[Report] PCB curtails Misbah's selection powers; Babar Azam to have final say

So report in media says

Misbah’s right to select the team has been withdrawn.
Pakistani top-order batsman Babar Azam will now have the final say while selecting the team.

==

Smart move if true or will Babar Azam simply go and ask Misbah!?

Babar seems to be a confident chap... needs to take the lead... misbah just needs to be kicked out

Were there any conflicts between Misbah and Babar over team selection??

If true, I believe that's the end of Misbah.

The reports of Andy Flower must be true.

No way is Misbah going from chief selector + head coach to nothing more than a babysitter.

If Zahid mehmood gets selected as 2nd backup legspinner to Usman Qadir against South Africa then Selection committee has a say as well if only Usman is selected then Babar has full control.

I am seeing Amir back in green shirt, #karachikings noway Babar will be part of politics,he will defenately call back Amir.

Will Amir be called back into the side ?

What if Babar selects his friends and maybe 'family'? What then?

I am seeing Amir back in green shirt, #karachikings noway Babar will be part of politics,he will defenately call back Amir.

I am assuming this just means the selection in the final XI. The team will still be selected by selectors and chief selector (Mohammad Wasim). But earlier both Misbah and Babar selected final XI, now its only Babar

If Misbah had half a brain, he would read the writing on the wall and resign now.

Not sure how the PCB can make this work smoothly given the lack of professionalism in the team / country.

The fact that coach plans a strategy for a game and the captain decides the playing xi seems completely contradictory.

Wrong decision if the PCB is not intending to sack / take forced resignation from Misbah.

Captain should always have the final say in cricket. So this is a good move.

I was initially all for Coach+Selector role combined - but even in that case, the captain was always going to be the most important person.

Misbah has ensured that experiment doesn't see the light of day again in our lifetimes.

Babar will be captain for the long term so it kind of makes sense for this to happen. If Misbah isn't a CS, I didn't think he had a big say in the team anyway.

Today is 13th, 1st test will start on 26th when are they going to announce the squad for tests?

Misbah should just call it quits to be honest. Not everyone will agree but he's been one of the pillars of our cricket in the last two decades and helped to revive it back. He doesn't deserve this constant insult and name calling. Just quit and let it go. Maybe even then the fans will say the system was rotten by Misbah previously and hence we're not doing well now.

Good update. This is both a plus and minus for Babar, he has the freedom to pick whoever he wants in the XI but if the chosen players don't perform, the fans will go after him. Misbah must be a relaxed man now.

For the captain to take flack for wrong selection? Really I'd prefer if the captain just focused on tactics on field and leading the team. It's also less likely to create rifts between team mates and squad members if they believe the captain is being unfair to them.

The coach should select the team and be able to properly identify talents. The issue is Misbah just isn't good enough. Really I think coach should be selecting the squad too, we are stuck in the past when in terms to coaching, in other sports coaches have a larger impact and control. Given cricket is arguably more complex, large teams etc., really coaches should have an even bigger impact yet is the opposite. It is unfortunate that language barrier and travel issues make it difficult for a foreign coach to do this, and if we had a foreign coach there should be people to help him overcome difficulties, but with a home coach, is completely possible to do this.

Just get rid of Misbah and get another coach. It's clear the board have lost faith in him by doing this.

Misbah's powers curtailed once again, suggesting he's close to the exit door now.

Not sure about Babar's eye for talent though. He pushed for Shoaib Malik's recall in the Bangladesh series which was a total waste. The other selection he seemed to insist on was Usman Qadir, though we've not seen enough of the latter to form judgment.

as if problems with Pakistan cricket team performance is to do with selection. If there are 10 reasons why Pakistani team is an ordinary cricket team, then selection policy is 11th of them.

In the corporate world, at higher positions, you are not fired but your role starts getting diminished and you are basically nudged to look for other opportunities and resign. Something similar seems to be happening to Misbah.

If Misbah had half a brain, he would read the writing on the wall and resign now.

He's playing smart. This team will fail in next tour (babar will face the wrath) and he'll be again come in to the picture. The power will be back to him.

As usual I bet this is one of our idiots in the media not really understanding what is going on. So how I interpret this is as follows: PCB Selectors select the side with input from the captain (does the coach have a say? not sure now? can somebody confirm). The coach and captain will sit together and chalk out a strategy for the series. They will all probably sit and come up with an 11 but the captain will have the final say on yay or nay. End of. Its a good move because then the captain cant say "hum sub nay mil kay yay decide kiya thaa". Nope..Now cuptaan sahib will have to take the can for any major booboo's on the field.

In the corporate world, at higher positions, you are not fired but your role starts getting diminished and you are basically nudged to look for other opportunities and resign. Something similar seems to be happening to Misbah.

