Sarfaraz Ahmed has an opportunity of becoming a cult figure in Pakistan

Madplayer

Senior Test Player
Every once in a while, in sports, we see some personalities emerging out of nowhere and leading their teams to glory. It would be unfair and exaggerated to say that these personalities lead poor teams to the top. Unfair because poor teams dont beat top teams regularly and you would be undermining the quality of the team itself. Exaggerated because the captain can only plan for and motivate his troops to get the best out of them. Having said that, it wont be wrong to say that these leaders do it against all odds. They do it when nobody is giving them a chance. They create a legacy which inspires entire nations. They become legends.

Sarfaraz Ahmad has taken the first step in this very direction. His team has shocked the world. His players have beome household names. Small kids in the streets of Pakistan are copying Hasan Ali's celeberation style. The adults are not getting tired talking about that opening spell by Amir. Cricket pandits are still talking about sarfaraz's immaculate captaincy especially against England where he didnt put a foot wrong. Sarfaraz's personal performance against Srilanka ensured that he gets respect of the boys he is leading. That was important.

Social media is an indication of what Sarfaraz's men have achieved and what it means to the nation. Although unintended, they have given their people the power to reply to the people who were writing them off before this tournament with utter disdain. This empowerment of the fans is what would make them love Sarfaraz even more.

Apart from the on field performances, there are other qualities of Sarfaraz which can make him a cult figure in Pakistan. First and foremost, he is someone a common Pakistani can relate to. He comes from a humblish background and has worked his way into the team. After winning THAT under 19 world cup as a captain by beating India in the finals, sarfaraz toiled hard in domestics for years. Many people called him ordinary with the bat because he didnt have the flair of umar akmal or kamran akmal. He also didnt have the looks of an Imran khan or a shahid afridi which, as unfortunate as it may sound, was a bit of a disadvantage in earning fans and their support. Sarfaraz never stopped and kept going and this resilience of his can be compared to the resilience of Pakistan as a nation which is fighting hard against all odds to reach an even more respectable position. In general people tend to relate to such a person. How the people joined him and sang the infamous "mauka mauka" is an indication of how he is the people's captain.

Sarfaraz is also a very down to earth person and gives respect to the opposition. He is energetic on the field but at the same time he is in a lots of ways an opposite of Pakistan's rival captain, Virat Kohli , which would bring sarfaraz more love from Pakistani fans. Being a Hafiz e Quran and a Naat khwaan also adds to his appeal in terms of how the general Pakistani public sees things.

Sarfaraz has all the ingredients of becoming a cult figure in Pakistan. He has boarded the bus and he is headed in the right direction. He just needs to fuel the bus from time to time, mind the bumps which come his way and make sure he doesn't end up with a flat tyre.

Sarfi is great and can achieve a lot, however, he really needs to improve his fitness if he wants to have a long successful career

He became a cult figure when he came into the team in the World Cup and immediately looked like our best player. From that moment on, the general public has been in love with him and most people wanted him as captain. He is without a doubt that most loved Pakistani cricketer at the moment, and has already etched his name in the history books.

He can lead the team for 5-6 years and become one of Pakistan's most popular captains of all time. Tactically he is a good captain and wears his emotions on his sleeves which the people love.

The only disappointment is that he is not a domineering personality and doesn't standout as a leader. He really pales in comparison to past captains like Imran, Wasim and even Afridi and Misbah. They looked like leaders and radiated authority. Sarfraz is a Mushfiq type character.

Now I know I'm risking offending a lot of people, but I am entitled to speaking my mind and what I feel. Good tactician, good leader, loved by the players and the fans, but not a very impressive personality.

He became a cult figure when he came into the team in the World Cup and immediately looked like our best player. From that moment on, the general public has been in love with him and most people wanted him as captain. He is without a doubt that most loved Pakistani cricketer at the moment, and has already etched his name in the history books.

Dont think he became a cult figure at that time. Just became popular. A cult figure is above criticism. Someone like an imran khan or even a shahid afridi. Even after that world cup, when he wasnt able to sustain those performances over a longer periof of time, there were lots of people asking him to be dropped. That included me and IIRC that include you too. We kept saying he isnt good enough as a batsman at 6 and there is no position open for him in the top order.

