PSL 6 postponed indefinitely due to COVID-19 concerns

So why didn't SA Pak series get canceled when there was no bubble breach? Why didn't any domestic series get cancel? Why didn't IPL in Dubai have any breach? They had players testing positive after traveling bit did not have a single case after that. Doesn't all of that show bubble works?

It's weirdest thing that when an entire series has been suspended because of covid because of bubble breach, you still make such claims. If it was just for show the series would never have been canceled

You understand how much money and also respect PCB will lose? This chalta hai attitude is extremely bad for any nation.

What chalta hai attitude?
In Pakistan covid situation is under control, why should it be different for PSL?

People in Pak are going on with their lives. Covid is here and just like any other virus will not be stopped by creating a bubble.

Perhaps some complacency from PCB after the South Africa series at home and the domestic season.

This virus has no room for complacency and all protocols should have been agreed and followed by everyone.

But our people will not listen and think they are invincible.

PCB should have put down the SOPs and made sure everyone followed it to the T.

The sanctity of a BSE is the single most important requirement to play the sport right now.

I wonder what this means for the deal Pak managed to get with Sky Sports, am disappointed; I paid £33 pound this month to watch the PSL and now it is cancelled, am sure there will be many others as Pak have a big following here even among neutrals. The worst thing off course will be the resumption of cricket in Pakistan may have taken a hit unfortunately, 10 steps forward and 20 steps backwards :facepalm:

Same here I signed up for a months pass to Sky via NowTV. it’s now going to waste. The broadcasters who paid for broadcasting rights will not be happy

Does anybody actually know who is to blame here? I see Salman is blaming others, some are blaming Javed Afridi but then PCB are saying nobody from Peshawar tested positive. So who are the real culprits here, nobody from Quetta or Multan has made a statement? Could it be the Fawad Ahmed case and Tom banton case that their teams were not following the rules that spreaded the cases

Tons of sporting events around the world have been cancelled or postponed. Nothing new here, this is not a Pakistani thing. At some point in time, we have to get out of the bubble and carry on as normal. For logistics and politics sake, it may be better to not hold events at all until this is all "over," as ridiculous as it is.

Same here I signed up for a months pass to Sky via NowTV. it’s now going to waste. The broadcasters who paid for broadcasting rights will not be happy

I just looked into this, if you still have an x amount of days left on your pass then you can get a refund processes for this; if you go on the NOW TV chat on their website and request a refund / explain why, they should be able to offer you a refund, it wont be a full one depending on how many days you have left. At least we may get our money back potentially

Tons of sporting events around the world have been cancelled or postponed. Nothing new here, this is not a Pakistani thing. At some point in time, we have to get out of the bubble and carry on as normal. For logistics and politics sake, it may be better to not hold events at all until this is all "over," as ridiculous as it is.

I don’t recall any such global sporting events in which players are sharing a hotel with wedding guest. Could you name any?

This whole Bio-bubble thing was never even there to begin with. Players tested positive aren’t allowed to play nor they are allowed to dine with others. PCB have just made a mockery of themselves.

Are we seriously having this conversation? Am I arguing with Kim Kardashian’s agent here on a cricket forum?

How do you work hard for years to become a social media influencer??? She botched a video that went viral for the wrong reasons only to then improvise by editing the title as if she purposely meant to say ‘Pawri ho rahi hai’, in order to mimic the upper class youth of Pakistan. What else does she offer to the world now that we are having this ridiculous debate?

Oh dear. :facepalm:

Please go through my posts in this thread to understand the context.

Ignorance is truly a bliss.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...brings-India-and-Pakistan-together&p=11100259

This is symbolic of the lackadaisical way Pakistan has dealt with corona. Imran Khan wouldn’t wear masks & said “ghabrana nahi hai, it’s just like a flu”. Pakistan kept their official numbers low by testing less. Then analysts on TV would mock India’s lockdown & proudly proclaim “Allah ke fazl se we’re not as badly affected as India”.

Since Monday, there’s been a mad rush at Indian hospitals for vaccines after govt allowed all senior citizens to avail it. Don’t see any such urgency in Pakistan.

