PML-N doing an extremely good job

Analyst

Since coming into power PML N has taken various steps (which previous govts could not do) to empower Pakistan economy. They also weathered the storm of PTI opposition and sitin and did not get into fight..

Following are few of the steps they took which could benefit Pak's economy:

China Pakistan Economic Corridor
3G auction
GSP+ Status
Record foreign exchange reserves
RLNG import
Approval of auto policy for 5 years
Women protection bill

Few of the issues were due from PPP tenure but PPP could not complete it due to its incometance. I want to appreciate their work especially Ishaq Dar!!!..

I hope they can do something for cricket too :p

This country is falling into the abyss cause of your vertically challenged leader.

If want to save this country, land of pure then we must cleanse ourselves from the impure

Yes we need to correct ourselves!! but i m just appreciating their good work...a lot of times i see lack of intent from Govts but this govt is trying to do alot of things within the limits of its political interest...i forgot to mention huge focus on infrastructural development which is helping thousands of people

I'd like to know what's the national debt now? And what it was before their tenure started?

Really good job.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/wVRg4qeuYNs" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Dude, I hope you have a heart that beats for Pakistan first. Have they wiped out 'load shedding' as they had claimed prior to the election? Summer is near, and as usual load shedding will make lives of people difficult.

Security should start from the poorest person on this land, the rulers should have zero security and protocol. This VIP culture is still strong. Can a common person meet PM? No. Does every person in this country get all the basic facilities/necessities of life? No. And check our foreign debts as well. We don't need any bill to protect our women, Islam already has told us to respect and protect women.

This government is a liar. There is no hope from this government. In fact, there is no hope from this fake democracy. The mentioned projects are good but overall these things can't cover them up completely.

No brother. they have been well short on education and health sectors. watch Talat's last few shows on beautiful governance of Khadm e Punjab.

There was a time when I would get wound up by something like this but as the PK people are happy, then we as ex pats should accept and move on. The one thing I find annoying is that people vote for the PML and then complain about corruption.

Yes same for me, i have very genuine reasons to oppose PMLN (i do admit they have done some good work as well) but if Pakistani people are happy with them and will bring them back in 2018 then their choice should be respected. Let's admit, corruption is hardly an issue for most people so point crying about it.

You have really low expectations from this government if you consider that list as extremely good job. They promised to deal with the problem of load shedding during their campaign back in 2013. Do I see that on the list? Nope.

Yes, Imran would do better magically and mythically.

It's not about Imran fixing things magically, no one can do that but at least he has his priorities sorted i.e. Education, Health, police reforms, institutions building , power devolution, environment etc. There is also development projects where required but surely not as glamorous as Sharifs.
Anyone would make Zardari's disastrous 5 years look good and that's what's happening.

Dude, I hope you have a heart that beats for Pakistan first. Have they wiped out 'load shedding' as they had claimed prior to the election? Summer is near, and as usual load shedding will make lives of people difficult.

Security should start from the poorest person on this land, the rulers should have zero security and protocol. This VIP culture is still strong. Can a common person meet PM? No. Does every person in this country get all the basic facilities/necessities of life? No. And check our foreign debts as well. We don't need any bill to protect our women, Islam already has told us to respect and protect women.

This government is a liar. There is no hope from this government. In fact, there is no hope from this fake democracy. The mentioned projects are good but overall these things can't cover them up completely.

Alot of power projects are in pipeline and some of them have achieved financial close but yes in power sector there is alot of improvement

No brother. they have been well short on education and health sectors. watch Talat's last few shows on beautiful governance of Khadm e Punjab.

True..obviously they are not perfect a lot of area lacking focus! but yes the intent is there...i hope they address education and health issues too

You have really low expectations from this government if you consider that list as extremely good job. They promised to deal with the problem of load shedding during their campaign back in 2013. Do I see that on the list? Nope.

Sorry i missed that..loadshedding has been reduced but the problem is not totally eradicated...a lot of power projects are being established but they have yet failed to privatize non performing power companies..they hvnt been perfect in this regard i agree

I agree, they have surpassed expectations, even those of Insaafiyans but of course, they don't have the courage to admit it.

This country is on the right track, but eliminating Taliban shall remain a challenge.

We want a progressive, secular Pakistan. At this moment, only Nawaz has the guts to take progressive measures, unlike a certain leader whose first priority is to please the Mullahs.

I dont know people are strange suddenly discussion changed to what Imran Khan will do when the initial topic was what PML N is doing in Government.

They hanged Mumtaz Qadri the murderer too. This counts big in a mullah-crazy country

PMLN is doing a pretty good job. Still lots need to be done especially in health and education sector.

IK has as about much chance to come to power as me. Let the people enjoy the PML but as my old law teacher used to say Caveat Emptor. Somebody has to pick up the tab for the huge increase in the national debt and every PK thinks that it will be someone else. The only people certain not contribute is the elite which is basically the Sharifs and family and friends and the Zardari/Bhutto clan and their **** lickers. Please dont complain when the bills come through the post.

