Reason why India has become such a solid team

Before SA 20 cricket south africa was also not a rich board. How do they unearth talents. Nz has no premiere leagues. Cricket is not their main sports. How do they unearth talents
Good school systems

And trust me all those white players you see playing for SA come from wealthy families. All private school kids. Great school systems. So they don’t care if they fail in sport. Those young kids have a back up plan in place. Parents have a trust fund for them or they have a family business to run etc should they not make it. It’s not the same for average desi kids in Asia.

Infact even in India despite bcci being rich, lots of talents miss out because these kids don’t have sufficient backing from their schools, parents etc due to financial constraints. Cricket isn’t cheap either if you want to go pro. Unless you get extremely lucky to get sponsored.

NZ is a rich first world country and that impacts its systems. Nutrition, supportive parents, professionalism etc.

SA is not as rich but it is still upper middle income.
School system. Private schools

They are all rich kids/ all of them

Go check rabada’s parents background
And temba as well. They were rich even before he got into cricket.

Only ngidi had a scholarship.

Good school systems

And trust me all those white players you see playing for SA come from wealthy families. All private school kids. Great school systems. So they don’t care if they fail in sport. Those young kids have a back up plan in place. Parents have a trust fund for them or they have a family business to run etc should they not make it. It’s not the same for average desi kids in Asia.

Infact even in India despite bcci being rich, lots of talents miss out because these kids don’t have sufficient backing from their schools, parents etc due to financial constraints. Cricket isn’t cheap either if you want to go pro. Unless you get extremely lucky to get sponsored.
What i mean is their board doesn't do much. Even Srilanka relied a lot on school system.

…..

I watched the first IPL, i watched the kind of rubbish Ravindra Jadeja was, but than Dhoni knew how to use that guy and made him into a star.

I have no ego to admit that India is amongst the best side.

My only issue is with their fans, the Indian nationals and now their captain of the T20 team. The fans will defend anything. THey may not be able to afford their needs or wants and would do bhangra over BCCI making 100 carore. They will defend everything wrong their team or countyr

No fan in the world celebrates their sports board making 100 carore, even if you are a liverpool or Man U fan. Infact, such fans would start questioning their sports board that why arnt they getting that money in terms of better parking or better stadium experience.

Jadeja (a U19 WC winner) was not in CSK in the first season, he played for Rajasthan Royals. Warne liked his skillset a lot and tipped him to be a superstar (he called him a rockstar too lol). Jadeja was an all round talent to start with. I’m sure Warne had a better eye for talent than most. After the first season where he performed admirably well, Jadeja himself wanted more money and started looking out. Dhoni or not, Jadeja would have been just fine anywhere.

About the BCCI money part:
It’s extremely important for making India a cricketing powerhouse. It brought cricket out as a viable career option. In a country like India where Education is the most sought after thing for parents, they actually started believing their kids could actually have a career playing cricket. All that’s because of money in the system.

Here are some tangible benefits if BCCI money that results in making cricket better in India that the fans take pride in:

1. Helps improve the overall playing infrastructure at several different levels

2. Helps BCCI grow the game at grass-root levels in India which in turn helps budding cricketers adopt the game as a career.

3. Helps pay top Indian cricketers top money, as they deserve. A top cricketer in India doesn’t have to worry about money after retirement, their next 3 generations can survive without working.

4. Better fields, better coaching, better tools.

5. Ability to use the money to frequently conduct tournaments at different levels - Gave players experience in absorbing pressure.

6. Helped domestic players learn more about cricket by putting them in the same dressing room with legends and also share their experience.

7. Money from IPL and sponsorship in general is being used to invest in Women's cricket.

8. Through the IPL, millions of people have a new pass-time in the evenings in terms of entertainment! The viewership itself attracts more sponsors and thus more money.
IPL is not a platform to unearth anyone from total obscurity, it is more to hone their skills and help them get used to playing in pressure conditions and determine who shines better under the spotlight. If you are good enough relatively, you'll play IPL and better your skills - and make money in the process.

There’s still ways to go in improvement as far as fan experience goes, I’m hoping it’ll get better in time.

It’s not about fans having a share in the money earned by the BCCI, but watching that money work for them through results. I don’t think any fan would have any standing if India lost more than they won despite all the money. They’ll be asking questions.

I won't purely attribute this to money. you still need talent . Long back guys form village, small town had awful lot of difficulty to make it to the top. With IPL , each franchisee has their own talent scouting team who are able to unearth these guys. . India already had a strong age group system. under-12, under-14,15 under-19. THen some prestigious high school trophies. Due to IPL cricket has become a profession.

