[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Mohammed Siraj - Performance Watch

the_outsider

First Class Player
He's new to leather ball cricket - only started playing it from 2015 but in recent years under Rahul Dravid's coaching has improved leaps and bounds.

A tall, fast bowler from Hyderabad, Siraj has serious pace (clocking in at 145k), regularly uprooting stumps and get decent bounce too. One of the remarkable features about his bowling is the high number of bowled and LBWs he gets, regularly beating batsmen for pace. His main delivery has been swinging the ball into the right hander but has recently developed out-swingers working with India team bowling coach, Bharat Arun.

As of today Siraj averages 18.71 in first class cricket with the ball having taken 94 wickets in 37 innings.

In List A cricket he has 47 wickets at 20.78 in 22 matches.

He was thrown into the deep end when he was fast-tracked into the IPL in 2016. He has decent T20 numbers so far but has had a few excellent spells in the IPL.

He made his debut for India in a T20 match against New Zealand on November 4, 2017.

He is yet to make his Test and ODI debut and as of now looks like a great future prospect for the test side.

Hoping that he makes his test debut for India in the home tour against Windies.

Siraj has taken 8 wickets against Australia A in the 1st official test of Australia A tour of India 2018.

On his way to get his 3rd 10fer in only his 20th FC match.

Should be tried for west indies tour and if he is doing well pick him for aus series. My bowling attack for aus tour will be Bumrah, Shami, Siraj & Ishant with either Jadeja or Ashwin. Aus pitches won't trouble batsman alot so will be good to play 5 bowlers instead of bits and pieces player like pandya.

Should definitely get his test cap against WI.

This kind of rich form shouldn't be wasted by the BCCI.

They are already doing that with Mayank Agarwal.

He has a good f.c class record and was selected for test series against westindies last year,I got frustrated when the likes of shardul Thakur was selected in playing xi ahead of him but what makes me more fustrated that shardul only bowled 2 overs and got injured.

The proposed Indian Premier League in the United Arab Emirates this September is a window of hope for fast bowler Mohd. Siraj as he prepares to make a comeback to the national team.

Twenty-six-year-old Siraj, who has played one One-Day International and four Twenty20 Internationals for India, says he is quite keen to come up with some special performances in the IPL to earn the India cap again. Siraj is nowadays training at a private ground in Shamshabad with the help of a couple of his Hyderabad team-mates.

“Honestly, there are not telephonic discussions or any online chats with any cricketers regarding my bowling. I have been making a critical review of my bowling in the nets now after each day having a look at the videos,” Siraj explained in a chat with Sportstar on Sunday.

“I’m working a lot on my strengths - the yorkers and the back-of-a-length deliveries. I am putting in a lot of effort and it is never easy during such a long break to find the same kind of rhythm which you can afford when everything is normal,” he said.

Like for others, the COVID-19 pandemic posed difficulties for Siraj.

‘Frustrating’

“The biggest challenge for me was to be mentally fresh during the four-month long COVID-19 break. It has been really so frustrating that we cannot even go out confidently because of the virus threat. So, I was just keeping myself busy doing every small thing at home,” Siraj said.

“Definitely, the fitness aspect is taken care of adequately as I purchased gym equipment to maintain the desired standards. I am also doing a lot of running in the mornings,” he said.

Siraj said his stint with Royal Challengers Bangalore so far offered him a lot of lessons. “Well, it has been a privilege to play for RCB led by Virat bhai (Kohli). It has been such a huge learning curve. Definitely, feel that another good season with the team in this IPL should help my cause a long way. Essentially, my target is to be good in both formats - white and red-ball cricket. I still believe Test cricket is the best and most challenging. So, I am keen to be part of Indian Test team and want to back my claim with the desired performances,” he said.

“Definitely, not playing competitive cricket before the IPL is a different kind of challenge. But I hope to live up to the expectations as there will definitely be a preparatory camp before the event begins,” he concluded.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...an-cricket-team-rcb-kohli/article32196798.ece

Royal Challengers Bangalore speedster Mohammed Siraj dazed Kolkata Knight Riders with his bowling during the 39th Indian Premier League (IPL) match on Wednesday night. He picked up three wickets in his first two overs, reducing KKR to 14 for 4.

