Remembering The Late Bob Woolmer

The image of him shutting his laptop and just going turning back has never erased from my mind.

Has anyone ever read his coaching book?

His death was tragic. Shoaib Akhtar used to disrespect Woolmer alot.

Woolmer was cherished because of his involvement in Pakistan cricket. He was not just a coach, but also acting as an informal director who was in contact with the pipeline of youngsters. He even took fans recommendations from online aswell.

TBH, under him, Pakistan was not good in ICC tournaments, but as someone who developed youngsters at NCA, he was a top coach their

The best coach Pakistan had . If he had been appointed Director of Cricket in Pakistan for 5 years with proper power , he would have made a big difference. He made a strong OD XI for Pakistan , with clearly defined roles.

He was a great coach. I myself got benefited from his coaching tutorials (found on YouTube). It improved my batting against spinners.

Possibly one of the best cricket coaches of all time.

19 years ago, on this day we lost to Ireland and made an early exit from the CWC 2007.

Day after, on 18th March 2007, Bob Woolmer departed from this world.

One of the saddest days of my life as a cricket fan, followed by the demise of Philip Hughes.

A loss that felt extremely heart breaking. In a way I never recovered from it. In a way our cricket never recovered from it. I can only wonder what the players went through who regarded Bob as a father figure and had to endure his loss on top of a World Cup exit.

If 2003 CWC was the end of an era for Pakistan cricket, then 2006 was arguably the announcement of the horrors that awaited us. We lost superstars one by one and became a sorry memory of a cricketing nation we once were.

Allah Tala marhoom Bob Woolmer ko jannat mein aala maqam ata farmaye. Woh cricket ke azeem coach aur insaan dost thay, Pakistan cricket ke liye unka kirdar naqabil-e-faramosh hai. Unki rehnumai aur mohabbat hamesha yaad rahe gi.

19 years ago, on this day we lost to Ireland and made an early exit from the CWC 2007.

Day after, on 18th March 2007, Bob Woolmer departed from this world.

One of the saddest days of my life as a cricket fan, followed by the demise of Philip Hughes.

A loss that felt extremely heart breaking. In a way I never recovered from it. In a way our cricket never recovered from it. I can only wonder what the players went through who regarded Bob as a father figure and had to endure his loss on top of a World Cup exit.

If 2003 CWC was the end of an era for Pakistan cricket, then 2006 was arguably the announcement of the horrors that awaited us. We lost superstars one by one and became a sorry memory of a cricketing nation we once were.
Also Inzi Bhai retirement was very sad and emotional

A real terrific coach, ahead of his times. I remember Shoaib Akhtar crediting him with his improvement. Also guys like danish kaneria, sami etc
Also k akmal in his batting said he was a big factor.

RIP champ !

The only coach who took Pakistan team performance on heart , it was indeed a very very sad day in Pakistan cricket

Was a teen at the time. Really couldn’t understand how he passed away, all of a sudden. Till this day what really happened to him? Did he die a natural death or got killed?

First autopsy concluded that he was murdered. Second autopsy concluded it was a natural death.

Also Inzi Bhai retirement was very sad and emotional
It wasnt. People were fed up with inzi at that time. He was the most hated person and people were glad he was retiring.

Under him no one had any belief that we would win the world cup, because everyone knew how he was more focussed in religion and he had a very poor body language. West indies loss came out of no where, and when we lost to Ireland, everyone was cussing him.

Before woolmers death brushed everything off, there was alot of stuff going on. Team being forced to practice religion, tabligh cassets being played. Dr. Nasim Ashraf had his issues going on. The Champions Trophy in india gave a good indication where the team stood in icc tournaments where i believe younis khan was the captain.

Along with Inzi, Woolmer was also hated as a coach at the time.

I only came to realize how good Woolmer was afterwards when i read up on him.

Woolmer wasnt a good national coach, but a great NCA director/coach, that kept tabs on domestic performers and which player was to come in as replacement.

Nowadays, foreign coaches dont care about what happens in domestix or keep tabs that woolmer did

RIP!

P.S. I still wonder whether it was indeed a natural death.
They said he was strangled, others say there was a case of poisoning but till date nobody has said whether it was natural cause or a murder.

Which tells me there was 100% human involvement in his death. They only closed the investigation because the family accepted it was of natural cause.

It wasnt. People were fed up with inzi at that time. He was the most hated person and people were glad he was retiring.

Under him no one had any belief that we would win the world cup, because everyone knew how he was more focussed in religion and he had a very poor body language. West indies loss came out of no where, and when we lost to Ireland, everyone was cussing him.

Before woolmers death brushed everything off, there was alot of stuff going on. Team being forced to practice religion, tabligh cassets being played. Dr. Nasim Ashraf had his issues going on. The Champions Trophy in india gave a good indication where the team stood in icc tournaments where i believe younis khan was the captain.

Along with Inzi, Woolmer was also hated as a coach at the time.

I only came to realize how good Woolmer was afterwards when i read up on him.

Woolmer wasnt a good national coach, but a great NCA director/coach, that kept tabs on domestic performers and which player was to come in as replacement.

Nowadays, foreign coaches dont care about what happens in domestix or keep tabs that woolmer did
He wasn't a good captain

But still his contributions with bat are worth remembering

Much better than the current pathetic joke we have

I consider Bob Woolmer as the greatest cricket coach of all time.

I myself got benefited from his cricket tutorials during my club cricket days.

They said he was strangled, others say there was a case of poisoning but till date nobody has said whether it was natural cause or a murder.

Which tells me there was 100% human involvement in his death. They only closed the investigation because the family accepted it was of natural cause.
The initial autopsy concluded he was murdered. The second autopsy concluded it was a natural death. Don't know what to believe.​

That remains a mystery and might remain a mystery forever....
I remember the pathologist who performed the first autopsy insist that he had conducted hundreds of autopsies by then and he could tell first hand that it was a murder. This was after the second autopsy concluded it was a natural death.​