"Sarfaraz's stomach was sticking out, the first captain I've seen who is so unfit" : Shoaib Akhtar

He is wrong! Arjuna Ranatunga's stomach was always sticking out as well even when he captained Sri Lanka to their World Cup win:inzi2

In the later part of his so-called marvellous career Shoaib himself had put on too much weight, had average fitness levels and used to struggle bowling even his full quota of 10 overs.

BTW, Shoaib u were 6 short of 450 international wickets. 178 in Tests, 247 in ODIs and 19 in T20s, a total of 444. But as Moin had mentioned you had the talent to get 450 Test wickets alone. Shabby, you should have concentrated on your fitness rather than showing to the gallery! Did u forgot how many bowling gurus, even your role model the great Imran Khan advised you to cut your run-up to preserve energy and prolong your career, because u had the talent to win us many important games.

[utube]oYke-G32Jo0[/utube]

Shoaib Akhtar lashes out at Moin Khan for his defence of Sarfaraz Ahmed:

"One of our former captain has said some things about me - he is a former captain and I do wonder how in Pakistan any average person can be made captain by the Board"

"I have respected him for 20 years and have not said anything about him but without descending to his level, I will give my replies"

"He has said that if Shoaib Akhtar was sincere with Pakistan then he would have 450 wickets"

"So the first thing, Moin Khan Sahib, is that I do have 450 wickets in total in international cricket"

"If you look carefully, you will see that I have helped my side to many international series single-handedly, more than you can ever dream of"

"And if you had been sincere with Pakistan then when Rashid Latif, who is a better human, a better 'keeper and a better batsman appeared on the scene, you should have taken off your gloves in the first place"

"A man gets 450 wickets when his captain is Imran Khan and not Moin Khan"

"Good players are made by playing under good leaders"

"Its your good fortune that you played under some excellent seniors and our misfortune that we played with people like you"

"So if anyone didnt know you in India or Pakistan, after this video mention, they will know you so that is a favour I have done for you"

Pakistani ex cricketers are the best. They go no holds barred against each other and give more entertainment to public than they did in their cricketing days. I still remember Yousuf Vs ramiz and now this.. Awesome masala

In almost all his interviews and talks Shoaib mentions himself as a humble and intelligent person and the rest of his contemporaries as uneducated, jahils, lacking class. But in the end he always shows that he too belongs to their level.

Couldn't agree more. Plus his continuous whining of what was wrong with all captains he played under.

In the later part of his so-called marvellous career Shoaib himself had put on too much weight, had average fitness levels and used to struggle bowling even his full quota of 10 overs.

Shoaib is talking about an unfit captain. He himself never captained the side.

As much as I love the man, the fact remains that he is a classical narcissist/megalomaniac. Everything hes done int he past, or is doing now, he does with only one primary motive ; His own ego inflation.. If it also serves the country along the way, well yah thats a bonus for him. Ditto for the guy in my signature.

I agree with the comment though. Sarfraz is visibly, obviously unfit. I have no idea how he makes it through the supposedly rigorous fitness testing we have before squad selection

As much as I love the man, the fact remains that he is a classical narcissist/megalomaniac. Everything hes done int he past, or is doing now, he does with only one primary motive ; His own ego inflation.. If it also serves the country along the way, well yah thats a bonus for him.

Absolutely spot on.

Shoaib should be thankful that he got to have a career as I said before. His hyperextension enabled him to bowl at such a pace and into his mid 30s at that. Again not his fault but he needs to come back down to Earth.

I'd rather have a pot belly captain than the sort of steroid abused body that Shoaib ended up having.

He's an attention seeker now. However I still like the guy.

I remember when Shoaib used to say that he could have studied at Oxford Uni like Imran did and done even better. I laughed so hard. The guy could hardly write a sentence of straight English until he was in his 20s and hardly had any academic ability. It was only after joining the Pakistan cricket team that he gained some sort of slight academic maturity.

Him and Afridi are so similar. In their heads they overestimate their place in Pakistan cricketing history.

They are very good at bashing their team mates on local channels and in hastly written biographies but the reality is they couldn't sit in a room full of intellectuals without looking stupid.

Absolutely spot on.

Shoaib should be thankful that he got to have a career as I said before. His hyperextension enabled him to bowl at such a pace and into his mid 30s at that. Again not his fault but he needs to come back down to Earth.

I'd rather have a pot belly captain than the sort of steroid abused body that Shoaib ended up having.

He's an attention seeker now. However I still like the guy.

