[PICTURE] Shahrukh Khan makes dua at Lata Mangeshkar’s funeral

1012371-shah-rukh-khan-lata-mangeshkar.png

Picture seems to have gone viral and I have read some suggestions that SRK is getting hate for this.

True? if so justified or not?

A photo of Shah Rukh Khan saying a dua and of Pooja Dadlani with hands joined in 'pranaam' went viral

New Delhi: As the nation gave an emotional farewell to legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar, visuals of actor Shah Rukh Khan saying a dua at the cremation ground won hearts on social media, and also triggered a controversy.

Visuals from the cremation ceremony at Shivaji Park in Mumbai show Mr Khan and his manager Pooja Dadlani paying their last respects to the singer. A photograph of Mr Khan with his hands raised in dua and of Ms Dadlani with her hands joined in a pranaam went viral on social media, with most people appreciating how the frame beautifully captured India's diversity.

From politicians to authors to student leaders, people from diverse spheres appreciated the warm gesture by the superstar.

A tweet by a Haryana BJP leader, however, stoked up a controversy.

Arun Yadav, whose Twitter handle says he is the state in-charge of Haryana BJP's IT cell, shared a short clip that shows Mr Khan saying the dua, removing his mask and blowing air.

"Did he spit?" Mr Yadav asked in a Twitter post, setting off a targeted social media attack against the actor, with many accusing Mr Khan of disrespecting the legendary singer at her funeral.

The BJP leader faced a major backlash on social media as people started pointing out that the blowing of air after a dua is to "ward off evil spirits" and accused him of of triggering a controversy out of a beautiful moment.

Congress leader Supriya Shrinate was among those who hit out at Arun Yadav, accusing him of spreading hatred.

Chandra Kumar Bose, a sidelined BJP leader and grandnephew of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose, tweeted that this is India's culture that "bigots cannot digest".

Following the blowback, the BJP leader today tweeted that he had "just asked a question" and that "opponents did not appreciate his work in national interest".

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/srk...ta-mangeshkar-makes-twitter-emotional-2753304

1012371-shah-rukh-khan-lata-mangeshkar.png

Picture seems to have gone viral and I have read some suggestions that SRK is getting hate for this.

True? if so justified or not?

It happened because he removed his mask and did something. I don't know what was it.

Some claimed on twitter that he spit there.

SRK_Lata_Mangeshkar_funeral.png

Any hate towards SRK is uncalled for. That picture of SRK and her lady manager offering prayers in their own religion standing next to each other is the real Indian secularism.

But as always, hate works from both sides in social media. Lets not paint this as yet another attack on SRK only bcoz he is muslim and the other side was innocent. I have seen posts where late Lata Mangeshkar is called Sanghi bigot and islamophobe. Just like how hate was directed to general Vipin Rawat or journalist Rohit Sardana when they died.

Mindset of the people is the problem in today's world and its same across all religion groups.

Lots of vitriol is being spread by hardliners against Sharukh. Some of the comments are genuinley disturbing.

This guy contributed a lot to his nation but is still mocked and hated for showing his grief in terms of his religion.

What a backwards mentality some people sadly have!

Lots of vitriol is being spread by hardliners against Sharukh. Some of the comments are genuinley disturbing.

This guy contributed a lot to his nation but is still mocked and hated for showing his grief in terms of his religion.

What a backwards mentality some people sadly have!

Like?

Also, the same nation made him the superstar he is today.

Bizarre and ridiculous: No, Shah Rukh Khan did not 'spit' on Lata Mangeshkar's body

On Sunday, public figures from all walks of life, alongside Lata Mangeshkar's family and friends, gathered at Mumbai's Shivaji Park to pay respect to the legendary singer, whose final rites were performed there. The Nightingale of India was laid to rest with full state honours.

From Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi to cricketer Sachin Tendulkar to B-town celebrities including Shah Rukh Khan, Ranbir Kapoor, among several others, attended the cremation ceremony.

