Report: Summer load-shedding to persist, despite increased power supply [Update Post #60]

Mian

#THANKYOUNAWAZ

Quoting a pro PMLN channel here even they can't do a face saving for Nawaz here. What happened to all those promises by both shareef brothers before 013 elections? Hum 6 maheene main bijli na laa saken to humara naam badal dena.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="599" height="450" src="https://www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x5iiypu" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Even here Lahore is getting special treatment only 6 hours load shedding there while other small cities including mine are facing 12 hours of load shedding from last 2 weeks and this is just beginning of summers! Allah ji rehem kerna

[MENTION=141885]Moiza[/MENTION] if you are done with your victory lapping can you please answer the questions presented by OP

They need to accelerate building power stations - that's the only way to deal with it.

The bigger long term problem is the resources and the massive population boom.

I am sure that SS said it had been solved after just 6 months of the Noora govt.
stop spreading lies

if you hopped onto the recently inaugrated bullet train you would see that loadshedding problem is solved

stop spreading lies

if you hopped onto the recently inaugrated bullet train you would see that loadshedding problem is solved

I heard SS said humne bijli bana di he ab bas awaam ko istemal kerna sikhana he?

Speaker NA Ayaz Sadiq bijli ka na hona bas Allah ki marzi he......

NS and SS know the mentality of their voters. If tomorrow they come out in the media and say that bijli ke zakhair ki talaash zor o shor se jari hai, then the Nooras will lap it up.

The Nooras will be like atleast they are exploring for electricity reserves. How much electricity has PTI dug up in KPK.

They need to accelerate building power stations - that's the only way to deal with it.

The bigger long term problem is the resources and the massive population boom.

to be honest, even if they build more power stations, it will help no one.

Problem is there is no limit in the use of electricity.

People think that just because we pay for electricity we should be allowed to use as much as we want.

A guy who uses just 1 light bulb and fan has to suffer because of the guys who use ACs.

There needs to be a limit in the units people use. Plus, UPs needs to be banned aswell

People think that just because we pay for electricity we should be allowed to use as much as we want.

A guy who uses just 1 light bulb and fan has to suffer because of the guys who use ACs.

There needs to be a limit in the units people use. Plus, UPs needs to be banned aswell

But as we should soon be exporting electricity to Ind because of the incredible Noora govt with its incredible achievements, people using AC's should be the least of your worries.

I think he already mentioned the problem. Infrastructure required is not keeping up with the rate of population growth. There has to be a balance between these two.

People pay bill for whatever they use. Why is this even a problem? If people use more power they pay more bill, if they use less they pay less.

[MENTION=141885]Moiza[/MENTION] if you are done with your victory lapping can you please answer the questions presented by OP

I'm not as much a N supporter as you make me out to be. My fam and I voted for PTI and we will do the same in the upcoming election but I'm still firm on my stance that Immi should not be the PM. The problem I have with junoonis is that they pull everything out of context and misinterpret facts and figures to present a picture which isn't true most of the times. I do agree that things are not good but they are the best they have been in a long long while and for that the government needs to be appreciated.

The electricity problem is much more complex than under production. I'm not saying that Pakistan is over producing electricity, even in a perfect world we still would have a bit of load shedding but this situation now a days is more due to the electricity theft but Industrialists and even the common people that result in load shedding and higher rates for everyone. I saw a fb post the other day where there was a picture of a police station in Sindh stealing electricity. The government should have a proper system of laws to punish this kinds of act but this shows the hypocrisy of the Pakistani People. We, as a whole blame whatever government is in office but when given the chance do our best to steal whatever we can. Even if you put the most pious person on earth in office these acts will continue since a majority of the population is characterless and managing 230+ million people is no easy task.

As far as the electricity load shedding is concerned, there's only 4 hours of load shedding in Islamabad but it is obviously going to be higher in other cities. The one appreciable thing this government has done is the 24/7 supply of electricity to the Industrial sector, I have verified this myself from the I sectors in Islamabad, maybe someone here can provide info on what the situation is in other industrial areas.

No, I disagree. There should be no limit on the use since we pay for what we use but the paying part should be ensured. The main problem in Pakistan is the electricity theft which result in problems for consumers that are actually paying.

UPS nahi hoga tou garmi mein marr jayein gey.

But as we should soon be exporting electricity to Ind because of the incredible Noora govt with its incredible achievements, people using AC's should be the least of your worries.

With so much electricity being produced in the Noora government, I think they should declare whole of Pakistan an air-conditioned zone and install AC units at every nook and corner. This will go a long way in curbing the extreme heat in the country.

I'm not as much a N supporter as you make me out to be. My fam and I voted for PTI and we will do the same in the upcoming election but I'm still firm on my stance that Immi should not be the PM. The problem I have with junoonis is that they pull everything out of context and misinterpret facts and figures to present a picture which isn't true most of the times. I do agree that things are not good but they are the best they have been in a long long while and for that the government needs to be appreciated.

