Petrol shortage and prices in Pakistan in 2020 [PM Imran rejects proposed price increase for Sep]

MRSN

For the past few days, an unexpected fuel shortage across the country has taken commuters by surprise. It is unexpected because for the past nearly three months, due to a major reduction in travel...

Next Story >>>
For the past few days, an unexpected fuel shortage across the country has taken commuters by surprise. It is unexpected because for the past nearly three months, due to a major reduction in travel in almost all modes of transport, fuel consumption was at a much lower level than normal. As if the people of this country are not already facing enough miseries due to the Covid-19 pandemic and the resultant economic woes, this new fuel crisis is entirely the result of gross mismanagement. Even in Karachi where all imported fuel docks, and from where petroleum and its related products are sent upcountry, one could see petrol stations empty or with long queues of vehicles. Karachi is the financial hub of the country and if even this city faces such scarcity one can imagine the situation in other cities and towns.

Petrol pump owners say that they have been facing a shortage of fuel supply for the past many days, despite their repeated requests to suppliers. This shortage emerged as soon as the intercity and intracity public transport was allowed to ply after many weeks of a near lockdown situation. As people and transporters brought their vehicles back to the roads they have been facing difficulties. According to reports, in some cases, more expensive high-octane is the only available option to commuters. The All Pakistan Petroleum Dealers Association (APPDA) is solely blaming the suppliers. The problem appears to be that some petroleum companies did not buy petrol at lower prices, and now when the prices have been reduced they want to recoup their losses by creating an artificial shortage in the market.

The question is: when these private petroleum companies were not buying, storing and supplying, what were the authorities doing? Is there no mechanism in the country to keep tabs on these issues? There appears to be gross negligence on the part of those concerned. The Oil and Gas Regulatory Association must answer a few tough questions. Any delay in the import of petroleum should have been noticed immediately because there are certain SOPs that the companies are supposed to follow, failing which the government is bound to take action.
https://www.thenews.com.pk/amp/668451-petrol-shortage

Had to wait myself for 3 hours and didn't get more than 50 Rs. of petrol despite such a long wait. But but things are going so good in Pakistan according to people who don't even live in Pakistan. [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

same here in Faisalabad, atleast when it was expensive it was available easily, these mafia are out of control and this competent corruption free government can't even control prices and availability. Bhai Sasta krnay ka faida jab milna he nai, at this rate second term for imran seem a distant pipe dream, every month the situation getting bad to worse the incompetence reaching new levels. Kahan hai positive tabdeeli, and this is happening jab dunia me excessive and cheapest oil hai, historian will write k pakistan me tab b log 1 liter k liye 4 4 hour line me lgtay thay, now cult followers typically divert it to Noras and zardaris, IK should be given atleast 50 years straight then we can blame his incompetence.

while Omer Ayub sahib says there is no crisis. Yeh tu haal hai incompetence ka.

LAHORE - Minister for Power and Petroleum Omer Ayub has categorically stated that there is no shortage of petrol, diesel and kerosene oil in the country. The minister while making a policy statement in the National Assembly on Monday also appealed to the people to refrain from panic buying. He said at present the country has petrol reserves for ten days. In the next two or three days, two tankers of sixty-five thousand metric tons will dock at our ports. He said the FIA had been given instructions to check the stocks of all oil marketing companies. In addition the administration has been directed to seal and cancel the licenses of those petrol pumps not selling the fuel.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/nation...uel-shortage-in-country-omar-ayub?version=amp

In Peshawar, it is only available in PSO and you have to wait for an hour in the queue.

But ghabrana nahi hai. Koi poochay tu bolna khan aya tha.

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] still waiting for cult followers typical diverting replies, they will still blame it on anyone but PTI government. Its never their fault.

They will be very quick at labelling you as Patwaris and Jiyalas. It becomes very difficult to have any rational debate with blind followers. This reminds me of the days when Talal Chowdhery and Daniyal Aziz type of characters use divert attention on other issues rather than facing real issues during PML N days.

Action over ‘artificial shortage of petrol’ ordered

ISLAMABAD: The federal cabinet on Tuesday took serious notice of what it called the artificial shortage of petrol in the country and Prime Minister Imran Khan ordered maximum punitive action against all those responsible for this.

