they stopped Hasaranga playing in the PSL.

PCB could’ve boycotted the Asia Cup, we would’ve survived without it, ACC would’ve begged for Pakistan to participate. Some posters saying that BCCI would’ve compensated them, well for how long?

And that's a good thing? Indians are 1.4 billion people- the reason they have influence is not because of talent (GDP per capita even lower than Bangladesh) ( no ICC titles in 10 years) BUT because they are number 1 in reproduction.

Deserves sympathy for what, living in cuckoo land by thinking that India would come to Pakistan for the Asia Cup?

When Afghanistan needed Pakistan after Australia pulled out of their home series, Pakistan should’ve made sure at that time that ACB would support PCB over the hosting of Asia Cup.

Sri Lanka also sided with BCCI, we should’ve stopped our players from participating in their franchise league unless they stood with PCB. Let’s also not forget that they stopped Hasaranga playing in the PSL.

PCB could’ve boycotted the Asia Cup, we would’ve survived without it, ACC would’ve begged for Pakistan to participate. Some posters saying that BCCI would’ve compensated them, well for how long?

You are correct in theory but practically we could not have threatened the other Asian boards at the time..

They can simply chose not to tour Pakistan if we went down that path. We still need the Asian teams to tour us on a regular basis as we cannot rely on the SENA countries only (security threats, workload excuses etc.)

BCCI downfall will start very soon.
As mentioned in our Qur'an
Jab Allah kisi ko teezi se urooj pe pohunchaate hai success se toh girate bhi usi speed se hai jab ek insaan mai takabur aajaye
They feel they are the owners of cricket.
I have told one thing to my sibling as well that believe me India is never gonna win any trophy till they are this much rich.
because God won't give everything to indian team only
they have money and other teams have trophies
as simple as that.

So what happens if all the remaining matches are washed out? Pakistan wins the Asia Cup?

Bro they are.

We don't live in an ideal world. We live in a world where everyone has self interest.

Ramiz Raja started this trend of threatening BCCI BUT when he was removed as Chairman, HE COVERED EACH AND EVERY GAME OF THE IPL on his YouTube channel. Hypocrisy of the highest order.

Many points you have raised- but in my opinion, Chairmans should NEVER care about public perception. Majority of Pakistani fans wanted to boycott the World Cup- this would have been disastrous for us. Long list of reasons I can give. Thankfully sense prevailed and we are going to go to India.

You talked about being 'woke'. Nawaz Sharif (3 time PM) admitted himself that the Mumbai attacks were carried out by Pakistan through our military intelligence. I would say being 'woke' would be to not tour such a country and have no relationship with them whatsoever- be it cricket. As eventually they will benefit from India touring.

And man, for a second imagine Pakistan switches places with India. We become the country that generates more than 80% revenue. Our PSL becomes the biggest league. I can bet my life that we would BAN any player who participates in the IPL from playing in the PSL. We would threat not touring any country that decides to tour India. We would finish cricket in India altogether. HOWEVER, the BCCI is not doing that.
We should be happy with where we are. ODI number 1, played knockout in last 2 t20 Wc's.
We are getting to play cricket. Kya hoga even if the CT is moved to a hybrid model? Not that there would be massive FDI coming into Pakistan if it takes place solely in Pakistan

I will say this once but it needs to be said. I’m talking about the inevitable future of where we are headed…

This is going to be the last ODI WC and the last CT. The WorldT20 will probably drag on for a few more years but that too will soon end..

Long story short - bilateral cricket will die a quick death as it is simply not profitable for anyone anymore. Inevitably this will also cause the ICC tournaments to die out since players will not chose to participate.

Franchise T20 is the only future where we are headed. Not talking about soccer (EPL, La Liga etc.) but probably more closely aligned with NBA, NHL etc. There is an enormous marketing and merchandising potential that simply does not exist with international cricket (public vs private institution debate..)

The challenge for franchise T20 is that they have not found a way to sustain these leagues for 8-9 months yet. IPL is probably the closest but once they do - it is permanently game over for international cricket.

