Players / Commentators who won't go to Pakistan for the PSL final?

Saj

Your thoughts on the situation where players and commentators have made the decision to not to go to Pakistan for the PSL?

Moneygrabbers who were quite happy to take the cash when matches were in UAE?

Fair decision, it's their livelihood and you respect their decision?

Would've been a bit more disappointed if they made this decision if all those blasts didn't go off but after that week of madness where so many lives were lost I don't think you can blame the players or commentators for not wanting to travel to Lahore for the final.

Completely fair decision. From there perspective, there is very little to gain but potentially everything to lose. Most of the folks in this thread who will criticize the foreign players would have done the same in this situation.

A bit disappointed, but I see their point of view too.

Maybe if from now to the next PSL nothing untoward happens (fingers crossed) then we will see more foreigners coming.

Their decision should be respected because as a person living in the west, the only news they hear about Pakistan is either related to violence or corruption. Hopefully we get better media coverage about our country then peoples mind will shift. Holding the PSL is still great initiative by the PCB

I think they done the right thing, why would you risk your life over a cricket game and money? It doesn't make any sense

"Moneygrabbers who were quite happy to take the cash when matches were in UAE?"

A bit harsh considering that they have just been 2 recent bombings in Lahore.
I personally think they should have held the final in the UAE.

Your thoughts on the situation where players and commentators have made the decision to not to go to Pakistan for the PSL?

I respect the foreigner's decision and understand their point of view.

Hopefully next year is when we can see a breakthrough and a plethora of foreigners in the PSL final.

Statistically, they have a higher chance of being killed in a road traffic accident, even in the UAE as well as their home country, than being killed due to terrorist action even in Pakistan. But I bet they won't stop driving, being a passenger in a car or even being a pedestrian crossing the road.

Its all about perception. Just need to change the perception.

Yes they won't, because commuting in cars or traveling in planes is unavoidable. However, not traveling to Lahore for a match is extremely avoidable - it is not an international match, and the PSL isn't their only source of income. From their point of view, it is simply not worth the risk, even if the have a 0.0001% chance of getting killed. Not everything in life is about statistics.

if foreign commentators are not going then Waqar Younis, Wasim Akram and Amir Sohail should be requested to accompany Rameez and Bazid in the com box.

Don't want Chishti Mujahid or any other annoying commentator

WRONG! the blasts in Lahore are an indirect threat to the players. Don't take them as normal beings who may or may not be victimized.

they've got a straightaway threat and they need to react in the appropriate manner

More people die in America falling off the bed whilst asleep then they do from Terrorist attacks yet it's still not stopping The Donald from trying to ban Muslims from entering the country 😳

Understandable given the violence last month. Terrorists have shown they can still strike in a major city like Lahore. Even the intelligence agencies say the risk remains high.

That risk would apply in Lahore too. They're common risks you face in any country.

Airplane crash flying to Lahore = risk
Bus accident from airport to hotel to stadium = risk

BUT in Lahore you add one more risk on top.

High profile target in a city with recent terror attacks = risk

By not going, they eliminate that final risk even if it is a minuscule one according to stats.

Completely fair decision. They can choose to not go even if Pakistan had not experienced any terror in a century. They have the right to put themselves and their family before a mere cricket game. Disappointed, yes. But can't judge them.

prof Deano yes man......
I think if peshawar would hav qualified for final on tuesday probably quettas or karachis players would also hav come..... it would hav make a lot of difference since peshawar players hav agreed.

Dean Jones regularly visits Pakistan. He also played a friendly match in Pakistan with Wasim & Inzi last year.

respect,,,,, he had also came for islamabad victory match last year..... where his team lost..... that match was a thriller as well

That risk would apply in Lahore too. They're common risks you face in any country.

Airplane crash flying to Lahore = risk
Bus accident from airport to hotel to stadium = risk

BUT in Lahore you add one more risk on top.

High profile target in a city with recent terror attacks = risk

By not going, they eliminate that final risk even if it is a minuscule one according to stats.
Which is balanced out by all the other risks mentioned being vastly reduced for these VIP players and commentators due to being provided with extra security, extra safety measures and better quality of transport, as opposed to them driving a car in heavy traffic, riding a bus or crossing a busy road on an average day when they are not being treated like royalty.

Yes they won't, because commuting in cars or traveling in planes is unavoidable. However, not traveling to Lahore for a match is extremely avoidable - it is not an international match, and the PSL isn't their only source of income. From their point of view, it is simply not worth the risk, even if the have a 0.0001% chance of getting killed. Not everything in life is about statistics.
I guess on that basis, I had better not come to Pakistan again. As a 'foreigner' (ie UK citizen) I am more at risk than, say, someone like you who lives there permanently.

