[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Hasan Ali marries Indian national Samiya Arzoo in Dubai

These might not be the most cordial of times for Indo-Pak relations but at least two families on either side of the border have been able to put all that aside. Pakistani cricketer Hasan Ali married Faridabad-based flight engineer Samiya Arzoo yesterday in Dubai. The nuptials had generated a fair amount of curiosity in both the countries after the wedding was announced by the cricketer’s family last month.

However, not much had been known about Samiya except for the fact that she belonged to Haryana and lived in Dubai. Speaking to us before leaving for Dubai earlier this week, Samiya’s brother Akbar Ali told us, “The two have known each other since last year. They met in Dubai when Hasan was there for a tournament and told the families earlier this year.” Samiya’s family hails from Nuh in Haryana and her father Liyaqat Ali retired as a Block Development Officer working with the Haryana government.

They have been settled in Faridabad for over 15 years now, where Samiya grew up with her six siblings. After doing her schooling from the city, she earned a degree in aeronautical engineering from a Faridabad-based private university and is currently working for an airline in Dubai. The family says they were not apprehensive about a Pakistani groom. “We have family settled in Pakistan. My great grandfather’s brother had migrated to Pakistan during the partition and that side of the family has lived there since. We have stayed in touch with them over the years, so we know she has family there too,” says Akbar.

25-year-old Hasan has played just under a hundred games for Pakistan in a three-year international career. He is the fourth Pakistani cricketer to marry an Indian after Zaheer Abbas, Mohsin Khan, and Shoaib Malik. The cricketer had attracted criticism from Indian fans last year after he performed an elaborate military salute-style-dance at the Wagah Border.

However, Samiya’s family doesn’t want Indian fans to colour their opinion of Hasan based on that. “He has been very respectful of India and Indian cricketers in the past. He even extended invites to several Indian cricketers for the wedding. He loves cricket and he loves his country. That is all it was, an expression of that love,” Akbar tells us.

The family also doesn’t want to connect this wedding – coming at a time when the relations between India and Pakistan are particularly strained – to politics. Samiya’s father Liyaqat Ali says, “It is a meeting of two families. These two have been friends for a while and now want to be life partners. We don’t want to comment on the politics between the two countries because the wedding is separate from that. We hope we can all co-exist peacefully.”

Ever since the wedding was announced last month, a number of fake photos purportedly of Samiya, have been doing the rounds on social media. Many were even picked up by news portals on both sides of the border. The family says it found the entire thing quite amusing. Akbar says, “Both Hasan and Samiya wanted some privacy and not much media coverage around this so we respected that. But it was so funny to see the fake photos and social media accounts.”

The nikaah took place in Dubai yesterday and was attended by friends and family from both sides as well as a few leading cricketers from Pakistan. Sources claim that Hasan had invited Indian cricketers such as Yuvraj Singh, Virat Kohli, and MS Dhoni, as well, but none of them turned up as most are busy in a series in the West Indies and others avoided the function given the political climate. “I would love it if some Indian players come to the ceremony in Dubai. The contest is on the field and not off it,” Hasan had told a Pakistani daily last month.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...r-hasan-ali/articleshow/70753336.cms?from=mdr

I hope Hasan and the gang have a good explanation for wearing those shoes :facepalm:
Apart from Hassan's himself and of the person on his left , others' shoes are alright - correct?

Congratulations and best wishes to would be couple!

ECbdQHTXkAAPIjY

Dubai: Famous Pakistani fast bowler Hassan Ali danced to the tune of Indian songs as he got married to Dubai-based Indian expatriate Samiya Arzoo here on Tuesday.

Hassan Ali’s wedding was the talk of the town in Dubai among Indian and Pakistan expatriates as photos and videos from the wedding were leaked by some guests. These went viral on social media. The wedding reception was mostly attended by close friends and relatives, and no famous personalities, politicians diplomats or filmstars were invited.

“It was quite amusing to watch the fast bowler trying to dance with his bride while his teammate and famous spin bowler Shaddab Khan was filming the moves on his mobile phone,” a guest who attended the wedding at Atlantis, The Palm Hotel and Resorts, told Gulf News.

Clad in a black sherwani with red piping and golden embroidery work, Ali looked quite sharp. He also wore a turban and a statement necklace. Samiya went traditional in her extravagant lehenga - a red and golden Indian wedding dress - accompanied with diamond and gold jewellery. She also wore chooriyan or red bangles, a common bridal adornment for north Indian brides.

Guests were treated to a sumptuous meal which was a mix of Arabic and Asian cuisine. Some of the dishes included: Peshwari karahi, biryani, vegetable rice, steamed mutton, aalu methis, mutton Karachi and Arabic mixed-grill. There were also a vast variety of salads and desserts.

