[Reports & Pictures] Umar Akmal asks Imran Khan to tell Shahid Afridi to send him up the order!

[Reports & Pictures] Umar Akmal asks Imran Khan to tell Shahid Afridi to send...

Not sure why are people blasting Umar Akmal here? Ik just asked him a simple question as to why is he not batting at no 3 & that he should be batting at no 3 and Akmal responded he should tell the team management. Nothing wrong with what Akmal did or said.

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

Yea to be honest I'm not sure how much Umar is at fault here because I can't really hear what is being said in the video. I cannot tell if Umar brought up the topic of batting at 3 or Imran did.

Either way - they key thing is that these discussions shouldn't be taking place in a corridor where random people from the media and public are hanging out clearly taking pictures and recording stuff.

It reflects poorly on the team & looks highly unprofessional. You would expect both Imran and Jnr to know that.

Kher - nothing major in my opinion. I don't have a massive problem with these discussions taking place - it's more to do with HOW the discussions took place and then how Ramiz decided to voice his displeasure, in my opinion, which is the slight problem.

Either way - in my eyes it's not a big issue and there is no need to drag it out. Just try to be a bit more mature and professional next time In-Shaa-Allah and as fans let's focus on the cricket :)

Yea to be honest I'm not sure how much Umar is at fault here because I can't really hear what is being said in the video. I cannot tell if Umar brought up the topic of batting at 3 or Imran did.

Either way - they key thing is that these discussions shouldn't be taking place in a corridor where random people from the media and public are hanging out clearly taking pictures and recording stuff.

It reflects poorly on the team & looks highly unprofessional. You would expect both Imran and Jnr to know that.

Kher - nothing major in my opinion. I don't have a massive problem with these discussions taking place - it's more to do with HOW the discussions took place and then how Ramiz decided to voice his displeasure, in my opinion, which is the slight problem.

Either way - in my eyes it's not a big issue and there is no need to drag it out. Just try to be a bit more mature and professional next time In-Shaa-Allah and as fans let's focus on the cricket :)
But it does make for interesting reading ie what would Imran Khan approach have been if he had to manage these pool of players as captain.

I saw the video. U Akmal was talking to IK(his voice is not lid enough) and suddenly I'm asks him why don't you bat higher up the order? You should bat at 3. To which, UA says something, his voice not loud enough again(probably asking IK to tell the team management that) and after that IK starts looking around, probably to trying to locate Waqar or Afridi.

Its interesting though. Imran always believed that your best batsmen should higher up the order. Thats was his biggest problem with Inzi, in the later part of Inzi's career. IK kept imploring Inzi to bat in top 4 but Inzi felt comfortable at 5. But with UA, he has made it known for the past 6 years or so that he wants to bat at 3 but management seems to be saving for the last over. To play the role Razzaq used to play. Quick cameos.

Ramiz Raja Verified account
‏@iramizraja

What the hell is wrong with UAkmal walking up to Imran & asking him to promote his case to the team Mngmt for no 3 spot.He had no business!

Umar Akmal did ok in the context of the match his partnership was important with malik coming at number 4 to get us an ok total i don't know why IK is being blamed here even if Umar Akmal was promoted to number 4 on his request?

Everyone knows Umar Akmal is better at number 4 or 3.

Umar Akmal did ok in the context of the match his partnership was important with malik coming at number 4 to get us an ok total i don't know why IK is being blamed here even if Umar Akmal was promoted to number 4 on his request?

Everyone knows Umar Akmal is better at number 4 or 3.

Every one but afridi.

Umar Akmal complains to Imran Khan on batting slot, earns PCB wrath

Press Trust of India | Mar 20, 2016 at 07:39 pm IST

Karachi: Pakistan batsman Umar Akmal has come under fire from the team management for allegedly requesting former captain Imran Khan to put in a word to the team management about pushing him up in the batting slot.

A furious former skipper Ramiz Raza wants the team management to bench Akmal junior for his selfish attitude.

"I am very angry with Umar's behavior. Whenever he meets with a former great, he ends up talking about having his batting order changed. My heart says that for his behavior Umar should be sat out in the next match," Ramiz said on Geo News channel.

It was learnt that when Imran dropped in to meet the Pakistan players for a pep talk before the crucial game against India on Saturday, Umar took the opportunity to ask him to tell the captain (Shahid Afridi) to send him to bat in the top order.

TV channels showed footage of Umar talking about it to Imran and the former great than turning around and telling someone that Umar should be sent to bat up the order.

Ramiz said that he was disappointed that Umar complained to Imran knowing well they were television cameras around them.

"Teams are never selected in such manner," the former captain lamented.

