[PICTURES] Happy Independence Day Pakistan!

Syed1

ODI Captain
Happy 73rd Independence Day Pakistan.

This year we shall celebrate it with great fervour and never forget the sacrifices made by the great Quaid and the generation of 1947. We shall also be mindful of our Pakistani brothers under occupation in Jammu & Kashmir by a fascist regime. On this day wear your green and white with great pride and wave the chand sitara high and mighty but also say a small prayer for our brothers in J&K.

Also many thanks to the great Quaid that we don't have to call this frog face guy as our compatriot:

141_28181549970449.jpg

Usually on 14th August we would celebrate by erecting flags on the walls and roof, and also listening to patriotic songs. Heres one that I recently discovered a remake of and like it alot.

Happy Independence Day to all Pakistanis around the world.

Pakistan Zindabad!

Happy Independence Day to Pakistan! It is time to finally unleash your potential.

The pride of Pakistan, killer of the "Raptor of the East"

5b833c836f2b4.jpg

Tribute by Junaid Jamshed and SOCH Band

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/-913MB7zNoE" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

12SM_JG

Jinnah: Aray Gandhi jiggar it is formal event yeh kya pehn aya

Gandhi: Yehi hai apna style babu dekh bachiyaan kaisay down hoti hain :yk

Happy Independence Day to everyone, hope you all have a nice time with your family's and stay blessed

5b833c836f2b4.jpg

What a beauty, the fact that Pakistan were a part of this project at all phases of its design, development, testing and manufacture is a monumental achievement tbh not every country can be proud of such engineering excellence especially in asia mA

Happy Independence day 🎉 🎉!!! Pakistan!!!!!
Sabse oncha ye parcham hamara rhay!!
Qiyamat tak salamat rahay!!🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰🇵🇰

To all the shaheeds of the Pak Armed forces....

happy Independence day guys

and for all those still fighting for pak......

Happy Independence Day everyone!

Let’s all build towards a better Pakistan.

Let’s make the dream of Quid-e-Azam true.

A country full of potential which hasn’t reached the maximum height of success what it promises.

Let’s forget the past and work towards it.

Let’s become Pakistanis first instead of supporters.

Let’s support our country.

InshaAllah we will see one day where Pakistan will be an ideal country in front of the eyes of the world.

Pakistan Zindabad.

:pakflag2

Lovely 6 lane motorway between Lahore and Islamabad. Soon this motorway will span from Peshawar to Karachi. Only one piece missing (Sukkur to Hyderabad)

Wishing all Pakistanis peace and prosperity on their Independence Day.

Binging on patriotic songs as is old tradition

May Allah grant JJ highest muqaam in Jannat Ameen

Happy independence day to all the Pakistanis in the world.

I wish Pakistan all the prosperity in the world and may Pakistan fulfill its potential IA. A beautiful country that's strategically located can go a long way if it keeps away from distractions and focusses on what's important for it's people.

Happy Independence Day to all of Pakistan and to Pakistanis living overseas

May our beautiful nation prosper and we must forgot we are one nation and should love all our countrymen

Today and always we should remember

We are Muslims
We are Christians
We are Sikhs
We are Hindus
We are Kashmir
We are Lahore
We are Islamabad
We are Karachi
We are Quetta
We are Gilgit
We are Waziristan
We are Peshawar
We are Sialkot
We are lyari
We are united all cities all religions all languages all ethnic groups, all caste all people rich and poor we must remember we are and always will be Pakistani

Long live Pakistan.

Junoon Se aur ishq se milti hai azadi - Remembering the one million muslims massacred by fascist hindus and sikhs at partition

A tribute to our army jawans who are putting their lives on the line everyday to defend our country

Happy Independence Day Pakistan!

Hamesha yaad rakho that this country has given us an identity all around the world! Doesn't matter where you live.

Lovely 6 lane motorway between Lahore and Islamabad. Soon this motorway will span from Peshawar to Karachi. Only one piece missing (Sukkur to Hyderabad)

PML N could have initiated much needed Sukkur-Hyderabad motorway but instead they went for useless Lahore-Abdul Hakeem 230 km 6 lane motorway just to get more votes from central Punjab.:facepalm:

We know a lot about Leaders who looted Pakistan but do we know about people who helped Pakistan by transferring Billions in today's values from their own Bank Accounts to Pakistan's exchequer. This is the story of some of these Greats of Pakistan who helped Jinnah run this country when there was no cash to pay even salaries of Civil Servants.

