Sahibzada Farhan - 21-year-old opener

I definitely rate your Eye. I will keep an eye on your posts. Hope you post more often.

This thread will InshaAllah go long way provided :

1. Sahibzada remains grounded.

2. With right attitude and hardwork he improves his game further.

I just hope he trains with Yousuf for 3 weeks only.

His intent is fantastic as well. A bit better shot selection and temperament once he passes fifty can help him make his conversion rate better.

One thing I have noticed about Sahibzada is that he rotates the strike easily after the end of first 10 overs.

He has sort of timing which reminds me of my favorite Imran Nazir, What a waste of talent he was.

But Sahibzada looks to have alot more brain.

His intent is fantastic as well. A bit better shot selection and temperament once he passes fifty can help him make his conversion rate better.

Shot selection is fine. Only issue is that sometimes he plays with static feet where he could get caught behind, get lbw or chops it back onto the stumps. Laziness. Proper weight transfer on front foot is something which Yousuf can teach him.

He has sort of timing which reminds me of my favorite Imran Nazir, What a waste of talent he was.

But Sahibzada looks to have alot more brain.

Yes IM was an amazing talent which did not materialise sadly.

Very happy for this boy. I am a sucker for these type of situations: unheralded player comes in to tournament and not a lot of ppl k ow about him and he becomes a story of the tour tournament.
Hopefully this platform gets him a huge boost. As a young opener who has fired in every match, there is not much more the captain can ask.
I do blv there a few issues, but not insurmountable:
- three way bigger scores in last few matches after getting to fifty
- strike rotation comes a little later, but at least he make up for that by hitting big.

The best thing I have liked about him, is that barring one match he has played every innings keeping the strike rate between 90 and 100.

Century off 84 balls :) Got there with a SIX.

Mubarak [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] :)

He has now become the leading run-scorer of the tournament.A big achievement for an unknown player to score consistently in such a big tournament.

Sahibzada today has an oppurtunity of lifetime infront of him.

His biggest supporter has been National Selection Committee member who is from his region ie Wajahatullah Wasti.

Golden oppurtunity to score his first ton today and impress the Selection Committee.

Final match means pressure game. If you score in a pressure match which is televised than you have a great chance for national call within 6-12 months.

My Wish and Prayer fulfilled.

Superb Innings.

Best batsman of Pakistan Cup 2017.

Century off 84 balls :) Got there with a SIX.

Mubarak [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] :)

Mabrook. Superb knock.

You see Imad & Hassan bowled 6 very tight economical overs but Farhan remainef cool. Temperament tested in final and he did quite well.

Booking his place in CT.

His SR has been excellent in this tournament, has ability to accelerate when needed but I agree with folks observing that his footwork is static as that could get him into trouble against quality seam/swing.

However these technical issues can be worked on as he's still very young and we are lacking in explosive openers who can get us off to a flyer. I'd say take a punt on him.

An excellent performance against a pretty strong bowling attack- here's hoping he can continue his fine form!

Really happy for him. Hope he keeps on improving his game further. We have an excellent opener of our hands.

Excellent on the back foot.
Static feet so might struggle against seam if he doesn't work on it.
Can be a v.good prospect in today's era of flat pitches.
Will definitely invest on him.

Booking his place in CT.

His SR has been excellent in this tournament, has ability to accelerate when needed but I agree with folks observing that his footwork is static as that could get him into trouble against quality seam/swing.

However these technical issues can be worked on as he's still very young and we are lacking in explosive openers who can get us off to a flyer. I'd say take a punt on him.

Static ocassionally. Not always.

He should try for a 200. Hope he doesn't turn out like a certain Sahibzada we all know and love.

Booking his place in CT.

Can he still be included in the CT squad?

Booking his place in CT.

In case you didn't notice the CT squad has been announced and your favourite Inzi picked Shehzad, Azhar and Fakhar as the three openers.

Oh come on man we can't just straight away select him for the CT. It's the CT not a bilateral serie against the WI.

He should be in the next Pak A team squad and maybe against Bangladesh (if that goes ahead).

