[PICTURES] Should Quetta Gladiators replace Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain?

Should Quetta Gladiators replace Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain?

Am sure it the QG players are asked in secret confidentiality about their captain without any fear of retribution from the captain, coach and team owner, they will not have flattering thing to say about Sarfaraz. He is just an absolute mood killer. The team badly needs a reset now

I think quetta problem is that they didn't have star Pakistan batter or bowler who can guide the rest of the side.

Lohare have shaheen
Multan have rizwan
KK have babar
Islamabad have Hassan Ali
Peshawar have malik

Within the squad there doesn't seem to be any ready-made replacement.

The options probably are to get Faf to do it depending on his availability or maybe get an experienced Pakistani player in to take over.

Within the squad there doesn't seem to be any ready-made replacement.

The options probably are to get Faf to do it depending on his availability or maybe get an experienced Pakistani player in to take over.

Maybe the coach has a personal favourite.😉

Compare this guy to Rizwan and the way he went up to and cheered Muzarabani up after Faulkner hit him for a six

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed going through his various stages in the field so far today:<br><br>Shabaash beta<br>Bohat achay beta<br>Well done beta<br>Nahin beta<br>Itna wide na karo beta<br>Over karab kardiya beta<br>Kya kar rahe ho beta<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL6?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL6</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PZvQG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PZvQG</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1403761507532521474?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 12, 2021</a></blockquote>

Some one should sit with sarfraz and teach him basic stuff & educate about the words.

Beta meaning Son

have you ever heard any one from international team calling his colleagues son!!!!

Any one from desi background would know this shows medieval slave like mentality and most of all calibre.

Please teach him some basics. This is becoming ridiculous and height of illiterate behaviour.

I thought today he should have given Khurram 4 overs as he has been one of their most reliable options.

Very strange that he only bowled 3 overs when the likes of Wildermuth were getting smashed all over the park.

Such uninspiring efforts with the bat. Comes to bat at a crucial stage, wastes deliveries and cannot launch to save his life

If I didn't know what the thread title was, this statement could very well apply to large chunks of Dhoni's career!

Lol at people who wanted him to bat ahead of tailenders. He IS the tailender.

Makes complete sense why he used to promote likes of Hassan Ali and Imad ahead of himself.

Some one should sit with sarfraz and teach him basic stuff & educate about the words.

Beta meaning Son

have you ever heard any one from international team calling his colleagues son!!!!

Any one from desi background would know this shows medieval slave like mentality and most of all calibre.

Please teach him some basics. This is becoming ridiculous and height of illiterate behaviour.

Yeah this beta thing is such a cringe. It is unbelievable a guy who was our national team's captain for such long has not educated himself.

I think fault lies a lot with the PCB. They should really look at these things seriously. There should be a psychologist with the team.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed:<br><br>24 runs off first 23 balls faced<br>27 runs from last 10 balls faced<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL6?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL6</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/KKvQG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#KKvQG</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1406292283033632774?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 19, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

His innings was pathetic. Don't let his Sr at the end fool you. He batted for 6 overs and had zero impact on the game

Well at the end of the tournament when he was speaking on tv, it seemed like he was planning for PSL7 so perhaps he has already had assurance that he will be skipper of QG.

Bhai jaan the owner of the QG loves Sarfaraz. Remember he said his franchise won't participate in PSL 6 if Sarfaraz is not available.

Sometimes these owners need to put friendships aside if they want to be successful on a regular basis.

If the franchise owners themselves are not bothered with win and losses, then the players will be chill as well. The sponsors need to force these Franchise owners to pull up their socks

Quetta Gladiators will be happy with the inclusion of legendary all-rounder Shahid Afridi in their ranks for the seventh edition of the HBL Pakistan Super League (PSL)

Quetta’s owner Nadeem Omar said that he is hopeful about welcoming Afridi, who played for champions Multan Sultans in season six, next year.

“We are hopeful that Shahid Afridi will be part of Quetta Gladiators in HBL PSL 7. We will be really happy if that happens,” said Omar.

“Afridi played a key part in the promotion of the Kashmir Premier League. Despite being unfit in the final, he fought hard and led his team to the title,” he added.

Nadeem also opened up about his team’s preparations for the next season after a disappointing performance, where they finished bottom of the table, in the sixth edition of HBL PSL.