Qaid was given Blank Cheque Books by three Industrialists and Jinnah wrote:

Sir Adamji Peer Bhoi Adamjee Group of Companies - *Ten Crore*

Syed Muratab Ali Shah Pakages Group Ltd - *Five Crore*

Seth Mohd Ali Habib Habib Bank Ltd - *Three Crore*

A total of *Eighteen Crore* was deposited in Govt treasury (about Eighteen Billion if not more in today’s Money).

The young generation need to know these great peope and their great contribution towards Nation building.

Remember them when you Celebrate Pakistan Day.
thanks !

We know a lot about Leaders who looted Pakistan but do we know about people who helped Pakistan by transferring Billions in today's values from their own Bank Accounts to Pakistan's exchequer. This is the story of some of these Greats of Pakistan who helped Jinnah run this country when there was no cash to pay even salaries of Civil Servants.

A total of *Eighteen Crore* was deposited in Govt treasury (about Eighteen Billion if not more in today’s Money).

The young generation need to know these great peope and their great contribution towards Nation building.

thanks !

Mash'Allah thanks for sharing, did not know this at all.

Happy independence Day Pakistan, to one and all.

thanks !
MashaAllah.

It boils my blood to see what the financial state is of Pakistan.

Politics has ruined our country.

My only wish is Pakistan gets back on track.

And inshaAllah we will.

Love this guitar rendition of the national anthem..... Pak sar zameen shaad baad

Happy Independence Day Pakistan.

Love to all the people in Kashmir occupied.

PPers who want to show solidtarity can now change their flags to Kashmiri one , as I have. :)

Alhamdulillah I am so happy and content to have a home; something that many in the world (read: Kashmiris, Palestinians, Rohingya, Uyghurs, etc.) do not have.

So far it is unfortunate that because of a few, our homeland has been unable to provide real & true freedom to the people of this nation. Sad is the fact that many of our elite are blood sucking leaches who loot and plunder and then call out their foreign masters and run to them with their tails attached to their backside when there is any sort of accountability.

However, today is a day to rejoice the wisdom of Iqbal and Muhammad Ali Jinnah. To those who opposed Pakistan, the need of this country will become more and more evident every passing day.

Happy independence day to all people who have sacrificed their everything to this country.

Happy independence day to all of those who are yet to fulfil their convenant to this country but are willing to let go of everything that they have for the betterment of us a nation.

May we have leaders who stand for the people. May we have people who can rise above petty hate and differences and realize the things that unite us.

Long live Pakistan. May Allah subhana ho wa taala give respect to this nation and protect us from all our enemies. Ameen.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">August 13, 1947, 11:59pm: Just before the clock struck midnight, Mustafa Ali Hamdani, of the Pakistan Broadcasting Corporation, made this historic radio announcement, broadcasting the birth of a new country.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanZindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanZindabad</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/14thaugust2020?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#14thaugust2020</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/14August?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#14August</a> <a href="https://t.co/jeqGSVXDfB">pic.twitter.com/jeqGSVXDfB</a></p>— US Consulate Karachi (@usconsulatekhi) <a href="https://twitter.com/usconsulatekhi/status/1293986816769642496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Happy Independence Day to Pakistan and all Pakistanis the world over.

I wish the country all peace and prosperity in the years to come.

And I have no hesitation saying this as a right-wing Hindu of Indian origin!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Karachi</a> City of lights<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndependenceDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndependenceDay</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/MFjqF0LsCp">pic.twitter.com/MFjqF0LsCp</a></p>— Annus Raza (@annusraza) <a href="https://twitter.com/annusraza/status/1293987209884901376?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Happy Independence Day Pakistaniyon!!!

:pkflag

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Minar e Pakistan Lahore on the eve of Independence Day 🇵🇰<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HappyBirthdayDearPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HappyBirthdayDearPakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/jashneAzadi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#jashneAzadi</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Pakistan</a> <a href="https://t.co/pnNaxrbMJj">pic.twitter.com/pnNaxrbMJj</a></p>— Azhar (@MashwaniAzhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/MashwaniAzhar/status/1294013496691228675?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Loving how Peshawar has turned from an undeveloped city way off in the corner of the country that hardly got any attention to one of the major power centers of Pakistan. Thank you Khan sahab.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sent by a friend from Peshawar<br><br>Qilla Balahisar<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HappyBirthdayDearPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HappyBirthdayDearPakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndependenceDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndependenceDay</a> <a href="https://t.co/ozRBYd7OpW">pic.twitter.com/ozRBYd7OpW</a></p>— Azhar (@MashwaniAzhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/MashwaniAzhar/status/1294017713896071169?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Happy Independence day to all the Pakistanis celebrating today, hopefully Pakistan can show more fight on Day 2

The creation of Pakistan changed the Muslim world forever. Now you have a nation which can never be invaded or occupied but only attacked by terrorists and finances. Anyone with any Pakistani background should be proud to be from this land, which will only become stronger and stronger now.