Siraj’s brilliance with the ball helped him registering his name in the record books of the game. He certainly became the first-ever bowler in the IPL history to claim two maiden overs. The RCB franchise took to their social media account to announce this feat. In a tweet, they wrote, “He’s bowled 12 deliveries, picked 3 wickets and is yet to concede a run off the bat!”

Playing in place of Shahbaz Ahmad, Mohammed Siraj came to bowl the bowl the second over of the KKR innings. He removed opener Rahul Tripathi on the third ball and the bowled out Nitish Rana off the very next delivery. The over turned out to be a double wicket-maiden as KKR were reduced to 3/2.

In his next over, he bowled a good length ball to Tom Banton (10) and got him caught by AB de Villiers. Once again, he didn’t let the batsmen score a run against him and thus, owned the record to bowl two maiden overs in IPL history.

Earlier, KKR skipper Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to bat first. They made two changes to the side – Tom Banton and Prasidh Krishna came in for Shivam Mavi and Andre Russell. On the other hand, RCB also made a change that turned out to be right in the money.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...ipl-history/story-jPxoqirzvQb6J7Aeac0AON.html

He has a good f.c class record and was selected for test series against westindies last year,I got frustrated when the likes of shardul Thakur was selected in playing xi ahead of him but what makes me more fustrated that shardul only bowled 2 overs and got injured.

Hope this time no Shardul Trundler Thakur.

Impressive with the new bowl. Siraj should be prioritized over Thakur. Keep Thakur away, his batting may show the selectors a fake reality.

Siraj father passed away ... Siraj won't be travelling back to India for his father last rites.
Stay strong @mdsirajofficial , we are with you .

Om Shanti.

“It is shocking. I lost the biggest support of my life. It was his dream to see me play for the country and I am glad that way I could realise that and bring joy for him,” he told the website.
After the performance, Siraj had revealed that his father was not well. In a video, he had said, “My dad is unwell these days. His lungs are in bad shape so he has difficulty breathing. I am really worried about that. I can’t even go home to meet and motivate him. I talk on the phone but whenever I do, he starts crying. I can’t even talk for longer hours because I don’t like seeing him crying. So I disconnect the phone early because I can’t hold myself for long. So, I pray to God for his good health. He was admitted to the hospital before the last game. I was really concerned that dad was in the hospital.”

“I know what kind of hardship my dad faced in my early days driving an auto rickshaw to let me pursue my passion for the game,” said Siraj, who climbed up through the ranks from the bylanes of Toli Chowki.

After a stunning 2016-2017 Ranji Trophy season finish with 41 wickets, Siraj bagged the IPL cap for Sunrisers Hyderabad at Rs 2.6 crores.

“It is shocking. I lost the biggest support of my life. It was his dream to see me play for the country and I am glad that way I could realise that and bring joy for him,” a distraught Siraj informed.

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...ghouse-indian-team-sydney/article33141539.ece

Inna lillahi wainna ilaihi rajioon. May Allah grant his father jannah and patience in this difficult time for his family

OM Shanti.

Siraj puts national duty over his personal loss. May the gods bless him

Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Illahi Rajiyoon

The price these cricketers pay to be away from their loved ones.

OM Shanti.

May Allah swt give his father janaat and him patience.

Regarding national duty over personal loss, we really don't know. Family is more important then national duty especially a game.

It's sad to hear the awful news of his dad passing away. Rest in peace sir.

you never realize what you have lost until it's actually gone. never neglect your parents. Always check on them.

Same for Naseem who lost his dad not too long ago. I am sure both Siraj and Naseem will remain strong and move forward in life with a purpose. They will want to make their dads proud.

It's sad to hear the awful news of his dad passing away. Rest in peace sir.

you never realize what you have lost until it's actually gone. never neglect your parents. Always check on them.

Same for Naseem who lost his dad not too long ago. I am sure both Siraj and Naseem will remain strong and move forward in life with a purpose. They will want to make their dads proud.

Naseem lost his mother. Whilst I obviously won't be supporting the Indian team on this tour, I hope Siraj does well and gets all the support he needs from the rest of the team

Oh my bad. Rest in peace to his mom. Is his dad still alive ? Poor lad.

OM Shanti.

