PML-N MPA says Sanam Saeed and Iman Ali 'too dark' to play Maryam Safdar in a movie

Syed1

ODI Captain
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imagine if a PTI MPA had said that different actresses couldn’t play A certain role bcz their complexion is too dark. Resistance and woke crowd haaye haaye kar Kay pharak rahay hotay. Rumi Bhai & inn Kay minions would be on blog # 13 by now. <br> <a href="https://t.co/4szAW8RA2g">pic.twitter.com/4szAW8RA2g</a></p>— Blue on Blue (@razzblues) <a href="https://twitter.com/razzblues/status/1279792223773745152?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is the level of these paindus. Still living in jahalat. Funnily enough for our resident patwaris [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] and [MENTION=107753]uberkoen[/MENTION] MNS is the next PM.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imagine if a PTI MPA had said that different actresses couldn’t play A certain role bcz their complexion is too dark. Resistance and woke crowd haaye haaye kar Kay pharak rahay hotay. Rumi Bhai & inn Kay minions would be on blog # 13 by now. <br> <a href="https://t.co/4szAW8RA2g">pic.twitter.com/4szAW8RA2g</a></p>— Blue on Blue (@razzblues) <a href="https://twitter.com/razzblues/status/1279792223773745152?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 5, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is the level of these paindus. Still living in jahalat. Funnily enough for our resident patwaris [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=57576]MRSN[/MENTION] and [MENTION=107753]uberkoen[/MENTION] MNS is the next PM.

What they need to find is a actress who is thick, very dark on the inside and doesn't know her fonts. &#55357;&#56834;

Lol Maryam Nawaz nahi hogai Queen Victoria hai Kya?

Sorry a bit off topic, but at first sight I though it was Aftab Iqbal doing the interview.

Awful! These are the same people who proudly tweet #blacklivesmatter. Hypocrites!

Did the Youth brigade like you have the same reservations against your messiah Imran, who mocked Babar Ghauri for his dark skin? That is an example of racism. This is not.

If Imran can become the PM after telling Babar Ghauri that he can find people like him all over Africa, well then anyone can.

Nevertheless, how is it racist to suggest that a light skinned actor should play a light skinned role. Maryam Nawaz has a fair complexion, Sanam Saeed does not. What is racist about it?

We live in an age where people cry about racism at the drop of the hat. How far would we be willing to go with this logic?

Forget Maryam Nawaz and Sanam Saeed.

Would it be racist to suggest that a short, dark actor should not play Imran in a biopic?

Would it be racist to suggest that an Asian person should not play Cristiano Ronaldo in a biopic?

Would it be racist to suggest that a white actor should not play Kobe Bryant?

You can make fun of Maryam Nawaz, you can criticize her, you can mock her, you can say that she is not worth making a film on etc. etc. and all of that is fine.

However, she is not dark by any means, and thus it is absolutely not wrong or racist in any shape or form to state that a dark skin actor should not depict her role unless you do not care about likeliness at all, which I think any filmmaker should and does care about.

This is a completely pointless rant that is devoid of any logic and common sense. The OP jumped in excitement because he saw Maryam Nawaz, PMLN and “too dark” in one sentence.

50 years back, people thought we would have flying cars and what not by 2020.

2020: it is racist to say that a dark skinned actor should not be depicting a white skinned character. Who gives a toss about accurate depictions anymore.

Uncle Tom capturing the essence of a thick, crooked daughter of crooked ex PM is going to be a challenge for anyone. Skin tone should be the least of their worries.

Did the Youth brigade like you have the same reservations against your messiah Imran, who mocked Babar Ghauri for his dark skin? That is an example of racism. This is not.

If Imran can become the PM after telling Babar Ghauri that he can find people like him all over Africa, well then anyone can.

Nevertheless, how is it racist to suggest that a light skinned actor should play a light skinned role. Maryam Nawaz has a fair complexion, Sanam Saeed does not. What is racist about it?

We live in an age where people cry about racism at the drop of the hat. How far would we be willing to go with this logic?