Oh dear. :facepalm:

Please go through my posts in this thread to understand the context.

Ignorance is truly a bliss.

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...brings-India-and-Pakistan-together&p=11100259

What is the purpose of you directing me to that thread? Am I supposed to read or pick up on something there which should explain why Javed Afridi thought it was ok to rope her into the PZ bubble? The only thing that I picked up on is someone trying to argue a Suzuki is an exotic experience. That tells me all I need to know about the person who is arguing her case, which is a very poor one.

The purpose of directing you to that thread was to address your laughable assertion that she “botched” it.

No she didn’t. It was intended to be a meme and it went viral like no tomorrow so instead of being bitter, you should give her credit for doing well for herself.

There is nothing to argue about her case anyway, and you need to understand the context of the Suzuki and the background of this meme which is why I directed you to that thread.

I know that overseas Pakistanis are usually ignorant about the stuff going on in Pakistan but still try to act like experts over the Internet.

Nevertheless, if you still want to swim in your ignorance it is your choice, but please don’t hate on someone who is doing well for herself. She is making more money than her detractors can dream of and they do not have what it takes to collect 1.2M followers on Instagram.

Moreover, they will never be in a position where PSL franchises would even think of considering them as brand ambassadors.

So please, there is no need of burning like hot coal because someone has achieved success. More power to her and put away your judgments that no one cares about.

The purpose of directing you to that thread was to address your laughable assertion that she “botched” it.

No she didn’t. It was intended to be a meme and it went viral like no tomorrow so instead of being bitter, you should give her credit for doing well for herself.

There is nothing to argue about her case anyway, and you need to understand the context of the Suzuki and the background of this meme which is why I directed you to that thread.

I know that overseas Pakistanis are usually ignorant about the stuff going on in Pakistan but still try to act like experts over the Internet.

Nevertheless, if you still want to swim in your ignorance it is your choice, but please don’t hate on someone who is doing well for herself. She is making more money than her detractors can dream of and they do not have what it takes to collect 1.2M followers on Instagram.

Moreover, they will never be in a position where PSL franchises would even think of considering them as brand ambassadors.

So please, there is no need of burning like hot coal because someone has achieved success. More power to her and put away your judgments that no one cares about.

Hate her for what? It’s a basic question which you are simply dodging, even though nobody cares about your views in the first place and nobody asked you. She went viral a week ago and the next thing you know, she is there in the stadium with Mahira Khan etc. So it’s obvious that Javed Afridi didn’t really have any regards for the SOPs and Bubbles, because this girl needed to do a certain amount of quarantine to then move into the Afridi showman’s bubble, which she didn’t.

A day or two before shifting into the PZ group, she did a waste of time interview at a talk show. That itself is a totally different group to the entire PSL bubble. She then moved into the Zalmi bubble and we all know Javed Afridi clearly broke The Protocols in place. No one cares about how famous she is or how famous she will become, or she may end up receiving an Oscar one day. The point of bringing her up is the fact that she is clear proof that PZ were clearly not taking the Covid protocols and bubble restrictions seriously.

And yes, she does deserve some criticism for being the fame craving person that she is and disregarding all of the social distancing procedures that are in place around the world to stop the spread of this virus. A clear example of the disregard that the elite class has for the distress this virus has caused.

Protocol is protocl. Mustnt be broken just because someone is a celebrity. Unless she was tested and part of bio bubble

Hate her for what? It’s a basic question which you are simply dodging, even though nobody cares about your views in the first place and nobody asked you. She went viral a week ago and the next thing you know, she is there in the stadium with Mahira Khan etc. So it’s obvious that Javed Afridi didn’t really have any regards for the SOPs and Bubbles, because this girl needed to do a certain amount of quarantine to then move into the Afridi showman’s bubble, which she didn’t.