The prime minister while chairing the cabinet meeting called the Ogra (Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority) chairman and inquired about causes of the shortage of petroleum products in the country.

According to an official press release, the cabinet noted that Ogra and the Petroleum Division have legal authority to physically enter and inspect oil companies’ storage facilities.

The cabinet directed the petroleum ministry to form joint raid teams comprising representatives of the Pet*roleum Division, Ogra, Fed*eral Investigation Agency and district administrations.

The teams will inspect all petrol depots/storage. They have the authority to enter any site. “Anyone found involved in hoarding shall face full force of law, including arrest and forced release of such stores,” the directive said.

The meeting decided that any company found not maintaining the mandatory stocks and supply to its outlets, as per their licence, would face punitive actions, including suspension and cancellation of licence and heavy fines.

The prime minister directed the Petroleum Division and Ogra to take all actions necessary to ensure regular supplies within 48-72 hours.

The Ministry of Energy informed the cabinet that while total supplies in June 2019 were 650,000 tonnes, supplies arranged for June 2020 are 850,000 tonnes. The cabinet urged the public not to engage in panic buying. The stocks that are being hoarded will be identified and ensured to be available in the market. An action will be taken against hoarders.

The prime minister directed the minister of petroleum and Ogra to ensure that every oil marketing company maintains 21-day stock to meet its licence conditions.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1562493/action-over-artificial-shortage-of-petrol-ordered

Did you see that SS confessed to corruption yesterday, who are the cult followers?

The mafia is desperate these days. Scrap all licenses for petrol stations and let whoever wants to sell, sell. Break the back of the mafia.

“Yeh hota hai leader, isay kehtay hain vision”

It happened in 2015, whatever happened to the report that was promised? Please give a reference. When challenged Abbasi said the petrol crisis had cost govt nothing and the public paid.

while Omer Ayub sahib says there is no crisis. Yeh tu haal hai incompetence ka.

LAHORE - Minister for Power and Petroleum Omer Ayub has categorically stated that there is no shortage of petrol, diesel and kerosene oil in the country. The minister while making a policy statement in the National Assembly on Monday also appealed to the people to refrain from panic buying. He said at present the country has petrol reserves for ten days. In the next two or three days, two tankers of sixty-five thousand metric tons will dock at our ports. He said the FIA had been given instructions to check the stocks of all oil marketing companies. In addition the administration has been directed to seal and cancel the licenses of those petrol pumps not selling the fuel.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/nation...uel-shortage-in-country-omar-ayub?version=amp

This happened in 2015, and the govt promised a report and a full investigation, can you give me a link please.

Where are the $100b in exports, bullet trains and international airports in every village that Nawaz Sharif promised us in 2013?

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Sadly typical replies, don't know why this change bearers think it's a sin to criticize anything PTI, and for their kind information i also voted for PTI before labeling me a NOORA, but just grow a thick skin and learn how to call a spade a spade or will we try to hide behind, O but the previous governments were even worse, where is the positive change we awam were promised? for a start atleast stop making things worse then they were in tenure of those corrupt government, now day by day my decision to vote for PTI seem my biggest mistake, but because we are don't have better alternatives we should stop criticism of IK, what kind of logic is this.?

It is very surprising, given that oil prices are at an all time low. How good is Pakistan's refining capacity? Does Pakistan buy refined petroleum products or does it import crude?

[MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] Sadly typical replies, don't know why this change bearers think it's a sin to criticize anything PTI, and for their kind information i also voted for PTI before labeling me a NOORA, but just grow a thick skin and learn how to call a spade a spade or will we try to hide behind, O but the previous governments were even worse, where is the positive change we awam were promised? for a start atleast stop making things worse then they were in tenure of those corrupt government, now day by day my decision to vote for PTI seem my biggest mistake, but because we are don't have better alternatives we should stop criticism of IK, what kind of logic is this.?

For every Noora that tells us that they voted for the IK, you would think that they would have a big majority but then Nooras tell us they were selected. Can you please clear that confusion.

As the Petrol shortage are concerned, its not the 1st time and it won't be the last until the mafia is smashed. My understanding is that an artificial shortage was created, and the prices go up and the shortages miraculously disappear. This shows a regulatory framework that isn't working and is corrupt.

