Rishi Kapoor urges IPL to include Pakistani players, gets support from fans

czar

Tape Ball Star
rishi-kapoor.jpg

Veteran actor Rishi Kapoor on Tuesday urged the Indian Premier League authorities to consider including Pakistani cricket players in this year’s Twenty20 competition as cricketers from all around the world were being given a chance to showcase their talent.

The 64-year-old actor took to Twitter on the eve of the opening ceremony of the tenth edition of the IPL, where he implored the authorities to consider the neighbours case.

“IPL. You got world players. Afghanistan makes debut. My plea is please consider Pakistani players,” tweeted Rishi.

The “Kapoor and Sons” star added that keeping the differences aside, Indians should rise to the occasion as a kinder nation and let the games begin again.

“Phir match hoga! Hum bade log hain. (Match must be played again. We are a benevolent people.) Please!” continued Rishi.

The veteran actors plea comes in after the ties between the two countries are going through a rough patch.

www.jantakareporter.com/india/rishi-kapoor-ipl/112900/

It would probably have killed the PSL before it started if it had happened a couple of years ago. Both competitions are devalued by not having access to the world's best, but for Pakistan cricket might be better to develop further before they take this step.

Wish the Kapoors and Khans had stayed back in Pakistan and we never had this disgraceful industry called Bollywood.

No thanks. As a Pakistani I don't want any of our players in the IPL. Time to end this hypocrisy when there is regular firing at the LOC and terrorism on both sides with one holding the other responsible. Kashmir is much more important then the IPL, it is a matter of principle that Pak players do not play in the IPL.

He better go into hiding or leave Indian because from what I have been reading and hearing that radical Hindu extremists do not tolerate any praise or support of Pakistan in India.

Thank you Rishi but most people i know don't care about IPL.

The amount of hatred Indian media and fanatics have created is beyond belief, Rishi got abused on twitter for this sensible post and obvious reaction was "Go to Pakistan if you love them so much".

Like previous years, i wouldn't watch IPL for a minute whenever it starts.

"India should rise to the occasion as a kinder nation and let the games begin again"....funny one

He better go into hiding or leave Indian because from what I have been reading and hearing that radical Hindu extremists do not tolerate any praise or support of Pakistan in India.

We are getting there but still quite far from how well India is tolerated in Pakistan i

Thank you Rishi but most people i know don't care about IPL.

The amount of hatred Indian media and fanatics have created is beyond belief, Rishi got abused on twitter for this sensible post and obvious reaction was "Go to Pakistan if you love them so much".

Like previous years, i wouldn't watch IPL for a minute whenever it starts.

IPL will miss your presence highly sir.

We are getting there but still quite far from how well India is tolerated in Pakistan i

Pakistan has no issue in India visiting Pakistan to play cricket. If they do I'll buy you a ticket to watch in Pakistan. Book mark this post :)

I don't watch IPL too.

Don't live in a bubble where everyone loves IPL.

And I love my cricket.

And I don't NOT watch it because it's Indian Premier League.

I just can't sit around for a month watching Tamasha Cricket.

Well i am not on an Indian forum complaining about your league, this is my opinion on a Pakistani forum from Pakistan's perspective.
I would be personally quite embarssed if Pakistan did not allow Afghanistan cricketers to participate in PSL just because of political differences with their government. That would be CHEAP, disgusting and disrespectful to treat Afghan sportsmen in such a manner.

Rishi Kapoor's gesture is appreciated but IPL lost its hype long time ago. These days every other country have these tamasha leagues.

I can assure you that Indian players and the common Indian tourist would be properly welcomed in Pakistan..

That's the difference

I think Rishi Kapoor should be thanked for taking such a bold move. It's unlike certain Indian celebs who would publicly say no we don't want Pakistanis in our sports or media!

No thank you

easy for you to say, because your career isn't linked with cricket.

But tell, how does a kid like Shadab feel that a bowler like Rashid Khan who is very similar to him but gets a pay of 8 carore Pakistani in 2 month tournament, while the former makes even less then 50 lakh.

IPL is big benefit for all the cricketers out there. It gives a proper pay out on the basis of a players value towards entertainment.

