Sarfaraz Ahmed - Captaincy Watch

What was the on field umpire doing?

I have stated before that the purpose of technology is to get the right decision, every time - it should not be about how clever a captain is etc

Been shown to be tactically inept in the majority of this 2nd inns of this game.

Danish Kaneria Opinion on Sarfaraz's captaincy

He made some interesting comments and observations on Sarfaraz's captaincy

He mentioned that he knew Sarfaraz as a captain from his U-19 days and in domestic cricket where he had captained him and that he has always been a very chirpy, hyper and emotional character.

He was like Sarfaraz needs to understand that he is now no longer captaining an U-19 team, club team or a domestic team and that he is in charge of an international team now. He was always the sort of captain where he will nice, easy, relaxed when things are going well and when the game is in control but also easily lose it when things become tense, when the opposition fights back and gets an upper hand.

He will have to mould himself and his captaincy style accordingly, he can't keep chirping at the players on the field and also cannot be chirping at the bowlers when they concede boundaries. He has to give confidence to the fielders and bowlers during tough times.

I cannot say I disagree with the above. Lol, I am pretty sure Sarfaraz is now realizing that no matter how many years you have been captaining your U-19, domestic team, its a totally different ball game being an international captain for your country.

He has had a year and a half to figure things out as captain of the Pakistani team.

The question mark is does Sarfaraz have the ability to make adjustments to his captaincy? The signs aren't looking good especially when there are question marks over his own position in the team as a player.

Even some journalists are questioning his place in the team.

[MENTION=133760]Abdullah719[/MENTION] bhai :p

Yar kahin sai ye pta chal skta hai whats the overall stats of Sarfraz's captaincy?
I know how many series and matches Pakistan have won and lost under him but overall stats count krnay parain gai :p

Like in t20s Pakistan have won 24 out of 28 matches under him. Similarly in other formats?

Rankings mai we were number 6, 7, and 8 in tests, t20s and odis when he took over if i am not wrong?

Yar kahin sai ye pta chal skta hai whats the overall stats of Sarfraz's captaincy?
I know how many series and matches Pakistan have won and lost under him but overall stats count krnay parain gai :p

Like in t20s Pakistan have won 24 out of 28 matches under him. Similarly in other formats?

Rankings mai we were number 6, 7, and 8 in tests, t20s and odis when he took over if i am not wrong?

In ODIS:
29 Matches 19 Won 10 Lost

In Tests:
7 Matches 3 Won 3 Lost 1 Draw

When Sarfaraz took over in each format:

Pakistan were ranked 6th in Tests
Pakistan were ranked 8th in ODIs
Pakistan were ranked 7th in T20Is

Post Champions Trophy, we have played 7 ODIs against high ranked teams and have lost every single match.

100% losing record, no exceptions. That is all that needs to be said. Only in pakistan will a captain with such an embarrassing record have defenders and apologists.

This whole drama of being the number one T20 team will end soon as well, and this is the format where our next big reality check will come.

Similar to how the narrative that we have improved in ODIs and are a different outfit now blew into a million pieces in the Asia Cup.

It is a shame that we are not going to play any T20s in the near future, and the next World T20 is also two years away.

When Sarfaraz took over in each format:

Pakistan were ranked 6th in Tests
Pakistan were ranked 8th in ODIs
Pakistan were ranked 7th in T20Is

Thanks habibi. This is the key while he is being ridiculed for beating low ranked teams he didn't get a team of world beaters in the first place.

And now we are are 5th in odis, 7th in tests, and no 1 in t20s. So overall the results are pretty good as you dont get much points for beating low ranked teams.

All the series from now onward till world cup are against good sides and pretty difficult so this will be the biggest test for him.

Post Champions Trophy, we have played 7 ODIs against high ranked teams and have lost every single match.

100% losing record, no exceptions. That is all that needs to be said. Only in pakistan will a captain with such an embarrassing record have defenders and apologists.

This whole drama of being the number one T20 team will end soon as well, and this is the format where our next big reality check will come.