A reliable source in the Pakistan Cricket Board told PTI that Chairman Shaharyar Khan, who is present in Kolkata, had not taken kindly to Umar's antics and had spoken to the team management about the incident in front of cameras.

Umar has a history of disciplinary problems and has been in the past been censured or fined several times by the board for his behavior.

Ramiz also supported the decision to invite Imran for a pep talk.

"Before the 1992 World Cup final also, Imran had invited Sir Viv Richards to our dressing room. But the purpose of his visit was not give us technical or tactical advice but just give us a motivational speech," Ramiz recalled.

Link: http://www.ibnlive.com/cricketnext/...-on-batting-slot-earns-pcb-wrath-1218931.html

As soon as Umar started to get into the good books of PCB and the fans, he pulls of another idiotic stunt.

Umar should bat below 3/4 ..id prefer 3 but 4 would be fine. Drop Sharjeel and and bring Imad in. Let Hafeez open with Shazad or even use Afridi as opener..

I wonder if Umar Akmal has enemies in the media. It was Imran Khan who was talking to Akmal and then proceeded to ask him why are you batting so low down the order, you should be batting at no 3?

Why are all the stakeholders framing it as if it was Umar Akmal who approached IK and started lobbying to bat up the order at no 3?

Even if the latter is true, why is it wrong for him to want to bat at no 3? At least it is clear that he wants to bat at No 3 unlike the crap that is propagated that Akmal himself does not want to bat up the order.

I wonder if Umar Akmal has enemies in the media. It was Imran Khan who was talking to Akmal and then proceeded to ask him why are you batting so low down the order, you should be batting at no 3?

Why are all the stakeholders framing it as if it was Umar Akmal who approached IK and started lobbying to bat up the order at no 3?

Even if the latter is true, why is it wrong for him to want to bat at no 3? At least it is clear that he wants to bat at No 3 unlike the crap that is propagated that Akmal himself does not want to bat up the order.

This isn't a circus. You need to go through proper channel. Whether you get it or not, it is different aspect.

But don't insult the system.

This isn't a circus. You need to go through proper channel. Whether you get it or not, it is different aspect.

But don't insult the system.
Again the assumption that he has never ever tried the proper channels ever

AlphaFighter

Make up kerna ghalat nai hai.

Per agar as a girl or women aap kisi ki wafaat pe uskay ghar make ker k chali jaein tou kya impact hoga same make up ka agle k Khandaan pe ?

If this talk was started by Umar Akmal if it was started by Umar Akmal than he is rightly criticised and bashed.

If Imran started it than Umar isn't guilty.

Har baat har jagah nai ki ja sakti.

If Umar started it than the timing of this debate was absolutely incorrect and inappropriate.

3 hours to go for a Worldcup game and you are involving yourself in this debate and looking for recommendations/Sifarish of Ex Captain and leading political figure of the country ? Rather than focusing on the game ?

And you even don't know that TV cameras are around or somebody is recording let's say from a Mobile ? This is your awareness ?

I maintain that if Imran started it than it isn't Umar's fault but doesn't look like that because Imran says he hasn't followed these batsman lately. Another example is that Imran did not lie and said that I only know about Ashish Nehra amongst Indian bowling lineup. So why would he interfere wrt Akmal when he hasn't seen much of him ?

And lastly I see lots of weight in Sama tv's latest report where they have quoted a reliable source infront of whom Afridi spoke to Umar Akmal.

In Afridi's reaction I have posted the link in my last post at number 3 point.

Now after the Indian newspaper report regarding Afridi's sacking plans of PCB and this news where now Umar says he did not say about captain rather he was saying about management at which Afridi asked who is management ? Am I not main member of management and central figure ? Than he said Vicky bhaee etc etc , just imagine the dressing room atmosphere now and how much pressure Afridi & Akmal will be feeling.

Nazrein nai mila paraha hoga Vicky bhaee se.

And now we have two important games coming up.

So by the wrong choice of time it seems that Umar Akmal has messed up the situation immensely for himself and for the team and management aswell.

Now only supreme individual brilliant performances of 3 players each in next 2 games can result in pakistan winning and qualifying as a team for Semi final but I don't see them making it to the play off based on combined effort all because of these unnecessary things.

Poor Stuff By akmal Now Everyone is bashing akmal i.e media fans ex cricketers.Once again in the news due to wrong reason Need to perform in next two matches to cool down the things

AlphaFighter

Make up kerna ghalat nai hai.

Per agar as a girl or women aap kisi ki wafaat pe uskay ghar make ker k chali jaein tou kya impact hoga same make up ka agle k Khandaan pe ?