A day or two before shifting into the PZ group, she did a waste of time interview at a talk show. That itself is a totally different group to the entire PSL bubble. She then moved into the Zalmi bubble and we all know Javed Afridi clearly broke The Protocols in place. No one cares about how famous she is or how famous she will become, or she may end up receiving an Oscar one day. The point of bringing her up is the fact that she is clear proof that PZ were clearly not taking the Covid protocols and bubble restrictions seriously.

And yes, she does deserve some criticism for being the fame craving person that she is and disregarding all of the social distancing procedures that are in place around the world to stop the spread of this virus. A clear example of the disregard that the elite class has for the distress this virus has caused.

It is the job of PCB to ensure that protocols are maintained. It is human nature to break rules when there is no one to hold you accountable or regulate your behavior.

Forget celebrities, I have seen doctors violate SOPs when there is no around.

It is not the job of the brand ambassadors and the franchise owners to take precautions beyond wearing masks at times etc. They are acting like regular people, and hardly anyone in Pakistan takes COVID seriously anymore.

The ultimate blame falls on PCB’s shoulders. They should have adopted strict measures and they failed to do it.

Someone was telling me that some of the players wives were complaining about being in the bubble and having to adhere to the bubble rules during PSL6.

This is the height of stupidity - why did they need to be at the PSL together with their army of kids when there is a global pandemic.

Nobody was forcing them to be there for the PSL.

This just shows the attitude of such people.

They talking about restarting in may/June or September...was a meeting today and also proposed 1 venue most likely lahore. They also bringing in a bio secure bubble expert from abroad...circus these pcb lot

KARACHI: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)’s high-ups put their heads together to look out for a window to complete Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6 anytime soon this year.

According to the sources, PCB officials sat in a more than three-hour-long meeting here on Friday to discuss possible options to reschedule the remaining matches of the PSL 6.

Sources told ARY News that May-June and September windows came under consideration to stage the postponed matches of the extravaganza. The PCB is considering only a single venue out of Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi to host the remaining matches.

Moreover, an option to outsource bio-secure bubble arrangements is also under consideration whereas a local hotel will be booked for all franchises.

“Three major windows were discussed to host PSL 6’s remaining matches today in the meeting. The final recommendations will be sent to chairman PCB after which franchise managements will be taken in the loop,” the source shared.

It must be noted here that PSL 6 was postponed on Thursday after seven people including six cricketers and a staff member tested COVID-19 positive.

ARY

KARACHI: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)’s high-ups put their heads together to look out for a window to complete Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 6 anytime soon this year.

According to the sources, PCB officials sat in a more than three-hour-long meeting here on Friday to discuss possible options to reschedule the remaining matches of the PSL 6.

Sources told ARY News that May-June and September windows came under consideration to stage the postponed matches of the extravaganza. The PCB is considering only a single venue out of Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi to host the remaining matches.

Moreover, an option to outsource bio-secure bubble arrangements is also under consideration whereas a local hotel will be booked for all franchises.

“Three major windows were discussed to host PSL 6’s remaining matches today in the meeting. The final recommendations will be sent to chairman PCB after which franchise managements will be taken in the loop,” the source shared.

It must be noted here that PSL 6 was postponed on Thursday after seven people including six cricketers and a staff member tested COVID-19 positive.

ARY

Lol they couldn't have thought of all this at first?

“Moreover, an option to outsource bio-secure bubble arrangements is also under consideration whereas a local hotel will be booked for all franchises.”

Yeah this is what was needed, that’s all

t is not the job of the brand ambassadors and the franchise owners to take precautions beyond wearing masks at times etc. They are acting like regular people, and hardly anyone in Pakistan takes COVID seriously anymore.

But it is their job to cancel the tournament quick as possible to protect themselves.

So who is to be blamed here? Who has been punished?

Blame is being passed around at the moment.

Punished, nobody has.

Don't hold your breath regarding anyone taking responsibility or there being any punishment.

Blame is being passed around at the moment.

Punished, nobody has.

Don't hold your breath regarding anyone taking responsibility or there being any punishment.

This is a huge fiasco, someone's head should roll. Whose responsibility was it to maintain the BSE.

Its not only pakistan cricket but world cricket that has received a blow. The sanctity of a BSE is in question now.