Now each city, state host their own premiere leagues which makes the talent hunting easier. These are new avenues to make it top. Varun chakravarthy story is a fascinating story. But for a local state premiere league Varun would have never played cricket.

Varun Chakravarthy after finishing architetcutre was doing freelance arthitect job. Then becamse assistant director. He even acted in a cameo role. played as a junior artist. 600 Rs per day. He got into music as well for 6 months or one year. He quit. On the side he was playing tennis ball cricket. That was when his state premiere league (pioneer in India) was started by Srinivasn (cSK owner). His idea was to bring it to local districts. Through talent scouting they found Varun to play in this smaller league. His mysery bowling caugth everyone's attention. Very soon Dinesh karthik introduced him to KKR IPL franchisee. His life completely changed.

ARchitect -> Smaller State league -> IPL -> Indian T20 team -> Indian ODI team
There's a fascinating story about Varun Chakravarthy on a leading cricketing website called 'Namma Jai-Chitom, Machaa' or close enough... loosely translated - 'Akhir hum jeet gaye, bhai/mate/friend'...it has a terrific input on his life struggles, the number of changes he has made in his life...and these are so many - it can fill a novel or any bolly movie...
What a guy! :Dah

tbh he needs his own emoji on PP!

Reasons:

1) They have more people than all other Test nations combined. Population of 1.4-billion+. It means they have more players to choose from. :inti

2) They have more landmass which means they can have more cricket grounds. British Empire allocated them too much land instead of balkanizing more. :inti

3) They tend to rip off other boards. For example, they don't allow their players to play in other leagues but accept foreign players in IPL. That's a ripoff. :inti

4) They have hijacked ICC and get all sorts of preferential treatments. They can get away with almost anything. They feel they can do anything without consequences. :inti

PCB gets atleast 40 million dollars from the ICC every year. Add to that, other sources of revenue like sponsors .. lack of resources should be the last thing their fans complain about.
Yea.. How the heck Pakistan produced better players 15 years back without money.

I know this isn't about players but I went on a tour of lords recently and all of the tour group was Indian. The tour guide was a white old man who had actually been stationed in Quetta in his youth on an exchange.

Anyway I asked him if he ever had any Pakistanis coming, he said very few, it's mainly Indians.

Indians have a voracious appetite for cricket. It's unlikely any country will catch them as being quite honest it's only Indians that take cricket so seriously from a fan level all the way to player level.

This appetite means that from childhood their kids are cricket mad and parents are actively pushing them to succeed.

Have you really heard in Pakistan of parents taking their kids to training, camps,drills etc at a young age?

I have made this point on PP before but most of our players come into the team and tell us stories about how their fathers prevented them from playing and they used to sneak out etc etc.

Indians devour cricket man from every aspect and are obsessed by it. Naturally if they have an obsession, and it pays well, they will invest more and more into it and it becomes a cycle of success.

I know this isn't about players but I went on a tour of lords recently and all of the tour group was Indian. The tour guide was a white old man who had actually been stationed in Quetta in his youth on an exchange.

Anyway I asked him if he ever had any Pakistanis coming, he said very few, it's mainly Indians.

Indians have a voracious appetite for cricket. It's unlikely any country will catch them as being quite honest it's only Indians that take cricket so seriously from a fan level all the way to player level.

This appetite means that from childhood their kids are cricket mad and parents are actively pushing them to succeed.

Have you really heard in Pakistan of parents taking their kids to training, camps,drills etc at a young age?

I have made this point on PP before but most of our players come into the team and tell us stories about how their fathers prevented them from playing and they used to sneak out etc etc.

Indians devour cricket man from every aspect and are obsessed by it. Naturally if they have an obsession, and it pays well, they will invest more and more into it and it becomes a cycle of success.
Simply due to India becoming richer.

Due to IPL/FC cricket, you can have a very good life even if you never play international cricket. So parents aren't completely averse to kids playing cricket.

Manish Pandey has made 60 crore INR from his IPL career without being a regular India player. Plus must have made 5-10 crores off domestic/international cricket etc. Plus few small endorsements here and there.

If he invested well (and India has a booming stock market) he must have made enough for a lifetime.

Due to IPL/FC cricket, you can have a very good life even if you never play international cricket. So parents aren't completely averse to kids playing cricket.

Manish Pandey has made 60 crore INR from his IPL career without being a regular India player. Plus must have made 5-10 crores off domestic/international cricket etc. Plus few small endorsements here and there.