Forget Maryam Nawaz and Sanam Saeed.

Would it be racist to suggest that a short, dark actor should not play Imran in a biopic?

Would it be racist to suggest that an Asian person should not play Cristiano Ronaldo in a biopic?

Would it be racist to suggest that a white actor should not play Kobe Bryant?

You can make fun of Maryam Nawaz, you can criticize her, you can mock her, you can say that she is not worth making a film on etc. etc. and all of that is fine.

However, she is not dark by any means, and thus it is absolutely not wrong or racist in any shape or form to state that a dark skin actor should not depict her role unless you do not care about likeliness at all, which I think any filmmaker should and does care about.

This is a completely pointless rant that is devoid of any logic and common sense. The OP jumped in excitement because he saw Maryam Nawaz, PMLN and “too dark” in one sentence.

Interesting how you left out Iman Ali. Also Maryam Nawaz is a brown person and a few lighter or darker shades here and there doesn’t make a difference. As long as a brown person plays her it is fine. The issue would be if a white or black actress played her for example.

In any case no movie is being made on her unless it is on her fathers corruption and she has a side role. In that case the details on who plays her won’t even matter that much.

Has anyone asked Sanam or Iman if they even want to play paindu nani chorni :uakmal

Only one person routinely comes to the defence of PPP and PML N

Allah maaf karre!

Interesting how you left out Iman Ali. Also Maryam Nawaz is a brown person and a few lighter or darker shades here and there doesn’t make a difference. As long as a brown person plays her it is fine. The issue would be if a white or black actress played her for example.

In any case no movie is being made on her unless it is on her fathers corruption and she has a side role. In that case the details on who plays her won’t even matter that much.

Brown is a vague term that doesn’t mean anything. There are different shades of brown. Technically, both Shahid Afridi and Miandad are brown, but there is a world of difference between their skin tones.

Before this conversation gets any weirder, my point is that Maryam Nawaz is quite fair by Punjabi standards, and there is clearly considerable difference between her and Sanam Saeed’s complexion.

The latter is clearly much darker (not that it is a bad thing) and thus it is not racist in any shape or form to suggest that Sanam Saeed is not suitable - from an appearance POV - to play her character.

Iman Ali can definitely do the job.

Uncle Tom capturing the essence of a thick, crooked daughter of crooked ex PM is going to be a challenge for anyone. Skin tone should be the least of their worries.

The essence of a character can be captured by any great actor, but the problem is that you also need to have physical resemblance with the character that you are playing.

For example, Nawazuddin Siddiqui is one of the finest actors of our age who nails every character that he plays. However, you will not pick him to play Imran Khan in a biopic, would you?

I am sure he can depict the delusional narcissistic personality with extremely high messiah complex and ability to fool people, but the problem is that he does not look like Imran at all, and thus making him play Imran would not work.

Not sure what the discussion is about but what is wrong is wrong. This was a pathetic statement and should be criticized. Not sure why anyone would defend something as stupid as this

Also, why would anyone be stupid enough to make a movie on Mariam Nawaz? What the hell has she ever achieved.

The essence of a character can be captured by any great actor, but the problem is that you also need to have physical resemblance with the character that you are playing.

For example, Nawazuddin Siddiqui is one of the finest actors of our age who nails every character that he plays. However, you will not pick him to play Imran Khan in a biopic, would you?

I am sure he can depict the delusional narcissistic personality with extremely high messiah complex and ability to fool people, but the problem is that he does not look like Imran at all, and thus making him play Imran would not work.

