Rs 920,486,155 earned by Pakistan cricket players in last two years, NA told

Abdul

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan: The National Assembly was informed on Friday that Pakistani cricket players earned an income of Rs 414,691,821 during the year 2014 and Rs 505,794,334 during the year 2015.

In a written reply to a question of Parveen Masood Bhatti, during question hour, Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination Riaz Hussain Pirzada informed the House that Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has submitted the year-wise income earned by each player of the Pakistan Cricket team during the year 2014 and 2015.

He said, in the year 2014, Muhammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal and Umer Gul topped list of highest paid players i.e. 3,59,61,197 each.

While in the year 2015, Muhammad Hafeez again topped the list of highest earned player i.e. Rs. 3,92,26,579, followed by Sarfraz Ahmed Rs. 3,36,72,329 and Azhar Ali Rs 3,00,88,108.

Following is the list of the players and the amount they earned in 2014:

Capture.JPG

2.JPG
3.JPG

http://www.dnd.com.pk/rs-920486155-...cket-players-in-last-two-years-na-told/107922

I think, these are the income from PCB (Or under Pakistan colors), most of them has personal endorsements & club/corporate payments. For example - Butt was a VP for NBL, when he decided to earn few dollars more. Afridi earns at least 10 times from the amount stated here (2015).

Only a fool 'll say that corruption in PAK cricket (or under performance) is due to lack of money.

32 and 33
very happy for them at-least they are earning decent amount

I'm sure there will be additional income not included in these figures, from various sources.

Misbah was the highest paid cricketer from Pakistan, and well deserved aswell.:)

Made more then Afridi

These guys worked hard to get these salaries.

Shockingly too much. Whoa. Pure wastage of resources especially on some inconsistent players. The way these cricketers are given over the top importance, sometimes it seems like an unfair treatment of professionals belonging to other fields.

I think, these are the income from PCB (Or under Pakistan colors), most of them has personal endorsements & club/corporate payments. For example - Butt was a VP for NBL, when he decided to earn few dollars more. Afridi earns at least 10 times from the amount stated here (2015).

Only a fool 'll say that corruption in PAK cricket (or under performance) is due to lack of money.

There's a difference, while these guys are getting good salaries at international cricket, first class dont pay you much

Some players probably only end up making a lakh or 2 in whole quaid e azam season. I heard thats how much you could make in a month or maybe per match for a department in Gulf countries.

Shockingly too much. Whoa. Pure wastage of resources especially on some inconsistent players. The way these cricketers are given over the top importance, sometimes it seems like an unfair treatment of professionals belonging to other fields.

wait how is that too much?

These guys get peanuts at domestic cricket.

When PCB gives out a central contract to a player, that motivates a player to keep on playing cricket and not just leave it.

Misbah was the highest paid cricketer from Pakistan, and well deserved aswell.:)

Made more then Afridi

These guys worked hard to get these salaries.

misread figures, apparently SOhaib Maqsood made for then him :))

Lol Umar Gul earned more than Afridi and Misbah.

Wow wow wow :raja

Edit: that was in 2014 :sanga

wait how is that too much?

These guys get peanuts at domestic cricket.

When PCB gives out a central contract to a player, that motivates a player to keep on playing cricket and not just leave it.

I am surprised you are not shocked by seeing the amount. Whether they get much or less in domestic is another thing already, but this is too much.

There's a difference, while these guys are getting good salaries at international cricket, first class dont pay you much

Some players probably only end up making a lakh or 2 in whole quaid e azam season. I heard thats how much you could make in a month or maybe per match for a department in Gulf countries.

That's the improvement area & in that regard BCB has done wonders. I think, our top players are one of the worst paid Test cricketers from BCB, but from the National FC tournaments, Dhaka League, BPL & other side leagues, there is a payment structure which top 200 cricketers in BD earns at least $12-$15K/year, which is lot for a 20 years career.