Similar to how the narrative that we have improved in ODIs and are a different outfit now blew into a million pieces in the Asia Cup.

It is a shame that we are not going to play any T20s in the near future, and the next World T20 is also two years away.

Rankings are extremely deceitful we are comfortably 10 years behind the Big 5 in all formats especially limited overs cricket. The rest of the world has now scientifically combined raw talent with discipline while we just rely on individual brilliance which is not sustainable

Thanks habibi. This is the key while he is being ridiculed for beating low ranked teams he didn't get a team of world beaters in the first place.

And now we are are 5th in odis, 7th in tests, and no 1 in t20s. So overall the results are pretty good as you dont get much points for beating low ranked teams.

All the series from now onward till world cup are against good sides and pretty difficult so this will be the biggest test for him.

So our number 1 ranking in T20s is all down to Sarfraz but number 7 ranking on tests has nothing to do with Sarfraz ?

Where is the logic in this? If we were higher in the test rankings you would say it's because of Sarfraz.

Clear case of fan boysim and favouritism.

So our number 1 ranking in T20s is all down to Sarfraz but number 7 ranking on tests has nothing to do with Sarfraz ?

Where is the logic in this? If we were higher in the test rankings you would say it's because of Sarfraz.

Clear case of fan boysim and favouritism.

oo mama maine kab kaha k no 7 is not because of Sarfraz and no 1 is because of Sarfraz. Just asked Abdullah some stats. And mama jee we have gone from 6th to 7th in tests (not much decline) while 8th to 5th in odis and 7th to 1st in t20s so yes thats some improvement under him.

Please dont bother quoting me next time when you dont know whats going on. I have seen you have a habbit of doing this (and then later cry) with other posters like [MENTION=142670]mak36[/MENTION] [MENTION=143344]babajee[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] and others who are Babar and Sarfraz fans.

oo mama maine kab kaha k no 7 is not because of Sarfraz and no 1 is because of Sarfraz. Just asked Abdullah some stats. And mama jee we have gone from 6th to 7th in tests (not much decline) while 8th to 5th in odis and 7th to 1st in t20s so yes thats some improvement under him.

Please dont bother quoting me next time when you dont know whats going on. I have seen you have a habbit of doing this (and then later cry) with other posters like [MENTION=142670]mak36[/MENTION] [MENTION=143344]babajee[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION] and others who are Babar and Sarfraz fans.

We aren't improving in tests so I don't know what your on about. In ODIs, there is some improvement but our batting still has major issues.

What are you on about crying? You are the one who always plays victim for Sarfraz saying he is hated :)) when he is getting called out for not performing.

I am a Babar fan too. We are talking about Sarfraz captaincy here not Babar Azam.

We did beat a strong NZ side in NZ in T20Is earlier this year. Give credit where credit is due. This is why it's hard to take you seriously.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan last 11 T20Is when chasing with Sarfaraz Ahmed as captain:<br><br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<br>Won<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Cricket?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Cricket</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1058437435548409856?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 2, 2018</a></blockquote>

wow, I never thought I would be able to see chase stats like that for Pakistan! Bravo!

Kept brilliantly.

11 series win in a row.

First captain to inflict a 3-0 whitewash on NZ.

Just keeps getting better...

And giving the debutant a second spell was a nice touch.

Was ordinary today. Your best bowler of the match even did not complete his quota. It shows how clueless you are as a captain.

Why is even Fakhar bowling when we have got specialist bowlers? This is definitely not the type of thinking out of the box, especially when opposition has only one down, in 25th over, going at 5 an over. What kind of rubbish is this?

May be he should drop the gloves and come out to bowl if it's not too much. I don't even begin to understand how stupid our captain gets these days.

I am not sure what kind of mindset our management has. Wickets win you matches, and contain opposition. This selection we did today, is what India did for containing and it worked for them as they had better batting unit. Bowlers look to contain runs and not attacking batsmen more often. Field setup is for the same. We seldom see more than one slip with new ball. What happened to making new ball count?