Even though it was expected that some high profile names will refuse to travel, it's still disappointing. With the sort of security that will be provided to the players, it not their lives which are at risk. It's about the lives of the security persons and common people that could be in danger. That's why the final shouldn't have happened in Pakistan this year after succession of blasts in the country.

I guess on that basis, I had better not come to Pakistan again. As a 'foreigner' (ie UK citizen) I am more at risk than, say, someone like you who lives there permanently.

Of course, if you come to Pakistan regularly, your chances of getting killed in a terrorist attack increase, so as a permanent citizen, my chances are certainly higher than yours. However, you are not at a greater risk for being a 'foreigner' because even though you are a UK citizen, you are still a desi. Unless you walk around flaunting your burgundy passport, reminding everyone that you are British and not Pakistani, your chances don't really increase.

In addition, you hold dual citizenship, so you are a Pakistani as well. Apart from ethnicity, the other difference between you and the foreign players is that you are not famous, so you are not going to be targeted by the terrorists. My chances of getting killed due to terrorism are greater than yours only because I spend more time in Pakistan, and not because you are a foreigner, due to the aforementioned reasons.

I don't agree with the thinking that hosting the final in Lahore was a wrong decision because it has put the life of security personnel at risk. Well, that is there job and that is what they signed up for in the first place. The lives of security personnel are always at a greater risk.

A lot of people avoid going to certain public places because of the possibility of a bomb blowing off, but you still have security personnel guarding those places. That is simply the nature of their job, and you cannot take their personal risk into consideration. Cynical it may sound, but the only concern here is the lives of the foreign players. Yes all lives should be equal, but some will be there on duty.

I don't agree with the thinking that hosting the final in Lahore was a wrong decision because it has put the life of security personnel at risk. Well, that is there job and that is what they signed up for in the first place. The lives of security personnel are always at a greater risk.

A lot of people avoid going to certain public places because of the possibility of a bomb blowing off, but you still have security personnel guarding those places. That is simply the nature of their job, and you cannot take their personal risk into consideration. Cynical it may sound, but the only concern here is the lives of the foreign players. Yes all lives should be equal, but some will be there on duty.

To use an extreme example...
Would any western army send in their troops when the likely outcome is death to everyone?

Or

Would you drive a Ferrari at full speed around a race track knowing there is a brickwall at the end of the circuit?

Poor taste mate, No one is a moneygrabber. UAE they were safe and didn't have to risk their lives. Pakistan in the current situation knowing there have been bomb scares around, I wouldn't go if I was paid money and half the people here who are calling these players money grabbers wouldn't go either if it came to them.

Its not even representing their own country, they are going there on "business", if something does happen, There is no going back or second chances for them.

Poor taste mate, No one is a moneygrabber. UAE they were safe and didn't have to risk their lives. Pakistan in the current situation knowing there have been bomb scares around, I wouldn't go if I was paid money and half the people here who are calling these players money grabbers wouldn't go either if it came to them.

Its not even representing their own country, they are going there on "business", if something does happen, There is no going back or second chances for them.

with all due respect but I doubt most people would care if you went anyway. Even if rivers of milk and honey were flowing your media would find a way to turn it around...but moving along..

Deano is a legend..now if your sincere about helping Pakistan cricket you would do what Deano has done..the rest well sorry to say but its all about the cash. Pakistan cricket can rot and the people of Pakistan are irrelevant..where did standing up to the terrorists go? mnnh..Je Suis Pakistan?

To use an extreme example...
Would any western army send in their troops when the likely outcome is death to everyone?

Or

Would you drive a Ferrari at full speed around a race track knowing there is a brickwall at the end of the circuit?

The U.S. invaded Iraq (wrongly, but let's look at it from their POV) fully knowing that a lot of their soldiers will die, but they deemed the invasion necessary for their cause so they were willing to risk the lives of a good number of soldiers in order to achieve what they wanted to achieve.

Similarly, the PCB thinks (again, we have to look at it from their POV) that it is necessary to host the final in Lahore because a lot of good can potentially come out of it, and it can help bring international cricket back to the country. They know the risks but they have faith that the Presidential level security will ensure that there is no act of terrorism. The safety of the foreign players is obviously of paramount importance, unlike the safety of the security personnel who will be doing their job. Similarly, the safety of the Zimbabwean players was more important than the safety of the police officers who lost their lives during a botched suicide attack outside the Gaddafi Stadium during the second ODI.

