PCB should not panic and should select the youngsters for the NZ series as well

Savak

World Star
The NZ team will be without all of their senior main players, they are literally sending their C/D team to Pakistan. Selecting the likes of Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Rauf serves no purpose in the series.

Drop the likes of Naseem, Shadab, Nawaz who have been poor for a long time and select the youngsters to keep the contest even and interesting. Let's see how these youngsters do in their own conditions.

The NZ team will be without all of their senior main players, they are literally sending their C/D team to Pakistan. Selecting the likes of Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Rauf serves no purpose in the series.

Drop the likes of Naseem, Shadab, Nawaz who have been poor for a long time and select the youngsters to keep the contest even and interesting. Let's see how these youngsters do in their own conditions.

No thanks As we have seen you cant make wholesale changes for pakistan

New kids have to be bedded in 1 or two at a time and without pressure

Theyve playef awful cricket this series and its not doing anyone any favours playing players that are clearly too young and not good enough yet at this level

Completely agree.

We shouldn't read too much into this series and go straight into panic mode. The truth is Afghanistan are a better team in these conditions. They have better spinners and their batsmen are well accustomed to these wickets.

Theyve playef awful cricket this series and its not doing anyone any favours playing players that are clearly too young and not good enough yet at this level

What good will it do to allow Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Rauf to stat pad against a NZ C/D team?

Yes Shadab Khan should be retained as captain. Umar Gul should be upgraded as Head Coach. Azam Khan should be vice captain. Naseem Shah & Faheem Ashraf should open with the new ball.

I am okay for keeping some young players for the T20 Series vs NZ, and ill even stick with almost everyone, minus Azam Khan ( we should have another senior batter and bowler) 1 each.

However for ODI, we should go with almost a full team, since ODI world cup is not far away, and players need practice in that format

What good will it do to allow Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen, Rauf to stat pad against a NZ C/D team?

what good will it do for the likes of saim and co playing with so much pressure when they arent ready?

Like i said incorporate one or two kids Take the pressure off them by playing them with seasoned players and learning off tgem

You cant expect like this series to make wholesale changes and get young players performing and getting results It doesnt work in pakistan

They will more than likely panic, sadly. Think back to the last time we experimented under Afridi as t20 captain. One loss and they jumped ship.

I hope they don’t, In Sha Allah. England, India and Aus give youngsters multiple series.

I’m not saying to give them a full year of free reign. But these are freaking t20 series. No one takes their results seriously.

Australia went from messing around with XIs prior to 2021 t20 WC, and look who was champion by the end…

I suggest to our jasbati awam to please have some patience. Especially as no one in their right mind would serve these desperate pitches in a t20 WC.

100%

They should add those 3 reserve players in place of Iftikhar, Shan and Naseem

Add Abbas Afridi too. These boys deserve a full chance at home as well

But we have a problem. Pakistan are not winning cricket series's home or away. Lost home T20 series to England, lost test home series against England, lost ODI series to New Zealand at home & now lost T20 series to Afghanistan 'away'.

I'm all for giving youngsters a chance but would prefer Pakistan actually win a cricket series. Our confidence will be completely gone to shot if Pakistan continue to lose cricket series's before this year's world cup.

But we have a problem. Pakistan are not winning cricket series's home or away. Lost home T20 series to England, lost test home series against England, lost ODI series to New Zealand at home & now lost T20 series to Afghanistan 'away'.

I'm all for giving youngsters a chance but would prefer Pakistan actually win a cricket series. Our confidence will be completely gone to shot if Pakistan continue to lose cricket series's before this year's world cup.

We lost those series with the non “youngsters” so that’s not the solution either.

The most important thing in bilateral series is to try your bench strength. This series we’ve lost, we’ve learned that some players are not ready and some such as Ihsanullah have the potential.

What’s worse than losing is allowing our openers to stat pad, not giving any opportunity to any other players and….still losing.

No one said building a successful team is easy

Talking about odis or t20. For t20 it doesn't matter but throw in some season players just so these guys get some exposure. Saim, Haris, Zaman, Ihsan make the cut from the new guys.

We lost those series with the non “youngsters” so that’s not the solution either.

The most important thing in bilateral series is to try your bench strength. This series we’ve lost, we’ve learned that some players are not ready and some such as Ihsanullah have the potential.

What’s worse than losing is allowing our openers to stat pad, not giving any opportunity to any other players and….still losing.