I remember when Shoaib used to say that he could have studied at Oxford Uni like Imran did and done even better. I laughed so hard. The guy could hardly write a sentence of straight English until he was in his 20s and hardly had any academic ability. It was only after joining the Pakistan cricket team that he gained some sort of slight academic maturity.

Him and Afridi are so similar. In their heads they overestimate their place in Pakistan cricketing history.

They are very good at bashing their team mates on local channels and in hastly written biographies but the reality is they couldn't sit in a room full of intellectuals without looking stupid.

Agree with every word!
Pakistan cricket would have been so different and better without these two (Shoaib and Afridi).

Ran well between the wickets today to be fair to him.

Quick singles and turned some 1s into 2s.

Sarfraz always manages to run 2s when most in Pak team would run 1s, and then also keep for 50 overs, whilst captaining. Surprise how any one could question his fitness and dedication.

Like I’ve always said shoaib Akhtar is the worst analyst in the world and not to be taken seriously if you guys follow his YouTube channel you would know he’s jogging and occasionally pulls out his phone and makes these stupid 2 minute videos nothing is thought through hence the type of stuff he comes up with

Would have been run out at least 3-4 times if the english fielders would have managed a direct hit.

Shoaib if you would have a better tongue you would have been a bowling coach of any of top 3.

Could have been run out early two three times on another day. Didn't have fitness for the 2nd run. Some very close calls.

Sethi did the right thing to give this ill-mannered man a dummy position, few Pakistani lakh Rs was not the big deal to keep his mouth close.

Shoaib has a very bitter personality. Absolutely zero cricket analysis brain. A great player but sadly a very bitter personality.
Keeps complaining about others and keeps comparing every captain with Imran. Why couldn’t he become the great Imran himself?

Would have been run out at least 3-4 times if the english fielders would have managed a direct hit.

Ifs and Buts. That happens all the time, English players would have had many close runs had our our fielding gathered the ball quicker. Another way of looking at it is that the reason Sarfraz came close to being run out was he was taking risky 2s for the sake of his team, and not saving himself for personal milestones. The most selfless player in the team.

How is Calling out a professional athlete for being overweight hitting below the belt?!

It is a perfectly justified criticism. Look at that belly ***!!!!

Shoaib has a very bitter personality. Absolutely zero cricket analysis brain. A great player but sadly a very bitter personality.
Keeps complaining about others and keeps comparing every captain with Imran. Why couldn’t he become the great Imran himself?

Calling a spade a spade is being bitter. Lol at some fans here. Akhter has nothing personal against Sarfraz and it is his habit to speak out what he feels is right. He doesn't give political statements to please our stars like Wasim.

It's a fact that sarfraz is unfit and converted 2s into 1s. A loss would have underscored this fact. Win will simply hide our issues. I can recall at least 4-5 occasion when that happened. Also, instead of scoring singles or doubles of good balls, he played at least 4-5 dots. You add those up and we could have easily been at 370.

But the problem is we never learn from our loss. He also should have gone for the root catch. When was the last time anyone saw his dive for a catch? I am telling you, this will cost us heavily. he even missed a stumping. Now, when you are active and fit, 9 out of 10 times, you grab those chances or at least try.

I am sorry I can’t take Shoaib serious, he is a joke and always been, this is guy is such a character it’s not even a joke.
I rather have fat Sarfi in team than this nut bar.

How is Calling out a professional athlete for being overweight hitting below the belt?!

Exactly, I think the fat nation are a bit insecure

Btw Babar Azam needs to up his fitness can't time a bloody bowl. There are several players in the team whose fitness proves they are'nt professional .

It's a fact that sarfraz is unfit and converted 2s into 1s. A loss would have underscored this fact. Win will simply hide our issues. I can recall at least 4-5 occasion when that happened. Also, instead of scoring singles or doubles of good balls, he played at least 4-5 dots. You add those up and we could have easily been at 370.

But the problem is we never learn from our loss. He also should have gone for the root catch. When was the last time anyone saw his dive for a catch? I am telling you, this will cost us heavily. he even missed a stumping. Now, when you are active and fit, 9 out of 10 times, you grab those chances or at least try.

Yes Root catch was his catch. When you have your first slip taking position at 2nd slip then as wk you have to dive for catches on your right. If he was fit he would have definitely dived for catch. He also didn't dive on Moeen mis hook that landed just in front of him. His lack of fitness is hurting team sucess and no body can say his fat belly should not be under criticism.