Happy Ind Day Pakistan.

Happy independence day pakistanio

<div class="tenor-gif-embed" data-postid="14774278" data-share-method="host" data-width="100%" data-aspect-ratio="1.7913669064748199"><a href="https://tenor.com/view/pakistan-happy-independence-day-flag-waving-gif-14774278">Pakistan Happy Independence Day GIF</a> from <a href="https://tenor.com/search/pakistan-gifs">Pakistan GIFs</a></div><script type="text/javascript" async src="https://tenor.com/embed.js"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Happy Independence Day <a href="https://t.co/GU89TS4zxt">pic.twitter.com/GU89TS4zxt</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1294168605236637696?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

Loving how Peshawar has turned from an undeveloped city way off in the corner of the country that hardly got any attention to one of the major power centers of Pakistan. Thank you Khan sahab.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sent by a friend from Peshawar<br><br>Qilla Balahisar<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HappyBirthdayDearPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HappyBirthdayDearPakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndependenceDay?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndependenceDay</a> <a href="https://t.co/ozRBYd7OpW">pic.twitter.com/ozRBYd7OpW</a></p>— Azhar (@MashwaniAzhar) <a href="https://twitter.com/MashwaniAzhar/status/1294017713896071169?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

No doubt bro, before 7 years Peshawar was known for terrorism incidents, bomb blasts e.t.c, but then PTI came into power and they changed it Alhamdulillah.

Azaadi Mubarik to all.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I congratulate our nation on its 73 yrs of Independence. Our journey towards Quaid's Pakistan has begun: for Rule of Law with all citizens equal before the law; & towards an Islamic Welfare State, premised on compassion.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1294197861874270208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I congratulate the nation on successfully tackling COVID19 by protecting our poor through cash support & smart lockdowns & by being able to reduce our overall cases.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1294197864399360000?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I congratulate the nation at upturn in our economy after 2 yrs of struggle. Current Account & Fiscal deficits are down; construction industry & thru it job creation taking off bec of our special incentives; stock market up; exports & revenues up & cement & car sales up;</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1294197869394755584?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I congratulate nation bec we are fixing the damaging structure we inherited in our Power sector. After long negotiations we have signed new agreement with IPPs which will bring down cost of power generation & reduce circular debt. Next reform target is power distribution system.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1294197872142028800?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My message to our brave Kashmiri brethren is that our nation stands united with them in their just struggle for self determination. We will provide them with all the support at all levels as they valiantly fight India's illegal occupation.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1294197875216470023?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2020</a></blockquote>

'Last 2 years were difficult, but things are improving': PM Imran Khan

Prime Minister Imran Khan, in a televised addressed to the nation on Independence Day, said that the past two years were difficult, but things were now "improving".

"We have avoided a huge crisis because we didn't default [on payments]. But I know it hasn't been easy for the people, I understand the difficulties they faced and still are facing."

However, the economy has improved, the premier said, adding that the stock market trends indicate the confidence of investors and business community in the economy. He attributed the improvement in the economy to the boom in the construction sector which led to jobs and wealth creation.

"Despite the pandemic, our tax collection in June exceeded our targets," he said, adding that exports have gone up, despite the coronavirus crisis that has wreaked havoc on global economy.

He also congratulated the nation for coming together and "fighting against the coronavirus" and said: "Hardly any other nation was able to successfully balance" between economy and the virus. He pointed out that the number of confirmed coronavirus cases had reduced and economy had started an upward journey as well.

"This does not mean we have won this battle," he cautioned and urged people to continue taking precautions, the most important and basic of which is to wear a mask while leaving the house.

The prime minister also told the nation that the government had reached an agreement with independent power producers which would lead to a reduction in the cost of electricity production, thus reducing tariffs.

He said that Pakistan's industries could not compete with other nations of the subcontinent like India and Bangladesh as the cost of production in the two countries was low due to cheap electricity. Pakistan, meanwhile, is facing a huge circular debt because the tariffs were less than the cost of generating electricity, which was high.

He also announced that a reform package will also be introduced in the coming days in order to improve the distribution network in the country by reducing line losses and curbing power theft.