Regarding players - they do not care about national duty and will simply follow the money. WI players showed us the path several years ago but now SENA players are doing the same. Alex Hales did not participate in the Bangladesh tour since PSL was paying more money lol. It is only the subcontinent players that think cricket is somehow tied to nationalism and their political party (BJP, PDM and the Awaami League). It is rooted in our culture but once the money is too much to ignore - kon PDM, kya PDM? :) Everyone will happily sell their soul to play 8-9 months of franchise cricket..

I can already attest to the growing popularity of IPL, PSL, The Hundred that international cricket is now taking a back seat, even the high profile tours where several players magically have “workload issues” when franchise T20 starts calling.. Franchises will also not want players risking injury during international games so it is a double whammy..

Basically international cricket exists because franchise cricket is allowing it. But once franchise cricket expands and bilaterals / ICC tournaments will be considered a nuisance-it will be game over for Intentional cricket.

Back to the OP - PCB should have boycotted Asia Cup and World Cup because these tournaments are already on their deathbed.Tell ICC that we are happy to play 9 months of PSL as a pilot program instead to compensate for any monetary loses that we’ll endure and other Boards will follow suit if expanded PSL is successful .. ICC is aware of the future and then we’ll see our bargaining hand quickly get stronger even in front of BCCI :)

@MenInG @Mamoon @Asad T @Rajdeep @cricketjoshila

Thanks for the reply

An injustice is exactly what it is and needs to be called out.

PCB may have been weak but they are the victims here. They deserve all the sympathy they can get. They tried their best but failed. It does not make them the bad guys.

All sponsors Sri Lankan. No crowd revenue. Should have been in UAE but BCCI tentacles everywhere

I will say this once but it needs to be said. I’m talking about the inevitable future of where we are headed…

This is going to be the last ODI WC and the last CT. The WorldT20 will probably drag on for a few more years but that too will soon end..

Long story short - bilateral cricket will die a quick death as it is simply not profitable for anyone anymore. Inevitably this will also cause the ICC tournaments to die out since players will not chose to participate.

Franchise T20 is the only future where we are headed. Not talking about soccer (EPL, La Liga etc.) but probably more closely aligned with NBA, NHL etc. There is an enormous marketing and merchandising potential that simply does not exist with international cricket (public vs private institution debate..)

The challenge for franchise T20 is that they have not found a way to sustain these leagues for 8-9 months yet. IPL is probably the closest but once they do - it is permanently game over for international cricket.

Regarding players - they do not care about national duty and will simply follow the money. WI players showed us the path several years ago but now SENA players are doing the same. Alex Hales did not participate in the Bangladesh tour since PSL was paying more money lol. It is only the subcontinent players that think cricket is somehow tied to nationalism and their political party (BJP, PDM and the Awaami League). It is rooted in our culture but once the money is too much to ignore - kon PDM, kya PDM? :) Everyone will happily sell their soul to play 8-9 months of franchise cricket..

I can already attest to the growing popularity of IPL, PSL, The Hundred that international cricket is now taking a back seat, even the high profile tours where several players magically have “workload issues” when franchise T20 starts calling.. Franchises will also not want players risking injury during international games so it is a double whammy..

Basically international cricket exists because franchise cricket is allowing it. But once franchise cricket expands and bilaterals / ICC tournaments will be considered a nuisance-it will be game over for Intentional cricket.

Back to the OP - PCB should have boycotted Asia Cup and World Cup because these tournaments are already on their deathbed.Tell ICC that we are happy to play 9 months of PSL as a pilot program instead to compensate for any monetary loses that we’ll endure and other Boards will follow suit if expanded PSL is successful .. ICC is aware of the future and then we’ll see our bargaining hand quickly get stronger even in front of BCCI :)

IPL to operate on the NHL level is very far.

