[REPORTS] If something unfortunate happens, I won't be the only one going back home: Sarfaraz Ahmed

Drawing flak after the loss to India, Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed has warned his teammates of further backlash at home if they fail to lift their game in the remaining matches of the ongoing World Cup.

Pakistani cricketers are facing strong criticism from both fans and former players after the 89-run defeat to India in the marquee World Cup clash here on Sunday. With just three points from five games, Pakistan are at the second last position in the tournament table and Sarfaraz has cautioned his teammates to be ready for the wrath of the public back home if the below-par performances continue.

"If anyone thinks that I will go home, then it is their idiocy. If God forbid something unfortunate happens then I won't be the only one going back home," Pakistani media outlet, 'thenews.com.pk', quoted Sarfaraz as saying.

Sarfaraz's captaincy was called "brainless" by former pacer Shoaib Akhtar, while Shoaib Malik, who was out for a first-ball duck in the game against India, found himself in the eye of a storm after videos of a night-out with Indian tennis star wife Sania Mirza went viral on social media.

The captain has urged the team to forget the loss against the neighbours and move on. "Forget the bad performance and uplift the team for the remaining four matches," said Sarfaraz. Pakistan will next play South Africa on June 23 in London.

https://sports.ndtv.com/world-cup-2...akistan-teammates-of-backlash-at-home-2055051

Please take imad, shadab, hafeez, wahab, malik, asif, hasan ali with you. Please. I will forgive you for your rubbish performances.

He’s lost the plot. Can’t be saying these things mid tournament :facepalm:

Think he's lost the support of the players and the players have abandoned him as well. Won't be surprised if reports of infighting and grouping start to emerge after WC.

What a poor statement during the tournament.

He should realize that while all will be going home, he is the one who is the captain and he will be loosing that position and these statements definitely dont serve his cause.

Please take imad, shadab, hafeez, wahab, malik, asif, hasan ali with you. Please. I will forgive you for your rubbish performances.
Shadab, Imad and Wahab have been ok on this tour in bowling and batting. Shadab coming back off illness only played couple of games. Wahab and Shadab have also fielded well.
For the rest blame selectors and coach for picking them in the squad despite their recent performances prior to world cup.

Shadab, Imad and Wahab have been ok on this tour in bowling and batting. Shadab coming back off illness only played couple of games. Wahab and Shadab have also fielded well.
For the rest blame selectors and coach for picking them in the squad despite their recent performances prior to world cup.

Wahab is finished. I am a fan of Shadab, but he needs to work on his bowling which is not good enough at the moment. Imad hardly ever picks up a wicket and got atrocious fitness always giving runs in the field

Why Imad, after Amir, he was the only one who performed against India , in both bowling and batting.

Extremely unprofessional statement by the Captain. This is the most unobjective unoriginal and third rated way to motivate your team.

Why Imad, after Amir, he was the only one who performed against India , in both bowling and batting.

Remind me how many wickets Imad has took in this world cup tournament? A big fat zero.

This Michael Yardy of Pakistan darter is a disgrace to our spin legacy. He cannot spin the ball!!

EXCELLENT COMMENTS FROM SAFI!
To parphase afrdi , pakistani cricketers don't respond to carrots they need a stick!
Safi threatening them with the home reaction of fans when they return and that he is going to tell everything to the media, should scare enough of these players, especially the younger ones, to buck up their ideas and concentrate on performing!

People underestimate the leadership of IK in 1992. Same exact situation, intikhab alam and some players had even booked their tickets home after the loss to South Africa but IK told everyone to **** and stay focused for the remaining games and the rest is history

Remind me how many wickets Imad has took in this world cup tournament? A big fat zero.

This Michael Yardy of Pakistan darter is a disgrace to our spin legacy. He cannot spin the ball!!

Yardy wasn't that bad, he had a hand in killing Fawad Alam's LOI career

So is he already auditioning for Lollywood.
What sort of dramatic quotes are these.

Hey! You take that back.

I saw him spin 1 delivery against India.

Extremely unprofessional statement by the Captain. This is the most unobjective unoriginal and third rated way to motivate your team.

Classles behaviour from not so classy captain. Always knew his selfishness and now he is exposing himself badly here. Thoroughly unprofessional player and worst ever captain produced by Pakistan.