If we go by this logic, then no war is justified because it puts the lives of soldiers at risk for political and economic gain, and putting their lives at risk is not justifiable. However, this is not how the world works, otherwise the security personnel in Pakistan would have refused to provide security for the PSL final because it is not worth their lives, but that is now how it is. They understand that it is their duty and their lives are less important than the lives of the foreign players in this case.

The second example is illogical because a) it means certain 100% death b) there is no possible gain. I have absolutely no chance of surviving if I crash a Ferrari into a brick-wall at 200 mph, and I have absolutely nothing to gain from it even if I somehow survive because of a miracle, so this is pure suicide. On the other hand, the chances of a terrorist attack during the final are far, far lower than the chances of getting killed in the aforementioned example, and plenty of good can come out of it everything goes smoothly according to plan.

Deano acha larka hai yaar. He always tried to help Pakistan cricket.

with all due respect but I doubt most people would care if you went anyway. Even if rivers of milk and honey were flowing your media would find a way to turn it around...but moving along..

Deano is a legend..now if your sincere about helping Pakistan cricket you would do what Deano has done..the rest well sorry to say but its all about the cash. Pakistan cricket can rot and the people of Pakistan are irrelevant..where did standing up to the terrorists go? mnnh..Je Suis Pakistan?

I think it is a very naive thought that Dean Jones is coming because he cares and is sincere about helping Pakistan cricket. He is coming because unlike some of the other players, he is less risk-averse.

Different people have different capacity to take risks due to multiple factors and reasons. Dean Jones is prepared to take a risk because of X amount of $, but some of the other players weren't. There is no right or wrong here. Also, Dean Jones has traveled to Pakistan a few times lately, but he didn't do that for free either. He was invited by PTV as an expert and of course, he got paid a handsome amount.

This tells us nothing more than the fact that Dean Jones has the capacity to take risks if he deems the reward to be greater than the perceived risk. There is no goodwill involved here.

The U.S. invaded Iraq (wrongly, but let's look at it from their POV) fully knowing that a lot of their soldiers will die, but they deemed the invasion necessary for their cause so they were willing to risk the lives of a good number of soldiers in order to achieve what they wanted to achieve.

Similarly, the PCB thinks (again, we have to look at it from their POV) that it is necessary to host the final in Lahore because a lot of good can potentially come out of it, and it can help bring international cricket back to the country. They know the risks but they have faith that the Presidential level security will ensure that there is no act of terrorism. The safety of the foreign players is obviously of paramount importance, unlike the safety of the security personnel who will be doing their job. Similarly, the safety of the Zimbabwean players was more important than the safety of the police officers who lost their lives during a botched suicide attack outside the Gaddafi Stadium during the second ODI.

If we go by this logic, then no war is justified because it puts the lives of soldiers at risk for political and economic gain, and putting their lives at risk is not justifiable. However, this is not how the world works, otherwise the security personnel in Pakistan would have refused to provide security for the PSL final because it is not worth their lives, but that is now how it is. They understand that it is their duty and their lives are less important than the lives of the foreign players in this case.

The second example is illogical because a) it means certain 100% death b) there is no possible gain. I have absolutely no chance of surviving if I crash a Ferrari into a brick-wall at 200 mph, and I have absolutely nothing to gain from it even if I somehow survive because of a miracle, so this is pure suicide. On the other hand, the chances of a terrorist attack during the final are far, far lower than the chances of getting killed in the aforementioned example, and plenty of good can come out of it everything goes smoothly according to plan.

I was trying to give extreme examples where the outcome is only catastrophic death...

The point was that is risking the lives of security officials over a game of cricket in the current environment worth it? Let's just say that god forbid there is even one life lost due to this then we have every right to be angry at the PCB and the government.

I was trying to give extreme examples where the outcome is only catastrophic death...

The point was that is risking the lives of security officials over a game of cricket in the current environment worth it? Let's just say that god forbid there is even one life lost due to this then we have every right to be angry at the PCB and the government.

Cricket doesn't cause death, terrorism does. Don't live in fear. Life must go on. Have faith it will be fine.

Have you heard about Baghdad Derby? In Baghdad, Irag. More than 70k people go to watch with all the threats and what not. And here, we are talking about a one off game in Lahore.

This situation is far less catastrophic than driving a Ferrari at top speed into a brick-wall, so these extremely analogies are pointless. Secondly, if we start evaluating the risk of the lives of the security officials, then the government cannot undertake any risky operation, because even if one policeman or soldier loses his life, then it becomes worthless.