Interesting seems like clashing with IPL is the only option and it also makes sense
Since there are hardly 6 to 9 players .
Which can be easily replaced by those who aren't selected in IPL as the t20 wc is around & in similar condition.. im pretty sure overseas players might want to get some much needed practice and for some it can be an audition for the upcoming world cup.

I just looked into this, if you still have an x amount of days left on your pass then you can get a refund processes for this; if you go on the NOW TV chat on their website and request a refund / explain why, they should be able to offer you a refund, it wont be a full one depending on how many days you have left. At least we may get our money back potentially

Thanks for the advice. They as an exception agreed to refund me partially.

Australian players have left Pakistan after the country’s T20 league was abandoned because of a Covid outbreak but Fawad Ahemed remains stranded in a Karachi hotel room, unwell, unable to leave and missing his family.

The Perth Scorchers legspinner who played a handful of short-form games for Australia was the first of five Pakistan Super League players to test positive to the virus.

Officials announced on Thursday they had been forced to postpone the tournament because of the outbreak for the second successive season.

Ahmed told The Weekend Australian via WhatsApp on Friday he had been getting better but had a set back 24 hours earlier.

“Not feeling well, last couple of days went pretty well but last night fevers came back so really struggling,” he said.

“Hopefully will get through this soon InshaALLAH.

“Doctors are looking after me here, but honestly not much you can do with Covid, we will wait and see. Hopefully it goes away soon. It’s tough being alone.”

Ahmed said he was missing his family and it was “a tough time for everyone”. The bowler asked people on Twitter to pray for him when he was diagnosed on Monday.

The five other Australians participating in the tournament have flown to the UAE over the past two days.

Dan Christian, Chris Lynn and Ben Cutting will wait there until the start of the IPL next month.

Cricket Australia, the Australian Cricketers Association and the Scorchers said they had been in contact with the players and had offered them assistance to get out of Pakistan.

Ben Dunk and coach Johan Botha will attempt to get a commercial flight back to Australia.

The outbreak and decision to postpone the competition is a setback for Pakistan cricket.

The country is keen to encourage international cricket to return after years of isolation because of the terror threat.

There is confusion over how Ahmed, who lives in Melbourne with his family, came to be the first to test positive.

He tested negative before leaving Australia and negative again on arrival but was then diagnosed on the eve of a game for Islamabad United.

“Thanks for all the kind messages, please keep remember me in your prayers, much needed,” he tweeted four days ago.

Ahmed has been suffering fever, cramps and diarrhoea since the initial diagnosis.

England’s Tom Banton was among five others who also tested positive.

The decision to abandon the league has led to recriminations within Pakistan cricket with critics pointing out that it had allowed two players who breached quarantine earlier in the tournament to re-enter the bubble without isolating.

The players are staying in a Karachi hotel with franchises on separate floors but there are guests in another part of the establishment.

Pakistan cricket officials admitted the decision to abandon the PSL was a blow which would shake faith in its ability to conduct a tournament.

“Fawad and the three members who have tested positive will remain for 10 days in quarantine,” a spokesman said before more positive tests came to light. “It’s very difficult to determine how these cases emerged. You know bubble life is very difficult and its management is also difficult. In other sporting events of the world like Formula One and Australian Open such breaches occur. It does not mean that the bubbles are weak or these have loopholes. In order to reduce the chances of infection, repeat tests of the participants will be conducted on Thursday.

“Protecting the integrity and reputation of the event is our responsibility, especially of the PCB. That is why all such steps are being taken.

“Besides this we had also conducted tests of the ground staff. They have also been instructed to wear gloves when on ground. The ball which goes into the fans stands is sanitised. Umpires have wipes with them. All that work is being done in order to protect the integrity of the event.

“But we are operating in a very different environment. The entire world is facing such challenges and wherever sports events are being conducted they are meeting and overcoming such challenges. We will also try with the help of the franchise owners so that we could dispose of this event in a good way.”

