Sarfaraz Ahmed - Captaincy Watch

I'm 100% sure he will have a much better record in ODIs as captain. Azhar's tenure was a horror show, it was wrong on so many levels to make him captain in the first place, whereas Sarfraz has earned his captaincy and also last year his ODI record was excellent.

Did you thought Sarfraz's captaincy in ODIs will hurt Pakistan that much?

Sarfraz replaced the young performing batsman Babar Azam at #3 with an old tested tried failure Mohammad Hafeez against an easy opposition. As a result Mohammad Hafeez performed while Babar Azam failed. When Sarfraz was appointed captain we were all praise (including me). But I never thought his captaincy will hurt Pakistan that much. Did you? He has literally taken Pakistan back to stone age with these decisions. :facepalm:

Thanks for the laughs man. You are the real MVP. :afridi

You're overreacting here. Everyone in Pak management know Babar is our best batsman.

somehwere deep inside my heart i always had this fear man, and you're right I can never forgive Sarfaraz for this, ever

Thanks for the laughs man. You are the real MVP. :afridi

Do you not agree that Sarfraz has revived Mohammad Hafeez's career today and tried to sabotage Babar Azam's career in the process?

if he does not do this then after a month or two you will see hafeez going for the toss...and sarfaraz is not that good tactician at all....

Do you not agree that Sarfraz has revived Mohammad Hafeez's career today and tried to sabotage Babar Azam's career in the process?

Yeah man. Totally agree.

I bet they even stole his toothbrush when he was sleeping, and put glister all over his clothes.

Professor forced himself into #3. Even Sarfu and Wabby were mad and consoling Babar who was furious.

interesting that sarfraz is using the bowlers like its a t20. I remember an interview with some of the England players last summer where they mentioned that for them and their training and coaching, the 50 over game was precisely the same as the t20 skill set.

I quite like this bowler rotation, or at least its interesting. don't know if its an improvement over three or four over spells, but interested to see.

if he does not do this then after a month or two you will see hafeez going for the toss...and sarfaraz is not that good tactician at all....
well Sarfraz has made sure of that now. once he start losing games his own position in the team will be in more jeopardy than Hafeez's. people will ask why not replace Sarfraz with a lower middle order hard hitter and ask Kami to keep wickets.

Bizarre and clueless. Not at any better than Azhar s so far.

Even worse because Sarfraz doesn't like youngsters taking a prime role. Disturbs Babar Azams position and doesn't let Shadab bat.

Also clueless bowling strategy. May cost them the match.

My prediction coming true that people will call for him to be dropped or removed in 2 years.

seems a bit to eccentric behind the stumps. talking a bit too much at times. somehow I feel, some of the players may not like the constant feedback, especially those around same age or seniors. If we keep winning, people may be able to ignore some of this, but once we get into tough games/tours and lose, then people may complain.
he needs to realize that 50 overs is a bit different than t20.

Average today, but I have no doubt in my mind that he will prove to be better than Misbah and Azhar.

seems a bit to eccentric behind the stumps. talking a bit too much at times. somehow I feel, some of the players may not like the constant feedback, especially those around same age or seniors. If we keep winning, people may be able to ignore some of this, but once we get into tough games/tours and lose, then people may complain.
he needs to realize that 50 overs is a bit different than t20
too bad he ,after playing 130 international plus 100s of domestic matches, doesn't know the difference between t20 and odi cricket.

Very poor display of captaincy. Should always prefer your regular bowlers over part time darters especially when you have someone like Shadab.

Panicking out there is Sarfraz.

Seems to be showing too much tension and it's spreading to his players.

Sarf is running after the bowlers after every delivery.

Reminds me of Afridi.

Very poor so far and panicked too.

Poor captaincy in the game - panicking and mismanagement of bowling resources.

I am a big supporter of Sarfraz, but he deserves a lot of criticism today. Horrible captaincy. He leans on Wahab riaz way too much for once - I wonder if their off field friendship plays a role in that.

I expect him to learn from this and improve.

Well - he has done what Azhar ali couldn't do. Managed to lose an odi to West Indies

What a poor leadership and decision making on the field. Panic all around.

If he continues this way then he won't be able to continue for long. He needs to absorb pressure rather than transferring to his bowlers and fielders.