He is close to becoming a cult figure now but once the euphoria of CT win subsides, it will only be his team's performances which will decide whether he permanently attains that status or not.

I seriously considering naming one of my future kids Sarfraz.

Dont think he became a cult figure at that time. Just became popular. A cult figure is above criticism. Someone like an imran khan or even a shahid afridi. Even after that world cup, when he wasnt able to sustain those performances over a longer periof of time, there were lots of people asking him to be dropped. That included me and IIRC that include you too. We kept saying he isnt good enough as a batsman at 6 and there is no position open for him in the top order.

He is close to becoming a cult figure now but once the euphoria of CT win subsides, it will only be his team's performances which will decide whether he permanently attains that status or not.

He was beyond criticism after that World Cup for a lot of people here. There were always excuses for his poor performances while his good ones were given more credit than what they deserved. However, now it has become a national thing and he is the most popular cricketer in the country. He still has 5-6 years at the top level and will lead the team in all three formats, it is up to him how he wants to be remembered. Nonetheless, we have to appreciate that he has worked very hard (apart from his fitness) to be where he is today.

In spite of winning the U-19 World Cup in 2006, he spent too many years in wilderness and was never considered anything more than fringe backup to Kamran. To his credit, he always chose the right time to perform, e.g. the Sharjah Test in 2014, the 2015 World Cup etc. He took his chances and made them count unlike the Akmals.

He sure does have an opportunity and no doubt he deserves it, leading the worst team in terms of ranking in the Champions Trophy to glory is a monumental achievement in itself and InshaAllah more victories will come across his path. What a Captain and player for Pakistan he is, has made every Pakistani happy.

He can lead the team for 5-6 years and become one of Pakistan's most popular captains of all time. Tactically he is a good captain and wears his emotions on his sleeves which the people love.

The only disappointment is that he is not a domineering personality and doesn't standout as a leader. He really pales in comparison to past captains like Imran, Wasim and even Afridi and Misbah. They looked like leaders and radiated authority. Sarfraz is a Mushfiq type character.

Now I know I'm risking offending a lot of people, but I am entitled to speaking my mind and what I feel. Good tactician, good leader, loved by the players and the fans, but not a very impressive personality.

Misbah only became a personality after he captained for so long. He too initially was a pretty timid character.

You don't offend people. You are very opinionated. Just problem is, half the time you speak non-sense.

No Offence to Anyone and apologies in Advance.

Sarfraz will inspire many young wicket keeper batsman to become future stars like him. He will inspire leaders aswell.

But He will never be able to become a Cult Like Cricketing personality in Pakistan. Never, irrespective of achievements. Unfortunately due to Non Cricketing Reasons.

I will just float few names to give a Hint.

1. Fazal Mahmood

2. Majid Khan

3. Sarfraz Nawaz

4. Imran Khan

5. Wasim Akram

6. Waqar Younis

7. Inzamam ul Haq

8. Shahid Afridi

9. Shoaib Akhtar

10. Shoaib Malik

11. Imran Nazir

12. Mohammad Asif

13. Mohammad Amir

14. Ahmed Shehzad

Who would have thought on his test debut against SA in 2013 getting a ball thrown at his chest by Philander then doing nothing but holding his chest in pain. To go from that to this. Just wow. What a transformation.

We are lucky to have him (after suffering the Akmals).

He is a fighter. He's got it in him. And, in my humble opinion, that's what maters. Be it the great game or real life.

The fight. The urge to bring it on when it matters most.

Who would have thought on his test debut against SA in 2013 getting a ball thrown at his chest by Philander then doing nothing but holding his chest in pain. To go from that to this. Just wow. What a transformation.

I remember that. PP criticized him for not responding to the bowler.

<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="a/DSepW"><a href="//imgur.com/DSepW"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The way Sarfraz led the team through out this tournament made me see a lot of personality.

A while ago when I heard Sarfaraz speaking in urdu the first time, I wasnt all too impressed. The sound of his voice, the way he spoke it all seemed poorly articulated, void of any confidence and it was hard to take him seriously.