If he invested well (and India has a booming stock market) he must have made enough for a lifetime.
For sure that plays a part too but I think India always had this obsession even before the riches.

Yeah, but ability to go to UK on vacation and do a Lords trip requires $$$.
true,

but even though they are less in numbers the Rich Pakistanis dont have that interest, they come for shopping and dinners.

you guys LOVE cricket.

Soon the Indian diaspora will dominate cricket in US and eventually Aus too.

It’s the money in the game that has made cricket as a viable career option. Most urban parents and a lot of rural ones too want their kids to become engineers and doctors but if they still want to choose cricket, then the parents are reasonable comfortable letting their kids pursue cricket as a profession.
I agree with your assessment about the passion for cricket. It’s widespread. Always has been.

true,

but even though they are less in numbers the Rich Pakistanis dont have that interest, they come for shopping and dinners.

you guys LOVE cricket.

I think the rich Indians also don't care too much about cricket. By rich I mean the true elite - big businessmen, industrialists, actors etc.

Its the middle classes that have become rich enough to go abroad on cricket tours etc. Software engineers. 9/5 workers etc. Pakistan has not become rich enough that this demographic can afford to go abroad.

true,

you guys LOVE cricket.

I like how you are giving him and his country respect, but still an Indian being an Indian is trying to scream in this thread by writing it over and over again that we are rich, we are rich, we are rich. Even though he himself might not even be rich.

They just dont know how to talk when shown respect.

Its weird, every post the guy made is about being rich. Wonder if he himself covers his own needs first.

I like how you are giving him and his country respect, but still an Indian being an Indian is trying to scream in this thread by writing it over and over again that we are rich, we are rich, we are rich. Even though he himself might not even be rich.

They just dont know how to talk when shown respect.

Its weird, every post the guy made is about being rich. Wonder if he himself covers his own needs first.
When that is a reason for why India has left Pakistan behind in cricket (and hockey), that needs to be mentioned.

And don't worry too much about me - I can cover my own needs plus much much more.

For every Manish Pandey who made his 60, there are hundreds who fell out of the system. Unfortunately, all the money in Indian cricket is still pretty unevenly distributed. There are probably 5000 young men and maybe 200 young women who can actually make a full time living from cricket. Think of the millions who try.

For a sport that generates upwards of a couple of billion USD, that's too few in my opinion. Money needs to be spread more agressively around the Indian cricket system. The BCCI seems to be happy sitting on it's reserves and hoping things take care of themselves.

Money is one thing. You still need motivation and hardwork. At one stage Prithvi shaw was blue eyed boy. Scored a debut Test 100. From that point to not getting picked by any IPL team. Abhishek was a lower middler order batsman in u-19 world cup team led by Prithvi shaw. Look where Abhishek is where Shaw is. In 2018 batch Nagarkoti, Mavi, Porel were ace fast bowlers for India. INdia expected great things from them. But you know who made it out from that batch? Reserve bowler Arshdeep singh.

If I’m not wrong, the population of the Caribbean islands that make up the West Indies never went over 4/5 million.

That’s a tiny population compared to others, yet when they had less money they produced some of the all time best bowlers as well batsmen (too many names, some of those who count break into the XI back then would be ATGs elsewhere.)

They were never a so called first world country (or set of countries) like NZ which has a similar population yet were better when they were poorer.

Pakistan too for decades had relied on basically two cities (Lahore and Karachi), before the rise of Waqar Younis, and there too there were results.

So don’t think it’s a matter of money but more so how that (little or bigger) money is handled as well more systemic issues (the organization of cricket like departmental and so on, quality of pitches, availability of school cricket, coaching at basic level, you name it! So many things outside money!)

India because of its population and liberal economy since the 90s has become a convenient excuse to basically to not do anything substantial and systemic in terms of transformational reforms.
This is a very underrated point. PCB and its systems have likely degraded since.

Reasons:

1) They have more people than all other Test nations combined. Population of 1.4-billion+. It means they have more players to choose from. :inti

2) They have more landmass which means they can have more cricket grounds. British Empire allocated them too much land instead of balkanizing more. :inti

3) They tend to rip off other boards. For example, they don't allow their players to play in other leagues but accept foreign players in IPL. That's a ripoff. :inti

4) They have hijacked ICC and get all sorts of preferential treatments. They can get away with almost anything. They feel they can do anything without consequences. :inti

By that logic Pak and Bangla should be the no.2 and no.3 teams in the world :inti

There are lot of things honestly, IPL is probably the best thing that happened to Indian cricket.. Abhishek in his latest interview talked about Yuvi and even Shikhar Dhawan helping him stuff.