However, what caught the attention of most was Khan, offering a dua ahead of Mangeshkar's body and then blowing on it. While SRK fans touched by the act, hailed the moment as ‘a picture of secular India’, the gesture blew out of proportion on social media after trolls alleged Khan had spit on the late legend's mortal remains. Several known figures also condemned the 'deplorable' act.

State In-Charge of BJP for Haryana Arun Yadav asked, “Has it spit?” He re-tweeted ‘political observer’ Rishi Bagree’s tweet, which states, “Seems like Lata jee’s funeral has become SRK’s rehabilitation PR.” A user also commented on it saying, “Exactly my thoughts. Frankly it won’t be preposterous to think that it was done after much planning! He could have 'phoonk' in his mask too. It would have reached the destination filtered!” Writer and former-interim Director officer Central Bureau of Investigation, Mannem Nageswara Rao tweeted: “Did you, SRK, spit at the funeral of #LataMangeshkar jee? Being a public figure, you are required to give public clarification immediately.”

But while those unaware of the common practice continued to spew venom, others rejected the claim, asserting that vested elements had tried to give a ‘poisonous’ twist to the homage Khan paid.

Sharing Yadav’s tweet, founding editor of The Wire, Siddharth Varadarajan wrote, “This atrocious tweet is from a BJP office bearer. Let there be no doubt about which bunch of people is spreading filth and poison in society. If Arun Yadav is ignorant about a dua, he could have always asked someone before claiming SRK spat. Kuch bhi.” Activist Aishe Ghosh maintained, “No hate can conquer this.” Journalist Vidya Krishnan tweeted, “Shah Rukh Khan is a national treasure. That cockroach from BJP who put out that hateful lie yesterday will disappear. So will his party and its troll farms. SRK's work will outlast them all.” Filmmaker Ashok Pandit assured, “Fringe targetting SRK by falsely accusing him of spitting at Lata Mangeshkar jee’s funeral should be ashamed of themselves. He prayed and blew on her mortal remains for protection and blessings in her onward journey. Such communal filth has no place in a country like ours.”

The picture sent a positive message otherwise. “I just have one heart, how many times will you steal it?” asked a fan. “He decided to go there and pay her a tribute instead of posting anything on social media, King for a reason,” wrote another. “Shah Rukh is a true gentleman, he always pays tributes in person instead of posting,” commented another.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/234234...kh-khan-did-not-spit-on-lata-mangeshkars-body

Isnt that phoonkna? Not spitting. What utter nonsense is this against SRK.

Agree...some people are really stupid. Social media has made it easier for them to target and turn anything into an issue. SRK did nothing wrong here.

Non Issue for me. Some idiots will go overboard but the vast majority of public have been appreciative of his devotion and rightly so.

Great picture that with his manager alongside him

To be honest, it’s a little unusual. May be it happens mostly among Indian Muslims or may be I am not aware of it, but I have never seen someone blowing air (phoonkna) on a dead body.

Mourners raise hand in Dua, offer their prayers and end with an Amen in Muslim funerals.

Phoonkna ritual is done on alive people.

Any hate towards SRK is uncalled for. That picture of SRK and her lady manager offering prayers in their own religion standing next to each other is the real Indian secularism.

But as always, hate works from both sides in social media. Lets not paint this as yet another attack on SRK only bcoz he is muslim and the other side was innocent. I have seen posts where late Lata Mangeshkar is called Sanghi bigot and islamophobe. Just like how hate was directed to general Vipin Rawat or journalist Rohit Sardana when they died.

Mindset of the people is the problem in today's world and its same across all religion groups.

well nothing against him. as hes dead now. but he said that in one of his report that " ab Pakistan maray ga corona ki mout " .

To be honest, it’s a little unusual. May be it happens mostly among Indian Muslims or may be I am not aware of it, but I have never seen someone blowing air (phoonkna) on a dead body.

