Players who'll go on to be commentators in future

Chrish

Prediction thread regarding which players you feel would turn into commentators or analysts once their sport career is over. My prediction:

Sangakkara

Ashwin

Steyn

From Pakistan I would dearly love someone to replace Ramiz. He is so bad that he makes Sanath Jayasuria sound like a good commentator.

Ramiz is bad???

What do you classify as someone to be a good commentator

He is the most clear voiced commie from Pakistan. He isn't a tryhard like Waqar, talks smoothly.

Shan Masood should retire and jump in to the commentary box. Will do a better job there.

Mohammad Hafeez.

He talks alot about the technical aspects of the game.

While we are at it, who remembers Mohammad Akram from the Sky sports days :)))

I think Hafeez for Pakistan could be a decent bloke behind the mike. His english is decent enough aswell.

I would welcome Sangakara with open arms. Russel Arnold is ANNOYING to listen too. Super one dimensional and I personally do not like his commentary.

Malik has reasonable insight, He will be a fine commentator.

Will be good to listen him.

its not really about insight. Its about having a proper voice that you could understand while you watch the game.

A person trying hard to gather his words and isn't natural is not enjoyable.

the reason why many of our pretend english commies in domestic cricket are terrible is because of this.

They think by using a cliche or a hard pronouncing word to explain something will make them stand out better.

Ramiz is terrible. His analysis are always flawed and he's always forwarding an agenda. His bashing of Pakistan gets unbearable too. I can just see Misbah ul Haq be a good commentator.

Right now I'm just gonna state people who I would look to see as commentators from Pakistan

Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Imad Wasim
Azhar Ali
Misbah Ul Haq (Would Love to see him in the Com Box with someone like Gayle!)

Has anyone ever thought of Wahab Riaz? I remember his snaps before the team boarded for WI and he seems really confident and plus he's got good English. Maybe he could bring that "aggression" and "pace" to the commentary box

I can potentially see Ahmed Shehzad commentating too

Right now I'm just gonna state people who I would look to see as commentators from Pakistan

Mohammad Hafeez
Shoaib Malik
Imad Wasim
Azhar Ali
Misbah Ul Haq (Would Love to see him in the Com Box with someone like Gayle!)

Lol I just can't imagine Misbah going "WOWW" or "What.. a.. shot" he's a pretty calm guy commentators need to be active with their mouths and have expression. Misbah however, imo does not meet the criteria.

OP has the best picks so far. Kohli would be a horrible commie, lacks calm and his voice is irritating.

LOL hafeez would struggle big time. His English is poor.

Rameez is gets the job cause he is 1 on of the very few from pak related to cricket that can actually speak in English.

Ramiz is bad???

He is the most clear voiced commie from Pakistan. He isn't a tryhard like Waqar, talks smoothly.

He doesn't know anything about Pakistan's domestic cricket.He gets players names wrong on a regular basis and he always bashes the players he doesn't like,while overly praising the players he does like.He doesn't commentate on the finer aspects of the game.Yes his English is good,and his voice is smooth but he isn't as knowledgable about the game,or cricket in Pakistan as Waqar or someone like Bazid.

It's not only about havin proper insights, it's also about being fluent in English. You really think guys like Malik would be able to be a commentator in the future? The way he speaks his English is horrendous. Rameez, despite that a lot of people dislike him, has a clear/distinct voice and pronunciation. He deserves his job.

Ravi Ashwin does have a very good chance after retirement.

Hope Ponting will take up commentating in the near future. At least in ICC tourneys. Great cricket brain.

I like his insight but i don't think Bazid Khan will ever join the big league of commentators.

I would like to hear Afridi or Shoaib Akthar commentating one day, would be as epic as Waqar!

He doesn't know anything about Pakistan's domestic cricket.He gets players names wrong on a regular basis and he always bashes the players he doesn't like,while overly praising the players he does like.He doesn't commentate on the finer aspects of the game.Yes his English is good,and his voice is smooth but he isn't as knowledgable about the game,or cricket in Pakistan as Waqar or someone like Bazid.

Its almost embarrassing the amount of times he gets names wrong, foreigners fair enough but he cant even get our own players names right. cringe worthy to say the least.

Ramiz is bad???

Ramiz is one of the worst going around. He has a set of lines to use when commentating against a particular type. For fast bowling, he'll keep talking about pace and bounce. For batsmen, he'll talk about the need to rotate strike. To show his insight, he will mostly use things like 'there is a case of introducing Yasir Shah early' if opening bowlers haven't taken wicket for 5 overs or he will just say things like 'I think he should try bowling around the wicket angle'.

Ramiz doesn't have knowledge of any current Pakistan players, even the one who are in our regular eleven. He normally just goes with the flow, the way the player is performing is the way Ramiz Raja is going to describe him E.g. Shehzad hits a 4 'Shehzad is an attacking batsman who generally plays with a good strike rate' Shehzad plays dots 'He needs to improve his ability to play at a good pace'. In my circle, we usually say 'behti ganga k sath chlta hai Ramiz'.