No one said building a successful team is easy

You cant have a blind process such as lets throw mud at the wall and see what sticks

The difference between our domestics and intnl cricket is huge It doesnt work just throwing youngsters in deep end and asking them to swim or sink

I remember we did something similar against eng in 2009 and aus 2001 and were humiliated

We need to identify 2-3 talented players and give them time and oppprtunity whilst playing with the first team players over 12-18 months

Like ive said it does them no good having young players play with pressure and not perform only to lose confidence and form

Good post, agreed.

Cricket is a results driven business. When the management has just overseen a series defeat to Afghanistan they are not going to roll over for the Kiwis so that Abdullah Shafique can flail around a little longer. It would be career suicide.

I imagine Babar will be brought back at the very least, but i'd be putting my money on all of the big guns returning for New Zealand.

That shouldn't mean youngsters won't get chances, but that the line up won't consist of so many of them anymore.

No harm, just better planning and roles.... shadab is not captaincy material though...

No need to panic or overreaction as this is a meaningless bilateral series. The team has got several drubbings at home & away even when it was full strength. It lost to Zimbabwe and almost lost to Afghanistan in WC & Asia Cup. Yes team management should work on areas of improvement and strengthen the bench strength

The youngsters have only themselves to blame. International Cricket is a very cut throat place and if the youngsters don't avail their chances then they only have themselves to blame.

If a 80% full England team could lose against Bangladesh, there is no shame in a new Pakistan team losing to Afghanistan away.

It’s all good.

Dunya Hai
Dhanda hai
Chalta Hai
Chalta hai

If it was up to me the team for the first t20 against NZ would look like this:

Rizwan (wk)
Saim
Babar (c)
M. Haris
Fakhar
Imad
Shadab
Usama Mir
Shaheen
Ihsanullah
Zaman Khan

That's a good enough blend where we can expose some raw players while also being competitive.

If it was up to me the team for the first t20 against NZ would look like this:

Rizwan (wk)
Saim
Babar (c)
M. Haris
Fakhar
Imad
Shadab
Usama Mir
Shaheen
Ihsanullah
Zaman Khan

That's a good enough blend where we can expose some raw players while also being competitive.

Shadab needs to be rested. He is still carrying that finger injury he picked up in the BBL and he is still playing with it even though it hasn't healed. It's affecting his bowling, batting and fielding.

Fair enough - we can have Nawaz in his place or even take a chance with Amir Jamal given we have 6 bowling options and he won't be expected to do too much heavy lifting.

You cant have a blind process such as lets throw mud at the wall and see what sticks

The difference between our domestics and intnl cricket is huge It doesnt work just throwing youngsters in deep end and asking them to swim or sink

I remember we did something similar against eng in 2009 and aus 2001 and were humiliated

We need to identify 2-3 talented players and give them time and oppprtunity whilst playing with the first team players over 12-18 months

Like ive said it does them no good having young players play with pressure and not perform only to lose confidence and form

Balance is fine, I’m all for that, but I don’t read too much in to performances against Afghanistan. We normally reserve our worst performances for them.

It all depends what the management wanted to achieve.

The tactics were poor - so if we wanted this young team to succeed we didn’t do them any favours by batting first in both matches. You can even forgive the first match, but the second match was brainless.

Some of the players just didn’t get much of an opportunity either eg like Abdullah - yes not good getting out for ducks, but you can’t just put him out to pasture after this either.

The sting of 3-0 whitewash by the hands of AFG might be too much for PCB for further exploring, normality would resume to ease up the pressure

For T20s, who cares, throw them in again. We can make the pitches how we like.

For ODIs, this is no time for experimentation, full strength side needed.

I don't know if fans here realize this, but Pakistan cricket is slowly going the same way as their hockey. Not a single win from 8 home test matches, home T20 series defeat against Eng, home ODI defeat against NZ, a WC defeat against Zimbabwe and now defeat against Afghanistan at the iconic Sharjah cricket stadium which at one time was the fortress of Pakistan.

Full strength or youngsters, Pak shouldn't be losing so much. At the end this is a result oriented game. Some of you were comparing Eng - Ban series to this one, let me tell you, Eng are reigning T20 and ODI WC champions and they did win the ODI series in BAN 2-1. They only lost the T20s. Pak have nothing to show.

Also all arguments aside, what is the purpose of having "Pakistan Shaheens" team if you are going to try the "youngsters" at international level, distribute caps for fun and lose?