However, I am not sure about FC crickets of Pakistan for that figure also. Most of the Corporate team players are actually under payroll like an employee & they should receive over 75K PR/month + other corporate benefits (pension, gratuity, bonus, medical, transportation ........... ). It's actually not that desperate situation as it's made out there. Besides, these players are earning at the early part of career - starting from 18/19. If they make intelligent investment of the fortune, by the age of 40 (retirement), should have a decent savings. Off course, it 'll never be like IND (but that's unique - Indian Hockey & Football players earn little compared to cricketers).

I actually don't think, money is the biggest problem in PAK cricket - there are enough avenues for PCB to earn from domestic sources. What it needs a proper plan, marketing & resource allocation/distribution. Also, PCB has made the domestic cricket a joke with same players playing in FC, Grade 1, 2, 3, 4 ..... up to Saeed Ajmal academy match. It should be hierarchical - top 170-200 players to play in highest level & make sure that each & every one taking home at least PKR 100K/month - rest are emerging players/club players/amateurs/students, who either 'll turn into pro if they are good/skilled enough (by replacing retired pros from top tier), or find other career by the age of 23-25 - you don't need to think much for them (Average payment for EPL players is $80K/week, for Championship is $15K/week, for Division 2 (4th tier of English pro football league) is $1.5K/week - that's less than most Corporate salaried employees.

What now is going on is absolute garbage - 1800s staff, when in English villages cricketers used to play as mercenaries - paid match by match - today for Humbledon XI, tomorrow for Barron of Sussex, next day a double wicket at Finshburry Park, in week end at the private ground of Duke of Widnsor ........

Thats a lot of money for Pakistan. These players are set for their life after playing at this level for 5 years.

Hafeez minting 3 crore plus for last 2 years .. Sponsorships and other commitment should gain them more ...

Good for them. Lucky.

I am surprised you are not shocked by seeing the amount. Whether they get much or less in domestic is another thing already, but this is too much.

how is this too much?

It is because of these players, Pakistan cricket gets sponsorship. It is because of these players, Pakistan cricket sells its broadcasting rights for a large amount of cash. It is because of these players, ICC gives funding and all. It is because of these players cricket is a famous game in Pakistan and Pakistan plays cricket.

So you're saying that the guys who are the main factors behind Pakistan cricket should get very less salaries.
Boards make money because of the players.

That's the improvement area & in that regard BCB has done wonders. I think, our top players are one of the worst paid Test cricketers from BCB, but from the National FC tournaments, Dhaka League, BPL & other side leagues, there is a payment structure which top 200 cricketers in BD earns at least $12-$15K/year, which is lot for a 20 years career.

However, I am not sure about FC crickets of Pakistan for that figure also. Most of the Corporate team players are actually under payroll like an employee & they should receive over 75K PR/month + other corporate benefits (pension, gratuity, bonus, medical, transportation ........... ). It's actually not that desperate situation as it's made out there. Besides, these players are earning at the early part of career - starting from 18/19. If they make intelligent investment of the fortune, by the age of 40 (retirement), should have a decent savings. Off course, it 'll never be like IND (but that's unique - Indian Hockey & Football players earn little compared to cricketers).

I actually don't think, money is the biggest problem in PAK cricket - there are enough avenues for PCB to earn from domestic sources. What it needs a proper plan, marketing & resource allocation/distribution. Also, PCB has made the domestic cricket a joke with same players playing in FC, Grade 1, 2, 3, 4 ..... up to Saeed Ajmal academy match. It should be hierarchical - top 170-200 players to play in highest level & make sure that each & every one taking home at least PKR 100K/month - rest are emerging players/club players/amateurs/students, who either 'll turn into pro if they are good/skilled enough (by replacing retired pros from top tier), or find other career by the age of 23-25 - you don't need to think much for them (Average payment for EPL players is $80K/week, for Championship is $15K/week, for Division 2 (4th tier of English pro football league) is $1.5K/week - that's less than most Corporate salaried employees.

What now is going on is absolute garbage - 1800s staff, when in English villages cricketers used to play as mercenaries - paid match by match - today for Humbledon XI, tomorrow for Barron of Sussex, next day a double wicket at Finshburry Park, in week end at the private ground of Duke of Widnsor ........