The electricity problem is much more complex than under production. I'm not saying that Pakistan is over producing electricity, even in a perfect world we still would have a bit of load shedding but this situation now a days is more due to the electricity theft but Industrialists and even the common people that result in load shedding and higher rates for everyone. I saw a fb post the other day where there was a picture of a police station in Sindh stealing electricity. The government should have a proper system of laws to punish this kinds of act but this shows the hypocrisy of the Pakistani People. We, as a whole blame whatever government is in office but when given the chance do our best to steal whatever we can. Even if you put the most pious person on earth in office these acts will continue since a majority of the population is characterless and managing 230+ million people is no easy task.

As far as the electricity load shedding is concerned, there's only 4 hours of load shedding in Islamabad but it is obviously going to be higher in other cities. The one appreciable thing this government has done is the 24/7 supply of electricity to the Industrial sector, I have verified this myself from the I sectors in Islamabad, maybe someone here can provide info on what the situation is in other industrial areas.

And than they say imran is the u turn khan so what happened to getting bijli fixed in 6 months? Bullet train? CNG? IMF ki chuti? The list of their broken promises is so long it's not even worth wasting time on it. Experienced govt my foot they can't even find a foreign minister or a better finance minister than a munshi with the name ishaw dar.

A lot of what you say is true but theft cannot be stopped by NS because he has no morality to talk about theft because he and AZ are the kings of stealing. They have as about much moral authority to talk theft as Pol Pot would have had talking about the sanctity of life.

No, I disagree. There should be no limit on the use since we pay for what we use but the paying part should be ensured. The main problem in Pakistan is the electricity theft which result in problems for consumers that are actually paying.

Oh wait last time i checked our current minister of bijli was found in bijli chori during early days of pmln govt.

Same Moiza who in the past said he'd happily vote for corrupt people [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] Now changing his tune as he has no answer to anything OP posted.

I didn't even bother responding to him because he came up with that typical Noora logic of "I will say everything to support NS but I don't actually support them"

Just read these news first is from 2011 PPP govt next is from 2014 PMLN govt and third one is the current situation when we are entering in last year of PMLN govt. Inhone hasil kia kya he? everything is same and even worse :facepalm:

2014 main production 13,000MW and demand 19,000MW. 2017 main production 12,600MW and demand 19,600MW

C9oZSH-XYAEoF5q.jpg:small

Generation= 12600
Consumption= 19600
Shortfall= 7000

Even in 2011 during PPP govt consumption was around 19,000 so it's not like PMLN is fighting a bigger monster.

Even Nooras waking up to the reality of evil of the noora mafia.

There is a guy in my group of friends who has been ardent PML-N supporter for generations. This past long weekend all the boys were chilling after quite a while and like typical uncles the matter descended to siyaasi matters and even the Noon supporter was like I cannot support Noon league anymore.

Whether it is his foreign education and years of living in the west or something related to Panama that caused him to switch sides, but it was a shock for all of us.

Well there has to be education drive as well regarding the consumption of power. But long term if the population keeps growing at an alarming rate then this problem will never be solved. They need to think 30 years ahead.

I think he already mentioned the problem. Infrastructure required is not keeping up with the rate of population growth. There has to be a balance between these two.

People pay bill for whatever they use. Why is this even a problem? If people use more power they pay more bill, if they use less they pay less.

This is the problem of our Pakistani thinking

You guys think just because you are able to pay money, you could misuse something as much as you want.

The thing is, just because you and me use ACs, the poor guy who lives his life on one fan and one light bulb suffers on the load shedding. Why? Because while that guy is not over using the power, we guys are, thus the poor guys suffer.

There needs to a limit in the units being consumed. Everyone should not suffer due to the fault of one.

Also, UPS is illegal. I also have UPS, but with UPS you end up saving the electricity, thus more electricity being consumed.

Well there has to be education drive as well regarding the consumption of power. But long term if the population keeps growing at an alarming rate then this problem will never be solved. They need to think 30 years ahead.

simple solution is putting limits on units.

a poor guy shouldn't suffer because of the misuse of us.

There is a guy in my group of friends who has been ardent PML-N supporter for generations. This past long weekend all the boys were chilling after quite a while and like typical uncles the matter descended to siyaasi matters and even the Noon supporter was like I cannot support Noon league anymore.

Whether it is his foreign education and years of living in the west or something related to Panama that caused him to switch sides, but it was a shock for all of us.

I can accept uneducated people supporting Nooras because the whole Noora ideology is based around convincing these people that they are pious, honest and wrongly maligned people( just like at the fat one and his use of alhamdulillah in the Panama confession interviews) but for people that have been educated or lived abroad, it shows a lack of intelligence and more importantly a lack of morals.