The premier said that Pakistan was "a glorious dream" of an Islamic welfare state where law was supreme and everyone had equal rights regardless of their race, caste or religious beliefs. Hard work and determination was needed to realise this dream, the premier said, adding that the government was now working towards achieving the vision of the forefathers.

He also expressed solidarity with the people of Indian-occupied Kashmir and pledged that Pakistan would continue to extend diplomatic and moral support to the Kashmiris' struggle for their right to self-determination. The prime minister assured the IoK residents that Pakistan will continue to raise the Kashmir issue on all forums and will also pray for the residents of the occupied territory.

In a series of tweets posted earlier, the prime minister had felicitated the nation while discussing the same matters.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1574350/l...pm-imran-addresses-nation-on-independence-day

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Happy Pakistan Independence Day to all our friends and followers!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/IndependenceDayPakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#IndependenceDayPakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanZindabad?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PakistanZindabad</a> <a href="https://t.co/Dxrrz0tRYR">pic.twitter.com/Dxrrz0tRYR</a></p>— PakPassion.net (@PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakPassion/status/1426259724442406927?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 13, 2021</a></blockquote>

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan, in his Independence Day message Saturday, has once again reiterated Pakistan’s commitment for stability in Afghanistan and said the country had rendered immense sacrifices and paid a heavy price for instability on its Western border.

“We have consistently stressed that there is no military solution to the conflict in Afghanistan. Pakistan will continue to support a negotiated political settlement for durable peace and stability in Afghanistan,” he added.

The prime minister said, “We want peace within and peace without, to pursue our socio-economic agenda. Naya Pakistan has shifted its focus from geo-politics to geo-economics, with the well-being and welfare of our people as the topmost priority.”

‘Pakistan can stand tall’
The PM stated that with the universal recognition of the government’s policies towards the revival of the economy, handling of COVID-19 pandemic and environment protection, Pakistan today can stand tall among the comity of nations.

“Our policies towards reviving the economy, handling the pandemic, and protecting the environment have received universal acclaim,” the prime minister said.

“As we hoist our national flag to mark Independence Day, we must reiterate the firm resolve to uphold our national values of unity, faith and discipline as envisioned by Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah,” he added.

The prime minister said that Pakistan had surmounted monumental challenges during the course of its history to emerge as a united, peaceful and resilient nation.

“Even today, the changing regional dynamics along with some domestic issues continue to test our resolve. Like each time, we will also overcome these obstacles with our characteristic determination and come out stronger as a nation,” he maintained.

“Our government has undertaken every possible effort for the development and prosperity of Pakistan,” he added.

“This country is undoubtedly a gift of Allah Almighty for us. I once again felicitate all Pakistanis, both inland and overseas, on this auspicious occasion. I urge you to play your part in making Pakistan a proud, prosperous and peaceful nation-state,” the prime minister maintained.

‘Stand with Kashmiris’

The premier further said that “on this occasion, we should not forget our Kashmiri brothers and sisters in Indian Occupied Kashmir (IoK) struggling for their right to self-determination under extremely adverse circumstances marked by illegal Indian occupation and unspeakable repression.”

“Pakistan will continue to extend its full support to the Kashmiris in their just cause. Kashmiris are looking up to the international community to fulfil the promises made to them,” he added.

GEO

Great day. We won't ever appreciate how our ancestors spilt their blood like water to create a country we take for granted. No doubt the great Quaid did the right thing by insisting on Pakistan. If I was alive during the period would absolutely vote for Pakistan. At the time no one gave Pakistan a chance of even lasting two years. I truly do believe that our finest days are yet to come. :pkflag

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">My message on Independence Day especially for our youth. These three characteristics - truth, justice & valour - transform ordinary human beings into great ones. <a href="https://t.co/3mY2h2J9VV">pic.twitter.com/3mY2h2J9VV</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1426443377013309444?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2021</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">High Commission for Pakistan, New Delhi commemorated 74th anniversary of Independence of Pakistan with national zeal and fervor. Charge d’ Affaires raised Pakistan’s flag to the tune of national anthem at an elegant flag-hoisting ceremony held at the Chancery’s Lawns.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/14August?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#14August</a> <a href="https://t.co/dY6be37fmi">pic.twitter.com/dY6be37fmi</a></p>— Pakistan High Commission India (@PakinIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakinIndia/status/1426444694779621379?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2021</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Press conference &#55357;&#56834;&#55357;&#56834;<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/happyindependenceday?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#happyindependenceday</a> <a href="https://t.co/Ea6X9Vxegs">pic.twitter.com/Ea6X9Vxegs</a></p>— Shiraz Hassan (@ShirazHassan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ShirazHassan/status/1426436512946790401?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2021</a></blockquote>

Guess one way to celebrate

And this....