“Our preparations are in full swing for HBL PSL 7 and will try to introduce new players through our talent hunt program,” he said. “Last season our selection wasn’t good which is why we were not able to get the desired results. We have complete faith in Sarfaraz Ahmed’s leadership and he will continue to lead the side in the future.”

If they are serious about bringing in Shahid Afridi, they may as well make him captain.

EpPzxV7.png

Captaincy not that great in the first game in PSL 7 - What was the point of keeping Naseem Shah to the end?

Shoaib Malik and Hussain Talat came together in the 9th over. It wasn't until the 14th over that Mohammad Hasnain bowled at them and it wasn't until the 16th over that Naseem Shah bowled at them

Can understand Ramiz's frustration with Quetta Gladiator's owner Nadeem Omar "Why do you keep sticking to Sarfaraz every season?". His response "Sarfaraz has plenty of services for our franchise". Sums up the Desi dheet mindset of mediocrity

It will be interesting to see if he lasts the full season this time around.

If QG struggle like they did last year, then I can see Shahid Afridi being asked to take over.

With the squad they have this time though, QG should do a lot better, but they need better captaincy than what Sarfaraz showed today.

His captaincy was very poor today.He looked distraught when Zalmi were back back in the game.He can’t control his emotions so it will be better to appoint a captain who is cool headed and has leadership qualities.

Shoaib Malik and Hussain Talat came together in the 9th over. It wasn't until the 14th over that Mohammad Hasnain bowled at them and it wasn't until the 16th over that Naseem Shah bowled at them

Unbelievable!!!

I thought today he should have given Khurram 4 overs as he has been one of their most reliable options.

Very strange that he only bowled 3 overs when the likes of Wildermuth were getting smashed all over the park.

Done the same with Naseem this season. Same mistakes....

Sarfraz carries around a huge chip on his shoulders for being a mediocre player with media hype of being the "Apna player" from Karachi.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Economy rates of the Quetta Gladiators bowlers against Peshawar Zalmi:<br><br>9<br>12<br>11<br>10<br>5.18<br>10<br>10<br><br>Yet the bowler with the economy-rate of 5.18 didn't bowl 4 overs<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PSL7?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PSL7</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PZvQG?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PZvQG</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@SajSadiqCricket) <a href="https://twitter.com/SajSadiqCricket/status/1487134679132164108?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2022</a></blockquote>

Btw naseem shah is a verryy improved bowler and he could ve made a diff if he was used in a better way

Useless captain.. Always shouting and making useless faces even in comfortable positions.. The other team is there to play as well he wants everyone to get out on zero that much aggression is uncalled for

He was very animated today which is not surprising.Even the commentators were talking about him.Bowlers are not robots.They do get it wrong.He should keep calm and support the bowlers.

Overall they look stronger than last year especially with the addition of some experienced players.

Sarfaraz just needs to utilise his resources properly and motivate his players and not get in their faces.

Overall they look stronger than last year especially with the addition of some experienced players.

Sarfaraz just needs to utilise his resources properly and motivate his players and not get in their faces.

He has always been an on top captain, he wilts whenever the game is in the balance and a hint of pressure which transmits to the rest of the team.

Good win today. Mainly set up by the early wickets by Tanvir and Naseem.

QG needed this win to start their campaign.

I would like to see his captaincy reviews if Gladiators reach the final of this season. I am not gonna ever defend unnecessary chirping that he does habitually, but professionalism and Pakistan are two different entities - we lack it on most platforms.

As far as his selection is concerned as a player, I agree that this had to be his last season. It baffles me to see plethora of players who are well past their prime, are being allowed in T20 leagues as nothing but cheer leaders.

I felt for Sarfaraz today.

There was some really dumb cricket from some of his players when they were batting towards the end.

Sohail Tanvir wasting deliveries by swinging wildly, then the comedy run-out of Faulkner and then Naseem Shah not looking for a single and wasting a couple of balls.

QG should have won that match if they had played sensibly.

There was some really dumb cricket from some of his players when they were batting towards the end.

Sohail Tanvir wasting deliveries by swinging wildly, then the comedy run-out of Faulkner and then Naseem Shah not looking for a single and wasting a couple of balls.

