Salman Khan, Bollywood superstar, bailed in poaching case [Update Post#46]

hadi123

The Bollywood superstar Salman Khan has been jailed for five years for poaching a protected species of Indian antelope.

A court in Rajasthan state on Thursday found Khan, one of the world’s best-paid actors, guilty of illegally hunting the two blackbucks from his car window while filming in Jodhpur in 1998.

Public prosecutors alleged that Khan, 52, and four other actors in the car with him fled the scene when they were spotted, leaving the animals’ carcasses behind.

The other actors, among them Saif Ali Khan and Sonali Bendre, were acquitted by the court in Jodhpur for lack of evidence.

India’s wildlife protection act bans the hunting of all but a handful of wild animals without a special permit.

As well as the five-year sentence the court also fined Khan 10,000 rupees (£109). His lawyers say they will appeal the conviction and apply for bail as soon as possible.

Hundreds of police surrounded the courtroom in Jodhpur to keep back fans of the actor, who is known for his bad-boy image and macho film roles.

Khan has long maintained that he was framed by forest officials in the case.

At the time of the poaching, blackbucks were regarded as a vulnerable animal, but have since been reclassified as a species of least concern, though they remain protected by Indian wildlife regulations.

Khan has a history of brushes with the law. In 2015, he was acquitted of killing a homeless man in a hit-and-run incident in 2002, a decision now being challenged in the supreme court.

His former girlfriend, the actor Aishwarya Rai, accused Khan of verbal and physical abuse in a 2002 interview – allegations Khan has denied.

Khan was first arrested in the poaching case in October 1998 after reports emerged that he had hunted the two antelopes and at least three other gazelles.

Eight years later, he was convicted of killing the blackbucks and sentenced to five years in prison, a decision he appealed to the Rajasthan high court, which suspended the sentence in August 2007 after the actor had spent two short stints in jail.

The charges were revised and laid again the following year, and have hung over Khan for the past decade, preventing him from obtaining a UK visa in 2013 until the Rajasthan government asked the court to give him leeway to travel.

In 2016, he was acquitted of separate poaching charges relating to the gazelles.

The allegations of poaching against the actor were first made by members of the Bishnoi community in Rajasthan, a sect that considers blackbucks to be a reincarnation of the 600-year-old guru. Members of the sect who were gathered outside the court reportedly cheered when the verdict was read.

Cases in India’s overburdened legal system can take years to be processed, but the lingering poaching charges have failed to dampen Khan’s box-office appeal. He earned $37m (£26m) last year, according to Forbes, making him India’s second-highest paid entertainer after Shah Rukh Khan.

His latest film, Tiger Zinda Hai, about a soldier who goes into Iraq to rescue hostages from Islamic State, collected about $85m worldwide.

https://www.theguardian.com/film/20...lywood-actor-guilty-of-killing-rare-antelopes

I hope Pakistanis don't blame the Modi Govt of targeting him for being a Muslim.

I am 100 percent sure he will be. Didnt you watch pakistan media reaction about dalits sc st protests on supreme court decision regarding some minor law change.
. They showed it like its brahman and all upper caste people have started riot against sc st castes in modi's raaj. It was not even funny loll..

A court in Rajasthan state on Thursday found Khan, one of the world’s best-paid actors, guilty of illegally hunting the two blackbucks from his car window while filming in Jodhpur in 1998.

I am sure he will appeal to some higher court and relax for another 20 years.

You indians will drag Pakistan to everything that's not even remotely related to Pakistan and it shows the insecurity of a 1.3 billion nation :)))

lol Indians needing validation for this as well :)))

Afridi has mentally scarred them!

Ironic that he got away with killing a human (the whole self driving car miracle) yet is potentially facing jail for killing an animal - I say potentially because he will be bailed and then will appeal and appeal and appeal.

I really do not understand India.

Killing an animal gets you a harsh sentence of 5 years, compared to murdering/bullying innocent children in IOK which is celebrated and justified?

SICK!