They have exceeded my expectation so far

However that still doesnt constitute to being a good job. Just shows the low expectations

Sorry i missed that..loadshedding has been reduced but the problem is not totally eradicated...a lot of power projects are being established but they have yet failed to privatize non performing power companies..they hvnt been perfect in this regard i agree
After spending billions of Rupees from Public Money on Quaid e Azam Solar Project Bahawalpur with a claim that it will produce 2000 Megawatts electricity it isn't even producing 20 Megawatts. And Now after 3 years and billions of public money dumped the Minister of Power has to say this

ISLAMABAD - Minister of Water and Power Khawaja Asif said yesterday that sunlight was the most expensive source of power generation and cost of producing one unit of electricity through solar energy was Rs22.81, whereas power generation through hydel source only cost Rs 1.78.
In his written reply to a question put by lawmaker Shamasun Nisa, Khawaja Asif said electricity generation through gas cost Rs7.97, nuclear 8.33, import from Iran Rs10.49, furnace oil Rs11.74, bagasse Rs11.78, coal Rs12.06, wind Rs14.31 while power generation through high speed diesel cost Rs18.61. Answering another question, the minister highlighted different projects including solar, initiated under the regime of present government.
He said his ministry completed under construction projects on war-footing and tapped/identified various resources which included solar power projects in Lal Sohanra, wind power projects in Sindh and coal and nuclear based power plant at Thar Sindh, Sahiwal and costal area of Karachi.
Answering a question from Dr Shazia Sobia, the minister said that per unit cost of electricity had been increased from Rs4.25 in 2007 to Rs11.40 in 2016.
He said in 2007 Nepra determined cost of one unit of electricity was Rs5.31, whereas government determined tariff was Rs4.25. Giving per year details, he said the Nepra tariff escalated to Rs9.57 in year 2010, whereas government determined tariff was Rs7.29. Asif said in June 2015 the Nepra notified electricity price went up to Rs12.33, whereas the present government notified tariff was Rs11.40.
Kh Asif said construction works on the Neelum-Jhelum Hydropower Project was in full swing, however, no electricity was being generated from the project. It was expected to start generation by July/August 2017. Answering another question, he said government had levied Neelum-Jhelum surcharge on electricity consumers except KESC to meet part of the financing requirements of the project, which was approximately 11 percent of the project cost.
He said federal government had not received any offer from China for construction of small dams on various rivers of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab to generate electricity.
The minister said feasibility study of 4,000MW, Thakot Hydropower Project had been initiated in January 2016, which would take two years. Later on, detailed engineering design and preparation of tender documents will require another two and half years. After feasibility and detailed engineering design and tender documents, the project can be started in 2020, he said.

http://nation.com.pk/islamabad/15-Mar-2016/solar-power-most-expensive-kh-asif

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

I agree, they have surpassed expectations, even those of Insaafiyans but of course, they don't have the courage to admit it.

This country is on the right track, but eliminating Taliban shall remain a challenge.

We want a progressive, secular Pakistan. At this moment, only Nawaz has the guts to take progressive measures, unlike a certain leader whose first priority is to please the Mullahs.

Thanks for seconding my views!!!!

It's 11.53 according to NEPRA now, the price has been cut. The more solar plants are there and the price will be reduced gradually.

The world is turning to Solar energy & investing it and we are a Jahil qoaum criticising everything without knowing anything.

Is India mad to invest so much money in Solar power energy? The world is moving forward and trying to be eco friendly and you want us to build more coal, LNG and nuclear plants.

Media is paid by OIL mafia so that our country doesn't progress for their own benefits.
How much spending this money on small hydel projects ?

22 rupees figure is quoted by Khwaja Asif 5 days ago. Has 22 rupees gone down to 11 rupees in 5 days time ? ?

Why is quaid e azam solar power plant producing not even 20 Megawatts electricity after billions of investment when the claims were that it would produce 200 Megawatts ?

If the Pakistani nation is not happy with PML-N then it is their own fault because they voted for these guys in huge numbers and it is hard to have sympathy for them when they themselves elected these people.

I'm pretty sure Noora and his crew will be back in office in 2018 but people will keep crying bijli nahi hai, pani nahi hai, gas mehngi hai, ta'aleem sehat nahi hai.. Bhai khud hi inko vote dala hai ab bhuktoo..

I dont know people are strange suddenly discussion changed to what Imran Khan will do when the initial topic was what PML N is doing in Government.

You can thank the biggest Immy hater on PP, Mamoon, for that.

My entire family on mother and father side are from Karachi, according to them nawaz sharif has been a limelight for the country

How much spending this money on small hydel projects ?

22 rupees figure is quoted by Khwaja Asif 5 days ago. Has 22 rupees gone down to 11 rupees in 5 days time ? ?

Why is quaid e azam solar power plant producing not even 20 Megawatts electricity after billions of investment when the claims were that it would produce 200 Megawatts ?

http://www.nepra.org.pk/tariff_upfront.htm

The efficiency of the Solar power is perfectly fine. You should Google about the other Solar farms, the cost and efficiency.

Best thing N league did so far is:

They introduced new Auto Policy for Pakistan. They are at least trying to break monopoly of BIG 3. InshAllah we'll see European and Korean car brands on Pakistan road.

If the Pakistani nation is not happy with PML-N then it is their own fault because they voted for these guys in huge numbers and it is hard to have sympathy for them when they themselves elected these people.

I'm pretty sure Noora and his crew will be back in office in 2018 but people will keep crying bijli nahi hai, pani nahi hai, gas mehngi hai, ta'aleem sehat nahi hai.. Bhai khud hi inko vote dala hai ab bhuktoo..

The thing is , our respected posters , actually believe that election was fraud and Imran would have won if there were fair elections.

It takes a great amount of delusion to actually believe, Imran would have led the country had there not been rigging.

Bas wo bolta rehta hy "rigging hui hy " and like "dumb driven cattle" we keep shaking our head ky "haan hui hy".

So people don't actually believe that they voted for Nawaz.

Not on Pakpassion anyways.