And now opposition ends up 200+ runs, in 40th over, with only one down, ready to launch. It's a lost cause, the way I see it now. They will definitely go for 300+ and we now lost an ODI.

After the result, did any of the team management or the team itself will pound on what went wrong? The way I see it, we definitely need a change in captaincy. Shoaib has more experience in the department and is definitely aggressive. Plus, we definitely need change of coaches. Azhar Mehmood for one. Why hasn't he worked on the bowlers, like Waqar used to? Amir didn't get better with Azhar in charge. Other bowlers are with similar performance.

This is definitely not how you will win world cup, not with this management or the tactics

Excellent captaincy by Sarfaraz in the 2nd ODI.

Over rated captain who always wilts in pressure situations and makes mistakes with regards to bowling changes and field placements. Just an on top captain.

Sarfraz captains this game, then malik doesn't bowl an over and concede 12 runs.

Pak lose by 6 runs, so that was a very costly over.

Sorely missed today.

Sarfraz captains this game, then malik doesn't bowl an over and concede 12 runs.

Pak lose by 6 runs, so that was a very costly over.

Sorely missed today.

LOL so you think someone else bowling would have conceded less than 6 runs in the opening over?

T20s is the one format nobody can deny that Sarf is the absolute best captain for the side.

LOL so you think someone else bowling would have conceded less than 6 runs in the opening over?

Yes, that is pretty obvious.

Imad could have bowled that over (which he normally does) and the first over sets the tone.

Don’t think Sarfaraz would’ve done anything different to what Rizwan did when chasing 193.

However, there was no game plan from Shoaib Malik when we were bowling, and 193 would’ve been 176 with Sarfaraz as captain.

Are you guys kidding me, winning is not necessary but to see the players smiling is what is important. That's not possible with Sarfraz as captain. I hope the PCB can arrange for participation certificates after every loss so the smiles never go away.

Lol.

2 losses and Sarfraz is already a hero once again, forgetting we lost 5 0 to NZ, blanked twice by India in Asia Cup and heck even Bangladesh had our number with Sarfi as captain.

I am not against Sarfraz or on a crusade against him.

But his supporters would think he has won everything since the Champions Trophy and him making it back would automatically swing fortunes of the team.

Truth be told, no captain would succeed with 3 top order specialist batsmen and a mediocre middle order.

The captaincy wasn’t great today but we still should have won the game. Our LO batting has serious issues.

Lol.

2 losses and Sarfraz is already a hero once again, forgetting we lost 5 0 to NZ, blanked twice by India in Asia Cup and heck even Bangladesh had our number with Sarfi as captain.

But his supporters would think he has won everything since the Champions Trophy and him making it back would automatically swing fortunes of the team.

Truth be told, no captain would succeed with 3 top order specialist batsmen and a mediocre middle order.

Come on ! Things are not that bad in T20. Pakistan are ranked number 1 because usually they win a lot in this format. Even today with tactical bowling mistakes and poor fielding Pakistan were always in the hunt until the last over. Malik and Hussain should have not bowled today. If a spinner was needed to start then Imad could have opened the bowling.

Lol.

You missed the part where we are ranked number 1 in the format and have 11 consecutive series wins under Sarfaraz. :salute

Lol.

What do ODIs have to do with T20s?

Let's take seriously that each form of the game now demands different skills.

Sarfraz's record in T20s is the best in the world. 11 straights series wins, ranked no 1.

Drop him as ODI and Test captain by all means, but it would be strange to say the least to not let him continue as head of the T20 team.

Who missed sarfraz

His captaincy vs Shoiab in T20’s miles ahead. Shinwari would have got a bit of verbal which he deserved probably would not have even played

In 3rd ODI vs Eng When Ben stokes came in having no slip for him considering we needed wickets at that stage was poor to say the least. He only put in a slip when Stokes edged one for 4 exactly in the first slip area.

No.1 rank in the tamasha format, and CT win will haunt us for many years to come. Absolute garbage of a captain. He reminds me of street bullies with no skills, who played cricket all day in the neighborhood instead of attending school. As they say"Barking dogs seldom bite".