PCB chief executive Wasim Khan was in Australia in the 2019-20 summer before the pandemic hit to meet with Cricket Australia officials about a tour of that country which is scheduled for early next year.

“This isn’t about a blame game, about who’s to blame,” Khan said.

“This is a collective effort that we all had a responsibility to actually police and self-police that environment. Unfortunately, we weren’t able to do it effectively enough. Hence we find ourselves in this situation today.

“We had a discussion this morning with the franchise owners and we came to the conclusion that it was best to postpone the event. We entered that meeting with the franchisees with one or two possible solutions, one in terms of looking to halt proceedings for five days until we were able to make sense of what was going on and see whether we could move forward. There was a strong consensus that it was untenable to continue based on the fact that it was outside of ours and others reasonable sort of areas because of what had taken place.”

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/sp...n/news-story/49540e8595e61ed317d477591900c342

IPL key factor in learning what protocols need to be followed for T20 World Cup: Manu Sawhney

International Cricket Council's (ICC) chief executive, Manu Sawhney has said that the postponement of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) would surely be used as one of the examples before finalising bio-secure protocols for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

PSL had gotten postponed on Thursday after a string of Covid-19 positive cases and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said that the safety of players is paramount and it would now look to hold the league in a different window this year.

"It is extremely important for everybody to realise that in the case of risk mitigation, it is not a linear curve. For example, given a series which is a bilateral series, let's say between two teams, versus let's say a World Cup, which has 16 teams coming from 16 different countries into one country, the risks associated with that are exponentially larger and way different. And those are the complexities that all of us are right now are going through and understanding each day better than the day before as to what needs to be done," a media source quoted Sawhney as saying.

"So, for us right now, learning from what is happening in the various T20 leagues, learning from what India is doing currently - and BCCI has done a great job - and post this the IPL will be a very key factor in terms of learnings before we look at what are the protocols we'll have to follow for the T20 [World Cup] later in the year," he added.

The T20 World Cup is slated to be hosted in India this year in October-November.

The venues for the tournament are yet to be revealed. "But getting 16 teams from different countries with their quarantine protocols, with their risk factors....getting them into the country, then making sure the tournament happens and making sure that the players can then get back to their respective countries is an enormous challenge and a challenge where everybody needs to come together and everybody needs to realise that there is a high probability that things may not go as per plan. And to have the faith that everybody is trying to do his best to make things happen given the uncertainty which still exists," said Sawhney.

The BCCI is also looking to host the Indian Premier League (IPL) in India this year. The venues are yet to be announced for the 14th edition of the tournament.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...ef-executive-sawhney/articleshow/81360273.cms

This is what happens when people don't believe in science and evolution is looked down upon.

How do you expect people to take this seriously? Such a backwards country

Well I have heard from a few people that Hussain Talat, Hassan Ali, Lewis Gregory and Haris Rauf had also tested positive but their names were not revealed by the PCB.

This is quite dangerous if Haris Rauf was postiive again. He has been positive many times.

this could be amatter of life and death, what was PCB doing?

Hotel gym being used by members of the public.

Weddings being hosted at the hotel.

Public coming in and out of the hotel.

Public milling around in the hotel lobby.

Security not knowing who is involved in the PSL and who is public.

Families of the players coming and going from and to the hotel and breaking the bubble.

Brilliant !

If the news of franchisees hiding the details of Covid-19 is true, PCB can forget about the likes of England/NZ/OZ touring any time soon. And if players and teams stop coming, Supersport and Sky will find a way to get out of their contracts with PCB. That would be a complete shambles and PCB would be on the verge of bankruptcy once again.

Everyone responsible for this should be punished. This shouldn't be swept under the rug or Pakistan will lose whatever goodwill it has gained from other member boards of the ICC.

Families of the players coming and going from and to the hotel and breaking the bubble.

Brilliant !

Heights of stupidity & negligence. Though i am surprised that no international player brought this forward/complained about it (or maybe it was suppressed internally) till the covid cases started rolling in.