Mourners raise hand in Dua, offer their prayers and end with an Amen in Muslim funerals.

Phoonkna ritual is done on alive people.

looks like he really doesnt know much about his religion.

Thank you Mr. Jinnah, we can never thank you enough.

The more the likes of SRK and other Muslims kowtow to the intolerant mainstream( that Ind has be come) the more they get riled. Why do it?

Not really this time, the bJP MLA itself got defensive because he was called out as said in articles above.

[MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] hasn’t seen an islamophobic incident which he didn’t make excuses for or make false equivalences with

To be honest what is this rubbish of SRK spitting on the ground after making duaa? For the life of me i have never seen any Muslim do this before so it is probably another Indian Muslim thing.

With SRK's paternal side of the family originating from Peshawar he will always be hated by Hindu hardliners. That he refuses to speak poorly about Pak infuriates them even more.

SRK has achieved more in his lifetime and then some than all these **** bigots hating on him put together.

To be honest what is this rubbish of SRK spitting on the ground after making duaa? For the life of me i have never seen any Muslim do this before so it is probably another Indian Muslim thing.

With SRK's paternal side of the family originating from Peshawar he will always be hated by Hindu hardliners. That he refuses to speak poorly about Pak infuriates them even more.

A class above than that grovelling leech Saif Ali Khan even though half his family is in Pak.

He is not spitting. It’s just ‘phoonk’ which people do after some prayer though very uncommon on dead bodies.

Interesting to see that the RSS goons didn't hate the many Hindu actors who were born in what is now Pakistan. Dev Anand, Raj Kapoor, Raaj Kumar, Vinod Khanna and Sunil Dutt etc were all okay it seemed. These actors never had to prove their love for India.

The guy has done nothing wrong.

He has offered prayers in the best way he could and there is nothing wrong in that.

Haters will always find a reason to spout rubbish.

Its ridiculous and sad how some people can put a negative light on such a solemn act

They should be ashamed

The report in OP states that there was one tweet, a snide remark which was heavily criticized later on (and followed by apology from the author).
There's no such BIG CONTROVERSY or ATTACK against SRK.

People should read the news first.

yeah its called phoonkna , basically a physical gesture of sending blessing to the other person , lot of old people do this when they visit graves of their loved ones.

Actor Shah Rukh Khan’s offering of dua at veteran singer Lata Mangeshkar’s funeral led to much discussion online. The actor said a prayer, took off his mask and blew into the wind as per an Islamic ritual. Netizens found the moment solemn and a powerful depiction of India’s secular roots in one photo, but a few saw reason for complaint.

The state in-charge of BJP’s Haryana unit, Arun Yadav shared the video saying, “Kya isne thuka hai (Did he spit)?” Another BJP leader, the party’s Uttar Pradesh spokesperson Prashant Umrao, made the same allegation. These comments led social media to erupt in fury. A few chose to explain the ritual, saying that the blowing into the wind was a way to ward off evil. “Unreal that ppl actually think one of the most prominent figures in India spat on the mortal remains of a Bharat Ratna in full media glare,” one tweeted.

Later, actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar also backed up Shah Rukh Khan by tweeting in Hindi, “This is not spitting. This is called offering up a prayer and blowing into the wind. This practice, this culture represents India too. You have put up a photo of the Prime Minister, if only you could have learned something from him. Listen to this one song by India’s great daughter where she speaks of providing good sense to everyone, and how each human being is god’s child.

Actor Khushbu also shared a photo of SRK and his manager Pooja Dadlani offering prayers to the late Lata Mangeshkar. She tweeted, “Mera desh!! Mera Bharat! Meri Shaan! Meri jaan!”

Visuals from the last rites showed Shah Rukh Khan and his manager Pooja Dadlani paying their last respects to the singer. While the actor had his hands raised in dua, his manager had her hands folded. The photo went viral on social media, with most people appreciating how the frame captured India’s diversity.