I don't mind giving chances to the youngster and couple of failures doesn't mean not giving them more chances . But selectors should be smart enough to find talented youngsters with potential and good technique like Saim and Harris . But , some club level cricketers who were able to score some runs on very flat wickets with very short boundaries like Tayyab and Azam should not be selected. Give chance to more youngsters like Haseebullah and bowlers like Abbas Afridi.

It’s the wrong ground to give chances to younger players they were bound to fail on these slow low wickets even the seniors don’t have a good record here.

Absolutely.

There's no point selecting some young batters just to try them out for 3 matches.

Not all of them are quality but we badly need modern T20 batters that can win us games, specially on good batting tracks which happens in ICC tournaments.

Do NOT judge any new batter on these pathetic pitches.

These guys can and WILL easily outperform stat-padders like Rizwan and fake-batters like Shan.

I repeat, most matches against top 4 cricketing sides will happen on good batting wickets.

I don't know if fans here realize this, but Pakistan cricket is slowly going the same way as their hockey. Not a single win from 8 home test matches, home T20 series defeat against Eng, home ODI defeat against NZ, a WC defeat against Zimbabwe and now defeat against Afghanistan at the iconic Sharjah cricket stadium which at one time was the fortress of Pakistan.

Full strength or youngsters, Pak shouldn't be losing so much. At the end this is a result oriented game. Some of you were comparing Eng - Ban series to this one, let me tell you, Eng are reigning T20 and ODI WC champions and they did win the ODI series in BAN 2-1. They only lost the T20s. Pak have nothing to show.

Also all arguments aside, what is the purpose of having "Pakistan Shaheens" team if you are going to try the "youngsters" at international level, distribute caps for fun and lose?

It's not an A tour.

Loosing game after playing good cricket is no issue but the way team (especially batsmen) is playing will not help.

The pitch in Sharjah made it really difficult for these young batters to adapt. Listening to Imad’s interview he was saying he hasn’t seen pitches like these in international cricket much but, at the same time they are professionals and should have adapted better. Its not like most of these guys have been part of A tours much which always makes it difficult to adapt to change in conditions at the top level.

In T20Is I dont mind trying the same group of players with changes based upon form. It 50 overs WC year so as disappointing it is to lose any series, T20Is is a good place to try and evaluate youngsters but, its better to give them a go at home where they will be playing vs NZ.

The difference between the state of hockey and cricket is the interest within the country and thus youngsters coming up in the sport. In cricket young players are taking up the sport (PSL really helped the state of interest) and some of the guys selected have the potential to be performers at international level.

However, lack of adaptability and reading of the pitch was a big issue. So I totally agree regarding the lack of use of Shaheens team and overall lack of development that Pak cricket has been offering to young guys before putting them into international cricket. Its been the case for 5-6 years now and always turns out to be a gamble which can go either ways.

Naseem needs to be rested

I would have given anwar ali a go

Or tried abbas afridi or sameen gul or muhammad umar as pace options

But we are definetly lacking a quality spinner in the team as well.

Send this to PCB HQ, pathetic selections and mgmt. beaten convincingly by AFG

I agree with some of the posters here:

- Play the C team for T20’s
- Play a full strength team for the ODI’s

For T20s, who cares, throw them in again. We can make the pitches how we like.

For ODIs, this is no time for experimentation, full strength side needed.

I hope the management sees that

==

Babar Azam will once again take the responsibilities as captain in the upcoming T20I and ODI series against New Zealand.

Upon Babar's arrival in Lahore on March 30th, a selection committee meeting will be called, in which the T20I and ODI squad will be announced after consultation with him. The meeting is expected to take place on April 3rd or 4th.

According to the sources, despite the failure in the series against Afghanistan, only a few changes are expected for the T20I matches against New Zealand.

The strategy of giving one more chance to young players can be adopted for the T20I series. Usama Mir, Haseebullah, and Abrar Ahmed are also in contention for the series.

However, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials have decided to avoid more experiments for the ODI matches. Keeping the preparations for the 2023 World Cup in mind, Pakistan will enter the field with a potent combination in the presence of senior players.

A training camp is likely to be held at the National Cricket Academy from April 7th or 8th, where the T20I and ODI squads players will train together.

After the departure of the selected players for the T20I series, the rest of the players will continue to train in the National Cricket Academy for the ODI matches.

Due to Ramadan, there is a proposed plan to train at night. The final decision will be made by the team management after consultation with the team's captain.