The thing is PTI cult is even worse than the N league followers and PPP because we knew about them they lack education and awareness but looking at parha likha PTI fans and their abuse when challenged with simple problems we are facing, it just shows there is something wrong in our blood that we keep producing people who worship personalities instead of fighting for their rights. It's IK vs NZ vs Zardari. Not elected leaders by people vs problems of the people.

What exactly is democracy? If this circus that we have seen in the last 13 years is called democracy then I would love to see some other model of govt. tried. This will take us no where. Current democracy is nothing but run by incompetent people playing blame games after making blunders.

The thing is PTI cult is even worse than the N league followers and PPP because we knew about them they lack education and awareness but looking at parha likha PTI fans and their abuse when challenged with simple problems we are facing, it just shows there is something wrong in our blood that we keep producing people who worship personalities instead of fighting for their rights. It's IK vs NZ vs Zardari. Not elected leaders by people vs problems of the people.

What exactly is democracy? If this circus that we have seen in the last 13 years is called democracy then I would love to see some other model of govt. tried. This will take us no where. Current democracy is nothing but run by incompetent people playing blame games after making blunders.

The petrol price is dropped by the govt to reflect the lower oil prices and suddenly there is a shortage, why? Are we short of oil, is the govt corrupt and helping the mafia create shortages or is the mafia creating shortages to profiteer. You have avoided the question, why

What else do you expect from the Y cult. They have four answers to every valid question: chor, daku, lootmaar and current account.

Deflection is the only thing they can do to defend the shambolic performance of this clueless government that is on course to destroy the country.

If Imran Khan was as poor a Test captain as he is as a PM, he wouldn’t have lasted for more than 1 Test series.

What else do you expect from the Y cult. They have four answers to every valid question: chor, daku, lootmaar and current account.

Deflection is the only thing they can do to defend the shambolic performance of this clueless government that is on course to destroy the country.

If Imran Khan was as poor a Test captain as he is as a PM, he wouldn’t have lasted for more than 1 Test series.
So how did this Shortage take place in 2015 They said a full enquiry would take place, can you refer me to it. The PM was NS, and who supported that crook, it wasn't you was it , remind me who supports the cults. Lol
Btw SS blamed his children for the corruption and bribes, who supported him,, don't tell me it was you. Lol

https://www.dawn.com/news/1157555

So how did this Shortage take place in 2015 They said a full enquiry would take place, can you refer me to it. The PM was NS, and who supported that crook, it wasn't you was it , remind me who supports the cults. Lol
Btw SS blamed his children for the corruption and bribes, who supported him,, don't tell me it was you. Lol

https://www.dawn.com/news/1157555

Fighting the good fight Bewal.... Ikhees toppon ki salami to your patience to deal with stunted growth people.

Human greed is the only truth and greed leads to innovation ,development and exploitation.

It is the consequence of IK not coming hard at the mafia since day 1. His reluctance and passive approach has emboldened these cartels/thugs who will create problems at every step. So far, his team selection has been worse than Misbah's.

IK is too nicey, play the gane that is being played not the one you want to play. Do what Nooras, make the life of judges hell, let them know that working for the mafia diesnt come without a price, use every available law to go after the mafia. What the hell were the 2 ministers doing when the crisis started?

The cartels/thugs have strong connections to the Establishment. Given that the Establishment wanted IK to be PM, you shouldn't expect any radical changes from him.

It has been about 2 years since he became PM. That is a long enough period of time, to judge him just go by what you are actually seeing happen in the real world.

What happened in 2015, where is the report promised. This is a mafia, creating an artificial shortages to increase the price.

So the current government continues to succumb under the pressure of oil, wheat and sugar mafia as the previous governments did.

This naya Pakistan looks a lot like the old Pakistan

The cartels/thugs have strong connections to the Establishment. Given that the Establishment wanted IK to be PM, you shouldn't expect any radical changes from him.

It has been about 2 years since he became PM. That is a long enough period of time, to judge him just go by what you are actually seeing happen in the real world.

No they don't.

ISLAMABAD: Federal Minister for Petroleum Omar Ayub said that the government will eliminate the petrol crisis within the next three days, stating that action will be taken against hoarders.

The federal minister was speaking to media outside the Peshawar High Court, where he said the government has initiated action against those stocking petroleum reserves which led to an artificial shortage.

“This is the first time that action is being taken against this mafia,” said the federal minister.