Nope, there isn't any money here in cricket. As you said that Bangladesh professional cricketers make more money he Pakistani professionals.

But wanna hear another fun fact?
I heard that a Bangladeshi cricketer also gets paid by its club in Bangladesh. In Pakistan, we don't pay a dime to club cricketers.

And trust me, the situation in Pakistan is terrible. Most of these players are shifting to Gulf countries, who actually pay lakhs per month or match i think.

In Pakistan, a player only makes 1 to 1.5 lakh in a single quaid e azam trophy season.

I know a cricketer in my club who has played 100 plus matches for his First class team, but yet that poor guy stills come on his bike, and probably has troubles in paying the bills etc.

Money is a very big problem in Pakistan cricket

People who think this is too much probably are not even aware of the fact taht how much money PCB makes through these guys or because of these guys.

To say that the salaries are too much, is a naive statement.

Ijazz Butt or Sheryar Khan or Intikhab Alam or Zakir Khan or Subhan Ahmed are not the reason why PCB makes money. Its because of the Players of Pakistan.

how is this too much?

It is because of these players, Pakistan cricket gets sponsorship. It is because of these players, Pakistan cricket sells its broadcasting rights for a large amount of cash. It is because of these players, ICC gives funding and all. It is because of these players cricket is a famous game in Pakistan and Pakistan plays cricket.

So you're saying that the guys who are the main factors behind Pakistan cricket should get very less salaries.
Boards make money because of the players.

Rs. 35 crores per year isn't too much? Whoa. Well most of them are inconsistent and they don't deserve this much salaries.

Nope, there isn't any money here in cricket. As you said that Bangladesh professional cricketers make more money he Pakistani professionals.

But wanna hear another fun fact?
I heard that a Bangladeshi cricketer also gets paid by its club in Bangladesh. In Pakistan, we don't pay a dime to club cricketers.

And trust me, the situation in Pakistan is terrible. Most of these players are shifting to Gulf countries, who actually pay lakhs per month or match i think.

In Pakistan, a player only makes 1 to 1.5 lakh in a single quaid e azam trophy season.

I know a cricketer in my club who has played 100 plus matches for his First class team, but yet that poor guy stills come on his bike, and probably has troubles in paying the bills etc.

Money is a very big problem in Pakistan cricket

Sakib & Mushfique is paid almost BDT 2mn as base salary for 4/5 months from Dhaka League Clubs..... .........................

Rs. 35 crores per year isn't too much? Whoa. Well most of them are inconsistent and they don't deserve this much salaries.

again you missed the point of my post.

How much does PCB make, and because of who is PCB generating money? Because of these players.

again you missed the point of my post.

How much does PCB make, and because of who is PCB generating money? Because of these players.

Yes valid point. But the players don't own this money, and it's not necessary that they should be paid this much. But still I was shocked at this amount of money these players make despite their poor performances.

Mohammad Talha made approximately £25,000 for every international match he played in 2015 :afaq

That is more than a junior doctor earns in a year in the UK...

Yes valid point. But the players don't own this money, and it's not necessary that they should be paid this much. But still I was shocked at this amount of money these players make despite their poor performances.

yeah look at Nasir bhais Salary....very similar to Altaf Bhais money laundering amount.

Hafeez turned out to be secret cash cow :hafeez

Hafeez earned roughly £259,000 in 2015.

Im sure this doesn't include sponsorships, special appearances, TV shows etc.

Oh wow, some serious money for our guys. Always thought our boys were underpaid compared to other teams?

ANWAR ALI made 30,000,000!?!??!?!??!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!

THAT IS CRIMINAL!!!!

I weep for the state of our domestics while this bits and pieces mediocre player is raking in the cash.

Oh wow, some serious money for our guys. Always thought our boys were underpaid compared to other teams?

Yea so did I.

I am not sure how the salaries compare to other teams but Im guessing compared to other sports the pay isnt fantastic. Having said that I think some athletes get paid way way way too much. i understand they work hard and what not - but alot of the times they are on funny money. £250k a year is a pretty fantastic salary by anyones standard.