I was generally very happy with Wasim Khan’s work (getting international teams to tour, media contracts etc), but honestly this is a huge black mark on him & Mani’s leadership. One could argue that he cannot be in charge of everything & franchise owners were responsible, but truthfully the buck stops with PCB senior management. Heads should roll, but knowing PCB it won’t.

Brilliant !

Should’ve booked the hotel for players, staff, commentary and franchise owners only. You can pay money for a rubbish opening ceremony but not book a whole hotel???

As i have not been following news as such ,is there a post with timeline of events that occurred to cancel the whole event for a normal person that hasn’t followed news for last 1-2 weeks to understand?

Heights of stupidity & negligence. Though i am surprised that no international player brought this forward/complained about it (or maybe it was suppressed internally) till the covid cases started rolling in.

I was generally very happy with Wasim Khan’s work (getting international teams to tour, media contracts etc), but honestly this is a huge black mark on him & Mani’s leadership. One could argue that he cannot be in charge of everything & franchise owners were responsible, but truthfully the buck stops with PCB senior management. Heads should roll, but knowing PCB it won’t.

Well at least Wasim has guts to face the music, Mani is nowhere to be seen.

In Pakistan covid situation is under control, why should it be different for PSL?

People in Pak are going on with their lives. Covid is here and just like any other virus will not be stopped by creating a bubble.

So why was an entire tournament canceled?

I still remember that when Pakistani players were not following COVID protocols in New Zealand they threatened consequences

Almost 90% of this forum was outraged. How dare Kiwis take something seriously and threatened precious players!

Well now you get to see what happens when rules are not strict. An entire lucrative tournament was postponed at heavy loses. Not to mention the reputation damage to PCB and Pak cricket

But hey, life is normal because everything is under control. Just a tournament which takes millions of dollars and effort of thousands to organize for suspended, with loses to franchises, players, board, tv companies, viewers.

No big deal

So why was an entire tournament canceled?

I still remember that when Pakistani players were not following COVID protocols in New Zealand they threatened consequences

Almost 90% of this forum was outraged. How dare Kiwis take something seriously and threatened precious players!

Well now you get to see what happens when rules are not strict. An entire lucrative tournament was postponed at heavy loses. Not to mention the reputation damage to PCB and Pak cricket

But hey, life is normal because everything is under control. Just a tournament which takes millions of dollars and effort of thousands to organize for suspended, with loses to franchises, players, board, tv companies, viewers.

No big deal

Actually that was more the NZ govt who were stringent with their requirements. They basically followed the principle that as long as you are in our country and on our shores, you will do exactly as we tell you and what you want, if you don't do as we tell you i.e. you will isolate and quarantine for 14 days, you can pack your bags and leave. Even if the NZCB disagreed with such a harsh stance, the NZ government and health ministry laid down the rule.

I am surprised that the Pakistani Government did not play a similar kind of role with the PCB, Franchises, Foreign players and coaching staff. Maybe it is the subcontinent colonial mindset where we treat foreigners like kinds and make them feel like they are superior to us, like they own us.

This is a pretty idiotic comment. It is a pandemic for god sake.. once in a 100 years kind of event. 3 Cases in Melbourne and were locked out for 5 days straight.. And it was good for doing that before it spreads again.

Why do you think PCB decided to suspend the event altogether then ? and Not continue if everything is under control and people are going on with their lives.

This is a pretty idiotic comment. It is a pandemic for god sake.. once in a 100 years kind of event. 3 Cases in Melbourne and were locked out for 5 days straight.. And it was good for doing that before it spreads again.

Why do you think PCB decided to suspend the event altogether then ? and Not continue if everything is under control and people are going on with their lives.

When an average person gets Covid, it doesn't create headline. When a high profile celebrity and a bunch of them get Covid, it creates major ripples and spreads panic.

Well it is unfortunate in subcontinent that it does not create panic.
It should, because it is a contagious disease with consequences for public health and safety.

But, Players are completely justified to be nervous in such an unsafe environment and makes sense to postpone it, if not shifting to UAE which also would have been a logistical nightmare.