For every Manish Pandey who made his 60, there are hundreds who fell out of the system. Unfortunately, all the money in Indian cricket is still pretty unevenly distributed. There are probably 5000 young men and maybe 200 young women who can actually make a full time living from cricket. Think of the millions who try.

For a sport that generates upwards of a couple of billion USD, that's too few in my opinion. Money needs to be spread more agressively around the Indian cricket system. The BCCI seems to be happy sitting on it's reserves and hoping things take care of themselves.
This is a misinformed post with no understanding of how cricket in India works and how if has come a long way in the last couple of decades. Especially the last one.

BCCI is trying to expand cricket to all possibl corners. It was among the first board to mandate equal pay for men and women cricketers. It pumped money into women's cricket and launched a premier product like WIPL that now is not only profitable but also pays women cricketers better packages than male cricketers in the PSL. No wonder we are seeing record turnout for women's games in India now. And also a huge uptick in parents who are enrolling their girls for cricket lessons.

Another example is the substantial improvement in test-only players' packages, so that the best test players still get to earn an IPL level salary. This has energized the confidence of traditional red ball cricketers in the Ranji and lower levels.

Further, the first class remuneration itself was substantially revised upwards. A decent ranji player can now a very good income from just playing domestic cricket alone (30-35 lakhs) and use the remaining period to train and recover, without having to seek side gigs or other employment opportunities to survive.

Lastly, IPL itself has led to formation of a hyper competitive parallel cricketing hierarchy. The first level below it is comprised of state level premier leagues such as TNPL. And below that city level leagues have come up. And all these tournaments are paying a decent amount. Half decent players earn around 5 to 10 lakhs with these tournaments.

And then there are other tournaments such as Buchi Babu etc where players get to earn decent money and be employed pretty much all the year around.

In addition, BCCI also transfers a huge amount of money to the state boards (approx 2000 crores annually). It is also investing in cricketing infrastructure such as the Center of Excellence at Bengaluru which is world class. It also is investing in upskilling coaches around the country with top tier training programs and certifications.

In short, the cricketing ecosystem has become unbelievably big in the last decade and a lot of it is due to sharp efforts by BCCI.

Give credit where due.

Money is one thing. You still need motivation and hardwork. At one stage Prithvi shaw was blue eyed boy. Scored a debut Test 100. From that point to not getting picked by any IPL team. Abhishek was a lower middler order batsman in u-19 world cup team led by Prithvi shaw. Look where Abhishek is where Shaw is. In 2018 batch Nagarkoti, Mavi, Porel were ace fast bowlers for India. INdia expected great things from them. But you know who made it out from that batch? Reserve bowler Arshdeep singh.
Yes and also the system does not tolerate players like Shaw just on the basis of "tailunt" alone. Rather, the focus is on behavioral aspects such as discipline, work ethic and commitment to fitness. Shaw thought he could play the "flawed genius" archetype and get away but he was given a brutal wake up call.

Contrast that with someone like Azam Khan, who even made it to a world cup XI for Pakistan !! And we all know how that went. Painfully embarrassing for everyone around.

There are lot of things honestly, IPL is probably the best thing that happened to Indian cricket.

I would say the best thing to happen to Indian cricket was Lalit Modi.

Long before he created the IPL, he brought in a corporate style of governance due to which TV rights money exploded to a huge amount. In the 90s decade, BCCI admins undersold the commercial rights to TV channels in private backroom negotiations while likely taking bribes on the side. That way the TV companies made all the money instead of the players and a few admins got rich.

Lalit brought in transparent open-bidding for the first time in 2006 which made the private TV companies try to outbid each other, thus getting the true market value of Indian cricket.

I would say the best thing to happen to Indian cricket was Lalit Modi.

Long before he created the IPL, he brought in a corporate style of governance due to which TV rights money exploded to a huge amount. In the 90s decade, BCCI admins undersold the commercial rights to TV channels in private backroom negotiations while likely taking bribes on the side. That way the TV companies made all the money instead of the players and a few admins got rich.

Lalit brought in transparent open-bidding for the first time in 2006 which made the private TV companies try to outbid each other, thus getting the true market value of Indian cricket.
He was pretty awesome I give him that, I rather have somewhat corrupt but efficient person than say corrupt and inefficient leader.