This is the problem of our Pakistani thinking

You guys think just because you are able to pay money, you could misuse something as much as you want.

The thing is, just because you and me use ACs, the poor guy who lives his life on one fan and one light bulb suffers on the load shedding. Why? Because while that guy is not over using the power, we guys are, thus the poor guys suffer.

There needs to a limit in the units being consumed. Everyone should not suffer due to the fault of one.

Also, UPS is illegal. I also have UPS, but with UPS you end up saving the electricity, thus more electricity being consumed.

You don't run heavy electricity consumers on ups so you're basically using it to run fans and lights. Living without a ups is not possible. Our ups had a fault last summers and the 2 days while it was getting fixed were absolute hell. Ups has losses converting electricity but it still uses less electricity than you would otherwise.

Pakistanis consume quite less electricity per capita as compared to the world and with the current prices it's not possible for an average middle class family to use more than 1 Ac daily. We use 1 ac and in June our bill touch 18000 so if you think about the normal consumer he won't be running multiple Acs. Moreover the way rates are structured it's hard to run multiple Acs, the per unit rates really sky rocket once you pass a certain threshold, I think there are 4 5 thresholds.

IMO limiting units won't solve anything. The most practical solution is the nation wife use of solar energy. Iesco introduced net metering but it's really hard to get one of those meters installed. But suppose you get the facility of net metering then a normal middle class family like mine install a solar system costing 4-5 lacs which will sustain our household and feed excess back into the grid, such a system would pay for it self in 4 years and has a life of 20 years from what I remember. In islamabad most households can afford such a system so if the utility companies cooperate then it can greatly reduce the load on the overall grid. I think solar energy is the way to go for Pakistan.

I know of multiple people who are dying to get solar system installed on their house roofs but thanks to iesco they're having difficulty. If you were to install a solar system without the help of the utility company then you'd need a lot of batteries which unnecessarily increases the cost of the whole project.

On the positive side, people are now getting solar powered ups so that's good, not a lot of people but still a good number. As the awareness increases I only expect this trend to go up.

You reap what you sow. They voted for Nawaz in hundreds and millions so now pay the price by there being no basic facilities available. In a few months these sheep will again start attending speeches by NS for the next election then vote for him again. I have no sympathy for such idiotic people.

It is a matter of people stealing electricity and government promising subsidies but actually not paying power producers. Truthfully if electricity sale and purchase was opened up instead of being controlled by the government. And duties would be removed from importing solar panels etc. A lot of people could install their own solar panels but because many of the politicians own power producers or have deals with them.
The rest of the world in last 5 years or so gave subsidies and tax breaks to people that installed solar panels. Now they are reaping the benefits of it.
What the government doesn't tell you is that we have the capacity to produce another 2-3000 mw. But because of non payment by the government or the government fixing the purchase price so low that using those expensive ways are not worth it for the producers.

Thank God I live in Karachi. Zero Load Shedding in my area and I live in Center of the City. I think there is no load shedding in 60% of the City.

In Karachi Load shedding is according to payment. Areas with 100% recovery have zero load shedding. In Areas where recovery is less than 40-50% they have load shedding of 8-12 hours or at least used to till last year I don't know about this year.

youre probably not home when there is loadshedding

for eg there is 1 hr loadshedding at 12noon on weekdays in my area but im not hoem at that time so didnt know abt it till recently

Generation= 12600
Consumption= 19600
Shortfall= 7000

Even in 2011 during PPP govt consumption was around 19,000 so it's not like PMLN is fighting a bigger monster.

dont understand why all these power plants are not making any dent

every month there is some iftitah but problems remain there

It is a matter of people stealing electricity and government promising subsidies but actually not paying power producers. Truthfully if electricity sale and purchase was opened up instead of being controlled by the government. And duties would be removed from importing solar panels etc. A lot of people could install their own solar panels but because many of the politicians own power producers or have deals with them.
The rest of the world in last 5 years or so gave subsidies and tax breaks to people that installed solar panels. Now they are reaping the benefits of it.
What the government doesn't tell you is that we have the capacity to produce another 2-3000 mw. But because of non payment by the government or the government fixing the purchase price so low that using those expensive ways are not worth it for the producers.

No need for subsidies or any tax reliefs, the prices of solar equipment are already affordable for a middle class person living in a city. The problem arises when you have to buy your battery bank which adds a lot of cost, if the utility companies leg us feed the excess electricity back into the grid and compensate us for it (like they do in developed countries) then there are no problems with implementing solar systems in houses. The facility even exists but due to the Pakistani nature of departments its very hard to avail that facility.

Power cuts return as shortfall touches 7,000MW

ISLAMABAD: Electricity consumers across the country had a bad day on Sunday, when the gap between the demand and supply kept fluctuating between 5,000 and 7,000 megawatts, resulting in extensive power cuts of seven to 10 hours.