If this talk was started by Umar Akmal if it was started by Umar Akmal than he is rightly criticised and bashed.

If Imran started it than Umar isn't guilty.

Har baat har jagah nai ki ja sakti.

If Umar started it than the timing of this debate was absolutely incorrect and inappropriate.

3 hours to go for a Worldcup game and you are involving yourself in this debate and looking for recommendations/Sifarish of Ex Captain and leading political figure of the country ? Rather than focusing on the game ?

And you even don't know that TV cameras are around or somebody is recording let's say from a Mobile ? This is your awareness ?

I maintain that if Imran started it than it isn't Umar's fault but doesn't look like that because Imran says he hasn't followed these batsman lately. Another example is that Imran did not lie and said that I only know about Ashish Nehra amongst Indian bowling lineup. So why would he interfere wrt Akmal when he hasn't seen much of him ?

And lastly I see lots of weight in Sama tv's latest report where they have quoted a reliable source infront of whom Afridi spoke to Umar Akmal.

In Afridi's reaction I have posted the link in my last post at number 3 point.

Now after the Indian newspaper report regarding Afridi's sacking plans of PCB and this news where now Umar says he did not say about captain rather he was saying about management at which Afridi asked who is management ? Am I not main member of management and central figure ? Than he said Vicky bhaee etc etc , just imagine the dressing room atmosphere now and how much pressure Afridi & Akmal will be feeling.

Nazrein nai mila paraha hoga Vicky bhaee se.

And now we have two important games coming up.

So by the wrong choice of time it seems that Umar Akmal has messed up the situation immensely for himself and for the team and management aswell.

Now only supreme individual brilliant performances of 3 players each in next 2 games can result in pakistan winning and qualifying as a team for Semi final but I don't see them making it to the play off based on combined effort all because of these unnecessary things.

Nah, after angry debates and arguments, they probably had dinner, slept it off and started afresh the next day. Not an unusual controversy in Pakistan Cricket.

Again the assumption that he has never ever tried the proper channels ever

It doesn't matter he did try or not. That's a whole another matter.

He did what was uncalled for. And that's an insult to the management.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">TV report- Shahid Afridi to Umar Akmal "I've supported you all these years & this is how you repay me by complaining to Imran Khan" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/711619498353270784">20 March 2016</a></blockquote>

Gabbar Singh for details go to post number 93 point 3 link :-)

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en-gb"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">TV report- Shahid Afridi to Umar Akmal "I've supported you all these years & this is how you repay me by complaining to Imran Khan" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/711619498353270784">20 March 2016</a></blockquote>

Haha.. The drama is expanding.

More worrying is the mole in the Pakistan team

Surely this is a private conversation but the way the TV reporter is narrating it is as if he has been told to say it

How media knows what exactly afridi said to akmal ?

Were they present there when this whole drama ( if true)was unfolding ?

Just saw MIG's post after posting, this is worrisome if someone is leaking dressing room info to media. Creates an atmosphere of distrust among players.

Highest profile team of a country should not be this ...............

I can't find the appropriate words to describe this hilarity!

There's a video on Youtube of this conversation , it maybe unfair to blame Umar Akmal here. Imran Khan is saying 'tumhe upar jana chahiyee tum neeche kyoon jaate ho, tumhe number teen par jana chahiye!" (You should be batting higher up the order, why do you come in so late?, you should be at number 3) -- and he's responded along the lines that it's team management who make these decisions, maybe you should tell them ! ?

Which is the funny thing. Should Umar Akmal be punished for simply talking to Imran Khan or for Imran Khan to talk to him? Was he suppossed to just ignore the remark and look clueless.

It shows how Imran Khan would have managed certain players under his disposal and also reveals that Umar Akmal indeed wants to bat up the order unlike the propagation that it is he who hides lower down the order.

Oh the irony. If someone had tried to offer Imran 'advice' on the batting order when he was captain he would probably have sent both him and the player packing. Umar amal would have been out of the batting order instead of up the batting order.

True. But Imran had the CV to back this up as a captain. His judgement as captain can't be argued. He gave us Wasim, Waqar, Inzi etc under his era.

What can Afridi back this up with. terrible captain and has been since 2010. Baring Ahmed Shehzad i can't think of one player that Afridi has backed as captain who's gone onto to do something for the national team.

Which is the funny thing. Should Umar Akmal be punished for simply talking to Imran Khan or for Imran Khan to talk to him? Was he suppossed to just ignore the remark and look clueless.

It shows how Imran Khan would have managed certain players under his disposal and also reveals that Umar Akmal indeed wants to bat up the order unlike the propagation that it is he who hides lower down the order.