Mohammad Talha made approximately £25,000 for every international match he played in 2015 :afaq

That is more than a junior doctor earns in a year in the UK...

for reference

1 US Dollar equals 104.66 Pakistani Rupee
1 Pakistani Rupee equals 0.0096 US Dollar

So what is the point here? That they shouldnt have been mmaking this much?

I think they should be making even more than this. This is nothing compare to other countries cricketer and other sports.

Hopefully now with PSL they along with domestic players will earn more

Who's getting paid 35 crore? I only see figures of 3.5-3.9 crore being the highest paid to an individual.

However, yes, maybe they are a bit overpaid, and I would think it's more advisable to put some of this money into the domestic setup.

Who's getting paid 35 crore? I only see figures of 3.5-3.9 crore being the highest paid to an individual.

However, yes, maybe they are a bit overpaid, and I would think it's more advisable to put some of this money into the domestic setup.

K. I thought it's 35 crores. Yes, good point.

£200-300k a year for a professional sportsman isn't a huge amount of money. Don't get me wrong, it's obviously very good but I don't consider that excessive.

For a Pakistani its quite good easily can live a luxurious life

They are going to spend it in rupees and not pounds. These are excellent wages for anyone living in Pakistan.

Unless I got my math wrong (did from the top of my head, no calculator), £300k/year is roughly around 30 lacs Pakistani rupees per month, which is an unbelievable amount of money and puts you right amongst the highest earners in the country.

With that amount of money, you can live like a king here.

compared to other sportsmen of the world this isn't great...surprised people don't want these guys getting paid more/this much and expect them to be national heroes who will put the nation first no matter what. My boss makes more than Misbah and she is a 50 year old who isn't the brightest at her job. If anything they should be making double of this.

£200-£300k to play a sport at the end of the day is more than enough in my opinion.

I understand and appreciate what you mean. Compared to the likes of Premier League footballers or even players in the IPL and other professional athletes this is not a big amount. However, generally speaking £200-£300 is a very very good salary by anyones standard Alhumdullilah.

compared to other sportsmen of the world this isn't great...surprised people don't want these guys getting paid more/this much and expect them to be national heroes who will put the nation first no matter what. My boss makes more than Misbah and she is a 50 year old who isn't the brightest at her job. If anything they should be making double of this.

Sure - compared to other sports it isn't great. However the average salary for the general public in the nation which they are representing is £2,100/year. These guys are earning in the range of £210,000/year.

At that price tag I do not think it is unreasonable to expect them to be national heroes and put their nation first.

This is quite a decent amount for Pakistani cricketers, theri national amount coupled with PSL gives them quite a comfortable life.

Sure - compared to other sports it isn't great. However the average salary for the general public in the nation which they are representing is £2,100/year. These guys are earning in the range of £210,000/year.

At that price tag I do not think it is unreasonable to expect them to be national heroes and put their nation first.

I get your point...but lets take a deeper look:

1) The $210k is that of Misbah and co...so you have to be at the top of the food chain in Pakistan cricket to get close to that figure. To add to this, look at how old Misbah is and what he has given up in his life to get to this point. Given his education he could have easily started working at the age of 25 and would have been set for another 10 to 20 years in the professional world. After this year, his cricket and career are done. So in other words their careers are much shorter than that of the general public.

2) Staying fit...not sure about most of you but who here is willing to give more than 2 hours to the gym EVERYDAY? I know there are enough gym freaks who do...but think about it..these guys are putting in much more time than the average Joe who goes to the gym daily for an hour or 2 at max. This is also connected to the risks they face of injuring their bodies, some of which are life threatening. You could be a new/younger player and suffer from an injury that will take you out of cricket.

3) Travel and work-life balance: This gets to most of the players more than people think...they are constantly away from their families and friends and over time them being unavailable becomes a norm. Not sure if you'd give it up for $300k, but I love my life and would think twice before going in to a career that would require me to travel for more than half a year.