Lata Mangeshkar passed away on Sunday (February 6), and was laid to rest with full state honours. Several celebrities, including Sachin Tendulkar, Ranbir Kapoor, Aamir Khan and Vidya Balan, attended, to pay homage. PM Narendra Modi also reached Mumbai to pay homage to the veteran singer.

Lata, 92, died of a multi-organ failure. Called the Nightingale of India, the legendary singer sang over 30,000 songs in her long and storied career.

https://indianexpress.com/article/e...khan-spat-lata-mangeshkar-last-rites-7760647/

The report in OP states that there was one tweet, a snide remark which was heavily criticized later on (and followed by apology from the author).
There's no such BIG CONTROVERSY or ATTACK against SRK.

People should read the news first.

That is how propaganda works unfortunately. Remember how there was 1 single tweet against Kohli's daughter and how a narrative was build that Kohli's daughter is getting rape threats (as in plural) for supporting Shami?

Similarly people will see few tweets against SRK but will ignore that millions of Indians love him to the bits and consider him as national icon.

That is how propaganda works unfortunately. Remember how there was 1 single tweet against Kohli's daughter and how a narrative was build that Kohli's daughter is getting rape threats (as in plural) for supporting Shami?

Similarly people will see few tweets against SRK but will ignore that millions of Indians love him to the bits and consider him as national icon.

Why do you become so defensive?

Whether its one person saying or 10 million, if there is something that needs to be condemned, feel free to do that.

These arent one person They are bjp leaders who are spouting this nonsense Party members of the current indian govt

Have some shame and call a spade a spade for once

These arent one person They are bjp leaders who are spouting this nonsense Party members of the current indian govt

Have some shame and call a spade a spade for once

If for one tweet, there could be so much hue and cry, then I would say that intolerance is at all high right now who blames a whole community based upon one tweet from one person who later had to apologise for his comment.

If you are going to use big words like 'secualrism' then at the very least understand what the word means then learn how to use it.

The picture is an example of 'puralism' (look it up).

Securalism means the separatation of state and religion, which currently is not the case in India given the incumbent Indian government is very much influenced by the Hindutva ideology when it comes to governing.

Mindset isn't the problem, lack of education is.

Why do you become so defensive?

Whether its one person saying or 10 million, if there is something that needs to be condemned, feel free to do that.

In that case, condemnation should be done to the person who posted the tweet. Bringing a whole community is reflection of intolerance and hatred for the community where it is searching for excuse to reflect the same.

And what do you make of all those who liked that tweet?

Maybe you should start by telling us how appalled you are to learn of "some people in India" holding those point of views.

And what do you make of all those who liked that tweet?

Maybe you should start by telling us how appalled you are to learn of "some people in India" holding those point of views.

If there was greater support, why he was forced to go into apology mode?

If some of his followers does like his tweet, does that imply the whole community does and deserves the condemnation that has been going in this thread even though they stand in the same side as the people who did criticise are standing?

Just like, if there is something to condemn then condemn but one shouldn't go on condemning for sake of condemning.

Serious question, is SRK such a pious Muslim?

I have never attended a funeral outside of my religion but I have definitely attended other events like weddings and other events in Muslim and Christian households. I always followed the decorum of whatever was going on there.

Now I understand Lata Mangeshkar is a national icon and belongs to all communities but all the funeral rituals were clearly happening under Hindu rituals.

What is the need of creating a unique spectacle. Just fold your hands, offer respects and move on. There are multiple other ways you can offer solace to her soul in which ever religion you believe in.

I strongly condemn people who are trolling SRK and the ones making bigoted comments but SRK does have a habit of being over the top, attention seeking and annoying in any group events.

That’s my 2 cents.

^ I kind of correct that. I did attend a funeral of a white colleague a few years ago. However I just followed whatever everyone else was doing to offer my respects. If I was started chanting mantras etc people would make weird assumptions.