CricketPakistan

If I'm not wrong, there is a Pakistan Shaheens tour to Zimbabwe in May comprising of all three formats. That's the ideal time to play the younger players, against a Zimbabwe side that has shown considerable improvement in the last one year.

Zimbabwe are likely to field their full strength side for ODIs as they themselves prepare for World Cup Qualifiers in June. So it is a win-win situation for both teams.

==

Babar Azam will once again take the responsibilities as captain in the upcoming T20I and ODI series against New Zealand.

Upon Babar's arrival in Lahore on March 30th, a selection committee meeting will be called, in which the T20I and ODI squad will be announced after consultation with him. The meeting is expected to take place on April 3rd or 4th.

According to the sources, despite the failure in the series against Afghanistan, only a few changes are expected for the T20I matches against New Zealand.

The strategy of giving one more chance to young players can be adopted for the T20I series. Usama Mir, Haseebullah, and Abrar Ahmed are also in contention for the series.

However, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials have decided to avoid more experiments for the ODI matches. Keeping the preparations for the 2023 World Cup in mind, Pakistan will enter the field with a potent combination in the presence of senior players.

A training camp is likely to be held at the National Cricket Academy from April 7th or 8th, where the T20I and ODI squads players will train together.

After the departure of the selected players for the T20I series, the rest of the players will continue to train in the National Cricket Academy for the ODI matches.

Due to Ramadan, there is a proposed plan to train at night. The final decision will be made by the team management after consultation with the team's captain.

CricketPakistan

Babar should come in for Shan

Rauf for Wasim jr

And Fakhar for Iftikhar

Ideally Babar should just be there on the bench watching like Jos Butler did against us.

Follow this method and you will get more 99 all outs..its a stupid idea and if yu do this against even better sides they will smash you to pieces.. we need to nurture our young talent not throw them under a bus like we have in this series.. it is unprofessional. But then what do you expect from the babay in charge these days..

I don't know what the whoohaa is about
Youngsters should be given another chance vs NZ in t20i

They need to master different conditions

Yes they failed vs Afghanistan but Afghanistan were playing their expirenced team with some of them have played 40+ matches

Also Afghanistan are familiar with uae grounds as they play there alot vs Hong Kong uae etc.

It's will be a different story when the same squad will be playing at their home ground with conditions they are familiar with

Main team should prepare for odis than playing these meaningless t20i's

Look at india who had rested players after the worldcup and new zealand who are touring pakistan with a young team

Hopefully the tamasha of experimentation will be over tonight and a proper squad to be selected for home series, don't forget PCB needs sponsors and viewership as well who would want to pay for the duds like Ayub n Tahir etc

They should definitely not play a full strength squad and I would go with the following squad.

Saim Ayub
Rizwan
Babar Azam
Abdullah Shafique
Muhammed Haris
Fakhar Zaman
Imad Wasim
Usama Mir
Wasim Jnr
Ihsanullah
Zaman Khan

Abdullah Shafique
Nawaz
Rauf
Abbas Afridi

There were only three youngsters who made their debut Saim, Ihsanullah and Zaman and all three of them performed . Haris , Azam and Abdullah made their comeback, without much success. I would continue to give more chances to Harris and Abdullah , they will come out good, soon.

Drop/rest Azam, Shan, Naseem and Nawaz for the New Zealand series.

Replace them with Babar, Rizwan, Shaheen and Salman Ali Agha for the New Zealand series.

The seniors shouldn't play every match but we do need to give the players enough game time too.

I agree, Babar Rizwan and Shaheen should stay dropped from t20I series. Whats the point of playing t20Is when theres no WC this year.

Best t20 playing 11 against New Zealand

So after resting several key players against Afghanistan and giving the youngsters a run in the team what would be your best 11 against NZ

Babar
Saim ayub
Rizwan
Haris
Fakhar
Imad
Shadab
Afridi
Nawaz
Ihsanullah
Naseem

Bench
Rauf
Shafiq
Zaman
Ifti

If babar gets out send Rizwan in at 3 and if Saim gets out send in haris or Fakhar.
Unfortunately we don’t have a pace alrounder hence why nawaz and Imad or both in the same team. I think 3 spinners at next World Cup may be handy too.

Thoughts?