My entire family on mother and father side are from Karachi, according to them nawaz sharif has been a limelight for the country

If he was behind the decision to do operation in KHI. Because law & order improved drastically in KHI.

But many believe that Karachi operation & Zarb e Azb were started by the Army on their own and PML N was forced to support this initiative by the Army.

You missed the judicial commissions report which after stating massive discrepancies in the elections later in the end did just

" Aaein Baaein Shaaein "

Once again " Nazariya e Zarurat " flourished.

Because in view of the commission it seemed that if they gave a rulling of 2013 elections to be null & void or to say that within next 14 days do the verification of 40 constituencies for which 5 parties asked for and than do re election on those seats where rigging got proved than

They thought that such a move will not only derail government but will derail democracy.

On a Side note. Polling on Election day stopped at 5pm and results were pouring in but to whom was our current Prime minister Addressing at 10 pm five hours later that give me massive majority ? From whom was he demanding this ? From voters who had finished voting 5 hours ago ?

Honestly my cousin who lives in Karachi, recently visited Bahawalpur, Faisalabad, and Multan. He tells me how much cleaner and better organized the cities are compared to cities in Sindh. It's like living in two different countries. Shows how pathetic are PPP supporters and keep on voting for them and live in misery.

It's 11.53 according to NEPRA now, the price has been cut. The more solar plants are there and the price will be reduced gradually.

The world is turning to Solar energy & investing it and we are a Jahil qoaum criticising everything without knowing anything.

Is India mad to invest so much money in Solar power energy? The world is moving forward and trying to be eco friendly and you want us to build more coal, LNG and nuclear plants.

Media is paid by OIL mafia so that our country doesn't progress for their own benefits.

For PK, the cheapest and best form of energy is hydel because we have the potential in abundance. Initial investments will be repaid many times over but it requires trust amongst the provinces which isnt there because of corrupt politicians playing the regional card. Even with the advancements in Solar, it is still on the whole at its infancy stage and if Solar is to be encouraged, it needs to be encouraged at the micro level in villages and individual businesses.

I wouldn't say great...but they definitely doing better than ppp...
and also better than PTI performing in NWFP

Not doing 'extremely well' by any stretch of the imagination but still doing better than anything we could have hoped for at any point in the last 20 years.

Sent from my SM-N910C using Tapatalk

Not doing 'extremely well' by any stretch of the imagination but still doing better than anything we could have hoped for at any point in the last 20 years.

Better than Mush, no chance but definitely better than PPP.

Hard as it may be to believe for someone who hasn't lived under either government, the current government is doing better than Mush's. Mush had a high peak from 2003 through to 2005 that coincided with a supercharged global economy, an influx of aid dollars and sudden liberalization of the economy that resulted in a short burst of very high growth followed by a major crash in 2006 when things started getting back to normal. This time around, the economy is growing more organically instead of just following the global trend.

Mush's economy grew through aid while this is growing through loans, there is no organic growth. You like most PK's haven't yet realised that loans have to be paid back and you don't want to pay taxes, I certainly don't want to pay, the Sharifs don't want to pay and have never paid. Maybe you can tell me who will pay.

If it's growing, nothing wrong with debt(not loans) financing the growth so long as yield is not ridiculous. Unless some good samaritan nation decides to stake us a few hundred billion dollars, debt is the only way to finance growth, which tends to be a function of investment anyway and Pakistan is hardly flush with capital of its own. You make it sound like Pakistan has some crippling national debt crisis brewing up when that's just not true.

I don't see how you figure I don't want to pay taxes considering I pay about twice the country's per capita GDP in direct income taxes alone, never mind the indirect ones on everything from food to electricity to gas. Tax receipts as a percentage of GDP have been growing readily but expecting to go from 10% of GDP to 20% overnight shows a basic lack of understanding of how things work in a deeply inefficient third world economy. There's a lot of one step forward, two steps back involved due to the inherent weaknesses and corruption of third world governments(this is not unique to Pakistan) but that's something every country that has transitioned from developing to developed has had to undergo at varying levels of severity. People seem to think that the rampant corruption of the political classes is uniquely Pakistani and the reason for our crappy economy when in fact this is a fact of life that every country has had to face. If you have decent enough policies, they will work out in the long run despite a corrupt system(normally assumed as a given, to be sidestepped not actively fought, by any serious developmental economist).

As the recent pathetic attempts at increasing the tax base have shown, nobody wants to pay tax. A growing economy increases tax collections if people pay taxes but as PML reform is worse than pathetic with a tax amnesty offered day, and not surprisingly people seeing through it as half hearted and weak. So how will these loans be paid back. The PML is built on patronage, and they are not going to pay and because they won't, nor will anyone else.

PK growth is built on loans and remittances, exports have plateaued and industry is moving to BD amongst other countries. And the growth rate is hardly earth shattering in a time when oil prices have more than halved.

It's not about Imran fixing things magically, no one can do that but at least <b>he has his priorities sorted i.e. Education, Health, police reforms, institutions building , power devolution, environment etc.</b> There is also development projects where required but surely not as glamorous as Sharifs.
Anyone would make Zardari's disastrous 5 years look good and that's what's happening.

The problem with Imran is that he lost an elections, and then resorted to overthrow the government of the winner.

Imran's agitation made the democratically elected weaker, and Nawaz had to compromise with the Army to survive. So rather than "institutions building" Imran was weakening democratic institutions. Maybe there was some rigging by all parties, but most impartial observers agreed that Nawaz won the elections fair and square.