Well this is it - if you invite Imran Khan to interact with players then they can either treat him like royalty and bow and respond politely 'Yes sir' to everything he says with no further comment , or they treat him like an ex-cricketer who can understand their concerns and they can ask him for advice. Imran Khan suggesting that you should be batting at number three is something that he could either give his honest and sincere answer (I agree, and its what I want to do - but its not my decision) or he could fake it and lie (I agree with team management's decision wherever they put me ! ).. what else can you expect ?

Old age, bad form, bad captaincy is effecting Afridi these days, he seems to get annoyed about everything recently.

If Umar is wrong for taking to imran infront of the press, then the captain is twice as wrong for speaking to Akmal about this issue infront of people who have told this to the media.

More nonsense from the trash media. Afridi agreed to send Akmal up the order, he didn't just walk out.

Only a captain like Afridi can drop your in-form batsman to number 7. :facepalm:

Unbelievable, it was Imran himself who was asking why he wasn't batting at no. 3 and why he was coming down the order.

Imran wants him there and Akmal simply told him to tell the management about it.

Akmal was right to say that because the management makes these decisions and only they can tell Imran, why he comes down the batting order and why he isn't batting at no. 3.

Only a captain like Afridi can drop your in-form batsman to number 7. :facepalm:

Only a country like Pakistan will tolerate someone like Afridi as captain.

Only a coach like Waqar will sit around and see someone like Afridi run the team to the ground.

What can you about this incident.

It was wrong of Umar Akmal to bring this up at this time and to mention it to Imran Khan.

Whether he should bat at 3 or not, it wasn't the time or place to bring this up.

Then whoever leaked that Afridi was angry etc to the media should be brought to task. I can think of only 2 people who could have done this.

It was wrong of Umar Akmal to bring this up at this time and to mention it to Imran Khan.

Whether he should bat at 3 or not, it wasn't the time or place to bring this up.

Then whoever leaked that Afridi was angry etc to the media should be brought to task. I can think of only 2 people who could have done this.
Maybe it was Imran Khan who bought it up with Akmal.

As soon as Umar started to get into the good books of PCB and the fans, he pulls of another idiotic stunt.

he didn't. Media is making him scapegoat here. Afridi called Imran khan for a motivational speech and during meeting Imran asked Umar why is he not batting at 3? and he said it's team management's decision. What has he done wrong? Pathetic journalism. cheap stuff. Poor Akmal definitely has some enemies in the media who always bring him in some controversies.

Maybe it wasn't.

Whichever way around it was, it's caused unnecessary and ill-timed tension.
If Imran Khan bought it up then the coach, captain, pcb have no right to take Akmal to task over this episode unnecessarily.

Making a mountain out of a molehill. Media doing the usual poor work. And as always pious Ramiz asking for a ban for the next match. After all his criticism on Amir's return he should take a break from this piety.

If Imran Khan bought it up then the coach, captain, pcb have no right to take Akmal to task over this episode unnecessarily.

Key word is if.

Reports suggest something different though.

Also it wouldn't be the first time that Akmal has whined about his batting position. In fact I did an interview with him where he whined about it and he nearly got a showcause for it.

Key word is if.

Reports suggest something different though.

Also it wouldn't be the first time that Akmal has whined about his batting position. In fact I did an interview with him where he whined about it and he nearly got a showcause for it.
I think having played for 6 years, if no one is bothering listening to him it will get to him. The whole world wants Pakistan to send it's best players up the order but hey we being Pakistani no better and differently.

I think if you keep mentioning it all the time in 6 years, it can get a bit boring. Even if it should happen.

Video clearly shows that imran brought it up.

No idea. Only Imran Khan and Umar Akmal know the facts and those around them.

Who knows maybe there was a conversation before the video?

Whatever it is it's annoyed the captain.

Does Afridi have the guts to show his displeasure to the great Khan?

True. But Imran had the CV to back this up as a captain. His judgement as captain can't be argued. He gave us Wasim, Waqar, Inzi etc under his era.

What can Afridi back this up with. terrible captain and has been since 2010. Baring Ahmed Shehzad i can't think of one player that Afridi has backed as captain who's gone onto to do something for the national team.

I wasn't defending Afridi. I was just pointing out that given his own attitude as captain, Imran Khan should have stayed far away from such issues and told Umar to talk directly to the captain instead of asking for his mediation (not that I am claiming IK talked to Afridi about this, this is all just media speculation).

If it annoys Afridi then let him be more annoyed. Afridi is on his way out regardless. Umar Akmal whether we like it or not will be around for the next ten years as frankly we have no alternatives.