All hail amazing piece of captaincy to bring Shadab when Wahab was tailing in and ball was clearly reversing. :bow:

I thought his captaincy was starting to look good. But then he brought a spinner Shadab Khan to bowl the 49th when the pacers Wahab & Hasnain had something going for them at the death. Extremely poor decision to bowl Shadab in the 49th over ahead of Hasnain.

He was just in the right place at the right team for the champions trophy. A captain who doesn’t even make the team on merit.

All hail amazing piece of captaincy to bring Shadab when Wahab was tailing in and ball was clearly reversing. :bow:

The ball that Wahab was bowling with was reversing. The other one wasn't.

Still a poor decision though.

Not very clever to let Buttler settle with Malik and Hafeez bowling from both ends.

Needed Wahab or Shadab to bowl to him when he arrived.

He's done well until when Buttler came into bat - he should have brought Shadab on straight away and built pressure on him rather than allowing him to settle.

need to play Shaheen and Husnain; current Pakistan team lacks wicket takers

Edges going through no slips when wickets were needed Not great captaincy

Sarfaraz is incapable of thinking on his feat when the opposition counter punches, he panics and goes into a shell. Have seen it a gazzilion times. I think we have seen the treshold of his abilities as captain.

Was excellent today, particularly with how he used Malik/Hafeez as the fifth bowler. England haven’t lost a single ODI while chasing at home since September 2015 so to beat them at home in the World Cup takes something special.

But he needs to have a slip in for those middle overs, particularly for Wahab- if you want him to take wickets give him the field for it.

thinking he was poor towards end of the game.. was putting unnecessary pressure on bowlers and fielders...

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfraz Ahmed could turn around the World economy of you allow him, surely. What confidence, character and inner strength he must possess.</p>— ian bishop (@irbishi) <a href="https://twitter.com/irbishi/status/1135608370273165312?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 3, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Should thank his lucky stars. Was horrific in the field classless innings with bat. Won't be this lucky every day

I hope those crediting all 11 losses to him (even though he wasn't even playing 6 off those matches) are man enough to credit this win to him as well. Can't have your cake and eat it too.

Was very poor actually, if you review his captaincy. You need always to have a slip for wahab cuz of angle and pace. It was a good team afford and because huge luck we won

Should thank his lucky stars. Was horrific in the field classless innings with bat. Won't be this lucky every day

Well sarfraz was Lucky to today. England fielding was horrible and we were very Lucky to win this match.

Root was dropped when he was in single digits and went onto score a ton. No luck for England then?????

The main positive from Sarfaraz's captaincy today was how he managed the last 12 overs in the death. His middle overs field changes can still improve.

Sarfaraz is incapable of thinking on his feat when the opposition counter punches, he panics and goes into a shell. Have seen it a gazzilion times. I think we have seen the treshold of his abilities as captain.

Fakhr Zaman will make a 100 times better captain than this unfit clown.

His captaincy was very calculated today.

Just like how Sarfraz used to captain in his early days.

Ian Bishop must not know anything about cricket then;

A3.jpg

Meri jaan hai Sarfi. <3

I dont consider those as loyal fans who leave you in difficult times.

With you in thick and thin.

Meri jaan hai Sarfi. <3

I dont consider those as loyal fans who leave you in difficult times.

With you in thick and thin.

Aye haye mazeyy!

Sarfraz was confident today.

I loved it, he looked like the real Sarfraz when he was shouting at fielders lol.

Shouting Sarfraz > Quiet Sarfraz

Aye haye mazeyy!

Sarfraz was confident today.

I loved it, he looked like the real Sarfraz when he was shouting at fielders lol.

Shouting Sarfraz > Quiet Sarfraz

Hahah i think one main factor was because he scored some runs.

Although he was hardly middling shots but it was good to see he showed intent from the start even against express pace of Wood and Archer. One reason i love him; he is a fighter despite his limited abilities.