Its not national duty. This might be the only big chance he gets in his career. He is not at dhoni or kohlis status that he can afford to pick and chose. He might never get such a chance again

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">May Mohammed siraj have a lot of strength to overcome this loss..lots of good wishes for his success in this trip.. tremendous character <a href="https://twitter.com/BCCI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@bcci</a></p>— Sourav Ganguly (@SGanguly99) <a href="https://twitter.com/SGanguly99/status/1330072373131943939?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 21, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

MEDIA ADVISORY

November 21, 2020

Statement – Mohammed Siraj

Team India fast bowler Mohammed Siraj lost his father on Friday after a brief illness. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had a discussion with Siraj and he was offered the option of flying back and be with his family in this hour of grief.

The fast bowler has decided to stay with the Indian contingent and continue performing his national duties. The BCCI shares his grief and will be supportive of Siraj in this extremely challenging phase.

The BCCI requests the media to accord Siraj and his bereaved family members their space and privacy.

JAY SHAH
Honorary Secretary,
BCCI

Virat Kohli was the ideal captain and a support that Mohammed Siraj desperately needed at a time of great personal loss. The young fast bowler had just lost his father and had to make the tough choice of either flying back home or stay with the rest of the squad members in Australia. After some deliberation, Siraj chose the latter. The one who gave courage and helped Siraj make his mind up was captain Kohli.

Kohli is no stranger to overcoming personal tragedy while carrying on with professional duties. In 2007, Kohli, then a teenager, lost his father in the middle of a Ranji Trophy match but he came back next day to score 97 and help Delhi draw the important game, showing his mental fortitude.

“Virat bhai said ‘Miyaan tension maat le (don’t be tensed) and be strong. Your dad wanted you to play for India. So, do that and don’t stress,” the 26-year-old Siraj told ‘bcci.tv’ on the sidelines of India’s training session in Sydney.

Siraj’s father Mohammed Ghouse, 53, died due to a lung ailment in Hyderabad last week and despite BCCI offering him the option to return home, the fast bowler decided to stay put on national duty.

“The skipper told me, ‘If you can be strong in this situation, it will only help you’. So those were positive words from the Indian captain and it felt nice.”

Siraj’s father drove auto rickshaw during his formative years as a cricketer and has been the single biggest influence on the Hyderabad man.

“It’s a huge loss for me as he was the biggest support system of my life. He wanted me to shine for my country and my mindset now is to fulfil his dreams,” he said.

Siraj thanked his teammates, who have rallied around him.

“I am indebted to my teammates as they stood by me in these tough times and every thing was well taken care of,” he said.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...her-s-death/story-52VnGf6B4bHWYkTjdPH7OJ.html

Siraj helping Green:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.604%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/c37kbw" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Bumrah and Shami are definitely going to play the 1st test. It's between Siraj and Saini for the other slot with Ishant out

Siraj helping Green:

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.604%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/c37kbw" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Great gesture from Suraj

Why do you think Saini is not in contention?

Honestly Umesh and Siraj can be wayward, I could see Australian batters having a field day against either of them.

Siraj swings the ball better than Saini, he is perfect choice for pink test.
But Saini also performed well in practice match with pink ball.
Lets see.

Making his debut for India in the 2nd Test vs Australia tonight - wish him luck.

Won't get a better opportunity than this to make a name for himself. Should get 3 tests in this series. :inti

Feel for him really. Comes from my city and a very humble background. Debuting against Aussies at the MCG. Hope he takes it well.

He should have Ideally debuted in one of the games against WI , Ban, Afg etc in the 2018-19 period.

Feel for him really. Comes from my city and a very humble background. Debuting against Aussies at the MCG. Hope he takes it well.

He should have Ideally debuted in one of the games against WI , Ban, Afg etc in the 2018-19 period.

Hyderabadi?
good to hear:)

All the best to Siraj, debuting on the MCG with 50,l000 fans (due to COVID) is a dream come true fro any player.

Go well young man.

My man bowling beautifully and bowling better than Umesh Yadav. Indian success will depend a lot on his young shoulders.

Why do you think Saini is not in contention?

Honestly Umesh and Siraj can be wayward, I could see Australian batters having a field day against either of them.

Saini needs more time. Siraj is ready and has the X factor in him to succeed. He will need good support from Kohli in the future. Siraj style is suited to longer formats.

Yeah, and has 38 first class games under his belt. And that's my point, I guess. You shouldn't be learning to hit a consistent line & length in test cricket.
He has also been on many A-tours in SENA so has more experience than young Naseem in these conditions.