.... Only if the organization shows performance. Otherwise that man will be back with even greater power since he will make the case that, that authority isn't the problem but the lower positions are which means he will require even greater control to uplift it.

Making Misbah a dummy piece,

Indirectly asking Misbah to resign himself. Hope this will get rid of Misbah. Good to hear this news, hope it true.

Ok but is Babar going to select some Lara’s, Waugh’s and Tendulkar’s from our talent pool which were not being identified by Misbah due to a clash in conflict?

Misbah is the tragedy hero that just never dies unfortunately.

I could literally outline the highs and lows of his life, and the tragedy would exceed that of King Lear, Othello and Macbeth.

Misbah the movie would be the greatest sports biography movie ever. One final project in the life of Martin Scorsese before he perishes from this earth.

I don’t like this decision. Obviously captain should be given all the power, but Babar has a knack of associating with wrong characters (everyone at Karachi Kings) and also backs his friends and seniors.

If he has to choose between Haris Sohail and Kamran Ghulam, he will go for Haris Sohail. Would be happy to be proven wrong.

Ultimately, captain should have this kind of power though, so all the best to Babar. Hope he does for Pakistan what Dada did for India.

Babar will be captain for the long term so it kind of makes sense for this to happen. If Misbah isn't a CS, I didn't think he had a big say in the team anyway.

He will still ask for the players which he was carrying since he became selector for example Sohail Khan who never played a game but was around the team for every single tour.

For every problem Ifthikar become the solution that’s another love story

First assignment selected Ahmed shehzad and Umar akmal from nowhere , 3-0 was the gift at home for doing so.

Gave the captaincy to failing Azhar Ali soon after he became the selector and was fast to backtrack and change it to Babar ,

This guy has zero planning, he talks like everything knows , but he does nothing. The most defensive and stubborn person who is afraid of change.

However I see this as a temporary measure to stimulate the resignation of Misbah. In the long run it is not a good move to have captain the final say.

How ordinary some selections of team management have been, I think thats the right call.

PCB seems to be nudging Misbah to resign so they can save on the significant fee it would take to sack him. You wouldn't insult the head coach in this way otherwise by letting Babar replace him on a straightforward responsibility.

It doesn't make any sense for Misbah himself to decide to leave now, not when the tour to SA is round the corner. But i bet there'll be informal and non-publicised meetings where he'll be firmly told to leave of his own accord or face further public embarassment.

There's some discussion about Naseem being a failed experiment, but this guy Misbah is the ultimate failed experiment.

PCB now got their knickers in a twist trying to clean up the mess from this experiment that's left a mess everywhere.

The captain should always have the final authority to select the playing 11 as he is the one who is responsible for getting the most out of the troops.

Lol, if he resigns he loses the right to any severance. However if he is dismissed then the PCB will have to compensate him or perhaps even adjust him in another role till the end of his contract in 2022

The captain should always have the final authority to select the playing 11 as he is the one who is responsible for getting the most out of the troops.
But this doesn't happen in Pakistan, all the captains are dummy

Captain should have final say , that is how things should be. If you want to hold the captain responsible, he has to be given a free hand.

I see this backfiring. As a captain & the team’s best bat Babar has enough responsibilities on his plate. A captain always has input on final playing 11 along with the coach, but if he starts selecting the whole team itself (15 members) it may give rise to accusations of favoritism between players who are all his colleagues as well as his subordinates. Plus what will be Wasim’s role if the entire power rests with Babar?

This is for the final XI, Wasim is the one selecting the 16 man squad

Ok but is Babar going to select some Lara’s, Waugh’s and Tendulkar’s from our talent pool which were not being identified by Misbah due to a clash in conflict?

Nahin sir ji we have good players in the domestic circuit like Usman, Mohd.Saad, Israrullah, Kamran Ghulam. The main problem with our setup is they have no clue which player needs to select for what situation. I hope you have seen this year's QA Trophy.

Babar is a young captain and needs time but if you remember it was him that recalled Hafeez and Malik to the T20 team. Bar IK, who seemed not to care too much by dropping the likes of his cousin Majid, and later Zaheer Abbas, all the other guys have found it to pull the trigger. Its time the selectors pulled the trigger and got rid of at least 6 players from this dross.

.... Only if the organization shows performance. Otherwise that man will be back with even greater power since he will make the case that, that authority isn't the problem but the lower positions are which means he will require even greater control to uplift it.

Wrong, it has nothing to do with organisational performance. Misbah is not the CEO, he cannot do that. Once the CEO has decided to fire you, this is when such moves start.

What makes Babar Azam qualified to make these decisions? Not only does he not watch Domestic Cricket or Analyze Games, but he also doesn't play Domestic Cricket. Should he have input? I would say maybe.