But tell, how does a kid like Shadab feel that a bowler like Rashid Khan who is very similar to him but gets a pay of 8 carore Pakistani in 2 month tournament, while the former makes even less then 50 lakh.

IPL is big benefit for all the cricketers out there. It gives a proper pay out on the basis of a players value towards entertainment.

A kid like Shadab will feel very frustrated, but that's life. It's not his fault or the PCB's that the IPL is used as a political football by the Indian govt. He is still more fortunate than some, he will probably go on to earn big money in other T20 leagues around the world. I can see him getting picked up for the Big Bash and the new format when it arrives in England.

you are absolutely right.

But cricketers shouldn't have to barred from playing leagues due to political tensions. Also other people shouldn't be commenting on whether a person shouldn't play that league or not just because he or she doesn't watch it or like it.

I can assure you that Indian players and the common Indian tourist would be properly welcomed in Pakistan..

That's the difference

I'm sure the Pakistani cricketers and fans reception in India has always been very warm and welcoming

I don't watch IPL too.

Don't live in a bubble where everyone loves IPL.

And I love my cricket.

And I don't NOT watch it because it's Indian Premier League.

I just can't sit around for a month watching Tamasha Cricket.

Fyi,
I do not sit and watch every single match - If I had the time I would have it running it in the background but I do check the scores and enjoy it.
Every T20 league is a Tamasha if we are going by the same reasons IPL is a tamasha. Roping in Shaggy and making Sammy dance on dhol wasn't Tamasha ? Or was that to raise the sincerity and intellectual quotient of the game ?
I just find it funny that a lot of posters entire reason to hate IPL is the lack of Pakistani players and then caring enough to go around mouthing about it

Well life isn't fair. A guy with the same skillset and same experience earns twice as much in California as I'm earning in Toronto. If Shadab Khan is more interested in having a big paycheck rather than winning matches for the country then by all means retire from international cricket and play league cricket as a freelancer.

winning matches would mean less if pay isn't that great.

but its wrong for us to dictate where our players should or should not play

I'm sure the Pakistani cricketers and fans reception in India has always been very warm and welcoming

Yet when an Indian says anything positive about Pakistan then thousands come out on social media denouncing that person and suggesting they move to Pakistan.

Nice one

Yet when an Indian says anything positive about Pakistan then thousands come out on social media denouncing that person and suggesting they move to Pakistan.

Nice one

We are talking about the common people. Pakistani cricketers and Fans on many occasions have honored and spoken about the hospitality they have received . When you bring in celebrities, that's when things are different. You think Pakistani celebrities dare say nice things about India on television much ? No , because they know the backlash it will get.
Lot of commentators , news anchor , celebrities talk anti India things on television - however common people may still give warm reception to fans and Indian cricketers.

We are talking about the common people. Pakistani cricketers and Fans on many occasions have honored and spoken about the hospitality they have received . When you bring in celebrities, that's when things are different. You think Pakistani celebrities dare say nice things about India on television much ? No , because they know the backlash it will get.
Lot of commentators , news anchor , celebrities talk anti India things on television - however common people may still give warm reception to fans and Indian cricketers.

That is simply not true!!

We have ex players who talk highly about India and Indian Cricket. Poets, singers, actors and cricket commentators who were plying their trade in India until the back lash began. Even today they speak highly about India and there absolutely no back lash against them.

I don't respect Afridi one bit a cricketer but I suspect he's right when it comes to his 'big heart' statement

like we earn less than our counterpart in US earns.yess it life and it goes on ...shadab will probably play in county cricket as well...

That is simply not true!!

We have ex players who talk highly about India and Indian Cricket. Poets, singers, actors and cricket commentators who were plying their trade in India until the back lash began. Even today they speak highly about India and there absolutely no back lash against them.

I don't respect Afridi one bit a cricketer but I suspect he's right when it comes to his 'big heart' statement

Okay if you getting into specifics - Indian Commentators speak highly of many Pak cricketers on television.
Pak singers often have shows in India , Adnan Sami has been readily accepted into the Indian society.
So do not judge the sentiment of billion people based upon backlash of an actor. for example - if Mahira Khan today on Pakistan television says that Indian film industry is much better than Pak's - wouldnt she receive criticism ?