If Imran had been patient and waited for a future elections to come to power to implement his agenda, he would have my admiration, but his actions were harmful to democracy.

I don't understand why people still support Nawaz. I always feel like that's due to lack of education in Pakistan. I mean come on he has failed so many times. I think someone else should be given a chance to govern Pakistan. :bash:

The problem with Imran is that he lost an elections, and then resorted to overthrow the government of the winner.

Imran's agitation made the democratically elected weaker, and Nawaz had to compromise with the Army to survive. So rather than "institutions building" Imran was weakening democratic institutions. Maybe there was some rigging by all parties, but most impartial observers agreed that Nawaz won the elections fair and square.

If Imran had been patient and waited for a future elections to come to power to implement his agenda, he would have my admiration, but his actions were harmful to democracy.

Not sure how much you know about Pakistan politics but our respected Prime Minister is known for cheating the system. It's no secret that he invests heavily (not from his pocket sadly) on judges, media, police, bribing electable politicians etc to ensure his victory. Only idiots think Imran would have become PM if there was no rigging, he himself said many times his struggle was only to expose what most of us always suspected(although the dharna probably took it too far) but fact is Sharifs are masters of exploiting the system and someone has to challenge them otherwise this madness will never end.
As i said, Sharif is looking good because his political brother Zardari absolutely thrashed Pakistan in his 5 years.

Not sure how much you know about Pakistan politics but our respected Prime Minister is known for cheating the system. It's no secret that he invests heavily (not from his pocket sadly) on judges, media, police, bribing electable politicians etc to ensure his victory. Only idiots think Imran would have become PM if there was no rigging, he himself said many times his struggle was only to expose what most of us always suspected(although the dharna probably took it too far) but fact is Sharifs are masters of exploiting the system and someone has to challenge them otherwise this madness will never end.

I have a pretty good understanding of Pakistani politics, including the motivations of the different actors (the common people, the Army, the politicians, the Islamists etc.)

My point is that if you really want to make the system less corrupt you have to do the right things. Trying to bring a democratically elected government to a standstill or overthrow it is going to be counter-productive. If there is corruption, it is an issue that is much deeper. An agitation to overthrow an elected government will simply weaken the power of the people to influence government and will strengthen the elites who will get to form the next non-elected government.

As i said, Sharif is looking good because his political brother Zardari absolutely thrashed Pakistan in his 5 years.

In spite of his faults Sharif is Pakistan's best bet. He is the only politician who has shown enough courage to reduce the influence of the Army. You may think that your Army is a good thing for your country, but when it imposes itself on various industries (running construction firms, bakeries etc.) it means you will have an economy that is stagnant, that is marked by extreme inequality, that has low or no growth etc. The Army is good at maintaining the status quo, not much else. This is nothing special about the Pakistani Army but is the experience of all countries that have been ruled by their Armies.

Sir, what did Pakistan's army do to it in nearly 40 years of governance?
No one is saying the Politicians are angels but being accountable to the people they are certainly better than an unelected and unaccountable military leader.

Imran Khan seems like our Arvind Kejriwal. Might be good at heart, but cannot really handle the complexities of running a government.

I have a pretty good understanding of Pakistani politics, including the motivations of the different actors (the common people, the Army, the politicians, the Islamists etc.)

My point is that if you really want to make the system less corrupt you have to do the right things. Trying to bring a democratically elected government to a standstill or overthrow it is going to be counter-productive. If there is corruption, it is an issue that is much deeper. An agitation to overthrow an elected government will simply weaken the power of the people to influence government and will strengthen the elites who will get to form the next non-elected government.

In spite of his faults Sharif is Pakistan's best bet. He is the only politician who has shown enough courage to reduce the influence of the Army. You may think that your Army is a good thing for your country, but when it imposes itself on various industries (running construction firms, bakeries etc.) it means you will have an economy that is stagnant, that is marked by extreme inequality, that has low or no growth etc. The Army is good at maintaining the status quo, not much else. This is nothing special about the Pakistani Army but is the experience of all countries that have been ruled by their Armies.

Yes dharna was a bit of stretch and wasted lot of time but let's not forget Imran had been asking for the investigations for more than a year before this started. He raised voice on all forums including parliament but Sharifs did not take it seriously. He wanted 4 constituencies to be investigated and guess what? 3 of them have had re-elections already and 4th one is still on stay order (PMLN's favourite tool). What's more interesting is Pakistan's speaker kept taking stay orders on verification of votes and kept running away till court ordered re-elections. WHY ON EARTH WOULD YOU RESIST IF YOU HAD DONE NOTHING WRONG?
It's been discussed millions of times so i won't spend hours on it again but Imran had every reason to raise questions, government resistance and Imran's overly enthusiastic campaign took it too far.

Sir, what did Pakistan's army do to it in nearly 40 years of governance?
No one is saying the Politicians are angels but being accountable to the people they are certainly better than an unelected and unaccountable military leader.

Imran Khan seems like our Arvind Kejriwal. Might be good at heart, but cannot really handle the complexities of running a government.

Yaar where did i even mention Pakistan Army, i am confused. Imran Khan and Kejriwal are both running efficient governments where they got the mandate? It's a miracle in itself that Imran's performance in KPK is directly being compared to Sharif's governance in Punjab, Imran is governing a war zone for the first time whereas Sharifs have experience of governing Punjab for more than 2 decades. Imran's PTI has performed better than Punjab in many key areas such as education, health, police reforms, corruption etc

I will pick example from our PP cricket threads about Akmal v/s Sachin, Akmal v/s Kohli, K Akmal v/s Dhoni.
Not saying that Sharif is like Sachin in cricket, but he has far vast experience of seeing Pakistan through rough terrible times. While celebration of IK and AK are premature. Performing at high efficiency in the short run and sustaining it for the long run are entirely different skill sets.