Sarfraz it seems had other plans. He wasn't all too concerned of his verbal skills. He lead by his actions. He forced everyone to a point where you had only one option and that is to recognize him.

The first time I felt he might be special was in PSL 16 when he led the underdogs Quetta gladiators to the tournament final.

Now when I look at sarfraz I see a face of a Hawk. When I hear him speak, I hear the roar of a lion.

One could see it beautifully before the final game against India.

At the pre match press conference you could see his determination, you could see a Hawk eyeing its prey. I felt assured that the final against India won't be a repeat of our first game. Just by his look he communicated a million things to me. That's some personality for me.

This is a image from the pre match conference. Look at it and tell me you don't see a hunter ready for a hunt.

DChc1yWXsAAR87B

The victory is written all over his face. It's the look of a champion, not concerned of the huge challenge he has ahead of him.

There's nothing wrong with his personality, he's a fighter, always wears his heart on his sleeve. Has that street fighter persona going on. He's exactly the kind of player our fans love.

What an iconic picture.
DCu27AzVYAA7TCF.jpg

Very true. I dont see Sarfraz doing Pepsi commercials and being on giant billboards- the superstar life like Imran, Afridi, Wasim lived. I imagine a more quiet one like Misbah. Mohammad Amir on the other hand...

Sarfraz Ahmed though in his own right may not have the superstar looks, talk but he has his own charm in that he represents your average Joe Pakistani(which may be why peple love him so much) He's not by any means an all time great like Imran or Wasim but he inspires that it can be just hardwork and self belief that gets one to the top

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 173.913%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/61ybn/zqqqvv" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Goosebumps!

No Offence to Anyone and apologies in Advance.

Sarfraz will inspire many young wicket keeper batsman to become future stars like him. He will inspire leaders aswell.

But He will never be able to become a Cult Like Cricketing personality in Pakistan. Never, irrespective of achievements. Unfortunately due to Non Cricketing Reasons.

I will just float few names to give a Hint.

1. Fazal Mahmood

2. Majid Khan

3. Sarfraz Nawaz

4. Imran Khan

5. Wasim Akram

6. Waqar Younis

7. Inzamam ul Haq

8. Shahid Afridi

9. Shoaib Akhtar

10. Shoaib Malik

11. Imran Nazir

12. Mohammad Asif

13. Mohammad Amir

14. Ahmed Shehzad

Did u read the not-cricketing reasons i gave why i think he can become a cult figure?? What do u think about them?

I am not too sure what "non-cricketing" reasons he might be hinting at but one thing I know for sure.

The young generation of Pakistan is not as prejudiced towards other as the ones in the past. They are better educated and less close minded.

I think he's growing in to the role.
He's certainly calmed down and you can see a vast difference in demeanour from the West Indies series where he was shouting and screaming all the time.

Also, keeping has been top notch, field placements and bowling changes are getting better with each game and is probably our most versatile batsman in that he can bat anywhere from 1 to 7.

Yes I have read your entire post. You made some good points indeed. I said He will be a leader, a role model, an inspiration but I don't see him becomming a Cult like Sports figure in Pakistan. This is my opinion.

I did not see his video where He is singing Mauka Mauka but personally I do not agree with it.

I believe in getting excited, getting emotional & celebrating the victory aswell as match changing momemts but what I feel as a Pakistani & a Muslim is that our Culture & training isn't this. We need not to adopt this from our neighbours. We should respect our neighbour's, their people aswell as their different Sports Teams. I even don't agree with our Media channels countering India with their own Advertisements. I believe We should stay humble and should focus on our performances. We should let our ball and bat talk.

Instead of spending a night out in a night club clubbing/partying our faith tells us to bow down more infront of Allah and give more charity (sadqa) in His way.

I fully support & endorse Amir, JK & Hasan's celebrations and excitement but I don't agree with Abuses. Did you see Amir abuse ? I hope the Abuse was not for the fielder but for the moment but some would say who the heck abuses the moment you abuse the person.