Hassan Ali’s close friends and relatives attended the wedding, while some guests from bride’s side also joined them from New Delhi.

None of his teammates from the Pakistan cricket team, except his best friend Shaddab Khan, attended the event due to a training camp in Pakistan.

https://gulfnews.com/sport/cricket/...dian-songs-in-dubai-at-his-wedding-1.65920442

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HassnAli?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HassnAli</a> and his bride <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/SamyahKhan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#SamyahKhan</a> dance on their Wedding<br><br> v.c <a href="https://twitter.com/DaArtistPhoto?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@daartistphoto</a> <a href="https://t.co/SZ8vXBVKqy">pic.twitter.com/SZ8vXBVKqy</a></p>— PakistaniExpatriates.Com &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@pakistaniexpats) <a href="https://twitter.com/pakistaniexpats/status/1163901067513520130?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Really dull ceremony man, I was expecting a trademark Hasan Ali Celebration :hasan2
On serious note best of luck to the couple but dunno i am not sure its going to be a long term and successful marriage.

Music and gender mixing are debatable depending on your school of thought.

Mehndi is not Islamic, this is not up for debate but of course up to the couple if they want it.

Mehndi is not allowed, but music and mixed gatherings are debatable????? Now I’ve heard it all.

For some using internet and being on a social media platform may not be Islamic as well. The choice is yours and nobody else has a damn to decide on your behalf.

He can do what he likes lol. I congratulated him above and also stated people in my own family do the same. Im only pointing out this is not from Islamic traditions. Also I dont care about cricketers lives, all I care is how they perform on the field and Hassan has been very poor so needs to concentrate on his game or his Int career could soon come to an end.

Mehndi is not allowed, but music and mixed gatherings are debatable????? Now I’ve heard it all.

I have posted a link above, try reading it.

Congratulations to the couple

Some of the comments judging Hasan Ali are pathetic.

I am actually disturbed why this got so much attention? Hasan Ali is an ordinary cricketer who has not done much in his career, if this was an IK, Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib, Afridi I would have understood the adulation and mass interest but Hasan Ali is as ordinary as they come

It shows the low quality standards we have in Pakistan Cricket atm

He can do what he likes lol. I congratulated him above and also stated people in my own family do the same. Im only pointing out this is not from Islamic traditions. Also I dont care about cricketers lives, all I care is how they perform on the field and Hassan has been very poor so needs to concentrate on his game or his Int career could soon come to an end.

I have posted a link above, try reading it.

So you have to follow complete Arabic style. Your culture does not matter.

Pakistani Wedding functions are more an exercise and an excuse for the immediate, extended family members and friends to catch up, get a break and meet, gossip with each other.

For one family I have seen the following functions

1) Baat Pakki
2) Engagement
3) Birthday Party Celebration
4) Dholki 1
5) Nikka
6) Dholki 2
7) Dholki 3
8) Mehndi
9) Shaadi
10) Valima

My dad disclosed to me that it cost him at least $100,000 to finance my baby sisters wedding functions and expenses in Canada and the US

Pakistani Wedding functions are more an exercise and an excuse for the immediate, extended family members and friends to catch up, get a break and meet, gossip with each other.

1) Baat Pakki
2) Engagement
4) Dholki 1
5) Nikka
6) Dholki 2
7) Dholki 3
8) Mehndi
9) Shaadi
10) Valima

My dad disclosed to me that it cost him at least $100,000 to finance my baby sisters wedding functions and expenses in Canada and the US

None of my business, but since you've disclosed the cost to everyone on this board that your dad disclosed this to you, :ishant I hope the wedding functions were actually going to cost between $110,000 to $150,000 but rest of the money went to charity or that some of the $100k went to charity.

Nothing went to charity, my folks will donate to Pakistani ngos, charities but never to Canadian, American charities

1) Baat Pakki
2) Engagement
4) Dholki 1
5) Nikka
6) Dholki 2
7) Dholki 3
8) Mehndi
9) Shaadi
10) Valima

That's a waste of money. Most wedding don't exceed US$40k (

I have no idea why the expenses were so high because we had 2 functions in the US, 3 in Canada. The guys side only held the Valima. I am assuming the cost of putting family members in hotels in both countries probably shot the bill up

I am actually disturbed why this got so much attention? Hasan Ali is an ordinary cricketer who has not done much in his career, if this was an IK, Wasim, Waqar, Shoaib, Afridi I would have understood the adulation and mass interest but Hasan Ali is as ordinary as they come

its getting attention because its a indo-pak wedding.

What does him not doing much in he’s have anything to do with anything?? It’s getting attention because he is a well known Pakistan cricketer.

Hopefully after this Hassan will start concentrating again on the field I believe some off field happenings were impacting his state of mind and effecting his performance.