Using this logic, the decision to host Zimbabwe in 2015 was also worthless because a few policeman lost their lives when they stopped a suicide bomber outside the Gaddafi Stadium, but if we starting look at things from this point of view, i.e. a Deontological perspective, than any such event that puts the life of a security official at risk is not worth it. Be it a cricket match, a music concert, opening a shopping mall, restaurant etc., because in Pakistan, public places with large gatherings are always at risk. Sometimes, and most times in such cases and examples, you have to look at the bigger picture and undertake the course of action that maximizes overall benefit.

If you put up one big flag pole and make a song and dance about it, for sure it will attract elements that will think making an incidence around the flag pole will give them the publicity they seek and/or the fear they will create.

However, if the whole area is full of flagpoles, albeit with some slightly taller than others, the publicity value in causing an incidence is reduced. And so is the risk to any single one of them. Even more so if the flag poles start off being of modest size and are increased in height progressively over time.

That's how they should have started with playing the PSL in Pakisan, slowly and gradually, even if meant not such high profile foreign players at the beginning in the first season or so. Whereas making such a big deal by only holding a one-off match, and the final at that, is simply asking for trouble. It's like holding a red rag in front of a bull and saying "c'mon, attack us if you are man enough!"

This situation is far less catastrophic than driving a Ferrari at top speed into a brick-wall, so these extremely analogies are pointless. Secondly, if we start evaluating the risk of the lives of the security officials, then the government cannot undertake any risky operation, because even if one policeman or soldier loses his life, then it becomes worthless.

Using this logic, the decision to host Zimbabwe in 2015 was also worthless because a few policeman lost their lives when they stopped a suicide bomber outside the Gaddafi Stadium, but if we starting look at things from this point of view, i.e. a Deontological perspective, than any such event that puts the life of a security official at risk is not worth it. Be it a cricket match, a music concert, opening a shopping mall, restaurant etc., because in Pakistan, public places with large gatherings are always at risk. Sometimes, and most times in such cases and examples, you have to look at the bigger picture and undertake the course of action that maximizes overall benefit.

Mamoon, really?

I think most people in human society would rather forgo a series against Zimbabwe then to have police officers killed

Mamoon, really?

I think most people in human society would rather forgo a series against Zimbabwe then to have police officers killed

The police officer might still die. I don't think you are getting it.

You can't put life on hold just because there is a risk. There is a risk in everything.

These terrorists win when you stop doing normal things out of fear. You beat them by not being affected. Pakistanis are not cowards, life must go on.

The police officer might still die. I don't think you are getting it.

You can't put life on hold just because there is a risk. There is a risk in everything.

These terrorists win when you stop doing normal things out of fear. You beat them by not being affected. Pakistanis are not cowards, life must go on.

Easy to say that while sitting in the comforts of your home when your own life isn't in danger.

Okay then stop playing cricket. Stop being normal. Hide in your house. Lets see what a laughing stock Pakistan will become.

You think USA hid in their homes when 9/11 happened? No they tackled it head on. Every western country knows the value of normality and perceptions.

Look at Paris, multiple terrorist attacks but nobody minds going there, nobody is hiding.

Punjab and Sindh are probably one of the safest places in the Muslim world. Its perception that needs changing.

Its all about perception. Just need to change the perception.

You have a higher chance of food poisoning when eating compared to not eating , you wouldn't stop eating would you ?
A car accident isn't an intentional action by someone trying to hurt you or kill you....a terrorist act is. If you know if you go to a certain place and people there may try to harm you kill you INTENTIONALLY , you wouldn't wanna go there would you ? Statistics do not tell much about causation.

Mamoon, really?

I'm not sure if you got my point. If any government thinks like that, it will never be able to take on any venture with an element of risk because it will mean putting the lives of the security personnel at risk.

Using this logic, France should not have hosted the Euro 2016 either. At that time, there was considerable risk of ISIS in Europe and the French government imposed intense security measures. Why did they not refuse to host the tournament knowing that there is a risk and their security officials might die? Simply because the French government as well as FIFA had faith in the capability of the security personnel and knew that the players and officials will not be harmed. They were prepared to risk the lives of the security officials for the tournament to take place.

Is a football tournament worth the lives of a few security officials? The French and FIFA certainly thought so. If they didn't, France wouldn't have hosted the tournament.