WI have been poor against spin but Hafeez, Malik and Shadab's overs could not be completed despite them being relatively economical.

Bowlers should have done better but captaincy certainly left a lot to desire.

Perhaps its time to straighten his friendship with wahab as per wahab snapchat videos( they seem close friends).

This humiliating defeat should be enough for sarfraz to realize he still needs to learn and must come down from the high horse.

Sarfraz Ahmed made a huge mistake

Bring ur main blower in 20 overs shadab should come early

He adopted T20 style captaincy today.

Too much chopping and changing.

Should have allowed the bowlers to get into rhythm and 4 or 5 over spells.

A captain needs to show a calm approach and clear thinking.

I believe Sarfraz is trying too hard with this 'Sarfraz is an aggressive captain" hype.

Instead of doing Post Martym of Ahmed's Captaincy Rashid Latif chose to play the dirty card of provincialism/regionalism.

Rashid said that it was evident in the field that players were split and planning is to get rid of Sarfraz.

Hafeez not bowling a single over and Malik only bowling 2 overs was also referred to as planning and mission.

We are such a divided and biased nation. Instead of analysing Sarfraz's captaincy ex pakistan captain chose to dump every wrong move down the drain of politics and regionalism.

Shameful.

Instead of doing Post Martym of Ahmed's Captaincy Rashid Latif chose to play the dirty card of provincialism/regionalism.

Rashid said that it was evident in the field that players were split and planning is to get rid of Sarfraz.

Hafeez not bowling a single over and Malik only bowling 2 overs was also referred to as planning and mission.

We are such a divided and biased nation. Instead of analysing Sarfraz's captaincy ex pakistan captain chose to dump every wrong move down the drain of politics and regionalism.

Shameful.

Karachi Mafia and yet they say Lahore mafia is strong. Sarfraz deserves to be thrown out from captaincy due to today's garbage performance as a captain and player.

Allah ki zameen mein jahan b mein paaya jaata hun its midnight. A laughed at your post. Hehehe.

Drop him after 1 match both aa captain and player ? ;)

He is better than Adnan, Saif, Kamran, Rizwan & Salman as a WK batsman. Sadly rehan doesn't get list A opportunities and our former Und 19 keeper is too inexperienced. So Saifi merits selection atm.

Captaincy I agree with horrible today. Hafiz sahib ne pressure le liya bohat zayada that's why.

Allah ki zameen mein jahan b mein paaya jaata hun its midnight. A laughed at your post. Hehehe.

Drop him after 1 match both aa captain and player ? ;)

He is better than Adnan, Saif, Kamran, Rizwan & Salman as a WK batsman. Sadly rehan doesn't get list A opportunities and our former Und 19 keeper is too inexperienced. So Saifi merits selection atm.

Captaincy I agree with horrible today. Hafiz sahib ne pressure le liya bohat zayada that's why.

Bhai look at him in West Indies. His shouting is well documented. He thinks this is some tamasha cricket, Should be using his brain rather than tongue. You are playing for Pakistan and should be giving your utmost with professionalism. Yeh Bhai apnay number banane ke chakar main hain kabhi Shadab ko daant diya lekin Chanda jee (Professor) se mis field hojae to sab maaf Hai. And he keeps these experienced clowns and TTFs

But see there is no khurram fawad anwar etc in team so Khi card can't be played. Give him credit for that.

Wrt anger management today he looked better than WI but still needs improvement.

As a wk batsman he aent going anywhere.

Btw today PP dream boys BA & HA have been sparred. We are biased aren't we ?

Yuvraj was dropped a individual score of 9. Chureeaan chaaku taiz kero. Hasan was culprit.

BA also dropped a RHB

I mean I'm not sure if it was that big of a deal, but I really didn't like how Sarfaraz was referring to Shadab as "beta" throughout his spell. I mean Rohit and Dhawan know for a fact what it means, and how can a batsman take the bowler seriously if his own captain is referring to him as "son"? I know he probably didn't have that sort of intention but on a cricket field everyone should be an equal, especially if you are old and mature enough to be representing your country.

But see there is no khurram fawad anwar etc in team so Khi card can't be played. Give him credit for that.

Wrt anger management today he looked better than WI but still needs improvement.

As a wk batsman he aent going anywhere.

Btw today PP dream boys BA & HA have been sparred. We are biased aren't we ?