I say that Sehwag's words were horrible indeed but my faith and my culture tells me not to reply in that manner. What Pak fan's did after India match wad horrible. Now you will say that this is Public pulse of Pakistan so should Sarfraz react in same way to be Public Man ? Should he say same words ? And than what Amir Liaqat Khaaki boy did ? He made Katta Katt of Kappooray in live show to answer a drunked Old Filmstar's tweet ? You ask me this is Pakistan & Islam's Culture & Tradition to respond people like this ? I will say No. But there will be millions who would endorse it too and say Yes He did great job and this is public pulse.

So, from Hafiz e Quran Naat Khowaan Sarfraz I don't expect him to sing Mauqa Mauqa to reply to an Indian Star Sports Advertisement series. Even if He wasn't a Hafiz or Naat Khowaan still I wouldn't have wanted my National Team Captain to react like this.

This won't make him a Cult like Sports personality in Pakistan.

Hope you do not mind my response. Many won't agree with my post and few would side with me. I don't mind either way.

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 173.913%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/s/61ybn/zqqqvv" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Goosebumps!

This is Amazinggggggggggggggggggggggggggg.

MashaAllah.

May Allah give him strength. May Allah strengthen his hand. Give him health & more success.

Herooooo. Prideeeeeee.

Thanks for sharing.

Sarfraz has what no other Pakistani captain has had before...humility. This trait of his is his biggest strength. A lot of our previous 'cults' could have used some as well.

I am not too sure what "non-cricketing" reasons he might be hinting at but one thing I know for sure.

The young generation of Pakistan is not as prejudiced towards other as the ones in the past. They are better educated and less close minded.

Yes. He doesnt have the looks of Imran khan but he doesnt have to ape anyone. He can become a cult figure in another way due to his other attributes like i have mentioned in the article. He is the people's captain. A common man in Pakistan can relate to him. And people in Pakistan generally go gaga over a leader who is religious.

Misbah only became a personality after he captained for so long. He too initially was a pretty timid character.

You don't offend people. You are very opinionated. Just problem is, half the time you speak non-sense.

Yes you have the right to dismiss my views as nonsense as long as you don't take personal offense, since I don't.

He should not have chanted "mauka mauka" with the folks. That was childish and immature, and shows that our players are as obsessed with India as our fans are.

I got 1 vote :)

Thank you for the agreement. J.A :)

Goosebumps!

Hafiz sahib I dedicate it tou you.

[MENTION=1080]miandadrules[/MENTION]

Sarfraz has what no other Pakistani captain has had before...humility. This trait of his is his biggest strength. A lot of our previous 'cults' could have used some as well.

Very true.

In all his interviews he made sure to give enough credit to his players and management. True sign of a leader.

I thought that was a good shout out.

Nothing childish or obessesive

I thought that was a good shout out.

Nothing childish or obessesive

It is best if the players stay away from this. For example, you won't see any current Indian player mock Pakistan. They had nothing to do with the chest-thumping of the Indian media and the ex-players. Similarly, our media, fans and the ex-players can mock India as much as they want, but the players should not get involved in this stuff.

Kohli would have never said that "Baap Baap hota hai" if India would have won. It was quite poor by Sarfraz and he should not have mocked India like that.

Yes I have read your entire post. You made some good points indeed. I said He will be a leader, a role model, an inspiration but I don't see him becomming a Cult like Sports figure in Pakistan. This is my opinion.

I did not see his video where He is singing Mauka Mauka but personally I do not agree with it.

I believe in getting excited, getting emotional & celebrating the victory aswell as match changing momemts but what I feel as a Pakistani & a Muslim is that our Culture & training isn't this. We need not to adopt this from our neighbours. We should respect our neighbour's, their people aswell as their different Sports Teams. I even don't agree with our Media channels countering India with their own Advertisements. I believe We should stay humble and should focus on our performances. We should let our ball and bat talk.

Instead of spending a night out in a night club clubbing/partying our faith tells us to bow down more infront of Allah and give more charity (sadqa) in His way.

I fully support & endorse Amir, JK & Hasan's celebrations and excitement but I don't agree with Abuses. Did you see Amir abuse ? I hope the Abuse was not for the fielder but for the moment but some would say who the heck abuses the moment you abuse the person.