Ayub said that during raids, petrol reserves were recovered and cases have been registered against the culprits.

He alleged that the ‘mafia’ is not letting the people take relief from the subsidized petroleum prices, adding that the petrol demand has surged by 30%.

PM orders action against those responsible for petrol shortage
On Tuesday, Prime Minister Imran Khan in a meeting of the federal cabinet ordered maximum punitive action against those responsible for the artificial petrol shortage in Pakistan.

PM Imran had directed the Oil and Gas Regulatory Authority (OGRA) and Petroleum Division to take necessary action to ensure regular supplies within two to three days

Due to the reduction in the prices of petroleum products from the beginning of June, the public complained of a shortage of petrol supply at pumps across the country.

Also read: Shortage of petrol adds to misery of citizens across Pakistan

The shortage of petrol added to the misery of citizens across the country, including the residents of the financial hub of the country, Karachi.

According to reports, petrol pumps across the country have been facing a shortage of fuel supply.

PHC hears plea on petrol, wheat crisis
The Peshawar High Court held a hearing on a notice pertaining to petrol and wheat crisis in the country.

Omar Ayub also presented before the High Court, where Justice Qaiser Rashid asked about the government measures to mitigate the crisis.

The judge said that the petrol pumps are not taking care of the SOPs and ‘useless’ meetings are being held to discuss the situation.

The PHC judge continued that earlier people faced wheat crisis and now petrol shortage, telling the federal minister he was summoned so that the public can be given quick relief regarding the situation.

The minister told the court that the petrol companies have constituted a ‘mafia’ and creating the shortage.

The court ordered the federal minister to control the situation as soon as possible.

So the current government continues to succumb under the pressure of oil, wheat and sugar mafia as the previous governments did.

This naya Pakistan looks a lot like the old Pakistan

It shows that the mafia remind strong in business, Judiciary and media. These crisis are not occurring in isolation, they are deliberately created to put pressure on the govt. The difference is that IK has and will take them on if the Judiciary wasn't so corrupt, whereas the lack of even reports in the old PK show that Nooras and PPP were part of the mafia.

Just like JT was taken to court for his role in the sugar crisis

Here is another example of the sheer incompetence of Imran:

Because of the petrol shortage in all pumps except PSO, motorcyclists have been standing shoulder to shoulder in waiting in queue.

They often have to wait for 45 mins or even an hour.

Quite a few of them don’t even wear masks or even helmets, and if anyone of them is COVID positive, it will spread like wildfire.

All Imran had to do was deploy a couple of police officers in these pumps and instruct them that unless they wear masks, they will not be allowed to fill their tanks.

But unfortunately, you need competent leadership to take these measures, not someone who contradicts himself every 5 minutes.

Now, PTI social media sharing photos of how the queues for petrol were longer during Nawaz’s tenure. But, Imran was supposed to bring change as he was unlike the two chors!

Just like JT was taken to court for his role in the sugar crisis

I am not sure if you are confused or just desperate. The cases are in going and for the 1st time in PK history the mafia are looking desperate. So you want quick action but you don't want to face the fact that the Judiciary is corrupt. His govt has not only released the report, it's shown what it will do.

Now, PTI social media sharing photos of how the queues for petrol were longer during Nawaz’s tenure. But, Imran was supposed to bring change as he was unlike the two chors!

Don't call them chors or [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] gets offended. He supports all of them

IHC is being instructed by the same people Khan is being instructed by.

So let me understand you, you asked me to explain the court cases against JT and as the process starts with not just him all the others for tax evasion, money laundering etc, the IHC suspends the commission. And then you blame IK for not taking action. And apparently IK and the Sugar mafia are all on the side, along with the establishment and the courts. And that makes alot of sense.
And on the other hand your [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] IHC and LHC courts independent of the establishment. You guys are so cobfused

No they don't.

Thugs/cartels are criminals on a massive organized scale.

Thugs/cartels in every country have strong connections to their Establishment. They provide the Establishment with income/bribes and the Establishment provides them protection against legal action.

As they are on a massive scale, they cannot fly under the radar like petty criminals, so they need protection.