You indians will drag Pakistan to everything that's not even remotely related to Pakistan and it shows the insecurity of a 1.3 billion nation :)))

Well I have been reminded multiple times in the last few days that this is a Pakistani forum...glad that is no longer the case.

I really do not understand India.

Killing an animal gets you a harsh sentence of 5 years, compared to murdering/bullying innocent children in IOK which is celebrated and justified?

SICK!

You won't get a jail term for killing an animal if it goes on a rampage trying to hurt you.

Sad to see people supporting Salman in both his cases and want him to not be punished for his crimes..

Ironic that he got away with killing a human (the whole self driving car miracle) yet is potentially facing jail for killing an animal - I say potentially because he will be bailed and then will appeal and appeal and appeal.
Al Capone, the (in)famous American mobster and crime boss was untouchable since no one dared to testify against him, but he was eventually prosecuted and jailed .... for tax evasion!

Totally deserves to rot in jail.

How much can a person get away with....abusing women, driving over people, killing innocent and rare animals.

Will be disappointed in the Indian justice system if he gets away Scott free yet again.

So he is being charged more for killing an animal than when he killed actual human beings. Anyway remember him in the Hilton Dubai when he got smashed and referred to Sheikh Mo as "Boss" among other things. Mo wasn't there but wasn't impressed one bit and even made a joke about certain "aspects" which I cannot disclose here.

Indian Muslim's have nothing to do with Pak at all. I always say that the law of the land is supreme. These Bollywood so called A listers need to be told that there is nothing special about them, they are as human as anyone else. If Salman broke the law then like Sanjay Dutt he has rightfully been punished. Salman Khan walks around as if he owns the world, a trip to the prison will give him the opportunity to take care of some real life baddies!:shadab Chances are that his underworld connections will get him released much before his time is over. Bollywood is dominated by the underworld and gangsters.

You spoke too soon

Salman Khan has been sentenced because he's a minority," the foreign minister said while speaking to Hamid Mir, anchor of Geo News programme Capital Talk.

So he is being charged more for killing an animal than when he killed actual human beings. Anyway remember him in the Hilton Dubai when he got smashed and referred to Sheikh Mo as "Boss" among other things. Mo wasn't there but wasn't impressed one bit and even made a joke about certain "aspects" which I cannot disclose here.

was it something racist?

After almost 20 yrs the verdict was given. I hope the black bucks grand children liked the verdict.

Instead of jailing salman, he should have been made to pay hefty fine. That money could be spent on wild life conservation.

Now salman would sit in jail feeding on tax payers money.

PS - I have a feeling he will be out of jail soon.

Indian Muslim's have nothing to do with Pak at all. I always say that the law of the land is supreme. These Bollywood so called A listers need to be told that there is nothing special about them, they are as human as anyone else. If Salman broke the law then like Sanjay Dutt he has rightfully been punished. Salman Khan walks around as if he owns the world, a trip to the prison will give him the opportunity to take care of some real life baddies!:shadab Chances are that his underworld connections will get him released much before his time is over. Bollywood is dominated by the underworld and gangsters.

I am not a fan of Salman Khan the person but don't compare him with Dutt, Dutt is a terrorist who got away because who his father was. Salman for all his faults is just your average criminal.

Salman Khan jailed because he's a minority: Khawaja Asif

ISLAMABAD: Foreign Minister Khawaja Asif on Thursday slammed the five-year jail term given to Bollywood actor Salman Khan as ‘discriminatory’.

"Salman Khan has been sentenced because he's a minority," the foreign minister said while speaking to Hamid Mir, anchor of Geo News programme Capital Talk.

To sentence him in a case that is twenty years old goes on to show that lives of those who are Muslims, 'untouchables' or Christians are not valued in India, he added.

Asif added, "May be if he belonged to the religion of the ruling party of India he would not have been given such a harsh sentence and the court might have been lenient with him."

Earlier today, the Bollywood superstar was sentenced to five years prison by a court in Jodhpur for killing endangered wildlife nearly two decades ago while working on the film Hum Saath Saath Hain.