As the recent pathetic attempts at increasing the tax base have shown, nobody wants to pay tax. A growing economy increases tax collections if people pay taxes but as PML reform is worse than pathetic with a tax amnesty offered day, and not surprisingly people seeing through it as half hearted and weak. So how will these loans be paid back. The PML is built on patronage, and they are not going to pay and because they won't, nor will anyone else.

PK growth is built on loans and remittances, exports have plateaued and industry is moving to BD amongst other countries. And the growth rate is hardly earth shattering in a time when oil prices have more than halved.

Everything cannot be perfect and there are political motives too for every party.

Best thing N league did so far is:

They introduced new Auto Policy for Pakistan. They are at least trying to break monopoly of BIG 3. InshAllah we'll see European and Korean car brands on Pakistan road.

True and now may be these players could invest more in Pakistan

MD SNGPL today announced that there will be no gas loadshedding from today and gas will be supplied to cement, fertilizer sector thanks to import of RLNG

Wonderful news

Next thing is to end electricity load shedding. if this happens then my vote will go to N league(ex voter of PTI)

Everything cannot be perfect n theee r political motives too for every party

Bar the gap under Mush, the Sharifs have been in power in Punjab for 30+ years and have also held power in the centre. How long do they need? Any idiot can borrow money for show case projects but real growth comes from institutional reform, which you along with our electorate have never heard of because they havent experienced anything different. Will PK look any different in a 20 years time, of course not. It will be a Zardari or Sharif in power and useful idiots will still sing their praises.

Yes dharna was a bit of stretch and wasted lot of time but let's not forget Imran had been asking for the investigations for more than a year before this started. He raised voice on all forums including parliament but Sharifs did not take it seriously. He wanted 4 constituencies to be investigated and guess what? 3 of them have had re-elections already and 4th one is still on stay order (PMLN's favourite tool). What's more interesting is Pakistan's speaker kept taking stay orders on verification of votes and kept running away till court ordered re-elections. WHY ON EARTH WOULD YOU RESIST IF YOU HAD DONE NOTHING WRONG?
It's been discussed millions of times so i won't spend hours on it again but Imran had every reason to raise questions, government resistance and Imran's overly enthusiastic campaign took it too far.

I wish you and your country well and hope you find your way to a better future. As neighbors, what is good for one is also good for the other.

Wonderful news

Next thing is to end electricity load shedding. if this happens then my vote will go to N league(ex voter of PTI)

Berhay Taiz ho.

If this happens makes you ex

And you know from the bottom of your heart soul and brain about this IF and so ex would lose its way aswell.

I wish you and your country well and hope you find your way to a better future. As neighbors, what is good for one is also good for the other.

Well said bro, we all want best for countries at the end of the day. I am living a comfortable life away from Pakistan and have nothing to gain by supporting Imran or Nawaz, we only spend time and energy for the love of our country as the right person in power can change lives of millions of people.

Sharif(s) (Which one? perhaps both) have surprised many, that's for certain.

What OP isn't discussing is that the efforts undertaken to portray a soft image of Pakistan abroad - to talk about settling issues in compliance with acceptable international standards (Kashmir), to working towards the betterment of women and minorities (even if seemingly cosmetic, it shows political will at the top to at least get things done - what has been missing since forever in PAK politics), inviting the Pope, etc.

The Rahat Fateh concert at the UN to commemorate Pakistan's National Day, and Ban Ki Moon's speech about Pakistan's contribution to humanism via its historical Sufi roots, poetry and Bulleh Shah - that shows the diplomatic attaches have been hard at work in improving the "image" so many people worry about. It's a definite way forward, and something everyone needs to own and commend.

[[And not justify the maveric-boy-cum-dharna-master saying he'll welcome the Chinese premier atop his container with that psycho Qadri and Sheeda Lal]].

Yet again, as typical as it is for the Sharifs, investment in human capital remains absent. Nothing substantial done on the education and health sectors. Nor the water crisis. Heavy spending on flashy projects that look good, in absolute terms, are good too - but not at the cost of other things. Old habits die hard, I guess - but that's for the people to decide in the next elections.

Here's what some people need to remember: we are in the midst of a war, and politically, we almost started with nothing. Democracy is a process, not an outcome - and this very notion makes it's continuity crucial. What we've seen so far is that Sharif has moved on a bit from the 90s style of politics, but there's a lot more that needs to be done too. We need to have faith in the process and try not to undermine it every time someone doesn't listen to us.

Deny it all you want, but IK on the long-term political front has done nothing to support democracy. He has shown his disdain about political institutions, he is a proponent for mob-mentality-induced street politics, he has no care for symbolic state institutions and most, most importantly - he has shown ZERO political acumen - allying with the likes of Qadri, Fazlu and CII to maintain support. That isn't progressive, that's insane. But sure let's ignore that because dharna and halkay and mandate and more dharnay yay.

Sometimes I am amazed at parhi likhi jahalat of Pakistanis. You do realise free and fair election is an ultimate pillar of democracy? If supporting free and fair elections is not a support for democracy than I don't know what it. So stop making such obtusely sweeping statements without having a clue. What you seem to be propagating here is wishy washy drawing room politics to preserve old corrupt status qou as long it covers some people's interests here and there, and maintains the illusion of 'stability'.