Makeup can do wonders and transform people into looking like the people they were playing, but she wasnt concerned with that only the skin tone. The calibri Nani without makeup looks like a clapped out criminal and that isn't difficult to capture.
You are right about IK's good looks, but capturing his humanity, kindness and determination to beat a corrupt mafia system would be a job for any actor. Nani Ji could be played by an actress from Lahore, and they wouldn't be expensive either. :asad2

Not sure what the discussion is about but what is wrong is wrong. This was a pathetic statement and should be criticized. Not sure why anyone would defend something as stupid as this

Also, why would anyone be stupid enough to make a movie on Mariam Nawaz? What the hell has she ever achieved.
Agreed word for word and the colorism aside
Papa ki princess isn't even qualified for an entry level job let alone being a successful PM or leader
that deserves a movie based on her

The interviewer asked which of 4 actress should play Maryam Nawaz. She said none of them as Maryam Nawaz is tall and fair.

These are the heights of the actress in question. And all the actress are fair skin.

Mehwish Hayat - 5'8
Mahira Khan - 5'5
Zara Noor Abbas - 5'8
Hareem Farooq - 5'7

Maryam Nawaz is 5'5

So not only was this person making a racist remark, she is ignorant too.

Imagine if a PTI person was asked that question, and he stated that none of them as Maryam is fat, and all those actress are thin. Imagine the outrage.

Brown is a vague term that doesn’t mean anything. There are different shades of brown. Technically, both Shahid Afridi and Miandad are brown, but there is a world of difference between their skin tones.

Before this conversation gets any weirder, my point is that Maryam Nawaz is quite fair by Punjabi standards, and there is clearly considerable difference between her and Sanam Saeed’s complexion.

The latter is clearly much darker (not that it is a bad thing) and thus it is not racist in any shape or form to suggest that Sanam Saeed is not suitable - from an appearance POV - to play her character.

Iman Ali can definitely do the job.

The interviewer didnt ask about Iman Ali or Sanam Saeed. He asked about Mehwish Hayat, Mahira Khan, Zara Noor Abbas, and Hareem Farooq. Her response was no to all of them as Maryam is tall and fair. All of those actresses are tall and fair, and way better looking than Maryam.

Wow, way to discredit Imran Khan the cricketer. Come on!
Garbage comments as usual form this garbage PML-N politician.

Imagine if a PTI person was asked that question, and he stated that none of them as Maryam is fat, and all those actress are thin. Imagine the outrage.

And PTI fans would defend him/her just like they defend Imran mimicking Bilawal in the parliament.

Makeup can do wonders and transform people into looking like the people they were playing, but she wasnt concerned with that only the skin tone. The calibri Nani without makeup looks like a clapped out criminal and that isn't difficult to capture.
You are right about IK's good looks, but capturing his humanity, kindness and determination to beat a corrupt mafia system would be a job for any actor. Nani Ji could be played by an actress from Lahore, and they wouldn't be expensive either. :asad2

Is Sanam Saeed the only good actress in the country? No. There are plenty others who are excellent actors and resemble Maryam more than Sanam.

It may be news to you, but actors are supposed to resemble the characters that they play in biopics.

By you.

Fixed it.

Imagine getting your knickers in a twist at the assertion that actors should resemble the characters that they are depicting, and it is supposedly racist to suggest that a dark skinned actor should not depict a light skinned character.

Stopped watching as soon as she said Immy was a 6/7 out of 10 as a cricketer. Blasphemous. Sacrilegious. :asad2

The interviewer asked which of 4 actress should play Maryam Nawaz. She said none of them as Maryam Nawaz is tall and fair.

These are the heights of the actress in question. And all the actress are fair skin.

Mehwish Hayat - 5'8
Mahira Khan - 5'5
Zara Noor Abbas - 5'8
Hareem Farooq - 5'7

Maryam Nawaz is 5'5

Yeah lol, they're taller and about the same complexion as her, also Maryam is OLD - hers sons are my age and she's a grandmother, her daughter got married YEARS ago.

Mehwish Hayat - 5'8
Mahira Khan - 5'5
Zara Noor Abbas - 5'8
Hareem Farooq - 5'7

Maryam Nawaz is 5'5

Well said.... Maybe Nargis is fit to play Maryam Nawaz. :)))

Both the actresses in the title are fairly light skinned as well. Your attempts at gaslighting people and justifying blatant colourism (which is ironically one of the things holding this country back from the advancement that you are complaining about in your post) don’t make any sense to me.