4) Constant spotlight/pressure (24/7 monitoring of what you do) : A 17 year old who comes in to cricket has not experienced things in life, and naturally is curious to go through the life cycle of a normal person..cricket does not allow that...poor Moin Khan could not go and have dinner at a restaurant in the Casino without getting insulted or wrongly being labelled as a fixer (ppl here don't know that casinos are the most heavily regulated place on Earth and laundering money is not possible). These guys live their life in the public view, with everything being criticized (literally everything. Imran Khan gets crap about having an illegitimate child, which is in no way related to his cricket or politics but people still use that to discredit him, even on this forum) . These guys and their lives are not public property...despite them being national heroes.

4) No guarantee of selection : No concrete guarantees if a player will be around for next series and get paid by the board...this again is related to no.1 where the career span of an athlete is much shorter than that of a normal person.Injuries, performance, nepotism, etc...you get the idea

5) Giving up all other career options to get a chance in competitive cricket. Had Imad Wasim not chosen to be a cricketer, he would have been a doctor today (apparently, but lets take it for what it is). Pursuing that route would have guaranteed something to him, cricket still does not. Imagine players from poor backgrounds...they give their prime years to follow a dream which might not come true or might vanish after coming true

I agree the payscale is good when you compare to it average people in Pakistan..but these guys don't live an average comfortable life like ours. There are more reasons why this pay isn't enough, but I'm glad they make this much after giving up so many things in life.

Quite a lot for a Pakistani and I'm sure this doesn't include endorsement and other commitments.

Afridi earns around 6.3 million dollars a year because of his endorsement according to this site

http://www.totalsportek.com/money/richest-cricketers/

That is good amount. Even Bangladesh cricketers earn a good amount these days especially club cricketers. But compare to other sports its nothing special.

Shehzad was recently gifted a house by some baharia construction company. I wonder if this counts as an income.

Unless I got my math wrong (did from the top of my head, no calculator), £300k/year is roughly around 30 lacs Pakistani rupees per month, which is an unbelievable amount of money and puts you right amongst the highest earners in the country.

With that amount of money, you can live like a king here.

It's not a lot compared to what other international cricketers earn.

I believe it's the lowest if we exclude the minnows and SL.

It's not a lot compared to what other international cricketers earn.

I believe it's the lowest if we exclude the minnows and SL.

True, but 30 lacs/month in Pakistan is a crazy amount.

Isn't that what most, relatively famous doctors earn here? Who do private practice.

Similar amount but to reach that level, they need years and years of experience and are generally 50+ when they earn that much, plus, they have to be in the clinic for like 12 hours a day.

These players have short careers but they get paid so much when they are young and also get plenty of off-time.

Hafeez turned out to be secret cash cow :hafeez

Hafeez earned roughly £259,000 in 2015.

Im sure this doesn't include sponsorships, special appearances, TV shows etc.

And it does not include money from leagues and other things.Its what they earned through international matches from PCB.

£200-£300k to play a sport at the end of the day is more than enough in my opinion.

I understand and appreciate what you mean. Compared to the likes of Premier League footballers or even players in the IPL and other professional athletes this is not a big amount. However, generally speaking £200-£300 is a very very good salary by anyones standard Alhumdullilah.

Good point.

Similar amount but to reach that level, they need years and years of experience and are generally 50+ when they earn that much, plus, they have to be in the clinic for like 12 hours a day.

These players have short careers but they get paid so much when they are young and also get plenty of off-time.

Well summed up. Youth is the difference.

Yeah but they stop earning after they reach 30s where as doctors surgeons etc make more as time passes on.

Sent from my SM-G925I

this is highly likely PCB figures (not including T20 leagues, and other commercial assignments)

it would make sense for guys like Hafeez, Gul, Ajmal, Misbah, Sarfraz to make so much since they were playing more cricket than anyone else in the country in 2014, add Azhar, Riaz, Shehzad in 2015

Test cricket is highest paying total, you are paid for 5 days, ODI cricket is 1 day, and T20 is half a day

1) The $210k is that of Misbah and co...so you have to be at the top of the food chain in Pakistan cricket to get close to that figure. To add to this, look at how old Misbah is and what he has given up in his life to get to this point. Given his education he could have easily started working at the age of 25 and would have been set for another 10 to 20 years in the professional world. After this year, his cricket and career are done. So in other words their careers are much shorter than that of the general public.