If Afridi and Waqar were winning us anything they could choose players / batting orders themselves. IF they are failing they should either resign due to their incompetence or find solutions.

Right now the entire nation is annoyed with Afridi. That should be more of a worry for him than this petty issue.

What Javed Miandad said probably proves true that in his time they used to play cricket in the ground and now these players play around the media. This is sick

Afridi has supported U. Akmal thru thick & thin especially after U.Akmal was suspended after being caught in that infamous hyderabad prostitution cum dance party issue, the U.Akmal was suspended and dropped. It was Afridi who pushed the board to include him in the team. If I'm not wrong Afridi has always protected U.Akmal not to face new ball and never changed his position cos of which this guy is still in the side. U.Akmal has bit someone who looked up for him. His eagerness to bat up the position is fake. He has never come up or ever volunteered to come up like Sarfaraz.
Talking to a 3rd person outside of the team mgmt. & that person happens to be the great legend Imran khan is pathetic.

I think Imran should not have messed with the batting order. Yes you were a great, but there is a captain and a coach.

Look what happened, the inform batsman had to bat down the order.

On what basis are you saying his eagerness to come up the order is fake? Are you thick? What is he trying to prove when Imran is asking him why is he not batting at 3?

This guy has kept wickets for Pakistan even when he wasn't comfortable with it. Criticize him for not making the most of his ability but don't spread bs about him not having a good attitude or volunteering to do things for the team.

Hehehe from 2009 onwards U. Akmal faking injury in the Test in Australia 2009 when his brother was dropped for dropping 5 catches off Kaneria in Sydney & making Pakistan lose the match. The fight w/ security guard of stadium. Hyderabad prostitution case and the disciplinary issues go on. If this would've been some other country and board monsieur Akmal would've been banned for the repeated disciplinary offences. This is the sick issue of this board to keep this guy even force local police officer in Hyderabad not to put his name in FIR. I think everyone of us have a good memory U. Akmal is in the team for reasons not known that are not his performance. He has consistently batted and yet gave zero result his average is pathetic. This upcoming talent since 2009 has wasted on this batting position and done nothing.

With Afridi supporting U.Akmal and covering up his disciplinary breaches i'm kinda happy with the development.

Any proof that Umar brought this up ? So you can't say it's wrong of him if we don't know who brought it up.

If he is talking about when he played, players he with and against and even the thought processes and tactics of a fast bowler then I will listen intently and take note of everything he says.

If he is talking about the current Pakistan team, then I won't listen to what Imran says because he has shown that his thoughts on that topic aren't worth a damn.
Spot on.

Being the greatest player of my lifetime doesn't mean everything he says is gospel. Much like Shane Warne, who is still one of the greatest bowlers in the history of the game but whose opinion on every single topic with the exception of leg-spin should be ignored.
Spot on!
Much as I respect Imran and what he achieved, we are in a different Cricketing era now with the dynamics beyond the scope of the 'old School' cricketers like Imran.

i dont see any harm in trying UA at no.3...pcb and pak have invested a lot in this guy for the last 6 years, cannot leave him to fail... UA and shehzad has been playin for a long time and the pcb put their money on these guys as potential batsmen...

Any proof that Umar brought this up ? So you can't say it's wrong of him if we don't know who brought it up.

Any proof that he didn't ?

From what I've heard, it was Umar Akmal who brought it up with Imran Khan. I can't say for definite though as I wasn't there.

In that case you give him the benefit of the doubt.

I suggest you read all of my post, not just the bit that you want to - "From what I've heard, it was Umar Akmal who brought it up with Imran Khan. I can't say for definite though as I wasn't there"

My comment stands.

In that case, you give him the benefit of the doubt.

My comment stands.

In that case, you give him the benefit of the doubt.

My comment also stands and is based on people who were there at the team hotel telling me that it was Umar Akmal who brought up the issue.

Afridi has supported Umar Akmal a lot in his career. Umar Akmal should have thought that his action will put Afridi in bad light.

No proof that he did or did not bring it up. Either way. I'm not defending either side. But trying to conclude with facts. So we can't say who was right or who was wrong till we know the facts, up until that point it's all assumptions and hearsay.

No body is saying that he shouldn't bat up the order, every one is saying that his method was wrong.

Agreed. What is the correct method then? He's been pretty open about it for a while. He even did well in PSL up the order. He's desperate. Give him options to express that in another way

So one of umar or imran khan told it to media if it was one on one meeting or was it :afridi ?

Umer Akmal's potential is closer to Virat Kohli - Imran Khan

I requested Afridi to send Umar up the batting order - Imran Khan