The Ministry of Water and Power said the demand crossed 20,223MW at 8pm, compared to peak generation of 15,400 to 15,700MW, a shortfall of 4,786MW.

The shortfall reared its head as temperatures rose to 47 and 48 degrees Celsius in parts of Sindh and south Punjab, while major load centres such as Lahore, Karachi and the areas around Rawalpindi and Islamabad witnessed highs of 43, 37 and 36 degrees Celsius, respectively.

A ministry spokesperson said that Sunday was the first day in nearly a fortnight when scheduled load management was carried out, as distribution companies had been providing maximum supply to consumers over the past two weeks thanks to comparatively lower temperatures.

The electricity shortfall on Sunday was generally higher than in the early days of May 2013, when it ranged between 4,000 and 6,000MW. But demand at the time was also lower by 2,000-3,000MW.

The spokesperson said load-shedding varied under different distribution companies, but the average remained within six to eight hours, excluding low-recovery and high-loss areas where longer power cuts were applied by the respective companies.

“There was not a single megawatt of forced load-shedding,” he said, adding that the distribution companies kept on announcing higher schedules for the supply gap where needed.

An official explained that after setting aside the seven per cent transmission and transformation losses and 19pc distribution loss, the total energy reaching the consumers based on official numbers would be around 11,600MW.

This meant the indicative shortfall went beyond 8,500MW, or about 12 hours of load-shedding on average, based on a thumb rule of a 700MW gap resulting in one hour of load-shedding.

It was a rare day for power sector engineers, since it started with a gap of almost 6,000MW, as generation stood at 13,800MW at 9am against a demand of 19,600MW.

This was mainly due to the closure of five old power plants at Guddu due to the non-availability of natural gas, leaving the 747MW project to generate about 680MW.

Two units of Hubco and one of Nandipur were on outage, while one unit each at the newly-inducted Bhikki and Haveli Bahadur Shah plants kept going in and out of the system because of incomplete testing issues.

An official said there was almost 1,000MW of unaccounted draw of generation by some distribution companies against their allocated shares, due to non-metering and communication gaps.

Reports from various parts of the country suggested six to eight hours of load-shedding in major urban centres and up to 18 hours in the rural areas.

Sources say the hydropower projects contributed a maximum of 4,280MW, while public-sector generation companies produced 2,877MW and independent power producers (IPPs) almost 8,300mw.

They said the hydropower stations were generating about 3,400MW in the morning, but reasonable water quantities were retained to maximise output to 4,280MW for peak demand. Production from public sector thermal plants and IPPs was also ramped up by 150MW and 600MW between the morning and peak evening time because of financial and fuel constraints.

Source: https://www.dawn.com/news/1331738/power-cuts-return-as-shortfall-touches-7000mw

In cities like Delhi , privatization helped alot. Few years back 4-6 hours load shedding per day was normal. Now power supply is almost 24-7. Same model needs to apply in major Pakistani cities.

You mean 10-15 years back? I have been living in Delhi for nearly 14 years, never used a power backup.

Interesting...

Shortfall 2012 - 6,000MW
Shortfall 2016 - 6,000MW
Shortfall 2017 - 7,000MW

You mean 10-15 years back? I have been living in Delhi for nearly 14 years, never used a power backup.
You were lucky to live in a area where there were no power cuts. I had to buy an big inverted 6 years back to counter load shedding. I was told that time the inverter batteries wouldn't last more than 2 years. Those batteries are still running well because inverter is rarely used in last few years.

I can accept uneducated people supporting Nooras because the whole Noora ideology is based around convincing these people that they are pious, honest and wrongly maligned people( just like at the fat one and his use of alhamdulillah in the Panama confession interviews) but for people that have been educated or lived abroad, it shows a lack of intelligence and more importantly a lack of morals.

come election time he will find some justification to vote for or support PML-N

they always do. them and PPP jiyalas

A recent justification given to me by a noora supporter:

Nawaz Sharif boht corrupt he boht maal banaya he but Imran Khan se to behter he wo to fahaashi phela raha he muaashre main apne jalson se.

And MQM as well
A recent justification given to me by a noora supporter:

Nawaz Sharif boht corrupt he boht maal banaya he but Imran Khan se to behter he wo to fahaashi phela raha he muaashre main apne jalson se.

yea

It's funny how some of y'all were surprised why people wanna leave Pakistan, lool this is (one of the many reasons) why!

Our electricity was cut off for 30 minutes in the middle of the night. I found out by noticing that the router had been reset, the electronic clock in the cooker was flashing (meaning it needed reprogramming due to a disruption in the power supply), and the clock radio on the bedside table was 30 minutes slow.