Interesting point. I look forward to the images of Hindus doing duas and praying namaze janaza when a famous Indian Muslim passes.

If there was greater support, why he was forced to go into apology mode?

If some of his followers does like his tweet, does that imply the whole community does and deserves the condemnation that has been going in this thread even though they stand in the same side as the people who did criticise are standing?

Just like, if there is something to condemn then condemn but one shouldn't go on condemning for sake of condemning.

You really cant get yourself to condemn these people can you?

Interesting point. I look forward to the images of Hindus doing duas and praying namaze janaza when a famous Indian Muslim passes.

You are comparing SRK with the common Hindus and Muslims on the street?

It’s not the same thing. They do not know any other way.

SRK is not even a pious Muslim by all accounts from what we here but suddenly there is a camera and a big event (even though tragic) and he put himself in that situation by trying to stick out. When you seek attention you are bound to get both types. That’s my take.

As I said condemn the bigotry. However SRK is no saint himself.

You are comparing SRK with the common Hindus and Muslims on the street?

It’s not the same thing. They do not know any other way.

SRK is not even a pious Muslim by all accounts from what we here but suddenly there is a camera and a big event (even though tragic) and he put himself in that situation by trying to stick out. When you seek attention you are bound to get both types. That’s my take.

As I said condemn the bigotry. However SRK is no saint himself.

Ok. So now its only for famous people ,even though you gave the example of yourself for how to perform in a dignified way :))

But lets move on, how did Modi pay his respect to Kalam? Did he follow conventional Muslim methods or use a style more common to Hindus?

And more importantly will you stick by your stance and condemn it?

Ok. So now its only for famous people ,even though you gave the example of yourself for how to perform in a dignified way :))

But lets move on, how did Modi pay his respect to Kalam? Did he follow conventional Muslim methods or use a style more common to Hindus?

And more importantly will you stick by your stance and condemn it?

As long as modi’s gestures were subtle and didn’t create a spectacle, I don’t care. If he went over the top and created illusions like he was spitting (which I don’t think SRK did to be clear) or doing something totally against Muslim culture sure why not.

Also glad you drag a Modi equivalence even with someone totally unrelated like SRK :))

If Modi did something offensive please feel free to start a thread I will offer my opinion.

I have never attended a funeral outside of my religion but I have definitely attended other events like weddings and other events in Muslim and Christian households. I always followed the decorum of whatever was going on there.

Now I understand Lata Mangeshkar is a national icon and belongs to all communities but all the funeral rituals were clearly happening under Hindu rituals.

What is the need of creating a unique spectacle. Just fold your hands, offer respects and move on. There are multiple other ways you can offer solace to her soul in which ever religion you believe in.

I strongly condemn people who are trolling SRK and the ones making bigoted comments but SRK does have a habit of being over the top, attention seeking and annoying in any group events.

That’s my 2 cents.

I have never seen so many contradiction in any post -lol

You just can't condemn other for being bigot just as you can't condemn Hindu extremist without putting down Muslims and you can't condemn Modi without putting down IK, or can't condemn India without putting down Pakistan.

Let that Hijab issue settle, collect your thoughts, then come back. lol

My stance is consistent in this matter. I dont find what SRK did wrong so I wouldn't be offended by someone else sticking to their own religious belief.

You have called him an attention seeker and said he shouldn't have tried to stand out. In fact you gave your example as someone who doesn't stand out.

I only brought Modi up because I remember how he acted (with dignity imo) at Kalams funeral.

Now are you going to call him Modi an attention seeker for doing 'Pranaam' same way SRK did dua?

SRK did dua?

Just to be clear It’s not the dua that bothered me even though it did stick out. Its the phhonkna or whatever that custom was called. Even if he meant well, it was unnecessary.

My opinion here has nothing to with religion.

That’s my 2 cents.