I watch and listen games very attentively. Just listen his commentary properly, you will find him saying the same set of lines in each game.

Malik was beyond terrible in Hindi commentary during WC15. No insights, monotone, dull voice, no excitement even for boundries/milestones. It was all "aur ye boundry ki taraf ja rahi hai" type.

Hafeez can be insightful, but dont expect him to be exciting. Should do test commentary in future perhaps.

Shahid Afridi, Imad Wasim, Wahab Riaz should be good

It's not only about havin proper insights, it's also about being fluent in English. You really think guys like Malik would be able to be a commentator in the future? The way he speaks his English is horrendous. Rameez, despite that a lot of people dislike him, has a clear/distinct voice and pronunciation. He deserves his job.

Ravi Ashwin does have a very good chance after retirement.

Exactly.

People here are going on about how one should be insightful and all, but if you have a sluggish voice the insights dont matter.

Look at chisty mujahid. Boring commie.

One needs to be fluent to commentate.

Rameez is the only voice who is fluent in english in Pakistan

Bazid is ok, he isnt bad. But bazid needs more years to open up more

I can fully envision professor becoming a commentator in the future and criticising players for batting to slowly or being selfish

Misbah ul Haq , Hafeez and Malik.

not Misbah.

Hes a shy kind of person. For a commie you need to be very energetic and talk alot and express yourself with emotions.

He won't do that

He is better suited for the post match analysis.

not Misbah.

Hes a shy kind of person. For a commie you need to be very energetic and talk alot and express yourself with emotions.

He won't do that

He is better suited for the post match analysis.

He's alright, will do very well if given the opportunity. He has potential, he just needs someone like a Najam Sethi to wind him up a little bit to bring out a bit of fire; but that interview proved to me he is actually a very articulate and insightful human being when it comes to conveying his thoughts and ideas so he will do fine

he is very insightful, but this is a problem with fans.

They think being insightful is good.
For a commie, being insightful is secondary, Primary is how he speaks, how fluent he is.

As its the commentary that makes the viewers interested to a match, not the insights.

Insights are just needed when things get boring and you need to add words in to the commentary.

Main thing is your english fluency. As its the commies who take the game along for the next 8 hours

For a commie, being insightful is secondary, Primary is how he speaks, how fluent he is.

As its the commentary that makes the viewers interested to a match, not the insights.

Insights are just needed when things get boring and you need to add words in to the commentary.

Main thing is your english fluency. As its the commies who take the game along for the next 8 hours

Misbah is very fluent on the microphone, am completely cool with his delivery. Enjoy his dry humour as well, he can come across a little robotic but am cool with it and am from the UK, there are others who come across as freshies with their accent that puts me off a lot more but Misbah does not have a freshie accent.

Ramiz is bad???

Ramiz is the worst....Bazid is probably the best. Waqar has substance.

Ramiz is one of the worst going around. He has a set of lines to use when commentating against a particular type. For fast bowling, he'll keep talking about pace and bounce. For batsmen, he'll talk about the need to rotate strike. To show his insight, he will mostly use things like 'there is a case of introducing Yasir Shah early' if opening bowlers haven't taken wicket for 5 overs or he will just say things like 'I think he should try bowling around the wicket angle'.

Ramiz doesn't have knowledge of any current Pakistan players, even the one who are in our regular eleven. He normally just goes with the flow, the way the player is performing is the way Ramiz Raja is going to describe him E.g. Shehzad hits a 4 'Shehzad is an attacking batsman who generally plays with a good strike rate' Shehzad plays dots 'He needs to improve his ability to play at a good pace'. In my circle, we usually say 'behti ganga k sath chlta hai Ramiz'.

I watch and listen games very attentively. Just listen his commentary properly, you will find him saying the same set of lines in each game.

same observation. He also says..."X played a good shot, that was a good shot because.....(lost for a reason)....PAUSE....comes up with a lame reason"

Ramiz is bad???

Ramiz is the most terrible commie, Waqar is such a classy commentator man!

Has anyone ever thought of Wahab Riaz? I remember his snaps before the team boarded for WI and he seems really confident and plus he's got good English. Maybe he could bring that "aggression" and "pace" to the commentary box

I can potentially see Ahmed Shehzad commentating too

He's got a different voice and fulfills all the aspects that a commie needs... [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] ?

Ramiz is bad???

Ramiz is awful. You praise him for his clear voice and being easy to understand but that works to his detriment because it's easy to see that Ramiz says nothing of value at any point during five days of a test.

He's awful. The only good thing he's ever done was that beef with Mohammed Yousuf.

Bazid Khan is easily the best Asian commentator, he understands the game, tries to explain what is happening for the viewers and he has a decent knowledge of Pakistani domestic cricket.

Bazid Khan + Fazeer Mohammed is the dream team for this Caribbean tour, where they actually add to what is happening on the pitch unlike the other more famous names who provide nothing but cringeworthy banter and recycled anecdotes.