But to say that since Life is going on normal, when it is not and there are cases in Pakistan and all over the world. People are dying.. Approx 14000 people have died in Pakistan as well. The families of those people are impacted forever, because of the disease which is still amongst us,and here we have people like [MENTION=97]pakistani pride[/MENTION] telling us it is not a big deal. Shameful really.

Well it is unfortunate in subcontinent that it does not create panic.
It should, because it is a contagious disease with consequences for public health and safety.

But, Players are completely justified to be nervous in such an unsafe environment and makes sense to postpone it, if not shifting to UAE which also would have been a logistical nightmare.

But to say that since Life is going on normal, when it is not and there are cases in Pakistan and all over the world. People are dying.. Approx 14000 people have died in Pakistan as well. The families of those people are impacted forever, because of the disease which is still amongst us,and here we have people like [MENTION=97]pakistani pride[/MENTION] telling us it is not a big deal. Shameful really.

Once mass vaccinations have been carried out, perhaps the panic associated with the disease might begin to subside

LAHORE (Dunya News) – Lahore has been given responsibility for the remainder of the fixtures of following an abrupt stoppage of 6th edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) after seven COVID-19 cases were reported, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) confirmed on Tuesday.

The sixth edition of PSL 2021 had been postponed with immediate effect due to the outbreak of Covid-19 positive cases. The decision was taken in a meeting between the organising committee and the team owners and management on March 4.

The decision was made after seven cases were reported in the competition, which had started on 20 February.

The tournament has been rocked by a series of COVID-19 cases with the governing body confirming on March 4 three unnamed players from two different teams tested positive for the disease.

Only 14 games were completed in the 34-match tournament.

The board has given responsibility of remainder of the fixtures of the PSL to Lahore and the new schedule is expected to be announced in the next three days.

Punjab government has given green signal to host the fixtures.

https://dunyanews.tv/en/Cricket/591477-Lahore-to-host-remainder-PSL-6-fixtures-PCB

Karachi: The remaining Pakistan Super League (PSL) season six matches are likely to take place after Ramadan, ARY News reported.

According to details, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and franchise owners will hold an important meeting tomorrow where they will finalize whether to hold the postponed tournament before or after Ramadan.

It is unlikely to stage a reminder of the competition before the holy month as Pakistan men’s team is scheduled to tour South Africa and Zimbabwe.

ARY

Won't it be about 50 degrees in Lahore in June? September is a much better idea.

Reports indicate that another three employees of the PCB in Lahore have contracted coronavirus.

The PCB offices had been closed and the elite training camp at high performance centre was ended after one positive result three days ago

The board employees with a positive test will complete a 10-day quarantine before returning to office

All other employees who cleared the corona test will come to the office from the following day.

Just looking at IPL, begs the question: Should PSL be held again at all this year?

With the strictest systems in the world put in place at IPL by BCCI (or so we assume), 3 sets of breaches have happened so far - the latest one's threatening to escalate. What chance PSL with its lackadaisical attitude toward the pandemic.

Add to that, we don't know what position Pakistan will be in June in terms of Covid severity.

My vote is to cancel it - and keep important resources focused on ensuing covid stays away from common Pakistanis. The tsunami may come and our resources will be tied up in a meaningless tournament in today's context.

You can divorce cricket from a pandemic ravaged nation as much as you can suspend the laws of gravity.

It would be the height of irresponsibility to sanction this event given the worsening Covid situation.

Stunned silence from some vocal critics of the PCB

It's a bad idea to conduct the PSL at this stage when the infections are on the rise. Everything was fine and dandy when the IPL started too but the organisers missed the hints that infections were rising.

I think the PSL authorities would be better served in learning from the Indian example and if they have to restart the PSL at any cost, conducting the tournament in the UAE would be a much better option.

You can’t compare PCB and BCCI when it comes to organizing events. Look at IPL in UAE last year. It had 0 bio-bubble breach and event was successful. I’m sure if IPL is to take place next month, we won’t see issues like PSL.

You understand how much money and also respect PCB will lose? This chalta hai attitude is extremely bad for any nation.

So who is to be blamed here? Who has been punished?