Ray Liotta portrayed Henry Hill in ‘Goddfellas’ despite being a few shades darker. No one cared because fortunately they didn’t have such a disgusting backwards mentality. The difference in skin tone between Ray Liotta and Henry Hill is the same as the difference between the actresses in question and Maryam Nawaz (Who it is obvious uses a lot of makeup to look a few shades fairer which actresses can easily do as well for a film. In fact it would probably be a more accurate depiction if a slightly darker actresses cakes her face with makeup to look lighter as opposed to an already light actress, since accuracy is something you are so concerned about).

It’s truly hilarious that you falsely equate this to an Asian person playing Ronaldo etc when the actresses here are of the same ethnicity and maybe a little less fair skinned.

I find it truly disgusting when people undermine the importance of fighting against these basic deeply ingrained issues by trying to justify them or lessen their importance. Fortunately, most educated people I see around me in Canada will be quick to point them out but it seems that some educated Pakistanis are just like the most ignorant internet trolls and are quick to jump on the “sjw” bandwagon. I personally think such people are just as bad as blatant bigots.

13 years ago you had 6 different actors and actresses play Bob Dylan in the same movie, despite looking nothing like him and all having different skin tones, while today in Pakistan you have people with deeply ingrained colourism crying on tv about an actress of the same ethnicity who is a little darker than the person she could portray. And on top of that you have educated people gaslighting others and justifying this by saying that somehow bringing these issues to light is preventing technological advancement. True comedy :)))

Imagine the scenes if a PTI MNA had said this.

Effing hypocrites man.

There are plenty of legitimate reasons to hate PML-N but this is a non-issue. What she said was more about cronyism than racism. Our MNA’s/MPA’s always act more loyal than the king and will twist themselves into pretzels to defend and praise their party leaders.

I support IK because he is honest and has the best interests of the people at heart unlike the PML-N. Having said that, most PTI leaders would have reacted the same way to a question about IK because such cronyism is part of our political culture in all parties.

Both the actresses in the title are fairly light skinned as well. Your attempts at gaslighting people and justifying blatant colourism (which is ironically one of the things holding this country back from the advancement that you are complaining about in your post) don’t make any sense to me.

Ray Liotta portrayed Henry Hill in ‘Goddfellas’ despite being a few shades darker. No one cared because fortunately they didn’t have such a disgusting backwards mentality. The difference in skin tone between Ray Liotta and Henry Hill is the same as the difference between the actresses in question and Maryam Nawaz (Who it is obvious uses a lot of makeup to look a few shades fairer which actresses can easily do as well for a film. In fact it would probably be a more accurate depiction if a slightly darker actresses cakes her face with makeup to look lighter as opposed to an already light actress, since accuracy is something you are so concerned about).

It’s truly hilarious that you falsely equate this to an Asian person playing Ronaldo etc when the actresses here are of the same ethnicity and maybe a little less fair skinned.

I find it truly disgusting when people undermine the importance of fighting against these basic deeply ingrained issues by trying to justify them or lessen their importance. Fortunately, most educated people I see around me in Canada will be quick to point them out but it seems that some educated Pakistanis are just like the most ignorant internet trolls and are quick to jump on the “sjw” bandwagon. I personally think such people are just as bad as blatant bigots.

13 years ago you had 6 different actors and actresses play Bob Dylan in the same movie, despite looking nothing like him and all having different skin tones, while today in Pakistan you have people with deeply ingrained colourism crying on tv about an actress of the same ethnicity who is a little darker than the person she could portray. And on top of that you have educated people gaslighting others and justifying this by saying that somehow bringing these issues to light is preventing technological advancement. True comedy :)))

Please don’t write essays and don’t use this topic as a pretext to flex your taste in films and how much of a connoisseur you are.

the bottom-line is that:

- it is not wrong or racist at all to suggest that a dark skinned actor should not depict a white skinned character.