I have written an email to the electricity supplier to complain, and asking why there was no advance warning (the electricity being cut was due to some work being carried out at the substation at night to minimise disruption). What if there had been an emergency and/or someone needed to go to the bathroom, and we couldn't switch on the lights, during this period of electricity deprivation?

I have demanded compensation for the inconvenience caused as well as the mental stress of realising our potential predicament during the night.

So how feasiable would it be to have solar panels / system installed or even a solar farm if enough people of a community got together? I checked loadshedding website which provided some good introductory information,

4 month old thread and 70 odd replies.. Open a thread of Kashmir or religion or India vs China BS and you see 3-4 pages in a day or two.. Shows you where our priorities are and why these issues are present in our part of the world.. No fault of Nawaz sharif here at all you get a leader how your awaam is..

Stupid comment based on imagination

Check the threads for other issues such as panamagate or March or CPEC

Besides there's a thread on this every six months

Stupid comment based on imagination

Check the threads for other issues such as panamagate or March or CPEC

Besides there's a thread on this every six months

If you think people have right priorities and vote for them then fair enough.. I would have thought there would have been more dharnas/petitions for issues such as electricity shortage or unemployment which would make the ruling party pay much needed attention to such issues and try and resolve them..

Good luck to you and your country in resolving this shortage.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Figures speak for themselves. The biggest problem Pakistan faced in 2013 has been resolved, Alhamdolillah!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RoshniPromisedRoshniDelivered?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RoshniPromisedRoshniDelivered</a></p>— Maryam Nawaz Sharif (@MaryamNSharif) <a href="https://twitter.com/MaryamNSharif/status/937318373918158848?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

I am not too familiar with the current electricity situation. :13:

Updates?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Figures speak for themselves. The biggest problem Pakistan faced in 2013 has been resolved, Alhamdolillah!<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RoshniPromisedRoshniDelivered?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RoshniPromisedRoshniDelivered</a></p>— Maryam Nawaz Sharif (@MaryamNSharif) <a href="https://twitter.com/MaryamNSharif/status/937318373918158848?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

I am not too familiar with the current electricity situation. :13:

Updates?

They say this every winter, we will see how it goes when summer arrives :)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">آج آدھی رات کے بعد کراچی کے علاوہ سارے پاکستان میں 60% بجلی کے صارفین لوڈ شیڈ نگ سے انشاءاللہ ہمیشہ کیلئے نجا ت<br> حاصل کر لیں گے۔۔ نواز شریف کے وعدہ کی تکمیل الحمداللہ <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/%D8%B1%D9%88%D8%B4%D9%86?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#روشن</a> پاکستان</p>— Khawaja M. Asif (@KhawajaMAsif) <a href="https://twitter.com/KhawajaMAsif/status/937377740692574208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations for your personal role and tireless efforts in making this happen, credit to you and loads of respect <a href="https://t.co/zQGc2ZeVQn">https://t.co/zQGc2ZeVQn</a></p>— Murtaza Ali Shah (@MurtazaGeoNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/MurtazaGeoNews/status/937405297643139072?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ht" dir="ltr">Shah je yea personal msg apnay publicly kar diya shayed <a href="https://t.co/gYgm4KqjnN">https://t.co/gYgm4KqjnN</a></p>— Adeel Raja (@adeelraja) <a href="https://twitter.com/adeelraja/status/937409449807044610?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">December 3, 2017</a></blockquote>

Summer load-shedding to persist, despite increased power supply

LAHORE: Despite increasing power supply, consumers are expected to face power outages during the upcoming summer months, reported a private news outlet.

The government has decided to divide electricity consumers into two categories in order to implement a load-shedding schedule. First, areas which are served by feeders having less than 10 per cent distribution or transmission losses will face no load shedding. These feeders supply power to 67.2 per cent consumers across the country. On the other hand, feeders which incur losses in the range of 10 to 20 per cent and serve 21.7 per cent of electricity consumers will face two to four hours load-shedding in the summer months.

National Power Control Centre (NPCC) and power distribution companies expect the rise in consumer demand to range from 10 to 13 per cent this year compared to 2017. The level of shortfall is expected to vary from 5 to 7 per cent from March to October 2018.

The government plans to deal with the shortfall by using water resources to generate hydroelectric power. New hydroelectric power projects are expected to add 1,444MW to the national grid in April and 1,410MW in August. Similarly, the three LNG plants are expected to generate 2,242 megawatts in April and 3,000MW from May onwards.

https://profit.pakistantoday.com.pk...ng-to-persist-despite-increased-power-supply/

What is stopping Pakistan to get more Nuclear power? Wiki says only 5.8% out of total. Mostly it's by fossil fuel and hydroelectric.

Shobaz said this last year and he and his party are repeating from 5 years!