I say that Sehwag's words were horrible indeed but my faith and my culture tells me not to reply in that manner. What Pak fan's did after India match wad horrible. Now you will say that this is Public pulse of Pakistan so should Sarfraz react in same way to be Public Man ? Should he say same words ? And than what Amir Liaqat Khaaki boy did ? He made Katta Katt of Kappooray in live show to answer a drunked Old Filmstar's tweet ? You ask me this is Pakistan & Islam's Culture & Tradition to respond people like this ? I will say No. But there will be millions who would endorse it too and say Yes He did great job and this is public pulse.

So, from Hafiz e Quran Naat Khowaan Sarfraz I don't expect him to sing Mauqa Mauqa to reply to an Indian Star Sports Advertisement series. Even if He wasn't a Hafiz or Naat Khowaan still I wouldn't have wanted my National Team Captain to react like this.

Hope you do not mind my response. Many won't agree with my post and few would side with me. I don't mind either way.

No i dont mind at all. I see what you are trying to say but you are looking at it from an ethical point of view.

The thread isnt about ethics and morals. Its purely about sarfaraz having an opportunity to become a cult figure in Pakistan.

He might not be the torch bearer of Good conduct but he can still achieve a legendary status in Pakistan.

Look at the ingredients : down to earth guy, hard worker and seasoned domestic player, looks like a common man who public could relate to, generally a likeable felow, hafiz e Quran , sings naats which Pakistanis love. All these non-cricketing reasons plus the cricketing reasons (great captain+ fighter with the bat). The only thing missing is great looks. If he loses weight that can be covered too :))

Mauqa Mauqa might not be ethically right but the thread isnt about ethics. Look at how the people were enjoying with him. He was one among them and not different from them. The people were him and he was the people. Cult figures lile imran khan arent exactly the epitome of right conduct, they make mistakes too but they still are cult figures nonetheless. Sarfaraz can become like that if his team performs. Off the field he has enough ingredients.

P.s. - I personally think there is nothing wrong in sharing a light moment with fans.

It is best if the players stay away from this. For example, you won't see any current Indian player mock Pakistan. They had nothing to do with the chest-thumping of the Indian media and the ex-players. Similarly, our media, fans and the ex-players can mock India as much as they want, but the players should not get involved in this stuff.

Kohli would have never said that "Baap Baap hota hai" if India would have won. It was quite poor by Sarfraz and he should not have mocked India like that.

He is a very simple God fearing guy. Dont think he was doing it in bad spirit. Just a lighy moment with fans.

I had a bit of problem with the shout of takbir. As a muslim i loved it but there are other religious minorities in Pakistan who i would like to think support Pakistan. For them , its neccessary to be secular while celebrating.

Saying " Mauka Mauka " is not making fun of India. It's just banter because India have made ads showing that Pakistan will never defeat India in an ICC event. It's all in good fun and no need for people to view it as mocking in any way shape or form. Sarfraz may not have the good looks of previous captains but at least he has passion and brains which was lacking in the previous few.

No i dont mind at all. I see what you are trying to say but you are looking at it from an ethical point of view.

The thread isnt about ethics and morals. Its purely about sarfaraz having an opportunity to become a cult figure in Pakistan.

He might not be the torch bearer of Good conduct but he can still achieve a legendary status in Pakistan.

Look at the ingredients : down to earth guy, hard worker and seasoned domestic player, looks like a common man who public could relate to, generally a likeable felow, hafiz e Quran , sings naats which Pakistanis love. All these non-cricketing reasons plus the cricketing reasons (great captain+ fighter with the bat). The only thing missing is great looks. If he loses weight that can be covered too :))

Mauqa Mauqa might not be ethically right but the thread isnt about ethics. Look at how the people were enjoying with him. He was one among them and not different from them. The people were him and he was the people. Cult figures lile imran khan arent exactly the epitome of right conduct, they make mistakes too but they still are cult figures nonetheless. Sarfaraz can become like that if his team performs. Off the field he has enough ingredients.

P.s. - I personally think there is nothing wrong in sharing a light moment with fans.

Actually I adressed it from Culture/Tradition point of View. More to do with our values than Ethics or Morals.

In his last Two Posts Mamoon has endorsed the otherside of my POV aswell.

I am not against sharing light moment with fans.

Since we are not in the same page so we have some disagreements but it's absolutely fine. Respect your opinion.