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Haha. Kya qaum hai yaar. Quaid e Azam le ayee. &#55357;&#56876; <a href="https://t.co/Rap6NQEoz7">pic.twitter.com/Rap6NQEoz7</a></p>— Jibran T. Siddiqui (@jibransiddiqui) <a href="https://twitter.com/jibransiddiqui/status/1426333046077370369?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 14, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Happy Independence day to all Pakistanis on this forum.

Perhaps a moment to recall the improvised and ad hoc administrative beginnings, back in 1947.

Mountbatten announced that the transfer of power would happen on 14 August and noted bluntly: “What are we doing? Administratively it is the difference between putting up a permanent building, a nissen hut or a tent. As far as Pakistan is concerned we are putting up a tent. We can do no more.”

A tent was not an inappropriate description of the fragile foundations of the Pakistani state as it commenced its life trying to build a new administrative structure from scratch, linking provincial governments to a new centre.

Philips Talbot, an American journalist who served as foreign correspondent in India, noted in 1947, that the the Pakistan government faced a serious shortage not only of senior civil servants but also of articles of everyday government: “typewriters, office desks, telephones, railway rolling stock, machine guns, trucks, airplanes, files, paper, X-ray machines.” Chaudhry Muhammad Ali , a Civil Servant at the time of Pakistan’s creation, pointed to a shortage of even pens and pins. Tongs instead of pins were used to tie papers together. Government ministers used wooden boxes as their tables. Space in Karachi was also hard to come by, leading to the construction of tin sheds as makeshift offices.

On 14 August 1947, Pakistan did not even have its own currency nor a national anthem. The flag was only officially confirmed by the Pakistan Constituent Assembly hours before the independence ceremonies were due to start. Such were the chaotic beginnings.

In Life magazine (with a very frail looking Jinnah on front cover) in 1948, under the heading "Pakistan struggles for survival" there is a picture of tents and livestock in Karachi, with the description “Tents. This big settlement takes care of 600 clerks and messenger boys, who are not disturbed by the livestock which wander around the camp.” It described Karachi as a "partly tent city" and a "One-Camel Town" in terms of world capitals.

Combined with a poor economic prognosis, many expected - and not a few hoped - that Pakistan would collapse. Mountbatten certainly did not expect the ‘tent’ to survive. Pakistan’s history is troubled but it still here.

Happy Independence Day to everyone from across the border.

Perhaps a moment to recall the improvised and ad hoc administrative beginnings, back in 1947.

Mountbatten announced that the transfer of power would happen on 14 August and noted bluntly: “What are we doing? Administratively it is the difference between putting up a permanent building, a nissen hut or a tent. As far as Pakistan is concerned we are putting up a tent. We can do no more.”

A tent was not an inappropriate description of the fragile foundations of the Pakistani state as it commenced its life trying to build a new administrative structure from scratch, linking provincial governments to a new centre.

Philips Talbot, an American journalist who served as foreign correspondent in India, noted in 1947, that the the Pakistan government faced a serious shortage not only of senior civil servants but also of articles of everyday government: “typewriters, office desks, telephones, railway rolling stock, machine guns, trucks, airplanes, files, paper, X-ray machines.” Chaudhry Muhammad Ali , a Civil Servant at the time of Pakistan’s creation, pointed to a shortage of even pens and pins. Tongs instead of pins were used to tie papers together. Government ministers used wooden boxes as their tables. Space in Karachi was also hard to come by, leading to the construction of tin sheds as makeshift offices.

On 14 August 1947, Pakistan did not even have its own currency nor a national anthem. The flag was only officially confirmed by the Pakistan Constituent Assembly hours before the independence ceremonies were due to start. Such were the chaotic beginnings.

In Life magazine (with a very frail looking Jinnah on front cover) in 1948, under the heading "Pakistan struggles for survival" there is a picture of tents and livestock in Karachi, with the description “Tents. This big settlement takes care of 600 clerks and messenger boys, who are not disturbed by the livestock which wander around the camp.” It described Karachi as a "partly tent city" and a "One-Camel Town" in terms of world capitals.

Combined with a poor economic prognosis, many expected - and not a few hoped - that Pakistan would collapse. Mountbatten certainly did not expect the ‘tent’ to survive. Pakistan’s history is troubled but it still here.
Interesting read. Thanks for sharing