Salman, one of India's most recognisable and bankable actors, was taken into police custody and driven to jail after the sentencing amid chaotic scenes outside court.

But the actor, who denied poaching the rare black bucks in 1998, can still appeal his conviction.

"The court has given a five-year jail term and fined Salman Khan INR10,000 rupees," prosecution lawyer Mahipal Bishnoi told reporters outside the court.

Four other Bollywood stars Saif Ali Khan, Sonali Bendre, Tabu and Neelam Kothari who were also accused of joining the hunting trip but were acquitted for lack of evidence.

According to AFP, Salman, whose legion of fans emulate his distinct hairstyle and fashion, has accused Rajasthan´s forest department of framing him over the black buck case. His defence lawyers had suggested the black bucks died of natural causes such as overeating, and claimed there was no evidence they had been shot.

The black buck is an endangered species and is protected under the Indian Wildlife Act.
https://www.geo.tv/latest/189709-kh...ans-jail-term-as-discriminatory?5ac61c31225ed

Stupid statement. Saif ali khan and tabu were let off in this case. Salman himself was acquitted in hit and run case which was a bigger crime than the killing a black buck.

Perfect mentality. Everything is just Muslim or kafir. There are only two types. I hope he saw balochi and ahmedis as Muslims too. Only Sunnis are not Muslims.

Islamabad: Former Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar is upset that his "friend" Salman Khan has been sentenced to five years in prison in a case of poaching blackbucks. He finds the punishment harsh.

"Really sad to see my friend Salman Khan sentenced for five years, but the law must take its course and we got to respect the decision of honourable court of India," he said.

"I still think punishment is too harsh, but my heart goes to his family and fans. I am sure he will be out soon," Akhtar tweeted.

Salman was on Thursday sentenced to five years in prison after a Jodhpur court convicted him for killing two rare blackbucks.

Chief judicial magistrate Dev Kumar Khatri, while pronouncing the verdict in the case of killing the protected antelopes, called the 52-year-old actor a "habitual offender" under the wildlife protection laws of the country.

https://www.firstpost.com/firstcric...lls-five-year-sentence-too-harsh-4420555.html

this guys an idiot

True..but so is the judicial system which frees him on a hit and run case but jails him for a blackbuck killing case after 20 years!!!

And I dont think the Bishnoi group people are angels..They are involved in opium trade for generations

True..but so is the judicial system which frees him on a hit and run case but jails him for a blackbuck killing case after 20 years!!!

And I dont think the Bishnoi group people are angels..They are involved in opium trade for generations

i was talking about khwaja asif tbf

India always has to bring Pakistan into everything. :))
lol Indians needing validation for this as well :)))

Afridi has mentally scarred them!

It seems you need validation from Pakistanis for everything.... :)))

Lol the Indians don't need any pakistani validation, the Indians are just too good at predicting pakistani behavior, looks like hitman was right, Pakistani foreign minister did blame salman's sentence on religion. Talk about being obsessed, your foreign minister is giving a statement on a bollywood star's case :)))

India really needs to sort itself out. Only in India does an animal have more rights than a human. This is why the world cannot respect India. Humans, Dalits, then Animals. This is the order of things.

I bet you there are Indians right now saying 5 years for hunting an animal is not harsh, but banned for 1 year after ball tampering is harsh!

Absolutely crazy. I guess money doesn't by morality or sense.

This has nothing to do with salman being muslim. It is just that he is a bigger celebrity than all of them combined who were let off. 1 year punishment is enough. First you drag the case to 20 years then you give a punishment of 5 years and then repeat this same ** that 'insaaf der se milta hai par milta zarur hai'.

Islamabad: Former Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar is upset that his "friend" Salman Khan has been sentenced to five years in prison in a case of poaching blackbucks. He finds the punishment harsh.

"Really sad to see my friend Salman Khan sentenced for five years, but the law must take its course and we got to respect the decision of honourable court of India," he said.