2) Staying fit...not sure about most of you but who here is willing to give more than 2 hours to the gym EVERYDAY? I know there are enough gym freaks who do...but think about it..these guys are putting in much more time than the average Joe who goes to the gym daily for an hour or 2 at max. This is also connected to the risks they face of injuring their bodies, some of which are life threatening. You could be a new/younger player and suffer from an injury that will take you out of cricket.

3) Travel and work-life balance: This gets to most of the players more than people think...they are constantly away from their families and friends and over time them being unavailable becomes a norm. Not sure if you'd give it up for $300k, but I love my life and would think twice before going in to a career that would require me to travel for more than half a year.

4) Constant spotlight/pressure (24/7 monitoring of what you do) : A 17 year old who comes in to cricket has not experienced things in life, and naturally is curious to go through the life cycle of a normal person..cricket does not allow that...poor Moin Khan could not go and have dinner at a restaurant in the Casino without getting insulted or wrongly being labelled as a fixer (ppl here don't know that casinos are the most heavily regulated place on Earth and laundering money is not possible). These guys live their life in the public view, with everything being criticized (literally everything. Imran Khan gets crap about having an illegitimate child, which is in no way related to his cricket or politics but people still use that to discredit him, even on this forum) . These guys and their lives are not public property...despite them being national heroes.

4) No guarantee of selection : No concrete guarantees if a player will be around for next series and get paid by the board...this again is related to no.1 where the career span of an athlete is much shorter than that of a normal person.Injuries, performance, nepotism, etc...you get the idea

5) Giving up all other career options to get a chance in competitive cricket. Had Imad Wasim not chosen to be a cricketer, he would have been a doctor today (apparently, but lets take it for what it is). Pursuing that route would have guaranteed something to him, cricket still does not. Imagine players from poor backgrounds...they give their prime years to follow a dream which might not come true or might vanish after coming true

I agree the payscale is good when you compare to it average people in Pakistan..but these guys don't live an average comfortable life like ours. There are more reasons why this pay isn't enough, but I'm glad they make this much after giving up so many things in life.

Those are some good points and In-Shaa-Allah I'll reply over the weekend :)

How much Tax do the Pakistani players pay in both Pakistan and abroad wherever they earn their money? What is the rate of inflation?

While these salaries might look good in Pakistan but it is still a fact that our cricketers are under paid compared to Australians, Indians, English etc

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

Pakistan's top of the top cricketers earn just around 3 crores per year and we see some people crying here. No wonder your FC set up doesn't work well and you have to rely on raw talent.

These figures seem like they are only comprised of match fees and central contract. Afridi probably earns at least 10 times that from brand sponsors.

Australian contracted players get a guaranteed $900,000 AUD (roughly $625,000 US) per year and Steve Smith gets a 25% bonus on that.

Additionally players get paid $14,000 per test, $7,000 per ODI and $5,000 per T20I

Plus every world cup squad member got $360,000 for winning the world cup

It isn't much money until our players can afford to buy houses in places like Malibu and Monaco and drive lamborghinis and feraris.

Is it enough to maintain a luxurious lifestyle for the rest of their lives, once their playing careers are over?

More than enough. Sometimes back, I had a detailed post on this. Instead of comparing what Aussie, English or Indian players earn; this is too good compared to other sportsman in Pakistan.

These players are earning this at the start of their career - if they make intelligent investments (in safe investments like real estate, restaurant chain, super mall, transport.....), by the time they reach 40, some of them should posses PK 100cr worth of fortune. Apart from the endorsements & other incomes, these players get their accommodation, transportation, medical, training facilities everything free from PCB. In fact, PAK players, compared to countries sports economy, earns too much than what they are worth. In 80s or 90s, players were paid even less (comparatively, not only in real money) - but those players earned big from Counties as they had the sell value everywhere.