To parphase afrdi , pakistani cricketers don't respond to carrots they need a stick!
Safi threatening them with the home reaction of fans when they return and that he is going to tell everything to the media, should scare enough of these players, especially the younger ones, to buck up their ideas and concentrate on performing!

Big LOL. Not sure sarcasm or serious post.:jk

These are the sort of statements he makes, it is in line with his character. He got touchy about someone mentioning his weight a few months ago, this is just a similar defensive reaction. If you put a microphone in front of a baboon it isn't going to start quoting Iqbal, it will screech a bit and wave it's arms around.

The Asian Clive Lloyd needs to understand that every captain must lead from the front.

However the world sees a Pakistani leader carrying belly and yawning as if he's watching Homes Under The Hammer with a cuppa in hand on a Sunday afternoon.

Well wahab did underperform in the match against Australia. Didn't let our poor captain take the strike. Our captain was dieing to take the strike and set an example by winning the match on his own.

Wahab did well when batting. I don’t blame him for that, his bowling on the other hand....

Sarfraz has only himself to blame. Him allying with Inzamam to protect himself and allowing players with limited ability to get in the team has brought about this. Off course the real blame goes to Imran selected dumb PCB chairman who made them more insecure and supported Inzamam.
Sethi was undeserving but he knew how to control Inzamam and back Arthur. Once he left we have not won anything.
Sarfaraaz is powerless infront of individuals like Inzamam and Arthur. With coach Arthur relationship with the seniors like Inzi favorites Hafeez and Malik. I'm sure this will be used as excuse to justify Inzamam going to UK as a supposed to 'bridge to help communication' between the coach and the players who don't listen to him.

The Asian Clive Lloyd needs to understand that every captain must lead from the front.

However the world sees a Pakistani leader carrying belly and yawning as if he's watching Homes Under The Hammer with a cuppa in hand on a Sunday afternoon.

Even in street cricket, you get called out for yawning. We used to get called out all the time.

Pathetic it is. Not required to tell all these things.

People will talk for few days and forgot.. Back to normal.

this sounds like a total catastrophe at this point- reminiscent of 2003 WC

If this gets the best out of the players then why not. Appealing to the self-preserving instinct of the players is the only thing that can revive this team.

How anybody can raise issues with shadab in this tournament needs there head tested.
We all saw how Yasir Shah went vs england.
Shadab didn't bowl in game 1, bowled fine Vs England, didn't bowl in game 3 or 4 and came back in the last game.
He is a key part of our future plans

Any footage of this interview?

Would be interesting to see the whole thing.

Extremely stupid comments if through.

Sarfraz has totally lost it. Even though there is hardly any chance of qualifying but Mathematically they still aren’t out of tournament. Idiotic remarks

Its just an inside thing. He never said such stuff in public. Just a rumor and people are bashing him for something he probably did n't even said. Pakistani awam se aur kya expect kr skte hain..

So its indicating that we will loose all 4 matches. Pathetic people. When every team is giving 200% our players are fighting among themselves and under performing.
Those players should be put in jail for betrayal.

PCB should ban those players and replace.It may do well for us. As bad as Umar Akmal is he still far better than Malik, Asif and take a decent spinner to replace Imad, get Shinwari for Wahab

This is a repeat of 2003. No way this team is going further in this WC if everybody is so unprofessional. Why is it so hard to accept that the team got beaten by a better team & win/loss is part of the game? India too list the CT17 final but didnt fuss over it & quietly rebuilt the spin department.

Also would like to know who is leaking such stuff from the dressing room

He was groomed as a captain since U19s & he did ok until Malik came in.. he must take blame but Malik is a proper Phappy kuttan

There more to behind the scenes we know, Sarfaraz is gone I think there’s lobbying to get Imad to be the next captain,
The whole team should be sacked 15 years old cricketers will play with more than these a......

He was groomed as a captain since U19s & he did ok until Malik came in.. he must take blame but Malik is a proper Phappy kuttan

Sorry, Sarfaraz should never have been the captain, he just doesn’t have the right temperament for it. Doesnt back his players, shouts at then like a fishmonger’s wife & accepts no responsibility as a captain for the poor tactical decision. The worst captain amongst the cricketing nations of the world.