If democracy is a struggle and progress then what issues do you have with people who put their weight behind improving that process, intrude new ideas and raise awareness? Like it or not, all those kids who have suddenly become scholars on democracy and politics on internet forum is due to passion and idea of struggle introduce by Imran Khan.

By the way, Fazlu was last seen being convinced by your Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif over amendments in Women's Bill. PTI has posed no threat or opposition to Women's Bill, in fact I can post all bunch of public support by PTI female members in support of the Bill. The KPK Bill has been designed by women, and it was their decision to send it to CII so they don't block it later on. So please don't lie.

It is about time that some people openly admit that the only reason they passionately support PMLN is either because they or their families personally benefit from them - either montetarily or through having connections with high profile PMLN political figures.

PMLN has been there for almost 40 years, they are businessmen with ship load of money, they know all too well about buying people and making the right investment in the right people in the right places. It is shocking to see how institutionalised their support is.

People who blindly support them at, and hate everyone who dare opposes PMLN are the type that lose a lot of personal stake and socio-economic and class leverage if this gang of oligarchs go down.

Sometimes I am amazed at parhi likhi jahalat of Pakistanis. You do realise free and fair election is an ultimate pillar of democracy? If supporting free and fair elections is not a support for democracy than I don't know what it. So stop making such obtusely sweeping statements without having a clue. What you seem to be propagating here is wishy washy drawing room politics to preserve old corrupt status qou as long it covers some people's interests here and there, and maintains the illusion of 'stability'.

If democracy is a struggle and progress then what issues do you have with people who put their weight behind improving that process, intrude new ideas and raise awareness? Like it or not, all those kids who have suddenly become scholars on democracy and politics on internet forum is due to passion and idea of struggle introduce by Imran Khan.

By the way, Fazlu was last seen being convinced by your Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif over amendments in Women's Bill. PTI has posed no threat or opposition to Women's Bill, in fact I can post all bunch of public support by PTI female members in support of the Bill. The KPK Bill has been designed by women, and it was their decision to send it to CII so they don't block it later on. So please don't lie.

I have literally had this conversation to death in the dharna thread. Go read it, should be fun for you.

And for God's sake, he is not my Nawaz. What even?! He is Pakistan's Prime Minister - factual reality, even if in your Lala Land IK deserved it. Or not. Just in case you haven't noticed.

And you needn't worry about me - I know perfectly well what I'm talking about. Democracies in fragile political structures need to be backed by institutions. IK, by the time of the dharna, had fewer showings in the National Assembly than even Nawaz himself (and that is not a very high standard at all). Far from the rhetorical vitriol about pursuing all avenues for electoral reform, IK merely preferred to hold the capital hostage and get his demands by glorified thuggery.

Free and fair elections are the cornerstone of democracy, but for a country where democracy is only taking root, that is only recovering from the conflicting stop-start political process through the decades - the first turnover of government is not going to be 100% smooth. The system is ridden with flaws that will rectify over time, when people (read: oppositions) use the state apparatus and institutions to change the current laws.

Observers concluded the elections were a vast improvement from before, largely satisfactory - though certain areas decidedly needed improvement (and that violence played a factor as well).

http://tribune.com.pk/story/575457/final-report-eu-observers-satisfied-with-may-11-elections/

http://eeas.europa.eu/eueom/missions/2013/pakistan/reports_en.htm

Even if a few seats needed investigation, does that warrant the violence and deaths that were incited by IK and Qadri during those days.

And as regards the CII/Women's bill part, I don't buy that for one minute. But let's save Imran's obvious right-wing, TTP-sympathising and Mullah-pleasing for another thread.

It is about time that some oupeople openly admit that the only reason they passionately support PMLN is either because they or their families personally benefit from them - either montetarily or through having connections with high profile PMLN political figures.

PMLN has been there for almost 40 years, they are businessmen with ship load of money, they know all too well about buying people and making the right investment in the right people in the right places. It is shocking to see how institutionalised their support is.

People who blindly support them at, and hate everyone who dare opposes PMLN are the type that lose a lot of personal stake and socio-economic and class leverage if this gang of oligarchs go down.

What a load of BS.

That ^ precisely is why PTI-ians will be forever be stuck in a rut. This victim mentality . That those who challenge IK because of the gaping lacuna in his policies and implementation, are automatically Nooras, patwaris, corrupt, highly-connected-to-them, somehow-benefitting-from-the-status-quo, whathaveyou..

While this forum's (majority) PTI supporters live happily in some foreign country on their foreign passports. Oh, the irony.

I should also take this as a signal to take my leave. Clearly TP's still struggling from a dearth of reasonable posters - and personal attacks galore when no logic comes to mind is the MO.

Pity.

I have literally had this conversation to death in the dharna thread. Go read it, should be fun for you.

And for God's sake, he is not my Nawaz. What even?! He is Pakistan's Prime Minister - factual reality, even if in your Lala Land IK deserved it. Or not. Just in case you haven't noticed.

And you needn't worry about me - I know perfectly well what I'm talking about. Democracies in fragile political structures need to be backed by institutions. IK, by the time of the dharna, had fewer showings in the National Assembly than even Nawaz himself (and that is not a very high standard at all). Far from the rhetorical vitriol about pursuing all avenues for electoral reform, IK merely preferred to hold the capital hostage and get his demands by glorified thuggery.

Free and fair elections are the cornerstone of democracy, but for a country where democracy is only taking root, that is only recovering from the conflicting stop-start political process through the decades - the first turnover of government is not going to be 100% smooth. The system is ridden with flaws that will rectify over time, when people (read: oppositions) use the state apparatus and institutions to change the current laws.