In NHL, every franchise is operating as a seperate business entity where they make money off the merchandise they sell, tickets and passes they sell. While IPL is more concerned with how much money IPL itself makes and not teams. In NHL its reverse, every franchise makes their own money.

Plus, NHL doesnt rely its money on sponsors while IPL does.

Also NHL doesnt have politics and is being ran with USA and Canada. IPL has alot of politics and discrimination going on.

But i agree, cricket will go towards leagues eventually, but its better if one league had multiple franchises involved.

AB Devilliers feels IPL should be a global tournament and must be played 9 months of each year

BCCI will do what it's masters will tell it to do. No surprises there.

If India are not coming to Pakistan for Asia Cup, PCB should man up and not go to India for WC. Yes, it will hurt big time, but to gain sympathy from others you have to show some self-respect first.

The PCB never learns though.

Big statements that say they will not bow down to others, but what happens is that they always do bow down to others and are left with scraps.

The Asia Cup is another shambles from the PCB's perspective.

PCB should have gone ahead with hosting the tournament without India.

It would have saved us from the farce being played in the name of Asia Cup.

At least there would have been good tournament with good practice for teams before WC.

And that's a good thing? Indians are 1.4 billion people- the reason they have influence is not because of talent (GDP per capita even lower than Bangladesh) ( no ICC titles in 10 years) BUT because they are number 1 in reproduction.
Such a great post.

I don’t understand why we should show support.

They have not taken a principled stance on anything. A lot of hot air from Rameez followed by more hot air just without the “smart operator”’s so called charisma

Indian fans dont have an issue that a 34 year old was heading BCCI and now ACC only because his father was a senior in BJP.....
What will elections change?

Nothing.

No party will risk reversing the Pakistan policy and get battered in the next elections.

Pakistan are 240mn, what is your GDP?

Bangladesh cooked it books and is now surviving on IMF bailouts and Indian loans.

Money isn't distributed equally so per capita means zilch.

You can keep whining but the truth is Indian money runs cricket.

PCB had the option of hosting without India. Why didn't they?

Politics is part of sports. Look at the Russians.

In 2018 Najam Sethi claimed PCB forced the Asia cup to be relocated from India. I am not going to the truth of that claim. But he did claim.

Now if its moved from Pakistan, why crying?

It is good that it happened this way actually. BCCI got brutally exposed. Next time the other boards have a stronger reason to side with the PCB, and allow BCCI to cry and throw toys out of its pram at the suggestion of playing in Pakistan.

Pakistan are 240mn, what is your GDP?

Bangladesh cooked it books and is now surviving on IMF bailouts and Indian loans.

Money isn't distributed equally so per capita means zilch.

You can keep whining but the truth is Indian money runs cricket.
Wasn't cricket running just fine even without Indian money when India was a nothing cricket team? It has all become business, hence the reason why it's quickly a dying sport in majority of cricket playing nations because corrupt BCCI/ICC can't stop bending over backwards for the green bills.

Money doesn't need to run a sport until greedy bunch want it to, and just because you have over 1.5 billion cricket obsessed nation is not fault of other countries. Money has also barely reflected based on sheer dominance in actual sport by India e.g India winning nothing in past 10 years and producing many average cricketers and average teams for majority of its cricketing life.

Truth bomb my foot, you guys are one of the most jingoistic nation of people I have seen in my life, disgusting

"The ACC deliberated on the matter and decided that this was the best way forward," Asian Cricket Council and PCB chairman Najam Sethi told ESPNcricinfo.

This was when BCCI was under the control of COA and PCB was suing BCCI for $70 million.

As I said before what goes around comes around.

Truth bomb my foot, you guys are one of the most jingoistic nation of people I have seen in my life, disgusting
So when PCB did it to BCCI, it’s fine. But now when BCCI did the same to PCB, it’s wrong?