Sanam Saeed looks nothing like Maryam and if she plays her in a movie it will not work. There are plenty of actresses in the country who can pull her off in a much better way as far as physical resemblance is concerned.

- a lot of these white knights who claim to be fighting discrimination and racism and are disgusted by such petty issues are simply appeasers who are hungry for validation.

A lot of what we perceive as racism is not racism at all. There is no doubt that racism exists and is a problem that needs to be tackled, but there is also no doubt that it has become the most convenient card that can be abused in multiple ways.

When you play the racism card at the drop of a hat, you only discredit the genuine victims of racism.

So I will repeat - no one thought 50 years back that in 2020, the suggestion that a dark actor would not be suitable to depict a relatively fair character would be considered as racism.

Asserting that the actor and the character should have similar skin tones for accurate depiction is not colorism; it is common sense, which seems to be lost in this thread.

Imagine the scenes if a PTI MNA had said this.

Effing hypocrites man.

The opposition would make scenes, but PTI supporters would defend him/her just like they defend Imran making fun of Bilawal’s mannerism and mocking Babar Ghauri’s skin color.

And if nothing works, they will pull out the all-weather excuse - ‘it was a slip of tongue.’

Please don’t write essays and don’t use this topic as a pretext to flex your taste in films and how much of a connoisseur you are.

the bottom-line is that:

- it is not wrong or racist at all to suggest that a dark skinned actor should not depict a white skinned character.

Sanam Saeed looks nothing like Maryam and if she plays her in a movie it will not work. There are plenty of actresses in the country who can pull her off in a much better way as far as physical resemblance is concerned.

- a lot of these white knights who claim to be fighting discrimination and racism and are disgusted by such petty issues are simply appeasers who are hungry for validation.

A lot of what we perceive as racism is not racism at all. There is no doubt that racism exists and is a problem that needs to be tackled, but there is also no doubt that it has become the most convenient card that can be abused in multiple ways.

When you play the racism card at the drop of a hat, you only discredit the genuine victims of racism.

So I will repeat - no one thought 50 years back that in 2020, the suggestion that a dark actor would not be suitable to depict a relatively fair character would be considered as racism.

Asserting that the actor and the character should have similar skin tones for accurate depiction is not colorism; it is common sense, which seems to be lost in this thread.

This isn’t about me or my taste in films etc. I haven’t even seen the second movie I mentioned and everyone has seen the first. I still Strongly disagree that either actress in question is too dissimilar to play her in a film. I think with enough makeup etc it’ll be easy. And it’s funny that you call me out for writing essays?

Also, in my opinion your examples about white people playing blacks and vice versa don’t apply in this case

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] I do think it comes off as slightly hypocritical that you condemn this but didn’t say anything about MTJ’s blatant racist remarks on the other thread (which were much worse than this)

If they don't have suitable talent to play the iconic lady who has fought for democratic values, why not look towards bollywood which has abundance of beauty and talent.

The problem will not be finding an actress with the same skin tone as Maryam Nawaz because we live in a country of brown people. The issue will be finding an actress with the same waistline as hers because actresses generally keep themselves fit.

[MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] I do think it comes off as slightly hypocritical that you condemn this but didn’t say anything about MTJ’s blatant racist remarks on the other thread (which were much worse than this)

I genuinely might have missed that. I don't hold religious figures in very regard. However, in that particular matter MTJ was unfairly being targeted by the media and hence I sided with him. I'm unaware of his racist remarks.

The problem will not be finding an actress with the same skin tone as Maryam Nawaz because we live in a country of brown people. The issue will be finding an actress with the same waistline as hers because actresses generally keep themselves fit.

Hence why I suggested Nargis

This lady is a horrible person. Who in his right mind would play Maryam Nawaz?What has she achieved apart from forging documents?

And, Iman Ali has a fair complexion. She is not dark at all. What is this lady smoking?

Only one person routinely comes to the defence of PPP and PML N

I think PTI fans needs to find something new now for their defense. This "we are bad because XYZ is bad too" is getting tiresome and very old.