I thought Hinduism is open to different views/practices. Hindus visit Ajmer Sharif, covering their heads praying to the Sufis etc.

This chap is a Bollywood actor, married to a Hindu woman who has idols in the house. He can call himself a Muslim, which is his right. But according to the majority of Islamic scholars, you cannot pray for someone who used to worship idols. He may believe you can.

They are mere entertainers, a singer and actor, hardly the worlds most important people. Just more Hindutva attacks on anything looking Islamic.

Just to be clear It’s not the dua that bothered me even though it did stick out. Its the phhonkna or whatever that custom was called. Even if he meant well, it was unnecessary.

You are slipping and sliding.

You first said that people should behave in a way that is the customs of the deceased, using yourself as an example.

Then you excluded the common man from your mandate.

You also said SRK should "fold his hands" and move on. The "Funeral was happening under Hindu Rituals" etc etc. All your words mate

Now you are saying no problems with "dua" but with blowing.

This type of moving the goalposts happens when a person is ultra scared of expressing their true opinion.

Just man up, we know you dislike Muslims, its an anonymous board you can admit it.

That’s my 2 cents.

Was Lata a pious Hindu given the role of a woman that is expected in Hinduism?

You are slipping and sliding.

You first said that people should behave in a way that is the customs of the deceased, using yourself as an example.

Then you excluded the common man from your mandate.

You also said SRK should "fold his hands" and move on. The "Funeral was happening under Hindu Rituals" etc etc. All your words mate

Now you are saying no problems with "dua" but with blowing.

This type of moving the goalposts happens when a person is ultra scared of expressing their true opinion.

Just man up, we know you dislike Muslims, its an anonymous board you can admit it.

Brother a person is Muslim or not is judged from Quran and Hadeeth , those are the criteria .

Does under the light of Quran and hadeeth, the life of Shah Ruk looks like a muslim person ?

The answer is NO.

The quran says to the prophet NOT to make dua for disbelievers , is Shah Ruk got some revelations from God that he can do that ?

Brother a person is Muslim or not is judged from Quran and Hadeeth , those are the criteria .

Does under the light of Quran and hadeeth, the life of Shah Ruk looks like a muslim person ?

The answer is NO.

The quran says to the prophet NOT to make dua for disbelievers , is Shah Ruk got some revelations from God that he can do that ?

Brother - The Hindus hardliners are not complaining about an issue from a fiqh perspective.

They are outlining their hatred for Islam. That is the root cause here.

It was a positive gesture from the goodness of his heart.

well nothing against him. as hes dead now. but he said that in one of his report that " ab Pakistan maray ga corona ki mout " .

looks like he really doesnt know much about his religion.

So [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] any comment about "ab Pakistan maray ga corona ki mout " . ?

If he said that then i am glad that he is gone oh the irony he is dead because off Covid as they say karma is a ....

So [MENTION=152021]Rajdeep[/MENTION] any comment about "ab Pakistan maray ga corona ki mout " . ?

If he said that then i am glad that he is gone oh the irony he is dead because off Covid as they say karma is a ....

So just because someone said something stupid and unacceptable we should celebrate that he got his comeuppance via death leaving behind young kids, widowed wife and old parents?

I am assuming you are not very religious like a lot of people here.

In islamic tradition, we tend to recite few verses of quran and than blow it upon a person as a way that what was read was intended for the person particular.

For example, if someone has a fever, our elders would than recite some ayats and after that do a phook on that person as its believed the power of those words would go towards that person.

People who do this alot are condition to do it. You said in your other posts that SRK was doing this for showmanship when infact he was not.

It seems you and many others who are hating SRK and claiming he spitted, have no idea about Islamic or Muslim traditions and thus sprawling hate

So just because someone said something stupid and unacceptable we should celebrate that he got his comeuppance via death leaving behind young kids, widowed wife and old parents?