So Pakistan cricket should be just fine without playing India in bilaterals correct? Why is PCB after that so much?
Bilaterals are part of "cricket". One country cannot pick and choose what it wants and doesn't want to play. Have courage then walk away from WC and other tournament games against Pakistan as well. Pakistan doesn't fuss in sports with India over India funding and planning many terrorism activities in Pakistan, so India using that as an excuse doesn't sell. I personally found India-Pak test series from before borefest but bilaterals are part of this Sport and teams have to honor it

I have a question, why cant PCB hurt BCCI where it matters a lot.

Why cant we baycott playing against India in ICC events? BCCI has a clear agenda and policy to not play any bilaterial series or math against Pakistan or indirectly not benefit PCB financially by using Indian team.

I know it will take a heart out but baycott playing against India in ICC events and forfeit the points if they dont play or come against pakistan in bilateral series.

Wasn't cricket running just fine even without Indian money when India was a nothing cricket team? It has all become business, hence the reason why it's quickly a dying sport in majority of cricket playing nations because corrupt BCCI/ICC can't stop bending over backwards for the green bills.

Money doesn't need to run a sport until greedy bunch want it to, and just because you have over 1.5 billion cricket obsessed nation is not fault of other countries. Money has also barely reflected based on sheer dominance in actual sport by India e.g India winning nothing in past 10 years and producing many average cricketers and average teams for majority of its cricketing life.

Before India every one lined up to play cricket in England to earn a decent amount.

Most countries wouldn't pay the players enough money.

Just because PCB isn't able to profit that much from the Indian market and isn't making that much money, rest all should also be broke.

You don't pay bills of the players or boards, do you? So don't decide for them if money is needed or not.

Pakistan has a population of 240mn, by your logic you should be the second largest cricket economy. Are you?

EPL and La Liga are the two richest leagues, they combined have 2 FIFA WCs to show.

I have a question, why cant PCB hurt BCCI where it matters a lot.

Why cant we baycott playing against India in ICC events? BCCI has a clear agenda and policy to not play any bilaterial series or math against Pakistan or indirectly not benefit PCB financially by using Indian team.

I know it will take a heart out but baycott playing against India in ICC events and forfeit the points if they dont play or come against pakistan in bilateral series.

BCCI will earn in excess of 7bn usd in revenues without taking a dollar from ICC in next 4-5 years.

You think they care about Pakistan boycotting?

PCB will lose $34mn if they boycott ICC matches. Thats 50 percent of PCBs Annual revenue.

Bilaterals are part of "cricket". One country cannot pick and choose what it wants and doesn't want to play. Have courage then walk away from WC and other tournament games against Pakistan as well. Pakistan doesn't fuss in sports with India over India funding and planning many terrorism activities in Pakistan, so India using that as an excuse doesn't sell. I personally found India-Pak test series from before borefest but bilaterals are part of this Sport and teams have to honor it

Show me the rule that says all countries have to play each other in bilaterals and that they cannot choose.

Sporting boycott has been happening for a very long time in every sport.

Sure MIG bro there's sympathy, I'll agree.BUT my sympathy will be gone if we don't learn after this.. we know now how the bcci operates it will leach our team's box office draw always on their terms. Knowing this... in the future ..it's better to just be broke but have self respect. We didn't Make them even sweat about india world cup.

Great post!

I have the same sentiment and said as much...Pakistan playing in the world cup, in particular where those matches would take place...if they even did, should have been a bargaining chip but no! Instead Nejam Sethi had a twitter spat and then rolled over...I'd like to use harsher words but I'll stop.

Before India every one lined up to play cricket in England to earn a decent amount.

Most countries wouldn't pay the players enough money.

Just because PCB isn't able to profit that much from the Indian market and isn't making that much money, rest all should also be broke.

You don't pay bills of the players or boards, do you? So don't decide for them if money is needed or not.

Pakistan has a population of 240mn, by your logic you should be the second largest cricket economy. Are you?

EPL and La Liga are the two richest leagues, they combined have 2 FIFA WCs to show.
Yes, let's all organise tournaments like the brilliant Indians, I want Jay Shah to be president of ALL boards!

Show me the rule that says all countries have to play each other in bilaterals and that they cannot choose.