This is a huge fiasco, someone's head should roll. Whose responsibility was it to maintain the BSE.

Its not only pakistan cricket but world cricket that has received a blow. The sanctity of a BSE is in question now.

If the news of franchisees hiding the details of Covid-19 is true, PCB can forget about the likes of England/NZ/OZ touring any time soon. And if players and teams stop coming, Supersport and Sky will find a way to get out of their contracts with PCB. That would be a complete shambles and PCB would be on the verge of bankruptcy once again.

Everyone responsible for this should be punished. This shouldn't be swept under the rug or Pakistan will lose whatever goodwill it has gained from other member boards of the ICC.

PCB rightly received criticism for their handling of PSL BSB and the head of the medical panel deservedly got the boot.

Who's going to be held responsible for this farce at the IPL ?

Perhaps listen to your own advice instead of giving us lectures.

PCB rightly received criticism for their handling of PSL BSB and the head of the medical panel deservedly got the boot.

I was thinking the same. Surely, the credibility of the IPL and the BCCI is shot after this debacle. Who is going to tour Ind?

Don't restart it next month. We have just been shown a giant red flag from what's happening across the border. If we restart it then inevitably shut it down again after positive cases and breaches of the lax bio-secure bubbles, it will be an even bigger embarrassment.

Greedy bcci and GOI will not stop ipl. It will only stop if some foreign player is infected and hospitalized.

Why do you have a problem with her? She is a brand ambassador. No need of singling her out.

It was PCB’s job to ensure that the brand ambassadors do not mix up with the players because they aren’t part of the bubble.

If the franchises are going to take these decisions at their own behest then PCB should be disbanded altogether.

It is PCB’s fault. Not the franchises and not the “pawri girl” who is giving everyone stomach ache for some reason.

Time for the BCCI to disband also?

It is the job of PCB to ensure that protocols are maintained. It is human nature to break rules when there is no one to hold you accountable or regulate your behavior.

Forget celebrities, I have seen doctors violate SOPs when there is no around.

It is not the job of the brand ambassadors and the franchise owners to take precautions beyond wearing masks at times etc. They are acting like regular people, and hardly anyone in Pakistan takes COVID seriously anymore.

The ultimate blame falls on PCB’s shoulders. They should have adopted strict measures and they failed to do it.

The ultimate blame Jaani....The ultimate blame

Maybe they should combine PSL and IPL in Dubai in July, have all teams compete for the ultimate India-Pakistan title.

Call it IPL-PSL World Championships.

I will happily watch Karachi lift the title beating Mumbai by 1 run in the super over - with Babar and Rohit both out for ducks and Amir going for 50 runs in his 4.

Maybe they should combine PSL and IPL in Dubai in July, have all teams compete for the ultimate India-Pakistan title.

Call it IPL-PSL World Championships.

I will happily watch Karachi lift the title beating Mumbai by 1 run in the super over - with Babar and Rohit both out for ducks and Amir going for 50 runs in his 4.

And then you wake up from ur dream

Nothing had changed. Once there were a few cases, IPL was suspended and good on BCCI for doing that. Nothing compared to the shambles that was the PSL.

It wasn’t just a few cases in the ipl. There were dozens of cases. . Every team was infected. Bcci can’t be trusted with telling truth. Indian government can’t be trusted to tell the truth about the daily death toll.

Heads need to roll for the mismanagement...

Yes. You forgot to add sad and disastrous.
But, BCCI is a private, corporate organisation, like any corporate company which just pays taxes(tries to minimise if off-course) and does not take a cent from average tax payers. So they can decide how they want to handle it. It is not even listed and has no share holders...

PCB on the other hand is funded by Pakistani tax payers and they can demand for head rolling.

Assuming those calling the PCB incompetent for the bubble breach must be holding a similar stance since the England test vs India is cancelled?

No. Some rules only apply for Pakistan. This will be brushed under the carpet as ‘it happens’ and we’ll move on.

Hope the mistakes of the last season are not repeated and that PCB keeps the Franchise Owners in check.