I guess for some though there is a bit of anger at those who are speaking Urdu and Punjabi on commentary and declaring their undying love for Pakistani etc yet when it comes to supporting Pakistan cricket for a few hours they aren't interested?

tbh its a good thing Wilkins wont be commentating in the final. He has been pathetic all tournament and I'd much rather have Dean Jones commentating instead of him. Danny will be missed though.

[MENTION=5495]Boi[/MENTION] yes they should bin Wilkins after this edition he has been nothing but cringeworthy this year. Would rather have someone like Fazeer Mohammed.

I guess for some though there is a bit of anger at those who are speaking Urdu and Punjabi on commentary and declaring their undying love for Pakistani etc yet when it comes to supporting Pakistan cricket for a few hours they aren't interested?

Which commentators if any are coming to the final?

[MENTION=5495]Boi[/MENTION] yes they should bin Wilkins after this edition he has been nothing but cringeworthy this year. Would rather have someone like Fazeer Mohammed.

I cringe every time Wilkins goes 'chakaaa' after a six. :facepalm:

Who's coming from Zalmi?

Sammy wasn't sure at post match ceremony.

I think players and commentators going to pakistan may be for around 10-12 hours will largely be safe but it's hard to convince everyone that they are safe. When they hear the news of secure places like airports and police lines attacked by terrorists , they doubt our ability to actually do what we say. You can not blame the foreigners , i too have decided against going to ground on that day.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] he used to be a pretty good commie a few years ago but really has dropped off a cliff. him saying chakaaa is super cringy as is him always insisting on saying Urdu phrases all the time. I get T20 is tamasha but there is a certain level of professionalism that needs to be maintained

I don't understand that the likes of Symonds, McGrath, Lara etc. had not problem coming to Pakistan, but Mel Jones, Wilkins and Danny is fearing for security. The formers probably had very little security and stayed for long period of time while the later are required to stay less then 24 hours.

Somebody whisper in Wilkins ear that his Urdu is getting very very cringeworthy and the novelty factor has long since worn off.

I cringe every time Wilkins goes 'chakaaa' after a six. :facepalm:

fazeer MOHAMMAd will be awsome.he does his home work and knowsmuch about the players..wilkins just speak english nothing else..waqar is good addition....ur suggestions??

To be honest, it is not only a fair decision but the only rational decision. Risking your life for a cricket match just to appease a foreign cricket board? There is not enough money in the world - well, maybe there is, but $50,000 is not it.

Somebody whisper in Wilkins ear that his Urdu is getting very very cringeworthy and the novelty factor has long since worn off.

Interesting point.

This guy makes out as if he is Pakistan and Pakistan cricket's biggest supporter, but then at the time of the final he says No Thanks. A bit hypocritical no?

fazeer MOHAMMAd will be awsome.he does his home work and knowsmuch about the players..wilkins just speak english nothing else..waqar is good addition....ur suggestions??

Yes he is really good. Waqar is decent, at least he is professional and doesn't try hard to sound funny like Wilkins and Danny. Ian Bishop is easily the best commentator in PSL, and although people don't like him, I think Rambo is great and the true voice of Pakistan cricket. A Pakistan or PSL match without him is not the same.

Rambo is our ATG commentator. I think people try to act cool and different by showing hate for him. Nobody comes close from Pak.

From the PSL team, Bishop is indeed the best. Sad he won't be in Lhr.

Rambo is our ATG commentator. I think people try to act cool and different by showing hate for him. Nobody comes close from Pak.

From the PSL team, Bishop is indeed the best. Sad he won't be in Lhr.

Yes there is no one like Rambo. Adds so much personality to the game and is a legend in the commentary box. The only Pakistani commentator who is highly respected everywhere and has global appeal. People don't like him because he is often too critical, but at least he is not biased like Wasim who keeps referring to Pakistan as 'we'.

but i think rambo does not do home work specially for post match presentation and he does not know about our domestic which makes me angry sometimes.as a professional u should have thourogh
knowledge about ur domestic players..

I am tempted to call out Danny Morrison on twitter and tell him how fake he is as an individual.

but i think rambo does not do home work specially for post match presentation and he does not know about our domestic which makes me angry sometimes.as a professional u should have thourogh
knowledge about ur domestic players..

True, he needs to improve on that front, but his positives outweigh his negatives.

I don't understand that the likes of Symonds, McGrath, Lara etc. had not problem coming to Pakistan, but Mel Jones, Wilkins and Danny is fearing for security. The formers probably had very little security and stayed for long period of time while the later are required to stay less then 24 hours.

I second this.

All of them came over, did their punditry stints and left without extra security and without any problems. I am confused as to why Mel and Wilkins think they'd be targets.