I hope he becomes Cult like Sport's personality. Personally I won't have any issue at all. But there will be some who will say No He isn't a Cult like Sports personality even when I would believe He has become one :) so these debates will carry on.

For now I am happy for Sarfraz & Pakistan Both and I just love the Video post by The Intelligent Supporter. Can't get better than this surely.

Couldn't have said it better... Agree with every single word..

Actually I adressed it from Culture/Tradition point of View. More to do with our values than Ethics or Morals.

In his last Two Posts Mamoon has endorsed the otherside of my POV aswell.

I am not against sharing light moment with fans.

Since we are not in the same page so we have some disagreements but it's absolutely fine. Respect your opinion.

I hope he becomes Cult like Sport's personality. Personally I won't have any issue at all. But there will be some who will say No He isn't a Cult like Sports personality even when I would believe He has become one :) so these debates will carry on.

For now I am happy for Sarfraz & Pakistan Both and I just love the Video post by The Intelligent Supporter. Can't get better than this surely.

I Agree with everything said here :)

Really happy for sarfaraz.

Have always supported Sarfaraz. Good to see him silence his critics.

I totally agree, and while we all agree on the professional side (his own worth as a batsman, the spirit he injects as captain, etc), I think also understand the "non cricketing" reason : he's like the "average, hard-working middle class" man (Imran Khan or Wasim Akram were from the upper class, while Afridi or Shoaib Akhtar compensated it with the "flamboyance"), a bit like like what Bachchan was to Bollywood (not "classically good looking", but identifiable with the majority when it came to his movie roles).

Stop it. We will be calling for his head after the first series loss.

You have such a short memory span just like Pakistani fans.

Stop it. We will be calling for his head after the first series loss.

Who said we wont? Please read the entire post.

I said its an opportunity for him because his team has won a big tournament. Its upto him to make sure he attains that status through good personal and team performances. Then there are the non-cricketing factors which i have mentioned in the post which would help him.

I totally agree, and while we all agree on the professional side (his own worth as a batsman, the spirit he injects as captain, etc), I think also understand the "non cricketing" reason : he's like the "average, hard-working middle class" man (Imran Khan or Wasim Akram were from the upper class, while Afridi or Shoaib Akhtar compensated it with the "flamboyance"), a bit like like what Bachchan was to Bollywood (not "classically good looking", but identifiable with the majority when it came to his movie roles).

I agree. I Have mentioned these non-cricketing reasons in the OP :)

Sarfraz represents common middle class/lower middle class Pakistani and he will become an inspirational figure of his own if he keeps on winning. He will be Sarfraz and doesn't need to be Imran, Wasim. There is a poster above who said he will name his son after Sarfraz. Thats the kind of impact he already has and it will keep on increasing.

Keep on winning Sarfraz, you're a star!

Seems like he lives in district central (middle-class housing but the most educated district of Pakistan) .

I guess soon he will be moving to posher areas of town (nothing wrong with that)

Sarfraz represents common middle class/lower middle class Pakistani and he will become an inspirational figure of his own if he keeps on winning. He will be Sarfraz and doesn't need to be Imran, Wasim. There is a poster above who said he will name his son after Sarfraz. Thats the kind of impact he already has and it will keep on increasing.

Keep on winning Sarfraz, you're a star!

Wish you have a Sarfi, Babar & Haris :)

He is one modest guy who is also hafizul quran. Pakistan team can not operate without a powerful captain. Country needs to support him and let him build a strong team with new players. We have had enough experiments and its time to settle down with 15-20 players and Sarfraz as their leader. He has cricketing brain and looks like a good street fighter like Miandad.

I doubt he will carry his fitness level and form for long. Fitness is a mental awareness and not everyone is an Imran Khan. His is popular and he deserves that but will lose his popularity whenever his form deteriorated . Also he is not a naturally talented cricketer, like Amir, Hasan, Shadab or even Fakhar. But if he worked hard, he could achieve a lot.

He needs to perform with the bat in order to achieve this feat. As a captain he is on the right track.

His batting days are done. He's about 33, and usually keeper batsmen begin to decline and bow out around this time. Only the really fit ones stay till 36-37, but this guy is not one of them. Time to call it a day.