I am assuming you are not very religious like a lot of people here.

So he can wish dead to my country where whole family lives and i can nothing you are kidding right and please i dont need lecture from Modi supporters who dont live in India.

Please dont assume things about me if you dont know me.

Think about it, you are worried about mere blow of air (Phoonkana), but even if it was spitting (Thookna) as doubted by Arun Yadav, then what's the biggie? It would've been evaporated during the cremation process.

The answer is NO.

The Quran says not to make Dua for disbelievers?

That's a bit cruel from a non muslim point of view.

What is the standing of other abrahamic religions here?

Those who are accusing him of spitting, any evidence, any pictures?

The fact that indian people are not aware of islamic traditions even after living in a country that has a sizeable muslim populations, it shows how bad things are.

Yes the country claims to be secular under its constitution, but India does not celebrate its religious diversity. The people of different religions arnt even integrated.. it surprises me that india posters everday ask us question about hijab and other common things.

You look at Canada, and they actually celebrates its diversity.

You can be secular all you want, but difference comes in when you celebrate the diversity or claim it as an issue.

It's really sad that an act of shah rukh lead to hindu backlash on social media and even posters here are questioning this instead of looking at the dangerous curve the country is headed to.

Like?

Also, the same nation made him the superstar he is today.

All these stars are doing business , they are not doing any charity, the maximum that can be said is that they pay taxes , like other individuals and bussiness corporations.

Yes , they do , they even celebrate Christmas and iftar parties and Eid parties. That is because they have become atheists or agnostic in upbringing. Very few people study hindu scriptures , and even fewer understand that.

On top of that educated Hindus have started saying that Hindusim does not restrict you on anything , in all there is a complete lack of jurisprudence.

You cannot compare that to well defined with chain of narrations scriptures in Islam. Islam has well defined way of life , it is not ambiguous.

Brother - The Hindus hardliners are not complaining about an issue from a fiqh perspective.

They are outlining their hatred for Islam. That is the root cause here.

I agree to the point that shahruk did not spit , this is absurd , why would he do something like that that too when so many cameras on him.

But overall Muslims should understand that this person is NOT a Muslim.

The Quran says not to make Dua for disbelievers?

That's a bit cruel from a non muslim point of view.

What is the standing of other abrahamic religions here?

Islam does not say that you should not respect a non-muslim, or even when the dead body passes you. Even the prophet stood up for a jew dead body. As Humans we all are equal , but not identical.

For example, a constable when sees a commissionaire police salute him it is not vice versa. Even though both are equal as a human.

Since a person has died as a disbeliever, the Quran is very clear about that person. A person who dies in disbelief even when the true message of Islam reached him/her would be in hellfire. Quran stopped prophet from praying the disbelievers

Islam does not say that you should not respect a non-muslim, or even when the dead body passes you. Even the prophet stood up for a jew dead body. As Humans we all are equal , but not identical.

For example, a constable when sees a commissionaire police salute him it is not vice versa. Even though both are equal as a human.

Since a person has died as a disbeliever, the Quran is very clear about that person. A person who dies in disbelief even when the true message of Islam reached him/her would be in hellfire. Quran stopped prophet from praying the disbelievers

That's bit weird example.

If someone obeys Islam, he or she becomes higher in hierarchy (in what context that is vague) than someone who doesn't follow.

That's bit weird example.

If someone obeys Islam, he or she becomes higher in hierarchy (in what context that is vague) than someone who doesn't follow.

First of all Islam is not forcing you to believe something, its your choice. God has sent his book and prophets as warners. For eg if I disobey God, he will not make me blind for that in this world. But in the end, he will judge me on the day of judgment.

Secondly, in a country, if we do some crimes like theft, robbery, fraud etc we are punished by law and imprisoned but if we wage a war against the country or help the enemy country, it is called treason, we would be killed.

In the kingdom of God, disbelief amounts to rebellion against the Sovereignty of God. It is not an ordinary sin.