"I still think punishment is too harsh, but my heart goes to his family and fans. I am sure he will be out soon," Akhtar tweeted.

Salman was on Thursday sentenced to five years in prison after a Jodhpur court convicted him for killing two rare blackbucks.

Chief judicial magistrate Dev Kumar Khatri, while pronouncing the verdict in the case of killing the protected antelopes, called the 52-year-old actor a "habitual offender" under the wildlife protection laws of the country.

https://www.firstpost.com/firstcric...lls-five-year-sentence-too-harsh-4420555.html

I still to this date do not believe that Salman is or was as good a friend of Shoaib as the latter claimed.

Hopefully stays in the jail, a lot of people have paid lawyers money to get this dude behind bars hopefully he remains behind bars but we all know how it works with these big celebs.

I am not a fan of Salman Khan the person but don't compare him with Dutt, Dutt is a terrorist who got away because who his father was. Salman for all his faults is just your average criminal.

Salman is no angel either. He also killed a pedestrian some years back whilst in a state of drunkenness. Both are as bad as each other as far as I am concerned. Salman's underworld masters are all in Dubai which is why he is a frequent visitor there.

Actor Salman Khan was granted bail by a district and sessions court in Jodhpur on Saturday in the 1998 blackbuck poaching case in which he was sentenced to five years in jail on Thursday.

After spending two nights in Jodhpur Central Jail, he left after completing all legal formalities and headed back to Mumbai in a chartered flight.

He cannot leave the country without the court’s permission.

The District and Sessions Judge Ravindra Kumar Joshi after hearing the arguments of prosecution and defence lawyers, pronounced the order at around 3:00pm. The discussion lasted for about an hour.

“Arguments were already over in the morning but Judge Joshi reserved the order for post lunch. He has to produce personal bail bond worth Rs50,000 and produce a Rs25000 surety from two persons each who shall guarantee that he will agree to all bail conditions,” said a defence counsel.

Khan’s sisters “Alvira and Arpita” were present during the hearing.

Salman Khan was sentenced to a five-year term on Thursday for killing two blackbucks in 1998 in Kankani village, near Jodhpur in Rajasthan, while shooting for the Bollywood film, “Hum Saath Saath hai.” Blackbucks are protected under the wildlife laws.

His co-actors Saif Ali Khan, Tabu, Saif Ali Khan, Neelam Kothari and Sonal Bendre, accompanied him during poaching but were acquitted by the sessions court.

This was the actor’s fourth stint in this prison. He has earlier spent a total of 18 days in jail in 1998, 2006 and 2007.

Meanwhile, Rampal Bhawad, state president of Bishnoi Tiger Force, said that they are disappointed with the decision of court to grant bail to Salman and said they planned to challenge this in high court.

The Bishnoi Samaj had registered the complaint against Salman for killing the two bluckbucks 20 years back as they consider the blackbuck to be the reincarnation of their religious Guru Bhagwan Jambeshwar, also known as Jambaji.

Salman Khan will also have to appear in the court on May 7 -- exactly a month after this bail, said a defence counsel.

Meanwhile, Salman’s fans cheered outside the court after hearing the verdict.

Hundreds of them were also gathered in front of Salman’s residence ‘Galaxy’ apartment, located in Bandra, Mumbai. Some of them were holding big posters of their favourite film star with some even holding hand-written ones that read: “We support Salman Khan, We love Salman Khan”. Some shouted out loud “Salman bhai, Zindabad”.

To keep the crowd under control, Mumbai Police has got the area covered with barricades.

“This incident happened 20 years ago and the case is going on since then. If industry people have faith in him for the last 20 years, it will remain the same. He has steady fan-followers and gave the industry crores of business. His success says it all,” trade analyst Atul Mohan told IANS.

Even some of the Bollywood celebrities like Mika Singh, Sonu Sood and Adnan Sami expressed their joy on Twitter post after bail was given to their “brother” Salman.

https://www.khaleejtimes.com/citytimes/bollywood/Salman-Khan-gets-bail-in-blackbuck-case-1