Lmao :)))

The other day you were insisting 6 years is not enough to judge Modi as he has to undo 60+ years of Congress misrule but for Imran Khan 2 years is enough :)))

Lol the hyposcirsy in hilarious! Do you guys ever think before posting such stuff.
[MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION]

The other day you were insisting 6 years is not enough to judge Modi as he has to undo 60+ years of Congress misrule but for Imran Khan 2 years is enough :)))

Lol the hyposcirsy in hilarious! Do you guys ever think before posting such stuff.

[MENTION=137142]JaDed[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=147527]MP2011[/MENTION]

Modi has the Judiciary with him, he has the mob with him, he has a huge majority, he has the media with him and the business and 6 years isn't enough. IK has none of those with him and has to be judged after 2 years.

Yeh toh lol ho gaya. :inti

Modi has the Judiciary with him, he has the mob with him, he has a huge majority, he has the media with him and the business and 6 years isn't enough. IK has none of those with him and has to be judged after 2 years.

Modi also has Ambani and other billionaires with him, still his performance has been below average. He is a master of jumlebaazi and turning innocent people into violent bhakhts. :inti

Great shout. Dr Manmohan Singh makes Modi look a midget in economic development, and Modis radicalisation of Indians will outlive him.

You seem to be keeping better track of my posts than I do. Please provide a reference for what I may have posted about Modi.

You don't need 6 years to judge IK. Pakistan needs to make itself more attractive to foreign investment for its economy to get better. For that it needs to curb the jihadis and get the military/government out of economy. You don't need 6 years to see progress in these areas.

Comparisons with India are facile, the issues in India are reform of labor laws, land ownership, more speedy resolution of disputes by the judicial system etc.

You seem to be keeping better track of my posts than I do. Please provide a reference for what I may have posted about Modi.

You don't need 6 years to judge IK. Pakistan needs to make itself more attractive to foreign investment for its economy to get better. For that it needs to curb the jihadis and get the military/government out of economy. You don't need 6 years to see progress in these areas.

Comparisons with India are facile, the issues in India are reform of labor laws, land ownership, more speedy resolution of disputes by the judicial system etc.

FDI increased 127% in first 10 months of the fiscal year. :shh :shh

https://profit.pakistantoday.com.pk/2020/05/26/fdi-surges-127pc-to-2-28bn-in-10-months/

While all FDI has some positive benefits, some particular forms turbo charge the economy. If Accenture sets up a development center, that is FDI that will produce a ton of well paying jobs and large foreign exchange earnings in future years. If China builds a power plant it will ease the power situation, but will require large payments back to China in future years.

The article you cited didn't give a breakdown of the nature of FDI. If it is the better kind of FDI, that is great for Pakistan.

Also when you start from a small base, it is better to look at the dollar amounts rather than growth rates.

While all FDI has some positive benefits, some particular forms turbo charge the economy. If Accenture sets up a development center, that is FDI that will produce a ton of well paying jobs and large foreign exchange earnings in future years. If China builds a power plant it will ease the power situation, but will require large payments back to China in future years.

The article you cited didn't give a breakdown of the nature of FDI. If it is the better kind of FDI, that is great for Pakistan.

Also when you start from a small base, it is better to look at the dollar amounts rather than growth rates.

Don't move goal posts now that you have been shown your place. If Accenture opens a development center it would be max 10-20 million in investment would create about 500 jobs, Accenture would also repatriate profits which would balance out (and essentially be negative inflows) in the annual inflow in terms of salaries and other ongoing costs. Meanwhile a plant typically would need 100-500 million in investment or more and create thousands of skilled and semi skilled jobs during construction and operation. In any case the investment is not just from China but from other countries as well and it is not just in power anyway. You are just clutching at straws now that you have been caught with your pants down. Your lame logic would have worked with someone non-technical like yourself LOL.

No reply till I see something intelligent. Seems unlikely.

Don't move goal posts now that you have been shown your place. <b>If Accenture opens a development center it would be max 10-20 million in investment would create about 500 jobs, Accenture would also repatriate profits which would balance out (and essentially be negative inflows) in the annual inflow in terms of salaries and other ongoing costs.</b> Meanwhile a plant typically would need 100-500 million in investment or more and create thousands of skilled and semi skilled jobs during construction and operation. In any case the investment is not just from China but from other countries as well and it is not just in power anyway. You are just clutching at straws now that you have been caught with your pants down. Your lame logic would have worked with someone non-technical like yourself LOL.