Observers concluded the elections were a vast improvement from before, largely satisfactory - though certain areas decidedly needed improvement (and that violence played a factor as well).

http://tribune.com.pk/story/575457/final-report-eu-observers-satisfied-with-may-11-elections/

http://eeas.europa.eu/eueom/missions/2013/pakistan/reports_en.htm

Even if a few seats needed investigation, does that warrant the violence and deaths that were incited by IK and Qadri during those days.

And as regards the CII/Women's bill part, I don't buy that for one minute. But let's save Imran's obvious right-wing, TTP-sympathising and Mullah-pleasing for another thread. .

Really, so your Nawaz Sharif and Shahbaz Sharif did not meet Mullah Fazlu to please him for the amendments? You PM didn't even know what the Women's Bill was all about, so much for being progressive? Didn't your Nawaz Sharif also wanted to talk to TTP? Isn't your Nawaz Sharif still boasting about having control over Afghan Taliban and asking them for Talks?

So stop being a hypocrite. You aren't fooling anyone with your wishy washy moral outrage. Before giving fatwas on IK, let's see if you have the guts to wonder why your Nawaz Sharif isn't getting rid of CIII who is technically an unconstitutional and illegal body. If you can't do that, then spare us your hypocrisy laden lecture and outrage on bowing down to CII. You have the 2/3 majority, so get rid of them, stop appeasing JUI-F, stop using CII to maintain political and religious clout. If not then don't bother pointing figures at others if you can't hold PMLN responsible.

Your thinking reminds of how people in Britain used to think about Women's Vote over 100 years ago. Typical obsession with what looks prim and proper, as opposed to what is progressive and practical. Yes there were plenty of parhey likehy jahil who thought Women's Vote is a non issue because women dare take on the streets and demand it,and how uncool and unposh it looked. Little did they know, had women not come out on the streets to raise awareness, women's vote would have remained a pipe dream.

And no, time alone doesn't fix anything, constant struggle and efforts do. If time alone was a remedy to magically turn everything around, Middle East would have been a heaven on earth! So stop using the superficial and anti-intellectual rhetoric of time to trivialise electoral rigging and sheer criminality. I am glad not all Pakistanis youngsters think like you. Not all Pakistani youngsters have the luxury of shooting wishy washy rhetoric and be content with this obtuse symbolic support for institutions, if that's the case then likes of Mullah Fazlu and MQM are also champions of democracy. For once in the country, there is a genuine struggle and desire to fix the electoral system and struggle for it through an ideology, then blindly follow your Nawaz Sharif who in the Parliament says 'ah well yeah errr rigging happened, but so what'. This is the kind of moral bankruptcy, intellectual and democratic deficit gets full support from certain Pakistani class as long as the ruling elite covers their benefits.

Whatever little change your are celebrating are perks and advantage of reduced terrorism, if Gen Raheel Sharif was in Zardari's era, I swear he would've made Zardari look much better your Sharif brothers.

What a load of BS.

That ^ precisely is why PTI-ians will be forever be stuck in a rut. This victim mentality . That those who challenge IK because of the gaping lacuna in his policies and implementation, are automatically Nooras, patwaris, corrupt, highly-connected-to-them, somehow-benefitting-from-the-status-quo, whathaveyou..

While this forum's (majority) PTI supporters live happily in some foreign country on their foreign passports. Oh, the irony.

I should also take this as a signal to take my leave. Clearly TP's still struggling from a dearth of reasonable posters - and personal attacks galore when no logic comes to mind is the MO.

Pity.

For someone who loves to act like a scholar on an internet forum over democracy, your disdain for protest and struggle for free and fair elections is quite disgusting but equally telling of your real agenda.

Call it a BS or whatever, but it is a fact and in fact elephant in the room, that a lot of rich 'educated' kids passionately support PMLN because they or families personally benefit from all their ills. This is not rocket science, Sharif brothers had been in power corridors for 40 years, anyone who denies there powerful network of support is living in a lala land.

By the way, I would like to think what wise diatribe and character assassination you will do for ex and current Pakistani Chief Justice who says that there is less than 2% of the population group who is controlling country's resources in the name of democracy? A group whose corruption is the reason why so much rot has been institutionalised in every state department?

Yes God forbid Pakistanis get to know these things, talk about it, raise awareness, put pressure and seek improvement.

People who have forgiven Sharif brothers of 30 years of criminality and sing songs of their shady mediocre performance pretending to act oh so hurt and traumatised over a protest, aren't fooling anyone.

It is about time that some people openly admit that the only reason they passionately support PMLN is either because they or their families personally benefit from them - either montetarily or through having connections with high profile PMLN political figures.

Believe me i voted for PTI...I am working as a financial analyst at a Financial Institute in Karachi and do not have any business!!

Pakistani poltical threads are like Indian politics seen from the outside:

PPP = Congress
PML-N = BJP
PTI-N(essentially IK) = AAP(essentially AK)
Thug parties in Karachi (MQM) = thug parties in Mumbai(Shiv Sena)

:snack:

Only in Pakistan....
Politician who started his political career with help from dictator, established himself with help from establishment, military dictators, contested elections forming dodgy parties with ISI's help conspiring against other governments, brining everyone from police, judiciary, election staff etc to win elections, absolutely zero democracy within party fully promoting family politics is called custodian of democracy.