Should have debuted in 2018 and instead of umesh he should be backup bowler for overseas.

Well done Siraj.
I like the way he bowling full lengths and skiddy.
Very useful bowler in SENA.

Bowled really way today. Wasn't very impressive in his first spell though understandable as he would have been nervous because of the debut.
But once he got his first wicket he was class along. Bowled the ideal test match length and swung the ball both ways! Good test match prospect.

Terrific bowling on debut. Really glad to see him doing well, in fact Indian test bowling as a whole looks to be in tremendous form considering we are missing 2 of our key bowlers, Shami and Ishant.

Brilliant debut. Not only picked wickets but even took a couple of very good catches.

So heartwarming to see two debutants coming good for India on a huge day.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION], what is your first impression of Siraj?

Did they pick Shardul for Tests? Siraj in my opinion, is best suited for Test cricket.

Yes Shardul was selected for the home tour against Westindies 2 years back instead of Siraj and Shardul only bowled 2 overs got injured.

Bowled well considering he was brought in late

Should get new ball next innings

Yes Shardul was selected for the home tour against Westindies 2 years back instead of Siraj and Shardul only bowled 2 overs got injured.

Only a bewda or a ego maniac or a lobbyist will pick Thakur over Siraj.

Mohammed Siraj on Saturday became the 298th player to play Test cricket for India and he made the occasion special by returning a fine bowling performance, one that saw him pick up 2/40. Siraj got the wicket of the dangerous Marnus Labuschagne just when Australia were looking to rebuild through a partnership between him and Travis Head. Labuschagne and Head had added 86 runs for the fourth wicket before Siraj had him caught by fellow debutant Shubman Gill at fine leg.

After the end of play on Day 1, Siraj was interviewed by India’s fielding coach R Sridhar. Siraj revealed he felt a range of emotions when he received his Test cap from off-spinner R Ashwin. It wasn’t until the 28th over that Siraj wasn’t handed the ball and the fast bowler revealed how all that while he was itching to get his hands on the ball.

“When I got the cap, I felt it was the biggest achievement of my life. I gained a lot of confidence speaking with Ajju bhai (Ajinkya Rahane) and Jassi bhai (Jasprit Bumrah),” he said. “My hands were itching to bowl out there, and after lunch when Ajju bhai told me to bowl, I began warming up. Then he said to me ‘you’ll only bowl for two overs’. Jadeja was to be brought on and rightly so because there was moisture on the wicket and it was helpful for the spinners.

“After lunch when I came in, it had turned into a batting wicket and my plan was to bowl as many dot balls as possible and build pressure.”

While Labuschagne’s dismissal was Siraj’s maiden wicket in Test, his other wicket – that of Cameron Green – was even better. It took time for Siraj to generate swing – after lunch – but once that happened, he looked a different bowler altogether. Siraj set Green up by bowling plenty of outswingers before delivering a ball that came back in and trapped the batsmen out LBW. An inswing bowler naturally, Siraj tested the Australian batsmen with the outgoing deliveries as well but the fast bowler admitted he was over the moon foxing Green.

“That is natural,” Siraj said when asked about the inswing. “I was trying to come close to the wickets as well as go wide of it. In swing comes naturally to me. To Cameron Green, my away swingers were landing well too. After bowling a few inswingers and I bowled two complete overs of outswing. Then I bowled one ball which was the inswinger which got him. It felt nice to set him up and get his wicket.”

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...er-the-ball/story-qZEV1ZxN7DBOzao6Cc0dbL.html

I thought he looked really good. Decent pace and bounce, good smooth action, hits a good test length and gets movement of the pitch and in the air. What else would you want in a fast bowler. Very good find for India, for sure.

He’s bowled really well on his test debut. Sure he’s not spectacular but looks like he can be a decent and reliable pacer for the test team when needed.

Many of our pace bowlers have had difficult first tours of down under but Siraj has looked test level from day one.

Good pacer to have esp if either of Ishant/Shami/Bumrah are injured, hopefully keeps improving..

Many of our pace bowlers have had difficult first tours of down under but Siraj has looked test level from day one.
I would say thanks to many of the A-tours he has done in SENA. He must have learned how to ball with kookaburra in these conditions during those games.