Sporting boycott has been happening for a very long time in every sport.

The world test championship LITERALLY was originally designed so that ALL test nations PLAYED EACH OTHER...until the BCCI had a fit...not the ECB, not CA, not PCB but BCCI, where they said they would not play against Pakistan. To stop a major issue from occurring and keeping the WTC alive, the ICC yielded, even though all other boards are willing to work with each other apart from the BCCI.

The funniest part is, you are defending the BCCI in a situation where they don't even defend themselves, they literally state that it is a government decision and out of their hands.

To makes matters worse, you have brought in "sport boycotting" and don't even understand the term...sport boycotting doesnt mean that you play the country you claim to boycott in every major tournament :virat1

The world test championship LITERALLY was originally designed so that ALL test nations PLAYED EACH OTHER...until the BCCI had a fit...not the ECB, not CA, not PCB but BCCI, where they said they would not play against Pakistan. To stop a major issue from occurring and keeping the WTC alive, the ICC yielded, even though all other boards are willing to work with each other apart from the BCCI.

The funniest part is, you are defending the BCCI in a situation where they don't even defend themselves, they literally state that it is a government decision and out of their hands.

To makes matters worse, you have brought in "sport boycotting" and don't even understand the term...sport boycotting doesnt mean that you play the country you claim to boycott in every major tournament :virat1
they have very flawed reasoning. They still end up playing us in icc and acc tournaments. And people like Gambhir that bark on tv still do commentary on Pakistan games to earn his living.

They are all a bunch of hate fuelled Islamophobes. This is the basic reality of the situation. So one when is fuelled by hatred they have no logic to what they say or do.

All the PCB can do in this instance is put their best foot forward which they have not always done.

I know we are all blaming Jay Shah and rightly so but even SLCB has to be blamed here. They knew it always rains in Sri Lanka in Sept...so why they agreed to host is? Their greed has put this entire tournament in a jeopardy.

they agreed to host it in dambulla

India literally has an officially stated policy of “isolating” Pakistan. We can’t and shouldn’t expect any better.

In the past, Pakistan was able to counter this somewhat because our economy was doing better and we were relatively important on the international stage. Now, we have no say whatsoever.

Yes, let's all organise tournaments like the brilliant Indians, I want Jay Shah to be president of ALL boards!

Its not your or PCBs choice. ACC President's post is via rotation. Its BCCI's turn and Jay Shah is the nominee.

No amount of whining is going to change the rules of ACC.

Bilateral tours were and are always arranged by boards and not ICC.

No team plays all other teams in a 3 year WTC cycle.

BCCI doesn't have any bilateral cricket relations with PCB and that will continue. This arrangement only affects BCCI and PCB.

If India stops playing Pakistan in ICC tournaments, other teams will also get affected. This is one of the reasons why India doesn't boycott Pakistan in multilateral events.

Secondly, the boycott is to hurt PCB and gifting them two points helps them and not hurts them.

As S Jaishankar told the Europeans,

We do what is in our interest.

BCCI doesn't have any bilateral cricket relations with PCB and that will continue. This arrangement only affects BCCI and PCB.

If India stops playing Pakistan in ICC tournaments, other teams will also get affected. This is one of the reasons why India doesn't boycott Pakistan in multilateral events.

Secondly, the boycott is to hurt PCB and gifting them two points helps them and not hurts them.

you are soo confused in your posts

not play pakistan in a series as it will help them
play pakistan in icc tournaments as not playing them can help them

give it a rest

you are soo confused in your posts

not play pakistan in a series as it will help them
play pakistan in icc tournaments as not playing them can help them

give it a rest

You need to read and understand.

No, the Pakistan Circus board doesn't deserve any sympathy.