Yuvraj was dropped a individual score of 9. Chureeaan chaaku taiz kero. Hasan was culprit.

BA also dropped a RHB

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] you can see my other posts in other threads criticizing Babar Azam. Player should play as per modern day requirement and that of the team

Baby Akmal was nervous. It was his 1st one against India.

Static feet meant hr played that rubbish shot. It deserved a four but he was late on it and spliced it straight to backward point.
[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] would second me.

We need to put emotions aside and give him more time, if this loss was against any other team we would be patting him on the back for trying. The decision to bowl first was down to the management taking the weather and DL scenarios into account, it back fired due some really poor bowling lines and fielding, ultimately the captains call. Can only get better from here...

Baby Akmal was nervous. It was his 1st one against India.

Static feet meant hr played that rubbish shot. It deserved a four but he was late on it and spliced it straight to backward point.
[MENTION=139150]aliasad1998[/MENTION] would second me.

We gave this Indian Bowling way too much respect. Sharjeel was also missed here.

Wait n see. Currently besides Malik there is one 33 years old fittest player in Pak who aent pp darling. If inzi stays I am sure he will make comeback. Would do as better as orhers 75 SR batters.

Sharjeel & Shahzaib are missed badly.

Wait n see. Currently besides Malik there is one 33 years old fittest player in Pak who aent pp darling. If inzi stays I am sure he will make comeback. Would do as better as orhers 75 SR batters.

Sharjeel & Shahzaib are missed badly.

Now who is this 33 year old? Faisal Iqbal, Asif Zakir or who.

Inzi is so pathetic.

Nothing much to write home about, more shouting than substance. Needs to improve ASAP or be shown the door. I fear we may have one of Malik or Hafeez taking the reigns by the end of 2017. Unfortunately I do not see anyone else who could be the captain. Babar Azam or Amir perhaps? IDK..

I feel disgusted by saying this ....but I think Malik should lead the team. We have hit rock bottom

I sincerely believe it should be Malik as captain. Hafeez is toxic to the the team, we don't need a non-bowling allrounder, especially when he throws the top order out of balance. Sarfraz is fine as a t20 captain but not ODIs. In ODIs Malik needs to be given the reigns ASAP with complete control and decision making. Let him take control if we want to salvage WC.

Yes. About time to give it to Shoaib Malik. Should've been done from 2015, Mohammad Amir should be vice captain.

Horrendous show by him today; totally clueless and lacked strategy. Matches are not won by yelling after every delivery. Your bat should do the talking.

Reminded me of Misbah's captaincy.

I sincerely believe it should be Malik as captain. Hafeez is toxic to the the team, we don't need a non-bowling allrounder, especially when he throws the top order out of balance. Sarfraz is fine as a t20 captain but not ODIs. In ODIs Malik needs to be given the reigns ASAP with complete control and decision making. Let him take control if we want to salvage WC.

Not Hafeez please he is 37 years old and definitely not blessed in all facets of the game.

I hope it was a one off bad performance as captain as he got everything wrong in the whole game

Surprisingly had no feel for the game which is something he's good at in the PSL.

Poor team selection (he's part of the team management), overextended Imad Wasim, and set defensive fields.

Surprisingly had no feel for the game which is something he's good at in the PSL.

Poor team selection (he's part of the team management), overextended Imad Wasim, and set defensive fields.

Maybe just nerves was his biggest match as captain, but he should have kept malik etc by his side for advice. Heres hoping it was a blip

Yes. About time to give it to Shoaib Malik. Should've been done from 2015, Mohammad Amir should be vice captain.

A soon to be retired serial bottler against tough opposition who had meltdown captaining
a domestic team just last year was it? No thanks.

Only a few weeks ago, Malik has made it clear he is not interested in captaincy in any form, domestic or international.

Next in line is Aamir whether we like it or not.

Some clueless comments here but not surprised.
Restricting Ind batting to 245 in 44 overs was fine but then Amir's injury happened. 330 is a par score in this tournament in perfect batting conditions and I am pretty sure Eng / Aus with their batting would have won this match.

His biggest problem is team selection and batting order. Also, He is too nice towards the seniors and his age group mates. Just make some bold calls and drop Azhar, Hafeez , Shehzad and Wahab. Dont listen to Mickey always, you are the captain. You have a say too. Just man up!