DZdvVOEWkAAFQ60.jpg

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">"There was no load shedding until i was Prime Minister of Pakistan", says <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NawazSharif?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NawazSharif</a><br>Watch <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DunyaNews?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DunyaNews</a> Live: <a href="https://t.co/WzGiFMYqsz">https://t.co/WzGiFMYqsz</a> <a href="https://t.co/VBSqCKdphZ">pic.twitter.com/VBSqCKdphZ</a></p>— Dunya News (@DunyaNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/DunyaNews/status/981432493453737984?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 4, 2018</a></blockquote>

The Summer is back and so is load shedding.

Facing 6 hours of outages in one of the major PML N cities. Can imagine what might be the situation in other areas of the country.

Speaker NA Ayaz Sadiq bijli ka na hona bas Allah ki marzi he......

Only in Pakistan these fools get selected time and again. Tells you something about the public here.

Nevertheless, around 50 percent don't vote here.

The Summer is back and so is load shedding.

Facing 6 hours of outages in one of the major PML N cities. Can imagine what might be the situation in other areas of the country.

Surely not. Didnt the Nooras claim that they had ended power outages? If only NS was still in control and his party was still in power, then none of this would have happened.

haha so now patwaris think load shedding is also a deep state ki sazish :)) So Nawaz added 7k MW according to Patwaris and 10k MW according to Maryam but still out capacity is same? Someone need to learn match!

DaY7Z_DX0AAbv1i.jpg:small

haha so now patwaris think load shedding is also a deep state ki sazish :)) So Nawaz added 7k MW according to Patwaris and 10k MW according to Maryam but still out capacity is same? Someone need to learn match!

DaY7Z_DX0AAbv1i.jpg:small

Lol this is what my cousin was also saying, apparently Nawaz Sharif has ended load shedding but it's a conspiracy by hidden forces that there is still load shedding.

So Army stops them from improving economy, power generation, exports, tax collection, institutional reforms, poverty reduction etc but they fail to stop them stashing billions overseas and building up wealth all around the world :)

Lol this is what my cousin was also saying, apparently Nawaz Sharif has ended load shedding but it's a conspiracy by hidden forces that there is still load shedding.

So Army stops them from improving economy, power generation, exports, tax collection, institutional reforms, poverty reduction etc but they fail to stop them stashing billions overseas and building up wealth all around the world :)

All their supporters are humiliated, look on here and how they disappeared from the forum, because even they couldn't defend the indefensible. So the only reply they have is a world wide conspiracy.

Huge power breakdown cripples life in KP, Punjab

ISLAMABAD: A major breakdown crippled the power system in almost entire Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Azad Jammu and Kashmir and some parts of Sindh and Balochistan for almost eight hours on Wednesday, days before the PML-N government completes its five-year tenure riding on the energy sector’s turnaround story.

The technical fault occurred around usual North-South corridor near the Guddu-Muzaffargarh transmission network at around 9.28am and forced the closure of almost all the power plants in Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Azad Kashmir in a cascading manner within five seconds.

This happened at a time when the entire national grid was being run on an ad hoc basis and no technical hand was at the top to independently take steps for crisis management. The power division initially attributed tripping around ‘Tarbela due to which the cascade travelled’, forcing the system from Tarbela to Guddu to go down.

The position was later changed when challenged by authorities at the Water and Power Development Authority who said there was no issue at the Tarbela station which was producing more than 2,200MW of electricity when “tripped along other power houses due to technical fault in the national grid”.

Wapda said it had restored about 3,000MW generation when given a green signal from the national grid.

Fact-finding committee formed to investigate eight-hour long ‘worst power outage’

“The situation we faced on Wednesday has forced us to reach the facts behind this worst power breakdown. Therefore, we have constituted a fact-finding committee to investigate that why it happened despite system augmentation or up-gradation,” Power Division’s Federal Secretary Yousaf Naseem Khokhar told Dawn.

“The committee will also fix responsibilities and failure (if any) on the part of officials concerned and other technical issues that caused this incident just a day before start of Ramazan,” Mr Khokhar added.

A power division spokesman said Punjab and KP were affected due to power failure while the southern system — Sindh, including Karachi, and Balochistan — remained unaffected. Others in the power sector, however, said some parts of Sindh and Balochistan bordering Punjab and KP also remained off-grid.

The spokesman said in the evening that the “transmission system which split into North and South due to tripping today at 9:28am resulting in electricity supply failure to Punjab and KP areas was restored at 5.13pm with major power generation plants gradually increasing their input in the national grid”.

He said the initial report suggested that 500kV transmission line from Guddu power house to Raheem Yar Khan tripped at 9.28am and at the same time 500 kV Guddu-DG Khan transmission line also tripped.