I still think Hassan is quality and can bounce back to become a very important part of our bowling attack.

Hopefully after this Hassan will start concentrating again on the field I believe some off field happenings were impacting his state of mind and effecting his performance.

I still think Hassan is quality and can bounce back to become a very important part of our bowling attack.

I doubt he will improve. The girl is Indian who has excess to India. She will tell all of his bowling plans to the Indian cricket team. We lost our man due to this.

This proves though why it is a matter of life and death for domestic cricketers in Pakistan to make it big. Imagine Hasan Ali's life now compared to 3-4 years ago when he was a no body, no net assets, wealth, fame/recognition. Playing consistently for Pakistan in the last 3 years, in the T20 leagues around the world and the PSL has allowed him to significantly uplift his life and that of all his immediate and maybe extended family members.

Could Hasan Ali 3-4 years ago have dreamed of marrying his current spouse or someone close to that type? Could he have had such a lavish wedding and the publicity it generated?

No wonder Pakistani Cricketers become hesitant to leave the national team so easily and who can blame them for not wanting the party and journey to end

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Thanks for such a delicious dinner Shoaib bhai and sania bhabi. See you soon again.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/firstweddingdawat?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#firstweddingdawat</a> <a href="https://t.co/klLtoSRJ7j">pic.twitter.com/klLtoSRJ7j</a></p>— Hassan Ali &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@RealHa55an) <a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an/status/1165392701593980928?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 24, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Congrats to the new couple. Inter country marriages like these should be encouraged. Great to see this!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-cards="hidden" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Kisi ne sach hi kaha hai mohabat ki koi had koi sarhad nahi hoti.Aaj hum rango me itne bikhre hai,ye bhul gaye ki jo rang tere parchm me hai wo hi rang mere parchm me hai.Daulat,zaat,khudgarzi ko humne apni mohabat ki chadar se dhaka hai, khuda is chadar ko humesha salamat rakhna <a href="https://t.co/64tbwvD1CR">pic.twitter.com/64tbwvD1CR</a></p>— Hassan Ali &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@RealHa55an) <a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an/status/1165946643893694465?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 26, 2019</a></blockquote>

Congrats to the new couple. Inter country marriages like these should be encouraged. Great to see this!

Hope one of our cricketers marry a Pakistani girl. One way streak is not good. It plays into the hands of right wingers.

So you have to follow complete Arabic style. Your culture does not matter.

who actually follows islam to the T?

no one..

everyone has their own version of islam.

thats why religions dont matter in the long scheme of things. you wanna be religious by all means do so, but dont interfere with my beliefs.

problem with muslims is they gotta interfere with other muslims religious practice.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-cards="hidden" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Kisi ne sach hi kaha hai mohabat ki koi had koi sarhad nahi hoti.Aaj hum rango me itne bikhre hai,ye bhul gaye ki jo rang tere parchm me hai wo hi rang mere parchm me hai.Daulat,zaat,khudgarzi ko humne apni mohabat ki chadar se dhaka hai, khuda is chadar ko humesha salamat rakhna <a href="https://t.co/64tbwvD1CR">pic.twitter.com/64tbwvD1CR</a></p>— Hassan Ali (@RealHa55an) <a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an/status/1165946643893694465?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 26, 2019</a></blockquote>

Can’t wait for reality to hit him, if thats what he believes.

It should be give and take. Not just give. Would be good to have a few Pak girls in India too.

That's very disgusting and outdated way to look at women. "Would be good to have a few Pak girls in india too" , women aren't furniture.

Pakistani fast bowler Hasan Ali with his wife Samiyah Arzu at a family function held in Gujranwala, Pakistan.

ELCUZrPWwAYO5jv

I just wonder one thing. Why in weddings, the girl has to put on so much make up?

His wife seems very pretty, cute and already has the realistic natural beauty. Make up makes it hard to look at on the contrary.

It should be give and take. Not just give. Would be good to have a few Pak girls in India too.

Honestly this is probably the creepiest post I have read on this forum. Give and take? They aren’t thing that are being exchanged.

Hassan Ali’s wife chose to marry him, no one “took” her. Similarly if a Pakistani girl chooses to marry an Indian cricketer that’s fine but why would they be “given”?

Oh how time's flown :)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Alhamdulillah for our 1st wedding anniversary❤️ <br>Every moment spent with you is priceless. Allah paak hamesha apni rahmat farmata rahay Aameen. <a href="https://t.co/ntmLLmtjcU">pic.twitter.com/ntmLLmtjcU</a></p>— Hassan Ali 🇵🇰 (@RealHa55an) <a href="https://twitter.com/RealHa55an/status/1296349910724489217?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 20, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>