One politically appointed clown replaces another, making a mockery of our cricket

Some comments by Muttiah Muralitharan:

"It is the PCB who has decided the prices for these tickets as they are hosting the Asia Cup this year. Sri Lanka is currently going through a financial crisis. The ticket prices are really expensive and they were reduced at the last moment (just before the India vs. Pakistan match in Colombo) but it doesn't work that way. The ticket prices start from Sri Lankan Rupees 6000 and upwards. If you want to watch the match from the grandstands it is 40000 to 50000 Sri Lankan Rupees which is equivalent to a person's monthly salary. I don't think anyone can afford that much money in Sri Lanka"

"In Sri Lanka, whenever there are matches there is always a full house in the stadium. People want to come and watch these matches but they can't afford such high-priced tickets. Even Sri Lanka vs. Bangladesh game which happened on Saturday didn't attract many people despite the home team being in action and doing well"

"The league match between India and Pakistan ended up in a tie (no result) because of the rains. Perhaps, it was because of the rain prediction that people don't want to take a chance. Also, there was some confusion regarding the venue (from Colombo to Hambantota) of the Super 4 matches and the final. People will be apprehensive to come forward and buy tickets"

Its not your or PCBs choice. ACC President's post is via rotation. Its BCCI's turn and Jay Shah is the nominee.

No amount of whining is going to change the rules of ACC.

I didn't say I wanted the rules changed :inti

I'm just saying Jay Shah couldn't organise ice cream from a freezer :misbah

@Major now this guy wants us to believe the BCCI is helping all other teams in a tournament out of the kindness of their hearts :cobra

If you don't believe how is that going to affect the BCCI or me?

Just think why will BCCI spoil relations with all other boards when they already support the BCCI?

And then you tag Major.

What will he do?

Yes, this Asia Cup was suppose to play in Pakistan but because of the strong influence of BCCI, the majority of the tournament is being played in Sri Lanka. I guess it was some success for PCB to secure hosting 4 matches in Pakistan. Hopefully, Pakistan will be able to host all the matches of Champions Trophy in 2025.

Yes. But this is something we have been living with and fighting in India for a while now. Unilateral decisions devoid of logic and competence. Ruin a tournament and yet not have the competence to find a working alternative.

The problem with Jay Shah and his Papa's government is they've been able to get away for a while now. The Sardar Patel stadium which Modi renamed after himself is hyped and given every important game, yet it doesn't have basic infrastructure to take care of the human beings who throng it. Fans and their tickets, food, hygiene, comfort and basic infrastructure are least in the priority list. Even yesterday, the G20 venue was flooded like a third-class venue despite spending thousands of crores on it. Where is all that money going. It can't just be incompetence.

The same thing has happened here with this disaster of a tournament. The principle, execution and lack of remorse is the same whether it is the BJP government or their sporting body.

Yes. But this is something we have been living with and fighting in India for a while now. Unilateral decisions devoid of logic and competence. Ruin a tournament and yet not have the competence to find a working alternative.

The problem with Jay Shah and his Papa's government is they've been able to get away for a while now. The Sardar Patel stadium which Modi renamed after himself is hyped and given every important game, yet it doesn't have basic infrastructure to take care of the human beings who throng it. Fans and their tickets, food, hygiene, comfort and basic infrastructure are least in the priority list. Even yesterday, the G20 venue was flooded like a third-class venue despite spending thousands of crores on it. Where is all that money going. It can't just be incompetence.

The same thing has happened here with this disaster of a tournament. The principle, execution and lack of remorse is the same whether it is the BJP government or their sporting body.
Man, have you been to the Ahmedabad stadium?

I've seen enough on Twitter which is more accurate than what Godi media will dish out.

Also, the ticketing system has been roundly reported and lambasted all round especially during the last Modi show there with the Aussie PM.

I've seen enough on Twitter which is more accurate than what Godi media will dish out.

Also, the ticketing system has been roundly reported and lambasted all round especially during the last Modi show there with the Aussie PM.
I personally want to watch a Test match there.

Who is to be blamed for this situation in your opinion ?

PCB should have withdrawn themselves from Asia Cup. Its totally unfair host nation only have 4 games where Co-host holding 9 games including final and super four