Shehzad and Azhar are very influential among Pakistani circles, so it is highly unlikely they will be replaced. Fakhar is the only dispensable opener, but since he is the second highest run scorer in Pakistan cup, I doubt he will be replaced.

Mabrook. Superb knock.

You see Imad & Hassan bowled 6 very tight economical overs but Farhan remainef cool. Temperament tested in final and he did quite well.

Indeed, I hope he is not let to regress in domestic like Nauman and works with professionals asap.

Golden chance for pcb. If they are really honest, they should sack umar akmal on disciplinary issue and replace this hack with farhan.

I think its unwise to try a player who is new domestic let alone international cricket in the Champions trophy. In fact, the CT is probably the worst team to make someone debut because are there no minnows.

Next tour though I think Farhan should be in, especially if the likes of Sharjeel are banned

I think its unwise to try a player who is new domestic let alone international cricket in the Champions trophy. In fact, the CT is probably the worst team to make someone debut because are there no minnows.

Next tour though I think Farhan should be in, especially if the likes of Sharjeel are banned

Batted superbly in the tournament. Saw him live today; used the long handle well and cleared the boundaries easily. He and Amin have been the batsmen of the tournament. maybe a good opening combination in the shorter formats

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">21 year old Charsadda born Sahibzada Farhan's scores in the Pakistan Cup:<br>53, 54, 58, 54 and 112. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PakistanCup?src=hash">#PakistanCup</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash">#Cricket</a> <a href="https://t.co/O88rdYcqXP">pic.twitter.com/O88rdYcqXP</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/858323294730190852">April 29, 2017</a></blockquote>

Before everyone gets too excited and start calling him world class.

Here's the runs distribution after his 100:

WGRY64.jpg

I'm not saying he's bad. Just hold your expectations a bit. He's still 100000 times better than Ahmed Shehzad though!

So an automatic upgrade over him.

If the assumption about his age is simply based on his hairline then I'm not too concerned.

I'm 22 and my hairline has receded further than his. :wahab2

Sahi baat ki hai bhai. :sanga

Due to my first hand experience, I am a bit cautious about doubting official ages. Farhan might well be 23 or 24 but I don't see much reason to suggest he's 28 or so.

Hair transplant ftw brother, get that glorious mane back.

Honestly, my best guess would be 25-26, not any younger. However, if Ifti chacha can be 26, anything is possible. :uakmal

In case you didn't notice the CT squad has been announced and your favourite Inzi picked Shehzad, Azhar and Fakhar as the three openers.

Please show me where I defended Inzy's CT squad. I criticised it heavily.

We can still make changes to the squad.

the PP consensus is on haris sohail the greatest odi batsman ever...maybe

Him coming in might give a massive boost to our team of Tuk tuk. As he can provide starts like Sharjeel and possibly even score big

the PP consensus is on haris sohail the greatest odi batsman ever...maybe

Haris has not played a lot of cricket recently regardless of what people think of his ability so am sceptical about the selectors even considering him at the moment. This bloke who did not fail a single time in the PC tournament should have been in the squad, at the very least I hope the selectors invest in him and asked him to train at the NCA but given the competency of coach's there you can never be too hopeful though.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] is Sahibzada on anyone's radar at the PCB , any of their selectors taken an interest?

Haris has not played a lot of cricket recently regardless of what people think of his ability so am sceptical about the selectors even considering him at the moment. This bloke who did not fail a single time in the PC tournament should have been in the squad, at the very least I hope the selectors invest in him and asked him to train at the NCA but given the competency of coach's there you can never be too hopeful though.

[MENTION=9]Saj[/MENTION] is Sahibzada on anyone's radar at the PCB , any of their selectors taken an interest?

i think he was picked by wijahatullah wasti so obviously he is in the radar of selectors but for that he has to work hard as it is defficult to impress mr,inzi the revolutionary...:uak

In that case it's SHOCKING the man has not been selected, he scored a hundred in the final and was the best batsman in the tournament! what other purpose did the PC serve besides scouting for last minute CT gems which could prove to be inspired selections?