Earnings from sports can't be compared in global context - PAK players can complain Indian cricketers, but then, top professional footballers earn over $250K/week, after tax in European leagues. In NBA, MLB, NFL or NHL base salary for a rookie is at least $1mn/season to start career; players like Bryant, James, Anthony earns more than $25mn/year as base salary. MJ is a billionaire while Schumacher & Woods would have reached there.

Think it in this context - MoHa is earning probably around $1mn/year in total from all sources combined, which is too much for Pakistan's context. Shahbaz Ahmed used to play for Dhaka Mohammedan, - he lived in a shared players' mess, travelled in economy class between Dhaka - Karachi & moved in Dhaka by Auto Rickshaw or at the back seat of a motor bike. That guy is the best Hockey player I have ever seen live, which is I think Pakistan's National game - now we should think who should be shamed for the money he is getting & what he is delivering.

In PAK's sports economic context, PAK players don't deserve even half of what they are getting - these are member of a below per team, in a dying sports seriously played by 6/7 countries (that too because of Indian market pouring money in to it) & almost every sports establishments in Pakistan is to serve them. Aisamul Haq is easily better sportsman than Shahid Afridi in global context. In contrary to what they are paid, MoHa, Malik or Afridi 'll be shamed to learned what Felix Savon or Vitaly Sherbo or Heike Drekseller (#@$%^&) or those wonderful Russian Ice Hockey players earned in their career.

Australian contracted players get a guaranteed $900,000 AUD (roughly $625,000 US) per year and Steve Smith gets a 25% bonus on that.

Additionally players get paid $14,000 per test, $7,000 per ODI and $5,000 per T20I

Plus every world cup squad member got $360,000 for winning the world cup

We naturally earn a lot less then Aus/Eng/Ind but I thought Pakistan players struggled to touch £100K. Nice that the players are finally being paid.

These guys made a lot of money in the PSL too. Nice to see our players finally being paid well.

Can't compare to others athletes around the world. Still a very very good income in Pakistan , considering the fact that our hockey team can't afford tickets to fly to participate in tournaments.

Ok - so I was hoping to be elevate Paks win tonight - since that didn't happen liya pick up on this :(

1) £260k per year for Hafeez - not $210k. That is quite a significant difference. Kher regardless I get your point that an engineer or accountant may have a career of 40 years whilst a cricketer will have 15-20 years. However a cricketers salary scale is ranging from approximately £150k per year (Mohammad Talha) to £260k per year (Hafeez) & this is before what they get paid by sponsors, cricket leagues, TV appearances, public appearances etc.

For a country where the average wage is around £2,100 per year these cricketers will still be earning literally around 100 times more than the people they are representing on average & living a very good quality of life in Pakistan. Spending any more on these players will be a waste in my opinion and a where poor allocation of where to spend money.

As for all the other points - that is part and parcel of the job & to be fair a few of those points are not exclusive to cricket. No one is forcing these guys to be cricketers - but if they wanna be the best in their field and play cricket then the other things are let and parcel of it. And let's remember that they are earning more than a 100 times what the average jo who they are representing is earning.

Cricketers have to stay fit - engineers & doctors have to ensure the keep they knowledge up to date with the latest technology. If you wanna be the best in your field you had to continue to work on your art.

Yes players travel a lot - another way to look at is they get to travel the world and stay in pretty luxurious hotels whilst they play a sport. Again - as far as the traveling is concerned, it's part of the job and if they can't do it no one is forcing them to do it. They are being paid to travel the world, live in 4 & 5 star hotels and play cricket at the end of the day. At times that means staying away from family for a couple of months but that's ladybug the job and at other times it will mean their families get a Vacation as well.

As far being in the spotlight is concerned - a lot of celebrities and even people who are at the top of their field are constantly in the spotlight. The Kardashians are constantly in the spotlight but that is just a w sate of money. Again if you are worried about the spotlight and don't want the attention then you shouldn't be striving to play a sport at the international level. I don't think this warrants players getting millions of pounds.

As for points 4 - if you aren't good at what you do you will be let go. Same applies for cricket but sure in cricket the competition is a lot tougher. However, that means we should help more players to be good enough to play for the teams and invest money there rather than paying players in the team more.