When Accenture finds an attractive country, it doesn't stop at 500 employees, try 170,000 instead.

https://www.thehindu.com/business/I...dcount-landmark-of-5-lakh/article30361828.ece

It produces services for its clients worldwide, so the salaries paid are largely foreign exchange inflows. That is how India has got to IT exports of $130 a year and forex reserves of $500 billion.

No reply till I see something intelligent. Seems unlikely.

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery as they say :))

When Accenture finds an attractive country, it doesn't stop at 500 employees, try 170,000 instead.

https://www.thehindu.com/business/I...dcount-landmark-of-5-lakh/article30361828.ece

It produces services for its clients worldwide, so the salaries paid are largely foreign exchange inflows. That is how India has got to IT exports of $130 a year and forex reserves of $500 billion.

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery as they say :))

Well somebody's gotta pay all those call center agents. Congratulations on the $130b in exports, hope it is helping the 500million who cannot put food on the table. Anyways you have successfully derailed yet another thread through your Hindutva chest thumping. Go worship your chaiwala on your own forums.

Coming back to the topic of the thread. Listening to the news, petrol shortage seems to have been resolved after timely action and fines against the companies.

This comment clearly shows the disconnect you have with what is actually happening in Pakistan.

Timely action. I can’t help but laugh at the stupidity

“Timely action” :91:

Overseas PTI supporters are a special case.

“Timely action” :91:

Overseas PTI supporters are a special case.

This "elite" will never know problems faced by common people. Look at his lies and even today I couldn't get petrol without having to stand in a long queue. It's shameful to make situation look good when it's not.

The elite is a mafia, look at Sugar, Petrol, Cement, media and anything you care to name. Look at your friends in the Nooras and PPP that run these industries and ask them. IK didnt create this system, your crooks did.

You are not amongst the 'common man'

Don't falsely accuse me of lying... You are the one who is lying, you yourself said that you filled up just a day ago and now you need petrol again? Did you drive up down the M2 all day that you need to fill up everyday???

This comment clearly shows the disconnect you have with what is actually happening in Pakistan.

Timely action. I can’t help but laugh at the stupidity
Then you must laughing at yourself everyday for your stupidity of supporting the Nooras.

You are not amongst the 'common man'

Don't falsely accuse me of lying... You are the one who is lying, you yourself said that you filled up just a day ago and now you need petrol again? Did you drive up down the M2 all day that you need to fill up everyday???

If you cared to read you would read properly. I said the petrol was only available on PSO petrol pumps and despite 2 hours of wait in queue I didn't get more than 50 Rs. of petrol because that was the limit.

The elite is a mafia, look at Sugar, Petrol, Cement, media and anything you care to name. Look at your friends in the Nooras and PPP that run these industries and ask them. IK didnt create this system, your crooks did.

What about your friends in the PTI. does the name of Jahangir Tareen ring a bell? The man who financially supported IK throughout his election campaign. How does it feel his name to be part of sugar mafia? and does his statement about buying electables to win the elections give you any shame as a PTI supporter?

And isnt he the guy the Nooras are now trying to be friends with. Isnt he the guy that IHC- a front of the mafia gave a stay order to yesterday. IK has dealt with him like a leader does, when he is perceived to have broken the law, he held an enquiry and proposed sanctions. As far as electables are concerned, you have a choice to make, either go with electables and get elected or stay with good people and stay as a pressure group and do nothing. IK got the strategy right. Your point would have been valid if he bowed to the mafia when in power, that would have shown badniyaati, and a desire for personal gain. He has laid down the gauntlet to the mafia, something your badniyaati support for crooks will never allow you to understand.

Curious case of (high) petrol consumption

The story on petrol shortage is known to us all. If not, read “Petrol Saga: Who to blame”. The problem now is that the regulated product supply is jacked up to all time high in June (so far) but there is still a shortage up north. The life is nowhere close to normalcy and most of the readers are consuming less than their respective normal use of petrol. But on paper the consumption is too high. There is something fishy.

The daily average demand of petrol was around 20,000 tons/day in Jul19-May20. And in the first 12 days of June, the demand increased to 26,700 tons/day. On prorated bases, June sale is estimated at 800,000 tons. The consumption was 439,000 tons in April and that was increased to 663,000 tons in May. In June 2019, the petrol sales were around 614,000 tons. What is happening in this June!