I know it was all plain silly by QG, but how can a captain command respect when he bats at 4 and scores a 23 ball 21 on a pretty flat deck. I think he is done and dusted as a batter.

That is what the management is for, to help players become better. Maybe they could have sent Hasnain ahead of Naseem, who has shown to be a reasonable no. 10 as well. Sarfraz's own performance has been awful. With captaincy, it looks as if runs are only a bonus thing for him. Holding back Iftikhar till no.6 was a major blunder as well. MS just won the game by playing less poor cricket than QG today.

The one thing i like is that Naseem's run up and action looks a lot more coherent than before. Previously it was pretty painful to watch him run in and put so much torque on his body.
Hope he can get improve his bowling as well.

Sarfaraz at end of the game 7 against Multan today

79011de4-0442-4e7c-90d2-9cf5c68327a6.jpg
be4645d6-5fb4-4bbc-b6e1-bc7881fc3dc3.jpg
ed7e336a-858f-4ca6-bc63-702188738810.jpg

Watching Rizwan captain one team and Sarfraz captain the other is kinda fascinating, just for the sheer contrast between the two. One guy is happy, always has a smile on his face and always tries to give his bowlers confidence by talking to them in a calm and cool tone and with that same infectious smile.

Meanwhile the other is a miserable malcontent who is always shouting at his bowlers and can't ever seem to control himself eventhough he is actually one of the worst players in his own side.

Wouldn't take a genius to figure out which captain has lead his side to 3 wins out of 3.

Watching Rizwan captain one team and Sarfraz captain the other is kinda fascinating, just for the sheer contrast between the two. One guy is happy, always has a smile on his face and always tries to give his bowlers confidence by talking to them in a calm and cool tone and with that same infectious smile.

Meanwhile the other is a miserable malcontent who is always shouting at his bowlers and can't ever seem to control himself eventhough he is actually one of the worst players in his own side.

Wouldn't take a genius to figure out which captain has lead his side to 3 wins out of 3.
I used to quite like Sarfaraz but he's beyond shocking now. His attitude is terrible. Every bad bowl he's there giving the bowlers stick or standing with his hands on his hips.

Just seems bitter and past it. Its such a shame as I liked him in the past but now I see why the way he behaves isn't sustainable. I'd hate it if my captain was like that. The difference between him and Rizwan was day and night.

Sarfaraz Ahmed is the embodiment of everything that has been wrong with Pakistani cricket in the past 20 years. A mediocre player with mediocre averages as batsmen was turned into some mighty hero by biased media through the hype. He always had less talent (check his deep filtered stats against quality sides), zero personality to present in front of the international media, yet he was made captain of the international side in all formats. When other teams were grooming Kohli, Root, Smith etc as leaders we had this guy dancing on "chowka pan masala" advertisements with his 15, 17 and 23 like averages in SENA. Even today there are few journalists who try to put him up with Rizwan (joke of the century) who has left Sarfraz miles behind yet these characters just do not give up.

Sarfraz's on-field behavior is nothing but media-enabled entitlement. I believe he truly has started believing that he is the second coming of Dhoni+Sangakarra+Gilchrist all combined up. This has become funny now, he was rightfully dropped from the squad-based on bad stats, age factor and he was posting sarcastic tweets like he has been wronged. Truth be told he is in the squad only because PCB is scared of retaliation from these few media backers. Sarfraz's presence is blocking Rohail nazir and other younger keepers from being groomed just like how he blocked Rizwan from turning into world's best earlier in his career.

I used to quite like Sarfaraz but he's beyond shocking now. His attitude is terrible. Every bad bowl he's there giving the bowlers stick or standing with his hands on his hips.

Just seems bitter and past it. Its such a shame as I liked him in the past but now I see why the way he behaves isn't sustainable. I'd hate it if my captain was like that. The difference between him and Rizwan was day and night.

He has gone past the point of being a caricature of himself. He's just completely lost it. And it doesn't seem like he'll ever get it back. Only solution is to sack him from captaincy but somehow that doesn't seem like that will be happening anytime soon either.

Sarfraz has been in this state with his captaincy ever since he has been dropped from the team.

Today though was a close match.

Potential final as well.

I know it was all plain silly by QG, but how can a captain command respect when he bats at 4 and scores a 23 ball 21 on a pretty flat deck. I think he is done and dusted as a batter.