So after resting several key players against Afghanistan and giving the youngsters a run in the team what would be your best 11 against NZ

Babar
Saim ayub
Rizwan
Haris
Fakhar
Imad
Shadab
Afridi
Nawaz
Ihsanullah
Naseem

Bench
Rauf
Shafiq
Zaman
Ifti

If babar gets out send Rizwan in at 3 and if Saim gets out send in haris or Fakhar.
Unfortunately we don’t have a pace alrounder hence why nawaz and Imad or both in the same team. I think 3 spinners at next World Cup may be handy too.

Thoughts?

Babar at number 3!!!

Anyone but him at number 3 will not solve the issue!

I am okay for keeping some young players for the T20 Series vs NZ, and ill even stick with almost everyone, minus Azam Khan ( we should have another senior batter and bowler) 1 each.

However for ODI, we should go with almost a full team, since ODI world cup is not far away, and players need practice in that format

Absolutely. T20 fun is over. Saim is the real deal. He is definitely to keep and needs more chances . Haris should back up Rizwan and must get a chance in the series. Abdullah should Participate in at least one of the ODIs and T20s. In bowling, Rotation is a must. Let's not burn any of the top fast bowlers - Shaheen, Ihsanullah, and Haris. The fast bowlers must alternate regardless of what the series result is. It is time for ODI word cup prep.

Exactly , use T20 to groom in some youngsters but have some seniors around them to guide them and show the ropes..for ODI gotta use it as world cup prep and rotate bowlers correctly

Looking forward to T20 and ODI series vs New Zealand. Saim Ayub is the real deal hoping he can get score some runs and have a good series

Pakistan has one of he most lethal pace attack in the world.
Shaheen
Ihsanullah
Rauf
Zaman
Naseem Shah

It does not get better than this.

So I don't see the dark picture you paint.

I think we're likely to see Babar bat at 3 this series to test the waters.

I would definitely rest Shaheen and drop Naseem.Zaman Khan deserves a longer run in the side.

For the T20 Squad, I would try to persist with some youngsters again, and also give rest to (Shaheen) only for t20 and also for Rizwan (want to give Haris a run for wk and batsman) in T20 series , I would also Rest Wasim Jr for T20 not because he was bad, just would want to give another player a chance

This would be my squad for T20 series vs New Zealand

Babar Azam (C)
Saim ayub
Fakhar Zaman
Mohammad Haris (WK)
Abdullah Shafique
Imad Wasim
Shadab
Usama Mir
Nawaz
Ihsanullah
Naseem Shah
Zaman Khan
Haris Rauf
Ifitikhar Ahmed
Anwar Ali ( I would use him for batting only, he can be a good lower order batsman)

Reserves
Abrar Ahmed
Abbas Afridi
Haseebullah Khan

ODI Squad, I would go with full squad with maybe 1 , or 2 tweaks Maximum ( I would rest Haris Rauf) to give full chance to Ihsanullah to see how fares in ODI series.

1) Babar Azam (C)
2)Fakhar Zaman
3) Imam Ul Haq
4) Saim Ayub

5) M.Rizwan (WK)
6) Salman Ali Agha
7) Kamran Ghulum

8) Shadab Khan
9) Mohammad Nawaz
10) Imad Wasim
11) Usama Mir

12) Ihshanullah
13) Wasim Jr
14) Naseem Shah
15) Shaheen Afridi

reserves
abrar ahmad
abdul wahid banglazai
abbas afridi

The odi Squad I would pick vs New Zealand
Imaam Ul Haq
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Abdullah
Rizwan
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Shaheen
Naseem Shah
Ihsanullah

Bench
Rauf
Saim Ayub
Muhammed Haris
Usama Mir
Nawaz

PCB Management Committee chairman, Najam Sethi, has said that they have identified two youngsters who are ready to be part of Pakistan’s full-strength side in future.

While speaking to media in Islamabad, Sethi opened up about Pakistan’s recent series loss to Afghanistan in Sharjah.

"There was no debacle. You have already heard what the vice-captain said about the series and respective performances. We rested all our top players and sent our A team, but we cannot say that. We tested our youngsters, the same youngsters you all promote year-round," Sethi said.

It was high time that we threw them into the deep sea and saw how they would swim. The kind of pitches UAE offers - it was a great test for them - some succeeded in those conditions, and some failed. At least we now have two youngsters who performed extremely well and are prepared to be part of the national squad. It was a great experience and an equally good outing for the domestic coaching staff and players," he added.

Ihsanullah continued his rich vein of form and impressed with his bowling against Afghanistan, as he ended up being the highest wicket-taker in the series with six wickets.