“As a result, the load increased on 500kV Guddu-Muzaffargarh transmission line from 733MW/72 MVAR to 1,559 MW/717 MVAR as recorded at 500kV Muzaffargarh end. This line also tripped at 09 : 28:14 hrs. This tripping resulted in under frequency on system from 50.18 Hz to 48.755 Hz within 5 seconds,” he said.

Meanwhile, some other power stations also tripped perhaps due to frequency fluctuation/jerk and cascade tripping started in the northern part from Guddu to Peshawar. The system went under partial failure from Guddu to Peshawar at 09 : 28:59 hrs when frequency decayed down to 45 Hz, the spokesman said.

An expert attributed the breakdown to administrative and technical shortcomings in the power sector. He said the top commander – secretary – of the power sector was a pure bureaucrat without power system experts working under his direct supervision.

The Pakistan Electric Power Company (Pepco) — the so-called umbrella organisation leading the generation, distribution and transmission companies – was led by on acting charge basis by another generalist joint secretary of administrative services Musaddiq Ali Khan as acting managing director.

Also, the post of managing director of the National Transmission and Dispatch Company (NTDC) that directly looked after the national grid was also being looked after by another joint secretary of secretariat group Zaffar Abbas on acting charge basis.

As if that was not enough, the post of NTDC deputy managing director had been lying vacant since April 15 after the retirement of Wajahat Rana. He was the power division’s favourite to come back to run the NTDC but his notification was blocked by the Election Commission’s ban on recruitment.

In the meanwhile, the NTDC board of directors approved with majority the promotion of Ilyas Ahmad, currently heading the national power control centre (NPCC), to take over the post of NTDC deputy managing director but was blocked by the power division to keep the post vacant for Mr Rana.

On the other hand, the technical fundaments of the national grid had come under stress over the past few years because of various reasons, including a declining ratio of hydropower generation that used to be a key stability factor. Instead, accessibility factor of the other renewables like wind, solar and bagasse – also had an impact on the system while the total base load portfolio witnessed a paradigm shift due to heavy induction of electronic equipments that changed harmonics of the entire system.

There was a precarious balance in the system that went under on a first destabilising factor amid suspected system stability and the absence of engineers not in the driving seat.

On top of that, the transmission system in Guddu-Shikarpur-Muzaffargarh portions was still short of optimum strength. For example, the crucial 125kmw Uch-Sibi transmission line was still absent which should have been in place in April 2014 before the commercial operations of the Uch-II power project which former prime minister Nawaz Sharif had inaugurated to demonstrate government’s determination to ease energy crisis, despite repeated warnings from experts.

It was noted that the government will either have to keep one of the two Uch projects closed and pay capacity charges or face repeated outages because the transmission system was simply incapable of evacuating more than 900MW of the two plants.

The power division has constituted an enquiry committee headed by Additional Secretary Waseem Mukhtar to ascertain the causes of tripping, the process of restoration and suggestions for system to avoid such incident in the future.

The additional secretary will be assisted by three experts as members of the committee, the spokesman said, adding that the system had surplus electricity before the tripping as compared to the demand and “the temporary loadshedding was purely associated with system fault”.

The power division has been claiming to have made huge investments in upgrading the transmission and distribution system and introduced safety measures to avoid cascading power breakdowns after repeated such incidents in 2015 and in November last year.

Insiders said there was no need to investigate where the fault occurred but why the protection devices did not deliver. This was because the IT and telecommunication system could precisely record the problem point in milliseconds.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1408160/huge-power-breakdown-cripples-life-in-kp-punjab

Another Saazish by Establishment

The power shortfall on Monday peaked to a record high of over 9,000 megawatts (MW), leading to prolonged power outages in the country.

ISLAMABAD: The power shortfall on Monday peaked to a record high of over 9,000 megawatts (MW), leading to prolonged power outages in the country. The situation exposing claims of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz government to bring a massive turnaround in power fortunes.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi had claimed on May 30, one day ahead of his tenure end that the government had added 11,461MW power from new resources to the system. He had also claimed that electricity demand in June would stand at 22,538MW against the total expected generation of 22,178MW, registering a shortfall of 362MW.

During a press conference, caretaker Energy Minister Ali Zafar also claimed that the average shortfall was 2,000 MW and added that power shortfalls are a result of dropping water inflows in the rivers. He also said that power situation would improve in the coming days.

However, according to available figures, power demand on Monday stood at 25,044 MW against supply of 15,766 MW registering a record shortfall of 9,278 MW that had led to extended power outages across the country.

The shortfall had resulted in 2 to 17 hours of load shedding nationwide with consumers of Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa(K-P) being the most affected by the increasing electricity deficit as they face a fresh series of load shedding.

The power demand of Islamabad Electric Supply Company (Iesco) was 2,565 MW against a supply of 1,506 MW to meet the demand of its consumers while the Lahore Electric Supply Company (Lesco) was receiving 3,635 MW against demand of 5,270 MW.