Person who first refused joining politics and easy ride from worst dictator (Zia who made Nawaz Sharif), refused to become a minister of most corrupt politician of his time (Nawaz himself), refused to join hands with another dictator (Musharaff), became first politician to hold intra party elections to promote party democracy and ran biggest awareness campaign against rigging is considered anti democracy lol...AMAZING!

Only in Pakistan....
Politician who started his political career with help from dictator, established himself with help from establishment, military dictators, contested elections forming dodgy parties with ISI's help conspiring against other governments, brining everyone from police, judiciary, election staff etc to win elections, absolutely zero democracy within party fully promoting family politics is called custodian of democracy.

Person who first refused joining politics and easy ride from worst dictator (Zia who made Nawaz Sharif), refused to become a minister of most corrupt politician of his time (Nawaz himself), refused to join hands with another dictator (Musharaff), became first politician to hold intra party elections to promote party democracy and ran biggest awareness campaign against rigging is considered anti democracy lol...AMAZING!

The PMLN/PPP sponsored democracy warriors on the internet have the audacity to cry that why oh why Imran dare raise a voice on electoral rigging, but fail to utter a squeak as to why a party with 2/3 majority was so obstructive (and still is) towards investigation. What they do have to lose if they had done nothing wrong? Imagine how these closet PMLN supporters would have reacted if Imran and PTI were being that obstructive. Sheer hypocrisy and moral bankruptcy.

Mindless thesis on how Imran would not have won the elections, PMLN was the ultimate winner, but no moral outrage on why EC has not been punished once for all their deliberate, criminal and wholly anti democratic conduct.

Absolutely no sense of accountability and right or wrong among these PMLN sponsored democracy loving key board warriors.

First do accountability of your own workers instead of booting your tribune for exposing them, rest will follow.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Munafiqat.

The PMLN/PPP sponsored democracy warriors on the internet have the audacity to cry that why oh why Imran dare raise a voice on electoral rigging, but fail to utter a squeak as to why a party with 2/3 majority was so obstructive (and still is) towards investigation. What they do have to lose if they had done nothing wrong? Imagine how these closet PMLN supporters would have reacted if Imran and PTI were being that obstructive. Sheer hypocrisy and moral bankruptcy.

Mindless thesis on how Imran would not have won the elections, PMLN was the ultimate winner, but no moral outrage on why EC has not been punished once for all their deliberate, criminal and wholly anti democratic conduct.

Absolutely no sense of accountability and right or wrong among these PMLN sponsored democracy loving key board warriors.

You know worst MUNAFIQAT of these drama queens? Raising questions on how bad PTI's intra party elections are even though they are happening for the second time after first ones being problematic and these munafiqs raise questions having never dared to hold intra party elections. And they claim to be official custodians and saviours of democracy lol, THESE ARE MUNAFIQS!

Nothing can change this country. No education topi drama nothing. In a country where a decently educated woman is throwing abuses to her 4year old or 6year old rather than teaching him/her and giving them time with sanity. Egos are too high, Our social and economic conditions are going low and low. No such bills, educational policies, empowerment or bla bla can change this country until we look to progress and mind our own business.

First do accountability of your own workers instead of booting your tribune for exposing them, rest will follow.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Munafiqat.

I look forward to your comments on the PML intra party elections. Let's face it you are a useful idiot, you are treated like crap and you like.

Nothing can change this country. No education topi drama nothing. In a country where a decently educated woman is throwing abuses to her 4year old or 6year old rather than teaching him/her and giving them time with sanity. Egos are too high, Our social and economic conditions are going low and low. No such bills, educational policies, empowerment or bla bla can change this country until we look to progress and mind our own business.
Yes, I agree with you that egos are quite high in Pakistan. I don't understand why.

Due to our pathetic society and culture. We do not have concern with our own life but try to amend and be a God Father to someone else. This society is power hungry, Every one looks to dominate and attain power as well as authority. There is complex among the people to have themself superior. No one deals with what other people want to do with their life, There is no respect for life goals and personal prefrences as to what sort of life a person wants. Here people want to make others their puppet and to have their influence in affairs of others, So you can be claimed the wise guy or the Godfather. For example, A person who wants to continue education and pursue a certain profession will be brought down to work or anything else just for the sake of someone else while a person who is passionate about some sort of work would be forced to follow some profession or certification just for the sake of it. We dont know how to make full output of our factor of production, Where and how much to invest, We are blind nation who just blindly waste out resources or do whatever they want without much of planning or thoughts about outcome. Ego is in our blood that we want to dominate ahead of each other, We have failed to understand the human nature and psychology due to cringeworthy attitude as a nation.

Point well made Sir!

It's always funny to see [MENTION=14431]blinding light[/MENTION] act all scholarly and fill her long diatribes with bluster but little substance. This poster claims to be for liberal democratic values while at the same time turns a blind eye to the thug tactics of the incumbent government to clamp down on freedom of speech. For the values and reasons she tends to come down hard upon PTI (largely fairly I might add) there does seem to be a baffling disconnect with reality on her part as far as PML-N is concerned. It must be interesting how she reconciles the obvious contradictions present there.

The worst thing is that the poster doesn't have the courage to admit where her political allegiance lies and tries to come across as an objective, unbiased party here. The only thing she's fooling with this act is her own intellect. It doesn't need an Einstein to figure out the pattern here. The most disappointing thing is that the play act of hers where she wants to be seen as a scholarly neutral, really takes away from any objective discussion due to her fear of being called out.

Alot of power projects are in pipeline and some of them have achieved financial close but yes in power sector there is alot of improvement
It's not about improvement, it's more about their fake promises prior to the 2013 election. How can you trust such a government?