Rookie batsman, Saim Ayub, had two quiet games at the start of the series, but played an impressive 49-run knock in the final T20I, to set a perfect platform for Pakistan to set a formidable target for Afghanistan.

Babar Azam, who rested in Afghanistan series, is expected to once again take the responsibilities as captain in the upcoming T20I and ODI series against New Zealand.

According to the sources, despite the failure in the series against Afghanistan, only a few changes are expected for the T20I series against New Zealand.

The strategy of giving another chance to younger players can be adopted for the T20I series. However, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials have decided to avoid more experiments for the ODI matches. Keeping the preparations for the 2023 World Cup in mind, Pakistan will enter the field with a strong combination in the presence of senior players.

CricketPakistan

PCB Management Committee chairman, Najam Sethi, has said that they have identified two youngsters who are ready to be part of Pakistan’s full-strength side in future.

While speaking to media in Islamabad, Sethi opened up about Pakistan’s recent series loss to Afghanistan in Sharjah.

"There was no debacle. You have already heard what the vice-captain said about the series and respective performances. We rested all our top players and sent our A team, but we cannot say that. We tested our youngsters, the same youngsters you all promote year-round," Sethi said.

It was high time that we threw them into the deep sea and saw how they would swim. The kind of pitches UAE offers - it was a great test for them - some succeeded in those conditions, and some failed. At least we now have two youngsters who performed extremely well and are prepared to be part of the national squad. It was a great experience and an equally good outing for the domestic coaching staff and players," he added.

Ihsanullah continued his rich vein of form and impressed with his bowling against Afghanistan, as he ended up being the highest wicket-taker in the series with six wickets.

Rookie batsman, Saim Ayub, had two quiet games at the start of the series, but played an impressive 49-run knock in the final T20I, to set a perfect platform for Pakistan to set a formidable target for Afghanistan.

Babar Azam, who rested in Afghanistan series, is expected to once again take the responsibilities as captain in the upcoming T20I and ODI series against New Zealand.

According to the sources, despite the failure in the series against Afghanistan, only a few changes are expected for the T20I series against New Zealand.

The strategy of giving another chance to younger players can be adopted for the T20I series. However, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officials have decided to avoid more experiments for the ODI matches. Keeping the preparations for the 2023 World Cup in mind, Pakistan will enter the field with a strong combination in the presence of senior players.

CricketPakistan

So Ihsanullah and Saim identified as 2 youngsters...

The odi Squad I would pick vs New Zealand
Imaam Ul Haq
Fakhar Zaman
Babar Azam
Abdullah
Rizwan
Imad Wasim
Shadab Khan
Shaheen
Naseem Shah
Ihsanullah

Bench
Rauf
Saim Ayub
Muhammed Haris
Usama Mir
Nawaz

Imad Wasim cannot bowl ten overs in an ODI, and you definitely need six bowlers. Better to drop Abdullah for Haris Sohail or Ifti and play Nawaz for Imad. Nawaz can bowl you ten good overs in the middle and ifti and Haris provide backup. Haris and Imad are close in terms of fielding, Imad is a bit better but nothing great.

If I was to make 1 change I would bring in Haris Sohail for Abdullah so it gives you that 6th bowling option and the only reason why I would play Imad is becouse he's a better batter than Nawaz but isn't a better bowler in odis.

^ well I mean he’s only selected 10 players so you could put it an all rounder at number 6 without needing to replace Abdullah…

The playing 11 with the extra five squad members should be:

Fakhar
Imam / Saim
Babar
Abdullah / Haris Sohail
Rizwan
Salman Aga
Imad Wasim / Nawaz
Shadab Khan / Usama Mir
Shaheen Afridi
Ihsanullah
Naseem / Rauf

I want to see Ihsanullah, Zaman Khan, Saim Ayub, Mohammad Haris, and Abdullah Shafique play all the T20 matches against New Zealand.

If I was to make 1 change I would bring in Haris Sohail for Abdullah so it gives you that 6th bowling option and the only reason why I would play Imad is becouse he's a better batter than Nawaz but isn't a better bowler in odis.

Honestly if you wanna pick Haris Sohail, then might as well also pick Ahmed Shehzad & Umar Akmal

Are we talking about ODIs. Haris Sohail is a top odi player. No where near Umar Akmal and Shehzad.

As per some media reports, it was agreed not to experiment further in the One Day team. So don't expect any big changes for the NZ series.

It seems like PCB has done complete opposite here!!!!

We have failed I am afraid.