Some clueless comments here but not surprised.
Restricting Ind batting to 245 in 44 overs was fine but then Amir's injury happened. 330 is a par score in this tournament in perfect batting conditions and I am pretty sure Eng / Aus with their batting would have won this match.

His biggest problem is team selection and batting order. Also, He is too nice towards the seniors and his age group mates. Just make some bold calls and drop Azhar, Hafeez , Shehzad and Wahab. Dont listen to Mickey always, you are the captain. You have a say too. Just man up!

Oh really, bowling Imad in overcast conditions wasting new balls, Scripted captaincy, India never attacked till that point.

Bowling Imad for the first 8 overs overs was the right call. He went for only 5 an over in the powerplay. Amir only swung 1 ball. It was mostly angle away to the right hander. We have seen Hasan goes for runs in the powerplay and lose his confidence for the whole match. That has happened quite a few times before. Hasan is needed in middle and death overs and he did well except for last 2 overs.

Care to tell me Hasan's stats in first 8 overs of international cricket. How many international wickets did he take in the first 8 overs? Also care to tell me how many wickets have been taken in first 8 overs of first innings in this tournament till now? Better to start watching matches!

Also this white kokaburra is not allowing bowlers to swing the ball in this tournament. Even bowlers like Starc coudnt swing it in overcast conditions.

Bowling Imad for the first 8 overs overs was the right call. He went for only 5 an over in the powerplay. Amir only swung 1 ball. It was mostly angle away to the right hander. We have seen Hasan goes for runs in the powerplay and lose his confidence for the whole match. That has happened quite a few times before. Hasan is needed in middle and death overs and he did well except for last 2 overs.

Care to tell me Hasan's stats in first 8 overs of international cricket. How many international wickets did he take in the first 8 overs? Also care to tell me how many wickets have been taken in first 8 overs of first innings in this tournament till now? Better to start watching matches!

In how many matches did Hasan bowl with new ball? I've watched whole of his career, Maybe 1 match only where he took up the new ball.

And what do you have to say about bringing in Imad when Kohli was new to crease? To let him get settled so he can smash you to all parts which he did?

Also this white kokaburra is not allowing bowlers to swing the ball in this tournament. Even bowlers like Starc coudnt swing it in overcast conditions.

Watch Indian bowlers. They were seaming it around, surely we would've got a wicket or two

Perhaps the strongest batting line up in the world and ppl are applauding that getting them to go st 5 an overis an achievement vs dismissing them.

He is no better or worse than Azhar at the moment.

In how many matches did Hasan bowl with new ball? I've watched whole of his career, Maybe 1 match only where he took up the new ball.

And what do you have to say about bringing in Imad when Kohli was new to crease? To let him get settled so he can smash you to all parts which he did?

Han to wohi na he is not a new ball bowler. He played under other captains before Sarfraz too. Why different managements dont see him as a new ball bowler. May be he isnt ? He goes for runs in powerplay and lose his confidence for whole match. We need him in middle and death overs. There is no red cheery in odi cricket.

Perhaps the strongest batting line up in the world and ppl are applauding that getting them to go st 5 an overis an achievement vs dismissing them.

He is no better or worse than Azhar at the moment.

Exactly this. This is totally defensive stuff, Even Indian Commies were shocked at his garbage captaincy and on field approach/decisions.

Han to wohi na he is not a new ball bowler. He played under other captains before Sarfraz too. Why different managements dont see him as a new ball bowler. May be he isnt ? He goes for runs in powerplay and lose his confidence for whole match. We need him in middle and death overs. There is no red cheery in odi cricket.

He has used new ball in PSL and domestic, His seam position is good and would have extracted the movement and zip. You have barely seen him bowl with new ball in 1 or 2 matches and you've already acclaimed him as not a new ball bowler. Very bad judgement got to say.

Boss you can keep rolling the dice, but whoeve captains will have the same issue.

He has used new ball in PSL and domestic, His seam position is good and would have extracted the movement and zip. You have barely seen him bowl with new ball in 1 or 2 matches and you've already acclaimed him as not a new ball bowler. Very bad judgement got to say.

I have seen his whole career. He can swing and seam the ball. But here the pitches are total flat so hardly any seam movement and white kokaburra is being used which negates any swing. Amir is a better new ball bowler than him and he only swung 1 ball. I would say you are not watching this tournament.