Fyi,
I do not sit and watch every single match - If I had the time I would have it running it in the background but I do check the scores and enjoy it.
Every T20 league is a Tamasha if we are going by the same reasons IPL is a tamasha. Roping in Shaggy and making Sammy dance on dhol wasn't Tamasha ? Or was that to raise the sincerity and intellectual quotient of the game ?
I just find it funny that a lot of posters entire reason to hate IPL is the lack of Pakistani players and then caring enough to go around mouthing about it

I don't hate IPL.

I just don't have the time for such vagaries.

I didn't even watch a single ball of PSL.

I was just merely commenting on you getting defensive, simply because someone didn't enjoy IPL.

There are people who avoid the T20 slogfest of all sorts and still can enjoy cricket.

You can't get defensive just because someone doesn't appreciate IPL.

Do you get defensive if someone doesn't appreciate your haircut?

I don't hate IPL.

I just don't have the time for such vagaries.

I didn't even watch a single ball of PSL.

I was just merely commenting on you getting defensive, simply because someone didn't enjoy IPL.

There are people who avoid the T20 slogfest of all sorts and still can enjoy cricket.

You can't get defensive just because someone doesn't appreciate IPL.

Do you get defensive if someone doesn't appreciate your haircut?

If someone says my haircut is bad because my fade isn't proper or the length of my hair is uneven that's understandable. If someone hates on my haircut because I did not go to their favorite barber - then that's petty.
If you do not like T20 slogfest then understandably you wouldn't like any T20 league it's fair game.
But people here who appreciate T20s and love the PSL for obvious reasons are trying to now hate on IPL ( not until PSL existed) because of reasons like Tamasha , quality of cricket and other nonsensical reasons whereas it's quite obvious the reason is for the Pakistani players snub.

If someone says my haircut is bad because my fade isn't proper or the length of my hair is uneven that's understandable. If someone hates on my haircut because I did not go to their favorite barber - then that's petty.
If you do not like T20 slogfest then understandably you wouldn't like any T20 league it's fair game.
But people here who appreciate T20s and love the PSL for obvious reasons are trying to now hate on IPL ( not until PSL existed) because of reasons like Tamasha , quality of cricket and other nonsensical reasons whereas it's quite obvious the reason is for the Pakistani players snub.

Hair will grow back, but wasting time watching IPL will never come back.

Every IPL fan knows Imran Tahir is from Pakistan and they have no problem cheering for him. People had no issue cheering for Azhar Mahmood and he is someone that actually wore Pakistani colors many times. This should prove that Indians have no problem with Pakistanis playing in IPL or India playing Pakistan.

And now he says:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sorry India.Tried to broker peace via actors,films,sports etc..with Pakistan,but they just want hatred,so be it!Taali do haath se bajti hai!</p>— Rishi Kapoor (@chintskap) <a href="https://twitter.com/chintskap/status/851422897029746688">April 10, 2017</a></blockquote>

That was a quick u-turn.

And now he says:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sorry India.Tried to broker peace via actors,films,sports etc..with Pakistan,but they just want hatred,so be it!Taali do haath se bajti hai!</p>— Rishi Kapoor (@chintskap) <a href="https://twitter.com/chintskap/status/851422897029746688">April 10, 2017</a></blockquote>

That was a quick u-turn.

So it's pakistan who doesn't want peace? Good God, I was beginning to respect this guy, how 2 faced is he? I'm sure he never got any comments from Indian fans saying go to pakistan but he is diverting it all on pakistan. What a leach.

Didn't take long for his Indian Zehniyat to come out in open.

I think he just realised he made an unpopular call. In the current climate of Hindu nationalism, any attempts to mend bridges with Pakistan are probably not a good idea for a celebrity. He's just trying to save face before the mobs start gathering at his residence.

I think your right, he has realised going against "popular" opinion will do more harm than good and now backtracking.

The Old Kapoor also got involved in an argument with a Pakistani woman on twitter. He's trying too hard to defend Bharat online.

Absolutely! We warned him right after he made that call about Pakistanis in IPL, didn't take long to come to reality. He used a random tweet by some twitter troll to justify end of his tsruggles for peace lol So FICKLE!