And as for point 5 - doesn't everyone give up all other careers to pursue one particular career? Most people who go to uni do so in the prime of their life and strive to succeed in one career however if that doesn't work out they go else where - the same can be done by cricketers. The bowler who bowled the last over for India in the 2007 T20 World Cup is now a police officer. Again not something which warrants them being paid millions in my opinion.

Ok - so I was hoping to be elevate Paks win tonight - since that didn't happen liya pick up on this :(

1) £260k per year for Hafeez - not $210k. That is quite a significant difference. Kher regardless I get your point that an engineer or accountant may have a career of 40 years whilst a cricketer will have 15-20 years. However a cricketers salary scale is ranging from approximately £150k per year (Mohammad Talha) to £260k per year (Hafeez) & this is before what they get paid by sponsors, cricket leagues, TV appearances, public appearances etc.

For a country where the average wage is around £2,100 per year these cricketers will still be earning literally around 100 times more than the people they are representing on average & living a very good quality of life in Pakistan. Spending any more on these players will be a waste in my opinion and a where poor allocation of where to spend money.

As for all the other points - that is part and parcel of the job & to be fair a few of those points are not exclusive to cricket. No one is forcing these guys to be cricketers - but if they wanna be the best in their field and play cricket then the other things are let and parcel of it. And let's remember that they are earning more than a 100 times what the average jo who they are representing is earning.

Cricketers have to stay fit - engineers & doctors have to ensure the keep they knowledge up to date with the latest technology. If you wanna be the best in your field you had to continue to work on your art.

Yes players travel a lot - another way to look at is they get to travel the world and stay in pretty luxurious hotels whilst they play a sport. Again - as far as the traveling is concerned, it's part of the job and if they can't do it no one is forcing them to do it. They are being paid to travel the world, live in 4 & 5 star hotels and play cricket at the end of the day. At times that means staying away from family for a couple of months but that's ladybug the job and at other times it will mean their families get a Vacation as well.

As far being in the spotlight is concerned - a lot of celebrities and even people who are at the top of their field are constantly in the spotlight. The Kardashians are constantly in the spotlight but that is just a w sate of money. Again if you are worried about the spotlight and don't want the attention then you shouldn't be striving to play a sport at the international level. I don't think this warrants players getting millions of pounds.

As for points 4 - if you aren't good at what you do you will be let go. Same applies for cricket but sure in cricket the competition is a lot tougher. However, that means we should help more players to be good enough to play for the teams and invest money there rather than paying players in the team more.

And as for point 5 - doesn't everyone give up all other careers to pursue one particular career? Most people who go to uni do so in the prime of their life and strive to succeed in one career however if that doesn't work out they go else where - the same can be done by cricketers. The bowler who bowled the last over for India in the 2007 T20 World Cup is now a police officer. Again not something which warrants them being paid millions in my opinion.

Excellent post.

It is demand and supply buddy.They still provide great entertainment and people queue to buy tickets. If Pakistani fans were not obsessed about cricket, the wages would not be so high. i would say that the money is nothing compared to the craze for cricket in Pakistan. why do movie stars get paid so much? Why does any celebrity?

What is concerning is actually how little the players at the lower end are earning. For example, Zia u Haq earned 495,000(roughly$5000) in all of 2015. That is ridiculous considering some of these players dont even have any sponsors either.

for what they dont take their jobs seriously but then again who does in Pakistan completely unprofessional in all aspects of life we are as a nation

It is demand and supply buddy.They still provide great entertainment and people queue to buy tickets. If Pakistani fans were not obsessed about cricket, the wages would not be so high. i would say that the money is nothing compared to the craze for cricket in Pakistan. why do movie stars get paid so much? Why does any celebrity?

So basically you are saying that because cricket is so popular in the country, this should basically be exploited and even if these cricketers are literally being paid 100 times more then the people they are representing, they are still being underpaid?

Yes - movie stars and celebrities do get paid insane amounts. But do you think it's justified for the movie stars and specially "celebrities" like the Kardashians to be paid so much for what the do buddy?