Exactly, I think the fat nation are a bit insecure

i wish there was a like button. Couldn't agree more. Just look at aussies. Name one player that has the belly protruding? Even the pakistani, khawaja is damn smart & fit. Even fitter than Most of the Aussies there. So, it's definitely the attitude that makes the difference. And mickey arthur was right. Otherwise we would have several inzimam's playing today and many more run outs. Umar Akmal got so fat, that he almost looked rounded. So, good of mickey to enforce these rules.

On a serious note UA has worked very hard on his fitness in past two years.

On another topic Andy Ruiz best Anthony Joshua and that took physical fitness a 100 years back proves you can be fat af and still be better than a ripped person ufff lol

People here hating on the messenger rather than focusing on the message. Sarfaraz fitness is disgraceful. The wicket keeper has to be the fittest individual in the team

watching replay again and again I am convinced Sarfraz pulling out of catch because he didn't have fitness to dive that quick
<blockquote class="imgur-embed-pub" lang="en" data-id="a/zZYNkz1"><a href="//imgur.com/zZYNkz1"></a></blockquote><script async src="//s.imgur.com/min/embed.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Shoaib thinks he knows it all when it comes to analysis. To me he comes across at someone who worships the rising sun. Always bitter about how he was 'mis-handled' by his captains and could have won us one or two world cups if he had played under Imran. He didn't know how to speak when he played and still don't know how to speak when he analyzes games.

Sarfraz keeping has actually been pretty good in this England tour. Some people just like to manufacture things when they cant find one.

Manufacture things? Did you even watch his keeping last game? It's pointless to convince someone who has already made up their mind.

De kock took an incredible catch today and got SA a big break through which could have won them the game knowing Kohli. Sarfraz not even diving on a catch of Butler was quite pathetic. That was very close anyone who watched last game knows it.

Just manufacturing things again.. hell bent on criticizing.. thats all I can say,,
that Buttler catch you are talking about would have been a regulation for first slip had Babar not been that wide in first slip. And you make it sound like Sarfraz dropped a siter.
And yes Dekock took an excellent catch something you don't see on a daily basis much like Ben Stokes catch in the SA game... Heres cricinfo explaining DeKock catch..

"Phehlukwayo to Kohli, OUT, this has to be the catch of the day, of the week, and maybe the tournament when we look back four weeks later! Sensational, absolutely sensational from de Kock. Kohli has a waft at this away from the body as Andile gets this to straighten a hint, there's extra bounce on this and so he gets a thick edge as he tries to run it down. The ball was on the rise but de Kock dived full length to his right to pluck this magical catch one-handed even as it kept going away from him."

pictures can be deceiving.. if Stokes would be in team Pakistan im sure all would say 'Iska tu pait nikla wa hai"

stokes.jpg

Seems the tummy bug is spreading....

Tabraiz Shamsi

eb966735-43d8-447a-9e43-bf17d2b1257e.jpg

pictures can be deceiving.. if Stokes would be in team Pakistan im sure all would say 'Iska tu pait nikla wa hai"

View attachment 92162

This is really stretching it, his shirt is sweat soaked. You really should try to find someone better if you want to disregard the fact that your captain is fat.

sarfaraz should do a live video to show us how much nihari he chomps to settle the issue with his dhid..

This is really stretching it, his shirt is sweat soaked. You really should try to find someone better if you want to disregard the fact that your captain is fat.

Also he may be wearing protective gear.

"Sarfaraz's stomach was sticking out, the first captain I've seen who is so unfit" : Shoaib Akhtar

Looking a bit better?
7a9a7cc3a75da4423b4c41696c9cb62c.jpg

Shoaib is a liar at best. In one of his interview with harsha he said something like "maine 25 injections lagwa k bowling karwae".:facepalm:
Attention seeker.

Shoaib pointed to the obvious but it doesn't mean that players with a belly aren't fit. David Boon & Duleep Mendis come to mind who both were terrific players and specially David Boon's running was awesome.

In the current breed, Mohd. Shahzad tops the list who even admitted that he loves food and hates to run and is better off hitting four's & sixes's instead of running. Now that is a cause for concern.

And how curious that Sarfaraz's fitness was the final nail on our World Cup coffin!

Why would he even go for a risky two with his pathetic fitness? I was his supporter for a long time, but now I have had enough of him. He needs to be sacked as captain after the world cup. Enough of these underperformances.

It wasn't even a risky 2. Anyone else in the world would have got a double there. Simply put he's too unfit for international cricket

Not a Sarfaraz fan but he was the only batsman who didn't look petrified apart from Wahab. Imad looked fine once Gulbadin came but he was sweating vs Rashid.

Actually felt Sarfaraz would take Pak home today.