Did you even watch Indian bowling? Bhuvi and Umesh were seaming in first 8 overs. Every batsman is shaky at the start, With cold and overcast conditions it was best to hand it over to Hasan who could have seamed the ball and try to get rid of fresh Rohit and Dhawan.

i want to make some points on people questioning Sarfraz's captaincy

1) Sarfraz Ahmed didnt make decision to drop sohail khan and choose wahab riaz, sohail khan was easily the most experienced pacer along with amir, in his absence hasan ali an inexperienced pacer had to be relied on

2) when there was pre match press conference mickey arthur and not sarfraz ahmed announced team selection

3) mickey arthur clearly stated that he has included spinners as 'attacking option' and new strategy was in place to get indian team wickets

4) it was not sarfraz ahmed who placed an inexperienced team and bowling attack, cricinfo article did question pakistan's planning on making inexperienced team selection

5) muhammad amir became unfit at the death overs, fitness team and not sarfraz has to be asked why players were not fit to bowl their full quota

6) two cruicial catches were dropped of kholi and yuvraj singh when they hadnt start hitting, questions much be asked about fielding coaches

7) who included azhar ali as an opener after dropping him in westindies tour, why such inexperienced and players who had been dropped were selected for the champions trophy is the main concern here.

8) why was imad wasim preferred over junaid khan? who's decision was it?

sarfraz ahmed played with the team and strategy assigned to him, i have no idea why he is being made scapegoat here

its easy to find a guy who could be blamed for the loss but these questions must be answered for wider understanding for the pakistani team selection here

Did you even watch Indian bowling? Bhuvi and Umesh were seaming in first 8 overs. Every batsman is shaky at the start, With cold and overcast conditions it was best to hand it over to Hasan who could have seamed the ball and try to get rid of fresh Rohit and Dhawan.

I watched Indian bowling. Bhuvi swung the ball for 2 overs when the cloud cover were just over his head. also bhuvi is probably the best swing bowler in the world. There wasnt any 'seam' movement for Bhuvi as you described. Secondly Yadav got seam movement on 2-3 balls only. The pitch was total flat with hardly any seam movement. Pak batsmen (Shehzad) were shaky because they are limited. Azhar didnt find any trouble apart from when he tried to hit. Also, They got the first wicket in 9th over.

The Aus - NZ rain reduced match was played on the same pitch for 55 overs in overcast conditions and there too bowlers couldnt extract movement off the pitch.

Kher we are repeating the stuff now. I dont think it was a bad decision to give Imad the new ball considering the options we had and need of Hasan in middle / death overs and you think it was a bad decision which is fine. I dont think his on field captaincy was that bad and restricting Ind for 245 in 44 overs was ok until Amir's injury happened but you think it was bad which again is fine. I dont have anything more to add n this topic. My problem with his captaincy is batting order, team selection and being too nice/afraid of seniors.

I watched Indian bowling. Bhuvi swung the ball for 2 overs when the cloud cover were just over his head. also bhuvi is probably the best swing bowler in the world. There wasnt any 'seam' movement for Bhuvi as you described. Secondly Yadav got seam movement on 2-3 balls only. The pitch was total flat with hardly any seam movement. Pak batsmen (Shehzad) were shaky because they are limited. Azhar didnt find any trouble apart from when he tried to hit. Also, They got the first wicket in 9th over.

The Aus - NZ rain reduced match was played on the same pitch for 55 overs in overcast conditions and there too bowlers couldnt extract movement off the pitch.

Kher we are repeating the stuff now. I dont think it was a bad decision to give Imad the new ball considering the options we had and need of Hasan in middle / death overs and you think it was a bad decision which is fine. I dont think his on field captaincy was that bad and restricting Ind for 245 in 44 overs was ok until Amir's injury happened but you think it was bad which again is fine. I dont think i have anything more to add n this topic. My problem with his captaincy is batting order, team selection and being too nice to seniors.

2-3 good balls are enough to take care of a batsman.

So just so that we are clear: Azhar Ali = nice guy/doormat = Sarfaraz. ?

that's not the kool aid we were being sold when everyone wanted sarfaraz to take all forms of captaincy and run the country in his spare time.

selection was not the question when azhar ali captained the team

team selection has been a big question mark even before the match this time.