I think Captains and rightly so will be slowly phased out of cricket.

So report in media says

Misbah’s right to select the team has been withdrawn.
Pakistani top-order batsman Babar Azam will now have the final say while selecting the team.

==

Smart move if true or will Babar Azam simply go and ask Misbah!?

Is this meant to be some sort of an admission that the captain has not had final say in the matter over the last few years? Funny how PAK with its history of some strong willed captains has been going in the opposite direction.

Good on PCB to have made the open secret clear about how PAK is keen on languishing at the bottom of the pit.

Anyone remember that skit from 80s on PTV about Moin Akhtar mimicking a selector for PAK cricket team and implying of Imran’s effect on selector? The skit goes something like below:

“Kya tum selector ho?”

In a haughty manner: “Haan hum selector hain”

“Kya tum selector ho?” (Repeated)

“Haan haan, hum selector hain”

“Imran ka darr hai”

In a resigned manner: “Imran to hoga”

N

Then the captain always has final say in the playing 11, what is new about this arrangement?

I think in other words, this means that Babar did NOT have the final say previously. Misbah did, or at least it was 60/40.

Is this meant to be some sort of an admission that the captain has not had final say in the matter over the last few years?

Yep. Last one year that is, specifically the Australia, Bangladesh, England, Zimbabwe, and New Zealand series.

Pak Fans will never be happy. The captain should always be the sole authority on the playing eleven as he is the one responsible on the field, sure the coaches can give their input, advice but the captain makes the final call.

However Andy Flower has demanded a role in the selection of the team and final eleven. I would suggest to the PCB to make the captain and the coaches as members of the selection committee as well

Yep. Last one year that is, specifically the Australia, Bangladesh, England, Zimbabwe, and New Zealand series.

This could equally spell the start of a very tough time for Babar Azam and possibly the end of him. Not because selection is a burden, but he’s not really demonstrated anything to suggest he is strong willed in his convictions to override others regarding selections or strategic decisions.

Kept saying on the Test match threads that he was much more involved near the boundary rope during the NZD T20Is but during the Test matches he kept mum, sitting by the pavilion, happy to watch the events unfold.

Not sure whether it has to do with how Rizwan wanted to proceed or Babar being out of his depth but I feel Babar’s PAK will concede healthy scores whilst fielding at least to begin with. Whether he manages to stay on and recover from it is a different matter and open to speculation.

Thanks
I think in other words, this means that Babar did NOT have the final say previously. Misbah did, or at least it was 60/40.

Could be because Babar is still learning the ropes of captaincy?

I won’t necessarily call this a downgrade of Misbah’s role, this is what it ought to be as a natural progression of Babar’s growth.

I
Pak Fans will never be happy. The captain should always be the sole authority on the playing eleven as he is the one responsible on the field, sure the coaches can give their input, advice but the captain makes the final call.

However Andy Flower has demanded a role in the selection of the team and final eleven. I would suggest to the PCB to make the captain and the coaches as members of the selection committee as well

Why do all incoming coaches in Pakistan demand a role in selection of the team? Thats kind of unheard of in the big 3 environment.

I

Why do all incoming coaches in Pakistan demand a role in selection of the team? Thats kind of unheard of in the big 3 environment.

They all have an input in the selection of the squad and team

Source on the Andy Flower thing?

Yes, but thats kinda given. Why then specifically ask for it in PCB’s case?

Possibly because they know of the politics and meritocratic dealings of the PCB? I would hazard a guess that it may also have to do with how PAK is perhaps the only team that likes to play with a “handicap” so to speak. How many times in the CWC19 did we field our best possible combination? Think it was only after the IND game that they realised whom to play. We have a habit of conceding games or compromising our chances in this fashion more than any other team I have seen lately.

What makes Babar Azam qualified to make these decisions? Not only does he not watch Domestic Cricket or Analyze Games, but he also doesn't play Domestic Cricket. Should he have input? I would say maybe.

I think Captains and rightly so will be slowly phased out of cricket.

Captain is not selecting the team but just the playing 11.

If Zahid mehmood gets selected as 2nd backup legspinner to Usman Qadir against South Africa then Selection committee has a say as well if only Usman is selected then Babar has full control.

Not sure about zahid decent for t20s but other then that he is garbage for tests or odis.

Actually this is ideal for Misbah. Now who can blame Misbah? Misbah is now just there to prepare players thus has a limited responsibility.

I know what the PCB is trying to do, but it might have the opposite effect on the 'calm' Misbah making his job easier for the same money. He doesn't have an ego so won't react. Had they done the same for Waqar he would have exploded.

Until the PCB fires him the situation isn't that bad for Misbah.

Not impressed with babar captaincy .Benching husnain for haris rauf in first 2 t20i was awful decision