I agree to the point that shahruk did not spit , this is absurd , why would he do something like that that too when so many cameras on him.

But overall Muslims should understand that this person is NOT a Muslim.

Which person are you talking about? If Lata, then that is pretty self evident and not contested. If SRK, then you might be on shaky ground.

I am talking about Shahrukh Khan.

I said he is NOT a Muslim, he still has a chance though, if he repents seriously.

To be honest I consider him worse than a Disbeliever. If you see any Hindu prostrate to an idol and worship like Amitabh or Sonashi or Raveena etc , they do it because they have faith ( Astha ) in the idol. They may not believe that the idol itself is God but for concentration they doing so.

But these people like shahruk or Salman do that just to show they are secular , they do not have any faith. So , in reality they are fooling both hindus and Muslims , thus they are a kind of hypocrite, worse of all.

I said he is NOT a Muslim, he still has a chance though, if he repents seriously.

To be honest I consider him worse than a Disbeliever. If you see any Hindu prostrate to an idol and worship like Amitabh or Sonashi or Raveena etc , they do it because they have faith ( Astha ) in the idol. They may not believe that the idol itself is God but for concentration they doing so.

But these people like shahruk or Salman do that just to show they are secular , they do not have any faith. So , in reality they are fooling both hindus and Muslims , thus they are a kind of hypocrite, worse of all.

But why don't you leave this to qualified scholars to decide? I mean don't you fear this hadeeth of the Prophet (pbuH):

“If a man says to his brother, ‘O disbeliever!’, then indeed it [the slanderous statement] returns upon one of the two.” [Bukhari, Muslim]

That's your opinion which is fine if somewhat arrogant. But you should make it clear that it's your opinion, and you are not authorised to make such a judgement however it may appear to you.

You are forgetting that all these Khan actors are living in India and currently under a BJP government. You can't blame them for acting secular here. :inti

That's your opinion which is fine if somewhat arrogant. But you should make it clear that it's your opinion, and you are not authorised to make such a judgement however it may appear to you.

It's not my opinion, it is what the Quran and hadeeth say. What will you call a person who is participating in the worship of idols in his own house? Is he a Muslim? Its rejects the fundamentals of Islam. Quran says once you die shirk is NOT forgiven, in The sight of Islam shirk is the worst sin, something that God has clearly mentioned He will not forgive.

But why don't you leave this to qualified scholars to decide? I mean don't you fear this hadeeth of the Prophet (pbuH):

“If a man says to his brother, ‘O disbeliever!’, then indeed it [the slanderous statement] returns upon one of the two.” [Bukhari, Muslim]

Firstly , on the hadeeth you quoted, does not mean that .

It means if I know someone is a Muslim and still out of grudge or issue with the person call him a Disbeliever.

Because if you literally take it , then Umar RA also called a badri companion as a hypocrite and wanted to kill him , but prophet stopped him and said Allah has forgiven the sins of Badr Companions ( it is famous hadeeth , if you have not heard I would give reference )

That was just a clarification so that the users can understand the meaning of hadeeth .

Now , there have already been fatwas against Shahruk Khan . I am very open person and do not call people disbelievers easily. But we as Humans have to judge apparently , and there is No other excuse we can make on shahruk khan , he is worshiping idols and allowing his family to worship them.

What else can we say ? If you have any tawil , you can throw light on that , I would consider that .

You are forgetting that all these Khan actors are living in India and currently under a BJP government. You can't blame them for acting secular here. :inti

I am not saying that he should go and speak about other religions or defame them.

But do all Muslims go and start worshiping Idols in the name of being secular? In India there are many secular and educated Hindus, do they go out in the Mosque and offer salah or fast in Ramdhan or give zakat?

As far as Shahruk Khan is concerned even his marriage is not considered legal as far as Quran is concerned, and all these years he is living with his wife, is considered as Adultery.