This is the typical desi attitude, placing style over substance. Doesn't matter if you are good at your job, as long as you can pretend that you are.

You can't complain about Afridi or Umar Akmal having undeserved levels of fan adulation then turn around and say that being "insightful is secondary" when it comes to commentators.

I don't care if a commentator is soothing to my ears if listening to him is agony for my brain.

Who cares about accents. Typical inferiority complex.

Misbah would be a brilliant commentator.

Misbah is very fluent on the microphone, am completely cool with his delivery. Enjoy his dry humour as well, he can come across a little robotic but am cool with it and am from the UK, there are others who come across as freshies with their accent that puts me off a lot more but Misbah does not have a freshie accent.

I would love to hear a Brummie accent in the commentary box. :))) The occasional Punjabi and the slang. :trump

Prediction thread regarding which players you feel would turn into commentators or analysts once their sport career is over. My prediction:

Sangakkara

Ashwin

Steyn

Shoaib Malik (for sure, he has that persona along with that Indian Connection)

Imad Wasim, Professor, Wahab, Umar Amin, Shan Masood.

Professor within 2 years. Would be good Commie.

This is the typical desi attitude, placing style over substance. Doesn't matter if you are good at your job, as long as you can pretend that you are.

You can't complain about Afridi or Umar Akmal having undeserved levels of fan adulation then turn around and say that being "insightful is secondary" when it comes to commentators.

I don't care if a commentator is soothing to my ears if listening to him is agony for my brain.
[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] has a point! In commentary you have to sell the moment. Style and tone take precedence over what is actually being said.

Ramiz Raja has been the voice of Pakistan cricket for close to 2 decades simply because he can speak better than anyone else in Pakistan cricket. But, this has led him to become complacent and a truly terrible commentator relying on his english skills. He is more suited to post-match presentation ceremonies.

The best commentators going around are Michael Atherton and Nasser Hussain, not because of their tone of voice or english skills but their in-depth analysis. The best Pakistani commentator is Wasim Akram in urdu/hindi but he becomes quite generic in english. I hope Bazid Khan becomes our main commentator though some find his tone of voice a bit dull, he has improved it a bit. If it's all about not being dull and bringing excitement to the game then Danny Morrison should be the ideal commentator but he's not, he's more suited to being a WWE commentator. The best voices are Michael Holding and Bill Lawry, with the deaths of Richie Beanaud and Tony Greig.

Misbah will most likely go into cricket administration but hopefully he commentates as well.
Shoaib Malik has on record said he plans to commentate.
Hafeez has great insights and would be great.
Shaan Masood doesn't look like commentary material, he's not very insightful and very reserved. Just because he speaks well doesn't mean he'll get commentary jobs.
Imad, Wahab, Shehzad speak better than the others but they are nowhere near Ramiz's speaking level and their ability to analyse the game is unknown.
Salman Butt is disgraced but his english is decent and his analysis is brilliant would love to see him in the commentary box.

[MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION] has a point! In commentary you have to sell the moment. Style and tone take precedence over what is actually being said.

If a moment needs you to shout like an idiot in order to sell it, then it's not a moment worth remembering.

Joe Root is a dead cert. Kohli too I reckon.

Suspect Azhar Ali can do a good job after he retires too, can see him taking over from Rambo somehow. Wahab's language skills are pretty decent too, but don't know if he has the patience or temperament to persevere in what is admittedly a fairly dull job unless you are hopelessly in love with the game.

bro even chisty Mujahid has insight, but the guy isn't even very fluent with his language.

A commentator is someone who carries the game by describing hte shot that has been played or left or the ball that has been bowled.

Now i like bazid when he gives out his insightful comments, but when he commentates on a ball being delivered, he sounds slow and isn't very interesting. Rameez on the other hand adds interest

People around here make Rameez look as if he his athar Ali Khan level of commie. He is much better.

Rameez is very good at whats required to be delivered from a commie, as for the insights, well there are two commies in one box at a time, so a proper combination could be made with him

People who are talking about Misbah doing commentating are thinking crazy here. The guy is a slow speaker, and can't even express his emotions that much. Yes he has insights, but like i said that fluency comes before insight.

You need a very fluent voice for commentating, Misbah is suited for post match analysis.

Bazid Khan + Fazeer Mohammed is the dream team for this Caribbean tour, where they actually add to what is happening on the pitch unlike the other more famous names who provide nothing but cringeworthy banter and recycled anecdotes.
Bishop is also an excellent commie.

A commentator is someone who carries the game by describing hte shot that has been played or left or the ball that has been bowled.

fOd1Zwy.gif

I don't need someone to describe the shot that was just played because guess what? I'm watching on TV, I literally just saw it with my own eyes.

A commentator is there to add context to what the viewer has just witnessed.

From Pakistan, Shan Masood. Get him out of the side and into the commentary box.

India : Ashwin, Pujara, KL Rahul, Vijay
Pakistan : Shehzad, Masood, Imad

As for other non asian countries. They all look like readymade commentators to me already. :inti