Since the petrol price in Pakistan today is at steep discount to international prices, there is shift of all kind of demand towards formal petrol supply system. One reason for the staggering growth in demand could be the ease in lockdown – but that had already happened in May 2020 as demand was too low in April. Then there is shift of CNG consumers to petrol as the latter is cheaper than CNG today. But these are not enough reasons to explain the huge uptick in demand.

The other reasons are shady. There is a norm of unknown quantity of smuggled petrol supply from Iran. The regulated price of petrol in Pakistan is probably even lower than Iranian smuggled petrol. Hence, there is no incentive to smuggle. The demand is shifted to the regulated sector. Then there are numerous illegal (or abandoned) petrol pumps in Punjab where the petrol storage is intact. They probably have bought petrol from legal sellers to fill up storage. Not to mention that OMCs could have their own secret storages.

Why everyone is storing? The reason is simple. There will be significant increase in petrol prices in July (based on the formula) and the hoarders will make a windfall. The petrol is being sold at discount by PSO, refineries and others. These are making huge losses and consumer is not getting the sought demand. Everyone is at a loss, but hoarders are milking.

What a sorry state of affairs. The energy ministry, OGRA and ECC all have to take blame. OMC should not be spared either. But OMCs have a point here. They are being scrutinized by media and regulator for not keeping 21 days’ stock. What consumption level should they keep in mind for maintaining stock. In April, the consumption was half of that in June. Based on that, the stocks in June would be of 10-12 days of effective consumption. But they should keep stocks based on average daily consumption of last 12 months.

The other problem is that the price difference is too high, and the government had made some decisions which have consequences. Such as banning of petrol imports in March/April and fixing of June price based on effective April import price. In April, the petrol was at its lowest and the ex-refinery price in June is based on that. Today, local refineries are making Rs17/liter loss on petrol. In June alone, the loss is estimated at Rs18 billion from OMCs and refineries.

PSO, PARCO (government owned companies) and refineries are making huge losses (by importing at higher rate and selling at a discount); and the hoarders will make quick bucks by selling the petrol next month (once the prices are revised up). What a mess, one musty say!
https://www.brecorder.com/news/1004787/curious-case-of-high-petrol-consumption

I haven't read all the posts, but the World has no clue of where to stock all the over-production of oil and Pakistan have petrol shortage? The crude oil was down to 15 USD some weeks back so why not buy like crazy then?

still faced same situation as I have been going through for last 3 weeks. This is pathetic. It looks like Imran Khan and his govt. is clueless. This is not easy to stand in a queue for hours in this heat. Pathetic display of governance. Anywhere else in the world minister would ne forced to resign after such incompetence but in Pakistan we have these people have no shame.

Last three weeks :)))

Bhai how can I make it clearer to you? You deserve it all for supporting corruption. Long may it continue inshallah

I haven't read all the posts, but the World has no clue of where to stock all the over-production of oil and Pakistan have petrol shortage? The crude oil was down to 15 USD some weeks back so why not buy like crazy then?
because our great govt. wrote letter to petrol companies not to buy petrol. When it was cheap our govt. stopped them from buying. This is either incompetence or corruption of highest degree.

Last three weeks :)))

Bhai how can I make it clearer to you? You deserve it all for supporting corruption. Long may it continue inshallah

I really wish I did not support this fake nonsense tabdeeli tehreek. Also I really wish people living in foreign countries who support this nonsense were forced to live under this incompetent govt.

so oil is at the cheapest - and we have a shortage?

The shortage was artificially created for three-five days by oil marketing companies. This happened because the government had significantly reduced the oil prices as compared to regional countries and oil is also going up in the world markets. So the oil marketing companies thought if they reduced supply then they would make more money by purchasing oil at lower rate and selling it at higher. They were fined for their actions and situation is significantly better now.

Don't believe the supporters of corrupt toola who are now claiming they haven't gotten oil for three weeks. Seems as if they must be using donkey carts if they didn't get oil for three weeks.

Govt has no control on businesses it seems. The supply is being reduced on purpose. THis is hre god govts put fines or take away licenses, but as usual the pakistani govt is weak.

Only PSO is selling petrol at market rate, but you can only get petrol for 1500, not more than that at some PSO petrol pumps.