It was a poor innings. He was leaving it all to his batting partner and offered very little in terms of aggression. You cannot do that when you need 10 an over.

Won toss but match lost.
I just feel bad for those young players who are stuck with Sarfraz as their captain.

This should probably be his last PSL as a captain.

The drill master personality is tolerable when you have performances going your way. But when you are unable to perform yourself the players will eventually tell him to shut up ( in more impolite words) and he will lose the little authority he has.

I am in the same boat as you. I thought he was ok for a while as skipper and also as a player. I know he gets a lot of flack here but he did have a brief purple patch and played out of his skin.

Now he seems like a cartoon.

The innings Sarfaraz played was just as bad as Babar’s innings vs Lahore.

Hiding behind your partner.

Scoring at a run a ball.

Facing 20 balls and getting out soon after doing little damage to the scoreboard.

Putting pressure on your partner and forcing them to take all the risks.

Lose your wicket at the wrong time.

Putting pressure on your team and slowing the run rate.

Babar will get away with it, but for how long?

I think they should.

I don't think Sarfaraz is a good captain. He yells too much. It can create a negative environment.

Need big results and qualify for Play-offs at least.

Otherwise the pressure will surely mount.

Only player to play every season as captain of a franchise.

Painful captaincy, followed by a painful innings.

This looks a shadow of the Sarfaraz at his best.

If QG do not remove Sarfaraz, Moin Khan and do not change things up, the PCB should take back the Franchise and find another buyer. This mediocrity is killing the league

Sarfraz and Moin's positions are secure because of their friendship with Nadeem Omar. Sarfraz might be trying to do better but in no way does Moin look bothered about QG. There's been no change in tactics or inspired selections. Too much comfort I guess.

Should simply look at how MS turned the corner around after 2 poor seasons under Wasim's watch.

If QG do not remove Sarfaraz, Moin Khan and do not change things up, the PCB should take back the Franchise and find another buyer. This mediocrity is killing the league

The clock has to be ticking.

This is becoming a joke now how bad they are performing.

A few runs at the end from Nawaz and Faulkner covered up just how poor Sarfaraz's team were today.

Body language looked terrible.

This Quetta Gladiators team should get banned from participating in this tournament until they get their act together and play this game the right way. My blood literally boils when I see something like this. As Saj and other posters have mentioned many times already, Sarfaraz can't bat at 4 and keep Iftikhar in his dungeon. What kind of dealings are going on under the table? I mean how can you trade a player like Ifti and ask for a Yokozuna who moves like a turtle and looks like a guy who has been training for a sumo wrestling match.
What is Shahid Afridi doing in this team?

How much is this constant talking helping?

b1128972-3f40-4a66-806d-d388fd137a17.jpg

Sarfraz loses the plot on the field because he can't control his emotions.You need a calm person who concentrates on the match situation and makes the right tactical decisions.Sarfraz should learn from Rizwan how to handle his players esp bowlers.Even Shadab is a better captain than Sarfraz.

The whole problem now does the composition around Sarfraz in Team isn’t working.

Could well soon be axed for the betterment of the franchise.

May be a dubious injury or fake covid test could help the issue.

I can't believe such a mediocre player have played so much for Pakistan and that too as captain.

Sarfraz loses the plot on the field because he can't control his emotions.You need a calm person who concentrates on the match situation and makes the right tactical decisions.Sarfraz should learn from Rizwan how to handle his players esp bowlers.Even Shadab is a better captain than Sarfraz.

He got the bowling combinations wrong afridi bowled the last over and Iftikhar didn't even bowl 1 over.

Sarfraz peaked at CT17 as a captain and as a player as well he wasn't that bad. Had some good performances in year 2015 and 2016.

Even since then his performance as a captain and as a player has been declining. Now even the attitude is so disturbing.

I would prefer they make Nawaz captain. Time to invest into young leaders

Quetta is a doston wallee franchise - Sarf will stay forever.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/dt8a2t" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Nadeem Omar is too emotionally attached with his players and personnel to make tough calls.

Most PSL franchises operate on jaan pehchan talukat.

I was hoping he might give Rizwan some healthy competition.

Today, with all of the time in the world to bat, he produced 5 runs off 10 balls.

I hope Haris can keep pushing for the WK spot as Sarf is finished in the short format.