This is a repeat of 2003. No way this team is going further in this WC if everybody is so unprofessional. Why is it so hard to accept that the team got beaten by a better team & win/loss is part of the game? India too list the CT17 final but didnt fuss over it & quietly rebuilt the spin department.

Also would like to know who is leaking such stuff from the dressing room
We lost 11 matches in a row at one point. India's loss was just the icing on the cake

Wow that’s a statement and a half. “Look guys, I won’t be going alone. Don’t forget it” :)))

Wouldn't be a bad thing, need a clean slate after the WC. Only Fakhar, Babar and Amir from the current side actually deserve to be there.

Do it Sarfraz, we all dare you! Enough is enough. Take the tried and tested failures, parchis, and over hyped players with you - let it be your last great act for the Pakistan team!

Lol the WC is over.

What a brainless statement to make mid way through a WC.

The dressing room hungama may mean we lose every game from here on in.

What a lovely way to treat fee paying fans.

Wouldn't be a bad thing, need a clean slate after the WC. Only Fakhar, Babar and Amir from the current side actually deserve to be there.

I would personally keep most and have a clearout of the leadership/management.

And despite the lack of options, the captain has to go.

Safaraz lost the dressing room when it became apparent he shouldn't be anywhere near the national side.

Perfect statement- like captain, like persona, like statement. Obviously this is his reflex action - I am sure, during game, on field he has threatened many young players like this “..... shudhar ja, warna ......”

This is his out burst of the mobster nature, which he has developed from decades long practice in Karachi gully cricket to PAK national team. Our Mash is a bigger mob, he is Hasina’s MP and there must be several hired gun under his payroll (of those, most notorious being Bangladesh Police) - but, I can’t even imagine Mash to talk like this in public media outlet.

Few days back, I wrote that, if PAK loses to India, these whole bunch might disintegrate .... because of the shallow leadership, it could be the start. PCB should gag everyone for whatever days PAK remains in WC; bring them back home sober, then do whatever they think appropriate- otherwise PAK’s off the field heroics is contesting with on field show. I have better expectations from a cricket nation led by Imran.

If anyone here still had the slightest hope that we will miraculously qualify for the Semis, this interview should have killed it off once and for all.

He's been using the term 'forget' many times through the tournament. When asked about the 5-0 loss to Australia he said we've forgotten it, said the same thing when asked about the 4-0 to England. And now has said it again, to forget about the previous loss and focus on the next game.

Is this fatso for real? I was angry when he didn't appeal for the run-out, embarrassed when he let Shaheen take the final blow and finally ashamed to call myself a Pakistani when he yawned on the sports field.

Pakistan Cricket falling apart once again. Sarfraz and all these players involved really need to be suspended and dropped. Perhaps Junaid had a lot of beans to spill that’s why he taped his mouth.

This was bound to happen when you have Inzi encouraging a rebellion against the captain...

What about Malik - Bradman and Murali in one package, Hafeez - the professor of all cricket, Imam - the second coming of Sobers, Haris - the second coming of Lara, Imad - Bedi and Graeme Pollock rolled into one player, Hasan Ali - Marshal would be jealous...

Coming you can't be serious, these are the best cricketers in the world, not just Pakistan and hence were selected by the revolutionary visionary selector Inzi...

But Sarfaraz is to be blamed for their selection in the XI...

This was always there since SA tour.
England series witnessed a PCT playing 11 disconnected players. I did mention it in match thread for 3rd or 4th ODI.
Most PPers knew it before WC.

Just a damage control statement, like statement of "National Treasure" where he said he wants to play as an opener during WC. Actually safeguarding his potential failures in Middle Order.

Here Sarfaraz is doing same. No one forced him to drop Shadab vs Australia. And to compensate this, he played 5 bowlers vs India ; but apparently in gully cricket you strengthen your bowling at the expense of batting and then chose to chase after having weakened your batting.