The demand of Multan Electric Power Company (Mepco) was 3,769 MW while the supply was only 2,302 MW. Similarly, the demand estimates of Qesco in Balochistan stood at 1,715 MW against supply of 798 MW. Pesco and Hesco were also facing shortfalls of 1,308 MW and 325 MW, respectively.

The PML-N government had also left office with receivables from power defaulters amounting to a massive Rs851 billion. According to audited figures, receivables from power defaulters stood at Rs729.8 billion in June 2017, which jumped to Rs851 billion by the end of April this year, weighing on the power sector.

In the Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) meeting held earlier in May, PML-N’s economic managers had acknowledged that financial position of the power sector was at a critical level because of a host of reasons. These included unsatisfactory performance in terms of regulatory benchmarks for loss reduction and improvement in recovery, unavailability of subsidy, delay in detailed tariff determination, which had now been notified, but its effect would start emerging in the next few months.

The ECC was also informed that higher energy sales due to a significant increase in the generation base, also contributed to the circular debt build-up.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1742548/1-electricity-deficit-power-shortfall-hits-record-peak/

Another Saazish by Establishment

The power shortfall on Monday peaked to a record high of over 9,000 megawatts (MW), leading to prolonged power outages in the country.

ISLAMABAD: The power shortfall on Monday peaked to a record high of over 9,000 megawatts (MW), leading to prolonged power outages in the country. The situation exposing claims of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz government to bring a massive turnaround in power fortunes.

Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi had claimed on May 30, one day ahead of his tenure end that the government had added 11,461MW power from new resources to the system. He had also claimed that electricity demand in June would stand at 22,538MW against the total expected generation of 22,178MW, registering a shortfall of 362MW.

During a press conference, caretaker Energy Minister Ali Zafar also claimed that the average shortfall was 2,000 MW and added that power shortfalls are a result of dropping water inflows in the rivers. He also said that power situation would improve in the coming days.

However, according to available figures, power demand on Monday stood at 25,044 MW against supply of 15,766 MW registering a record shortfall of 9,278 MW that had led to extended power outages across the country.

The shortfall had resulted in 2 to 17 hours of load shedding nationwide with consumers of Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa(K-P) being the most affected by the increasing electricity deficit as they face a fresh series of load shedding.

The power demand of Islamabad Electric Supply Company (Iesco) was 2,565 MW against a supply of 1,506 MW to meet the demand of its consumers while the Lahore Electric Supply Company (Lesco) was receiving 3,635 MW against demand of 5,270 MW.

The demand of Multan Electric Power Company (Mepco) was 3,769 MW while the supply was only 2,302 MW. Similarly, the demand estimates of Qesco in Balochistan stood at 1,715 MW against supply of 798 MW. Pesco and Hesco were also facing shortfalls of 1,308 MW and 325 MW, respectively.

The PML-N government had also left office with receivables from power defaulters amounting to a massive Rs851 billion. According to audited figures, receivables from power defaulters stood at Rs729.8 billion in June 2017, which jumped to Rs851 billion by the end of April this year, weighing on the power sector.

In the Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) meeting held earlier in May, PML-N’s economic managers had acknowledged that financial position of the power sector was at a critical level because of a host of reasons. These included unsatisfactory performance in terms of regulatory benchmarks for loss reduction and improvement in recovery, unavailability of subsidy, delay in detailed tariff determination, which had now been notified, but its effect would start emerging in the next few months.

The ECC was also informed that higher energy sales due to a significant increase in the generation base, also contributed to the circular debt build-up.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1742548/1-electricity-deficit-power-shortfall-hits-record-peak/

Slinece bootlicker..this is clearly a saazish from the establishment to get IK into power..!!

Right now we are experiencing a heatwave in the UK with temperatures around 27 degrees Celsius.

Now imagine adding another dozen degrees, not having electricity, and without access to clean drinking water - you have an unbearable situation for millions of people.

Right now we are experiencing a heatwave in the UK with temperatures around 27 degrees Celsius.

Now imagine adding another dozen degrees, not having electricity, and without access to clean drinking water - you have an unbearable situation for millions of people.

absolutely!
We struggle when it snows for a couple of days, or get uncomfortable in the evenings when the temperature hits mid-upper teens...and yet the poor people of Pakistan have to live in hot, humid conditions with little electricity and no clean, fresh water....

Really makes you think and also gets your blood boiling at the corruption that is literally killing people.

You call that a heatwave? :danish

We are supposed to have heatwave here on the upcoming weekend with temperatures expected to rise to the 40s

The National Electric Power Regulatory Authority (NEPRA) on Friday announced a Rs0.5 per unit reduction in the power tariff for K-Electric consumers, ARY News reported.

According to the notification issued by the NEPRA, the K-Electric power tariff was reduced due to the fuel cost adjustments (FCAs) in the month of April.