His problem is that his running ability is that of Yousuf but he thinks he’s a Kohli in that aspect

It wasn't even a risky 2. Anyone else in the world would have got a double there. Simply put he's too unfit for international cricket

It was always two but that implies you are fit as well. Can't be unfit like hell and want to take quick singles and twos. That's just not on.

His problem is that his running ability is that of Yousuf but he thinks he’s a Kohli in that aspect
His problem is that no one questions his fitness and performance. It's like he gets a free pass always.

His performances in this World Cup have been satisfactory. And captaincy has been great.

2nd time he was runout in this WC. Fitness seems to be effecting his game as well.

There are players in other top teams as well like Rohit Sharma but he doesnt let it effect his game somehow.

This x 100. He's a slow runner and over estimates his ability to judge runs. That was a stupid 2 to take especially against their best fielder. He looked the most at ease today too.

He should promote himself to number 4 against a team with a lot of spinners. He's our best player of spin. I've supported him constantly because we haven't had a reliable keeper/bat like him in ages but some of his decisions really irk me. His atrocious running between the wicket. Not promoting himself in a game like this.

There was no second there, shouldn't have even thought about it. But the pressure was so much that none of the batsmen were thinking straight. All our batsmen couldn't even maneuver the ball for singles so when an opportunity came they decided to cash in and paid the price.

yall worry too much about little things. Sarfi is getting us the cup ,Chill l!! .Fat bellies are in subcontinental genes, we are not athletic people but we more than make up for it with our brains and good looks .

I didn't want to say this but what a dumb post.

Nobody is born athletic. There are way more fat white people in this world than fat Desis. You have to work hard for an athletic body like Kohli.

Are you seriously telling me that Desi genes are at the same level as African genes when it comes to athleticism ? . Us desies have to work twice as hard just to get on the same level as some other races. Yall like to talk about kohli but by his own admission he hasn't touched carbs in 4 years. He himself said that his punjabi genes doesn't allow it .Watch Breakfast with Champions episode with Kohli . Also , for every Kohli there is rohit Sharma.

How this guy is our captain is beyond me ? I don't care about the CT, he is one of the worst Pakistan captains. No tactics and rarely performs, also hides from responsibility, has no say in team selection due to fear of seniors , no personality , he is awful when dealing with the media , and shouts at players for making mistakes .

A truly awful captain . Needs booting out asap.

It was always two but that implies you are fit as well. Can't be unfit like hell and want to take quick singles and twos. That's just not on.
Well if you were watching the same game which I was watching, then there was no two, sorry.

Not a Sarfaraz fan but he was the only batsman who didn't look petrified apart from Wahab. Imad looked fine once Gulbadin came but he was sweating vs Rashid.

Actually felt Sarfaraz would take Pak home today.

He was playing the bowlers with ease because he's a good player of spin and was picking them, but messed up with his execution... First it was the full toss that he simply plopped back to the bowler, then the run-out. He needs to have a calmer head in such situations.

How this guy is our captain is beyond me ? I don't care about the CT, he is one of the worst Pakistan captains. No tactics and rarely performs, also hides from responsibility, has no say in team selection due to fear of seniors , no personality , he is awful when dealing with the media , and shouts at players for making mistakes .

A truly awful captain . Needs booting out asap.

What angered me the most was when he delayed bringing in Wahab for his last spell and persisted with Shadab, even though the ball was reversing.

I reckon Wahab could have cleaned up Afghanistan's batting line up a lot sooner.

What angered me the most was when he delayed bringing in Wahab for his last spell and persisted with Shadab, even though the ball was reversing.

I reckon Wahab could have cleaned up Afghanistan's batting line up a lot sooner.

No tactics. He has a plan when it doesn't work , he is lost.

What I don't understand is why Wahab didn't bowl his full 10 overs? He has been very good in this tournament, especially at the death. Also Hafeez bowled well against New Zealand, so why did he only bowl two overs? Sarfraz clearly doesn't have a clue as to what he is doing.

Just from a batting perspective , Sarfaraz is the weakest link. If he was not captain he would have been dropped

Maybe because of fracture?

Sarfraz

You know what I might be going against popular opinion but this team has done ok for me under Sarfraz, he has won 1 big tournament which is by the way 1 more than Shoaib did in his career with a far less talented team. His team has shown some pride and fight in this tournament under adversity unlike the flops we had in 2007, 2011 and 2015. Remember Pakistan fans we have miniscule resources compared to Australia, England and India and that we compete is a miracle to me. For goodness sakes we haven'tbplayed at home for 10 years yet we still produce. Which other team do you think can cope with these limitations?