Why in this forum sarfraz get so much hate as if some Imran Khan is waiting in the rank. Tell me what wrong he has done in the world cup
1- He choose to field first. Even Virat and Finch said they wanted to bowl 1st considering there will be some moisture. Your bowlers can't utilize new ball but yes its Sarfraz fault
2- He took 1 run and let Shaheen plays. Come on guys the match was over stop dreaming as if Sarfraz is buttler. Every Pakistan player has limitation and big hitting is Sarfraz limitation. Sarfraz was playing sensibly with Wahab and posters here says he was hiding. Come on you guys would have even label smith coward Since Courter Nile was striking and he was taking Single.
3- He was yawning at the ground. So what you have a legand who eat bowl on the ground. It was not right I agree but it wasn't as big crime as you guys are making it was after rain breaks the bowlers already let india scored 300+.
4-His inning was pathetic against India. Yes he inning was bad but what you want from him when your set batsman got out when required runrate was upto 8-9 runs per over and then your most senior batsman give their wickets away. Yes but problem was Sarfraz for all of you

Its just not World Cup but before that in every Series the problem was Sarfraz Ahmed as if he is stopping Pakistan from becoming World Best team. Okay we want this team to win but changing everything after every match is not the solution.

Has someone seen Sarfaraz's recent interaction with a reporter. I am just seeing on Facebook but the reporter asked him about the team divided and Sarfaraz responded "Is baat ko rehne dein, jo ho raha hai mere saath hee ho raha hai".

The reporter also stated that Sarfaraz has been traveling independently from the team. The PCB needs to take charge now, these players are embarrassing themselves and the country

Has someone seen Sarfaraz's recent interaction with a reporter. I am just seeing on Facebook but the reporter asked him about the team divided and Sarfaraz responded "Is baat ko rehne dein, jo ho raha hai mere saath hee ho raha hai".

The reporter also stated that Sarfaraz has been traveling independently from the team. The PCB needs to take charge now, these players are embarrassing themselves and the country

Sarfraz is thoroughly unprofessional and knows only one way he can save himself out of this mess. After losing a big game no one feels good and as a captain he should be boosting their morale but he I believe he acts like a dictator on field and off fiels he must feel god.

Victim complex.. seems to think the whole world is out to conspire against him.

As a captain, he should be at the forefront of keeping the team tightly bound & boosting their morale not fighting with them. If he cant do it, he should step aside immediately.

If he had shown guts before things would have been different.

Why now suddenly when we're already done and dusted.

Add link here for that facebook video.

Pathetic statement . Why is he worried about which players will go down with him ? He should be concentrate on the tournament?

He has lost the dressing room. It just shows that his style of leadership doesn't work and wasn't the right way to do things long term.

The PCB needs to stand Sarfaraz down with immediate effect. He is the one who has gone public about the team. That is unacceptable, get Hafeez to captain the remaining games and whatever is left of his career. As it is Sarfaraz is not contributing anything to the team.

Doubt this news is true . All stupidity news comes out when Pakistan lose
Sarfraz is friends with most of these players Babar is his best friend in team
Fakhar has played his cricket from start with Sarfraz
Malik and Sarfraz have played togther for long and Sarfraz has played under him
Wahab Amir hassan shadab imam all have fun with Sarfraz
Imad is another one which Sarfraz has personal friendship with

False. Saw a video today of Sarfraz arriving with the players in the team bus.

Our media is on over-drive trying to get masala from all corners.

Doubt this news is true . All stupidity news comes out when Pakistan lose
Sarfraz is friends with most of these players Babar is his best friend in team
Fakhar has played his cricket from start with Sarfraz
Malik and Sarfraz have played togther for long and Sarfraz has played under him
Wahab Amir hassan shadab imam all have fun with Sarfraz
Imad is another one which Sarfraz has personal friendship with

What about the Facebook video attached above?
Hasn't sarfaraz pretty much confirmed the allegations??

A shame such a thread is still online. Any one who understands urdu listen to the video.

This is a time to support the team and look what we are doing!

Media masala
He is just denying the question media are portray in different manner
Also he is not only one traveling seperate
Shoaib and Hafeez also did becuase of family

Hilarious 3rd class indian drama made my news channel

Media masala
He is just denying the question media are portray in different manner
Also he is not only one traveling seperate
Shoaib and Hafeez also did becuase of family

Hilarious 3rd class indian drama made my news channel

No point explaing them. Any one understanding urdu will know fhis is fake news.

I'm not sure if [MENTION=2501]Savak[/MENTION]'s urdu is weak, but this might be Sarfraz telling the guy to ask the media manager before he speaks to him.

He arrived with the team today, that's for certain.

Look I’m not defending Sarfraz or so but did you guys even listen to what he said?

I’d take this article with a grain of salt.